The Phoenician, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scottsdale

  • 6000 East Camelback Road
  • Scottsdale,
  • Arizona
  • 85251
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 551 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by food The food was ok, it leans more on the healthy side, with not much flavor. The menu did not contain interesting food, just plan taste. The tennis was great, you have some great pros out there. So i ordered shrimp with a Caesar salad, not much taste in said, it was all chop up with the shrimp on top. The shrimp has some taste. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great views of mountains and beautiful cactus garden The pool area is great for relaxing, swimming, or having fun going down the slide. Parking is free. The balcony is spacious. Tennis courts and game room was fun. Great listening to the bird sounds every morning. The service at the pool is outstanding, and the pool restaurant is great. The downfall was the service at Relish Burger Bistro and Il Terrazo. It was less than acceptable. The three times that we dined at these two restaurants, an 18% gratuity was added to our bill. There was only four in our party which included two children. It wouldn't have bothered us if we had service worth tipping. We complained, and were told that because we were given a discount on the kid's meals (1/2 price at Il Terrazo, and 25% off at Relish for showing our spring training game tickets) an 18% gratuity was added. There are no signs stating this anywhere. It would have been better to get carryout at both places, and to have eaten our food at the pool where we were waited on hand and foot. Kudos to whoever is the manager of the pool area. This is where the 18% gratuity should be added. The cactus garden is out of this world. Overall a great stay, but much work needed on restaurant service, and clarification of hotel gratuity policies. When a tip is automatically included in your bill, there is absolutely NO incentive for someone to provide good service. April 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Solid Experience but Checkin Disaster We recently stayed at the hotel for our baby moon. Most aspects were great. Restaurant and pool staff were nice and very responsive. Food and drink were very overpriced. Rooms were in good condition by and large. Biggest issue was checkin. We requested early checkin well in advance and arrived at 10. We knew this would be too early but expected that the room would be available shortly after noon. Reception said they'd call us when ready. We literally had to stalk them from 2:30 on to get our room by 4:15. They were not terribly accommodating notwithstanding my wife's obvious pregnancy or the duration of our wait. I'd been told a manager would call me to discuss the frustrating experience and I'm still waiting for that call. After the rough beginnings though things improved. That said the bad checkin experience still leaves a bad taste in my mouth. I expected more. March 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by After the Fact I left some things in my room and the staff handled it expertly. Communication was superb when I called to inquire about them, and they were bundled up professionally and waiting for me when I returned to pick them up. I get the impression that they would have been sent to my home if I wasn't still in town. Also: I had a wonderful meal at Relish Burger Bistro. March 27, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by High Hopes Dashed My wife and I had decided to stay at the Phoenician because of it's reputation and our own experience at other Luxury Collection properties. Our experience was tainted upon arrival. My wife arrived 2 nights before me. She arrived after dark by taxi and after completing check in, was given a map with directions to the casitas. There was no offer of a valet or mention that the room was on the second floor without access to an elevator. This was just the beginning of dealing with certain staff that had no idea how to treat a guest and anticipate potential needs to enhance a guest's experience. At the pool the next day, the wait staff never approached her to see if she wanted service. She had to track someone down to ask for a beverage and lunch. After I arrived, I experienced the same indifference when we went for dinner at Relish. The hostess was unfriendly and our waitress was as cold as the weather we left behind in the Midwest. The saving grace was the food and beverages which we enjoyed. Over the course of our stay, we opted to go back to Relish and eat and drink at the bar. The staff working there were wonderful and very engaged. Our last night at the resort, we called for take out and on that evening, there was a different hostess and she was warm and inviting. Other positives of our stay was the woman (or women) that refreshed our room, the young man who provided evening turn down service, when we used room service, the food was very good, it arrived much faster than expected and the servers were friendly and professional. I would also like to say that Brittany who set up lounge chairs at the lower pool was very helpful and friendly as well. The hostess at Il Terazzo could use some training in resolving problems. I went alone to breakfast and put my name in and sat down 10 feet to her left on a couch. I was told ny wait would be 15 minutes. After a 1/2 hour and watching others being seated that had checked in after me, I approached the hostess. She started looking for my name, couldn't locate it and said I called your name. The problem here is that if they call your name and you don't respond, the other ladies that escort guests to tables will go around looking for you in other waiting areas away from the hostess stands. She acted very annoyed but finally had someone escort me to a table. The manager came over and offered to buy my breakfast which I declined. I would have preferred the hostess saying she was apologetic about the mix up. The Phoenician is a beautiful property that misses the mark on hospitality. The disparity between their best associates and those that could give a rip about the guest experience is quite wide and enough for me to caution others that luxury and hospitality are inconsistent at the Phoenician based upon my experience. March 25, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by I didn't want to leave! I visited the Phoenician for a work conference over 5 days and 4 nights. The property is stunning. The scenery is breathtaking. The staff, everyone from the bell hop, to housekeeping, front desk, to the shops, were very friendly and always smiling. My room had an amazing view and patio, but the room itself (excluding the bathroom), was pretty lackluster. Comfy bed but nothing extraordinary. Also, the trim/baseboards and the the grates on the shutter doors of the bathroom, closets, and mini bar could use a good cleaning. The prices at the Thirsty Camel were incredibly high. Food was excellent. March 16, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not worthy the points and money Im very disappointed w/ the hotel, worst service I ever had, I was by the pool for 2hrs, and I didnt get service. I asked 4x times for someone but they kept ignoring me, after 2 hrs I had to go to my room and get lunch. Frustrating only thing I wanted to do was to relax by the pool w/ my 10 months old. March 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by things have changed in a year Stayed here last year around the same time. love the property However it does need to have the upkeep stepped up a bit. the hotel needs to be refreshed. Upon checkin they were out of the platinum breakfast cards and didn't expect any for days. complicated breakfast a little bit. At the restaurant they no longer offer the free morning coffee in the lobby which was nice to have. Too many birds on the patio even with the hawks. Room carpet was stained, loud hum that even engineering couldn't explain that lasted a few hours then went away. Screen door fell out and had to be fixed. Shower backed up and a mile of hair had to be removed. Door lock didn't work much of the time and finally the battery had to be changed. And this is only day 3. Staff is great, landscaping is great. Need to provide better bikes like they had last year. Comfort bikes don't work well on hills. March 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Experience This was my first time to Arizona and to the Phoenician. It was wonderful experience. The pools were wonderful and there were a lot of activities to join in on. The food was great and the SPA was relaxing. Highly recommended. March 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The service was as spectacular as the setting I had never stayed at the Phoenician and was pleasantly surprised how close it is to the airport and old Scottsdale. The service was unbelievable, the best trained staff I have ever encountered. The grounds, view and accommodations were great. My only disappointment was the J&G Steakhouse, it was very average and nothing special. I would not dine there again. February 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Favorite Hotel I love The Phoenician, and try to stay there each time I am in Scottsdale. The hotel is beautiful and the staff are terrific. Thanks again for another stellar experience, and I look forward to my next time there. January 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Spectacular resort My family recently spent 4 days at this luxury collection resort and having stayed at many resorts in the US, Caribbean etc I can truly say Luxury is the perfect word. The staff is beyond attentive and the grounds are meticulous. There is everything you could ask for within reach and you truly do not need to leave the grounds during your stay. I'm a Gold member but I was treated like royalty. I am beyond impressed with whomever trains the staff because it is rare you will experience service like this. January 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Dated but impressive After reading nothing but raving reviews, I have to admit the Phoenician was not love at first sight. The building from the outside looks extremely dated to me. Maybe this is because I'm European, where top notch hotels are either classical palaces full of history or modern cutting edge building with the latest gadgets. The Phoenician is neither. Part of the rooms face the steep slope of a mountain and I definitely wouldn't want to spend my holiday there. But, after taking a walk in the gardens I started changing my mind. I still don't like the building but admittedly it almost disappears in the mountain. The grounds are immaculate and the scenery breathtaking. I was upgraded to pool view upon checkin, SPG status clearly acknowledged and all sorts of charges waived. The room looked dated as well, though on closer look everything seemed replaced recently and of high quality. Might be a matter of taste. The staff is really friendly, even though my car has nav, they insisted on pointing out the most scenic routes to several places. I love the lobby bar and outdoor terrace. This hotel doesn't come cheap but its setting is clearly one of a kind. Some contemporary twists could truly make this one of a kind. December 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Thanksgiving dinner Thanksgiving dinner in the hotel was terrible. I am not talking about the buffet but the platted dinner in the dinning room. We had reservations at 8:15 & we did not eat until 9:15. I thought the mushroom soup was terrible & the turkey dinner with no mashed potatoes was awful. It was not a busy time but the wait service was so slow and there was very few people in the dinning room. November 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by HOTEL REVIEW The Hotel was nice but starting to look a little dated. Need some renovations. The service was really good sometimes and not so good others. November 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel Beautiful grounds. Service was great with attention to little details. November 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome proporty great place to mix business and pleasure. November 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Phoenician Is A Great Hotel I love this hotel, and stay there whenever I am in Scottsdale. This time I tried their casual restaurant, Relish, for the first time. I expect and have received great service at their higher end restaurants in the past, but was pleasantly surprised with both the quality of the food and the attentive service at their more casual restaurant. The room, as always, was clean, comfortable and a great place to stay the night. Thanks for another great stay. November 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel to have a great time. This is a classic hotel in Scottsdale, like a tradition. They have kept it very good and in excellent working condition. Sunday brunch is excellent. We did not use the pool but I think it's great. Room space was very good and comfortable. Location is great. November 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great facilities. We are long time SPG members and stay at the Phonecian every 2nd year when we retrun to Scottsdale. Everything has always been to our satisfction except this year when we boolked we were not told there woudl be construction - jackhammering all day Monday Nov 10th our 25th Wedding Anniversary. We had planned to spend the dat at the pool side but ut was impossible to rest there. WhY WERE WE NOT FOREWARNED -ESPECIALLY AT THE PRICES YOU CHARGE - ALSO WHEN WE CHECKED OUT THE RECEPTIONIST DID NOT ASK HOW OUR STAY WAS AND DID NOT EVEN SAY THANK YOU FOR YOUR BUSINESS. tHE OTHER STAFF - PARTICULARLYL jEREMY AND ROVEN AT POOLIDE WERE VERY GRACIOUS ANDS APOLOGIZED FOR THE RACKET. ALSO CHRIS THE BELL BOY COULD NOT HAVE BEEN MORE HELPFUL. OTHERWISE WE WERE DISSAPOINTED IN THE LACK OF CONCERN BY YOUR FRONT DESK AND THE DISRUPTION. I BELIEVE AS A LONG TIME STARWOOD MEMBER YOU SHOULD OFFER YOUR CLIENTS A REFUND. LET SEE HOW FAR THIS GOES!! IF I DO NOT HEAR FROM YOU I WILL BE WRITING A STRONGER RESPONSE. November 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Stay My family stayed recently at the Phoenician for 5 nights using SPG points. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff is extremely friendly and responsive to anything you may need.This was true of all staff we encountered. The hotel is in an excellent location and has a lot of amenities for the price. November 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another Great Experience I made another short trip to Scottsdale and, as always, stayed at the Phoenician. Another great stay, even if it was too short! November 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Hotel Definitely lives up to the Luxury Collection standard. October 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Luxury Service At Its Best Truly enjoyed staying at the Phoenician. I believe it's the staff that make the difference in any venue. For the Phoenician, it was beyond amazing. Seems like every single person there has been through months of customer satisfaction training. Staff and Guests displayed smiling faces at all times. October 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful I had a lovely experience during my recent stay at the Phoenician. I was there for business, however, when I was not in meetings, I easily forgot the 'business planning' because the grounds swept me away to feelings of being on vacation. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and meticulously manicured, the staff is so pleasant and accommodating, and the rooms are comfortable and provide for everything you need. I would most definitely recommend this resort. October 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Service The entire staff, every single employee, was friendly, approachable, and helpful. I never once passed an employee that did not greet me. I cannot say enough about the staff. Also, the restaurants and common areas were outstanding. Overall a wonderful stay. October 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Phoenician Is Always a Treat Let me start by saying that I am probably a tad biased, in that this is my favorite hotel and I stay there multiple times per year. As always, the Phoenician lived up to its well-deserved reputation. Staff are uniformly friendly and any request I made was handled promptly and courteously. I'll gladly stay there again - actually, in the next few weeks! October 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent location with spectaluar views! Our stay was phenomenal! First, the staff was extremely accommodating- anticipating your every need! Our room was so beautiful along with the bedding! It was more than we thought it would be. the restaurants at the hotel were over the top delicious!!!! IT WAS JUST FABULOUS! October 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staying at this hotel is a marvelous experience! From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, we were treated with utmost respect and courtesy. The room was very clean and well-appointed. Our service, from the valet to the check-in to the room service to the check-out, was first class and professional. The common areas and grounds of the hotel are extremely well-maintained. The entertainment at the hotel restaurant was top notch. October 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great overall experience (front desk, concierge, overall resort) I had a very positive experience at the hotel from the friendliness of the staff at the front desk to the help provided by the concierge. I particularly enjoyed hiking up Camelback Mountain. October 2, 2014
  • 2015-11-25 T07:05:41.069-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_551, tr_551
  • loc_en_US, sid_103, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 20 next>>