The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

  • Paseo de la Marina Sur #205
  • Puerto Vallarta,
  • Jalisco
  • 48354
  • Mexico
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 73 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by A little tired. This is our first visit to the Puerto Vallarta Westin. The staff was friendly and helpful. The first room we were shown seemed small and enclosed by the log overhang. We asked for a change of room and received a double queen on the fourteenth floor. The room was larger and the view nicer. On closer inspection the bathroom finish seemed a little careless. The bath faucet had a hole around it. The drywall had holes in it under the trim of the tub and their were paint bleeds where the wall met the marble. I guess we expected better from the Westin. It also appears they sold off half the building as a timeshare as the swimming pool area is divided off by a fence. January 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by AMAZING TIME! It was my boyfriends and my first time in Mexico and due to Weestin hotel and staff, we had such an amazing time! I would recommend this hotel to everyone! We came January 2011 and the pool temp was perfect! Now off to Cancun Westin next month, hopefully we get the same treatment that we did here :). Also, the food was AMAZING! especially the breakfast buffet!!! April 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful stay My wife and I spent a very short stay at the Westin Marina hotel and had a fantastic time. Even with our short time there, the staff was OUTSTANDING! We could not have received better service. From the front desk, to the bell service to the wait staff, everyone was universally EXCELLENT. The only thing that would have made our experience better would have been a few more days at the Westin. May 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous Service My wife and I stayed at this property on our first visit to Puerto Vallarta. The location is quiet compared to properties closer to the touristic area, however it´s still close enough to easily ride a bus into town. It´s well worth the upgrade to the Club level, as the organizer of the lounge (Angel) is fantastic! April 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Westin Puerto Vallarta A great facility overall - housekeeping had some shortcomings but were addressed quickly with phone call. Nice beach/pool area. Close to golf. Need to take a taxi into town to really experience the local flavor. Fitness center was good. December 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel and the Price is Right Not much to say other than I had a very pleasant experience at this hotel and it didn't break the bank. Would stay here again if the opportunity arises. March 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not as nice as before We love this hotel (we got married here!). So we were disappointed with a few things during this trip: 1) The pool side had loud music playing, mixing with another music from the beach, so it was difficult to relax. On top of it, some people even started playing their own radios. I would rather have no music, or soft music if at all. People now have personal players if they really want to hear it. 2) The food near the pool was not fresh at all, especially seafood. 3) The showers have no door, so a lot of water gets spilled everywhere. The seal under the glass is not 100% tight. 4) The air conditioning unit seemed old and was very noisy at night. 5) The beautiful art/decorations/style of the building, with loud Mexican colors, has been replaced by an ugly corporate look. Worse, we heard they're going to renovate even more. Please don't lose the character of the old architecture, it was fantastic. April 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Viva La Mexico The Westin was the perfect place for me to stay for my solo trip to Puerto Vallarta. I knew that I would safe and well taken care of, and that i was. The breakfast buffet is AMAZING, so much great food for a good price. Fresh juices, omlette bar, frech toast, chilaquiles, you name it they had it. I stayed on a Starwood Preferred Guest floor. The room was huge, and clean, the bed was dreamy, and the bath room with separate tub and shower was nice added touch as was the balcony. The location is perfect for trips into Old Town, or walking along the Marina. You are close to downtown and old town but also in a quiet resort area. The best of both worlds. I hope to return and stay there again soon! December 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 Foul ball, but then a surprise home run! I have stayed at this hotel several times now. I have always rated this property 5 Stars, but this time I was only able to give it 4 Stars overall. I arrived very early and as I expected the two rooms were not ready. What I did not expect was how poorly I was initially treated after making a couple of simple requests to sit in a private area of the hotel and work. I was repeatedly told it was against SPG Policy. I was told my request couldn’t be honored until the 3 pm check-in time. I have never run across rule citing before, especially for rules that I don’t think exist - especially considering Flex 24 benefits; if requested and approved (I had not requested them – nor did I expect my room to be ready early). When the two rooms weren’t ready at the 3 pm check-in time, I was a bit irritated given the initial problems. However, Josephina, the platinum desk check-in person quickly offered a regular room while the other two rooms were (still) being cleaned; she offered to even go to help clean them herself. She did her best to make up for the initial denial of request of a quite area to work. Had she been working check-in when I arrived, I know that no situation would have even occurred, as she would have made sure I had a quiet place to work. Now having identified the initial problems at check-in; Martha O. and Dany G. made sure that the rest of my stay and departure were fantastic, impeccable, and flawless. I cannot say enough good things about them and their sincere acknowledgements and apologies for the misunderstandings at my arrival. It is really nice to know that the management cared enough to make sure I was 100% happy before I left and followed up and followed through during the stay to make sure I was. I am looking forward to my return to this property in October! I also had two other staff members come up to me during the stay to make sure everything had been resolved and that everything else was going well. I think everyone on staff was very sincere in making sure that the rest of the stay went smoothly. This property is a nice hotel in Puerto Vallarta, however the rooms are not modern and have not been updated, but it is kept in good enough shape to make you feel comfortable. The gardens and pool are fantastic! The water pressure is out of this world! The pool has a sign up that you cannot reserve chairs by the pool, however it doesn’t seem to be enforced. Even with it not being enforced it is not as bad as the other SPG property down the road with chair saving. The internet seemed to work better during this stay; a nice improvement. While this property is less than 5 minutes from the airport, you do NOT hear the planes. The actual beach is not super nice, but the property location behind the marina cannot be beat for peace and quiet! This place has some of the nicest sunset views on the bay! Also, many times you can see the dolphins and whales just off the shoreline. Also, this property is only 30 minutes by bus, or 15 minutes by taxi to downtown. I do recommend that you try this place sometime if you are in Puerto Vallarta. February 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Stay at Westin Vallarta The "heavenly bed" experience was below expectations as the pillows and sheets didnt seem clean/fresh. After almost 7 years as SPG elite member, this was the first time that late check out was denied staff was not consistent at going the extra mile for service as expected from a starwood property... some were good but others werent facilities, location and beach spot are very good December 14, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I LOVE this hotel I stayed here for spring break 2012 and am headed back in just a month for 2013 break, I just really enjoyed my stay here, I found service to be above standards of the average Westin or 4-star hotel, supper comfy bedding, and really enjoyed the pool with beautiful grounds. Puerto Vallarta- in my experience just doesn't have the soft sand beaches but I found the beach section the hotel is located on to be quite relaxing and though not "private" much more private than other sections of PV's beaches. An american resort will often not have the best food- thats expected, at least in my experience, so I do recommend hitting more local places to eat BUT do have at least one kahlua colada from the swim-up bar at the pool (I was addicted to this drink :) Also, breakfast was pretty great, but a little bit expensive (some rates include it so watch for that!) Really, I love that you can stay here- at a resort but be just a 100 peso or less cab ride (about $7-8 USD) to the core downtown of Puerto Vallarta- you get the best of both worlds! And I love how cabs are lined up in PV so there is never a wait. On a side note, I do also recommend watching the price of this hotel as far in advance as you can as it can fluctuate a lot, luckily even at low rates through spg.com the rate is still generally flexible, so it's something you can book far in advance and always cancel at no cost. ***Internet is slow and slightly overpriced. But it gets the job done... THANKS TO THE PV WESTIN STAFF! Can't wait to see you again soon :) February 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Resort Overall the resort staff was fantastic. We're considering the Westinfor our wedding location and the hotel is absolutely gorgeous and the staff went out of there way to help show us the property, potential layouts, and even came in on the weekend for our stay to help show us table layouts. If I have one knock it's that the using Suite Night upgrades for the resort is a bit of a waste as the "suites" are simply deluxe rooms with a hot tub. Kind of a complete waste for using an upgrade. March 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by PUERTO VALLARTA PURSUIT OF HAPPINESS The Westin Hotel was gorgeous and the management and staff did everything they could to assist us in our attempt to have a good time. The Room, Spa, Pools, Tasty Food along with pleasant and relaxing surroundings were second to none. The stay at the Westin was ruined as we were victims of the Police Department Corruption that seems to be dominating the streets at night. While driving not far from the Westin, we were stopped twice by Police Officers within a 5 hour period, the last time was just before we entered the driveway of the Westin to return to our room. No valid reason for stopping us was given by the English Speaking officers and law breakers we were not. After a short while it became apparent that money was the only way to end the traffic stop, money paid directly to the two officers on both occasions. Being stopped once was bad enough and put a damper on the day, but twice in one day pushed us to the decision of cutting the vacation short and returning to the United States. We checked out of the Westin early to the dismay of management and they are to be appauded for the exceptional courtesy's they extended to us as well as additional perks. Total Cost for the Police shakedown was over $100.00 US Dollars. We will not return to the Westin or PV until we are convinced the corruption has been wiped out, along with the criminal cops. December 9, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Stay The staff was fantastic. Pedro the bellman treated us like family. The whole staff made us feel as though we were valued guests. Their recommendations for food and activities was spot-on! The rooms were comfortable and clean. I had the chilaquiles for breakfast. The Mexican pastries were delicious. You won't be disappointed. The buffet looked delicious as well. Check in and check out were courteous and efficient. I will definitely return to this hotel. The view from my room (914) was great. There were many different pools and my entire family had a great time. March 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Still first choice Excellent. Staff very professional, courteous, but still with a sincere welcoming touch. Rooms very comfortable and clean as well as the rest of the recreation areas. Royal beach club treatment, where we stayed, excellent. Our stay provided rest as well as fun. Thank you, Still my first choice when planning a trip. June 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by For a wonderful stay.... This hotel welcomes you from the moment you arrive with its beautiful architecture and views... But combined with the amazing staff greeting you each day it takes you to the next level! We highly recommend choosing Puerto Vallarta's Westin Spa and Resort Hotel for a wonderful stay !!!!!!!!! Betty and Alex Weisz, Toronto< Canada June 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Overall very beautiful, relaxing place The place was so breath taking , I extended my stay. The room and view made me never want to leave. Service was excellent all the way around. Friendly, helpful staff. Only thing I complained about was the exhorbitant cost of a movie in the room -180 pesos!!! Plus, on the TV screen it says 155 pesos and than they tax you when you check out. Come on -- that's ridiculous! And the price of drinks are way too high. The food was ok -- nothing outstanding. But everything else was exceptional and I will be back. Oh, and I took another traveler's advice, and when I was approached by Raul, the masseur, I decided to have a massage. It was truly one of the best I had. My upper back was so tight, and did magic on it! May 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Westin Puerto Vallarta As SPG gold memebers we expected a room upgrade, especially since the hotel was virtually empty the week after Thanksgiving. Perhaps there was a language gap, but we were not able to get across our thinking to staff, who were very nice and friendly, but unwilling to do an upgrade. Housekeeping needs improvement for quality and consistency. We reported this at check out. Also, the rooms need mechanical repairs to be terrific as decor was lovely. December 6, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Should rank a five star resort I've stayed at this Westin three times in the past four years; first stay was during their 2011 renovation. During my last stay in Jan 2013 friends I met while there all wondered why this didn't receive 5 star status. It has the best pools/ landscape location of any hotel in PV, the service is top notch. Food is very good and beach side candle lit dining exceptional. Only drawback i having to pay for steam room/ sauna use. Odd. Check online for room rate specials well in advance. March 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Hotel in Puerto Vallarta This hotel has everything a person needs-- perfect location (close to the airport, marina, shops, and restaurants), has a nice beach, great restaurant and other beach "snack bar" with lovely food and view, excellent veiws of the bay and mountains, perfect service, gorgeous pools surrounded by numerous huge palm trees, and large, well-appointed rooms. I loved every minute. The hotel has efficient, polite people in every part of the business. July 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by OK, but not great The goods: Good service, not a lot of people when we were there (mid Jan) Views from the balcony is nice Resort is pretty big FREE (We booked with free points) The bads: This hotel is a bit far from downtown, taxi costs $16 each way. Wifi signal is weak out at the pool, cuts off all the time. Foods are disappointing and expensive January 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic! (but could use a renovation) Fantastic time and the Staff was great! Special mention to Patricia (Pool Bar Waitress), Noah (Photography) and the team who handles the Towels. Definetly would go back but the hotel could use a renovation or slight upgrade. Pools are great and wonderful size rooms with great views. Food was fine depending on what you ordered. It was my birthday and the staff was great! July 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by nice hotel - would come back stayed at this hotel for 7 nights. I had a wonderful experience. I personally dealt with Angel and Josefina. Angel works in the Royal Beach Club. He always had a smile on his face. I liked the fact that he called me by name and remembered each day what drink I liked. Josefina works at the front desk. She is a very helpful lady. She always said hello as she saw me leaving for the day. The pool was never crowded. The water in the pool is very refreshing. The water by the beach was very warm. There were plenty of chairs by the beach. The staff are very friendly. tips - Ask for a higher floor. The marina is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Beware there are timeshare people in the marina and on the walk to the marina. I would come back, I had a bit of confusion on my first night for the green choice problem. The card you hang on the door does not it is not applicable for the 1st night. I found this out from the front desk. This should be looked into by the Westin. November 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by AMAZING!!!! The Westin Hotel and Staff were simply amazing and far beyond what we expected. My husband and I had such an amazing time. Reyes in the bar by the beach was awesome, Eloy in the resturant was just wonderful, and Daniel at the front desk was a rockstar. Thank you for all the great memories!!! We will definitly be returning one day!!!!! March 21, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Pools too cold We have been very disappointed with the pools water temperature. Too cold for the season (December 2011). All Families with kids were talking about this issue. For the hotel category they should pay attention at it. December 27, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Service is beyond horrible Service at this resort is beyond horrible. Waiting an hour and a half for a hamburger because the waiter forgot to entire the order, only to get a wrong sandwich. Maids forgetting to leave towels, having to call everyday to have minibar restocked, wifi connection is horrible, management could care less about you or your problems. Worst vacation ever. March 24, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Service, Prices and Heat Issues I stayed only one night with a 7 day reservation because of service, and Internet, food and beverage prices. I checked in after a long day of traveling with the proper documentation for 2 employee rate rooms, but the rate for the second room was increased by the front desk staff. My authorization letter showed that 2 rooms were approved for these rates. I have booked 2 employee rate rooms at other Starwood hotels and had never before had this issue so there is a problem with consistency on how the policy is applied based by hotel or possibly by the front desk staff. I am a sibling of an Starwood employee and frequently travel using my sister's benefits. We talked to the front desk manager the next morning and was promised a reduction on the second room rate but it never came through when we actually checked out. The same front desk clerk that argued that the second room was not eligible for the employee rate was there when we checked out. My friend and I had dinner in the hotel restaurant with outrageous prices and very poor service even though the hotel was very empty. My waiter encouraged my to buy a cocktail but never brought what I ordered. The $23US fish entree did not come with a starch or vegetables, very small portion for the price. A bowl of soup is $11US. In-room and business center Internet access prices were very high and the connection was very slow. Our rooms that night were cold and we found out that there is no heat in the rooms, although I realize that is probaly true with many other hotels in PV. It seems like the room rates are relatively low, but the price of food, beverages, and Internet is ridiculously high. I now understand why the resort was empty. Just to let you know we moved into a very expensive all-inclusive resort, and had a wonderful time, enjoyed excellent food and drinks and entertainment and feel that we saved lots of money compared to staying at the Westin even with employee discounts. February 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beatiful Property Comfort, good food, nice environment, excellent attention, great views and excellent rooms, great bed....... can´t ask for more!!! April 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Repeat visitor I have stayed at the Westin in Vallarta three times now and I have had a great experience each time. The staff is excellent and extremely pleasant. From the bellman who opens the taxi door for you upon arrival, to the towel stand attendant, to my favorite bartender, they are all super nice and smile like there is no tomorrow. The pool is great, the grounds are beautiful but I have to say the food is only okay. I am not a fan of the loud music played in the area near the beach, but I just move somewhere else when it gets to me. The location is great and extremely safe. Getting downtown is a 20 minute taxi ride for a very reasonable price. While nothing about the resort is in the "best I have seen" category, I wouldn't consider going anywhere else in Vallarta. The Westin offers very good amenities, beautiful grounds and an excellent staff. Just thinking about my next trip brings a smile to my face. April 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by design & checkout Great hotel interior design, layout, and impact. However, check out services need a major revamp. Systemw was down during checkout, so I requested a copy to be sent to my email. Invoice received was blank. After 3 phone calls & 5 emails, finally was sorted out. Not at all ideal, and suboptimal for Westin Hotel brand. March 20, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>