The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

  • Two Grasslawn Avenue
  • Hilton Head Island,
  • South Carolina
  • 29928
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 386 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cleaniness of Room/Hallways The room had not been vacuumed. There were cracker crumbs under on the floor as well as a white lifesaver on the floor at the frame of the bed. To be staying at a hotel of this type, the room should have been cleaner since it had just been refurnished. Also, the hallways were not vacuumed. Again, food, crumbs and other items were throughout the common areas of our floor (3rd). July 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Will most certainly be back! Our stay was beyond our expectations. The hotel was immaculate and the staff was always cheerful and willing to help without being pushy. The atmosphere was so relaxed and very family friendly. The beach was more private than we have ever experienced and were very pleased. Even though we came to see the ocean, we spent most of our time in the beautifully landscaped pool area. We chose a spot under the towering palm trees to avoid the direct hot sun and felt like we were on a tropical oasis! It was so relaxing and all our needs were met by the hotel and staff. We are telling all our friends and family and are looking forward to our next stay at the Westin! June 12, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Service is horrible at this hotel Customer service was horrible Food poor and choices limited expensive lunch n breakfast options No choice for kids The wait staff was so bad time to be served to the actual food or drink being sent....and waiting for bill i cant stress enough how dissatisfied i was with the service. Food desk staff was nice. Constant extra charges for using the grounds is extreme. July 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Can't Do Enough for You From time of arrival until departure, staff could not have been friendlier ... directions to early check in to late check out to restaurant staff ... every person I encountered couldn't do enough... and all done with a smile! Of course, the facility itself was akin to staying in the lap of luxury. Really great experience ... will return! February 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The perfect vacation spot! Our experience at the Westin exceeded our expectations. It was the perfect get away; a relaxing weekend for the adults and tons of kids activities. We chose to pay additional for an ocean view room and upon checking in; we were quite disappointed with the view of a rooftop (no pool view and barely an ocean view). After speaking with the manager on duty (Katie) , she more than took care of our dissatisfaction; offering us breakfast each morning and switching our room when one became available. Katie and the staff at The Westin were amazing and it was wonderful to stay at a place that has good quality customer service! June 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Wanted to love it, but it fell short of expectations Recently concluded a one-week stay at the Westin. I will start with the positives - the outdoor space is wonderful, especially the covered pool. The walk to the beach is short. The beach area had a strange pool of water (like a giant puddle - several inches deep) that needed to be traversed. Fine if you don't have anything wheeled but seemed like a pain for folks with beach carts or strollers. The sand is very shelly which was different than other parts of Hilton Head where I stayed in the past. I had some basics delivered to the hotel in advance of my arrival (package of pretzels, bottled water, and shelf stable milk). I do this so I don't have to immediately run to the grocery upon my arrival - it is a very long drive for us. When I requested my deliveries from the front desk, I was handed a piece of paper and was asked to sign it. The hotel wanted me to authorize a $40 charge for handling my packages. This is absurd. The bellman manages packages from my car for free (aside for a tip I choose to provide), so how could they justify this exorbitant charge for something I picked up from the front desk? I was also highly displeased that this wasn't spelled out clearly - I imagine most people quickly sign without realizing you are authorizing a charge. Another disappointment came with the shuttle service. The hotel website advertises transportation to Shelter Cover for dining and nightlife. We wanted to take it for the fireworks to avoid parking hassles. We were told that it only goes to 4 p.m. I pointed out the website discrepancy and the hotel didn't offer any accommodation. We were told to get a taxi if we didn't want to drive. The rooms are smaller than I would like, but small design changes could be made to improve the usable space. There are only two drawers available in the entire room. There are many pieces of furniture, but they are all console style tables, so they are open at the bottom. Silly to have numerous pieces like this when just one could have been used to provide more drawers. They use stylish French doors on the closets, but they open such that they can block the main door to enter the room. The bathroom is oversized. I would much rather they skinny down the bathroom and use the space on the opposite wall for a small wetbar set-up. We ate one meal at the outdoor restaurant. My burger was well overcooked despite being ordered "medium" and confirming with our server that medium would be pink in the middle. Our meal was $70 for two kids meals and two adult entrees (both sandwiches). I guess if I am spending $70 on a casual meal, I expect the burger not to black on the outside. Oddly - I might still go back despite my many misgivings, mostly because of the covered outdoor pool. It was a godsend for a hot week and my pasty white skin. August 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by LQA The only recommendation for improving this hotel is adding Westin worthy beach chairs and umbrellas out on the beach. There is a 3rd party vendor you can rent from but the chairs are old and uncomfortable. Everything else was fabulous! April 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great beach and pool Still a decent place to stay - great pool, comfortable rooms, awesome beach. Unfortunately, the quality of service has diminished over the years. I do miss the days when the staff treated all guests as if they were VIPs. Now, as far as the staff appears to be concerned - you're just anybody, staying at any hotel. August 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Exceptional Hotel with Exceptions We loved the hotel, staff, beach, area, etc. We've been coming to Hilton Head for 20+ years and have stayed in condo's, homes, and all the comparable hotels on the Island. This hotel ranks at the top. The only exceptions are all the associated fees when you cheek out that get added to your room stay (in particular the Resort fee). In addition, the food at the pool could be better from a health/quality perspective, especially since the resort promotes healthy living. August 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Less than ideal Magnificent property that totally underperformed the location. Rate was not what I negotiated, extraordinary charge to use chairs on the beach as well. For a hotel that is charging almost $300 a night, no turn down service and not even replacement of soap. Facility clean but not exceptionally so. October 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Heavenly beds The beds are INCREDIBLE.... best sleep ever. I have heard several people in my group commenting about that, most of them are frequent travellers. My only comment is at check in, when I indicated I would not need help with bags, the bell person seemed less than enthusiastic. January 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Relaxing hotel We always love staying at Westins as their beds are great, this one met all of our expectations, close to the ocean and large pool area. This was a relaxing stay. Their garden view does have something to be desired, all greenery no flowers, it was the middle of July though. July 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overall good quality The only issues I had were food quality at breakfast as food was cool and presentation was not up to I'm sure your standards after a longer wait time to receive at table. I guess the only other issue was at check out when I saw resort fees of $20 per day added onto my bill. When I made the reservations the gentleman that I spoke with said this would be adjusted for me at checkout as an offset to my final bill. I didn't won't to argue with the desk manager at the time as I was running late for an appointment in Savannah Conference at Westin at Savannah Harbor Hotel where I was attending a conference for three days. All in all the stay at your facility met my standards except for the notations explained above. Best regards, Scott A. Samuels/President and CEO BeneServe & Associates, LLC July 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Annual family trip to Hilton Head General Manager was observed throughout our stay in all areas of the hotel managing the staff. This gave us the confidence that the hotel was managed well. The children's programs free or paid for were managed well and readily available. The staff treated my children great and the kids remember that the most. Remodeled facilities are updated and staff is very friendly. Not sure if SPG program has any great value or distinction. Bedding was harder than in the past and not the Heavenly Bed experience from our last stay. There is no incentive or greater value for dining at the hotel versus restaurants in town. Not pleased with the cleanliness of poolside cushions on chairs, they seemed mildewy and damp all the time. Overall our experience was very good and we plan on returning to the hotel as we have for a number of years. Please continue to keep the White Tea Aloe scents it reminds us of the Westin. August 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin Hilton Head This is a great place to stay! Perfect location on the island. You can walk right out onto the beach or walk the paths through well landscaped areas. Good golf courses are just a minute away. February 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hilton Head Island Motoring Festival We stayed at the Westin at Hilton Head Island for the Hilton Head Island Motoring Festival. They were the host hotel. They did a wonderful job accommodating guest during the festival. I would stay there again next year! November 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by A bit overpriced The place is beautiful and the staff was very friendly but simply things like charging for wifi seem a bit odd. could get the same clean and friendly service at other places for half the price with more amenities. June 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by We were impressed with everything This hotel was in a beautiful location with great views of the ocean. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The room was really cozy and clean. We would recommend this hotel to everyone. September 17, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not up to Westin Resort Standards! We loved our previous stays at several other Westin Hotels and Resorts. Sadly, this experience did not meet our expectations. The airconditioning in our room did not work properly despite several attempts from maintenance. We had FIVE days/nights that were either too cold (59 degrees) or too hot ( cold air never generated.) We had a safe in our room that was not functioning and had to wait on security to fix it which confined us to our room for several hours. Upon bringing these issues to management, we were given two complimentary dinners at the Cafe. Again, what a disappointment. Terrible service and the meals left alot to be desired. We did not even use our second voucher, opting to eat off the premises each evening. Although the staff were friendly and pleasant, they did not address the problems in a timely or satisfactory manner. Where was the upper management? It did not seem like a well run establishment, definately nothing like our previous stays with Starwood Hotels! We were disappointed to say the least. On a last note, there is no shop (for gifts or other necessities) open at this time. June 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Priceless This is a must see, must do Hotel!!! You have to experience it for yourself. Mere words cannot describe the comfort, beauty and atmosphere of this one of kind hotel!!! December 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by the walk is long the set up is unreal ,the walk to the rooms is to long .I was on the second floor there was a tile missing and leaking water. the hall had a strong mold odor. August 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Total Renovation is Awesome! We have stayed at this location many times. What a pleasant surprise when we saw the total renovation of the property. Rooms are very comfortable and spacious. May 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Animal control I do not care for animals being allowed in all the rooms, I have severe allergy problems to animal dander, this should be considered for your future guest. June 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by noise and staff We had a connecting door attached to our room and complained the people next door had a baby that screamed from 10:30 pm to 7:00am and mustve had crib in front of connecting door.It sounded like baby was in our room and no one in our room got any sleep.The staff didn't seem to care and said they couldn't move us or them because they didn't have any more rooms with 2 beds.So its hard to enjoy yourself with no sleep! August 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel My hotel stay at the Westin was great, family had fantastic time!! My only complaint, was we reserved a room with sofa bed and was not given that. We were compensated afterward with SPG points. August 11, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing After an extensive renovation, still needs work. Exceptions: staff everywhere was well trained and friendly. Overall, rooms and public spaces were relatively nice. BIG downside was dining....venues were tired and really no where to have dinner that didn't have a bad hotel vibe. At 8:45 on a holiday weekend, not one inviting venue for a cocktail. Further, how can a $300/night hotel not have HDTV? The audio was way behind the video....not good. Beach was nice but had to rent chairs for $30/day. No Westin chairs. On the upside, renovated bathrooms and rooms were nice. Great pool chairs. We are local but probably won't return.... May 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gorgeous resort with lots to do The resort is beautiful and right on the beach! Plenty of places to go within a few miles. Will be back many times! June 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Renovations finally complete I've stayed at the HHI Westin for over 30 nights over the past 8 years so I feel most qualified to rate this hotel. The renovations completed this spring finally brings the HHI Westin back up to the Westin standards. The rooms are very modern, comfortable and clean and what you are used to at other Westin hotels. The two pools have received facelifts. The pool deck has been re-surfaced and now there is plenty of seating surrounding the pools. Oceans restaurant has a new menu and have undergone renovations. The staff are turned over and much improved from the from previous years. The Spa continues to be excellent. The giftshop is much more welcoming. The location is amazing and the beach is very clean and family friendly. The SPG Platinum ammenities are outstanding which include: free valet parking, daily breakfast buffet for 2 (a very good value), upgraded rooms. They are finally providing late check outs for Plats which was never granted previously to me. Overall, I'm happy that the Westin is again the premier spot to visit on HHI. I have a feeling that the secret will get out again and crowds will return to the Westin. I hope that the hotel management can keep these high standards for years to come. July 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Only one draw back The hotel was great and the front desk staff was amazingly helpful. I had a very "crazy" time with the reservations. I made them way ahead and every time I called back to check, there was always an issue. The day before I was to arrive the person on the phone finally asked me to call the Hotel's front desk to check everything because her system seemed to bring everything up incorrectly. It was pretty frustrating for me so I am very thankful for the workers at the Hotel's front desk. I think it's more of a problem with your computer system and how it "reads" when the worker pulls everything up to take a look. I think the workers were doing their very best. May 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Clean This hotel was very clean. I was bummed there was no store yet because I left home without face wash or lotion, assuming that a beach island would have plenty of areas for me to grab some. It seems like this hotel is by the golf courses, and has its own private beach entrance, but it is a very secluded beach area. It was not what I was hoping for on my honeymoon. We had to go down to a much farther area to find more people hanging out at the beach. I also told them it was our honeymoon and they did nothing even though my friends have always told me SPG will either give food vouchers, strawberries, or a better room. I was happy to be on the SPG floor, however. I liked the bathroom and the shower. Our window view was a bunch of trees, so it seemed a little anti climatic. All the rooms are noisy and you can hear someone from another room closing and opening their bathroom door, talking, anything. Luckily I don't think the hotel was very busy during our stay. Loved the luggage closet. We were able to check out but come back for our luggage when our taxi service came to pick us up. There were lots of pools and no one was really in them. That's a plus, since hotel photos of pools show a desolate pool area but the reality is a sardine can. May 6, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 14 next>>