Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini

  • Megalohori
  • Santorini,
  • South Aegean
  • 84700
  • Greece
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 23 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Incredible service -- we're incredibly thankful We hadn't planned to stay at the Vedema, but jet-lag, asthma, a late boat-ride, and heat combined to create an anxious situation while we were on a bus tour. The manager was excellent: without any help from us he coordinated getting our bags from another hotel, canceling our transfers there and scheduling new ones, and got us into a cool place immediately while preparing a room for us. They were incredibly understanding and even had a pharmacist on-call who was ready to help. We ended up wandering out of the hotel a few hours later and having a lovely evening in a lovely town. Thank you to the whole team - and thank you for the wine, fruit, hospitality, and understanding. August 19, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Property a Step from Outstanding Vedema was an all-around wonderful experience and well-deserving of its inclusion in the Luxury Collection. As a Platinum SPG member (and equivalent member at other hotel chains), I've been to lots of places and have seen hotels "overreach" in their self-described status. Vedema is what is advertised -- save for one issue I'll describe at the end which kept me from giving it a fifth star. First, I found the grounds unique and surrounding environment beautiful. The uniqueness of the property owes itself to its status as a former winery / vineyard. Dinner and wine tastings can be had in a converted old stone wine cellar; breakfast is superb with a variety of local and comfort foods, and common areas such as pools / jacuzzi are well-kept and not crowded, even at peak season. The on-site restaurants are fantastic. These factors alone would have me return to Vedema. The hotel is also nestled within one of the quaintest and picturesque towns Santorini offers -- Megalochori -- with just a handful of (very good) restaurants, fewer boutique stores, one church, and no ATM. But this is a draw -- we were looking to avoid the tourist hordes (like at Fira), but wanted a place with easy access to beaches and watersport activities - a 15 minute drive from the property. We didn't rent a car during our stay; shuttle buses took us to the town and beaches we wanted to see, and our excursion providers (SCUBA, island cruise), provided round-trip car service. The more adventurous can walk to nearby wonderful pottery shops and the supermarket, though we wouldn't recommend it owing to crazy traffic and the narrow roads (we did it and lived to tell about it, however). By the way, we thought about staying at Mystique before booking Vedema. I don't regret Vedema. While you might not have the views that Mystique affords, the proximity to more towns, nightlife, beaches, and water sports made Vedema the right choice for our needs. So now for the sole (but important) negative. I would absolutely look up favorite restaurant listings from TripAdvisor before taking recommendations from the hotel staff (which otherwise was superb, from airport pickup to bellhop to front desk to concierge). We took staff advice on a few restaurants that delivered on the promised views (e.g., island sunset), but fell short on food quality and price, at least relative to places we researched on our own. For example, while wandering through Kamira, a town very close to Vedema, we found better food options (again, closer, tastier, cheaper) than hotel staff recommendations. Elia and Almira were two particular choices we found on TripAdvisor that were amazing, and turned out to be our favorites on the whole island despite their humble beachfront appearance. Both were listed as top restaurants on TripAdvisor. Why the discrepancy? The hotel owner appears to have "cross-ownership" of eateries, and probably prompts staff to steer customers to these establishments. My very strong recommendation is to research top restaurants on TripAdvisor and direct the concierge to book reservations at those places only. Other suggestions. I've seen posts that the WiFi service needs to be upgraded -- I agree. Also, I'd recommend the property extend their shuttle service to Fira in the evenings, to accommodate folks who want more dinner / shopping options. Neither of these are show-stoppers, obviously. July 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unique location The property itself is unique as it used to be a winery. The rooms are incredibly spacious, the staff are friendly and welcoming and the food at their restaurant is highly recommended for dinner. The only issue I had was the location isn't within walking distance to much of anything and I would have liked to be closer to the water but obviously these aren't things the hotel can control. The bed wasn't as comfortable as other properties but we're better than most European properties. July 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superb 10 out of 10 We arrived in Santorini from Athens and spent the first 3 nights in Fira and then moved to the Vedema for 3 nights 4 days of relaxation. The hotel more than fulfilled our expectations. Superb setting, and even though the hotel was fully booked the hotel did not feel busy as it is well spread out. We often had the jacuzzi pool or swimming pool to ourselves ! The breakfast and lunch in the restaurant by the pool were perfect as was dinner in the restaurant each evening (and due to the good weather we ate on the upstairs terrace). Prices are extremely reasonable which should encourage guests to eat in. ALL the staff without exception were superb. Britta is the front office manager and sits in the reception area from early morning til late at night so is always ready to help you with any information needed. Located in a charming quiet village, easy to travel from if you have a rent a car, or if like us you did not you can use the comfortable complimentary shuttle to their private beach or Fira (both 10-15 minutes away). I cannot recommend this hotel enough ! July 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by luxury, friendliness, perfection Loved this hotel!! The staff is very friendly and can give you information about local attractions. I used points for this stay and was treated as if I was a millionaire. We were picked up at the dock by a friendly driver and taken right to the hotel where they offered us a drink and showed us around the resort and to our suite which was spacious and comfortable. Complimentary wine and water, nice pool and spa. The town which is right off the entrance to the hotel is charming - great food in local restaurant Raki, and the Cavalas Winery is steps away. Highly recommend this hotel. Oh, they also have a free shuttle to Fira and to the black sand beach PLUS they took us to Oia the following morning for the rest of our vacation. We did not utilize the spa but looked nice and they also have a gym July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Santorini Paradise! Simply Amazing...we were on our 25th Anniversary trip and this was the perfect setting! Situated right in the center of a traditional Greek town square, Megalohori. The setting is amazing right in the midst of vineyards and only minutes to the beach..really you can see all of Santorini very quickly and this is certainly quitter than the large centers like Fira and Ia. Britta was our host from the moment we arrived and she is the best person we have ever dealt with at a hotel/resort! Not only is she an amazing host but an amazing person! She made our stay that much more special and took care of all our requests...always with a smile! There are some amazing places to eat right in the town literally a 1 minute walk from your room. We would also suggest wine tasting at Vedema as the sommelier is very knowledgeable! If you want a special trip to a special place, this is it! July 6, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by My family hoilidays were almost destroyed While staff are very good, you can never expect too much as you did with the other SPG hotels or resorts. I've experienced 1. dirty duvet and pillows 2. 'on and off' WIFI time by time 3. no benefit for gold member at all, e.g. room upgrade, late check-out, etc 4. no response by email. June 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A + for effort Vedema is a work in progress so let's manage expectations. The town of Megalochori doesn't have the sophistication of an Oia, and the bustle of a Fira. It is a quiet town with really only 2-3 tavernas to choose from, and one restaurant at Vedema called Alati and consequently, staying for any extended period requires travel. But it's isolation is made up for with the most wonderful staff I have encountered at a luxury collection resort. Their customer focus attention, their enthusiasm to please, and their pride in their work makes this a wonderful place to stay. Let's start with all the positives. 1. Staff Get 5 stars. Wonderful, wonderful people. 2. Alati restaurant is a revelation and some of the dishes are absolutely magnificent. 3. Try the wine tasting with the head sommelier in the 400 year old wine cavern. His knowledge of indigenous wines of Santorini and passion for the art make him a maestro not to be missed. 4. Britta, the front desk manager is a godsend and ensure you seek her out to look after any of your needs. 5. Megalochori is off the tourist route and is charming. Now for the tweaks to get this place really humming. 1. Internet please. Get it working properly. 2. Fitness centre really needs to open before 10.00am. We all don't sleep in. 3. Breakfast. After some sumptuous breakfasts such as the Grand Bretagne this was a little light on choice and creativity. After Alati restaurant this was a little disappointing. 4. Coffee. Please get a decent coffee machine and make this place world class. 5. The spa is average. We actually travelled to another hotel to have a spa as the spa at Vedema was pedestrian at best. That is it. I can't recommend this place enough as the staff, the ambience of village life make this another must stay luxury resort. May 10, 2014
  • 2015-09-01T11:47:24.336-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_23, tr_23
  • loc_en_US, sid_1288, prod, sort_default
2 next>>