The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

  • Boulevard Kukulcán Km 12.5 Lt 18 Zona Hotelera
  • Cancun,
  • Quintana Roo
  • 77500
  • Mexiko
  • Landkarte
 

Zimmer & Preise

Schließen

Kinder pro Zimmer

Diese Angaben ermöglichen es uns, die besten Zimmer für Sie zu ermitteln und Ihre Ankunft entsprechend vorzubereiten.

Informationen zu Zustellbetten und/oder Aufschlägen für weitere Personen finden Sie in den Zimmerbedingungen und Details.

Altersvoraussetzung

Gäste müssen mindestens 18 Jahre alt sein, um ein Zimmer zu reservieren oder einzuchecken.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 232 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Did not feel like a "Preferred Guest" I agree that the hotel itself, pool and ocean view are very nice. But from the moment I arrived , it was clear that I was not to have an SPG or Westin experience. This property appears to operate as a timeshare and not a Westin. Therefore, I was told that I could not have my room stay extended without an additional fee because the owners would not accept that,but I could move to a smaller room. I also missed a continental breakfast one morning, but was told I could not make it up another day because "the restaurant wouldn't allow it." These two incidents would never have occurred at a true Westin. February 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Breathtaking views / staff is extremely courteous We were invited to visit the Westin LaGunamar resort as Starwood Members. The resort is absolutely beautiful, the staff is polite, friendly and extremely helpful. Our room which was called a studio villa was a bit small [I think we would call it a lock our unit]. It had a queen bed, love seat, large flat screen TV , a small table and two chairs, a kitchenette and a lovely balcony. I cannot imagine cooking any kind of meal in the room. The bathroom was just beautiful with all of the extras. The linens and towels were wonderful and the bed was extremely comfortable. The only meals we ate at the Westin was the breakfast,. It was a bit expensive and if you do not know to ask for bacon, sausage or omelets no one will tell you. We ordered drinks and food from the outside pool bar every day, again the staff was superb. Happy hour at the pool has two for one drinks which is very nice. We had a few minor communication problems learning to navigate Cancun. It was suggested that we take the local bus and travel to Walmart to do our grocery shopping. This is definitely something that should never be suggested to any of your guests, especially people from the USA. The bus was not bad, very inexpensive and clean, but no air-conditioning and lots of stop and go. Walmart was disgusting ! It had a rancid smell, the fish and produce was sitting uncovered on a bed of ice with flies buzzing around it. We found out later from other guests that you can order groceries brought to your room for a 10.00 fee. I would rather pay more for my groceries than lose a morning of my vacation riding on a bus to go to a smelly Walmart. The tiny market at the hotel is fine for the few items that most guest will need. There is a lovely outside shopping mall across the street from the resort, It has many delicious restaurants and lovely shopping. We enjoyed the close proximity to the hotel. Thank you for the invite, It was a lovely experience. July 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mixed Customer service and subpar food The resort itself is beautiful and location is great. However, I found over half of the staff had an attitude and were quite sarcastic. The other half (mostly more senior staff members) were extremely hospitable and friendly. I enjoyed the pool, the beach, and the gym. I did not enjoy the on-site restaurants where food quality was sub-par and poor customer service. On one occasion, no wait staff acknowledged us for over 15 mins and when the waiter arrived, he was short and not especially friendly at Oceano. Upon payment, our waiter found out we were owners and completely changed his attitude and even told us to forget the earlier service treatment. At check in, I had a 2 bedrooms reserved and I asked the check in staff if it was indeed a 2 bedrooms, he replied with "yes." When we arrived to our room, it was a 1 bedroom. Such an inconvienece. We decided not to change our rooms since our friends didn't end up coming with us, however, I had used a 2 bedroom star options! Had a horrible experience with DVD rental as well with a staff member being unhelpful. March 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Looking forward to retuning often We enjoyed an extended stay from 3/2-3/15 using two reservations, the first for a studio and the second for a one bedroom villa. It was our first time staying here even though we bought SPG vacation ownership for this property 6 years ago, sight unseen. We never regretted that decision as any 5 star owner and/or platinum guest knows the overall value for hotels, travel and special events. Here are some tips: 1. We treated ourselves to private pick up service at the airport through the hotel concierge. It was well worth it and the price was better than the other services found on the CUN website. You can always take a taxi back to the airport from the resort. 2. It is true that you should not arrive before noon and expect your room to be ready. Yet, the front desk staff are very professional and understanding. Omar took terrific care of our needs, especially the transfer from one room to the next with our two reservations. 3. The entire concierge staff is superb and we were fortunate to have Ailne guide us through some great suggestions during our stay. We also really enjoyed meeting Fernando at an SVN presentation who gave us some good tips on future Starwood plans for owners. 4. This property also has a unique owners lounge for SPG platinum and SVN owners available during Monday through Friday. It is a great place for a cup of excellent Mexican coffee and to meet other owners to share stories. We want to thank Michelle, the concierge at the owners lounge, for being so kind and helpful with restaurant suggestions and for splendid conversation. 5. The resort is in a perfect location with an upscale mall across the street and a convenient bus stop for those who want to go food shopping to fill up the refrigerator or to use the grills on the property. Taxi service is also readily available. You really don't need a car. 6. Do schedule a spa treatment if you have time. The service is outstanding and the therapists are quite good. Thank you Carlos for being so helpful and for continuing to check up on the treatment. 7. We really enjoyed Duna, the Sports Bar, especially pre-March Madness. The other restaurants on site were also very good. While we read earlier reviews about poor internet quality, that does not seem to be the case now as we had no trouble. And yes, there are some inconsiderate guests who grab up lounge chairs early especially by the pool. Unfortunately, this seems to happen at many resorts. We chose to use the lounge chairs on the beach and then would just walk up to the pool areas to use the pool or the jacuzzi. The views of the water and the perfect white sand are better there anyway. Finally, thanks to the entire management team of this property and to the many other wonderful staff members who truly went out of their way to make our vacation so special. Juan the lifeguard would like to remind us we are in paradise at Lagunamar, and we certainly look forward to planning our next trip to Cancun and returning to our home resort soon. March 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Cancun in December The overall trip was 12 days, and for the most part it was a good trip. The hotel is located acroos from a large mall, which helps. The balconies are a little small, but the views of the ocean are great. The 1br is nice, not as large as some of the other properties (ie. Ka'anpali) but comfortable. The staff was friendly and courteous, though their idea of good restaurants is a little lacking. Golf Course has loose bricks, and was a little dangerous. Kids Club was great, and i highly recommend it. There's a gym which is adequate, and tennis courts. No SPA is a killer. Unfortunately there is limited choices for eating on the properrty. The Resort issues a weekly summary of activites that is quite helpful and there is a lot going on at the pool if you want to get involved ( i.e name that tune, couples game).. Pool has a kids slide which is will keep you and your kids busy. Overall its worth a stop, mabe not in Nov/ Decemeber, i am told Feb/ March is much better. December 14, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Customer Service Love the Westin Lagunamar! It's perfect for a family vacation sine it has the amenities "of home" with a full kitchen and washing machine, which makes it easy to throw in a load of bathing suits after a beautiful day by the pool. I live in CA so I usually vacation in Hawaii, but after visiting Lagunamar it's a tough choice between the two locales. The staff at the pool, front desk, and bell are so attentive and accommodating. June 16, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad experience with Staff Members Since I arrived, the guys of front desk and concierge were busy at their computers and never care about us, I understand 1guy but not all of them; then the concierge worry more trying to sell the vacation ownership instead of trying to give a nice service, At last I had to call 3 times to express services asking to cleaning my room, because the housekeeper had to leave early !!!!!!. The facilities were great, excellent pool, nice kids area and small but efficient rooms. If the staff get better trained for guest services I would recommend it. February 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Resort, Amazing Staff Our stay at the Westin was amazing. Of course Cancun is spectacular, but the genuine staff at this hotel made our stay the perfect vacation that it was! They are truly happy to see you each day, call you by name, and meet every need with a smile. The food was always good, the theme nights were very well done and the property and grounds were spotless. I can't say enough nice things about our visit...I wish I could name every staff member by name, but a special thank you to Felipe at the Pool Bar for being so kind. We will be counting the days until we can return. March 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome resort Just returned fron 8 days and wish it had been longer. Service was unbelievable, except a little on the slow side at duna. The pool staff and pool restaurant were great. We attended both the pizza/ pasta night and the steak night, both were great. We had lunch evey day at the pool restaurant, the food was really good. Pedro our concierge was very helpful and informative, Fernando the sales consultant was very friendly, infotmative and not overbearing. Although everybody kept saying the water and ice were purified I was a little apprehensive, I waited a few days to see if hubby or friends got sick as they were drinking tap water. by about day 6 I used the ice, no sickness!! My only question would be why do owners only get a mid week cleaning but renters get a daily room cleaning? Pools were beautiful as well as the whole resort. I have never seen so much cleaning and upkeep going on around us. Helpful hint, make sure you get pesos, it just makes life alot easier. February 7, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE My husband and I are still at the Westin Lagunamar but it has been a horrible time. We were unfortunate and given a room next to the construction. Staff here is unhelpful and unable to offer us a better room. Everytime we complain, we're told false information; first it was that we shouldn't be able to hear the construction which is not true since we hear ALL OF IT. then we were told it would only be for one more day, which is not true, this is now day 3 of the construction. then we were told on day 2 of construction that it would not be happening over the weekend (sat & sun) but it's saturday and the construction is loud as ever. This experience is just terrible. I do not recommend this property because regardless of what they tell you, I would not believe them. There are so many other available places to stay in Cancun and this is not one of the better ones. I would look outside of SPG and stay somewhere nicer. Also, since this is a time-share property, unless you own here, they do not give you preference for a better room. So, of you're SPG gold or platinum, it will not benefit you here. And, even if you are time-share owner they still do not promise a better room. So, just don't stay here. January 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cancun's Best I've been staying at Lagunamar since it was open and every time they exceed my expectations... The exceptional service, the excellent food, the great entertainment, and the most comfortable Villa makes me come back every year. Special thanks to Omar and Gustavo at the front desk they made me feel like a guest in their own home Thank you for service and doing a great job year after year. Sincerely, Jorge Portillo June 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I will surely be back!!! Excellent hotel This hotel is wonderful. The facility is outstanding. But the perfume of this hotel is its people. Since you arrive they give you a warm welcome. My deep gratitude to Erick for his understanding of my need when giving me my room at front desk. My deep gratitude to MARILU for her smile when we went several times to the front desk, she is the SHINY FACE of GOODNESS OF THIS HOTEL. Thank you to Hector at the front desk for his talent and kindness. Thank you to Eduardo and Delfina at the concierge. May God bless you all!!!!! June 22, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor Service - Good Rooms/Hotel Location My experience at the Westin Lagunamar was mixed. The issue I had is the service in the hotel was poor and become a distraction from fully enjoying my vacation. However, on a positive note, the food was pretty good when you finally got it, the rooms were quite nice, beach is solid, and the hotel location was very convenient on the hotel zone. I ended with a 2-3 overall rating only to highlight that the service was really weak. If they would have just staffed properly I could see this as a 4 rating hotel. The Food Service was painful. I can't blame it all on staff as many of them work very hard - I believe management basically understaffed restaurants / bars / beach during the peak Christmas holiday. At the end of the day "penny wise pound foolish " as they must have lost a ton of revenue as we and others just ate and drank less in the hotel. My example is from the first day...it took 2+ hrs to get lunch at the pool bar (15 min to get dirty dishes off our table, 30 more min to order, another 1 hr to get the food, 1 round of drinks the whole time, another 20 min to get a bill). You would hope this was a bad day anomaly, but basically the same story on other days. Also same for breakfast. In general, we learned to order all at once and ask for the check when the food is delivered. Also learned to eat outside of the hotel. Another big disappointment was the Service on the beach which was almost non-existent. The other service gap was the concierge desk and water activities desk by the pool. I had a "personal concierge" reach out to me in advance of the trip to ask if I needed anything. I sent them a request for dinner reservations for the week. After arriving I realized nothing had been arranged. I tried over many days to get them to assist in making the reservations but each time nothing happened...and nothing was put in my room record. So each time I went back a new staff was there and they knew nothing about the request. I wasted so much time checking, re-checking and re-discussing reservations. This was really unacceptable as it impacted my time and ability to arrange activities. The water activities guys by the pool were similar, bad communication between staff from one day to the next and unable to close out simple reservation requests. On a positive note they had an activities guy who arranged different beach and water activities. Nice kid. He organized beach soccer, beach volleyball, group pool activities, bingo, etc. Nice touch that was memorable for the kids. Other positives were the rooms. Nicely equipped with kitchenette / stove, large fridge, washing machine, etc. Bathrooms were large and nicely updated. Recommend the 1 bedroom suite...really spacious and nice. Once of my friends had one overlooking the beach...awesome view. if you get a second adjoining studio it creates a nice two bedroom apt. Location was convenient. Mall right across the street. Bus stop at end of hotel driveway. Most of the nice restaurants are just minutes away. So even with my low rating, I would not say to skip the hotel given the positives - especially if you have Starwood points. Just be prepared to deal with services challenges. Hope these lessons help you navigate the system. January 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded Expectations Westin Lagunamar definitely exceeded our expectations! The facility is well maintained and staff throughout the resort were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. Our personal concierge Maggie Salazar was exceptional and made us feel so welcome. The concierge makes it so easy to book tours and activities at discount rates and be sure to book dining reservations through them. We booked two dinner reservations and received a free round of drinks for everyone in our party at both restaurants!! We also booked airport shuttle through the hotel front desk and it was reliable and efficient. The resort pool is absolutely beautiful with the largest infinity pool I have seen. The stretch of beach along the hotel zone was beautiful and very clean. Can't wait to return to this destination. Our whole family had an incredible vacation thanks to Maggie and all of the many hardworking hotel staff. Highly recommend. March 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of our best vvacations ever My wife and I stayed at Lagunamar last March. This is simply a great resort. Our concierge, Delfina, met us upon our arrival. She was extremely helpful in aiding our plans for our stay. Our one regret was that this was just a four night stay. We are rectifying that, by returning next March for a full week's stay. We are bringing another couple with us. The amazing thing to me, is that EVERY room faces the ocean. The staff is friendly and helpful. I don't think I would ever get tired of returning to Lagunamar. October 22, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location The staff at the hotel were attentive and always available. The view from the room was breathtaking. We are looking forward to another visit very soon! The biggest challenge at the hotel was the inconsistency with money exchange and the acceptance of the US dollar. Upon check-in we were told it was accepted to only later find out that it was not. Once we recovered from all the confusion everything was fine. Also, Wi-Fi was never available. We used the business center instead, which is open 24 hours a day. July 15, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Westin Should be Embarassed. My family and I stayed at this Westin for the second time in June 2013 and found the experience extremely disappointing. Check in/Service: We arrived at 11am. The check in process was very unorganized. The first desk gave us a map of the property and charged us for the ride to the hotel. The second desk was where we checked in. It took 45 minutes in line to be helped. There was a preferred member desk with no line and we requested to be helped there, but the woman was VERY rude and said she would try to get to us in a few minutes. 45 minutes later she still would not help us. It appeared she was using the desk as central hub to call other employees instead of using as the check in desk it is meant to be. When we did get help, we found out the rooms would be a while - despite the fact that I had called earlier in the week letting them know we would be early and would like at least one of our 4 rooms to be available. Our rooms were not ready until 6pm. Meanwhile other guests were arriving receiving rooms immediately. As I walked around the hotel waiting to be assigned a room, many staff members seemed to be wandering around chatting or leaning in corridors talking. When we were finally assigned rooms at 6pm we found that we could not get into one of the rooms. We called the desk to request new keys (I was not about to go down to get them after waiting 7 hours for a room). It took 4 phone calls and over an hour to get new keys despite being promised each time that "someone is on their way". SPG members are supposed to receive discount cards to use in the restaurants. The front desk is supposed to inform you of this and give you the cards. They did not. Instead we had to request them. I wonder how many people got ripped off because of that ? Towel cards are also supposed to be given at check in. This was forgotten. When I came to ask for some so we could get towels during our 7 hour wait for a room, I was told I could not have my towel card until I was assigned a room. What did they suggest I do for 7 hours? The staff are not all on the same page. We received different stories from different people. Example: we had two 2 bedroom lockouts. We asked if we could assigned 1 credit card to each room (4 total). Two staff members said it wouldn't be a problem. Then when we went to the desk to add the other 2 credit cards, we were told it was not possible. Oceano: Drinks were extremely weak. "Happy Hour" was never staffed properly so it was nearly impossible to get a drink. Sports Bar: We waited 20 minutes for service despite the restaurant being nearly empty. Guacamole and chips took 30 minutes to come to the table - we could see it sitting in the kitchen window. We ordered drinks during happy hour, but when the bill came, we were charged full price - had to request a reduction. This happened twice. Other: WIFI almost never worked. Positives: The room was nice and the pool and the beach were beautiful. My family owns multiple time shares with Starwood. We have had the pleasure of enjoying them in Kauai, Maui, Orlando, Atlantis, and Jensen Beach. My husband and I were considering purchasing one as well, but after this experience, we are reconsidering. As a seasoned traveler and a loyal Starwood customer, I feel extremely disappointed by this experience and that Westin should be embarassed. August 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Platinum status not recognized and dirty room In a hotel in which app. 85 per cent of the rooms have ocean view, I was given a room across the parking lot, on the first floor and facing a walkway to the swimming pool. When asked, the staff confirmed that it was the best room available Only upon my discovery that the bathroom sink was full of hairs, they rushed me to a marginally better room; it had some ocean view, but it had no privacy since it was still on the first floor and facing the jacuzzi, so everyone in the jacuzzi can see directly into the room. Therefore I had to keep and curtains closed and could not enjoy the "partial ocean view". I asked to change rooms repeatedly but was conveniently ignored by staff and management This hotel was a big let down for someone like me who usually brag to family and friends about the benefits of being Starwood platinum January 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great service great beach great time! We had stayed here in Feb 2014 and there had been a minor issue but I wrote to mgmt and they responded and stated to let them know when we would come back and I did. . .and they passed with flying colors! Alberto Ocariz contacted me personally and when I arrived called to make sure everything was perfect! Thats what I call great customer service! The beach is wonderful and the pool enormous with a beautiful infinity pool. . .you never felt the pool was crowded. We would also go to the daily happy hour at Viento at the swim up bar where the service was great from joaquin, Jorge, and Edgar and co. This place also recognized our SPG platinum status so that was great! We had the daily breakfast buffet which didnt include all the "hot" items but was sufficient for our needs. The manager Ernesto always was pleasant and Tomas who served us frequently great. Overall cant complain and we would come here again in a heartbeat! June 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Third stay in last 18 months Always enjoy staying at this property. Staff is friendly and make you feel welcome and at "home". They are also very attentive to address concerns. We discovered our microwave was not working. Notified front desk of this and a couple of burnt out lights, all were addressed by the time we returned from the mall. The property and grounds are well kept, it seems there is always someone cleaning, wiping down patio furniture, hand railings by the pool etc. Location is great - across the street is La Isla shopping center complete with an aquarium/dolphin show, Starbucks and Mexico's version of Nordstroms, El Palacio. If you rent a car at the airport you can return it at La Isla. Parking is free at the hotel. This is an ideal place when traveling with children as each unit has a complete kitchen and grills are available poolside. May 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Place This is my second time staying at the Lagunamar. I was celebrating my birthday and although May is considered low season we had a great time. I loved that the facility wasn't crowded. The staff there are so helpful and hospitable. I really just wanted to relax and everyone was so attentive and made it so easy to just lay back. I had a special candle light dinner on the beach organized by my partner and hotel staff. They made the evening very enjoyable, special, and romantic. We greatly enjoyed our stay. The only thing that could have been a bit better was the internet access was quite slow, other than that, everything was perfect. May 20, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by The loudest room ever! Don't go. Can't sleep. This was a one bedroom villa with missing things in the kitchen. My family stayed in 72* which is above the restaurant. There were compressors on until midnight and turned back on at 6 am. It is like a jack hammer beneath your floor. You can feel the pounding all night long beneath your feet. DVD player broke and they had to change it out two times! The beach towels are worn out and mismatched. Ants throughout the poolside. Bad WiFi and slow Internet speeds. Staff was nice and tried but we could not switch rooms nor did they try. It takes two or three tries to get staff to do something such as wifi router for room or switching DVD player. My wife found baby waste at the bottom of the pool. This was reported but no reaction/action by staff except surprise. Dirty diapers sitting on lounge chairs by pool for the entire afternnoon! August 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent resort hotel First time to Cancun and I am glad I chose Westin. Very new resort with everything you need available at your finger tips. A mall right across the road if you need shopping or dining. Staff were generally helpful. My only complaint was that the wifi reception was not available in the room and when I complained to the concierge, the staff was brushed off my complaint and never got back to me as promised. I ended up going out of my room to get wifi. July 7, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by great location, terrible staff this hotel has an awesome location, and has a great pool and grounds, but the staff at nearly all areas could not be more rude and unaccomodating. We were promised when we booked the hotel an "premium ocean view room", and when we checked in, we received a room with a sliver of ocean view through trees from the 3rd floor. the room was in a corner, so the next building blocked most of the view as well. When I asked for a room with a better view as promised, i was told they were for Vacation owners only. The front desk employees were rude, the concierge was cold and rude, and the door men / bell hops were also rude. i don't know why this was, as they work in a beautiful place. I booked an excursion thru the concierge,and she clearly did not know how to work the booking computer, as it took over an hour for her to run my credit card, and then she made a mistake, and proceeded to take me to the front desk to add a bother 50.00 to my room bill. unbelievable! June 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great facilities poor service Despite the excellent resort it is, has few employees or some ot their employees don't accomplish the standard is required. Very few waiters @ the pool, it takes so long to be attended, one of the days my room was ready around 8:00 pm, on our check in room was not ready on time and when we arrive it has some dust. And something that I cant believe is that I unfortunately I left my sandals at the room after my stay, and for the quality of the hotels I'd expected to recover them but housekeeping didn´t find them. I just try to recover them because I was going back to Cancun due to my job in other case I'll assume my omission. July 16, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by WORST EXPERIENCE EVER This was the worst vacation experience EVER. I booked this vacation for my wife's birthday and this getaway was horrendous. I got a great deal on the package which was about $320 for 5 days/4 nights, but even at that price, it's not worth it. I spent so much on airfare that went to garbage. PLEASE SAVE YOUR MONEY AND DO NOT STAY HERE. Let's begin... -Before arriving, the hotel said they would have a shuttle service. They had one available for $40 and there were only two of us. A normal cab ride to the airport should be $20 or no more than 250 pesos. (that is what we paid on the way back). Shuttle was 15 minutes late and dropped us off at the front of the resort, not the main entrance. When we walked in, no one helped us with our bags even thought there were 5-6 people standing around. At first, a lady came right up to me and knew who I was. I thought this was great service until all she wanted me to do was pay for the $41.50 shuttle service. I paid that and then she said that someone would check me in. 10 minutes go by... -Finally get to a front desk person and they say that we have a personal concierge. I thought this was great, but we never met her over the entire stay. Check in was at 4 and we got there at 3. I figured the room would be ready since the resort was empty. Not the case, we finally got in our room at 6PM. I even told them I knew they were trying to get us to spend money at the bar or restaurant while we waited, but we went to the bar anyway. They kept our bags in a "safe" place. They did this with all other guests as well. While we were checking out, they kept saying the room was being cleaned to new guests. I felt bad for the new guests, it was just one of their scams. -Maintenance. Our shower would not drain and no one came to tend to it during the entire stay. The shower would be a mini pool and it would get annoying to shower and then come out to the bathroom floor filled with water. This was definitely ruining the floor, but the staff did not care about it at all. -Oceano bar – drinks were weak and the food was OK. I tipped them 15% during happy hour and they got upset. They would take the bill look at the tip and give a dirty and look and say something in Spanish. It was extremely rude and professional. -sales tour – they offered us $100 for a 90 minute sales tour of the resort. This was supposed to be from 10:30-12, but actually went until 12:45 because it really starts when the representative arrives. The tour is a huge scam to buy a time share. At the end, they give you a price and make you feel extremely awkward when you say NO. The voucher they give can only be used on certain things charged to your room. I had a voucher for $200 that they said I could use on tours and activities, but when I tried to use it, they said the total did not exceed that amount and they couldn’t give me money back. I told them to apply the balance to my room bill and they could not. Instead, they said to present it at check out and I would get $200 off my bill. My bill exceeded $200 at check out, but they said some charges were NOT eligible, so I basically got $128 out of the $200 voucher and the rest went to waste. I spoke to a manager and they said there was nothing they can do. They trapped me and I figured it was worth my time to argue over the $. This is just a few things that we were upset about. I wish I knew this earlier and would have saved my money and airfare. It’s upsetting because you spend your vacation days to get away and then end up with an experience like this. I would have never thought this would happen at a Starwood property. I am selling my starwood points and am done with this brand. Absolute GARBAGE. May 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Honeymoon Spot! Upon our arrival we were put into a room with a not so great view on the 2nd floor, and being that we were on our honeymoon and are SPGs we were a little disappointed. But Patricia at the front desk was wonderful and we were given a voucher for 2 free drinks and were told we would get a new better room the following day. We moved into a 6th floor ocean view room the next day. The room was spotless and comfortable, and housekeeping came everyday. Every single member of the Westin staff was polite, friendly and courteous. We ate breakfast twice and dinner once at Oceano - it was absolutely delicious! Real, authentic Mexican food. We had lunch and dinner a few times at Duna sports bar. They have incredible drinks and the food there is delicious as well. The Viento pool bar is great too! My husband and I had a couples massage at the Heavenly Spa - it was incredible! Best massage EVER! We enjoyed all the amenities the spa had to offer as well - sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi. It was very romantic and a great experience. The beach was clean and beautiful. The hotel is fairly close to the airport. Overall, I would HIGHLY recommend the Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort - we had an amazing honeymoon vacation! July 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Doesn't live up to Starwood The service at this hotel is really uneven. Some staff are very helpful, but a disturbingly high percentage are truly bad. The rooms themselves are just decent; they are several notches below what is typically expected out of a Westin and obviously cater to the spring break crowd. The hotel sells itself on its luxe grounds and its amazing Caribbean views, but otherwise is pretty subpar. January 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cancun Spring Break We went there with the family for spring break and found that the hotel was not overrun with partiers. I actually think we saw more babies then we did college kids. Room was quite large and well stocked with a full kitchen stocked with cookware. Pools were very large and all the reviewers comments about not being able to fund a lounge chair are unfortunately correct. It was a bit of a pain. The other disappointment was that the pool drinks were quite bad. I'm not sure if it was bottom shelf booze or mixers but we quickly went and bought our own alcohol and made drinks in our room. As a platinum guest we did get a very nice breakfast spread but as far as platinum recognition that was about it. Check in time was 4 and that's probably being generous. I didn't get a room until after 5 and the hotel was not full. The best thing about the hotel was that the staff were very friendly. Everyone from the valets (Henry I think??) to the wait staff went above and beyond to be nice and it wasn't a fake nice that you get at some hotels. That would bring me back to this property over any SPG recognition. I'd also add to get a few shots from the take 5 photographers located by the family pool. They came out amazing and prices were very reasonable. March 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bait and Switch Overall, everything at the facility was good. My issue was that I selected a junior suite with a ocean view/partial ocean view and I was assigned a junior suite on the ground floor. The only view I had was several trees and a slip of ocean through those trees. They told me to check to see if there was another room available the next morning but who wants to spend their vacation running to the desk to switch rooms?! And as soon as you walk in the hotel, everyone pushes you to meet "your concierge". And the reason they want you to meet your concierge is because that is the person who is going to do the hardsell on you for one of their timeshares. They offer you enticements with discounted tour activities if you agree to take a 2 hour tour of their timeshare program. To top it off, my concierge gave me incomplete information on the tour we signed up for stating "its all inclusive"..you won't need any money. All I can say is.."BUYER BEWARE". But like I wrote at the beginning, the facility itself is nice. Just skip meeting "your concierge"!!! And if you wanted a room with a view, you better confirm this!! May 30, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>