The St. Regis Monarch Beach

  • One Monarch Beach Resort
  • Dana Point,
  • California
  • 92629
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest registration and check-in is restricted to those 21 years of age or older with valid identification.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 635 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by St Regis Review The staff was nice but not on top of their game. Upon check in, we were sent in the opposite direction creating a 30 minute hunt down hallways looking for our room. We passed two hotel employees who couldn't help us either and finally suggested we go back to the lobby and have someone there help us. Uninformed employees seemed to be prevalent. The women at the coffee shop didn't seem to know what a small cup of coffee means. Each time, she reached for the largest, most expensive choice when I clearly articulated my desire for a small cup. On the first day, I waited for an extended period of time while one employee attended the many needs of the guest in front of me while two other employees stood behind the counter talking to each other ignoring me and the line forming behind me. Someone behind me finally interrupted their conversation and got them to do their job. The overall bummer - the maze of rights and lefts required to find elevators and rooms. The hotel has really poor signage so directing oneself around is a real guessing game. Biggest problem: Our room is on the 3rd floor and the lobby is on the 5th floor. In others words - up to the lobby, down to our room. We lost count of the amount of times we did the exact opposite due to habit of going down to a lobby and up to a room. Was disappointed in the lack of shops and lack of selection. Regarding decor, average building, okay grounds but nothing special. The pool by the spa - no service the entire 3 hours my wife and I were there. Not even someone pouring water. When I add all this up, the only semblance of luxury here is the price of the room, the cost of the food and the white gloves the hotel staff wears. But underneath that, I would not put this hotel in a luxury classification. I've had much better stays at W's, Westins and Sheratons. August 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Luxurious Everything was perfect.....the staff was exemplary. August 24, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by THIS HOTEL NEEDS IMPROVEMENT WE FOUND THE WORK OUT FACILITY VERY POOR IN COMPARISON TO THE SIZE AND QUALITY OF THIS HOTEL. TO HAVE A HOTEL BLOCK INTERNET CONNECTION FOR THE PRICE OF THE ROOMS IS LUDICROUS. HAVE YOU HEARD THE SAYING NO ONE LIKES A CHEAP CROOK. THERE WAS NOT A COFFEE MAKER IN THE ROOM - WHY? THE SWIMMING POOL SIZE IS TOO SMALL FOR THE SIZE AND NUMBER OF GUEST ROOMS IN THIS HOTEL. SERVICES THAT WERE PROMISED WERE NOT DELIVERED. COMPLIMENTARY NEWS PAPER DID NOT SHOW UP UNTIL THE 3RD DAY AFTER REQUESTING IT TWICE WITH BOTH THE RESERVATION DESK AND CONCIERGE. August 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by great hotel but some things are lacking the hotel in general is great. Here are some things that can be significantly improved. The shuttle to the beach was very unreliable and the wait while we were there was extremely long. The main pool was totally un supervised. You have a children's pool which is empty and the main pool is filled with young children throwing footballs , jumping in the pool and making chaos. That was really a problem, it was worse than that but that I can leave to your imagination August 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel but we were stuck in a corner Took my wife for a weekend getaway. Longtime SPG member and used points for this stay. Not sure if that is the reason, but they stuck us in the room directly by the door to the pool (I think the only door, if not the main door) and the room faced a wall. No light due to the wall but heavy pool/outside traffic. I think it was the actual worst room location on the property. The "adult" pool had more kids than adults. Other than that, wonderful hotel with great staff. August 19, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Overall, Staff were awful We returned this weekend from 5 nights at the St Regis Monarch Beach with our kids. The hotel is nice and the room was wonderful, but the staff needs a lot of work. The housekeeping staff was very hardworking and friendly, but otherwise, the staff left much to be desired. From the check in clerk to the bellman to the restaurant staff, everyone seemed annoyed to be working. Few were friendly or helpful. The hotel caters to large groups and weddings and as a result everyone else seems to get overlooked. We have stayed in many luxury hotels and we have come to expect much more from this level of hotel. I hope the hotel will spend some time training their employees on customer service. A smile would go a long way. July 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another great stay The St. Regis MB continues to be my "go to" destination when i'm in OC. A very nice surprise on this visit as Monica at the front desk informed me you were in an oversold situation and for my loyalty and being an SPG member she upgraded me to one of your royal suites. Amazing. Not sure how I will stay in my usual room when I return. That was a nice gesture (and an early birthday present). It took your usual great level of service to a whole new level. All staff continue to be attentive, responsive and do a great job. August 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by wendy samuels I was very disappointed with the Concierge attitude. Everyone else at the hotel was above expectations. August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel with the Best Service Enjoyed our short visit at the St. Regis Monarch Beach! Excellent Hotel August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Memorable vacation due to Supurb Hotel and Staff My wife and I recently celebrated our 25th anniversary and wanted to make our event one to remember. Wow! Thank-you for making our 25th anniversary one to remember. Excellent room, superior staff, wonderful food, top notch spa and the best butler one could ever ask for. Thank you for making our anniversary special and one to always remember. August 16, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Customer Service Needs Improvement I've stayed at the St. Regis multiple times before, however I hadn't been there in over a year. Unfortunately, I was disappointed at this last stay. At the cabana near the lawn, we ordered a few mojito, and when they arrived, we realized that one of them was a virgin mojito - they forgot the alcohol. There was a noticeable difference in taste among the ones we ordered. We informed the waitress that one of the drinks was missing the alcohol, and she responded 'no it isn't' and walked away. We were further upset when we were actually charged for the drink that wasn't even consumed as it wasn't what we ordered. We realized we forgot something in our car and went to valet to ask to bring our car up. We sat and waited for 10 minutes, 20 minutes, then 30 minutes. We noticed that people who came after us had already received their cars. We went back to valet to ask what the status was. The woman behind the counter then realized that our keys were still in the bowl and didn't hang them for the valets to get. Realizing this mistake, instead of putting our keys at the top since we had already been waiting for 30+ minutes, she put it at the bottom and argued with us when we asked for it to be fetched earlier. Waiting 45 minutes for valet when it was only moderately busy was ridiculous. This is just two short examples of my experience. I used to go to St. Regis for awesome customer service, but unfortunately I will likely not return any time soon. August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Enjoyed the beautiful grounds and wonderful service of the St Regis With a gentle ocean breeze along with an awesome ocean view, St Regis Resort welcomed me. The Staff were very attentive to my every request and always with a warm smile. The food at the Motif Restaurant was delicious and well presented. The Spa was truly relaxing after a day on the golf course. Great place to get away and enjoy the beautiful grounds and much more. August 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Forbes and AAA want their stars and diamonds back! This hotel does not live up to the St. Regis namesake. We can begin with the rude check in staff who left us hovering over the desk, aimlessly awaiting. Then, there were the hole-ridden mildew towels. Not to mention how we waited in another line to see the only concierge (who knew nothing). We later found out the concierge also served as a complaint station - two ladies were ahead of us because room service failed them as well. Don't waste your money here. Really, just don't. The best way to sum up the property was after complaining to the manager on duty, she said "well, this is California casual." No excuse for poor service. August 23, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Far Underwhelming Experience Room service was very very slow, close to 60 minutes on average. Soup was burnt and black. You could smell the burnt food for crying out loud! Hot water for tea was warm, at best. This was the worst room service ever experienced with a Starwood brand hotel. Original assigned room had zero cell phone reception, either for text messages or receiving/making phone calls. Resort services said it was our cell phone provider. Right - when we finally were able to switch rooms, there was no problem with cell phone service. Overall, the property grounds met expectations. But the service was no better than a low budget hotel. So so disappointed at the operations management of this resort and the service, both quality and speed. I'm surprised that Starwood keeps this property in its portfolio. What are they thinking? June 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unique place !! Everything is made to make your stay a unique experience, from the valet, bar tender to the butler. The only flaw came on our last evening at the restaurant near the beace: the servive was not as expected : the waiter opened our bottle of wine when we were almost done eating.... July 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very accommodating Staff We recently stayed at the hotel over the 4th holiday weekend. I wanted to let management and future guests know what a phenomenal job Front Desk Manager Kimber Takacs did to make our stay a memorable one, from making the reservation, to reserving all activities and just making sure we were well taken care of the whole weekend. Kimber went far and beyond the call of duty to make sure all our needs were met. We had such a fantastic time that upon check-out I booked another reservation. I hope management will acknowledge Kimber for her outstanding personal customer care because she really deserves the St. Regis Act of Valor commendation. July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Your staff is exceptional. I had a suggestion of lowering the beds in the wheelchair accessible rooms and when I came back to my room, my bed had been lowered and a handwritten note explaining that they wanted me comfortable! ADA room was good. One small thing for the cleaning staff is if you see someone in a wheelchair, move the shower head to the bottom setting. It was difficult to reach up and move it down each day. Everything was great! August 10, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by The Astor family would be incredibly disappointed Check-in: I’m here to celebrate our 6-year wedding anniversary with my pregnant wife. The plan is to stay Saturday to Monday. I’ve been to several St. Regis properties around the world and they’re all fantastic. I come in at 330pm on Saturday and find a long line (about 10 people to check in before me). Finally, I make it to the front of the line after 15 minutes, and upon check-in, I’m basically told that while most SPG hotels have one or two platinum guests per night, this hotel has about 50 at any given moment. Do you think you’re special for being a Platinum member? Allow me to confirm that at this hotel, you’re not. And they’ll remind you of that as you’re checking in. Oh, and if that’s not enough, your room is not yet available. Come back at 430pm, maybe. Actually, we’ll call you because I’d like to be honest with you – your room probably isn’t going to be available by 430pm. Not sure when it’ll be ready. And so we’re off to a bad start… Breakfast on Sunday: My pregnant wife wakes up on Sunday morning and is hungry. That’s understandable. It’s Sunday morning – what should we do? They have Sunday Brunch that starts at 11am. But it’s 930am. No worries, we are told that we can wait until 11am, or we can have breakfast outside by the pool and still use our Platinum credit of $20 towards the breakfast buffet. Sounds good – lets go to the pool. Ok. Well, I can tell you that after spending 10 minutes there, ALL of the hotel’s attention is diverted to the brunch beginning at 11am. All the food at the breakfast buffet is either undercooked (yes – undercooked eggs – delish!) or overcooked. Half the items are also missing. Have you ever had breakfast at a St. Regis property? It’s always fantastic. As a matter of fact, they tend to blow me away by how good it is. Well, not here. At least not on Sunday when they’d prefer you wait till 11am and pay $7o per person (and you cannot use your platinum credit there, of course). Lovely. Let’s just go to the pool. The pool: The front desk tells us there are two pools. An adult pool and a kid’s pool. We don’t have kids (yet) and would like to relax, so we opt for the adult pool. Wanna hear something funny? There are more kids at the adult pool than at the kids’ pool. What’s the point of a kid’s pool you ask? I’m not sure. I don’t mind kids. I love kids. So let’s stay. Good luck finding a seat. You know that picture on their website that shows how elegant the pool is? Yea right. Try multiplying the number of chairs in that picture by 20. It’s like a can of sardines. Get seats yet? Great! But don’t go in the pool. Because as soon as you do, the staff will take your umbrella away from you and give it to someone else. Happened 3 times. It’s so noisy, so packed, so UN-relaxing, that we decide to leave the pool and go to the beach. The beach: How do you get to the beach? You take a tram. Cool! So let’s get on the tram. Actually, you’ll need to sign up for the tram. Why is that, sir? Well, because we have about 10 people before you that would like to go to the beach. Oh. Ok. Sign us up. Two trams come by, and we finally get on the third. Only about a 15-minute wait. Ok, I guess? A bit surprised, but let me just suck it up. So we finally get to the beach. Oh. You wanted chairs? You wanted an umbrella so your pregnant wife doesn’t bake your unborn child? What’s that? You’d like towels too? Sorry dude – we’re out of all of those things. At this point we headed back to the hotel (yes, after waiting for the tram, again), and checked out one day early, after less than 24 hours at this hotel. Let me be clear. This hotel has turned into a vacation factory. Do you think that you’re staying at the St Regis hotel with all of its exclusivities and exceptional service? Do you think they’ll go out of their way to make you feel special? How about as a platinum guest? How about as you’re celebrating your 6-year wedding anniversary? Nope. Think again. This place should change the name on the door from St Regis to (insert generic hotel name here). I’ve stayed at over 10 St Regis properties worldwide, and it has without a doubt, become my favorite hotel brand because of the consistency in its exceptional service. Management at this property should be embarrassed. September 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Gorgeous property. Staff is fabulous Gorgeous facility. Rooms are beautiful and well stocked. Food onsite is very pricey. Gorgeous views but be sure to request a room with a view. August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by unmatched exelense Wonderful property with outstanding suroundings August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is awesome! The St. Regis is amazing. The staff was wonderful. I will recommend this hotel to everyone. August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved the room Very elegant, the staff was very nice at all times. August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Vacation St Regis has everything you would need to have a perfect vacation. The staff recommended restaurants to us that were homer runs! They couln't have been more helpful. St Regis is a place that makes you want to come back. Thank You!! August 9, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by 4th of July Awful experience. Pool cabana service was downright unprofessional. Turn down service was an insult to my family-they put the robes and chocolates on our bed but not our son's - even though his robe was hanging next to ours in the bathroom. We quickly threw a chocolate on his bed but he saw & was disappointed. Butler "Dale" seemed annoyed and frustrated the two encounters we had with him. Our balcony was filthy with long black hair all over the floor (I covered the balcony with bath towels to not step on it. Staff seemed like it was a "summer job" and weren't able to answer any of our questions. So frustrating that we checked out after 2 nights instead of 3. We always choose St. Regis & had stayed at this resort previously with a favorable experience. It was a miserable trip and my family left disappointed and cheated out of a vacation. July 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty good hotel This hotel has lots of things that are very nice. The rooms are clean and the beach is nice. Suggestions for improvement: 1. The pool areas are too small to accommodate the guests. Need more pool area and chairs for guests. 2. The food and beverages are overpriced for their quality. $14.00 for a daiquiri?? $5.50 for an iced tea? That is just greedy. 3. Coffee should be provided for in the room at no cost. 4. Every time we called down for the car to be brought around by the valet people, it was not there when we arrived out front. Not sure why we would bother calling down. 5. The TV was blaring on the speaker in the bathroom. July 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service was Golden The entire staff at the St. Regis from Valet to front desk and room service truly made us feel welcome and valued. We are SPG Gold members, and we were treated as valued members of the SPG family. Especially at reception, we were asked if we were celebrating any special occasion, and when we asked for a late checkout, we were accommodated for two extra hours. This was a huge step up from our last stay a couple of years back, and the change for the better is profound. We will be back, and we will not hesitate in recommending. July 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just wanted us happy From the moment we stepped out of our car, everyone did whatever it took to make us happy. Polite beyond description. Gave us all we asked for and more. Food at the golf course restaurant was the best!!! Golf course was beautiful and well run. This was our second time staying at the St Regis to celebrate an anniversary. I am sure we will come back another year. July 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Phenomenal Sweet 16th Birthday Celebration!! We celebrated my daughter's sweet 16th birthday at the St. Regis and the entire experience was fabulous! Someone read my pre-arrival survey, contacted me about my specific requests and answered all my questions. Upon arrival, we were pleasantly surprised by our Starwood Gold room upgrade to a suite, complete with butler service. We had reserved a second room for the next day (actual birthday) for our daughter and her friends to use. I was able to check-in to that room early as requested (12 noon) to allow me to decorate and set-up my candy buffet. The room was close to ours for convenience. The hotel very nicely sent-up a complimentary mini chocolate cake wishing her a "Happy Sweet 16 Birthday" and our butler arranged for cake service for 8 at the time of our choice, along with complimentary balloons! All in all, the hotel made my daughter feel very special on her birthday, which was exactly what I was hoping for when I made the reservation. Thanks St. Regis for going above & beyond! July 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel is an A+++ Beautiful venue, challenging golf course, lots of amenities and superb service! August 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by St. Regis Monarch does not live up to it's brand This hotel was such a disappointment, particularly after enjoying the St. Regis in NYC and Kauai. I was staying at the St. Regis to see if we could use this facility for corporate events. After 1/2 hour waiting in line to check in and dragging my own luggage to the room, I ordered room service. That took over an hour to arrive and the food was inedible. Over the two day stay both the service and food deteriorated, just when I thought it couldn't get any worse. Really guys, you'd be lucky to get one star. August 1, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 22 next>>