The St. Regis Monarch Beach

  • One Monarch Beach Resort
  • Dana Point,
  • California
  • 92629
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest registration and check-in is restricted to those 21 years of age or older with valid identification.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 661 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wiliam Killingsworth You staff in general is excellent and the best there is. William was out standing, made us feel very very special. Please keep people like him around as long as you can, October 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing family time We loved it at the St.Regis! The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are amazing. Butler Mike went above & beyond to make our stay most memorable! Our boys loved the hot chocolate & personal robes & slippers provided by our butler. We had a wonderful time & can't wait to come back! October 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by BAD NEWS COULD NOT BELIEVE CHARGING TO PARK, ROOM FEES, AND HOW HIGH RESTURANT PRICES WERE October 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Weekend Getaway The St. Regis experience is difficult to express in words. You have to be there to understand what total decompression and relaxation is all about. The St. Regis goes above and beyond your wildest dreams to make your stay as comfortable and memorable as possible. We canceled our off property dinner the second night because we did not want to leave our sheltered oasis. This was our second stay at the St. Regis and we were flattered by how many people remember your face and name. We remembered them also. Like Chancey the Gardner put it, "Being There "is an experience you will always remember and wanting to come back for more. Thank You St. Regis staff! September 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Business Event The hotel did a great job of hosting the large event I attended. We had great weather and a wonderful stay. October 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Far Underwhelming Experience Room service was very very slow, close to 60 minutes on average. Soup was burnt and black. You could smell the burnt food for crying out loud! Hot water for tea was warm, at best. This was the worst room service ever experienced with a Starwood brand hotel. Original assigned room had zero cell phone reception, either for text messages or receiving/making phone calls. Resort services said it was our cell phone provider. Right - when we finally were able to switch rooms, there was no problem with cell phone service. Overall, the property grounds met expectations. But the service was no better than a low budget hotel. So so disappointed at the operations management of this resort and the service, both quality and speed. I'm surprised that Starwood keeps this property in its portfolio. What are they thinking? June 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Birthday weekend We spent a delightful three-day weekend celebrating my wife's birthday. The suite was spacious and allowed us some privacy with our kids in the living area. The pools and beach were perfect for our kids. The staff was very responsive. The only glitch was some reservation issues for services at the hotel. Apparently someone forgot to record them in the system but all worked out. Sometimes the St. Regis bureaucracy gets in the way of great customer service. Guests have to know what to call the butler for, what to call the concierge for and where else to go for arrangements. It would be easier if all guest inquiries went to one number/desk and that the staff then sorted out who was to respond. July 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Still a great property but... ...we noticed a lot of small things on this visit: 1) the flashlight in the room was dead, and it wasn't put on the bed tray during turn down; neither were the slippers or floor mats put out 2) the music CD was left looping on only the first track 3) we booked a month ahead, requested a king, ended up with two queens 4) we are gold level and requested late checkout and it was denied even though we called ahead and were assured the hotel was not full 5) didn't receive a morning paper. had to request one in the lobby 6) bathroom lacked the typical bath salts This is still an outstanding property; we just hate to see it slipping. Hopefully these are short term glitches, though we will consider another property for our next trip. December 13, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic place to relax Beautiful hotel, great service, fantastic place to relax. Loved the pool area and the beach, both are great! September 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful resort, room for improvement I had high expectations when I made plans for our 5 night stay. After all, this is a St. Regis Resort. I was generally very happy with my stay. Pros: * The valet car staff was great. These folks really are the ambassadors of this place. They gave terrific service and made my kids feel very welcomed. * We had an executive suite, so our room included butler service. My kids thought it was so cool. They bring fresh hot chocolate for the kids in the morning along with a french press of coffee. The butler we had the first several days was fantastic and took a real interest in making us feel welcomed. * The resort is beautiful, and we were there around Christmas and there were many photo opportunities. * Our room was very nice with a terrific bathroom with lots of nice touches * The pool area has three pools which makes it great for kids. The smallest pool is a very nice size and is only 1.5 feet deep. It also has a big hot tub area. We were there when it was only 55-60 degrees, but the pools are well HEATED. So-So Area: * The front desk staff (which I generally believe are the most important service people at a hotel) were so-so. They want to help, but are clearly not empowered to make decisions or accommodate requests. Why is it that hotels seem to tie the hand of front-line staff? Cons: * The bed felt like it was from a low end budget motel. It was really uncomfortable. The pillows were also some kind of non-feather substitute. They need to invest in something worthy of carrying the name St. Regis. * Small thing, and noticed it in other review. I asked to have the flashlight they provide in the room fixed or batteries replaced on the first night, it never happened. December 18, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by sprinklers A bride hung her dress on a sprinkler which broke at 4am and flooded a floor and made the entire hotel evacuate at 4am for 40 min. The staff did make sure we were all safe. However the next day there was no - sorry for the inconvenience, here's a cup of coffee. Just a note saying that it was an mistake. We also had dinner at the nicest restaurant on the property. We were sat at 8.30, each guest ordered one appetizer and an entree, the entrees didn't arrive until 10.30pm.... and there was little drink service. We were exhausted by the time dinner finished. Odd service for such a high end brand September 15, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Beautiful Property Deseves Equivalent Staff I had to wait 3 weeks to write this review. To give me time to calm down from one of my worst travel experiences ever. I booked and paid for this vacation more than 3 months in advance, I specifically called the hotel on 2 separate occasions to ensure that my room/reservation would be exactly what I wanted. It was all a waste of time, money and effort. This was not the first time that I had stayed at this property. Previously, my family has stayed with horrible customer service, despite the beautiful property and 6star rating. I decided to give it another chance. Worst mistake ever. I specifically called to ensure the room I paid for would be available since my flight didn't land until after 10pm, but it did not happen. It was pretty much first come, first serve. Not one of my requests was met. After an exhaustive, tiring exchange with mgmt to try to correct my reservation, and numerous apologies later, I finally gave up becuase it was late and I was tired. I asked mgmt for at least a small plate of food to be sent up to my room because of my long travel day, I was tersely met with an answer of no, they would not offer what I would call a good faith gesture, but was told I was free to go to the bar and order food. What nerve!. I spoke with mgmt each day of my stay to try and rectify the situation but to no avail. Mgmt did send a 'peace offering' of a cake in honor of the special occasion I was celebrating, the following night but that in no way made up for the fact that mgmt failed horribly and in my mind irrevocably damaged their already mediocre reputation. It wasn't until the day of my departure was I told that the part of the hotel I specifically requested was under construction. Each night I had packed my bags in preparation to be moved to a room to honor what I had paid for, never happened. I called one night for the hours of the golf restaurant I wanted to eat at only to be given incorrect information, thereby missing dinner altogether. Another night, I went to the bar to order a particular food, only to be told what I wanted was part of a 'tavern' menu only and was not served on Mondays and Tuesdays. Just one thing after another, after another, after another, after another went wrong and mgmt staff failed at every turn to try and correct. Worst trip I ever experienced. My guest was sorely disappointed too. Too bad the weather didn't cooperate either. The only SMALL token the property offered was to waive the parking fee. I have other family members who have stayed at this property with pretty much the same, if not worse, customer experience, and come back to property to try and give them another chance to redeem themselves but it was all in vain. Its a beautiful property but the staff makes it a location that I would never choose to return to on purpose, I really had such high hopes for this vacation, but was utterly let down. I hate writing negative reviews, but such poor service CANNOT and SHOULD NOT go unchecked. April 14, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Service was Unacceptable We checked out of our room and paid the final bill. A week later we received a "revised" hotel bill that was in error and we were overcharged for our stay. We called the accounting dept, a the St Regis on three (3) different occasions and they were to take care of the problem. We are now two months away from our stay and the problem has not been resolved. October 14, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad business practice After I left the hotel after 3 nights I received multiple folios all with different monetary figures on them. I was there for a business conference and they charged my company credit card with some of the expenses associated with the stay but not others. Everyone in our group had errors with their bills. They also charged me for mini bar expenses despite the fact I did not use anything in the minibar. I left a message for their accounting office to call me back but they have not done so. Very bad business practice. I feel violated by their behavior. October 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Keep coming back This is our third summer in a row coming to the StR Monarch Beach. We just love the location close to all that Southern California has to offer. Service is consistently exceptional from the front desk, valets, butler service and restaurant. A special thank you to Maya for taking care of us all week at breakfast. My only note would be that while I don't expect you to comb the sand like a golf course, the Monarch Beach club has had ALOT of seaweed on the sand the past two years...meaning lots of bugs. If you walk to the other side of the beach it's much better, but for this quality of resort you shouldn't have to. With that said don't think twice about booking this property. We'll certainly be back again next year. August 16, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Why Hotels Don't Understand Luxury This is a clear example of how we have bastardized the term luxury. There were ten pillows in my room. There was an 800 pound mirror next to the desk that made it impossible to get to electrical outlets--I have to move to a stool to write on my computer. I couldn't plug my phone into the outlet near my bed because I couldn't get to it and it was completely occupied anyway. But the big issue is this: This hotel does not offer complementary in-room coffee. They will bring a coffee "service" to your room at a charge of $32.00. I don't know about other luxury clients but this one want to make her own coffee in the morning and not have to deal with a waiter, signing a bill, answering questions in my pajamas BEFORE I have had a cup of coffee. One of my colleagues called it barbaric. Now trust me this hotel LOOKS like luxury or at least the concept of luxury that developers think luxury looks like. It's got eight fountains going after a 4-year drought in California that has turned the landscape brown. It has a grand lobby. The rooms have too many pillows, nice linens, big time TV, nice decor. But the place is possibly the worst layout of a hotel I have ever seen. Good luck finding your way around. Bottom Line: I wouldn't stay there unless I had to--which was the case as I was a guest of a corporation. September 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A day at Monarch Beach Stayed here last week for just one day, our second visit to the resort, and had a great time even though the weather did not cooperate. Front desk allowed us to check in early (we arrived just before 1PM), and recognized our SPG Gold status and upgraded us to an Ocean View room. Considering the heavy fog kept us from the beach, having a view of the ocean and the golf course was a great substitute. Ate at the Monarch Bay Club restaurant twice: the food, service, and view there are always spectacular. October 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very accommodating Staff We recently stayed at the hotel over the 4th holiday weekend. I wanted to let management and future guests know what a phenomenal job Front Desk Manager Kimber Takacs did to make our stay a memorable one, from making the reservation, to reserving all activities and just making sure we were well taken care of the whole weekend. Kimber went far and beyond the call of duty to make sure all our needs were met. We had such a fantastic time that upon check-out I booked another reservation. I hope management will acknowledge Kimber for her outstanding personal customer care because she really deserves the St. Regis Act of Valor commendation. July 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by August - Noise! I cannot tell you how disappointed we were. Arriving in the afternoon, the catering staff was setting up outside and the carts rolling over and the dishes clinking went on all afternoon. Kids were screaming at the pool and the noise combined forced us to close our door to the beautiful ocean breeze. In the evening there was running in the hall ways and again a tremendous amount of noise. The towels were frayed and to top it off, on Friday morning the maid walked into our room without knocking catching my husband in his sleeping shorts and just stood there looking at him until he told her to get out. August 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Destination My wife and I like coming here and relaxing away from the kids. Unfortunately this visit we were waken by fire alarms going off at 3am multiple times. Everyone in the hotel was confused if they should evacuate given there was no announcements until almost 1 hour later and only 5 people on staff in the entire hotel. I'd recommend they review their procedures. The golf course also took over 5.5 hours and the fairways were terrible as they get ready for reseeding. We still like this destination but got unlucky on timing. September 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Drought Damage The facility was excellent. The golf course was in rough shape do to drought I would assume. There was also an extended delay to get started and the rental clubs were sold out. Other than that everything was over the top. GREAT Food!!! September 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Property One of the prettiest hotels in North America. Grounds and pool area are amazing. Frequent traveler (platinum status) and stay at many luxury hotels across all brands including Relais & Chateaux properties. Property is absolutely beautiful. Had amazing service at pool snack bar from Katie. She deserves recognition and a raise! Incredible service. Was visiting property using free night awards. Even though platinum status, our room was standard room overlooking side of resort (no pool view or ocean view). In fairness to hotel, it was very busy during the weekend, and am sure suites were limited, but got the impression that received no upgrade whatsoever (much less to suite) which was disappointing. Hotels need to treat its top level of loyal patrons with great rooms, hotel disappointed in this category, but otherwise very pleased with stay and will return. Spa facilities were excellent. I have also stayed at the Laguna Ritz which, too, is beautiful, but consider the St. Regis nicer between the two. November 19, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Overall, Staff were awful We returned this weekend from 5 nights at the St Regis Monarch Beach with our kids. The hotel is nice and the room was wonderful, but the staff needs a lot of work. The housekeeping staff was very hardworking and friendly, but otherwise, the staff left much to be desired. From the check in clerk to the bellman to the restaurant staff, everyone seemed annoyed to be working. Few were friendly or helpful. The hotel caters to large groups and weddings and as a result everyone else seems to get overlooked. We have stayed in many luxury hotels and we have come to expect much more from this level of hotel. I hope the hotel will spend some time training their employees on customer service. A smile would go a long way. July 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs Improvement Property is very beautiful and comfortable. What troubled me during our stay however, was that the staff didn't seem to measure up to the proposed quality of the resort and the expectations one would have at this price point. We assume it was a simple mistake by housekeeping, but we were also troubled to find torn towels in the bathroom. Also, we did not have a good experience at Stonehill Tavern, one of the restaurants on property. The service was slow. The food, average at best. Again at this price point, St. Regis did not meet our expectations. July 1, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Prices much too high for the quality of this hotel. We've always loved the St Regis however, our most recent stay was a major disappointment. The prices we paid at this hotel were HIGH; the quality of service & food were LOW. The food at the hotel is quite pricey & mediocre at best. The valet service is extremely SLOW. One day we waited 45 minutes for the valet to come back & say there was a problem locating the car (we ended up missing our appt time off property so we didn't continue to wait for the car)-the next day we waited over 30 minutes after we had called them 20 minutes prior to order up the car. The rooms are very nice with plush beds & nice bathrooms, however, we only received turn down service once & they didn't replenish our toiletries. We were overall let down by this hotel stay. September 17, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by 4th of July Awful experience. Pool cabana service was downright unprofessional. Turn down service was an insult to my family-they put the robes and chocolates on our bed but not our son's - even though his robe was hanging next to ours in the bathroom. We quickly threw a chocolate on his bed but he saw & was disappointed. Butler "Dale" seemed annoyed and frustrated the two encounters we had with him. Our balcony was filthy with long black hair all over the floor (I covered the balcony with bath towels to not step on it. Staff seemed like it was a "summer job" and weren't able to answer any of our questions. So frustrating that we checked out after 2 nights instead of 3. We always choose St. Regis & had stayed at this resort previously with a favorable experience. It was a miserable trip and my family left disappointed and cheated out of a vacation. July 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Monarch Bay is not what I expected from St. Regis We were originally scheduled to stay for 6 nights, but added a 7th to arrive a day early. We tried to anticipate and avoid any problems by calling ahead and alerting the hotel to the additional reservation. We were assured their system had the rooms linked. When we arrived, the rooms were not linked - the staff showed us checking out the next day (despite the now 7 night reservation). We were then told at 3:30 that our room was not ready and we had to wait if we wanted an upgraded room (Ocean view). Despite waiting until 4:15, when we checked in we were not upgraded to an ocean view. We had a view of the golf course parking lot. When we entered the room my wife had to wipe down the dresser and other items, which were filthy (as evidenced by the discolored wet wipe she had when she was done). In addition, the next day our room keys did not work because they were coded for one night's stay. On one occassion, we had to call two times (once at 2:00 pm and again at 3:30 pm) to have our room cleaned and serviced. It was finally completed after 4 pm. Finally, we experienced numerous billing errors on our dining and poolside bills that we had to review carefully to have items removed. Minibar charges were also incorrectly added to my final bill. In all, the experience was so bad we checked out 2 days early - staying only 5 nights. As a lifetime SPG gold member (and frequently Platinum), I was very disappointed . July 7, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor staff response to problems It took 4 days and 4 complaints to get the telephone in my room working. A hotel manager left a voice message about the problem, which I did not receive for 2 days until the phone was fixed. Service at breakfast was slow and unresponsive. At one breakfast I was served a bowl of oatmeal without a spoon, and one was not provided even after I asked. I ended up eating the oatmeal with my coffee spoon. The one saving grace was the housekeeping staff. The housekeeping service provided was some of the best I have received anywhere in the world. This outstanding service made the stay tolerable. February 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Beautiful Interior but staff doesn't pay attention I stayed here for a friends wedding and we had requested that all luggage be removed from the bridal suite and moved to my room. The bellman never came so when we returned from the wedding all bags were in the bride and groom's room. Needless to say, we were very upset that we had to interrupt the the bride and groom on their wedding night to retrieve our bags. In addition, as a SPG gold member I was told upon check in that I had been upgraded to a nicer room. When I got to the room I realized that the view was of a construction zone. November 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel has tremendously gone down. They need to train their front desk staff. At the end of our 2 night stay, we figured that we have to tell our requests to 3 different employees and confirm 2 times to make sure our requests were done. Seemed like going to work not a weekend gateway. Towels need to be upgraded. Hotel overall needs a lot of help. September 15, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 23 next>>