The St. Regis Monarch Beach

  • One Monarch Beach Resort
  • Dana Point,
  • California
  • 92629
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 nights, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book up to 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 692 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a Wonderful Get-Away! I recently completed a long weekend get-away at the St. Regis Monarch Beach and left completely relaxed and rejuvenated. The staff was wonderful, the spa spectacular, the food was fantastic, the golf was great, and the long walks on the property and along the beach were inspiring. Can't think of a better place to just unplug, unwind, and be pampered. January 4, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Change of owners and management We where regulars to this St. Regis, and would truly enjoy the comforts and added 'perks' being a monthly visitor brings. These perks are standard for a loyal frequent patron to just about any hotel one would frequent if one was to frequent it 15 to 20 visits a year for example, as we did. Perks such as waving vale fee's and additional free provisions. For example free bowl of fruit and wave pet fee's for little Yorkies, and valet fees. Any one who frequent's any hotel as often a this, its fair and reasonable to expect would graduate to such "perks" of the particular hotel they frequent - as we did too. Then in this case, enters a change of Ownership and General manager. The perks get taken away. Valet appears on bill, fruit appears on bill, and lack of responsiveness to any complaint made. The justification given "new owners and management want to charge for all things moving forward" In fairness to the staff, who are in the middle of it all, it needs to be noted that Starwood is great, and so to are the benefits of being a starwood member. however in this hotels case, the local news parer OC register reports it has been acquired by a different hotel management company in 2014. While star wood is still managing it, as a guest it is becoming clear that the new hotel management's company culture and values are being introduce. While still starwood, they do honor the minimum requirements of what being star wood they promos to honner. However it stops there. There is no benefit of being loyal under the new owner and management culture.They don't even respond to a complaint, and in our case would not remove the charge of a fruit. Why? because fruit is not part of the promise of platinum. We support Starwood and indeed went on to stay at another star wood property after this visit, however as a guest coming into the hotel, you need to understand the St. Regis expectations and brand is fading from this venue. While this mind set exists we won't be back once in 2015. However we do recommend any other star wood hotel in the area are there are many. We will still continue 3 to four times a month visit to Starwood hotels, just re-direct our money to other venues that appreciate and overly reward extra-ordinary patronage. This property is still a nice location with beautiful beaches, and the staff are good people that will stove to serve you exceptionally, however they are required to do what new management tell them to do and can't be claimed for charging ever single little thing. One last thing, we where to the resort fee that is added as an additional charge of $25 and includes use of the Spa… will no longer include use of the spa in 2015. Its an additional charge of a further $25 to the resort fee. We asked why… and to no surprise the answer "new managements instruction" January 2, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Service not up to St. Regis standards This hotel is beautiful, BUT the inconsistency in the service and friendliness is NOT up to St. Regis standards. Despite what the website says AND despite two emails directly from the butler service welcoming us, we were told upon check in that the butler service is only for suite guests, and they were, of course, unable to upgrade us to a suite. After discussing my disappointment with a manager, we were given the butler service during our stay; however we kept having to remind the staff as we were brought bills for morning coffee. A little frustrating. Also there was an incident with a concierge who clearly did NOT know what she was doing and gave us wrong information about the hotel dining. This caused a major issue at Motif; however the staff at Motif were very accommodating and friendly to us despite the concierge's mistake. This concierge was not apologetic. Overall, a nice property, overall nice staff, but definitely not the service we're used to at a St. Regis. Would likely not return because of the frustrations with these inconsistencies and a few others along the way. December 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed I'm currently staying at the hotel and have been really disappointed specially by the service. We were trying to find a restaurant to eat off the regular menu and not the Christmas buffet. The concierge told us to go to Club 19 where they wouldn't serve us anything else but the buffet. The service was horrible and after we began eating they proceeded to serve others off the regular menu. Not sure that is what I expect of a St Regis. Very disappointed December 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel!! This hotel is amazing, it's a beautif place to relax and have a good time. December 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anniversary Celebration This is the 3rd time I have stayed at the Hotel. I live locally. The Hotel is fabulous. We had dinner with friends in the wine cellar. The food was great. On checkout day we had lunch at the Monarch Beach Golf Course located on the property. The beds are so comfortable and the bathrooms are beautiful at the hotel. November 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEST Truly Magnificent experience! My only suggestion would be to replace the bath towels. They are rough and hard. I expect plush and soft. November 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the Best Accomodations of my Life!!! Upon arrival and throughout my stay, I was personally greeted by staff throughout the establishment. Services received from the spa/fitness center, conceirge, valet attendants, butler service, restaurant staff and private beach butler were extraordinarily exceptional. Kudos to Butler Mike who left the property to retrieve Excedrin which is the only over the counter medication that relieves the splitting migraines. The attendant at the private beach went over and above to answer questions and get information about local hospitals . Views from the balconies of the suite were breathtaking. I will most definitely visit the area and stay at this property in the futrue. November 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous hotel location and wonderful staff We recently stayed here for our anniversary, and we hope to make it a tradition in the future. We love the ambiance and location of this property and especially enjoy the amenities, such as the spa. But, it is the attention to details, such as calling us by name and the special treatment we received at dinner, that made our stay more special. We would always recommend this hotel simply for its staff, but the views are truly wonderful too! November 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 this is stupid shade on side window in suite 401 let too much morning light in, needs black out drape. November 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Stay Our Stay this past weekend was the BEST yet! We have been coming to this property for years, and everything just seems to be getting better!!! Kimber at the Front Desk, the manager, was ***** and made our Anniversary stay FANTASTIC! The Food in Michael Mina's restaurant was amazing and the service even better! We had the best weekend that we have had in a long time, and we can't wait to go back!!! The Spa services were also dreamy! We went back the second day to experience it again. November 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by St Regis is one of the best Resorts in Dana Point had wonderful time,excellent service and delicious food. November 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel as great features The views and grounds were spectacular. November 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has great facilities This hotel is in a great location and has wonderful facilities. My only regret is that I did not spend more time enjoying what the hotel has to offer. November 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the best hotels in California Beautiful hotel, great surroundings, great beaches. November 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fabulous but can stand some improvements Wifi and cell phone reception is lousy. Lights in room are only good enough to read in the bathroom October 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Did not disappoint We've wanted to stay at this property for a number of years and took the opportunity when we recently returned to the area. The hotel is beautifully designed and services have been very well thought out. October 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wedding at St. regis We had a small wedding at st. Regis last Sat, Oct 18th, 2014. everything was good. there are some mistakes in cake. they gave us wrong cake flavor for wedding. and the food was so cold when they serve it. we supposed to get complimentary tea and coffee by the table, but most of our guests didn't receive this service. We asked for garden view room for our parents, but they had a view of stairs. our suit supposed to be ocean view, but the only thing we didn't see was ocean ;-) October 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel with subpar service My husband and I celebrated our 1-year wedding anniversary at the St. Regis Monarch Beach this past weekend. It's a beautiful location and Stonehill Tavern is delicious with great service, but the hotel's service leaves much to be desired, especially for a 5-star luxury hotel. I should have realized customer service is not the top priority when I emailed the Butler services twice with the same question a few weeks before our stay and received NO response (the second time was to follow up a week after my initial email). I then reached out to the concierge and received a response quickly (phew!). I pushed my worries aside and figured things would be better when we arrived. We arrived late on a Friday -- everything went smoothly with our check-in, and there was a lovely bottle of champagne waiting for us in the room along with a rose and note for our anniversary. Thank you!! After that, the service went downhill. It was far from the service you'd expect of a regular hotel, much less the top-notch service you'd expect of a luxury hotel -- some examples of the service shortcomings are as follows: 1. They didn't clean our room until we asked them to at 5:30 pm (we had left the room from about 12 pm-5 pm so there was ample opportunity). 2. We asked them to fix a clicking noise we heard repeatedly at night (disrupting my sleep) and, though they said an engineer would stop by as long as our do not disturb was not on (it was not), no one came. And there was no follow up. I mentioned this while checking out, and the front desk woman (who was great -- check in and check out were easy) offered us an apology as well as a minor credit on our account for the inconvenience. 3. The pool staff was not attentive. It took my husband multiple attempts to receive the menus. And then even more attempts so that he could finally place an order. 4. Continuing with #3, the pool staff went out of their way to fulfill a food/drink order for the woman sitting ahead of us and, when my husband made a similar request (after inquiring what it was she had ordered), the staff implied it would be difficult and instead brought over the easier alternative. 5. We were eager to enjoy the sunset champagne saber; the waitress took so long to bring us a menu that we didn't receive them till well after the toast. And she then complained to us that she's too busy. Ultimately, there was never a feeling that we were a priority or that the staff was interested in even meeting the bare minimum for our visit (and we're SPG Gold so definitely loyal to Starwood as leisure travelers). I was hoping we'd love our experience so much that we'd come here for our anniversary annually -- from this stay, I can guarantee we won't be back and will not be recommending the St. Regis Monarch beach to our friends. October 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Experience of our life We stay in the suite with our service butler Bill and had the time of our life. The view was outstanding. All the restaurants we dined in were fabulous. Room service and maid service was great. Everyone in the hotel was very accommodating. We only live 10 miles from the hotel but I felt like we were in Maui. October 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staffing The accommodations are excellent, and I commend your Butler, Michael for his attitude of service. October 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A "First Class" resort This hotel is truly a gem. The comfortably stylish junior suite added to the overall enjoyment! The entire staff from start to finish went well beyond expectations in courtesy & assistance. The most unexpected joy was the Butler Service. Simply Great! The convenience of the shuttle service too & from the beautiful private beach was phenomenal; food, an added plus, at the Monarch Bay Club on the beach was super. Based on total assessment, this place is just pretty darn hard to beat. October 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Food and Beverage The single feature that downgraded this facility was the pervasive culture of indifference in the pool, restaurant and bar - food and beverage. Bartenders moving like a herd or snails, servers talking rather than serving, attendants gazing into the distance and meals a 2 - 2 1/2 hour grind. Exception - Sunday brunch crew - exceptional leadership & service. October 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel & awesome beach We loved our recent stay here. It was so nice and relaxing. The staff was wonderful, helpful and recognized our special anniversary. We loved the quiet and accessibility of Monarch Beach as well. Would stay again for sure! October 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great, if not over the top Great 2 night stay here coming down from LA. The hotel is a bit garish (not necessarily our style), but the stay was pleasant and we were well taken care of. Stonehill Tavern was amazing; other food options just so-so. October 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wow! Incredible Hands down the best hotel I've ever stayed at. Room was magnificent, comfortable, and luxurious. The spa, pool, and view of the ocean were top notch. Staff was outstanding. Great, great work! October 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing Getaway Annivesary The staff made our anniversary trip and they must be commended. Pool attendants were on top of their game ( Especially Whitney and Ivan) Everyone seemed interested in making our stay a memorable experience. We were slightly upgraded on our room because it was our anniversary. Thanks to the Front Desk. Facilities were excellent and I would highly recommend attending. Only a few minor criticisms that I am not sure can be helped. Cell phone reception is very poor and I was told it was because the structure was so sound. Think mgmt. might look into some solutions if you plan on answering your phone. Also, there was a big group in town and pool tried to tell me they could not serve us a late lunch. We worked that out pretty quick. golf course was a little oversold and I choose not to play since it looked to be in poor shape. They flooded it as I believe they were overseeding. Seems important to let people know this prior to booking if that was your main activity. I did not play as a result. Other than those minor things the resort is great and the people even better. October 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wiliam Killingsworth You staff in general is excellent and the best there is. William was out standing, made us feel very very special. Please keep people like him around as long as you can, October 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing family time We loved it at the St.Regis! The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are amazing. Butler Mike went above & beyond to make our stay most memorable! Our boys loved the hot chocolate & personal robes & slippers provided by our butler. We had a wonderful time & can't wait to come back! October 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by BAD NEWS COULD NOT BELIEVE CHARGING TO PARK, ROOM FEES, AND HOW HIGH RESTURANT PRICES WERE October 4, 2014
  • 2015-05-26T20:17:18.793-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_692, tr_692
  • loc_en_US, sid_1361, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 24 next>>