The Westin Bear Mountain Golf Resort & Spa, Victoria

  • 1999 Country Club Way
  • Victoria,
  • British Columbia
  • V9B 6R3
  • Canada
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 19 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 141 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Avoid the Faiways Building We decided to go to the Resort for a last minute romantic getaway. Got a room in the Fairways building, the room look nice, we are having a great time. We tried to go have dinner to the Master Lounge where we were completely ignored by the staff for 10 minutes. After sitting at a table for more than 10 minutes, we finally got up and left. We mentioned the situation to the gentleman at the Front Desk who apologized, saying it was St. Patrick's day, they were a little bit more busy then usual. Not my problem, have more staff on. We ended up in Jack's pub, next to some drunks drinking green beer, screaming while playing darts. Not so much of the romance we were expecting. We went back to our room, went to sleep and got woken up at midnight by our windows in our room whistling so loudly, we couldn't sleep... I had to call the front desk to ask to change room, at 1:00 am, let me tell you, it is very unpleasant, annoying and I couldn't fall back asleep. I am sure he staff knows those windows make an awful lot of noise, the hotel was empty, it's stormy out, why not put us in a nice quiet room? While I planned a romantic getaways, it turned out to be a sleepless night... When we checked out, I mentioned it to the young man at the desk, he didn't seem to care so much. I feel like I've been robbed. Spending hundreds of dollars to not sleep is a luxury I can't afford. I am extremely disappointed and I won't be referring the hotel to anyone... On a positive note, the golf course was amazing!! :) March 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel was beyond our expectations! Our suite was so nice. The golf courses were challenging, great conditions, and amazing scenery. The hotel and all facilities were very clean and updated. All staff members were helpful and knowledgeable. Best stay at a resort ever! July 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed My wife and I came here for a golf getaway and we were disappointed with the enitre stay. The bed and shower were not up to Westin standards. The service and food selection was less than stellar with the choices at Panche being totally out of touch with what we would have preferred. The biggest disappointment was the golf facility - the staff did not prepare the carts properly - missing bottles of water, sand, cleanliness, and misplacing of clubs prior to the round. The course itself was below standards of a Nicklaus designed course - and heaven forbid if you have to use the restroom facilities on the course - awful! An overpriced, over promised experience. September 7, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Huge Dissapointment I am very disappointed with my overall experience at this hotel. The staff had no manners, especially in the restaurant's located within the hotel, my room was located right next door to the housekeeping which was a disturbance throughout the the entire day, especially during early morning hours and had numerous incidents of disrespectful remarks and disappointments. Upon my arrival, staff at the front desk were not very inviting or friendly, seemed like even putting on a smile was too much effort. Proceeding, I acquire my keys and room number only to find out my room was located right next door to the housekeeping. This was much of a shock considering I had a in-house gift certificate for my stay and expected a room in a much private area not located so close to such a ruckus. After all the hotel was not busy, and a room located in such a area should be reserved as a last priority (when the hotel is absolutely full). My reservation was also done a week in advance to my arrival, meaning there was no reason for there not to be any other available rooms meeting the standard of room enlisted on my certificate. Huge disappointment. When it comes to the manners of the waitresses, it was absolutely unacceptable. I ordered a salad, which I received dry. When I had asked the waitress kindly for some dressing she walked away without a word came back and threw the dressing onto my table and walked away, again without saying a word. There were 2 tables filled at this time (myself and another 2 seater), the lounge was not busy, therefore asking for some dressing for my unappetizing dry salad should not only be obtained with enthusiasm but with a smile rather than a frown as if i was asking for a complicated order of a food non existent to the menu you provide. Another incident with one of your servers at your restaurants was during my breakfast. Upon check in I was re assured that my gift certificate included a complimentary breakfast. With this knowledge and common courtesy to inform the waitress, before taking my order I informed her. Her reaction was absolutely disrespectful and very unprofessional. She found it amusing, laughed in my face, giggled while she asked with great attitude " do you have a prestige card or something?", and also specified that she has never heard of the hotel giving out complimentary breakfast. She then excused herself and verbally explained that she needs to check with the reception if this is true. The most unfortunate fact about this situation is that at your hotel what you consider complementary, is not really complementary considering you automatically charge the tip percentage to my credit card. This waitress did not only offend me with her unprofessionalism and judgmental comment, but I also had to pay for her tip during my check out, when she clearly did not deserve one after her actions. Due to all these disappointing experiences I chose to leave the hotel 1 day before my check out date. Not only were staff disappointing and the issue of my room placement, but the lack of effort when it comes to transportation at this hotel just takes the cake. Not only is the resort at least a half an hour drive away from any tourist attraction areas and charges so much money for its facilities, there is no initiative taken to provide a simple shuttle service to ANYWHERE. I was shocked to find out that my only choice was to be stranded in a hotel with rude staff everywhere, or take a taxi that would cost me 50 dollars ( or more depending on traffic) each way in order to get to the city, quite frankly even to the nearest bus stop the ferry. Ridiculous. This was by far the worst hotel experience of my life, and I definitely will never recommend this resort to anyone, nor will I choose to stay at any Westin Hotel's in the future. August 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by beautiful facilities and scenery Bear Mountain has everything you need for a getaway - great golf, biking, pool, exercise faciltiies, hiking... wonderful staff and great views. loved it. July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Impressed Great service, beautiful rooms, however the only complaint is the pull out sofa was not comfortable and the springs were poking through on the mattress so my teenager was not impressed by that at all. June 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Service - Will return as often as possible! I had an excellent experience at this hotel. It was a mixed business and pleasure trip in which I brought my family. I ran into a couple problems booking, but one of the managers, Tolen, took it upon himself to ensure that everything went smoothly with my reservation and even dropped by with our in-room dining to see how we were settling in. We had a toddler and a dog, yet we were welcomed well and had a lovely four day stay. Any problems we encountered were immediately addressed and corrected by the staff. I will definitely return any chance I get in the future, and hope to plan our family vacation there next year. December 30, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A quiet and enjoyable stay I love this property and have stayed 3 times over the past 6 months. The staff our friendly, courteous and professional. I was particularly nicely greeted on my last stay. The food is fabulous. The rooms are quiet and have excellent black out drapes for those much needed sleep ins! Hi highly recommend this hotel. June 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Da Bear Very nice property all round. Have stayed here several times before although I don't travel to Victoria frequently. Great gym/pool/whirlpool next door. The gym and whirlpool are outdoors and heated, so very nice to enjoy, particularly in winter with all the steam rising up. Staff are very professional and helpful. Self parking is complementary and easily accessible, which is a nice change from the downtown hotels. Very solid restaurants in the hotel or within walking distance. If you need to be downtown, then be advised that this property is about a 20 minute drive to the downtown area. This has never been a problem for me. I never got to golf, but the course looks very nice. February 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by rooms The room was way beyond what we expected.Veiw and service was excellent June 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Resort Fee Although the amount was modest, there was no notification about this fee when we made our reservation. When I received the email of our invoice I noticed the $15 plus tax "Resort Fee" although we didn't use any of the resort facilities. It would be courteous to mention this fee when someone makes a reservation. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of our favourite properties We love this property and have been coming here for years. The staff are very friendly and helpful and make coming here a pure joy. June 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great all inclusive facilty Very helpful and professional staff. Relaxing and luxurius features throughout the hotel. June 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Peaceful The one thing that stood out to me during my stay was how peaceful I felt at the resort this weekend. It was an awesome experience........ Thank You! June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Hotel, One of Starwood's Best This hotel was awesome! The rooms were very nice, and the amenities were terrific. The pool and fitness center were 2 of the best that I've ever seen at a Westin. One of the best features that we didn't realize when we booked it was its proximity to a great hiking trail. The hotel has a path to get you directly to neighboring Mount Finlayson making hiking even better because you can hike and return to their terrific pool. Also, the staff went above and beyond my expectations as they were kind enough to book me ferry reservations when I was having trouble doing it on my internet connection. While many people may want to stay in downtown Victoria for its beauty, I wouldn't miss this gem of a hotel. August 8, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by beds /pool the king bed is the smallest king i have ever slept in , and the queen pull out sofa is so uncomfortable that my husband couldn't sleep. also the only pool is accessible for the staff on their days off and if you are a family with children and try to go on a warm sunny day… good luck trying to find somewhere to lounge and enjoy what your $$$ includes… it is basically a meat market for the 20 somethings. June 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel needs service improvements My family are very frequent guests at this hotel....and usually it is an excellent place to stay. However, on this stay in the Fairways Bldg.....some guests got stuck in the elevator at 2am...and the elevator alarms were going off for about 1 hour with yelling. When we called the front desk, a hotel/security employee came "pounding" on our door (that was almost louder than the alarms). Very rude. The elevator maintenance employee took an hour to get there, and was also very rude. The next morning, I spoke with the manager (Amy) who was very pleasant and wanted to find out exactly what happened, and worked to help compensate our...LACK OF SLEEP!! and rude treatment. Usually, an excellent hotel however. July 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the suite We recently stayed in a corner suite and loved the view from the large wall of windows in the bedroom, really enjoyed the space with spacious deck and full sized kitchen. Excellent gym(best ever)and pool area. Loved our hikes up the mountain. thanks June 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel The hotel was awesome. Beautiful spot, big clean, comfortable rooms. A little dark. Eating options were good, gym and pool were great. Service had some issues. I was in the "other" building and it turned out to be pretty inconvenient in terms of the service. The bellman had me unpack my car at the main building, i then had to reload the car to go to my room. The front desk staff had to reset my room keys at least 3 times, and every time required a back and forth walk in the rain to get it fixed. Overall we loved it there and I hope they can overcome the service inconsistencies. December 29, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not my best visit to this normally great spot This was one of my favorite hotels until this most recent visit. Room cleaning was absolutely dismal 3 of the 5 days we were there. Each time I called down I got the standard "I am sorry". The cleaning absolutely did not give any propr attention to cleaning our room! Also there is no crank on the window in the bedroom to avoid opening the window more than 4" for safety of guests even though the window is 4' off the floor - yet the balcony and furniture would be more problematic than the window if you had kids. As well no telephone book in the rooms - this is on purpose! August 25, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing Check in was great, front desk agent was excellent. However, I had asked for a room with king bed and was actually given handicap accessible room with two queen beds (was not told at time of checkin, found out when we got to the room). Room was extremely noisy, hallway noise was incredible at early hours of the morning. Could also hear conversation in next room very clearly. No staff evident in Fairways building during our stay until the morning of check out. Complained of noise at checkout and was simply told sorry and that they had multiple complaints about noise. September 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent for golfers I attended a "family friendly" business meeting at this hotel. It is in a relatively secluded but very picturesque location and any serious shopping would require a half hour trip to Victoria.The facilities however are very good, and excellent for golfers. I am not a golfer but am told by my golfing associates that the course is first class. The view of the golf course and the surrounding estate from the relatively large room balcony is excellent. Highly recommended. May 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Nice Place Had a great stay. We were lucky to have a sunny day to really enjoy the pool area and grounds. June 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always a great stay! I stay at the Westin Bear Mountain often and I always have a great stay! This time we brought our dog - the pet friendly rooms are great for dogs with a dog run behind the building. Generally as a Platinum member I receive an upgrade to a suite but this time with my pet I was in a regular room (which is still nice). I asked the girl at the desk if there was any possibility to be upgraded and she took the extra time to do her best to secure an upgrade - and was successful. Overall this is a great property in a very relaxing atmosphere! June 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Played golf and wanted to see if things were different under new ownership We have been to this property many times. We saw a great attitude and optimism with the staff now that there is a new owner. New beds were coming into the adjacent area where we stayed because our standard poodle was with us and that is the dog stay area. The golf staff was very nice because the weather was windy, chilly and it rained on and off throughout the day, but we decided to play anyway, but later than our scheduled tee time. Wanted to have dinner, but were not told to make reservations when we arrived, and it was sold out. Recommendation: Have staff tell guests to reserve at restaurants when they check in. Changes bring made at golf course, and maintenance is 100 % improved. Thankful for new ownership who are smart business people. Plan to come back several times during the summer. Read there will be big improvements to pool, and a new family fun area. Sounds smart. April 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Property With a Friendly Staff I stayed in July 2013 for my birthday. I had a great time, I stayed in the fairways building so it was quieter and more peaceful. When I arrived at the room I noticed a couple of burnt out light bulbs, the staff resolved all of my issues immediately and provided top notch service. THE only thing I didn't like about the property was the packed pool area. It seems that it was not designed to handle the actual amount of people that are in the hotel. (Or when the weather is good people in BC flock to the pools.) September 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Happy! Cleaning is apparently not one of the strong suites of the this hotel. We went 2 days without clean towels no toilet paper unless I asked for it no tissue either. No clean sheets for 3 days until we complained. Never vacuumed or washed the tile floors no dusting of furniture no cleaning of the toilet Just absolutely filthy. Complained to management He said what can I do for you? I said clean the room he said ok also I'm sorry for this. I will credit you 2 days stay on a week visit we will never go back. August 31, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by felt like a vacation Room was large and comfortable and had a nice balcony with a view. We live in the same city, but would recommend the Hotel for a "staycation". May 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleasant Hotel Our stay was very relaxing and pleasant. Just what we had in mind when we booked. May 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel if you Love Golf. My husband and I are not golfers but if we were we would love this place, peaceful and beautiful. We were able to hike the mountain which was great, and use the fitness faculties which are GYM grade at the location is also used for near by residences. The room rate was great, and the service was super helpful. A rental car is needed if you wish you leave this location for Victoria or other sites. This location is a 80$ cab ride from the airport, it is cheaper to rent a car then cab. October 25, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>