The St. Regis Monarch Beach

  • One Monarch Beach Resort
  • Dana Point,
  • California
  • 92629
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest registration and check-in is restricted to those 21 years of age or older with valid identification.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 498 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff Staff was very courteous but needs training . April 10, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by The Astor family would be incredibly disappointed Check-in: I’m here to celebrate our 6-year wedding anniversary with my pregnant wife. The plan is to stay Saturday to Monday. I’ve been to several St. Regis properties around the world and they’re all fantastic. I come in at 330pm on Saturday and find a long line (about 10 people to check in before me). Finally, I make it to the front of the line after 15 minutes, and upon check-in, I’m basically told that while most SPG hotels have one or two platinum guests per night, this hotel has about 50 at any given moment. Do you think you’re special for being a Platinum member? Allow me to confirm that at this hotel, you’re not. And they’ll remind you of that as you’re checking in. Oh, and if that’s not enough, your room is not yet available. Come back at 430pm, maybe. Actually, we’ll call you because I’d like to be honest with you – your room probably isn’t going to be available by 430pm. Not sure when it’ll be ready. And so we’re off to a bad start… Breakfast on Sunday: My pregnant wife wakes up on Sunday morning and is hungry. That’s understandable. It’s Sunday morning – what should we do? They have Sunday Brunch that starts at 11am. But it’s 930am. No worries, we are told that we can wait until 11am, or we can have breakfast outside by the pool and still use our Platinum credit of $20 towards the breakfast buffet. Sounds good – lets go to the pool. Ok. Well, I can tell you that after spending 10 minutes there, ALL of the hotel’s attention is diverted to the brunch beginning at 11am. All the food at the breakfast buffet is either undercooked (yes – undercooked eggs – delish!) or overcooked. Half the items are also missing. Have you ever had breakfast at a St. Regis property? It’s always fantastic. As a matter of fact, they tend to blow me away by how good it is. Well, not here. At least not on Sunday when they’d prefer you wait till 11am and pay $7o per person (and you cannot use your platinum credit there, of course). Lovely. Let’s just go to the pool. The pool: The front desk tells us there are two pools. An adult pool and a kid’s pool. We don’t have kids (yet) and would like to relax, so we opt for the adult pool. Wanna hear something funny? There are more kids at the adult pool than at the kids’ pool. What’s the point of a kid’s pool you ask? I’m not sure. I don’t mind kids. I love kids. So let’s stay. Good luck finding a seat. You know that picture on their website that shows how elegant the pool is? Yea right. Try multiplying the number of chairs in that picture by 20. It’s like a can of sardines. Get seats yet? Great! But don’t go in the pool. Because as soon as you do, the staff will take your umbrella away from you and give it to someone else. Happened 3 times. It’s so noisy, so packed, so UN-relaxing, that we decide to leave the pool and go to the beach. The beach: How do you get to the beach? You take a tram. Cool! So let’s get on the tram. Actually, you’ll need to sign up for the tram. Why is that, sir? Well, because we have about 10 people before you that would like to go to the beach. Oh. Ok. Sign us up. Two trams come by, and we finally get on the third. Only about a 15-minute wait. Ok, I guess? A bit surprised, but let me just suck it up. So we finally get to the beach. Oh. You wanted chairs? You wanted an umbrella so your pregnant wife doesn’t bake your unborn child? What’s that? You’d like towels too? Sorry dude – we’re out of all of those things. At this point we headed back to the hotel (yes, after waiting for the tram, again), and checked out one day early, after less than 24 hours at this hotel. Let me be clear. This hotel has turned into a vacation factory. Do you think that you’re staying at the St Regis hotel with all of its exclusivities and exceptional service? Do you think they’ll go out of their way to make you feel special? How about as a platinum guest? How about as you’re celebrating your 6-year wedding anniversary? Nope. Think again. This place should change the name on the door from St Regis to (insert generic hotel name here). I’ve stayed at over 10 St Regis properties worldwide, and it has without a doubt, become my favorite hotel brand because of the consistency in its exceptional service. Management at this property should be embarrassed. September 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellant and freindly staff From the breathtaking view to the excellent food and helpful, friendly staff everything was over the top. Even the weather, though a little cool, was incredible, the only thing I would recommend to change would be to have some beach activities. April 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Recycle I found it odd there were no obvious green recycle bins outside nor in the rooms for plastics and paper. Resort is first class, but they nickel and dime you for just about everything. Water, parking, etc. The staff works hard and they treat you very well overall. April 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Palacial Paradise Upon my arrival, I was greated by polite, helpful, and eager staff who saw to it that my comfort and convenience was met. The courtesy shown to me was amazing and I felt that the service and treatment was premier. Every inch of the St Regis was perfect. The detail to everything was absolutely inspiring. It was clean, neat and it felt as if I was in a palace. The amenities are complete, the grounds and the appearance of the entire facility was excellent to excuisite. The view from the lobby to the ocean is premier. The food is excellent. The taste is excellent and the care of the staff serving us was excellent. My rating would be A+++++ March 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel Outstanding hotel with great service April 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel...perfection This was a great luxurious stay , even though for a night I cannot wait to return. I have reviewed this hotel on Tripadvisor with flying colors. April 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room not available on time The St. Regis is an amazing property. While I waited to check in I received two separate comps for drinks since my room wasn't available on time. While I appreciate the comps, I think having the room available on time, on a Tuesday in the off season shouldn't be an issue. Additionally, both times I called ahead for my car from valet service and both times I had to wait despite the appearance of enough employees to handle moderate traffics flow. Just my opinion which is expressed as mostly a positive experience, just wanted to provide feedback to make your resort a better place to visit. Thanks, LCDR Damon Loveless March 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by listen couldn't get mini bar fixed. staff would not listen. didn't turn down room April 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for Business Attended a business meeting. Staff and service were exceptional. April 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel Beautiful property and will plan to return for personal travel. April 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room service Although the staff was friendly, I was not impressed with your room service food. We had stayed the previous evening at the Surf and Sand in Laguna Beach. The room was amazing as well as the room food. I ordered the warm chocolate cake with ice cream for your room service menu, and the cake was beyond small as well as the attendant forgot the ice cream. Honestly for $12 I would have expected a MUCH larger portion than the size of a teacup which is what we got. If that is all you do have than I think you should warn guests when they order it. March 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A self contained haven that must be experienced! St Regis Monarch Beach from start to finish is hands down a must do at least once! I say at least once, only because once experienced, you would be compelled to revisit. This property has become one of my family's favorite because it never disappoints and one always has fun no matter how many times you visit. The staff is outstanding with a high level commitment to excellence. The GM is hands on, welcoming and accessible. One realizes very quickly upon arrival that you are welcomed by a team of highly dedicated staff committed to ensuring you have an excellent stay. The staff are engaging and always happy to suggest, help or arrange any number of activities both in and outside of their facility. My family and l always come to this property when we feel a need to rejuvenate and be pampered. April 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of a kind experience I have stayed at this hotel many times, and for my most recent stay we were celebrating our anniversary. The hotel went out of it's way to recognize our return and our special day, provided us with an upgraded room and added special and personalized amenities to our room. Michael the Butler was simply outstanding, as he was on our last stay. The Beach Club lunch was great, and even the guys driving the trams to and from the club were great. Just a wonderful experience at a truly special resort. April 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Still a great property but... ...we noticed a lot of small things on this visit: 1) the flashlight in the room was dead, and it wasn't put on the bed tray during turn down; neither were the slippers or floor mats put out 2) the music CD was left looping on only the first track 3) we booked a month ahead, requested a king, ended up with two queens 4) we are gold level and requested late checkout and it was denied even though we called ahead and were assured the hotel was not full 5) didn't receive a morning paper. had to request one in the lobby 6) bathroom lacked the typical bath salts This is still an outstanding property; we just hate to see it slipping. Hopefully these are short term glitches, though we will consider another property for our next trip. December 13, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Romantic Getaway My husband and I decided to spend a weekend away from our home in San Diego. Upon our arrival, we were checked in by Kimber....Wow, what a difference a great receptionist makes!!! She was welcoming, helpful and just a joy to interact with. Our room was small but nice and clean. I was a little disappointed with the bath tub (fully expected a jetted tub). We took the tram to the private beach and driver was courteous. We had drinks at the lounge.....not the best drinks but the service was great. Our dinner at Stonehill Tavern was amazingly delicious. Our server Chris was humorous and helpful and Jenny, the mixologist whipped up some incredible drinks for the two of us. Overall, it was a very relaxing and pampered weekend and we've already planned on returning in August with our two daughters to spend an extended weekend. March 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Felt better than home From the moment you pull on the the property, you know your stay will be meaningful. April 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Beautiful Property Deseves Equivalent Staff I had to wait 3 weeks to write this review. To give me time to calm down from one of my worst travel experiences ever. I booked and paid for this vacation more than 3 months in advance, I specifically called the hotel on 2 separate occasions to ensure that my room/reservation would be exactly what I wanted. It was all a waste of time, money and effort. This was not the first time that I had stayed at this property. Previously, my family has stayed with horrible customer service, despite the beautiful property and 6star rating. I decided to give it another chance. Worst mistake ever. I specifically called to ensure the room I paid for would be available since my flight didn't land until after 10pm, but it did not happen. It was pretty much first come, first serve. Not one of my requests was met. After an exhaustive, tiring exchange with mgmt to try to correct my reservation, and numerous apologies later, I finally gave up becuase it was late and I was tired. I asked mgmt for at least a small plate of food to be sent up to my room because of my long travel day, I was tersely met with an answer of no, they would not offer what I would call a good faith gesture, but was told I was free to go to the bar and order food. What nerve!. I spoke with mgmt each day of my stay to try and rectify the situation but to no avail. Mgmt did send a 'peace offering' of a cake in honor of the special occasion I was celebrating, the following night but that in no way made up for the fact that mgmt failed horribly and in my mind irrevocably damaged their already mediocre reputation. It wasn't until the day of my departure was I told that the part of the hotel I specifically requested was under construction. Each night I had packed my bags in preparation to be moved to a room to honor what I had paid for, never happened. I called one night for the hours of the golf restaurant I wanted to eat at only to be given incorrect information, thereby missing dinner altogether. Another night, I went to the bar to order a particular food, only to be told what I wanted was part of a 'tavern' menu only and was not served on Mondays and Tuesdays. Just one thing after another, after another, after another, after another went wrong and mgmt staff failed at every turn to try and correct. Worst trip I ever experienced. My guest was sorely disappointed too. Too bad the weather didn't cooperate either. The only SMALL token the property offered was to waive the parking fee. I have other family members who have stayed at this property with pretty much the same, if not worse, customer experience, and come back to property to try and give them another chance to redeem themselves but it was all in vain. Its a beautiful property but the staff makes it a location that I would never choose to return to on purpose, I really had such high hopes for this vacation, but was utterly let down. I hate writing negative reviews, but such poor service CANNOT and SHOULD NOT go unchecked. April 14, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staffing needs to match occupancy - When staying at a hotel the caliber of the St Regis (Four Seasons, Ritz, Park Hyatt, Shangri-La, etc) I expect several things: great customer service, beautiful surroundings and world class amenities. I can go to any major city and find each of the three but typically not all three together. Our stay started off well. We were met promptly at the lobby and checked in without any problems. The property and accommodations were way above average. That is where everything went downhill. My wife and I were celebrating our fifth anniversary. Her only wish was for a nice dinner and to hang out at the pool/ocean all day. Because of the water temperature of the ocean the pool was the only logical choice. At the pool we waited for over 30 minutes to order a drink. I finally walked up to the bar and waited 10 more minutes before anyone acknowledged my presence. After an hour had passed we finally received our first drink. 45 minutes later, I was up at the pool bar (this is not a self serve bar mind you) going through the same process. We never, in the 4.5 hours we were at the pool, offered drink or food by the staff (one of the pool attendance told us they were severely shorthanded). Second, we made reservations for dinner at the Monarch Club. We came back to the room early to shower and relax before our 7:00 reservation. I went to iron my shirt only to find the iron was broken. I proceeded to call the concierge to have a new one sent to the room. 30 minutes later it had still not arrived so I called again. After another 20-30 minutes we had to leave for our dinner reservation forcing me to wear a wrinkled shirt to dinner. Not exactly the way I wanted to spend my anniversary. Dinner was great with outstanding service. After dinner I needed to grab several item which required getting my car from Valet. I called down to have the car brought forward. After waiting 20-30 minutes I finally went up to the valet stand where I was informed they could not find my car. After about 45 minutes it finally arrived. The next morning we awoke and wanted to take a walk on the beach. Once again I was forced to call the concierge to get an iron, I was very surprised that it had not been delivered the night before, and once again I waited almost an hour. After the third call downstairs one finally arrived. Last, I chose a $15 lounge credit for my gold amenity that was never posted to my account. Normally I would just dismiss however, give the troubles we had the entire trip, it just seems par for the course. Honestly, the entire stay felt like the hotel was extremely under staffed. When I stay at a hotel of this caliber that should not be the case. I have been a long time fan of the Starwood brands, as can be seen from my permanent gold status, and have stayed at some of the best hotels in the world. I will have to say that this was one of the worst experiences I have had. Hopefully this note will help your future guests. March 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding facility, exceptional staff Our company chose Monarch Beach for a business convention. The conference facilities were impeccable, the catering was outstanding, and the support staff handled every request promptly and efficiently. And the breakfast cinnamon rolls were out of this world! March 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply Amazing Breathtaking hotel with amazing views. The service is impeccable. Just an overall amazing experience April 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beyond Words But I'll Try I am 90 mins away from the St Regis in San Diego and this was a quick one night stay as I was a guest of my family while they were in town from Chicago attending a work event. I consider this a scouting trip and did a walk-about deciding what I would do the next time I visit for an extended stay. Pool & grounds beautiful and well worth having a walk around. Room 312 felt cozy & private along with being beautiful with very nice partial view of Pacific and dead on view of pool fun. All services were impeccable and not intrusive allowing me to really settle in even though this was a whirlwind one night stay. Really cementing my plans for a return visit. The ameniti we did use as a group was the tram accessing the PRIVATE BEACH CLUB. I spent a couple hours there while awaiting my family. We then returned there for an incredible sunset meal. Two of the group golfed and were thoroughly impressed with this challenging golf course and the professionalism of the staff. If you are planning short getaway I do not think you will have to leave the grounds. I am usually against this idea and begin to feel trapped and want to get out-n-about to see the beach and local restaurants. But with the supreme access to the beach this creates the idea of getting off the property with absolutely no hassle. And the beach club meets all your needs from snacks, drinks to bar food & gourmet meals with a super California combination of informality beachy and fantastic service. April 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice, but hard to find and not quite a top rating We stayed for 3 nights. The staff were all lovely and the bellboys very personable. The pool bar staff was great as well. The valet service people were very nice. We always called at least 20 minutes before we needed our car, but multiple times the car was forgotten, or it still took 20 minutes after the time we said we needed the car to get the car. After about 3x of this we just stopped tipping. I know they were busy, but we called well in advance. I'd also love to see a full length mirror in the room that wasn't blocked by a table. It doesn't have to be big... It was also odd that 2 out of 3 nights we only got one chocolate instead of 2. This may sound petty, but it was weird since there were obviously 2 of us staying there. The decor is nice but it feels old. I do not feel that it was worth the 5-star rating or price. The bathrooms, however, are very nice. Although we were awakened at 5am by our neighbors running their tub. The tubs are high flow and it's nice if you're filling your own tub. It's bad if you're awakened by listening to your neighbor at 5AM! Also it's really hard to find this place. There are so many St Regis properties and we kept getting directed to the tennis club by the map app. It was right across the street from the hotel driveway, but you can't see the hotel and there aren't a lot of signs. March 31, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Monarch Bay is not what I expected from St. Regis We were originally scheduled to stay for 6 nights, but added a 7th to arrive a day early. We tried to anticipate and avoid any problems by calling ahead and alerting the hotel to the additional reservation. We were assured their system had the rooms linked. When we arrived, the rooms were not linked - the staff showed us checking out the next day (despite the now 7 night reservation). We were then told at 3:30 that our room was not ready and we had to wait if we wanted an upgraded room (Ocean view). Despite waiting until 4:15, when we checked in we were not upgraded to an ocean view. We had a view of the golf course parking lot. When we entered the room my wife had to wipe down the dresser and other items, which were filthy (as evidenced by the discolored wet wipe she had when she was done). In addition, the next day our room keys did not work because they were coded for one night's stay. On one occassion, we had to call two times (once at 2:00 pm and again at 3:30 pm) to have our room cleaned and serviced. It was finally completed after 4 pm. Finally, we experienced numerous billing errors on our dining and poolside bills that we had to review carefully to have items removed. Minibar charges were also incorrectly added to my final bill. In all, the experience was so bad we checked out 2 days early - staying only 5 nights. As a lifetime SPG gold member (and frequently Platinum), I was very disappointed . July 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful resort, room for improvement I had high expectations when I made plans for our 5 night stay. After all, this is a St. Regis Resort. I was generally very happy with my stay. Pros: * The valet car staff was great. These folks really are the ambassadors of this place. They gave terrific service and made my kids feel very welcomed. * We had an executive suite, so our room included butler service. My kids thought it was so cool. They bring fresh hot chocolate for the kids in the morning along with a french press of coffee. The butler we had the first several days was fantastic and took a real interest in making us feel welcomed. * The resort is beautiful, and we were there around Christmas and there were many photo opportunities. * Our room was very nice with a terrific bathroom with lots of nice touches * The pool area has three pools which makes it great for kids. The smallest pool is a very nice size and is only 1.5 feet deep. It also has a big hot tub area. We were there when it was only 55-60 degrees, but the pools are well HEATED. So-So Area: * The front desk staff (which I generally believe are the most important service people at a hotel) were so-so. They want to help, but are clearly not empowered to make decisions or accommodate requests. Why is it that hotels seem to tie the hand of front-line staff? Cons: * The bed felt like it was from a low end budget motel. It was really uncomfortable. The pillows were also some kind of non-feather substitute. They need to invest in something worthy of carrying the name St. Regis. * Small thing, and noticed it in other review. I asked to have the flashlight they provide in the room fixed or batteries replaced on the first night, it never happened. December 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gorgeous even in the rain.. Our stay was brief, but we celebrated our anniversary at St Regis, Monarch Beach & it was delightful. Unfortunately the weather didn't allow us to go outside to enjoy the grounds,…. but the spa & dining treated us very well. Thank you for a great stay~ the staff was very knowledgeable, & accommodating. March 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Service I was offre the umpack servise when I Checked inn, but I was never informed that the servise was untill 8:00 PM and it was 8.20 PM, when I arrived I asked for extra towels and never arrived to my room The towels looks very old with the threads out The servise at the restaurante for breakfast was not so good. At the beach club they dont offre food servise outside the restaurante. March 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Room Great Room but view needs improvement. GM needs to spend a night and wake up in the morning and say "Is this the view I want a guest to see 365 times a year or should we improve on this". March 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Luxury Hotel - Bring your own coffee maker Great facility and room, but seemed like despite being a luxury hotel, they wanted to charge me for ordinary amenities as extra. There was no coffee maker in the room, and when I asked for one, I was told that would be another $25. Unheard of for a luxury hotel for something as basic as coffee. Staff seemed to be more interested in enforcing rules than ensuring a pleasurable experience January 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decline in service level I have stayed at this facility numerous times since it opened. I noticed a decline in service this time. My room was not available upon arrival. I had to wait until 5:30PM to receive my room key. I mean 4:00PM check is late already compared to most hotel, but 5:30PM check in is totaly unacceptable. Also, room service order took more than one full hour to deliver! January 3, 2012
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>