W Retreat & Spa - Ilha Vieques

  • State Road 200,
  • KM 3.2 - HC-1 Box 9368
  • Vieques Island,
  • Porto Rico
  • 00765
  • Estados Unidos
  • Mapa
 

Quartos e tarifas

Fechar

Crianças por quarto

Esta informação nos permite identificar os quartos que acomodarão melhor o seu grupo e nos preparar para sua chegada.

Consulte os termos e detalhes do quarto para obter informações sobre encargos por cama dobrável e/ou pessoa extra.

Minimum Age for Check-in

Guests must be 21 years or older with a valid photo ID to check-in.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 288 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hard to go wrong with this location This is a gorgeous island, and the flight from San Juan is unforgettable. The W experience starts at the VQS airport arrivals lounge for the hotel, although I thought the lounge could have been vastly improved. When I was there, just one bottle of orange juice and an empty carton of guava juice were sitting on the counter, and there was no Wifi, alcohol, or snacks. The hotel itself sits on a gorgeous stretch of the Atlantic, making it a tad choppy in winter but still stunning. There are two beaches (one adults only), with food/beverage service to both (albeit quite slow, and at $18 a pop for a mojito, almost prohibitively expensive). The main pool set-up was fantastic, and despite the hotel seeming booked almost to capacity on a December weekend, there was always a place to sit, including hammocks, lounge chairs, and in-pool loungers shaded with umbrellas. My room had a great ocean view and was huge, with a nice-sized tub and a great balcony. I was able to take everything out of the little fridge and stock it with Medalla Light I brought from the mainland. :) I appreciated the SPG Platinum upgrade, and with my flexibility about beds (I was fine with a room with two queens), I was able to get a way better room. I would avoid the non-ocean view rooms, as the same horse dung remained outside on those lawns when I left as when I arrived two days before. My only real issue was the arrangement of services outside the hotel. When I was there, just one person was at the concierge desk, and the man in front of me was planning his entire week for more than an hour while I waited. The publico system (public taxis) is hit or miss, as there are very few on the island and it seems a couple drivers have a monopoly on the W, so when they are late/sick/flake, the guest suffers. I hate to wait about two hours for a publico to take me to the beach at one point, which ratcheted up my stress level quite high, negating the purpose of my vacation. In any case, this island is well deserving of a visit, and the W makes a good base for exploring. December 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dream-like Vacation What a trip it was and it started with the fantastic news that we were upgraded to the WOW Suite!! It was just incredible and we were treated unbelievably well! I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a romantic getaway. It was phenomenal - the property, the service, the treatment we received, all of it - truly felt like a SPG Platinum member and its reasons like this that I continue to push to be in a SPG hotel wherever I go. The front desk, whatever whenever, and housekeeping (leaving chocolates on the bed!) were all extremely sweet, considerate, and responsive. The food needs improvement (a quick beans and rice place by the pool would be great) but other than that this property is fantastic and well worth the experience! April 15, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unable to properly make reservations for guests. My boyfriend and I booked a 3-night trip to Vieques solely based on the fact that we were staying at a W. Being well-traveled and having stayed at numerous W properties all over the world, I have become accustomed to - and expect - a certain level of hospitality and service at any W. From the moment we arrived at the hotel, there were issues. First, our room wasn't ready until after 4PM (which is an incredibly late check-in) - and when they brought us to our room (booked as a Spectacular ocean-front room with a balcony), we had a poolside first-floor room with no view (unless you count the barbeque station as a view, which I don't). After complaining about this, we were told there were no other available rooms until Sunday. Begrudgingly, we stayed put, but had to close our curtains at all times, sacrificing any natural light and the sparse view of the blue sky. Then, we went to scheduled dinner reservation for the evening (which we booked weeks in advance) - only to find that we, in fact, had no reservation. At that point, we decided to doublecheck every other reservation we had made to see if they had actually made the reservation. Unsurprisingly, they had not booked our couples massage. In fact, the spa was so busy they couldn't fit us in at any requested time, so we had to rearrange our schedule in order to fit into their schedule. We took a trip to the Bio Bay kayaking tour - shuttled by the hotel. However, when we were finished with the tour, we had no transportation back to the hotel. We were basically stranded in a random town in downtown Vieques. And if you know Vieques, you know there are no cabs readily available. While the manager (?) did try to make up for the hotel's mistakes (a room upgrade to an unnecessarily large suite for one night that was STILL on the groundfloor; a complimentary dinner at the hotel that was way below par in terms of quality; a free massage that ended up taking double the time due to inadequate staffing), I cannot overlook the fact that were significant missteps (on seemingly easy requests) every step of the way. The inadequacies of the hotel to properly accommodate their guests the way I expected to be accommodated was way below par - and way below what I have grown to expect from W hotels. All that being said, the hotel property is gorgeous. February 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Spectacular setting, inconsistent service W Vieques is clearly an absolutely stunning setting with top notch pool and beach area. Pros: - SPG recognition. I spoke to a resort employee Ayie prior to arrival and she was more than accommodating and was recognized for my platinum status upon arrival and upgraded to a WOW! Suite...very nice SPG recognition - Setting. The hotel setting and pool area are spectacular. Two beaches allow for the kids to have an area to play with provided beach kayak, etc and the other allows for adults to truly relax and enjoy the setting. Set in a mountainside with breathtaking views. Pool area although a little small for the resort size, had chairs that also sit directly in the water and was extremely refreshing. We also thoroughly enjoyed the wild horses that would from time to time find themselves on to the property...very cool! - Service. This is both a pro and a con, but will leave the pro comments here. Concierge team was more than accommodating and helpful...booked whatever we wanted and also was more than willing to transport us to nearby destinations upon request. Sorce host remembered our name from the previous day as well as the server gave very helpful info about the island...everyone we asked for help from, was more than accommodating. Cons: - Service. As mentioned before, when asked, everyone went above and beyond to be helpful and nice, but not many people took the initiative. Maybe on par for a W hotel, but the feeling is one of the best W's I've ever experienced and would expect the service to match. - Food. Not many options here and the only option from 3-6pm is either room service or the outside pool area. Food is overpriced for what you get and with limited options, if you don't venture out to Esperanza or other parts of the island to eat, you'll get tired of the food quickly. Breakfast was always the best meal! - Technology issues. Our TV was out of service for two whole days. Why are we watching TV at a place like this one may ask, but having the option would be nice. Overall it was a great experience and the hotel and setting are beyond what the pictures show. There are at times from the rain some flooded areas, but that is to be expected in PR. I would highly recommend for someone looking to get away and not looking for anything Americanized (shopping, eateries are all native). I would also like to again recognize Ayie for her helpful communication and ensuring our SPG status was more than well recognized. With a few more consistencies, this would be a 5 all the way, but until then, it's a strong 4! August 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not what I'd expect from a W... Where do I start? How about with checkin. We arrived early - 1130a - and understandably the rooms were not ready. So we waited patiently by the pool. 4pm was checkin and we didn't get our room until 545p. Not a great way to start our vacation. I have to say, the resort itself is quite nice. Horses run free on the property and in the early morning hours you can see them laying in the grass or grazing. The pool area was nice as well. Lots of seating around both pools. The service from the pool bar was attentive and quick. All the servers we had were great. Our rooms were a nice size and exactly what you'd expect from the W, spacious and well decorated. The bed was really comfortable. Now reality sets in. We're early risers and were down by the pool by 7a. Every morning the pool area was littered with trash, empty cups and bottles from the day/night before. There were no towels in the morning so you had to go to the front desk to get them. Towels didn't come out until close to 10a. How's that possible? Same with water. Bone dry until 10a. They also have 6 cabanas they charge $250 a day for. Not one person paid for any of them for the 6 days we were there. They just sat empty. Why wouldn't they just have them open? $250 a day? Unbelievable. They charge a $60 a day resort fee (actually $65.40 with tax) which includes Internet and non-motorized water sports, etc. The problem is with such a large property, you have to walk 1/2 to the other side to get paddles for kayaking, snorkel & mask for swimming in the ocean. You have to be there right when they open to ensure you get them or you'll miss out for the day because they don't have nearly enough to accommodate the number of people staying. The Internet is also included in the resort fee and its worse than a third world country. Seriously, dial up would be faster. This is unacceptable to me considering you don't have an option to use it because you're forced to pay for it. The hotspot on my iPhone worked 10 times faster. Ridiculous. Then there are the nature sounds at night they pipe in around the property. They're so loud you can hear them as if they're in your room. Frogs and crickets - two of the most annoying sounds anyone would want to hear at night. If we could have only found the plug, it would have been silent!! All in all I wouldn't return. This hotel is not what I'd expect from a W, especially for what they charge. We did have a great time only because there were 14 of us and it was the company that made the trip awesome. Proceed with caution. March 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by First trip to Vieques My girlfriend and I chose Vieques and the W as our first getaway together as neither of us had ever been. We are both well traveled so expectations were very high… From our arrival at the small island airport and its W lounge, we were greeted and treated exceptionally well by the W staff. Ricky, our Ambassador, was friendly, courteous & helpful and ultimately assisted with a room change that we desired (wasn’t needed – just our choice). Blaine at Wet was tremendous with his service but was truly friendly and a great help with suggestions, explaining some of the idiosyncrasies of Vieques and much more. W, you’ve got some great people in these two. The W is certainly nice as you approach but it’s only after you walk through the lobby and step outside that you really can appreciate how beautiful the setting is, fully appreciate the property and get the whole vibe of the place. The first night we shared chicken soft tacos and shrimp quesadillas at Sorce – both were great but we highly recommend the quesadillas as a great light dinner or lunch. We had them 4 times during our stay! Our advice is not to go to Vieques without renting a Jeep (Island Car Rental at the W was convenient). Most of the beaches are in undeveloped, protected areas and they are some of the most pristine beaches I’ve seen anywhere. Getting out and seeing the island, visiting Esparanza, Isabel II and the all the “wildlife” areas, seeing the roaming horses and getting a feel for the whole place shouldn’t be missed. This is a VERY laid back place with very nice people, a good bit of poverty but a wonderful culture to it. Black Beard Sports on property will lend you snorkel gear for “free” (part of your $60/day resort fee) and we recommend renting a chairs for the beaches from them as well. Don’t get me wrong, the beaches at the W are great but can’t compete with others on the island… Try Sol’s food truck for an amazing lunch near some of the best beaches (yes, a truck!), El Quenepo and, best of all, Next Course where we ate twice for really great meals. I’d call the last two for reservations to be safe. The W Spa did a wonderful job with a couples massage in a room overlooking the ocean which has a wall of doors that we requested be opened during. There’s nothing like a great massage while listening to the ocean! Also, do the Bio Bay tour if you haven’t seen one before. Choose a kayak tour if possible and, if you have a Jeep, you can meet the tour operator near the bay. Otherwise, you’ll spend too much time on the back & forth, etc. It’s truly amazing but you only need an hour on the water and another hour to put in and wind up – more than that is unnecessary. There are only a handful of these in the world and it is amazing to see. February 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by *Dont stay above a suite The W was incredible. All around excellence. The one very big issue was that our quiet romantic room was above a suite with a dining room table and living area that was hosting parties the first few nights of our stay. It was impossible to sleep and was louder than our apt in new york city. Very upsetting. We couldn't switch rooms because there were no others available. Be careful where your room is placed when you book. Make sure you are not above a room that is booked for a party or event and could end up having late night gatherings every night. Other than that, the location was spectacular and the staff was incredible. Especially Angel. He made every night especially memorable. March 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A very nice hotel The hotel was great overall. It feels like a W hotel anywhere in the U.S in terms of comfort and modern amenities, I highly recommend it. It has its own beach. The free drinks in the evening are great. The pools are pristine. The staff are very friendly. I do have to say a couple of things that were downers. One is that we had to wait 20-45 min every time we needed a taxi to go somewhere in the island. The hotel should do a better job to either have their own car service for guests (even if guests have to pay), or better access to rentals of cars or scooters to get around. Also, it was impossible to get a massage/facial without reserving days i advance. Everything else was amazing February 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by PARADISE!!! Above and beyond expectations! May 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by wonderful vacation My family and I stayed at the W Vieques over the 2013 Christmas break The hotel is really beautiful, wonderful views and amazing beaches We had such a nice time WE LOVED THE WILD HORSES SO MUCH The beach activity center had many water activity equipment to offer We went paddle boarding,,kayaking and snorkeling My son used the gym every day and it was very well equipped I think the staff at this hotel go way out of there way to be helpful and pleasant Everyone working at The W are friendly and so helpful The pool is so pretty especially at night We loved Vieques its a magical place I highly recommend this hotel January 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by An amazing resort We were impressed with the W from the second that we arrived. Beautiful location! The front desk staff was accommodating and attentive. The room exceeded our expectations - tastefully decorated with an incredible view. We can't wait to go back. May 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional! Greg, We just got home from a five day stay at your resort! We are OVER JOYED with the overall experience at WVieques. Everything was perfect and you have an exceptional staff! We were very touched by "Danny" he is truly a valued employee with compassion! He displayed unwavering enlightened hospitality to the fullest! From the design of the hotel to the spectacular views everything was a dream come true! We can't wait to come back and do it all over again!! Your poolside staff was fantastic as well taking great care of us! Gigi, Yamil & Juan were wonderful! The manager of Away is also a complete delight! How fortunate you are to have such wonderful employees. Thank you again for all that you do to make your resort a success! All the best from two very happy guests! Alice & Carlo April 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Spectacular Hotel / Service Needs A Boost The location and facilities were excellent. You couldn't ask for a nice pool or room. The bar, pool, valet, and restaurant staff were excellent. However, the Concierge (W/W), Blackbeard's rentals, and Front Desk the weekend I stayed seemed very average and less than helpful at times. I found the Concierge always talking to an employee and actually directed me to the Front Desk when I approached for help. I've never seen that at a W. The lady at Blackbeard's seemed inconvenienced on the day I visited. When you have a super poo and F&B staff, the people who are average tend to stick out so I wanted to mention it. December 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by any early deficiencies have been corrected I started reading reviews 2 years ago in planning our trip. I wanted to spend wisely and have a great trip as a family. Some reviews weren't so great and left me scratching my head ("really? at a W? that doesn't sound right!") We stayed 2 rooms 7/31-8/7/13 and had a blast. Yes, it's a resort--there are daily fees (we used the kayaks once) and cheeseburgers/fish tacos are $15-25...menus are on the website. Get past that and realize you're paying for the view and the experience. The W lounge at VQS is GREAT (help yourself to the DonQ) for arrivals/departures. Juan at the lounge, Ronnie at the WET bar, and Abigail at the W Cafe were beyond words in making us feel welcome and at home. August 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Unique and Special Spot Such a great place to relax and enjoy some downtime with friends or a special someone. The small planes from San Juan are a fun experience to start the adventure. The rooms are sexy, and we enjoyed the convenience offered by the pool oasis room to go back and forth to the pool/beach. The disappointing side is that it is obvious that the hotel is cutting costs, compared to my visit a few years ago (no more open bar at airport lounge, no berries on breakfast buffet in lieu of cheaper fruits, unable to get SPG Platinum breakfast at main breakfast restaurant/restricted to W Cafe, portable lanterns are gone, and staff was minimal at breakfast.) All staff were very nice, fun, and helpful, but more bodies would improve the experience. In the end, I would recommend a visit to this beautiful retreat, and I hope to return again soon myself. April 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice - Liked, Didn't Love We stayed two nights on points/cash with relatives last week. We had ocean view, relatives had garden rooms. We had no problems, our relatives televisions didn't work. We didn't find out till after we left so the hotel didn't have an opportunity to address it. I thought the hotel was nice, the staff helpful. I've come to the realization that I've been fortunate to stay in some truly fabulous places and although this was nice, I know dollar for dollar you can get a better deal elsewhere. I wouldn't say not to stay there and I don't regret our stay. I just have no desire to go back. February 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by AWESOME!!!!!!!!! If you looked at Trip Advisor you may have considered not going to W Vieques as we did However-what we found last weekend Dec.14-17 was a pleasant surprise. The property is beautiful- 2 fantastic beaches.2 great pools. The restaurant is excellent- great food and great service.And I am an SPG Platinum and travel around the world and am very picky. The restaurant staff were wonderful. Jillian at breakfast and Javal for dinner were friendly, efficient, professional and exceeded our expectations. All of the staff were helpful for both hotel and island advice. This W is ahidden gem for a Caribbean holiday. December 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Island! One of the best vacations ever. This is a great place to go to get away from it all. November 15, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Christmas weekend visit - 2013 Unfortunately, I would not either recommend or return to this property for the cost extracted. Despite the efforts of the staff, the property is in sad physical condition. Is it possible that management does not walk the property and see what needs to be corrected/improved - such as the driveway and the tennis courts? It is only four years old. How can a room for two have only two drawers for storing clothes and one hook for nightwear? For a $65/day facility charge, why is there only one organized yoga class at 0815. Security at the front gate for those with rent-a-cars was literally nonexistent; the front gate staff need training. One visit was one too many; will advise friends and associates. December 31, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel in paradise We had a good time here. Love the decor, relaxation and all the amenities that they offer. The staff was wonderful, made you feel very comfortable. My only complaint was that they allowed a dog at the restaurant. I have no problem with a pet friendly hotel, but unless it's a handicap dog it should not be allowed. In dining area. A couple called there attention and no one addressed it. When I saw the dog sitting on a chair and they were feeding it off the table I said something and still nothing was done, actually they brought dog to breakfast next day, that's when I walked out. February 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great service The Hotel facilities are beautiful, and the beaches even more so. But what my husband and I liked the most was the service provided by all the staff members we talked to. I would like to thank Jousett Villegas, who made our Anniversary weekend even more special with his personalized attention. April 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by An overall great experience Overall, a great experience. A few items to improve. Yoga mats in exercise room need to be replaced. Equipment like paddles and snorkels are unavailable - that's what you pay the resort fee for. The adult beach is great, but you can't get umbrellas or chairs there. Food is very good. We wanted to watch the NCAA basketball games on a lobby TV, but the staff was unable to get their projection TV to work. The staff in general is very nice and helpful; Iris (sales) and Luis (security) deserve special mention. Our daughter received a bad sunburn and all were quite helpful. We will be back. March 31, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A relaxing time away in paradise A great place to get away and relax. A beautiful property very well kept. Very friendly staff. Spectacular views of the beach and ocean. A couple of nits. The on site food for breakfast and lunch was great. But dinner was overpriced and not that appealing. It took over 4 hours to get into our room despite arriving late afternoon. We had to call several times to check on the status (staff never informed us). I agree with another reviewer that the rooms are very dark. A simple fix would be to add reading lights. In general the phone "whatever, whenever" calling system worked well. April 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Stay From the first glance at this hotel I realized it was going to be a memorable stay. Not only is the hotel beautiful but the scenery and sounds are exquisite. I would truly like to recognize David at the front desk as our stay wouldn't have been the same without him. His high energy laughs and smiles are enough to make the whole hotel light up. He is very knowledgeable and helped us pick out the best excursions on the island. Its a must to see David when you arrive. I also would like to thank Juan who took our bags to our room and we had the pleasure of seeing him at the airport before we left. Such a kind staff here at the W. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Thank you guy for making our stay amazing! October 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful property, lovely stay My family of four had a fantastic six-night stay with SPG points for Spring Break. We were assigned an ocean-view room with two queens, just steps from the main pool. The grounds, facilities and rooms are beautiful, well-kept, and convey a unique island charm. As we had heard from other reviews, it seems that developing a strong pool of service staff is a challenge for the hotel (it is the only full-service resport on the island). Yet, while we experienced a few service-related issues, they were quickly and satisfactorily remedied by the excellent management team. Will will absolutely be back to enjoy the gorgeous views, the grazing whild horses, the balmy breezes, and the delicious passionfruit cocktails. April 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Spectacular views; resort shortcomings The public areas of the retreat are lovely. For the high price, the guest rooms are poorly lit, not warm, and not well designed. The concrete like grey floors were not very clean. Generally, the service was mediocre, but as more guests came, the pool service became horrible. We noted a bit of an uprising by several different guests the day of departure - complaints about poor service. The place could be fantastic if you want to be in an isolated, chill spot, but SPG needs to train staff better. Even though not many guests, the Spa did not have anyone available to do a manicure. February 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Getaway The W hotel is a great for a getaway vacation. The hotel grounds are outstanding so if you want to relax by the pool or firepit and get away from it all then this is the place to go. I would recommend getting off the property to go to better beaches on the south side of the island and definitely go on the Bio Bay tour. Taxi service is unreliable and costly since it is always $10 per person round trip to anywhere. I recommend going to dinner in Isabella for local food. Food and drinks are very expensive at the hotel but even though you are on a remote island it still seems high. November 18, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not quite up to standards I booked the W expecting to be blown away, but most of the stay was a disappointment. It met the basics of a beach resort hotel, but did not live up to 4 or 5 star standards. During our 3 night stay a large wedding party owned the property with almost all of their functions being held in the pool area rendering it unusable for other guests. The housekeeping was atrocious for a high scale resort and there was not much of an SPG platinum benefit. They are very clear that there is no early check in and no late check outs allowed (in fact on check out day our phone randomly rang once every 30 minutes starting at 8am, hint hint). The room upgrade was the bare minimum. There was also a touch of attitude we experienced throughout the stay, that mixed with the obnoxious crowd left a bad taste in our mouths...too bad, I really wanted to love it. On the positive side we had one great dinner experience and absolutely loved the island. My advise is to get out on the island and spend as little time at the W as possible. August 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Resort and Destination We loved every aspect of the W and it was exactly what we were looking for. It was swanky, clean, quiet, relaxing and beautiful. We loved our room, the food and very friendly staff. We were there to celebrate our anniversary and the staff made it special from the room upgrade to chocolate covered strawberries and personal note, it was awesome. I would highly recommend the island and resort. April 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Vieques The hotel location and access to the beach was great. As were most of the amenities. I was disappointed with attention to detail: • Upon check in light bulb not working in shower, shower hook coming off, and remote had no battery power. • Then when maintenance showed up they addressed the light bulb but had no work order for the hook … then when working on the hook left all the tools on the bathroom sink mixed in with my toiletries … not professional. • Things like the resort offered sun tan lotion for two days but couldn’t seem to find the lotion for the rest of my stay. • Had to ask twice (same day) for room cleaning … • All in all a nice stay but I expected more from a W location especially at the rates charged. April 16, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 11 next>>