The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali

  • 2365 Kaanapali Parkway,
  • Lahaina
  • Maui,
  • Hawaii
  • 96761
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 674 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 Fantastic location along Kaanapali! Sure doesn't take long to get on Hawaiian time here! Rooms were very clean. Buffet breakfast is outstanding, but not the room service menu. The 2 times we got room service the quality of the food was poor. It was like the items were prepared hours in advance, not fresh. The kids LOVED the pool when we were there, choke with waterfalls, caves, watersports. The parrots and flamingos were a real treat for them. The waterslide is FAST and thrilling. The Heavenly Spa lived up to the name, I had repeat visits it was so wonderful. One disappointing feature of the hotel was the lack of hot tubs in the pool area. The only one is in the adult pool area, and it is TINY. This family enjoys hot tubs after the sun goes down! I spotted 3-4 places where they could add one (or two) on the family side of the pool. This was a real bummer for us. The beach fronting the hotel is great for swimming. Luau on site was enjoyable. Concierge and activity/tours desks were extremely helpful and booked activities we were interested in. A real proactive approach, which I appreciated. I think this property could use improvement with SPG recognition/awareness. My profile says higher floor, and the first room we were given was on the 2nd floor, next to the elevator, and DIRTY. We would still come back here, we LOVED our stay and had a relaxing and great vacation! April 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by maui this hotel as nice location and great snorkeling close by. April 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 Amazing Experience I was recently at the Westin Maui with my two kids and even before we arrived, I had such a great experience with the hotel Manager Gia. She helped us out of a difficult spot when our flight got cancelled. She went above and beyond her call of duty to assist us. Our experience went from that to being one of the best trips my kids and I have had. The beds are so comfortable, staff really helpful and friendly, food and drinks almost too yummy. The setting, pools and beach are stunning. We met some of the nicest people at the hotel, who were also having a blast. Friends stopped by that were staying at a different resort and they commented to us about the Westin being one of the most beautiful resorts they had ever been to. Thank you Westin Hotel for making our trip amazing and having such a beautiful facility. I hope to be able to take my kids again next spring break. Great job on the remodel as well. Thanks again Gia, we love you...you are amazing!!! April 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great service My 15+ stay at this hotel. The front desk staff especially Dawn Jacinto are fantastic April 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by fishermans wife THIS TRIP WAS MORE THAN EXPECTED FOOD WAS TERRIFIC ..POOLS WE GREAT OCEAN SO INVITING ... JUST HAVE TO GET IN DONT WAIT... MAHALO FOR ALL THE FAMILY STAFF GREAT . April 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Incredible Service The westin team at this property did an incredible job and made the stay very memorable for my family. thanks! April 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Professional Frontdesk Service We have tried several Maui properties and our favorite one is Westin Resort and Spa. We are returning to this property because we know that they will do everything to make our vacation be as memorable as possible. Our last stay was especially pleasant because both Ms. Ikeda helped us at front desk at several occasions and house keeping suppervisor Ms. Guieb professionally organised that our room is always cleaned while we were enjoying very delicious breakfast. March 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing The resort was located in a great area of west Maui. Had a nice boardwalk along the ocean. Loved the pools and water slide. Just beautiful to walk the grounds and relax. March 31, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not Up to Westin Standards As a platinum member, I have stayed at many Starwood properties and this was by far the worst. While the facilities were average, the service was horrible. The staff had absolutely no accountability or concern for the guests. Examples include: While valeting my car, I dropped a bottle of water. Instead of offering help, the valet encouraged me to climb under the car to get it. He did not offer to help, or even move the car to make it easier. Also, I rented the cabanas and was told it was from 8 - 5. At 4:15pm, I was told by the cabana attendant to leave because she was short staffed and her shift was over at 4:30. I was not allowed to stay until 5pm. These are just two examples of many that occured during my 4 day stay at the hotel. I will definitely not return. August 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Highly recommend the Westin. The Westin Ka'anapali was awesome! We have stayed in the Kaanapali area 4 different times, and this was one of my favorite places to stay. Excellent location on the beach, close to Whaler's village which has great shopping and dinning, and just a short walk to Black Rock. The kids loved the swimming pools and water slides, and the pool staff was excellent! If you go during whale season, it might be worth the expense to upgrade to an ocean view. It was a lot of fun to sit on the lanai and watch the whales and the sunsets. --Very friendly and helpful people working the front desk and Valet. A lot of Aloha spirit! Mahalo for everything! March 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Staff and Wonderful Stay! This is our second time around at this resort. I contacted the hotel directly to book my stay and I was surprised by the fact that they were very accommodating and managed to fit me in despite the last minute notice (and it was during the high season month of March!). I honestly can not say enough about this resort or the staff. We encountered only one issue during our stay and it was dealt with in a timely manner and to our satisfaction. The buffet breakfast was wonderful, the rooms spacious and comfortable, and the overall property is just stunning. The location is phenomenal as it puts you within reach of many activities and amenities as well. A special thank you to Minsun who made our stay unforgettable and truly understands what exceptional customer services really means. April 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful grounds, friendly staff The Westin Resort & Spa was a truly relaxing experience. My wife and I celebrated our 49th wedding anniversary on this trip and couldn't have picked a better location. Only problem encountered was finding out on check-in that the room we reserved months in advance was unavailable. We were "upgraded" to the BeachTower, if a room right next to an elevator shaft is an upgrade. We went back down to the desk and were moved to a different room not as nice but comfortable. April 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Class!! Everything you could want or need! April 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun & relaxing resort! It was great to get away to Kaanapali, Maui for a vacation with my dad, who is an SPG member. We had our room upgraded to ocean-view, and had a fantastic time. The grounds were beautiful, the pool was fabulous and the proximity to shopping (Whaler's village) was awesome! Will definitely come back! March 26, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by One of the worst experiences at Westin! Hi, This was my first time to Maui and I decided to stay at Westin Resort since it is part of SPG and I have stayed in other hotels which are part of SPG and they were good! This hotel didnot meet my expectations atall. Room was really cramped, with cheap interiors, old fashioned, no basic amenities -- hair dyer, ironing setup were missing. Hospitality was the worst.. room was not cleaned up properly, refrigerator was stinking! In short, I didnot feel like coming back to the room and I believe even a 2 star hotel has better rooms and services. I agree that hotel is in a good location (close to beach) but Westin really needs to improve their rooms to make guest comfortable I wouldn't come back to Westin if I visit Maui again and would not recommend this hotel to anyone! September 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Room by elevator We were in a room by the elevator and it was noisy. Make sure to stay away from that. March 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by wonderful facility wonderful staff Comfortable, clean, stylish and great views! The Westin Maui Resort and Spa makes paradise even better! April 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst all around hotel experience in Hawaii EVER This short staffed hotel had the least friendly and unresponsive staff that I have ever encountered at a luxury resort of this calibur. Particularly rude at the front desk and at the valet. I cannot emphasize that enough. No smiles, no enthusiasm, and in no hurry to assist their guests. The only friendly people we encountered were the housekeepers, who actually said hello or smiled at us when we passed them. The air conditioning did not work in the gym, and we saw a girl almost pass out. I was told that because of the construction at the hotel they could not turn the air on in the gym. There was a problem with the air conditioning in our room as well, and the hotel overrides the thermostat so you can only cool your room to a certain temperature. When calling for assistance I was spoken to in such a curt and rude way. The room itself had carpet that was puckered up in several areas and dirty. The sofa bed was uncomfortable and so sunken that my 95 pound daughter could not keep her head at the head of the bed. Without mentioning cost, I cannot believe the high rate that we paid for such terrible service. I cannot recommend staying at this hotel, and I will avoid any Starwood hotels in the future. January 5, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing Rooms were nice and well cared for. Got a nice welcome gift of champagne as this was my honeymoon, which was a nice touch. Hotel facilities (e.g., gym, pool) were uncomfortably crowded - often insufficient pool / beach chairs. Additionally, the parking lot was full every day and we were forced to valet our car (though at not additional cost). Spa was fantastic but pricey. Concierge only had suggestions for Westin-affiliated activities. Brunch was outstanding; the rest of the hotel food was mediocre. Service from wait staff was poor (e.g., poolside, restaurant servers) but the bartenders were great. Robert (Cabana attendant) was superb and attentive. July 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Magical Stay Our family stayed at the Maui Westin for 5 nights over spring break. We had a great time all around. We went from the beach to the pool and back and forth all week long. We bought a blow up life vest which leaked air twice and the staff was kind enough to give us a replacement. All in all a great stay! The front desk staff was also amazing as well. April 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Amenities The pool, spa, gym, etc. all exceeded my expectations! April 6, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by This place is under noisy construction & has bad attitudes This place USED to be great. We experienced so many disconnects and really awful staff attitudes. First, they didn't bother to tell you that there is heavy construction going on--nothing like trying to relax to the sound of hammers and drills. The grounds and pools are awesome. Unfortunately, we did not have a relaxing time because we had to fight for even basic things like getting the right room service menu or booking a spa appointment because the qconsierge didn't know the spa was closed for a private event for two days. December 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by OK The staff was very attentive. THe bed was very comfortable. The food was good in the Sugar house, but the bistro was only average. The breakfast buffet was varied, but the food was cold by the time you got it all. The drinks were always very watery. I stuck with wine, because you can't water it down. When we signaled the "green" approach to our room, we got no service at all - bed was not made, and no change of towels. The ac unit is starting to become mildewy and the toilet didn't flush well. April 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tropical Paradise The staff at the Westin truly makes you feel as though they want you to have the best experience ever! They cater to all your needs with compassion but most definately with ALOHA! April 5, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Awful Service overshadows the property Although the Grounds and location of this hotel is fabulous I can honestly say I will not ever stay here again or recommend to someone based on our experience and the total lack of service. from the time we arrived to the very end when a front desk person essentially ignored us when trying to check out the service was awful... the attitude of your staff is terrible and in our opinion reflects leadership. We got married on tuesday and was the reason for the trip... after checking in we asked the concierge for a restaurant for a nice place for us after the ceremony she responded with .... "well I don't know" ! I was shocked and it continued to get bad from there. The service overshadowed your property so it makes it difficult to evaluate the hotel. November 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Above and beyond our expectations The logistics of dealing with a 12 hour gap between hotel check out time and a red eye flight home made us consider paying for an addtional night's stay- even though we'd leave by 7 PM to get to the airport. The Westin Maui Resort has made leaving Hawaii a much less difficult process by providing us with a hospitality room where guests that have checked out earlier in the day can shower and change into travel clothing after spending a pleasant afternoon at the pool. The staff was totally committed to making our stay a wonderful experience and having these extra amenities was so thoughtful and greatly appreciated! Mahalo Westin- we'll be back!!! May 22, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by High expectations - utter disappointment Not sure who gives hotel Star ratings, but this hotel was dissapointing from the moment you slide your key in the door. If you are looking for a family resort destination with cool pools - this is it! If you are a Platinum member and looking for a true restful resort - you may want to pass on this property. I used the highest point redemption and am a platinum Starwood member and the room was no better than an average Four Points room. November 13, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing stay for such a beautiful hotel with a great location We ended our hawaii stay in Maui at this Westin. Our stay started poorly by being greeted by a grumpy, sarcastic remark from the valet parking attendant. It then progressed by a very impersonal checkin. The welcoming lays were hanging from a stand (later went and requested them). The room was small but the view was FANTASTIC! Bell person (Theresa) was very friendly but failed to bring requested extra hangers. Placed our subs (dinner) in fridge but when went to get them they were soaking wet!. The freezer was a solid block of ice and leaking all over the bottom. (Upon calling, a new one was brought but had no freezer section). Arrived early evening but had a big day planned for next day. However, upon waking at 6;30 to get started to find almost no toilet paper, absolutely no shampoo, conditioner, soap and dirty washcloths! After 2 calls and 2 visits to front desk and a call to the Starwood customer service line over 90 minutes later (at 8:10am), got the products. The only comments of explanation were, "we'll look in to it." "It's coming." and "Housekeeping doesn't come in till 8am, we are looking for the runner!" Day plans ruined we spent the day at the hotel. Grounds and pool are fantastic. Great location, near many shops, beach has to be one of the best. The "Tropical Monkey" pool side drinks were so tasty. Hula bar next door is one of our fondest memories. One day 3 our ceiling had a serious leak onto our camera's and cell phone. One camera completely ruined, my husband reported to 2 people but they didn't even ask to see it or comment on it. We just dropped it cause obviously they were not interested in dealing with this. After 3 calls and getting angry, finally sent the engineer who went up in the ceiling found the source and began poking holes in the ceiling to drain the water (the pictures of an in room water fall is pretty cool memory). Moved to another "premier room." This is when we really got upset. When we booked we paid extra rate to upgrade to a "premier room." However, it was not until we arrived at the new room that we realized we were "upgraded" due to the water to the "Starwood Preferred Floor." These rooms are much larger, thought that is what we paid for in the first place. Called Kevin to voice my concerns and although he was VERY nice he did state "I moved you to do you a favor, I'm sorry you are not pleased." My real frustration is that I was moved because there was a water fall in my room and now I was moved to the type of room I had paid for but didn't get the first 3 days! Kevin did send us a very nice appology note and some nice chocolates the next day. He was the ONLY one that showed any sign of what customer service should be at such a resort and we very much appreciated his efforts. Maybe if everyone took some training from him this hotel could come close to a 5 star hotel. Conclusion: My biggest frustration is really with Starwood. When I reached out JoAnne was very nice and said she would follow up with the hotel manager. If she had, I think she would have found out we were not given the upgrade we had paid extra for and would have assisted us by speaking the manager to have us moved. (although we never would have known this if not for giving us a "favor" due to the leak! guess they had counted on us not finding out)This resort is beautiful, has a fantastic location and could easily be a 5 star with any sign of customer service. If you can put up with the above issues (which are very common based on conversations with other patrons) and not let the frustration mess up your vacation then stay here. If not, pay to go to some of the other upscale resorts and save your points it's just not worth it. June 6, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Management's don't care attitude Resort fee of $25, but there was no internet connection for first 3 days (stayed for 5 nights). Called the service desk at day1, they connected me to some off shore service desk where they never responded, these continued to happen for first 2 days, in the third day, I asked the front desk to send some one i n person. They sent someone, but couldn't fix. Again connected me to the off shore help desk and that guy left. So we needed to debug almost for an hour to figure out the solution. I had to spend several hours from my precious vacation time. Remember I paid ~$450 for my room!!! Definitely it's not worth it. Parking space for that location is very narrow. You may scratch some other vehicles or the same thing can happen to you. The parking is always full too. Looks like they have less parking spots. So why charging resort fee?? Contacted management via email. They responded to me via email and apologized. Unfortunately only apology doesn't work. I spent more than $4000 in their location, so they should compensate with crediting back the resort fee as well as SPG points. I am still waiting for their answer. June 22, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Living in the middle of construction zone I have been coming here for over 10 years After this visit , it will be the last ! Booked 3 ocean front rooms but when I showed up I was informed I was downgraded due to overbooking ! Unreal a platinum member and years of loyal service . Nice way to be recognized . Great they are updating the hotel , but not a good idea at the cost if loyal spg members that book your most expensive room ( 3 to boot). The place was a full blown construction zone . When I booked I was told the work would be complete and not to worry . What a waste of time very disappointed . January 4, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 24 next>>