The Westin St. John Resort

  • 300A Chocolate Hole
  • St. John,
  • Jungferninseln
  • 00830
  • USA
  • Landkarte
 

Zimmer & Preise

Schließen

Kinder pro Zimmer

Diese Angaben ermöglichen es uns, die besten Zimmer für Sie zu ermitteln und Ihre Ankunft entsprechend vorzubereiten.

Informationen zu Zustellbetten und/oder Aufschlägen für weitere Personen finden Sie in den Zimmerbedingungen und Details.

Mindestalter

Um eine Reservierung vorzunehmen, müssen Gäste mindestens 18 Jahre alt sein.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 228 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a Platinum Level Resort St John is "Breath Taking" The Westin St John is 3 Star Resort The Food /Restaurant is 2 Star The Management Responsiveness is 1 Star Overall Service is 2 Star The Price is 5 Star.... enough said ! Not a "Platinum Experience" :( July 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location Beautiful location. Friendly staff. Food was good at Lemongrass and Snorkels. Taxi service was great. Only negative... Our room was not cleaned one day and felt it should have been the first one cleaned the next day. August 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 Great Location, but that is it!!! The location is great, but it is St. John's so that is not saying much. Upon arrival the Westin receptionist at the airport was not polite and offered little help. Found out that it cost 120 dollars for round trip ferry fee to and from the resort. Which was nice at first thought, but realized the ferry only ran until 5:30 which limited possible time spent on St. Thomas. We were charged a 40 dollar resort fee and we arrived at the hotel around 6:30PM that day and the last day when you have to check out at 11AM. As a platinum member, no room upgrade was given (well let me correct that statement). We were upgraded from Garden View to Pool View (NOTE: there was no view of the pool and on top of that, the additional noise from the kids and human traffic made it more of a downgrade). The room itself was in poor condition. It smelled like mildew, the bathroom was in need of a deep cleaning (stains on the floor, the bathtub drain was broken, there was mold everywhere in the shower), the AC unit barely worked (we had it set to 65 degrees and it never got below 75, and rarely blew cold air). There were stains on the dressers, which I could wipe off which is indicative of poor housekeeping. Worst part, 4 of the 6 days we found huge cockroaches in the bathroom. The staff at the restaurants were for the most part rude and not pleasant. Food was overall mediocre, nothing special. Extremely over-priced (which is to be expected). Resort is filled with families and children (which is fine if you want that sort of thing), but makes for early morning noise, noise at the pool, etc. I am a fiend (for lack of the better term) for SPG points. We used the green option to receive an additional 500 SPG points, however the island is windy and it blew off of our door every day but one. On top of that, we received the 5$ voucher and it mysteriously dissapeared from our room (so I was not able to received any additional points). Overall as a platinum member, I have had better experiences at 4 points. The location is great, but spend your money elsewhere. February 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor Customer Service & Attitude The attitude of the locals was beyond unacceptable! They were rude, unhelpful and irritated by simple requests, such as: Where can I get a taxi? May I please get a menu? Where is the bathroom? . The service in the restaurants was below average. For example, I ordered a rum runner, a drink that is a specialty in St. John, and received it AFTER my appetizer and dinner were served. The drink was watered down and the ice had melted. There was NO attempt to rectify the problem by offering a fresh $10.00 drink. On the day we were leaving, we asked for our breakfast to go. Instead I was handed a box for me to transfer my yogurt & fruit. I was terribly disappointed to see that I had just paid $17.00 for a half papaya with about three tablespoons of yogurt and fruit. My room had mold growing on the ceiling and parts of the ceiling continously fell onto the bathroom floor. The second day that the housekeeping cleaned our room, the towels were taken, but not replaced. Therefore we had NO towels and discovered this AFTER I was in the shower. Being a Starwood member, I have acquired high expectations because of the excellent service that you all have provided. This resort was terribly disappointing. I usually try to find the good in every situation, especially at such an extraordinary location. The ONLY positive aspect of our stay there is the treatment we received from an Alicia & Prince. They went ABOVE & BEYOND with hosptitality & kindness. Alicia, assistant on the ferry, graciously offered to return our son's bags until we needed to meet his camp director. She provided excellent customer service, concern for our son's belongings & interest for our family enjoying a day on St. Thomas. Prince, ferry attendant, was the most gracious, kind-hearted & friendly person on the entire island! We were inspired by Prince's thankful attitude towards his employment with Starwood, the life that he could provide for his wife and children that were back in the US and the blessings that most of the world take for granted. If Starwood ever needed an example of the ideal customer service represenative, Prince, is EXACTLY what every vactioner would love to meet. I am sincerely thankful for the 30 minutes my husband & I had on the ferry talking to Prince. Starwood is BLESSED to have such loyal, hard-working, caring & positive employees in Alicia & Prince. July 24, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not What It Should Be We stayed at the Westin St. John for our wedding and an abbreviated honeymoon. Relatives stayed in two rooms in addition to ours. We knew in advance that the hotel is undergoing renovations, but that isn't really sufficient to justify a bathroom door that doesn't close (I finally got it to work adequately after two failed attempts by maintenance), a coffee maker that didn't work (replaced with one that would not work with the coffee packets provided, so we had to have it replaced a second time), a cockroach that ran across two of the kids' feet (to be expected in the Caribbean though, so not really the hotel's fault; it just seemed fitting, that's all), "free" wifi that is slower than a dial-up modem, making it unusable because almost any modern server or browser will time out before a suitable connection is made (and forget streaming or data transfer). When I made it clear to the front desk that I thought the super-slow wifi was just a way to push people to pay for the "premium" wifi at about 10 Mbps and $20/day, he said he would look into it and have the manager contact me. Nope. We were supposed to get extra points every night for not using maid service, but I had to call the hotel, because they didn't bother to add them onto my account. When we voiced some concerns to the concierge, we got a lot of pleasantries but no action, because they are only there to sell ownership units, not to actually solve problems or answer questions that hotel visitors may have. May 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2nd Trip, First with Daughter It was a great trip and all the staff were great. With the upgrades to the resort, it was a bit of an inconvenience to work around, but the hotel had a great plan to minimize the impact. We will be back in Sept to stay in the villas and we hope the weather is good and the resort is as good as always! May 11, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by A Long Ways from the Best of the Caribbean I am married and travel a lot with my wife and two kids (2y and 4y). I travel about 5-6 times each year where 2-3 of those trips are overseas (usually Caribbean) and have been to many Caribbean islands. St. John unfortunately does not compete well with other islands unless you are a couple looking for an intimate spot and even then it's a bit of a stretch. First, to get to St. John, you must either pay $65pp EACH WAY for the Westin ferry or take a 45 min van ride to a 20 min ferry ride to a 5 min cab ride to get there. Once you get there, the lobby is not air conditioned. It's open air which is nice, but when it's over 90 outside, it can get hot there. Next, we stayed in the Hillside villas and I would suggest other accommodations unless you enjoy walking up two 30 degree incline hills to get there. You can also take the free golf cart shuttles if you like, but as I said before, there are better options. The rooms are nice and well appointed. We had a one-bedroom loft which was comfortable and had partial ocean views. There are few restaurants to choose from. There is 1 for breakfast/dinner, 1 for lunch, and 1 for just dinner. Bar food for lunch each day got old and we ended up cooking a lot since there is a market a short walk away. There are many choices in downtown (5 min away by taxi), but for $5pp each way, that got old as well. The restaurants we did eat at downtown are good, but not great. Other islands (Aruba, Bahamas, Jamaica, Puerto Rico) easily have more and better choices. Also, it's expensive, but unless you find some local spots, eating where the tourists eat usually is costly, regardless of where you are. There was also a deli which served some sandwiches and salads all day. There are nice beaches, but I question whether they are some of the best in the world. Trunk Bay, $8pp each way by taxi and $4pp to enter, is supposed to be one of the best. It is nice and intimate with lots of marine life swimming around. There were sting rays and tons of fish to keep snorkelers happy. I believe the snorkeling is good in St. John, but I believe that can be said about many islands in the Caribbean. We aren't snorkelers so I can't comment further about that. The beach and main pool by the resort are okay. The beach does not have the clearest water. There is a good amount of seaweed and you share the bay with lots of boats. All beaches are in bays so it is very calm there. The main pool was very nice with waterfalls and a nice layout. A swim up bar would have made it nicer, but it is still very nice. If you are a beach person, expect to take a taxi each time. If you are a pool person, you will be happy. There was a small pool next to each Hillside villa, which was nice and usually empty. There was a waterfall and two nice grills there as well. Unfortunately, they were not cleaned often and usually had plenty of debris floating there. We got bitten a lot there and were told they are sand fleas/sand flies. Make sure to ask about that since we weren't warned and could have have a more comfortable stay if we used bug spray. I've never experienced these before, but maybe I was just unlucky since I hear they can be in the Caribbean and even Florida. There were a decent amount of kids there who seemed to stay at the pool most of the time so if you have a little one, they should find some playmates easily. If you're the type that is looking to drop your kids off at the Kid's Club, you might be disappointed since there were never kids in there except occasionally at night (5p-10p). We didn't care since we never use the Kid's Club. Lastly, the staff there was somewhat friendly, but compared to the Westin Aruba, Harborside, Westin Lagunamar, they fall short again. If I never stayed anywhere else, I probably wouldn't notice, but it you are used to those other places, you might feel that area lacking, There are a couple stand outs. The front desk was always nice and helpful. Samir in guest relations and Teri in concierge were very nice, but that's about it. Overall, the big draws here are: 1) The intimacy/privacy. There are many beaches you can take a taxi to where it will be just you and only you there. That's rare. 2) It's US territory so it's easier to get there and back, if that matters. 3) It's really cool to walk around at night and hear the orchestra of nightlife playing. It's more relaxing and peaceful than I can describe. 4) It's never crowded anytime or anywhere and we went during Carnival 4th of July week. The hotel was full, but you would never know that. That's very rare. Outside of that, there are better choices unless those four things are really important to you. July 7, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel needs to be updated Hotel has a great location, nice beach, excellent pool area. But it's not what I expected from a Westin property. The rooms are average, not luxurious. The maid service was very erratic - some day we'd get no clean towels, the next day we'd get towels but no wash cloths. Food was pretty good but service in the main restaurant was strange. You almost had to trip a waitress to get them to get your order. This wasn't true at the Snorkels' Bar and Grill by the pool - they were very good. July 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just Super Restful This is our second trip to the Westin St. John and it is certainly our favorite Island getaway. The staff is terrific and our units have been comfortable, clean, and extremely restful. The food, activities, and amenities are all first rate, though I have to mention that the fitness center could use some upgrades. Much of what you'll buy anywhere on the island will be somewhat pricey, but it's not any more so than other secluded island areas. I heartily recommend the Westin St. John. June 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Really enjoyed our time here! My husband and I are Starwood owners and this was our first time here at this resort. Plus: beautiful property, friendly staff, great location, shuttle/ferry service to and from St. Thomas was excellent (worth the price we paid). Our room was not near the main pool, but it was nice to have a small pool next door. I would try to request a villa closer to the main pool if we were to bring our kids. Improvements: need sidewalks or walking paths so your not competing with golf carts. April 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome march vacation My wife and I along with 2 other couples arrived 3/21 , stayed in a 3 bedroom villa which was great, then on 3/26 my wife and I moved to a poolside hotel room, our guests left this day. We stayed till Saturday 3/29. I have to say our vacation was awesome!!!!, Everyone treated us like kings, especially Neal Lanclos, one of the golf cart drivers who met us at the ferry and was there for us anytime we needed a ride or information. He went well above the call of duty for us and we greatly appreciated that. We hope to be back in 2016 when all renovations are completed. I hear completion date is jan 2015 but 2016 is better for our schedule. Every staff member including the pool area & bar were great, looking forward to seeing Sue at the pool again someday. Great place, town & beaches on st john are great!! here are a few restuarants you must try, Asalore, zozo's, banana deck,rhumb lines. April 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bait and switch! Three major problems with the Westin. 1) The rooms are no where near the standard of what most Westin's look like and the 1 bedroom suite did not even remotely resemble the pictures on the website. The room smelled musty and the room looked liked it was built in the 70's and has not been updated since. 2) The service from 90% of the staff whether front desk or getting served a drink at the pool bar, was just horrible! If you like a place where you are pampered do not go here... their excuse for the poor service is "Island Time" 3) We did the time share tour, and that is where most of the suite picutres are from, but of course you have to buy a time share to get into those rooms. Come on Westin you can do wway better than this!!! April 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice place. Nice place,nice people,great time spent there. The rooms are a bit old style but I understand that soon they're gonna remodel everything. See you soon again. August 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Customer service needs management attention The resort itself was amazing , however, a bit tired, lobby needs help but what kept our rating from being over the top, a number, indeed not all of the staff need to raise the bar on customer service. I was told in a very unprofessional manner to get off the dock while taking pictures of the sunset do to the expected arrival of the Westin Ferry. Not sure why my presence would be a concern even so the discourteous manner in which I was asked to leave should be a deep concern to management. Very rarely did the staff driving golf carts ask us if we needed a lift to and from the lobby, restaurant etc, and finally with the exception of Carlos at the front desk trying to arrange for early morning departure was a mini nightmare. Carlos saved the day and should be rewarded for stepping in and actually providing customer service March 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fun variety, good quality Staff were very pleasant and helpful. The Lemongrass had high quality (and very high prices) and was easily accessible. August 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great facilility under construction We have stayed here four times before in August. The facility is gorgeous, but our pool side room was blocked off with jackhammer construction site for part of our week. We arrived on Saturday following storm Bertha. Resort was understaffed due to ferry restrictions placed by US coast guard. Our room was occupied by prior guest when we arrived and we were given a temporary room for the night, which had a queen bed for the four of us. We had asked for a rollaway, but it never came and our phone did not work. Some of the staff made efforts above and beyond the call of duty that day, including bellman Prince Philip and the woman leading guests onto the Westin Ferry. It was a nice touch that the hotel offered us a free buffet dinner. Later in the week, however, our room was not made up one day when we were at the beach. The next day the maid forgot to shut our room door and left it open after she was there. Nothing was taken, but it is a bit unsettling to return to our room with the door wide open. Our room phone only worked two days during our stay. This is a gorgeous property and will return again. The staff's helpfulness was mixed this trip, with some being extra helpful and some unhelpful. August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A place like no other One would think of the US Virgin Islands and think ok I will go there some day. Once you get there you will want to come back again and again! This property is amazing and it is surrounded by wonderful beaches. The property has everything you need and a lot of relaxation. August 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin St John exceeded expectations You arrive to a beautiful place that is even better than expected. At check-in, staff bend over backwards to welcome us and to recognize our SPG status. First class greeting for sure. They took us to our room with our luggage, but spent the time to take us around and show us the resort. This staff was proud to be here, and we could see that. The villa that we were upgraded to was WAY beyond our expectation. The housekeeping was outstanding too. Friendly, thorough, etc. Shuttles were always available. Staff is 5 star. All of our visit (it ends tomorrow) was outstanding. I cannot understand why some reports don't glow as they should. The only negative is the tiny Spa facility for my wife's nail treatment., and that didn't dampen our 5 star experience. We love this place, and our friends are coming for a wedding visit in two months. They too will be thrilled. January 10, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This property is not worthy of the Westin name I never take the time to write reviews but felt obligated to alert others to the shambles that this property has become. Public and private areas of the property are in dire need of an overhaul, updating, cleaning and basic maintenance. The beach towels are threadbare, the lounges are mildewed, the paint is scraped off the furniture in the patio lounge, the public bathrooms are dirty with overflowing trash etc.., seaweed piles up on the beach as if this were a 2 star property, beach & pool service only made the rounds one day of our 5 day stay, service is slow, erratic and most often comes with a giant "i'm doing you a favor attitude". And while the bed linens have been updated in the beachfront rooms, the bathrooms have not and are literally the size of a gas station and absolutely filthy with stained shower floor grout, etc. Maid service is just the bare minimum, no bathrobes, etc. I have stayed at dozens of Westin properties all over North America and am still unable to believe that this "resort" carries the Westin name. I know the hotel offerings are slim in St. John, but this is a travesty. Beware! May 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Island get away! Our stay at the Westin St. John was very relaxing. I was amazed at the amount of children at the resort and I thought that noise would be a problem. The resort is spread out where this is not a problem at all. The staff were very nice and service was up to expectations. If you love hiking, snorkeling, and all water sports, St. John is a great island to stay at. We had a great time and can not wait to go back. January 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tropical paradise My husband, 2 children along with 2 friends went on this vacation together from Jan 3 - 10 2013. We brought them back to St. john to see all the amazing sights we saw when we were on our honeymoon here in July 2011. The Westin has the best ammenities along with the best staff! Very friendly and hotel was very clean. After visiting twice we bought a timeshare!! Now we will have many more trips to St. John! April 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay Our stay was tremendous at the Westin. My daughters wedding in St John so many of our guest stayed at the Westin and the Westin villas, everyone had a great time. Staff attentive to our needs, food great, even though construction was in progress it did not interfere in any way. Rehearsal dinner was awesome, thanks to Michelle and the staff. Thanks for a wonderful experience ! June 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Review of beach front room Ground level room, able to literally walk out to the beach from our patio - best we have had in this regard. Room was clean and well appointed. Staff was friendly and professional. Strongly suggest Westin put microwave ovens in these rooms. August 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Stay Loved this resort, stayed 7 nights. Assigned to 2nd floor, building 21 which I thought was a great location--view of the beautiful grounds & of the water/bay, close to the pool & beach restaurant. All rooms have balconies (a real plus) or patios (some rooms on 1st floor may not have great views). Food options for 7 days were a expensive & limited, so next time will need to figure out alternatives. Staff were all very friendly and helptul. Beautiful pool and nice beach. Cruz Bay Water Sports on site, 2 thumbs up! Only complaint was the flat screen TV. The voice was totally not synched with the picture (nightlife is quiet on St. John, so watching TV is entertainment). October 13, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location but food is a disgrace Had a very nice room and loved the location and facilities. My big issue was the quality of the food at the various restaurants. Breakfast is just OK but I was shocked at the plastic "cheese" on the nachos served poolside and found dinner at the main dining room gross. The seared tuna was obviously a frozen piece of fish that was cold in the center while the grilled fish of the day was over cooked and rubbery. NOT what I expect of a Westin resort, especially at the prices. The high end restaurant (steak house) was somewhat better in quality but still not near the quality for the price. We ate much better and cheaper (including the $20-30 in taxi fares) in Cruz Bay. July 1, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great hotel but construction was noisy Love the Westin, Have stayed there many times. Recently stayed in villas in oct & dec but main pool was closed. It was disappointing because that was our main draw with the kids. But they gave me a free stay to come back and when I did there was so much noise by the pool with construction of the villas, we could hardly talk and hear each other. Would go back but not until construction was done it was very stressful August 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Experience this is my favorite place on the planet. they really treat you well and you are relaxed the minute you get there. July 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Westin Experience Ever We came here on our honeymoon 5/28/12-6/2/12 and being a Platinum member since 2006 I expected some type of recognition especially after notifying several people at the hotel prior to our arrival of our recent nuptials. However, not being recognized one single time was the least of my worries as this was not only the worst Westin experience of my life, but probably one of my worst hotel experiences ever with Starwood hotels if not all hotels. Our trip began with a 2 hour wait at the airport in St thomas. Once we got our luggage from baggage claim we checked in at the westin in the airport and had to sit in a waiting room for two hours without air conditioning and without being told any information on when our shuttle was coming. When our shuttle finally came the ride lasted all of about 10 mins and then we were dropped off at a restaurant at the dock to only wait for another 50 mins for their private ferry to st John to come. If we would have known that we would have had 3 hours to waste we could have actually done something productive and just met at the ferry when it was scheduled to leave instead of having us just wait and wait and wait. Also, being a private ferry I was expecting a much nicer boat since we were being charged so much more than the other ferries, but after riding on them the rest of our trip the Westin Ferry was probably the crappiest one! If you are going to charge more, that you need to provide a better service which they did not. Once we finally got to the hotel room we were constantly interrupted for the next 2 days by staff knocking on the door, which is the last thing we wanted on our honeymoon. The walls were also very thin and we kept waking up to either our noisy neighbors or the loud lawn maintenance that occurred early in the morning. I finally went and spoke with the manager on duty to explain that we were on our honeymoon and did not want to be disturb the rest of our stay. She apologized and we agreed that our room could only be cleaned in the afternoon from 12-2. However, it was not cleaned for the next 2 days and cleaning people still came when they wanted to clean the room even though we had our do not disturb sign up. Some other horrible details, we found two gigantic cockroaches in our bathroom through out our stay. Living in LA and NY I have seen big insects but these ones were huge! Also the plumbing was really loud and suspect. The electricity would also sometimes go out. I understand that this is an island so I accept some of these things. However, the staff was the worst and some of their attitudes were simply uncalled for. I could not believe how disgruntle and rude some of these westin workers were. Don't get me wrong there were some very nice and pleasant people, but typically there are never any rude people that work at the westin and I felt like there were quite a bit at this location. For example, the first night we had dinner in the pool side restaurant and our server actually never came back after giving us our entrees. The food was not good and way over priced by the way. We had to ask another server for our bill after waiting around 20 mins with no sign of our original server. The new server couldn't find our meal in the system so he had to ask us what we had in order to ring us up. Such a hassle. We also got massages at this resort and the spa facilities are tiny, actually there wasn't anything except for a small sauna. No steam room, no whirlpool, and no relaxation area. I don't even think they should say they have a Spa. They had a gym and a lockeroom not a Spa. Very disappointing especially for the price we paid for on the massages. The resort looks beautiful from a scenery point of view, but so does all of St John. After driving around and talking to other tourists I would definitely recommend staying somewhere else on St John. This westin was not good. The rest of our honeymoon we went to a few islands in the BVI and to St Thomas before flying back to the states and let me tell you the experience at these other hotels was so much nicer, cleaner, kinder, and the staff so much more pleasant, and oh yeah no cockroaches! We were given free drinks, food, and upgraded to better rooms because of our honeymoon status, but didn't get even a congratulations from the Westin. Honeymoon or not, the overall experience at this westin was completely unacceptable. I am sure there were other bad and good things that occurred during my stay that I can't remember, but the bottom line is that I really hope that SPG takes these comments seriously and tries to improve this location so that future people don't have to have their vacations tarnished like we did because this location does not deserve the WESTIN name. Even at check out they just gave me my bill and didn't even ask how our stay was. Maybe they knew how bad of a job they did or maybe they just didn't care. I was very embarrassed to put my new wife through this ordeal after insisting that we stay at a SPG hotel. Wow, still can't believe how bad this experience was. July 4, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel needs to improve infrastructure and service Hi- My wife and colleagues stayed at the resort for 5 days. We were disappointed with the service provided and the infrastructure at the hotel: - Staff are not oriented toward providing excellent guest service (e.g., forgetting to cleanup room, not bringing dinner on time etc) - Rooms are old and needs to be upgraded. June 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolutely Amazing Stayed at the West-in resort from 3/31 to 4/5/14. The resort is absolutely beautiful and well kept. The pool, beach and amenities are amazing and make for a perfect vacation- for all ages. When we first arrived, Akima greeted us at the front desk and was SO friendly and welcoming. Being a SPG platinum member, she was able to get me upgraded to a beach front room. She was always there to help and greet us with a smile. The staff at Snorkels bar did everything for their guests to enjoy the time there. The pool, beach and resort was super clean and perfect. DEF recommended!! will be back in July! April 5, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 9 next>>