The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali

  • 2365 Kaanapali Parkway,
  • Lahaina
  • Maui,
  • Hawaii
  • 96761
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 755 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Average Hotel with a beautiful Lobby The reviews about the hotel were more or less dead on. Got lucky and upgraded to the Beach Tower, however got stuck on the 2nd floor looking onto a roof. Location is great for snorkeling at Blackrock (better snorkeling than St. Johns, Cayman Islands, St. Maarten, Thailand, etc.) especially if you have fins to go out to the end. Being on the Western side of Maui, beaches weren't that great and due to the traffic, is a real pain to get to from airport, nicer beaches, Hana highway, etc. Room was a standard Westin room/decor and was clean. Staff were friendly, but no real platinum recognition even with the resort fee. The add-on benefits for platinums were a bit weak (e.g. discounts to certain food areas, spa, shops, and premium internet access). The parking is also very hectic and will get full by dinner time. Valet parking is free when the self-park lot gets full, but nobody will tell you that until after you've spent a lot of effort trying to find a self-park space. On the positive side, this hotel has one of the nicest lobbys i've seen at any starwood. March 27, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Total Disappointment Stayed @ this property 10 days in late July/early August 2013. *20 minute wait at check in as only one check in position open for all. *Not provided best available room for Starwood member and had to request a change after registration. *Was told no upgrade available, but other guests provided such. *Constant construction noise of drilling, hammering, equipment unloading and solvent smell making room and balcony unusable every weekday of stay from 9 to 5. 2+ hour wait for a 2 hamburger meal which was never delivered. *Ordered out of, made to move from and denied use of half of pool facility for half day without any prior notification so a private party could have exclusive use. This facility is much more concerned with Corporate clients than customers. August 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hawaii with family 3 generations visiting Maui. We had previously visited Maui and wanted to take daughters family. All had a wonderful time, just too short. June 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hawaii Vacation I was a little nervous reserving this hotel as some of the reviews are not favorable. However, everything about our stay at this hotel was fantastic. Upon check in, we were upgraded to a better room on a higher floor. We stayed in the Beach Tower which has slightly larger rooms which was great for 2 adults and a ten year old. The room was clean and functional. Housekeepng was great. The pools were fantastic and the restaurants very good. But the best part of this hotel is the location. Walk south on the beach and the waves break so surfing is descent and walk north on the beach to the Sheraton and snokel right off the beach. The hotel is next to Whalers Village, which can be noisy in the morning with delivery trucks but the convenience of the shopping and restaurants is worth the slight noise. The fitness center is great and my wife also enjoyed the spa. Take the negative reviews with a grain a salt as many people travel here and spend a lot of money and expect the best and sometimes mistakes are made, but this hotel is very nice and should be considered if staying in west Maui. April 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great lobby, ambience, terrific spa Spa services were excellent. The pools were awesome - esp the slides. The concierge lines were often busy - but that is a good thing - the hotel is busy! June 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Final stay in Hawaii Must complement all staff members for their kindness and service provided with a special mention for Chelsea from the Concierge Kawehi from the Tour and Activities the ladies of the housekeeping June 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by There's no match for the Westin Maui Resort! I am addicted to the Westin Maui Resort! I have been coming here for about 6 years and this year I even made two trips to the resort. The service, the surroundings, the pampering are unparalleled by any other resort I've been to in the US and Europe. Jose, one of the bartenders at Uno's bar, is the best in customer service and really knows how to make you feel at home. Giadee, behind the front desk, is a master at making your stay go beyond your highest expectations. All in all, you will not find a more relaxing, comforting and memorable experience than a stay at the Westin Maui Resort. I know I'll continue coming back. September 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Hotel in Maui I come here several times a year and I cry when I leave because I NEVER want to leave. It is soooo relaxing and soooo comfortable. I usually ALWAYS extend my stay further. I have never been disappointed. Also, the spa is WONDERFUL and should be rated as #1. I live on Maui and have been to all the hotels and spa's. Westin in Maui is the BEST!!! ...the spa is #1 too!!! Also, food is abundant and good tasting. Great fun place and activities for the kids too. Westin is located in walking distances to lots of shops, restaurants and activities. Get your money worth by staying here. You will never be disappointed. :-) PS: We can't wait until we visit with the Westin again. October 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Room by elevator We were in a room by the elevator and it was noisy. Make sure to stay away from that. March 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rooms need improvement. Our stay started with getting rid of 5 moths flying around the room and calling the front desk to have someone look at the a/c. A total of 11 months were in the room during the trip. After having a serviceman there for an hour he cleaned out the filter that had not been cleaned for a while. It helped a little. The ice bucket had not been cleaned in weeks and the ice tongs were rusty and disgusting. The swimming pool areas are amazing and restaurants are great. So spend as little time in the rooms as possible. July 21, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disengaged staff There seems to be a lack of morale at this resort -which started the moment we checked in. No aloha or welcome, just a non interested employee. After just spending a week in Waikiki, the contrast in graciousness was disconcerting. The room was nice but when it was later cleaned, the staff left the comforters on the floor and glasses were never replaced. The elevators in our tower were constantly out of service and at times were a little scary to use- unpredictable although we never got stuck on one but often didn't go.There were two restaurants on site- one which never was opened- and the staff didn't know what was going on and lacked interest to find out why. We had several breakfasts in the other outdoor restaurant but the staff seemed rude at times, even barking at us and the choices of food items seemed confusing- as platinum members we were eligible for a free continental breakfast but the layout made it confusing to guess what was continental and what was "hot". We went to breakfast after morning runs and were never offered water. Thank goodness there is a mall next door for convenient dining. We did get a box of chocolates as a gift but the chocolates were stale and rancid, no big deal but I would have thought someone would have checked that! Talking with other vacationers at the airport, several former quests had similar experiences. Even the flight attendants had heard much grumbling lately. I guess my biggest gripe is that the staff seemed disengaged and lacking in the aloha spirit. No one seemed to be paying attention to the details that I expected to find at a Westin resort. This will likely be our last stay at the Westin Maui. November 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by The Good and the Bad I am a platinum member with SPG and have stayed at some very nice hotels around the world. This hotel is my #1 choice for best location. The pool is the best on the beach strip, and the hotel theme fits its tropical landscape. The rooms are nice and well maintained. The hotel is very adult and family friendly. The location is great with many restaurants and shops just a walk away. The beach and water are fabulous with many excursions awaiting to be booked. Many great ocean view rooms. Food is pricey, but if you buy the right dish, it's worth the bill. There are some areas of improvement. Customer service didn't meet my expectations. Long lines at front desk. Staff is unfamiliar with their own policies. Room service is slow to respond to requests.While you are promised certain discounts, amenities, products, etc., unless you ask for them, they are never mentioned. Ultimately, this hotel doesn't cater to Platinum and Gold members. I didn't receive the room suite upgrade I solicited (even using my 10 suite upgrades), bottled waters, platinum front desk line, free continental breakfast, and other complimentary items for Gold and Platinum members at other SPG hotels. Even though I agreed to the $25/night resort fee, all of the items included in the fee would have been complimentary at other hotels for platinum members. Paying this fee should be waived for your most valued customers. A few weeks after my stay, I expressed my concerns to management, and they went above and beyond to rectify the situation. I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family. March 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic resort This is our second time at the Westin Maui Resort and Spa and it just does not get any better. The entire layout of the grounds is specatacular and the staff does such a great job. Really love this place! June 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A wonderful family get away relaxing grounds, clean rooms awesome beds June 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is the SPG place to stay in Maui This is a great FULL service hotel. The Ocean resort Villas, where I had booked earlier is a TIME SHARE property that is more expensive. This is a better place if you want the full hotel experience. the KIDS will love the pools and the beach is right there. The breakfast buffet was great although the drive to grab good spots on the pool deck can get crazy ! The Whaler's Village mall next door has great shopping and dining. All in all a great vacation hotel. April 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Resort Visited this resort almost every year for past 15+ years and never been disappointed. Staffs are superb. Dawn at the front desk is one of the best people you can encounter. Always going out of her way, to make our stay better... makes you wanting to go back. May 12, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed I've been to Westins around the world and usually have a great experience. Not here. Purchased a "Deluxe Ocean View" room only to find a view of a parking lot with minimal ocean view on the next to the bottom floor. Tried to move and was given little in the way of satisfaction. Cleaning staff were friendly, and restaurant at the poolside was great. Some peculiar things happened each day. For instance, on the last day I spent a half hour trying to print a boarding pass and told an IT issue prevented me from printing. In leaving for my plane I checked my bill and found that I had also received the bill for another hotel guest around the corner down the hall. Parking was difficult..I had to valet because self parking was unavailable, but then had to have it removed from my bill or I would been charged. Took away from what should have been a very relaxing experience. December 26, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Highly recommend the Westin. The Westin Ka'anapali was awesome! We have stayed in the Kaanapali area 4 different times, and this was one of my favorite places to stay. Excellent location on the beach, close to Whaler's village which has great shopping and dinning, and just a short walk to Black Rock. The kids loved the swimming pools and water slides, and the pool staff was excellent! If you go during whale season, it might be worth the expense to upgrade to an ocean view. It was a lot of fun to sit on the lanai and watch the whales and the sunsets. --Very friendly and helpful people working the front desk and Valet. A lot of Aloha spirit! Mahalo for everything! March 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin is the best inn! Loved everything about my stay, staff was helpful and friendly before during and after our stay. The rooms are nice and up to date. The bedding is the best ever! Loved the new spa infused fragrance that is in the lobby and elevators, it is a perfect fragrance. June 5, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed Traveler This hotel's management is not empowered to make decisions to ensure a guest's stay. As an SPG platinum member, I consider myself a seasoned traveler and can provide this opinion. After a 3-night stay, my pleasant stay was made unpleasant because of the acting management's staff inability or unwillingness to address a simple request at check out time. April 24, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Many problems Your wonderful Westin restaurant, that we enjoyed during past stays, was changed to a burger joint. We also asked for a very quiet room, but were put in a location overlooking the Luau-- four out of five nights! We were then moved to room 1077, where loud elevator noise kept us awake both nights. This was supposed to be a restful vacation, but it didn't pan out that way. We deeply regretted choosing the Westin. Lastly, when we made our concerns known to the front desk staff, they told us they would waive resort fees. But these fees still appeared on our final bill, which led to more haggling. Deeply disappointing May 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Most Amazing Hotel!! What an absolutely stunning hotel to stay at while already on such a beautiful island! We came to Maui on a trip with our friends for 6 days before my boyfriend & I checked into the Westin for our last night in Maui together, we were so excited! Westin Hotels are my favorite Starwood Brand - oh the Heavenly Bed, its so comfortable!! Dawn at the Front Desk was an angel, she was able to upgrade us to the most amazing Suite since we were only there for one night (Thursday) and sent up a bottle of Champagne. My boyfriend actually ended up proposing that night, so it literally made the entire night a dream! I work at a resort in San Diego and could not be happier with our entire experience at this hotel. We can't wait to come back! January 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Review from 3/23/14 to 3/28/14 We were disappointed this time with our stay except for the housecleaning staff. A lady by the name of Alicia was extremely pleasant and helpful. We needed help with a couple of things and the response was more of a sorry we can't help you instead of the usual how can we help Westin attitude. March 31, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 Bad services on concierge and check in. The room is very old and small compared to other Westin hotels. The room is nothing like the pictures on the hotel website. The people in concierge ,instead of providing me info, focus mainly on promoting the villa tour. It made my wife and I very uncomfortable. I got an free chocolate offer message from concierge. And when I went to concierge to claim the offer, the guy on duty asked me again about visiting the villa to get points before giving me the chocolate. When I said no, I could sense his attitude. From my understanding, isn't the concierge supposed to provide service to guests? You can feel they are not sincere about helping you. I called in earlier upon my arrival to request king size bed and the lady told me she will add that in my notes for me. So when I check in, the other front desk told me he didn't see the notes and there was no room with king size bed. He told me that if I want I need to call everyday to check and depending on the moment I call. The service is lack of consistency. Very disappointing stay. November 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Management Lack Personal Touch As we have for the past 20 years as part time residents, we visit The Westin Maui daily during our visits to Maui--now 3 times a year. Staff from valet to restaurant staff welcome returning guests as Ohana and it because of this that we spend lots of money on meals and purchases within the resort. Our last visit occurred during the Christmas Holidays. And while the décor was more holiday inviting that last year, we are disappointed with the Management culture which differs greatly from years past. One hardly ever sees the GM and when one does, he is non communicative with the guests and unfortunately, this culture has filtered down to all levels of management. The food and beverage manager hardly even looks like a hotel manager-her dress and style is hardly Hawaiian and she does not even make eye contact with guests. It is the warm and inviting manner that we have come to expect at The Westin Maui which is the reason why we continue to return. As a professional from a large international corporation, organizational tone and culture is set at the top. We would hope that senior management at The Westin take our comments seriously. Your service staff is the life blood of this resort from valet to wait staff and we dread the possibility that new hires will adopt the cold and non communicative style of its GM. Returning guests can compare and we hope this can be turned around. If not, its time for a new GM and culture that is more fitting with the spirit of Aloha. Running a resort has it challenges but issues cannot be addressed by being holed up in your office among the impersonal paperwork. January 21, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Westin Hotel I stayed at many Westin hotels around the world and this has to be the worst. - very old rooms - noisy - misleading advertisement - limited parking April 21, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by POOR Service all the way around Poor service for the Plantinum level members, and charges show up on your bill that were charged before i checked in. March 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel lacks loyalty recognition and customer service Although the lobby and hotel areas were nice, there were some problems with customer service. We got a handicap accessible room both times even after the move to a king room. The view from the 2nd room was better but being a platinum member, and having called several times to SPG to ask for an oceanview room, we should have been placed in a king room without having to move into another handicap accessible room. What happens when people who really need those rooms show up, they would not be available - this is very poor service in my mind. At the bar by the pool the bartender didn't want to give us the drink we asked for because he was worried about our pocketbook and he was very slow with service because he didn't see customers sitting there. The luau was cancelled but nobody called to let us know. These are small things but they will cause dissatisfaction with your customers. We can stay anywhere but chose to stay here and deserve better treatment. After all we pay all year to get the award nights and we have to pay the resort fees. Also we didn't appreciate getting coerced into a sales gimmick without full disclosure - tour of the Westin Villas. It wasted 3 hours of our day. December 15, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel Hotel is very tropical and beautiful from the moment you walk in the door. Pool(s) are gorgeous and there are always plenty of chairs and even some with umbrellas. We stayed in the recommended tower building, upgraded to a deluxe ocean view room on the 9th floor. Gorgeous views, room was very nice, bathroom was nice, refrigerator in the room with two bottles of water a day was terrific. Only downside for us was the food, or lack there of. Not enough food choices for us, and got tired of paying $22 for just two croissants, and two juices or coffees. But, we either took the free shuttle into Lahaina or we rented a car and took ourselves over to Paia or elsewhere to eat. Definitely make sure you get out and see the island, it is beautiful. September 28, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor room cleanliness & staff communication Arrived early, so expected to wait. took 3 1/2 hours to get a room and was never called by staff to notify room was ready. Checked many times. Hotel lost my families luggage and I had to search throughout the hotel to only find our luggage unsecured with no other luggage carts. Never asked for ID to get it. I had a hip replacement and asked to use cart to take to our room and staff aggressively rejected my request. Bed sheets in room had blood and dirt in the sheets. Staff did replace, but this is unacceptable. Upon check out, my son left a carry on bag at hotel. I called and staff was helpful to ship back to us and of course charge. Not a big deal if our bag ever reached our residence, but has not in over 2 weeks. Was told it cannot be tracked and we are out the baggage containing memento's and the cost of shipping. Was informed that staff asked me the level of shipping and was correct. I was however never notified as to having no availability to track with the shipping I chose. I was also let know that the loss prevention people don't ship items, so are not aware of shipping levels. I suppose I am the only person to have left an item in the Westin before then. Attractions at hotel were great. Cleanliness, staff helpfulness, communication of staff and actual value of stay are on par with a 2 star hotel. My last stay in Maui was at another hotel (4 star) in Wailea and was cheaper and a much more efficient & friendly staff. I extensively traveled with work until about 2 years ago and lost my platinum starwoods membership status. I suppose I should have taken that as a sign before staying in a starwoods hotel. August 21, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 26 next>>