The St. Regis Princeville Resort

  • 5520 Ka Haku Road, Princeville,
  • P.O. Box 223069
  • Kauai,
  • Hawaii
  • 96722
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest registration and check-in is restricted to those 21 years of age or older with valid identification.

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 415 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel We had a wonderful stay at the St. Regis. The staff was friendly and caring. The view was amazing!!! Great place for honeymoon July 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great hotel Helpful staff, beautiful grounds and great views make this a beautiful hotel! October 19, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dispointedinkauai horrible room service. Worst steak ever. Where's is the mashed potato. July 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by The food was not good in the Makana Terrace Resort great; the food needs improvement so that it is consistently worth eating. August 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Th location and hotel The location and hotel were both over the top. May 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by hotel review the buffet breakfast was terrible. August 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff The Staff was great. Masa, the duty manager made this trip. I have stayed here a number of times, my daughter had her wedding here. We cannot say enough about management. April 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Butler(s) Did it!!! I could write a ten page review of our stay but we just got back home and I'm kind of tired. I'll try to give the abbreviated version. My wife and I stayed with our three young daughters (4, 2, 2) and were treated like royalty from the moment we arrived until the moment we checked out. The dedication of the staff from the valets to the pool wait/cabana staff to the butlers were beyond compare. It was sincere and consistent but not overbearing obsession with our enjoyment and not only addressing but anticipating our needs. The butlers bringing us coffee and hot chocolate to our rooms and taking care of whatever we needed was exactly what a mommy and daddy needed who don't have any help back home and rarely a free moment to themselves. The evening before we departed two of our beloved butlers, Aynslee and Lee, stopped by for the last time with coffee, hot cocoa and biscotti and all of us were so sad to leave them - they are adoring and caring and were so nice to the kids. There's a whole other list of people I need to write a separate post about but I'll just sum it up by saying that as breathtaking as the views from the hotel are the staff really take your breath away with their healthy obsession with your happiness. My family is officially spoiled for life and the St. Regis Princeville is guilty as charged. December 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Hotel with Beautiful Location This was my first stay at a St. Regis property, and I was blown away by the quality and service offered at this property. I cannot say enough about the wonderful staff. Everyone at the hotel is extremely friendly and the service was excellent. Kaipo at the pool was particularly helpful, as was Matt at the valet. The rooms are immaculate and include such niceties as slippers and high quality bath products. It was perhaps the most memorable hotel visit I have ever experienced, and we cannot wait to return. There were only a few areas that I believe could be improved. (1) I felt that platinum recognition was poor; no suites were available for our stay, and the platinum continental breakfast only included coffee, juice, and 3 small pastries. To be fair, they were all very good, but some fruit or yogurt would have been nice. (2) The parking fee of $25/day was a bit annoying, as it is almost impossible to visit Kauai without a rental vehicle, and it is not like the hotel is in a high-density area. This should be included as part of the room rate. (3) The concierge was friendly and helpful, but I couldn't help but feel that their main goal was to sell me a timeshare. Overall, this is an amazing property with excellent service. Our only regret is that we did not stay longer, and we are already planning our return trip. April 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dream Vacation Just returend from a 4 night stay at this exquisite resort on the beautiful island of Kauai. My husband and I were traveling with our two children. We had an absolutely fantastic experience at the St. Regis from the moment we arrived and were greeted til the second we pulled away (sadly)! The rooms were very spacious and well equipped, with stunning views of the ocean, pool, and beautiful mountains. April 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by PARADISE FOUND The St Regis Princeville is located in the most idyllic setting in Hawaii., set atop a cliff overlooking mystical Hanalei Bay in northerm Kauai. Whether viewed through the floor to ceiling windows in the beautiful lobby, or the large picture window in the guest room, the backdrop of lush mountains with waterfalls and fabulous beach leaves one awestruck day after day. That would be enough. Really. Yet the service, room, and amenities rise to the same level, resulting in an overall experience somewhere between elation and nirvana. From the best aloha welcome check-in, to the 15 minutes staring out the guest room window on arrival (and every time passing it the rest of the stay), to the first trip down to the most picturesque beach one could dream of, to the tasty morning coffee and pastries from the deck, it all keeps getting better and better. The room shower feels like a hot rainfall. You don't want to get out. A flick of a switch let's you see out though a glass window, or turns it opaque to bathe in privacy. At night there's Hawaiian music and pupus in the lobby. The Princeville golf is Jurassic Park with 36 of some of the prettiest and most demanding holes on the planet (sans T Rex). And more and more. My wife took a lei-making class one day...then wore the lei to the airport (she didn't want to let go). The Na Pali coast is nearby and beckons, but frankly, I didn't want to leave the St Regis. Ever. August 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A flawless experience I redeemed starpoints for 6 nights and was fortunate to have suite night awards granted as well (it was still a Cat 6 property, now it's a Cat 7 and based on my experience, I can see why). Upon my arrival, it was clear that the St. Regis Princeville was the single most luxurious and amazing property I would ever stay at. The staff was incredibly attentive. Every need or whim was satisfied without hesitation. The attention to detail was apparent, and the staff obviously took pride in their work and loved what they did. It makes such a difference to be around people who truly love what they do, and all of the staff at the St. Regis did (of course how could you not with a view like that?). Rooms were very comfortable, and the view breathtaking. Bath amenities were wonderful and housekeeping was thorough. Basically, I have no complaints and couldn't think of one if I tried. Everything was perfect and it made for a perfect vacation. If you can, get a suite with the Butler staff. Ainsley was delightful and knew our itinerary better than we did. She made sure that we had plenty of delightful surprises waiting for us when we got back to our room from our daily adventures. The morning coffee is also a must-do. Great coffee freshly pressed in a French press, delivered by the Butler staff. In the end, it was the little things that made the experience, and the St. Regis did not disappoint. I will be returning as soon as I can. March 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dream Vacation My husband and I wanted a tropical location with great views and a relaxed atmosphere. We got both at The St Regis, Princeville. The views from our room were spectacular. We chose a first floor room with easy access to the pool and beach and we loved it. The trip back up to front lobby area on the ninth floor from our room was a long one. We looked at that as the exercise needed to work off some of calories we ingested from the fantastic food served in the restaurants there. Our only complaint was that there were many young children in the pool at all hours of the day. This added a bit of noise to the otherwise tranquil setting. We will visit again! May 8, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Inconsistent Service & Facilities - Below Expectations for St. Regis Let me start by saying that the location of this hotel is absolutely beautiful. It has the most beautiful view you can imagine. The hotel and the service are fine, but when you're paying for and staying at a St. Regis property, "fine" just isn't good enough. The biggest issue we had at the hotel was the inconsistency of service. Certain groups were amazing - the valets, the bell hops, and the butlers. Others, most notably the staff at the bars and restaurants, were spotty at best, and that is being generous. Continental breakfast at the restaurant took up to 30 minutes to bring to the table, long enough so that other who were in our party who got the buffet were already finished by the time it came. This happened more than once. The bar staff at the pool never even came by on two different days. By the third we just decided to go and get our own drinks. Maintenance could not figure out how to operate the iPod dock on the stereo and tried to give me a work around that didn't work. Bath robes were sometimes left in the room, sometimes not, and even when they were there was often only one and not two. One other complaint was the shower in the room. We had a junior suite and the shower head was only a small, hand-held shower head. Westins routinely have Heavenly showers with multiple, rainfall heads on them. How is it acceptable for a St. Regis to have something so inferior to that? We used points for this stay, but if we were actually paying the $800+ per night to stay in our room we would have been very disappointed. April 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Understaffed and 3 star service My wife and I just returned from celebrating our 10 year anniversary at this resort. The setting is impeccable. We started in an ocean view room that had gash marks in the wall but than moved to a junior suite which was great. The Kauai Grill was tasty but pricey (as expected). Breakfast was also great on the terrace. The pool food/grill was subpar from a quality standpoint and the service there was terrible the first day we ate there (better the next time). Unfortunately the same server was our waiter the next day at the pool and gave us menus but never returned to take our order- very poor. That night we ate at the hotel bar which was very busy and the servers were running around like chickens without heads!! We waited 45 minutes for our check and it never came with no sight of the waitress so we left (we had somewhere to be). We immediately called the manager (Maria) to explain as we felt terrible for leaving. She stated the food and beverages manager will be calling me so I can let him know how poor the service was simply because they were understaffed....but no call came (sad...I thought at least the management would respond to a complaint/concern). Than the last day, once again we ordered drinks at the pool after grabbing a waitress as none came by.....she forgot to get the drinks for us and than took forever to bring them once she realized she forgot- as we saw her socializing with other servers at the bar. For a five star resort charging 15-20 dollars a drink, this service was inexcusable and the manager not calling us back even worse. March 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Stay Outstanding in every way. Room, staff ,SPG recognition,service-all beyond expectation. We will return soon. April 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 3,nights stay not enough to cover Quick take Meet and great wonderful Reception was very professional First meet with buler was so good- but their ability to be helpful during your stay get lost in the changes from mgmt ( do I really need my pants pressed) Food was pricey but excellent Pool bartenders charge the same as upstairs but deliver a improper product in plastic This property is just a big wow - with a few staff members that need to move on to less demanding environment April 17, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Found areas lacking... We came for a family wedding & were beyond excited to stay in what is considered to be one of the "most lavish, beautiful & best service hotels" in Kauai. Unfortunately, we had numerous problems with our stay. The biggest problem of all was that our room air conditioning did not work-- it pushed out semi-cool air that did not cut the humidity nor cool the room. We checked with others & their room cooling units worked wonderfully compared to ours. When we notified guest services about the problem, we had a technician come in to "fix" the a/c unit. Unfortunately, this song & dance continued to go on for the 5 days/4 nights we were there. The hotel was apparently completely booked & we could not be accommodated in any other rooms. Instead, they gave us 2 circulating fans to help move the air & were given a mini box of chocolates for our troubles. When we were finally given the option to move rooms (the day before we left), it was basically a downgrade, moving to a room without even a balcony. Then the manager said we would also receive a cold bottled beverage for our troubles-- the bottle never appeared in our room. We also had a phone that had a dead battery & continued to beep until fixed & our mini refrigerator barely kept our waters cold. Also, there was an incident in the spa where my fiancee got burnt getting her hair done for the wedding. After all this back & forth, the concierge knocked off $150 of our total bill-- not much when you pay over $450/night! While the view & location was beautiful (the wedding was amazing), the food was less than memorable for the prices & unfortunately the service in general at the hotel (especially when we never got that chilled bottle from the manager) definitely left us unhappy & wanting to look elsewhere for our next visit. June 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by First vacation as SPG Platinum I have read from many different sources the superlative qualities of the St. Regis Princeville. I was hoping for a matching experience. The hotel staff were friendly, attentive, and informed of what the hotel offered and did not offer. The rooms were not extravagant, but were very well appointed and designed in line with the hotel as a whole. The star of this hotel has to be the location. Sitting above the shore of Hanelei Bay with a beautiful view of the mountains. Mandatory valet parking is a nice feature, but short trips out/in makes me wish there was a self-park option. My stay at this hotel met and exceeded my expectations. October 26, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Family Getaway What a fabulous hotel in a perfect location with the most outstanding view. The staff at the hotel is amazing and will take care of anything you need. The vibe of the hotel is very relaxed. If you can swing it you must stay in an ocean view suite with a balcony. You want to go out onto the balcony to catch those sunsets and the beautiful rainbows after a brief moment of rain. We stayed in the Bali Hai suite and it was tremendous. We can't wait to go back. My six year old son did not want to leave....he had a blast. There are so many great activities and the concierge will arrange hikes, boat rides etc. Everything we did we loved! September 1, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by NOt up to Par for a St. Regis I very much appreciated the free continental breakfast option over bonus starpoints. Great benefit. I had trouble getting responses from Guest Recognition and Concierge before my arrival. Lots of "out for 3 more days" email responses from Guest Recognition and no call back from voicemail I left for Concierge. It generally worked out, but about a week of no real responses was surprising. I was told a room fridge would be reserved, but it never was. The pool staff was amazing including the food team. Everything was timely and hot, very attentive and they worked VERY hard to ensure we got umbrellas and towels even on VERY busy days. Only pool issue was the surprising number of screaming kids playing and splashing in the pool (had to move to a new lounge the 3rd time my Kindle got splashed). Kauai Grill was a complete disappointment (see my Yelp Review) and the regular restaurant was OK, but somewhat inconsistent (our server Koa was Exceptional-exactly what I expect from the St. Regis brand). The valets were generally very friendly, but one night when we walked back from dinner we were suprised the 5 or 6 valets were clumped in 2 groups chatting among themselves and none looked up to say welcome. Didn't bother me, but other St. Regis visits EVERYONE makes eye contact and says hello. Returned to our room from the pool one day at 2:15 due to rain and found our room had not been cleaned. We ended up calling to have it cleaned then had to take our books somewhere to kill 45 minutes. I'd also love to have the bar/lobby not as air conditioned (my wife ended up having to bring a sweater every time we stopped in the bar and the music tended to be too loud for relaxed conversation, so we did not spend much time there. When we did, the staff was great. Overall, the location and rooms are great. The service is inconsistent, ranging from unresponsive to exceptional. Again, if this was not a St. Regis, I would have considered the service pretty standard. But given my previous stays at St. Regis properties, I just did not see the consistent quality of service I expected. Seems like the Pool manager is running a fairly tight team, and other areas could use more coaching to move from Hawaii casual to a more consistent level of service. July 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Uh-mazing! When I decided to pamper myself, I had NO idea what I was in for. This place was simply amazing. The staff were so nice and wonderful. I have to give some compliments to some of the staff: Flynn - at the Makana Terrace. She was my server on my first evening/dinner there. She was so friendly and welcoming, that I didn't feel alone. Which is a huge statement since I was traveling alone! And when I was chilly, she brought me a shawl that they have on hand for guests who need them. The next day, she wasn't even my server. But she saw me leaving and remembered me. She asked if I had silverware for my leftovers. And she went and got the plastic ware for me. Now that is service. Thank you, Flynn. Jason - the bellman who took my luggage to my room on arrival. So friendly, and helpful. Melchior - who helped my server at the Kauai grill the two nights I went there for dinner. He was so very sweet and thoughtful. And he remembered that I preferred ice in my water from the first night. He even warmed the bread for me on request. Made all the difference. Diana - with housekeeping, who cleaned my room on my second full day there. Was a pro and gave me a good laugh. She also 'put up' with me staying in the room while she cleaned. (My words, not hers). Michael and Luan - down at the pool/beach. Helped me to rent a kayak, and even remembered my last name that evening at dinner in the restaurant (Michael) and the next day at the pool again (Luan). Who does that? And how? It made me feel special and memorable. Thank you. Each and every one of you brought smiles to my face. It was an experience I can't wait to re-live. There was only one not so great moment and that was at the end of my second night/dinner at the Kauai grill. Anela, my server, dropped off my desert (to go) at my table. I tried to ask her if my other boxes were in there, but she was already moving away, having snatched up the check, and threw over her shoulder, 'yes, you're dessert is in there'. That was not my question. And I felt brushed off. Sad, since the rest of the meal was great, and, as I said, Melchor made all the difference. She didn't even stop long enough to make eye contact or let me ask my question. Luckily, the restaurant manager saw me with my second bag and walked me to the front where my dinner left-overs were also waiting. So there was really only one 'bad' moment throughout. But when compared to the wonderful attitudes, friendliness, respect, happiness and care displayed everywhere else, it hurt. July 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by All around excellant resort! The staff is wonderful! Everyone from the valet to the butler and housekeeping staff seem like they really ejnoy their jobs and want to help. Our butler gave is additional information on the room we were given (before we got there)so we made a change that the front desk clerk made possible. We had an issue with our ipod dock and someone came immediately to fix it. Then we got a box of chocolates and and a note to apologize the next day! The food and service was exceptional; best breakfast buffet I've had! We will definitely be staying there on our next visit to Kauai! March 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by love the staff! The staff was so helpful and kind. we love their services. :) April 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Service We just returned from a weekend stay at the St. Regis in Princeville. The property itself is stunning but the service is what makes this place so special. Each staff member was kind, friendly and most helpful. Afternoon tea was a truly special event - it's no wonder why they require a day's notice. Special recognition goes to Jenny at the reception desk. She is a pleasure to talk to and really helped to make our stay so enjoyable. We'll be back! Lawrence April 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel and excellent staff Hotel has incredible views of bay. Staff were excellent and exceeded our expectations April 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent except for the restaurants In general a more than excellent hotel. However, the two restaurants "The Makana Terrase" and the "Kauai Grill" do not meet expectation. The food is good to excellent but the waiters are not trained, so don't expect any introduction to e.g." The tasting menu with pairing wines". Also, if you are a grown and slim man expect to leave hungry if you are only up for an entre, except if you eat a lot of bread. It's pricy, so I had expected more. My recommendation is: eat in the bar one or two nights, and then have dinner in some of the good restaurants in Hanalei. Breakfast service at the Makana Terrase is excellent, though. April 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing hotel Our first time staying at the st Regis Kauai. Everything was five star, from the lobby, to the room, to the way they treated us, to the lovely staff...the pool, views....etc...amazing. If we had any negative comments, it would be the amount of clutter in the rooms. All the side tables and areas to put personal belongings were filled with too much stuff from the hotel. We had no place to put our belongings, I ended up piling a lot of the hotel belongings in a corner. Then when they turned down our room, they added more stuff.....robes and slippers and chocolates and it was all too much. I think less is more, especially since guests arrive with a lot of their own things. November 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by St Regis should step it up! Overall I think the St Regis in Kauai is really beautiful hotel, in an excellent setting. The views are fantastic. But overall I thought the food and food service were lacking. The group I was with all throught the food was overpriced and lacked a high quality taste. Additionally each morning at breakfast the servers were not consistent always forgetting something and for $38.00, I dont think the servers should forget coffee two mornings in a row. The rooms were ok, but again for being a destination resort, there was plenty of dust in the bathroom of which I dont believe you should see at a ST. Regis Hotel! In general this is a wonderful hotel, but it lacks consistent service. December 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by We loved this hotel Our concierge (Kate Krieg) was wonderful. She reached out to me via email in advance of our stay to ask for details about our stay. I mentioned that we were on our babymoon and asked for a complimentary upgrade to an ocean view room -- and she gave it to us when we arrived at check-in! In addition, they delivered complimentary apple cider and pregnancy lotion to our room after we checked in. So sweet! My husband and I had a romantic few days at this hotel and were able to do challeging hikes into the Na Pali coast, drive to views of the Waimea Canyon, and have some relaxation time in the pool area with a *beautiful* view. We thought the hotel staff and service were excellent and will definitely be coming back! Thanks! February 26, 2014
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 15 next>>