Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach

  • 2365 Kalakaua Avenue
  • Honolulu,
  • Hawaii
  • 96815
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 584 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Staff This is the first time we stayed at Moana Surfrider, we usually stay at the other Starwood properties on the beach front. The hotel has a smaller footprint, but the rooms have been renovated. The banyan side of the hotel is smaller than the tower side. The staff was wonderful, they definitely went out of their way to help out all the guests. Everybody was very friendly and extremely well trained. The pool is really small so if you have small children that can't go in the ocean, you need to take this under consideration. March 28, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by too crowded. beach jammed. small pool. Skip it. not worth the $ unless you loved an overcrowded beach, tiny pool, jammed streets. March 31, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not a very good stay Maintenance had to come to the room 3 time to try and fix the air conditioner. It would not cool the room. Just got tired of calling. There was no ice machine on the floor. Housekeeping never did a turndown service and did not leave towels once. One of the pillows on the bed had a stain on it and was put back on the bed every day.. March 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is awesome I only write reviews only if the experience was really great or really awful, the moana was really great! there were a few slight hiccups but for someone who is hesitant, you should definitely give this place a chance! March 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 Room did not meet the quality of hotel name The beach and housekeeping staff were the only elements of the Moana that met the hotel's longstanding name for quality in Waikiki. The room was a huge disappointment. We have family in Honolulu and travel regularly; we'll not return to the hotel. March 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cant wait to come back!! We stayed at the Surfrider for Pro Bowl weekend. The wonderful staff upgraded our room (thank you so much!) and room 1096 was gorgeous!! Great food, friendly staff, amazing views from our room and a near perfect experience all the way around. We live here and like to take "stay-cations"…we will be returning soon. I will recommend the Moana Surfrider to my clients (I am a travel consultant) and friends as well. Thank you again for a terrific weekend. Tammy Robinson R&R Travel Kelley McGlothlin Pono Pools Inc March 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by very warm feeling about this hotel This place felt like home the staff were all very friendly and we loved having our grandkids feel the "Ohana" vibe that the Surfrider put out. The food was very good and the Pool and Ocean were very peaceful. The only thing we felt was a little off was the fact that it seems you folks put a lot of effort into the exterior visuals but inside the rooms were not very well kept at least our room was not. Little things like the shower door not being cleaned on the outside, like i said little things. Overall first class place. March 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed - Third time is not a "charm" I grew up on Oahu and every time I return "Home", I have high expectations of this hotel. This is my third stay at the hotel and is the worst one so far. First, when I checked in I wasn't told that it was a handicapped accessible room. Second the bathroom showed a large patch of rust. Third, the shower design resulted in water flowing throughout the bathroom. Every morning I had to order an extra 5 bath mats to soak up the water. I contacted SPG and send pictures of the rust. The hotel offered to move me, but how do you move a family of four (including girls - 7 & 10) without disrupting our schedule. I would have thought I would have been treated better since I've stayed there two previous times. FYI, I don't usually complain or write these reviews, but I was so disappointed that I had to do it. July 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The personal attention to every detail was boyond our expectations! We just returned from a week's vacation in Waikiki. We stayed at the Moana Surfrider and couldn't be more pleased. The housekeeping staff knew us by name and greeted us each day. The check-in staff and events planner personnel were all very accommodating and made sure our every wish was granted. I would never stay in another hotel if traveling in this location again. It was a very relaxing stay with an incredible view and a everyone was so kind. Thank you for some wonderful lifetime memories! February 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Best Beach Front Hotel This hotel is extremely nice and has the best beach front on the island. They are extra welcoming to SPG members. The tower rooms (anything partial ocean and above) are a must stay. The location is the best in the heart of everything. The service is great and friendly. The only set back is a small pool, but the beach is right there. March 24, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Adequate Accommodations, Inadequate Service This luxury property, being one of the oldest on Oahu, seems like it would be a perfect destination for a romantic getaway. However, it left much to be desired and we will not be returning. Problems included: -Bathroom: The shower did not drain and there was black mold in the corners of the bathtub. -Front desk staff: We requested late checkout and no one called back to confirm or deny the request. In fact, when we checked again on the day of checkout, no one had even documented the request. -Concierge service staff: When we asked the concierge for assistance with booking activities and sight-seeing, she simply handed us some paper maps and a "101 Things" guidebook before sending on our way. We could have received the same level of service from a brochures rack. -Enhancement Potential: The hotel was overbooked, without any possibility of room enhancements. March 2, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Extremely noise rooms and unhelpful staff in resolving issues We just checked in last night for a weekend of relaxation and rest by the ocean. The rooms are nice/clean, but we immediately noticed the extremely high street noise level in the room. The bands on the street and busses/cars mind as well have been playing in the room or driving directly through the room. I approached the front desk staff at 3 separate times about the issue, and they were completely unable to help. I understand they may be booked and not have any alternatives, but the answer was simply a "sorry nothing we can do" and then they presented me with a map of the street and suggested that I check out one of the other non-Starwood properties on the block. As a loyal Starwood member for years, it completely rattles my faith in the brand to have employees suggesting competitor hotels as the only solution to issues. This hotel is by no means up to the Westin standard that I have come to know and love. I would save your money and stay somewhere else, and if you have points you are hoping to use... stay somewhere else and use them on spa services or something instead (maybe another Starwood property in the area?). January 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff made my stay even better The Moana Surf rider is a beautiful hotel! The staff is very friendly and attentive. A few people on the staff went above and beyond. Roxanne at the tours and activities desk was just amazing. The poor woman was swamped everyday but she still had a smile on her face and kept trucking on. She gave us great tips and told us not to over book. Which ended up working great. we have a good balance of activities and down time. She is such a beautiful person inside and out! We really enjoyed speaking with her daily. Johnson was our man in the Beach Lounge. We enjoyed seeing him every morning. Anything that we needed he was there before we knew we needed it. another great person we enjoyed speaking with. Lastly is Taylor, also from the Beach Lounge afternoons. Very attentive and super friendly. She was able to answer any questions we had. If she didn't know the answer she went out and found it for us! She did such a great job! I want to thank each of them for making our stay!! Thanks guys! You should give them a raise :) March 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Girls getaway Felt pampered the moment we stepped off the airport shuttle. Flower lei's given to us as we dropped our baggage off with the porters. Checked in and given an upgrade to larger room with balcony and ocean view. Baggage arrived shortly. Resort fee...Yes, but with that comes free internet access, free self parking, two free welcome glasses of wine, slippers, bathrobes, free exercise classes daily and all the charm this beautiful hotel has to offer.. Thank you for such a lovely stay...I'll be back! March 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Stay Just completed a 3 night stay. Excellent property and the Beach Club is a wonderful addition for Platinum members. While checking in, I had to ask for an upgrade, which is always difficult. I would have hoped they would offer it... When I asked about a standard suite, I was quickly told, that Platinum members are never upgraded to suites. After I commented that I would reach out to SPG directly, the agent stated, well I can move you to a ocean front room then.... SPG Platinum recognition does not exist at the hotel. I had to ask for the internet access charge to be removed from my bill, which began a debate, but was finally removed. The property is amazing, Beach Club was awesome!! If you are expecting SPG Platinum recognition, this property needs to do its research and educate the staff. March 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Couldn't contol weather As always the staff and facility, met all our expections. They just couid not make the sun shine EVERY day. But they made up for it in service and friendliness. Great job to everyone. March 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Platinum status just doesnt matter here anymore. Obviously this hotel doesnt value the starwood preferred status. As a platinum member you just come to expect some things from starwood properties. Check in was great (except somehow we got skipped for the lais that the other guests seemed to get) we did get upgraded to a nice room which was awesome, as I park a car, I am ok with the resort fee. In the past at the resort when I have stayed we have had a welcome fruit basket, which I always thought was a nice touch of recognition, but as a business owner I understand cut backs and a changing economy. My bad experiences started with the free continental breakfasts that Platinum guests can now choose as there welcome ammenity. I honestly think the hotel resents giving this out. Our experiences over the first 3 days at breakfast just got progressively worse until I talked to the restaurant manager, then the guest services manager, and no one seemed to have any empathy or see anything wrong with the situation. Again as a business owner, I look at problems as an opportunity to fix the situation which is much better than letting the unhappy guest go away and stew. I found their response to be almost more disconcerning than the original problem (which in fairness they did comp the 2 days breakfasts that we were wrongly charged for) The issue wasnt about the price though for the breakfasts it was about how the restaurant made us feel through using the "coupons" and in each and every case it was far from being a valued platinum member. At a sister starwood property almost next door, the platinum guests get a platinum wrist band for special recognition and preferred seating at the restaurants, not treated like 2nd class citizens. March 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Aloha spirit is alive on Waikiki! Two years ago, I sat in a rocking chair on the veranda of this hotel and told myself someday I will stay here. When the opportunity arose, I grabbed it, and last month I spent a most enjoyable week at the Moana Surfrider. I rocked on the veranda again, but I also had High Tea on the veranda, wallowed in a luxurious, healing Lomi Lomi massage in the Moana Lani Spa, enjoyed appetizers at the Beach Bar under the Banyan Tree and people watched in the lobby! (I also slept like a baby in the Heavenly bed - it really is heavenly!) I have absolutely nothing to complain about concerning my stay. Even though the exact room I had booked was not available when we checked in, we were accommodated with a room that seemed every bit as good as what I had booked and was cheaper! For our inconvenience, the resort fee was waived for the entire length of our stay. Thank you to Tobias Ragossnig and his guest services staff for taking such good care of us. This was our first experience with SPG and we were impressed. What can I say about the Grand Lady of Waikiki? You walk into the lobby and immediately feel the tropical breeze from the ocean. Your next sensation is that you've travelled back in time to a simpler, friendlier place. The lobby is bustling with people at all times of the day and night. It's warm, inviting and welcoming. Other hotels might be bigger, more plush and pretentious, but also very sterile. If you want a touch of simplicity and charm for your dollar, don't overlook the Moana Surfrider. The Moana Surfrider has a multinational clientele, which certainly gives one a global experience. Many different languages were spoken in the elevators and eateries, but that only added to it's charm (along with the wedding parties strolling through the grounds at all hours of the day! I admit to being a romantic - I oohed and ahead over each bride and groom.) Our oceanfront room overlooking the pool, courtyard and Diamond Head in the Tower wing was everything I expected. We had plenty of room to stow our stuff in the drawers and closet. The lanai was our recreation room and we were out there early each morning to watch the sun rise and the early birds head into the surf. Some people think the music and noise from the courtyard is too noisy, but the live music was always ended before I went to bed, so no complaints from me. The cleaning staff greeted us each day with smiles and questions as to how they could help us that day. We were given extra amenities each day, plenty of clean towels and they cheerfully changed the sheets on the bed when asked. Lovely cleaning staff! Finally, I need to give a shout out to Aaron at the Spa. I had my very first Lomi Lomi massage - this is the traditional Hawaiian healing massage and Aaron made me feel blessed and cared about. I would highly recommend this treatment for your physical AND mental health. The spa is very well appointed and a tranquil experience all around. I think I have gushed enough. The entire stay was wonderful and I would certainly recommend this hotel, especially if you plan on staying here with the intention of relaxing and simply enjoying and pampering yourself. The best part of the experience remains rocking in the teak rocking chairs and people watching on Kalakaua Street. Thanks for a special and memorable vacation! March 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lovely but silly add ons Great hotels don't nickel and dime you. I was as a platinum lifetimes offended by the 25.00 resort charge for things I am supposed to get free anyway. insult that more and you pay 50.00 to sit on the beach with an overcrowded pool area. Just outrageous, but the rooms ar lovely in the tower and the staff did try to go the extra mile. March 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Stay!!! I'm a Lifetime SPG Platinum who stays in Starwood properties throughout the world. From the moment I checked in with Irene at the front desk and spoke with Aki the concierge, I knew they would do everything possible to insure a perfect stay and they did. The new Tower rooms have been completely renovated and are very luxurious and a good size for Honolulu. The ocean and diamond head views are incredible. The Veranda restaurant and pool food and service were very good and Peter our breakfast server and Hayes at the pool were excellent. I've stayed in this hotel on four or five occasions since it has become a Westin and overall this was the best stay yet. March 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pure Hawaiian Perfection I chose this hotel because I knew it embodied old world Hawaii. It is a beautiful hotel, on a magnificent stretch of Waikiki Beach. On, not across from, but on Waikiki Beach. As I approached the open air lobby, rich in heritage and elegance, I was captivated by the enormous banyan tree in the courtyard. One Piña Colada under that banyan in their beachfront lounge and I was officially in Hawaii. The rooms are lovely, the beds are very comfortable, the hotel is so quiet, the restaurants are exquisite, and the people are fabulous. Every day and night there are complimentary activities and live music. They have a great gym with a lot of equipment, the pool is lovely, and we became "regulars" of the private beachfront accomodations. I cannot say enough wonderful things about the Moana Surfrider. It is a beautiful hotel with a warm and wonderful history that is worth every penny. March 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is simply awesome! Everything about the Moana Surfrider is awesome, the staff, the history & ALOHA Cannot wait for our next visit there! March 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best of Both Worlds Stayed the evening of Feb 27, first time at the hotel and very impressed! Historic, colonial-style hotel with the best of modern conveniences. The highlights: 1) the hotel is right on the sand - many other hotels are across the street or a block or two off the beach, but you can walk from your room straight out to the water. 2) The "Beach Bar" also sits right on the water, and serves a better pina colada and mai tai than I've been able to find elsewhere. 3) All the modern conveniences of a traditional Westin; quiet, well air-conditioned rooms and the Heavenly Bed. 4) Wonderful staff (!) - very helpful and accomodating. The check-in clerk asked me if I wanted to get a late checkout - I wanted to say "yeah, mid-April" - it was that nice. March 9, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by NOT an SPG hotel This was a beautiful hotel, but it did not meet expectations for being a Starwood/Westin property. At all. I almost asked at the desk a few times if our reservation had been messed up, because our room and bath were tiny, absolutely NO view (could never have the blinds open for privacy reasons), and noisy. The SPG status meant nothing. No reason for the SPG line at the desk, as no one was there. The "resort fee" obviously bought you nothing, as you still needed to pay to get umbrella cover and chairs, as the pool was always crowded and did not accommodate many guests. Waitstaff from the bar were abrupt, but made clear what you should tip?? Oh my goodness. It is in a good location and a lovely lobby, but that doesn't really make up for all that was lacking. We often stay in Westin hotels, and were disappointed with this visit. June 14, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Suggestions 1. Bathroom ceiling had mold over entrance door that was growing during our stay. 2. On our first full day we left the room at 7am and it wasn't made up until 2:30-inconvenient. 3. The main reason we go to the Moana Surfrider is for the relaxed island atmosphere. No longer does the back porch offer that relaxation. There are 2 or 3 computers set up at each high top table doing business, while people are talking loudly on cell phones in the lounge chairs. there was even a man pacing back and forth under the Banyan tree while on a business call on his bluetooth. I could not read my book or a newspaper with all the business going on. I felt like I was in New York. I come to Hawaii to relax, not to listen to overwrought techies. It ruined the Banyan Courtyard serenity. Put them in their own room! This is our 8th stay at Surfrider. February 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not an SPG hotel I am writing this review as a current SPG platinum guest, and solely based upon my experiences of this this stay. The hotel itself is great and the hotel in general has been very well at the upkeep. As a platinum member I am disgusted at the level of recognition offered. The fast that the $25+ resort fee covered much of what I should be entitled to, and that a few of the amenities have not been offered to me, seems to be a rip off. I am essentially paying for self parking, which I do not have. They have not even placed the "two bottles of water" in my hotel room that I am supposed to receive at all. The hotel and the rooms are clean, and my room appears to be clean. There was a used condom on the floor next to my bed when I checked in, this to me was so disgusting. This is something that should not be easily overlooked. Highly unacceptable. The second night I placed the card on my bed to have my sheets replaced, seeing as there were stains and tears on the sheets fitting my bed. The replaced all my sheets except the fitted one. Also highly unacceptable. Tonight, after having a cocktail party, I requested turndown service. I returned to my room at 9:15pm and nothing was done. Also highly unacceptable. My room overlooks the pool area and has a band until 10:30pm. My first night I called and asked to be moved to a quieter room and I was told there was nothing available. I do not believe this for a second. I took a second Ambien and I eventually fell asleep. Granted I wanted to go to bed at 9pm because of jet lag. Tonight I planned on a dinner at the hotels restaurant. When I enquired about reservations in the morning I was told it would be no problem, I could come at any time. When we showed up, we were told there was an hour wait for five people. Two people left so we could get a decent table. The manager of the restaurant got three of us in fast, but this put a big cramp in my evening. our sever was good, but clearly used to the push them through fast service of a big hotel. This is definitely not specialty dining. The pool is over crowded and the only way to get a place to relax after 10am when all the chars are taken is to spend $50 for beach chairs. If you are coming to this hotel for an SPG experience seem another hotel. If you are coming here and want something on the beach and nice rooms then this is a good place. May 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Staff. Great Service Every employee I can in contact with was happy, gracious and helpful. March 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A stay in paradise My husband and I stayed for 3 nights prior to a Hawaiian island cruise. We had a spectacular ocean front room with views of the beach and Diamond head. Staff were helpful, pleasant and went above and beyond. Bellman even helped my husband change a flat tire on our rental car. Enjoyed the morning yoga as well as sitting under Banyon tree at night listening to the live music. Beautiful, historic property! One of the best Westin stays we have had! March 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our Favorite Waikiki Hotel without question! The Moana Surfrider has the unique charm and architectural intrigue you might expect from the iconic First Lady of Waikiki, but the staff really make this property shine. Maitre D's and Bellman that have worked there for 30+ years truly love their jobs and care about their guests. The restaurant is outstanding, the beach amenities are perfect and the value for the Resort Fee is more than fair. The only two negatives are that the bathroom is a bit small in the heritage building- but that is to be expected. The greatest drawback quite frankly are the other guests who seem to have an incredible sense of entitlement. The complaining I heard about having to wait for a table at breakfast during peak times, or the lack of chairs at the pool during Christmas vacation was outrageous and embarrassing. The staff at this property are sincere, helpful and deserve a medal for dealing with their impatient and rude customers! January 1, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Misleading website and poor service This hotel has some great features. The problem is that there are very different wings, and the website does not disclose that the wings are *vastly* different. The best wing is newly renovated and has that old-school charm, while the Diamond Wing feels like a two star motel that was appended to the hotel. The rooms are badly in need of repair, and yet the hotel charges high rates because they offer ocean front views. When I checked in, the front desk refused to give me an ocean front room in any wing other than the dilapidated Diamond wing. I complained and (finally) reached a manager, but she was unconcerned and simply offered 5000 Starpoints. The hotel was overbooked, and there was a long line of unhappy customers. Although the front desk clerks said they would follow up by trying to find a room at a sister hotel, they failed to do so. I ended up checking out and booking a room at a nicer hotel. In short, I would not go back. June 18, 2012
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 21 next>>