The St. Regis Monarch Beach

  • One Monarch Beach Resort
  • Dana Point,
  • California
  • 92629
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 706 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Pretty Property, but layout is difficult. Stayed three nights for a weekend wedding. First night only one restaurant was an option as others were either closed or being used for private function. Food was undercooked and sent back twice. Had ocean view room (although the ocean is a mile away and so is the lobby, the restaurants and yes, even to buy a cup of coffee is that far away as their is not a coffee maker provided in the room) Average room service wait time is an hour. Was overcharged on my bill for a spa treatment that wasn't mine. A treatment that took place while I was at the wedding and it took four phone calls and a lot of discussion to fix. I think it is refunded, not sure as I asked for an email showing the refund, but as of 24 hours later....Nothing. Breakfast order came out wrong, restaurant had a fifteen minute wait to start, was understaffed as plenty of open tables. We ordered one cup poured and then no one came back to offer a coffee refill...which would be nice considering you do not get a coffee maker in your room even if you have an upgraded ocean view room. The shop to buy a cup of coffee is as I mentioned at least 1/2 a mile walk down two long hallways, up in an elevator and down another hall to reach. Tough when your husband has back pain. It was 91 degrees, a beautiful pool, but no frozen alcoholic drinks available at the pool. (no blender). Had to wait on our transportation to arrive to depart, but not even a place to sit outside to wait, you just have to lean up against cigarette urns. As a Starwood member, we were unimpressed when we received a voucher for $15.00 for a drink that we couldn't have because they can't make it. The voucher went unused and provided no value for us. May 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lovely Resort Hotel in Dana Point The location, the view, and the staff make this hotel a perfect destination choice. The layout of the resort is very good. The service and the staff in particular are excellent. Very friendly and accomodating. My only suggestion is for the resort to truly have an adult only pool. They say they have one, but they do allow kids and it gets quite active and noisy in the afternoon. May 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing and Beautiful I had a pleasure of staying at St. Regis just to get away from hectic busy life. I had an unbelievably amazing time. From the minute I checked in to when I checked out the staff was superb and went beyond to welcome and make my stay enjoyable. The room was exceptionally lovely, relaxing and welcoming. I liked the bathroom which I pay closer attention to. I enjoyed soaking in the tub to unwind and relax. May 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Getaway! Beautiful property, great location, friendly staff and "over the top service"! All the right ingredients for a fun, relaxing, and enjoyable get-away! May 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Customer Service! Outstanding Cust Service! May 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by St. Regis Dana Point Beautiful location, great rooms. Certain staff are very slow, poor choices of food (breakfast/lunch). A lot of the staff seemed they didn't want to be there. Issues with: bartenders (slow/attitude) coffee shop (never greeted me (3x) ), out of food Front desk was great,valt. staff great May 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Valet Snafus and No Wake Up Call? My wife and I attended a conference at this hotel. Generally, things at this resort are excellent, as one would expect for a 5-diamond facility. The real problems came with the valet parking and with wake-up calls. First, the valet wrote down the wrong make and model of car on the tags. This made finding our car difficult, apparently. Once they found it, they really didn't find it -- they gave us the wrong car and NEVER checked our names to make sure it was our car and not someone else's car. We figured it out ourselves, got our car, and headed back out. Then, we got the bill and they had charged us THREE times for ONE car for TWO different days. I'm not sure why this happened, but that is what they did. Finally, our flight left early on a Sunday morning from an airport 45 minutes away. As a result, we called down the night before to ask for the front desk to provide us with a wake up call and to have the car ready for us when we were leaving at 5:15 AM. Thankfully, I never trusted the wake up call and set my own alarm because the front desk NEVER bothered to give us our call. And, to top it off, it took 10 minutes for the car to show up at the valet station -- and only then because the front desk called the valet while we were checking out to get this. I expect much more for service that is five-diamond rated. April 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Food and Beverage(Hotel Bar) an embarassment The hotel bar service (Except for Jaeh) was a joke for a 4-5 star hotel like this. The food would take 20-40 minutes everytime, even for a small app. and then it was burnt once we received it. we had to walk out the first time when they forgot items. They liked to blame it on the kitchen being down stairs. Staff many times was less than attentive and I would watch most of the bar like myself be without a drink. The food and beverage supervisor decided it was a better idea to have private work conversations in front of guests(us) instead of greeting us with our empty drinks. We had to ask for everything. We even decided to go off site instead of the beach front as planned to avoid being further disappointed. I have been coming for 10 years and this was our Anniversary weekend becuase I propsed here to my wife. I wish we had gone to the Montage or Pelican and next time we will. Golf staff was great and front desk staff was attentive in correcting mistakes reservations made. Reservations were also a joke in booking the wrong dates and package. Thank goodness it wasnt sold out or our weekend would have been ruined. Again the front desk staff was great in solving though. April 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Banquet and AV Staff Terrific Recently I was at the ABA Forum on the Construction Industry conference at the St. Regis Monarch Beach. While all the staff were accommodating and friendly I would like to commend the banquet, catering and A/V staff for their professionalism, dedication and commitment to the guest. Our needs were met with positive, friendly, effective and efficient service. April 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by St. Regis Service Exceeded my Expectations I went to the St. Regis with high expectations. I had read about the butler service, the grounds, the beach access and the suites. It was better than I expected. Alfredo and the butlers took care of all that we needed. We went down to the Monarch Bay Club and the staff there (especially Chris and the bartending staff) was just as great as the staff up at the hotel. As far as the hotel goes, it was all spectacular. The only negative in the experience was the meeting space. I was at a large meeting and the wifi did not have the bandwidth for everyone in the room. It was spotty at best. April 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed; Did Not Meet Expectations Unfortunately I can not provide a very positive review of the property; attention to detail was lacking (example over five date visit mini-bar was not serviced; morning newspaper missed two morning); , follow up to service requests (requested shoes to be shined, returned unshined & late), housekeeping (one of two bedside lamps not working for the entire stay). April 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel and gardens Lovely hotel, incredible natural beauty. Staff greets you very professionally but I had to ask housekeeping for basic items like kleenex and toilet paper!! When I asked for earplugs because I needed to get to sleep and a party was outside my patio I was directed to buy $10 earplugs in the gift shop that were not made for noise reduction but airplane flight pressure equalization. You need to go the extra mile for guests at a luxury property like this. April 24, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disgusted! Although we enjoyed our stay, we were very upset to have never used the porter service yet be charged $12. for it on our final bill As always, we left a tip of $4.00 per day cash in the room for housekeeping. After reviewing the bills sent by email we see that we have been charged an extra $3.00/day as a gratuity for housekeeping and a portage fee of $12.00 for a service that we never used. We were niether informed of nor agreed to these additional charges and find it very petty for a hotel with your reputation, (and highly expensive restaurants), to resort to such a way to make extra money. You can bet we will think long and hard before visiting you again in the future. For 2 days my wife has called and left messages with the accounting Dept. at the St Regis, Dana Point, and they have not even had the courtesy to return our calls. Please refund our portage charge of $12. as well as the daily housekeeping gratuity of $3. per day. The principal here out ways the cost Very disappointed guests. If someone had returned our calls to the hotel this review would not have been necessary. April 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by First class experience all the way. A true five star experience. April 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Could have been better housekeeping First the positive, my wife had the best massage of her life. Two of the three mornings I did not receive a paper, even after letting the front desk know. I did not get a room turndown one day, then that night,, nor the subsequent day. I was told there would be complimentary water bottles in the room, but obviously without housekeeping stopping by, this didn't happen. April 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Dissapointing dining experience I've been coming here for over 6 years now and will continue throughout the year to spend a girlfriend getaway, Pageant of the Masters weekend and New Years Eve here, however I've noticed the past couple of years that the attention to details is lacking for such a 5 star resort. I am all for customer service. This weekend was a disappointing experience at the food service at the bar and grill. Working that morning from 8-12 P.M. and than driving to the hotel without having any breakfast and lunch I was so looking forward to having lunch at Motif. Always had a great dining experience there, unfortunately when we arrived at 2:30, the hostess tells us they are closed to set up for a private party and you can eat downstairs at the bar and grill next to the pool, so we walked downstairs. There was no one to acknowledge us, do we sit ourselves or what? since we just stood there, as the servers were passing by, we decided to seat ourselves. After 10 minutes of sitting there, we flagged down a waitress, who already looked frazzled for being short staffed. She handed us menus and until another 10 minutes when she passed our table did I have to flag her to take our order. My girlfriend told her twice she wanted avocado in her salad, but she wasn't listening and repeated, "no we don't have to put it on there". Once again, she said " No, I do want avocado" our plans were to have lunch and than lay by the pool, after 30 more minutes our food finally arrived and there was no avocado on the salad. :{ As I sat there and watch a rerun of what we dealt with, I saw several guests having the same issues, just trying to get menus or just to order. Not once did anyone come to our table to refill our ice tea, ask if we need anything or how is everything? We flagged down probably a supervisor for our check who was in a suit who obviously had to come help clear the tables. If you plan to close your largest dining restaurant on the premise on a Saturday afternoon, be sure to add additional staff to where your moving all your guests to eat. I have been a waitress and in the customer service industry and have never had such a horrible experience where my girlfriend and I were debating if we should even bother to leave a tip since service was non-existent. The positive experience that I do receive every time I arrive is when I see Maria, the front desk manager who has always taken good care of me and my family every single time. Not only does she remembers me on every visit, but she is always so pleasant and genuine. She receives the 5 stars for this review. I will continue to stay here, I just hope that they'll make the improvements before my next visit. April 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great place St Regis Monarch Beach is a wonderful place to re-energize. April 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Hotel! From the moment we entered the hotel everything from the staff to the ameneties was Exceptional! Well Done! April 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by A huge disappointment I took my boyfriend here as a surprise for his birthday. I was contacted before my stay by someone from St. Regis who offered to help me with reservations to restaurants, golf tee time arrangements, and spa services. I emailed her back a week before our stay asking about golf tee times and never heard back. This was really disappointing. I made a tee time for us without her help and was extremely disappointed that the hotel did not bring our clubs down to the course like promised the day before. Because of this, we were 30 minutes late to start our round. The restaurant we ate breakfast at in the hotel was average and extremely overpriced. I feel like when you pay $500 per night to stay at a luxury hotel these mistakes are unacceptable. I would never stay at the St. Regis again. April 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is very accomodating This hotel met our needs, and all personnel went out of their way to make sure we were enjoying our stay at their hotel. April 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful weekend Wonderful! Loved Justin the tram driver! Delightful personality. The ONLY complaint I have was the coffee shop refused to honor the voucher f or the bar. I preferred coffee but they refused even tho the bar was closed at 9am. Thx for a wonderful weekend! April 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a wonderful experience We had a wonderful time staying with you. Everyone was so helpful and kind. Our TV stopped working and you delivered a new one right away. Then followed up with a complimentary snack tray. You went above and beyond. Thank you! April 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Something to be desired Dear, manager My husband and I stayed in your hotel for one night. The overall service we received was exceptional. But I'd like to mention a couple of things about food and house keeping. We went to the bakery shop on 5th floor in order to grab a sandwich. The staff told us it would not served until 11am and encourged us to go to Motif restaurant. We went downstaris, however, we couldn't find any sandwich menu and I just ordered a cup of latte. Actually, it was not good. It was just tepid and not like espresso drink. It was just like regular coffee with warm milk. Later we came back our room. When my husband wanted to take a shower, he found that we've ran out of shampoo and then he called to ask more. We had waited for 20 min. and called again and had waited for another 20 min. Shampoo was never delivered to our room. I hope you'll consider my comments for better service. We'll look forward to staying with you again when our plans call for travel to Dana point. Sincerely, April 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent experience Best stay ever! amazing rooms and service! April 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by horrible lighting in rooms while the room was lovely, the lighting was absolutly sub-standard. Not a good situation for women trying to dress and put make up on, which is a huge issue for me. Also was disappointed that there was no option to make coffee in the room. These two issues is why I would never stay at this hotel again, in spite of the room cleanliness and comfortable beds. I also felt that the food had very little flavor - April 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Hotel is by far the most luxurious resort I have ever stayed at. If you are looking to get away to pamper yourself and your spouse this is the place for you. This Hotel offers the most amazing amenities. Wheather you want to play a round of golf or hang out near the pool or revitalize yourself in the spa you will not be disappointed. April 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I felt pampered!! Recently stayed at the St Regis Monarch Beach for a corporate event. Felt completely pampered the entire time! Staff was friendly, helpful, trustworthy, thorough and polite. The room was great, the bed was the BEST ever and loved that we had a balcony to sit on. The food was outstanding as well - which is tough to do when you are serving 600 people at a time! Would absolutely recommend the resort. April 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing I knew the resort itself would be amazing and it truly was. Views breathtaking, facility more than perfect, food excellent. It was the service from ALL the employees that put it over the top. EVERY employee we encountered went out of their way to make sure we had a wonderful stay. Your employees should be commended on their outstanding customer service. April 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by It was Awesome The resort was beautiful and the staff was completely first class. I felt pampered and like a king for the entire visit. April 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Place Overall, very good expericence. Would recommend more frequent shuttle service to and from beach club. Beach Club personnel extremely friendly and accomdating. Spa was outstanding. April 15, 2013
  • 2015-10-06T07:52:08.285-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-19, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_706, tr_706
  • loc_en_US, sid_1361, prod, sort_default
<<prev 17 18 19 20 21 ... 25 next>>