The Westin St. John Resort

  • 300A Chocolate Hole
  • St. John,
  • Virgin Islands
  • 00830
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 233 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Stay My wife and I recently stayed at the Westin St. John for our honeymoon. Our experience was absolutely wonderful. The resort is amazing. The grounds are gorgeous and there are many amenities available. Everyone was so kind and willing to assist us in any way. Our one bedroom hillside villa was very nice, with a beautiful view from the balcony. The location is excellent, as several of the island's finest beaches are only minutes away. Taxis are always available. We have no complaints whatsoever and would certainly recommend this resort. Hopefully we'll make it back for an anniversary sometime in the future! May 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Place This was out fourth stay in St John's and we continue to love it. My only complaint is that the staff fails to enforce the non smoking through out the propertty April 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by hotel in paradise great location, easy to get to wonderful beaches. lovely grounds, pools and villas. October 25, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not Up to Par We have visited this resort many times and are owners in Bay Vista. That in itself says how much we love the Westin St. John. However, this year we had numerous issues -- all with Housekeeping (not the Maid service). We arrived on the 5:30 ferry and were shown to our loft. We had asked for a queen air mattress and extra bedding long before our arrival. It wasn't in the room so we called Housekeeping. There were no sheets on one of the pullouts and the other pullout had dirty sheets - sand and hair visible. When we got back from dinner there was still no clean linen. After several phone calls we went to the desk at 10:30 p.m. requesting linens. That finally did the trick but after a long day of travel this was certainly not up to our expectations and was very disappointing. We never did get the air mattress. We moved to another unit after a couple days and again found Housekeeping to be unresponsive. The rest of the resort was wonderful. The Beach Cafe and Snorkles food and service were great, especially Timmica, Cynthia and Shirley! They do a fantastic job and are so friendly. Also, the shuttle service was greatly improved this year! Very prompt and seldom had to wait more than a minute or two. Overall we still love to vacation here but improved communication is definitely necessary. March 14, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Below Exepectations I will say that we have traveled to Caribbean resorts every winter for the past four years, and this Westin falls to the bottom of the list of our choice destinations. I would, unfortunately, agree with most of the reviews that say this hotel charges like a five star resort, but our experience was much more like a three star resort. First off, I am still struggling with the billing department to get our billing statement corrected. It has taken three plus attempts and they still cannot seem to straighten out that our package included breakfast (yet they charged for breakfast). They also had a charge on the bill from the last departing guests from our room for $100! I would also say the hotel just feels very much run down and in desperate need of a “face lift”. The breakfast buffet was a huge disappointment each and every day. It amazes me that this hotel can’t seem to figure out how to put together a “nice” and “eatable” buffet for $28 per person. The food in the hot plated area was stale and had obviously been sitting out for too long. The breakfast also lacked selection that we have seen at similar Caribbean hotels that offer buffet breakfast. We also found the staff to be very “hit or miss” in terms of their efforts to be friendly and helpful, or act as though they are doing us a favor. Unfortunately, I can’t recommend this hotel and we will not be returning. February 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Place To Stay My family of four went on an after Christmas vacation and had a great time here. Our hillside villa was very comfortable and spacious. The pools were great and we never had any trouble finding a chair. The only downside to the trip were the "no-see-ums". These are tiny bugs that bit us all over our bodies. Must carry bug spray at all times. Other than that we would definitely recommend this Westin. January 10, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Worst Westin Property I travel weekly for work and this is by far the worst Westin I have ever stayed at. The light in the bathroom was out, the lamps were missing the on/off handle, cockroaches in the room, staff didn't put ironing board away, had to ask the concierge 3 times for ferry schedule and finally had to call the actual ferry company because the hotel was incorrect. We rented the car and the lady in the car rental place was miserable and flat out rude. St. John is a beautiful island and I usually love Westin so this was a complete disappointment, especially because of the price you pay to stay there. March 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relax and Restore is Right ! This Westin Property is beautiful, and the staff was wonderful. The transition from the airport, to the ferry and then on to the property was so smooth. I loved not having to stand on line at a front desk ! I barely realized that we actually checked in at the airport, and we were just handed welcome drinks and our key cards and scooped off to our room in a golf cart by our bellman. January 31, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Resort is beautiful Our 2 bedroom villa was amazing and very spacious and had a fabulous view of the bay. Loved the pool area and private beach. On the negative side, Cruz Bay water sports staff did not communicate to us what forms needed to be completed for the Virgin Gorda trip, nor did they tell us we needed cash for the customs fees. We found out about all of this as we were ready to board the boat. Very frustrating! Additionally, overall the food at the resort failed to impress us, it was mediocre at best. Cruz Bay Prime restaurant was somewhat better. And, if you don't like bugs, then be prepared! We even had the deet wristbands and used the deet spray when going out in the evenings, but were still eaten alive. January 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by NO BED?! Staff not helping! We arrived yesterday at your resort, and must say that we are completely dissatisfied with the accommodations and the service we are getting. My wife and I are traveling with our three sons ages 7, 10 & 13. We booked a one bedroom villa seven months ago that was supposed to have a pull out couch for our two younger boys and a rollaway bed for our 13 year old. When we checked in at the ferry counter we were told that our one bedroom villa will have a roll away bed. Then when we arrived at your resort, we were told that a bed was not available for our 13 year old son, but the hotel was "working on" getting us a bed or another room with accommodations for five. After numerous discussions throughout the day it became obvious and extremely frustrating that nothing was going to be done. Needless to say, this put a huge damper on our first day. Instead of relaxing and getting acclimated to the resort, we were focused on making sure our son had a bed to sleep in. This is not how we wanted to spend our first day at the Westin, St. John. At the end of the day nothing was done. Even after many discussions with the front desk manager, my 13 year old slept on two chairs put together as a makeshift bed. If we had any idea that there was a chance that one of us would not have a bed, we would have not chosen to stay at the Westin, St. John. It is completely unacceptable for a hotel to not provide a bed for a guest. It is the most basics need that must be met before all other amenities are to be provided. I normally do not write reviews, but as you can see we are very frustrated and disappointed with the Westin staff for allowing something like this from happening. March 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by understand why it's under renovation Food service at restaurants is extremely slow. The Marketplace was the only place where the service was satisfactory. An hour and a half for a salad at snorkel's restaurant was frustrating and going to the pool side bar at 6:40pm and being told they were closed was also frustrating as they do not close until 7pm. I would have thought they would want the business. Most of the aerobic gym equipment was broken; none of the bikes worked and most of the treadmill televisions did not work. The yoga matts were also quite dirty. The room door was difficult to close and the bed was not what I am accustom to for a Westin bed. Towels were dirty and the fridge was broken. I understand why this hotel is under renovations - it needs it. I hope the food service improves with the physical renovations. August 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Amazing Island, Hotel is upgrading St. John is a beautiful island. One of the best vacation spots in the caribbean. The hotel is currently in renovations, and it appears there will be more villas (perhaps almost all vacation ownership rather than hotel guests). This is a good thing--the older rooms are very outdated. We booked a 1 bdrm suite on points, and were placed in a room straight out of 1981. The room was pretty awful, and smelled of mold and mildew. (There are lots of newer rooms around--but of course on points...) We complained and were upgraded to a 2 bdrm villa, which on the face of it was a fantastic upgrade. We had stayed in the villas in 2009 and they are very well done. Our only complaint with the room we were moved to was that it actually had worse mold issues than the 30 year old suite. The HVAC was covered in mold and there was evidence of previous water damage in the 2nd bedroom. The room was very musty, and all of us had allergy symptoms the entire stay. We inquired about the room more than complained, and the gentleman who arrived concurred with the presence of mold, but said it was just part of island living. An engineer showed up who changed the air filter and sprayed air freshener--but that obviously did nothing. We were told we could not be moved to another room--so we made do and had a great time on the island anyway--just seemed ridiculous that something so new would have those kinds of problems already. All this being said, I'd return to the resort because St. John is so amazing, and really the Westin is the the only game in town for a family of 4. I would consider renting a house instead, but the resort atmosphere, pool, etc is nice to have, and the people are for the most part helpful and courteous. Carolyn the concierge was also terrific. Lets all hope that the renovations make this hotel (if it will still be a hotel) the gem it should be. And lets hope they figure out whatever the mold issue is in Room 2713! January 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Okay, not great. The choices on St. John are limited in this hotel category, so this may be as good as it gets. The good: Room was very nice and spacious. The work out room is fine and our massages were great. We stayed in the Villas up on the hill. The steakhouse, CB Prime, was excellent. The fair: A portion of the staff is slow and surly. Some of them provide great service and seem to care, but there is clearly a contingent that isn't motivated. The bad is the bugs. We're from Flirda and have noseeums, but they were absolutely ferocious. The view from our room was of the road which isn't very attractive. We were disappointed the front desk couldn't get us into our room earlier despite plenty of turnover the nighht before. December 1, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 Favorite Island I would like to start by saying that St. Johns is a special place for my family and I. This was our third visit and we look forward to returning to the island every couple of years. With that said, the experience and services of the hotel seem to be diminishing. Rooms and Service: The new villas are beautiful and well appointed. However, upon this recent visit we were informed that maid service is only provided on the 3rd and final day of your stay. This is unacceptable for a luxury resort. I do not want to have to make my bed every morning when I am on vacation. I do not want to have to sleep in sandy sheets because we went to the beach. And I must certainly do not want to be charged extra to have my room cleaned. This is a major negative. Staff: We love the boat ride over to St. Johns (except my wife) and the crew is always great. The way the property greets the guest as they depart from the boat is lovely. However, the service at the beach café and snorkels is very unfriendly. The servers have a lot of attitude as if they are doing you a favor by taking your order. One prime example was at snorkels, I decided that I wanted onion rings instead of french fries. When I asked our server to change my side, she said she would have to go to the kitchen to make that happen, which she didn’t. When I mentioned it to her, she said that is what I ordered. At $20 for a burger, you would expect better service. The grounds grew is always waving and smiling, positive marks for them. And a special shout out for Eric at the concierge desk. He is always happy to see you and goes out of his way to make you feel that you are the most important guess on property. Another note is that there should be more shuttles to your rooms. Entertainment: There is very little to none. This trip there was no live music. Again, this should be standard for a hotel like the Westin. Family Activities: While we did not take advantage of the Westins kids club, my wife and I strongly feel that there needs to be more activities outside of the one pool. I would not expect the Westin to compete with Atlantis in terms of water attractions, but the hotel could definitely use to add water activities such as an activities pool and water slides. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me. July 24, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Beware of real-estate sales pitch The Westin St. John has some pluses. The rooms are decent, the staff is almost without exception friendly and obliging, the pool is big (and towels plentiful), and we had a great day trip with a swell crew to the "caves and baths" in the British Virgin Islands. But it's very pricey. It's very noisy (including nonstop "rock" or Muzak around the pool). There's very little to do when it rains (which happened throughout our visit). The beach is mediocre (though if you drive, of course, St. John has multiple lovely beaches). And housekeeping, though competent, is infrequent. (Just once during our week.) Our biggest issue this visit (which was our second--and LAST) was severe mistreatment in connection with Starwood's relentless effort to get you to buy a "time share" in one of their "Bay Vista" units. (Yes, you can see the bay from a few of these.) Whether one would WANT such a thing depends, of course, on your view of time shares in general; whether you're happy with a unit that has spacious (tho dim) bathrooms but scant play-space for kids; whether you want to cook for yourself (there's no real oven); and whether you welcome a long trek up a steep hill from the only available parking. (This we found to be a major hassle when burdened with groceries, snorkeling gear, etc. There are roaming golf-carts but they're almost never at the parking lot when you want one, especially in the rain!) During our first visit, we had agreed to return via a "deal" that Starwood calls the "Explorer package" whereby they give you a discounted rate on a potential time-share unit so that you can test-drive it, so to speak, in return for listening to another of their high-pressure sales pitches. Moreover, if you're a married couple, both must attend that pitch or they instantly cancel the "deal" part and retroactively charge the (very high) "rack rate" for your unit. As it turned out, my wife had to go to China to speak at a medical conference during our week in St. John and I made the grievous error of telling the truth--at a cost of thousands of $$. (Had I fibbed and said we were recently divorced, or she had died, or that my adult daughter was my wife, we would have saved a bundle.) Never mind that we've been good Starwood customers over the years with "SPG" status. This may well be the end of our relationship with that company--and certainly the last time we succumb to their time-share marketing! March 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay Our stay was tremendous at the Westin. My daughters wedding in St John so many of our guest stayed at the Westin and the Westin villas, everyone had a great time. Staff attentive to our needs, food great, even though construction was in progress it did not interfere in any way. Rehearsal dinner was awesome, thanks to Michelle and the staff. Thanks for a wonderful experience ! June 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by GREAT RESORT PROPERTY We just spent six nights at our Bayside Villa, the Grounds are very well kept, We ate dinner at Cruz Bay Prime and the Dinner & Service was excellent. The Bar Service at Snorkels is very poor , the ladies working there tend to ignore you and are not very friendly, The only friendly staff is the concierge's desk , they are very helpful , but also want to make sure you attend a owner's update at the time share office. We will continue to go to this resort as St John's is a special place, but the service has to be up to the standards of a Westin property. June 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love St Johns Westin What a great resort! The hotel upgraded our room on the beach. We went with another couple and had a great time. Although we did not take our kids this time we would take them back. The resort has a lot for them to do. Beach is private and beach sports are solid. I would highly recommend renting a dingy and going around the island. It is amazing! The hotel has a great gym. The spa is small. If you want to save some money take the local ferry vs. the westin boat. Lunch and breakfast are fine at hotel but eat out for dinner (Not at resort)!!! December 9, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a Platinum Level Resort St John is "Breath Taking" The Westin St John is 3 Star Resort The Food /Restaurant is 2 Star The Management Responsiveness is 1 Star Overall Service is 2 Star The Price is 5 Star.... enough said ! Not a "Platinum Experience" :( July 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Experience this is my favorite place on the planet. they really treat you well and you are relaxed the minute you get there. July 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful location we enjoyed our stay at St. John Westin with our 3 kids. the grounds are beautifully manicured and the staff members are very friendly. we wish, however, there was another sit-down restaurant on the resort, one that doesn't cost as much as LemonGrass. The many activities available were very impressive; it has a family-feel as well as just for couples. We also really appreciated having the fitness center within walking distance as well as the rental car center! August 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Liars at front desk Front desk lied about many things including if a manager was on duty. Spg members don't expect staff to do anything helpful, not even a request to downgrade our room despite availability. We did not like our room I like to think I am a low maintenance person but the service we relieved from both the general manager and front desk was inexcusable. While st John was much prettier than near by puerto Rico and vieques I highly recommend the service at the w there or the st Regis. A few weeks after we came back I got a hold of the general manager and he said he would look into problem but never even wrote a response email or phone call June 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I can recommed this hotel to anyone This is my third year at this hotel. I enjoy my stay every year. My husband and I travel in September because we enjoy the off season quietness at the resort and the island. My only issue is that the food and service at the only resturant open in the evening is not very good. I think this is because of the off seaon and have found several nice resturants open in Cruz Bay. It would just be nice to be able to have a nice dinner on property. The deli/market has great sandwiches which we take to the beach every time we go. September 25, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great stay despite a very rough start. This stay was supposed to be a awesome well deserving girl's vacation and it was almost ruined by the welcoming committee (Franique and Kara) at the airport in charge of issuing you your transfers. No welcoming smile, rude, curt and no customer service skills were how we were met by St; John Westin Villa staff. This was followed by them informing me that my 3 bedroom villa was canceled by someone and we were placed in a 1 bedroom villa. After 4 hours on the phone with 2 supervisor and a change in room, we were finally able to enjoy the wonderful island and Westin St. John Villa. Kudos to Akema, Shamir, the cab drivers, the ground keepers for an impeccable ground/grass, the welcoming staff at the hotel and the shuttle service who always picked you up/drop off with a smile. August 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This was a really great vacation The Westin St John was a great place to stay in the Caribbean. The staff at the hotel was pleasant and attentive. My wife and I stay at Westin Hotels pretty frequently, and this hotel is above the Westin standard. We really enjoyed the poolside bar. Service was quick and the drinks were good. Mango Deli was a good place to get a sandwich on resort. The resort is really clean, and well taken care of. The hotel is a $5 (per person) taxi ride to restaurants, beach bars, and shopping. October 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by WONDERFUL LOCATION/FACILITY My wife and I have been vacationing on the island of St John for over 20 years. We have always rented a private home and also rented a car. This year we stayed at the Westin and DID NOT have to rent a car. We took the taxi to town and/or restaurant . ----no driving and or parking problems. We spent our time at the Westin beach or pool swimming/reading and also went with Capt. Phil for a day of snorkeling . Very DISAPPOINTED with the music selections played on pool area speakers October 21, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing The staff were wonderful. However, the remainder of the experience was disappointing. The quality of the facility did not equate to the cost of the experience. I wrongly expected more. Attention to detail was remiss (e.g., discolored tiles, moldy ceiling, toiletpaper holder falling off the wall, running out of half and half at the deli in the morning). We have traveled a number of places, this was by far the most dissonant in terms of what I expected and what I experienced. May 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great get away Coming here to the Westin was really relaxing for me and my family. We had an awesome experience and we enjoyed our stay from beginning to end. The staff was very courteous and the room was very comfortable and the beach view front was really really nice. May 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Island Paradise! My husband and I celebrated our 25th anniversary this past week at the West St John Resort and our stay could not have been more perfect! Friendly staff, amazing food, tasty drinks and the most relaxing place in the entire world! The facility is beautifully maintained and looks like a tropical paradise! We discovered so many wonderful things to do and see on the resort and in Cruz Bay but there's still plenty more to do on our next trip! Thanks!! June 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by So happy with our stay Chalk up any really negative reviews to a) flukes and b) people who showed up in bad moods and looked for the worst. This hotel would be a solid 4-star place with a couple of very easy fixes. 10% of the lounge chair pads were dirty and 10% of the towels were too worn to be offered to guests. Choose from the 90% of clean chairs and towels, and you'll be happy. Room was in building 15 - had nice updates, very clean, great view of the water (only expected pool view, so very happy here). The food was great across the board at the steakhouse, beach place, and poolside. Focus on the beautiful views, friendly staff, great food and drinks, family-friendly environment, etc., and you will have a wonderful time. Don't get on your hands and knees and inspect the carpet with a magnifying glass - you'll waste your vacation time (and still won't find anything negative). May 16, 2012
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 9 next>>