The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

  • Two Grasslawn Avenue
  • Hilton Head Island,
  • South Carolina
  • 29928
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 432 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Enjoyed the stay except for front desk incident Everything was enjoyable except for the fact that my key stopped working at 12 PM instead of 3 PM on the day of checkout. When I went to the front desk to have the key updated the attendant had an attitude and said checkout was at noon so I showed her the email on my iPhone declaring extended checkout and then she updated the key. The person was not Jenn but another girl with blonde hair working that day 12/8 around 1245 PM. Your system should reflect what the email states to avoid this in the future. December 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel very modern & convenient Our Thanksgiving getaway from snow & ice got off to a great start thanks to the Concierge, CM, as I contacted her ahead of arrival and she had Thanksgiving dinner reservations set up and other entertainment reservations worked on before arrival. Also, the bellman/valet were very helpful. The hotel is beautifully renovated in modern contemporary style. Fabulous beach & convenient golfing. Gorgeous grounds. December 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by four days away with the kids We decided to try Hilton head for the first time .it was our anniversary and yes we had the kids with us. I had booked a king size bed and a pull out couch room .Krystin at check in notice I had the kids and did ask if we wanted 2 queen beds . I explained it was our anniversary and I really wanted the room with the king bed and the pull out couch the kids are little and they like the couch .Krystin delivered and we got the room and ocean view also . the room was beautiful colors they used to decorate are so perfect for the area we were in very soothing beach feel .I loved the bathroom the floors are so beautiful. my only concern was that while a in the shower all soaped up or rinsing out conditioner the tub becomes very very slippery as there are no grips on the tub floor . yes the tub looks great without them but it might be a hazard to the elderly or small children. we retuned back to our room one evening to find a bottle of champagne and chocolate strawberries , I called the front desk to ask why, thinking they were delivered to the wrong room . well Krystin at the front desk sent them and wished us a happy anniversary . thank -you, thank-you, that made our stay !!! the pool area and all the grounds are just beautiful . I would love to come back and see it in warmer weather . it was very cold the days we visited but the kids and my husband did go swimming in the heated pool. also the hotel is located right on the beach so nice to get up and walk on the beach when ever you want. December 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Of my many stays at this hotel, this one was the worst We have stayed at this hotel at least a dozen times. The remodeling is well done and the facility was neat and fresh. I would not recommend this facility over Thanksgiving weekend. The service was lackluster. The property was understaffed in almost every area. Check in was slow and tedious. We waited a long time for our luggage to be delivered. The food was mediocre and a poor value. The breakfast buffet is nothing like it used to be. It was more like a third tier "Breakfast is Free" hotel chain. The decorations were uninspired. The dinner tables were decorated with a single gourd. We were embarrassed for you. We had to ask for our room to be cleaned—this has never ever happened before. There was not much to do. Only one fire pit for the entire hotel. When it is cold, there are no other activities. Usually the outside gardens are meticulously manicured. This time, lots of leaves and debris. Also, lots of used towels around heated pool and hot tub. We had planned to go to the spa, but because the service was so poor in every other area we decided against it. December 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is a great place for a retreat! I was so blessed to have received the quiet and peaceful time of rest that I so badly needed. The atmosphere was perfect, the food was great, and the service was wonderful. I just wish that I could have stayed a few days longer. November 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing Atmosphere Room was very nicely updated...but it smelled. Carpet needed to be cleaned November 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay. Staff was extremely professional and attentive. Was one of the best vacations that we have had. Thanks to all. November 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by What a resort! The Westin was beautiful inside and out. Our room was spacious with clean lines and a comfortable bed. We loved the outside areas with the koi pond, waterfall, pools, hot tub, and greenery. The staff was courteous and helpful, and the breakfast buffet was wonderful! We will stay here again! November 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great relaxing weekend It's the proximity to the beach that made me chose this hotel. However, the resort itself is so nice, it compliments the whole beach experience. Thanks, Matt November 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great vacation experience Friendly staff, room was like new with many comfort features, especially the shower. Starbucks coffee in the room! Several areas to enjoy the pool, sun and great beach access. Meeting facilities very convenient. Food could have been better. I will definitely return to this hotel. November 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Weekend It was awesome would highly recommend. Food a little pricy. But good November 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This Hotel needs improvement I'd rather not say based on my experience. November 10, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Recent Visit We were visiting for the Motor Festival Nov. 2013. The floor plan or the layout of the hotel leaves a lot to be desired. As you entered the main entrance & check in, I learned that the nearest elevator was at the far end of the hotel.(Most hotels elevators are near your check in point so you can have access to your room, our was on the 3rd floor.) This month I was 73 years old and have been treated for COPD by my doctor. It was extremely difficult to walk from the front desk to the elevator and from the elevator back to my room. Over the years I have never seen or visited a hotel where the elevator was on the opposite end of the complex. I was so uncomfortable my wife & I decided that not to walk this distance to my room every day we would check out first thing in the morning. November 8, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by You have an unknown asset but more training is needed My experience at the hotel held too great a level of variability to earn a higher rating and for me to engage in positive WOM. Upon check-in, I found that the room to which I was assigned did not have cell phone coverage. Upon returning to the front desk, Kristyn asked if I had AT&T service and informed me that AT&T did not have good coverage in the hotel. Upon my insistence that this presented a hardship, Kristin (to her credit) attempted to find me a room on a higher floor. I hiked the 4-minute trip to the room on the 5th floor to discover that the key did not work. After trekking back to the front desk and waiting in line for 15 minutes, Kristyn gave me another key to a different room and assured me that, if that key did not work she would bring me another key if I called from the house phone. I trekked another 4 minutes to the second room only to find that the second key did not work. The call front desk connected with Stacy, who told me that Kristyn was busy, but I could speak with Kaitlin. I explained the whole thing to Kaitlin who said she would bring new keys in a "few minutes". Five minutes later I called from the house phone again. After explaining the whole thing to Stacy (third explanation), Stacy assured me she would send a bell man up with the key right away. After another 5 minutes of waiting in the hallway, I called from the house phone yet again and asked to speak with the manager on duty to file a complaining. After another 1.5 minute wait, Stacy came onto the line and told me that the manager, Kaitlyn, was busy with a guest (as if I was not) and could she call me back. I informed Stacy of what I am sure she already knew, that she could not call me back because I was still stuck in the hallway calling from a house phone. I told Stacy not to worry that I would come to the front desk and would make my next call to Westin HQ. The only thing that kept me from complaining directly to Westin HQ was that a wonderful woman named Pauline (from housekeeping) came to remove the feather-filled products from the room. Pauline was a true delight and full of positive energy. She took care of the room and (although she did not ask for details) encouraged me to put the bad experience behind me and enjoy my stay. Pauline understood what your front desk staff did not. She understood that service recovery must take place IMMEDIATELY and must be profound. It must overwhelm the negatively disconfirming information from the poor customer service experience so that customer satisfaction is preserved. This is why Pauline's immediate attempts to "restart" my stay were much more effective than the very lovely, but untimely fruit plate and wine that Kristyn (but not Kaitlin, the manager) sent to my room the next day with a note of apology. Better is training is needed at the front desk of this hotel. If a guest will be assigned to one of the rooms with poor cell coverage, it would take only moments to ask if AT&T is the service provider. More importantly, it is unconscionable that a guest would be left stranded in a hallway for any more time than that required to RUN a replacement key to the individual. November 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Well-Trained Staff One of the nicest places I have stayed. The multi-million dollar upgrade really shows. More importantly, the STAFF were exceptional, and I mean EVERYONE we came into contact with. Obviously well-trained. I would certainly stay there again. November 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hilton Head Island Motoring Festival We stayed at the Westin at Hilton Head Island for the Hilton Head Island Motoring Festival. They were the host hotel. They did a wonderful job accommodating guest during the festival. I would stay there again next year! November 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Westin Resort- Hilton Head This was the first time I stayed at a Westin Property and am disappointed by the dining options in this property. The menu options were unimaginative, expensive and offered little choices to those who suffer from shell-fish allergies or not into crabs. The breakfast buffet was way overpriced and wasn't all that. I would suggest the management to REALLY take a HARD look on the menu options and introduce some variety rather than using the same entrees/ appetizers from the lunch menu in different combinations at the dinner menu. I would like to see a Fish-Chips option. However I have nothing but praises for all the staff in the property. The rooms were nice and so was the view and easy access to the beach. But if I am staying in the property for more than two days, then the current dining options will make me shop for other properties in the area since I DO NOT want to drive in the dark and confusing Plantation roads in the middle of the night looking for other dining options. Oh the band was TERRIBLE. November 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dark room and loud AC Nice hotel but the room had little lighting and the air conditioner was really loud. November 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Business or Pleasure We were there for a business conference and booked two extra nights for a personal getaway. The Room was great and the pool area was very nice. It was cool during our stay but we found the undercover pool was heated to a level that made it comfortable to swim even when the temperatures dropped into the 50's. No matter what the temperature was it was always a perfect time to walk on the beach. We never failed to see dolphins and pelicans and we always found at least one special sea shell for a souvenir. The water was perfect for wading in especially since most of the time we were there the water was warmer than the air. We ate at the Catalina restaurant twice and rated the food and service as excellent. As with all resorts the prices were a little high for what you got but we've come to expect that when staying at a resort spa facility. Now the food that we had during the business conference was not as good. We found it to be limited in choice and, for the most part, not prepared well. My only complaint about the facility was that there were numerous maintenance issues in the public areas. Doors that were beat up and needed to be painted, loose trim pieces and such. We work in the decorating/ paint trade and maybe these things are just more apparent to us. Over all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to visit again. October 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lovely Weekday Getaway At check in we were pleasantly surprised to have been upgraded from the SPG standard room to an oceanfront room on the 5th floor. Great view especially at sunrise! We practically had the entire resort to ourselves since it was mid-week of late October. The outdoor facility is very nice: 4 pools (one heated), spa, bar, lots of padded lounge chairs and sitting areas everywhere, immediate access to the beach. We brought our own bicycles and were able to lock them up in the underground parking garage near the elevator. Our room was spotless and comfortable, although only 2 clothing drawers and 8 hangers were a bit sparse. One negative is that the walls are quite thin so you can clearly hear everything going on and conversations in the room next door. The meals at both the cafe and restaurant were expensive so we ate elsewhere, and there are lots of places to choose from on HHI. The staff were friendly, courteous, and helpful. Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Westin. October 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is very nice The hotel is very nice and the people are most helpful. I recommend more elevators, at least on the north wing. October 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A weekend that felt like Hawaii My husband and I stayed at the newly renovated Westin and it was just FABULOUS! We didn't want to leave. It was a beautiful hotel, top notch staff, amazing amenities, comfy hotel room with view and delicious food. WE are definitely going back soon!!!!!!! October 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by 20 year loyal guest I have been staying at this resort for over 20 years and enjoy each stay more than the previous one. This resort has greatly improved with the renovations. The resort is spotless and well maintained. The food and beverage outlets are excellent and are the quality of a local restaurant. The food and beverage manager Fred is extremely caring and interacts with guests to maintain high quality service. Chris the front office manager is extremely caring and helpful. He is a welcoming face every time I return. As a lifetime platinum member I would rate this hotel as my favorite Starwood resort. I can not wait to return for my next visit. The owners of this resort should be happy to have such an excellent management team at this resort. October 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Off-season and staff are fabulous We attended our son's graduation from basic training at Fort Benning, Georgia and decided since we traveled from Oregon we would sneak a few extra days of vacation in for relaxation at the Westin on Hilton Head Island. And we are so glad we did! We arrived relatively late after taking the backroads across Georgia and touring through Savannah. Upon arrival the hotel staff was extremely personable and hospitable. We were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to an Ocean Front Room (our first time ever)! Gotta love the off-season!! The facility recently was upgraded and it looks phenomenal. The rooms and common areas are clean, comfortable and well appointed. Reading other on-line reviews I have to say that the complaints had me concerned but after staying here I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel and we will definitely be returning. Don't get me wrong, our stay was not without issue, but perhaps our mindset (we were just happy to relax in a beautiful part of the world) allowed us to just roll with the punches rather than complain. We had issues with our key card not working - no big deal, it happens, and we had the cards reprogrammed - all was well. We had issues with the cards again...so did the hotel staff (including maintenance). We were locked out of our room for approximately 3 hours while the maintenance personnel removed the entire door handle/locking mechanism. And last but not least the night before checkout, the room safe had a code flashing on it that would not allow us to open it - so again, maintenance was called. Needless to say, the maintenance folks knew us pretty well. They were always courteous and helpful. It is important to remember that things happen and it's not always someone's fault. What is important is that the staff was more than willing and accommodating to fix the problems. We enjoyed renting beach cruisers and riding along the fantastic trail system on the island and on the sand. The southern hospitality was so refreshing - all of the staff members smiled, wished us good morning/afternoon/evening, asked how we were, etc. All in all, another FABULOUS stay at a Westin. October 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by relaxing We had never been to HH so we decide to stay on our way from Disney with grandkids. After a couple of rat race days at the parks it was very relaxing to come to the beach relax & take walks on the beach. It was mid Oct so the resort was very quite. They have 3 pools very nice one heated. with a nice large whirlpool. The staff was great from check-in to check-out. We are platinum members of SPG, we were offer basic breakfast & was upgraded to full buffet. very nice. Overall our stay was very relaxing. we enjoyed the scenic view from our upgraded room. October 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great property and better service We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to an ocean view room by Kate. And then she went the extra mile and sent us champagne and chocolate covered strawberries. What a great touch and a very nice gesture. Made our stay memorable. Thanks Kate! October 18, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Less than ideal Magnificent property that totally underperformed the location. Rate was not what I negotiated, extraordinary charge to use chairs on the beach as well. For a hotel that is charging almost $300 a night, no turn down service and not even replacement of soap. Facility clean but not exceptionally so. October 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by We felt annoyING Good morning. My pregnant wife and I stayed at the property Friday 10/11-10/13. We arrived at 330p with a suite reserved. This was to have an ocean view. I booked the room through the SPG Platinum line and ended up "upgrading" for a TON of Starwood points per night. I was nervous about this to begin with because the St. Regis in Atlanta was 12,000 per night and we have stayed on Maui in HI for 10,000 a night. We waited until 445p (the young lady checking us in acted like we were annoying her wanting to check in) to get into our room. The room was on the 4th floor, 4032 I believe. The room looked into trees. I couldn't see the ocean. The reason we pre-purchased the upgrade (points wise) was because my wife is six months pregnant and I knew we wouldn't be walking around. I went downstairs and told a person at the front desk. He was able to move us to room 5002. The view was much better here, but definitely not a suite and not something I would ever spend that kind of points a night for. I would have used cash, went somewhere else, or stayed home. Were my expectations too high? When we got settled in, it was time for dinner. We didn't know where to go, so we went downstairs to the outside bar so I could get a beer and my wife could watch me! :). Well it took 20 minutes to get a beer, 20 minutes for me to drink it, and then another 20 minutes of me waiting at our table to pay for it before I went up to the bar. I hadn't seen the server in a long time. The bar tender (she actually looked like a manager) said she would go find the server and I was like NO NO NO and just put a $10 bill in her hand and got out of there as quickly as possible. My wife then asks me "Are we doing something wrong here?". I thought the same thing. The next day we go down to the beach (after massages, which were just rough. But the hotel and spa are separate, right?). My fault because we didn't know chairs and umbrellas had to be reserved in advance, but we go down there and waited for 15 minutes before the guy in the truck got out to ask if we needed help. I'm just like....come on. We got something, but we were about 20 yards away and the guy was just sitting in his truck. I've never complained about a hotel. I stay at Starwood properties almost weekly. My wife says I"m way too easy on people too. BUT, I've got to say this trip was rough. I don't know if we did something wrong, but for the amount of points spent and time wasted, it just wasn't worth it at all. I'm sorry to write this , but I also think quality control is important. Thank you. October 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Beaches/Sunrises/Sunsets Beach is beautiful, sunrises/sunsets spectacular. October 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by green? As family of employees, we were assigned the green program. I would have liked to have been told exactly how that operated rather than experience it. I had little internet availability on my cell in my room. I just think employees and their families should be thanked for their service to a company rather than feel like they receive leftovers. However, staff was great! October 10, 2013
  • 2015-07-30T21:19:47.061Z
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-11, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_432, tr_432
  • loc_en_US, sid_1050, prod, sort_default
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 ... 16 next>>