The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali

  • 2365 Kaanapali Parkway,
  • Lahaina
  • Maui,
  • Hawaii
  • 96761
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 818 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel lacks loyalty recognition and customer service Although the lobby and hotel areas were nice, there were some problems with customer service. We got a handicap accessible room both times even after the move to a king room. The view from the 2nd room was better but being a platinum member, and having called several times to SPG to ask for an oceanview room, we should have been placed in a king room without having to move into another handicap accessible room. What happens when people who really need those rooms show up, they would not be available - this is very poor service in my mind. At the bar by the pool the bartender didn't want to give us the drink we asked for because he was worried about our pocketbook and he was very slow with service because he didn't see customers sitting there. The luau was cancelled but nobody called to let us know. These are small things but they will cause dissatisfaction with your customers. We can stay anywhere but chose to stay here and deserve better treatment. After all we pay all year to get the award nights and we have to pay the resort fees. Also we didn't appreciate getting coerced into a sales gimmick without full disclosure - tour of the Westin Villas. It wasted 3 hours of our day. December 15, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by First time in Hawaii LOVE the location and hotel property... top notch all the way!!! The only request I would make is to actually have lifeguards or someone of hotel authority watching over the pool areas. I found myself having to intervene with other peoples children who weren't sharing the small slide with my 7 year old daughter. A lot of running around the pool and roughhousing which makes it uncomfortable for a parent to have to address other parent's kids... otherwise, the place was amazing!!!!!!!!!!!! July 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel Hotel is very tropical and beautiful from the moment you walk in the door. Pool(s) are gorgeous and there are always plenty of chairs and even some with umbrellas. We stayed in the recommended tower building, upgraded to a deluxe ocean view room on the 9th floor. Gorgeous views, room was very nice, bathroom was nice, refrigerator in the room with two bottles of water a day was terrific. Only downside for us was the food, or lack there of. Not enough food choices for us, and got tired of paying $22 for just two croissants, and two juices or coffees. But, we either took the free shuttle into Lahaina or we rented a car and took ourselves over to Paia or elsewhere to eat. Definitely make sure you get out and see the island, it is beautiful. September 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Management Lack Personal Touch As we have for the past 20 years as part time residents, we visit The Westin Maui daily during our visits to Maui--now 3 times a year. Staff from valet to restaurant staff welcome returning guests as Ohana and it because of this that we spend lots of money on meals and purchases within the resort. Our last visit occurred during the Christmas Holidays. And while the décor was more holiday inviting that last year, we are disappointed with the Management culture which differs greatly from years past. One hardly ever sees the GM and when one does, he is non communicative with the guests and unfortunately, this culture has filtered down to all levels of management. The food and beverage manager hardly even looks like a hotel manager-her dress and style is hardly Hawaiian and she does not even make eye contact with guests. It is the warm and inviting manner that we have come to expect at The Westin Maui which is the reason why we continue to return. As a professional from a large international corporation, organizational tone and culture is set at the top. We would hope that senior management at The Westin take our comments seriously. Your service staff is the life blood of this resort from valet to wait staff and we dread the possibility that new hires will adopt the cold and non communicative style of its GM. Returning guests can compare and we hope this can be turned around. If not, its time for a new GM and culture that is more fitting with the spirit of Aloha. Running a resort has it challenges but issues cannot be addressed by being holed up in your office among the impersonal paperwork. January 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Nice Hotel Our trip was excellent. This hotel was very comfortable, easy to get around, and close to the best local attractions. It was right on the beach and had a nice boardwalk area to walk along the beach. July 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Spend a day at the pool. Great location for sitting by the pool - including one for adults only. The rooms are clean but nothing special. July 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor room cleanliness & staff communication Arrived early, so expected to wait. took 3 1/2 hours to get a room and was never called by staff to notify room was ready. Checked many times. Hotel lost my families luggage and I had to search throughout the hotel to only find our luggage unsecured with no other luggage carts. Never asked for ID to get it. I had a hip replacement and asked to use cart to take to our room and staff aggressively rejected my request. Bed sheets in room had blood and dirt in the sheets. Staff did replace, but this is unacceptable. Upon check out, my son left a carry on bag at hotel. I called and staff was helpful to ship back to us and of course charge. Not a big deal if our bag ever reached our residence, but has not in over 2 weeks. Was told it cannot be tracked and we are out the baggage containing memento's and the cost of shipping. Was informed that staff asked me the level of shipping and was correct. I was however never notified as to having no availability to track with the shipping I chose. I was also let know that the loss prevention people don't ship items, so are not aware of shipping levels. I suppose I am the only person to have left an item in the Westin before then. Attractions at hotel were great. Cleanliness, staff helpfulness, communication of staff and actual value of stay are on par with a 2 star hotel. My last stay in Maui was at another hotel (4 star) in Wailea and was cheaper and a much more efficient & friendly staff. I extensively traveled with work until about 2 years ago and lost my platinum starwoods membership status. I suppose I should have taken that as a sign before staying in a starwoods hotel. August 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Highly recommend the Westin. The Westin Ka'anapali was awesome! We have stayed in the Kaanapali area 4 different times, and this was one of my favorite places to stay. Excellent location on the beach, close to Whaler's village which has great shopping and dinning, and just a short walk to Black Rock. The kids loved the swimming pools and water slides, and the pool staff was excellent! If you go during whale season, it might be worth the expense to upgrade to an ocean view. It was a lot of fun to sit on the lanai and watch the whales and the sunsets. --Very friendly and helpful people working the front desk and Valet. A lot of Aloha spirit! Mahalo for everything! March 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by very happy with our hotel choice We did a lot of research before settling on the Westin Maui and it met 99% of our expectations. We loved the location and the beachfront, the employees were friendly and helpful. We stayed in an ocean view room in the ocean tower on the 6th floor overlooking the pool. I had read reviews that the rooms were dated however we were very happy with the room. The shower was the best hotel shower I've ever experienced, very updated, excellent water pressure and temperature and plenty of room. The room was small but we did not need to spend alot of time in our room and it did have a balcony and a refrigerator. The grounds were beautiful and well maintained and we really enjoyed the koi fish, birds and swans around the property. Overall I have only two areas of improvement which would have made our stay 100%. The beach attendants were the only employees I felt were not totally customer focused. The first day I rented chairs and umbrella the attendant seemed busy with his personal conversation to help me and seemed put out when I asked questions. I thought maybe it was just him but the second day my husband experienced the same attitude. Maybe we received such great service from others' that it seemed less so from them. The Relish Restaurant was very good food but it's really the only restaurant so if they rotated their menu a little it would be helpful. My son grew tired of eating burgers after a few days and that's their primary menu. They have a different pool menu and I would have liked to have ordered some of the items off that, but at the restaurant instead of the pool. Finally, there wasn't a lot of night life or activities for our teen agers. A pool or ping pong table or even shuffle board would have been a great diversion for families when we had experienced enough sun and water activities for the day. The pool was beautiful and there were plenty of chairs for everyone. We aren't really pool people but enjoyed the adults only area and bar. Overall, I would highly recommend this Westin to anyone. July 17, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Mixed Feelings This is almost certainly one of the best hotels in Ka’anapali. This was our second stay, the first one was memorable, and even this one was pleasant; should we come back, we may stay here again. Having said that, there are few things that would require hotel management’s attention: We were on the 8th floor, in the Beach Tower overlooking Whalers Village, Ka’anapali beach, and the island of Molokai; indeed a beautiful, very spacious room, well maintained, with a great view. There is one drawback, though: at 6am, sometimes even earlier trucks begin loading/unloading stuff at the Whalers Village; they don’t care about your sleep, so they keep the trucks engine on all the time, to say nothing about the continuous beep-beep, when they are maneuvering; if you are not an early bird, you have to know that the top and most expensive rooms are not the best as far as sleep quality is concerned. We had breakfast buffet at the Relish – formerly ‘Ono – restaurant throughout our stay; we would like to thank Carlito for warmly welcoming us every morning, always striving to give us the best table, and to make us feel special. The quality and variety of the buffet though was a serious issue: if you are staying more than just a couple of days, you will get really bored. From a $30 per person buffet, plus tip, we would have expected higher quality, and especially more variety. Housekeeping must be severely understaffed: they knock at your door as early as 8am, and if you miss *this* opportunity, your room may be made sometime in the afternoon; even repeatedly calling guest services won’t help much: “we ares sooo sorry!”, but nothing happens, which makes us think that staff couldn’t care less. No SPG line at check-in; minimal benefits for SPG platinum (premium internet for free) and gold members. Last minute breaking news: we didn’t get a 1pm “late” check-out – standard check-out time is noon. August 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Vacation Ever The resort exceeded our expectations. The staff was friendly . We loved being greeted by Mike daily and our pool service by Dwayne was wonderful everyday. My kids enjoyed Alex (the slide guy) as he became known as they swam everyday in the amazing pools. The front desk staff was courteous and helpful. Our luggage was accidently misplaced for a brief time and the staff went above and beyond to accommodate us and make up for the small mishap. Everyone was helpful with tips of things to do ...especially Dwayne. Larissa was very helpful booking our excursions. So happy that she told us about the Luau on site because it was wonderful and my son loved the fire show . The trip was wonderful and we cant wait to come again!!!! July 2, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dated, Lots of Construction, Not Execeptional We arrived in late September for a seven night stay at the Maui Westin. The lobby entrance was nice and check-in went smoothly, after check-in we headed up to our room on the 8th floor. This is where our problems started. Our initial impression was formed by the smell of stale air as we walked into the room, the room smelled "wet," not a fresh sea breeze type of smell, but one from a damp closet where the air had sat stagnant for an extended period of time. The fit and furnishings to the main living area/vanity area/bathroom could best be described as dated - like a room that would have been popular in style while Miami Vice was popular. Westin apparently agrees with me on some level because much of this tower is being remodeled. Construction starts every morning promptly at 9a and ends sometime after 5p from Monday to Sunday (despite what the desk states about construction halting on Sundays, it most definitely occurred while we visited) and consists of the drills, saws and other power tools that shook and rattled our room. It was impossible to sleep in, enjoy breakfast in the room or hang out on the balcony to take in the view while construction went on during the day. I cannot express my level of frustration with the way hotel management handled our issues with the construction. We were blamed by staff for booking during a construction period which is spelled out somewhere on this website, but I absolutely cannot find. We were offered either eliminated resort charges OR a room change to an available room. Since the only available room meant moving from an ocean view to a 2nd floor view of the parking lot, we opted for eliminated room charges. My opinion is that management's attempts to the remedy the situation fell flat and there seemed to be a general level of disinterest in dealing with construction complaints because, again, this was apparently my fault. In all, it was an extremely disappointing stay in a dated property with an awesome location on Maui but I would definitely not recommend the hotel or the staff for a stay in the near future. October 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by EXCELLENT WEEK HAD A WONDERFUL TIME, GREAT STAFF, GREAT ROOM, GREAT VIEWS FROM ROOM July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Staff was extremely helpful, and Pleasant. Your staff Identified us by name when using the Guest Service phone line it was awesome. The front desk accommodated our room when our party grew from 2 to 4. It was my sisters first time visit to your hotel from California. She could see the ocean what a spectacular view, she enjoyed everyday we were there. Thank you for making my sisters trip unforgettable. July 11, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Construction Alert!!!! I checked into the Maui resort this past Friday, April 13 and here for a few more days. While I agree that this resort is outdated and needs updating I WAS NOT told that there would be construction going on during my stay. I would not have chosen to stay here during this time. It is bad business to not let customers booking your hotel know that you will be doing construction. This hotel is over priced and does not meet the expectations of what you expect from a Westin property. Rooms are small and bathrooms resemble something you would find in a cheap hotel. There is nothing exceptional about the room other than the view of the ocean. You will pay a pretty penny for that. I have called the manager of the property about the construction. I'm still waiting for a call back. April 16, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice family vacation Overall the location, amenities and activities available at the Westin were great. I would return in the future. My only concern, which was addressed, was that we initially were placed in a room by a elevator and that was addressed with a room change. The business amenities were lacking so don't expect much from that option. July 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by amazing hotel! We had an amazing vacation at Westin! our room was beyond beautiful, with an ocean view and a very comfortable bed) everything was very nice, staff always helpful, especially Jason at the front desk. The hotel itself is very beautiful along with the premises and a nice beach. The location is great also with many places to eat and shop within a 2-5 minute walk. I can definitely suggest this hotel to those wanting a great get away location in Maui. July 9, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not up to Westin Standards We are Gold preferrred members & stay almost exclusively at Starwood properties. We were very disappointed with the service we received by the front desk staff at this resort (very rude and unaccomodating). We booked an oceanview room & our view was 80% obstructed by the other tower and we were not moved until the next day. The rooms are small and in need of major renovations. The bathroom was extremely small and dirty (looked like a bathroom you would get in a motel). The only positives we experienced here were the beautiful landscaping, the pools,the location, and the wonderful concierge staff. We come to Hawaii often and do not plan on staying at this resort again & can't recommend it to any others. For the amount of money we spent on this resort, we cannot say it was worth it. February 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great family atmosphere Great for families of all ages...pools for the young and old...amenities to please all ages. Couldn't believe how quiet the rooms were to the outside pool noise! July 12, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Review from 3/23/14 to 3/28/14 We were disappointed this time with our stay except for the housecleaning staff. A lady by the name of Alicia was extremely pleasant and helpful. We needed help with a couple of things and the response was more of a sorry we can't help you instead of the usual how can we help Westin attitude. March 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location, facilities and views We have stayed at the Westin Maui many times as a couple, with family and friends. We are always welcomed and enjoyed our stays. This trip was for three nights using points. We booked an entry level garden view room and was upgraded to a Deluxe Ocean View room in the Beach Tower with a views of the Ka'anapali beach leading up to Black Rock and the Sheraton. The ocean view was good and we saw plenty of whales from our balcony. Very friendly staff. Love the free shuttle into Lahaina - you don't need a car here and can book an airport shuttle via the Westin web site including a 20% discount, save your $$ for great food and fun. February 17, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed thus far... Just spent 10 hours flying across country only to find out my reservation hasn't been properly followed thru with and now the charge per day extra to guarantee connecting rooms that I was quoted and agreed to pay just happens to not show up anywhere now...not NEAR the level of customer service one has grown accustomed to with a Starwood property and the Westin name. We will see, maybe this will turn around,,,I will be more than happy to amend this review if it does. March 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Only 1 issue We had a wonderful, relaxing mini-vacation!!!! The only issue was the adult pool/hot tub area.....it didn't seem that anybody was patrolling the age of the individuals in the hot tub. Every time we wanted to enjoy the hot tub it was full of children/teens (under 16 for sure). If you are going to post the area as "adult only" you shouldn't allow children in the area. July 9, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Shower never cleaned This hotel fell short of what a top hotel should be.the shower was never cleaned and no shampoo lotion or cream rinse for three days. The coffee pot was dirty, I washed used it and the maid never re washed it. Kids over ran the ADULTS only pool and spa could not even get in, local residents hanging out in pool. Arrived in resturant for 38th to find hotel did not make ANY reservation. Had to call security at 11 at night for noise. January 29, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Tired Gem This place is in an ideal location-but the facilities are tired and the front desk staff are "resting on their laurels." They do not have to treat you like you are wanted and special because they are so use to people picking this place due to the location that they do not have to work hard for repeat business. The good news is that they are remodeling. However, that just means that soon they will raise their prices, and still not worry about customer service July 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Work is needed on certificate redemption hidden fees... We are Gold SPG members and have been for quite a while. We won a silent auction last year at the Hawaiian Island of Oahu’s SPG “Royal Hawaiian” for a 2 night stay and resort fees included. Before we arrived, we had asked for a room upgrade due to being Gold and having a “Run of the House” certificate AND the certificate reads we are entitled to the best room available at the time of check-in. When checking in, we clearly stated we don’t want a room near the elevators or ice machines. The SPG Gold/Platinum check-in man stated he would take care of it and we proceeded to room 1055. Please be aware room 1055 is DIRECTLY across from the elevator. You had to listen to the sound of an elevator going up-and-down 24-7 for our two night award from the silent auction. Everything else was perfect… except we were charged $300 for the “Room Upgrade”. What? I clearly read the certificate to the certificate redemption lady on the property over the phone before arrival and she upgraded the room to the 10th floor ocean view. Again, “best room” was guaranteed. Where does the $300 fee come from and actually it came to around $312 on my Platinum AMEX. This is NOT right and something should be done about the certificate person’s irresponsibility. Aside from that, it’s the best resort on the Island of Maui. Beautiful, well managed (with aforementioned discrepancy), clean, and fun. I would most likely recommend the Maui Westin Resort & Spa to ALL my friends planning a trip to Maui. July 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by VERY NOISY "DELUXE" ROOM This was our first vacation in 10 years. When making the reservation, I stressed that we wanted a quiet room. We were talked into to the "DELUXE OCEAN VIEW ROOM." However, that room overlooks an alley where deliveries to a number of restaurants and other business occur every morning, starting at 7:00 a.m., and sometimes earlier. Back up alarms, loud voices, slamming doors. . . . all were awful. We tried to move rooms twice . . . but no assistance. February 19, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing Stay I visited the Westin Maui as the first leg in my Hawaiian honeymoon. Upon entering the hotel, I was very impressed with the look of the lobby. Unfortunately, things went downhill from there. The woman who checked us in was quite rude from the start. We had to wait several hours for our room to be ready and I was completely shocked when I opened the door. The room is clearly in need of updates - the carpet was fraying, the furniture was all scratched up, the TV was ill placed, and the bathroom smelled musty. We were promised an ocean view and while we could see the water, a large portion of the view was blocked by the new tower. The concierge that we met with was unhelpful and decidedly unprofessional in demeanor. While the shared facilities (pool, beach, gym) were great, I could never really get over the rough shape that the room was in. January 28, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This can't be a Westin The previous review is spot on. This hotel does not come close to what should be Westin standards. Small cramped outdated rooms, poorly designed. Loung chairs by pool totally jammed up against one another perfect if you're a sardine. Pool service virtually non-existant. They put used amenity bottles in the room! The manager did not seem to concerned when complained, offered nothing in good will. On the par of a budget hotel. Location was good. February 7, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Honeymoon paradise We were here for our honeymoon, stayed in Luxury Suite! LOVE the room, the view, its breath taking!!! the pools are just great! perfect for adults and kids! we would come back here again without a second thought! Thank you Starwood staff for completed our honeymoon! July 10, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 28 next>>