The St. Regis Monarch Beach

  • One Monarch Beach Resort
  • Dana Point,
  • California
  • 92629
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 701 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by A "First Class" resort This hotel is truly a gem. The comfortably stylish junior suite added to the overall enjoyment! The entire staff from start to finish went well beyond expectations in courtesy & assistance. The most unexpected joy was the Butler Service. Simply Great! The convenience of the shuttle service too & from the beautiful private beach was phenomenal; food, an added plus, at the Monarch Bay Club on the beach was super. Based on total assessment, this place is just pretty darn hard to beat. October 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Food and Beverage The single feature that downgraded this facility was the pervasive culture of indifference in the pool, restaurant and bar - food and beverage. Bartenders moving like a herd or snails, servers talking rather than serving, attendants gazing into the distance and meals a 2 - 2 1/2 hour grind. Exception - Sunday brunch crew - exceptional leadership & service. October 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel & awesome beach We loved our recent stay here. It was so nice and relaxing. The staff was wonderful, helpful and recognized our special anniversary. We loved the quiet and accessibility of Monarch Beach as well. Would stay again for sure! October 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great, if not over the top Great 2 night stay here coming down from LA. The hotel is a bit garish (not necessarily our style), but the stay was pleasant and we were well taken care of. Stonehill Tavern was amazing; other food options just so-so. October 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wow! Incredible Hands down the best hotel I've ever stayed at. Room was magnificent, comfortable, and luxurious. The spa, pool, and view of the ocean were top notch. Staff was outstanding. Great, great work! October 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing Getaway Annivesary The staff made our anniversary trip and they must be commended. Pool attendants were on top of their game ( Especially Whitney and Ivan) Everyone seemed interested in making our stay a memorable experience. We were slightly upgraded on our room because it was our anniversary. Thanks to the Front Desk. Facilities were excellent and I would highly recommend attending. Only a few minor criticisms that I am not sure can be helped. Cell phone reception is very poor and I was told it was because the structure was so sound. Think mgmt. might look into some solutions if you plan on answering your phone. Also, there was a big group in town and pool tried to tell me they could not serve us a late lunch. We worked that out pretty quick. golf course was a little oversold and I choose not to play since it looked to be in poor shape. They flooded it as I believe they were overseeding. Seems important to let people know this prior to booking if that was your main activity. I did not play as a result. Other than those minor things the resort is great and the people even better. October 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wiliam Killingsworth You staff in general is excellent and the best there is. William was out standing, made us feel very very special. Please keep people like him around as long as you can, October 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing family time We loved it at the St.Regis! The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are amazing. Butler Mike went above & beyond to make our stay most memorable! Our boys loved the hot chocolate & personal robes & slippers provided by our butler. We had a wonderful time & can't wait to come back! October 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by BAD NEWS COULD NOT BELIEVE CHARGING TO PARK, ROOM FEES, AND HOW HIGH RESTURANT PRICES WERE October 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Business Event The hotel did a great job of hosting the large event I attended. We had great weather and a wonderful stay. October 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic place to relax Beautiful hotel, great service, fantastic place to relax. Loved the pool area and the beach, both are great! September 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Why Hotels Don't Understand Luxury This is a clear example of how we have bastardized the term luxury. There were ten pillows in my room. There was an 800 pound mirror next to the desk that made it impossible to get to electrical outlets--I have to move to a stool to write on my computer. I couldn't plug my phone into the outlet near my bed because I couldn't get to it and it was completely occupied anyway. But the big issue is this: This hotel does not offer complementary in-room coffee. They will bring a coffee "service" to your room at a charge of $32.00. I don't know about other luxury clients but this one want to make her own coffee in the morning and not have to deal with a waiter, signing a bill, answering questions in my pajamas BEFORE I have had a cup of coffee. One of my colleagues called it barbaric. Now trust me this hotel LOOKS like luxury or at least the concept of luxury that developers think luxury looks like. It's got eight fountains going after a 4-year drought in California that has turned the landscape brown. It has a grand lobby. The rooms have too many pillows, nice linens, big time TV, nice decor. But the place is possibly the worst layout of a hotel I have ever seen. Good luck finding your way around. Bottom Line: I wouldn't stay there unless I had to--which was the case as I was a guest of a corporation. September 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Drought Damage The facility was excellent. The golf course was in rough shape do to drought I would assume. There was also an extended delay to get started and the rental clubs were sold out. Other than that everything was over the top. GREAT Food!!! September 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Weekend Getaway The St. Regis experience is difficult to express in words. You have to be there to understand what total decompression and relaxation is all about. The St. Regis goes above and beyond your wildest dreams to make your stay as comfortable and memorable as possible. We canceled our off property dinner the second night because we did not want to leave our sheltered oasis. This was our second stay at the St. Regis and we were flattered by how many people remember your face and name. We remembered them also. Like Chancey the Gardner put it, "Being There "is an experience you will always remember and wanting to come back for more. Thank You St. Regis staff! September 17, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by sprinklers A bride hung her dress on a sprinkler which broke at 4am and flooded a floor and made the entire hotel evacuate at 4am for 40 min. The staff did make sure we were all safe. However the next day there was no - sorry for the inconvenience, here's a cup of coffee. Just a note saying that it was an mistake. We also had dinner at the nicest restaurant on the property. We were sat at 8.30, each guest ordered one appetizer and an entree, the entrees didn't arrive until 10.30pm.... and there was little drink service. We were exhausted by the time dinner finished. Odd service for such a high end brand September 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Luxury stay Five star service and tasteful and luxurious décor! September 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice stay I would have given all categories excellent except we were not pleased with the location of our room. View was nice , but our room was located above the weddings and corporate party staging area so setup and tear down was very noisy. :( September 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel has tremendously gone down. They need to train their front desk staff. At the end of our 2 night stay, we figured that we have to tell our requests to 3 different employees and confirm 2 times to make sure our requests were done. Seemed like going to work not a weekend gateway. Towels need to be upgraded. Hotel overall needs a lot of help. September 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Destination My wife and I like coming here and relaxing away from the kids. Unfortunately this visit we were waken by fire alarms going off at 3am multiple times. Everyone in the hotel was confused if they should evacuate given there was no announcements until almost 1 hour later and only 5 people on staff in the entire hotel. I'd recommend they review their procedures. The golf course also took over 5.5 hours and the fairways were terrible as they get ready for reseeding. We still like this destination but got unlucky on timing. September 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Experience Friendly and helpful staff. Very comfortable room. Beauritul views. Very pleasing stay. September 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Needs work Stayed at the hotel for 5 days from Sep 2 thru Sep 6 for work gathering. Service was not good (Butler, pool, restaurant). First day they did not have Rum at the pool. Everyday was toture waiting for room or butler service. Pool and restaurant service was subpar for this resort and took way too long - forgot about us on numerous occassions. September 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by labor day We had a good stay. The only thing you need to work on is the line at the beach. This is the third year I have stayed at the resort so it shouldn't be a surprise that you need extra transportation for that weekend. Cant you just rent a couple of vans or carts for that weekend? September 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super It was truly incredible to have every desire anticipated by your staff. The food was amazing. The chefs that taught the cooking class were easy to understand and lots of fun. The thoughtfulness and care of the staff was beyond words. There was not a door in the entire resort that I had to open for myself. Thank you so much for an unbelievable experience. August 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mrs Great customer service awesome restorants August 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay My stay was great in this superb facility. 1st class all the way. August 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing hotel with average service We have stayed at the St Regis in Dana Point several times and have always very much enjoyed our time in and around the property. The room and bed are extremely comfortable (we paid for a pool/ocean view) however we seemed to have an abundance of children on our floor along with parents that are not very conscientious of other guests (Issue 1). Overall, it was fine but would have been great to be located on a floor or wing with limited families as we were traveling without our four kids (we did discuss, unsuccessfully, with the front desk). The quality of the hotel and the effort put forth by the entire staff is quite high. Although the service effort is high, the actual execution is average (Issue 2). With several very young adults in critical customer service roles, the service often feels disingenuous and lacking experience. I was also surprised that the beautiful lawn between the hotel and the pool had several dead spots and did not look very healthy (Issue 3; perhaps drought-related water restrictions?). Lastly, we had an incident with the Valet where someone else actually was given our rental car (Issue 4). After waiting for a good 20-30 minutes, we found out that they were unable to find our vehicle. At this point, we were late for our evening engagement and had to suggest to the Valet Captain that we take a cab and the hotel pay for it (which they did). The worst part of the entire experience was the conversation we had with the Manager on Duty upon our return to the hotel later that evening. He was non-apologetic and didn't really own the issue. Although he ultimately removed our daily parking charge from our bill, which was appreciated, he very easily could have turned the whole experience into a positive but missed his opportunity. I should add that he also had a bottle of champagne (which we don't drink) and chocolates sent to the room the next day. In the end, the Valet Captain was, again, very apologetic the next day. All in all, we still very much enjoyed our stay and will likely return; however, we may give the hotel on the other side of the Pacific Coast Highway a try. August 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nickel and Dime Atmosphere! This was the 3rd time I have stayed at the property since it opened and I must say, unless drastic changes are made, it was my final stay. My wife and I were celebrating our 18th wedding anniversary and while there was a nice gift and attention to detail from the staff on recognizing the event, in so many ways, the rest of the stay fell short. The chaos at check-in was not typical for an SPG property. There was a line 10 deep and the entire process, while fast for our reservation, was quite slow overall. The vibe in the lobby was stale at best. There was no music, live or recorded, and the are seemed sterile and unwelcome this weekend. The room was disappointing in many ways. The room I reserved was referred to as a Luxury Ocean View but the view was more of the golf course and a service road. This was not really what I would consider a true ocean view but a partial ocean view and I felt a bit mislead, especially for the $650 pre-pay rate I paid. The room was also left extremely hot and the entire 2 days the A/C was struggling to cool down the room. I also could not understand why the TV failed to include local TV stations?? Stonehill Tavern was a great restaurant and we enjoyed the dinner and service we had there Friday night. We also felt that the staff and vibe of the Monarch Beach Club was professional and attentive. The spa, while in need of updating (steam room broken, and the lounge still had a "boom box" radio??) offered a great service --kudos to the masseuse. However, to not have coffee available in the lobby is not on par with other properties who would be competitive to this facility. The only way to get a cup of coffee was to wait in line in the lobby cafe, despite being told by an employee that we could call "Butler Service" and avoid the long lines to be had. When I tried that, I was told that our room (again, an upgraded Luxury Suite, or so I thought) did NOT include the service and that I would need to call for regular room service -- again, nothing special about that option. So many possibilities with a property this way but overall, the facility seemed dated and faded, in need of some work and updating. The fountains were broken or shut down due to the drought(?) and the carpets seemed dirty and falling loose. In order for us to revisit the hotel, we would need to know there was a major change in management and that the facility was invested in updates. August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Luxurious The SRMB property is gorgeous, from the lobby entrance to the golf course and everything in between. At times it felt a bit *too* stuffy, not exactly a laid back vacation resort. That said, attention to every detail big and small made this a wonderful experience for me on a business trip. August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing work weekend Great loccation to get away and feel relaxed when leaving ... August 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by St Regis Review The staff was nice but not on top of their game. Upon check in, we were sent in the opposite direction creating a 30 minute hunt down hallways looking for our room. We passed two hotel employees who couldn't help us either and finally suggested we go back to the lobby and have someone there help us. Uninformed employees seemed to be prevalent. The women at the coffee shop didn't seem to know what a small cup of coffee means. Each time, she reached for the largest, most expensive choice when I clearly articulated my desire for a small cup. On the first day, I waited for an extended period of time while one employee attended the many needs of the guest in front of me while two other employees stood behind the counter talking to each other ignoring me and the line forming behind me. Someone behind me finally interrupted their conversation and got them to do their job. The overall bummer - the maze of rights and lefts required to find elevators and rooms. The hotel has really poor signage so directing oneself around is a real guessing game. Biggest problem: Our room is on the 3rd floor and the lobby is on the 5th floor. In others words - up to the lobby, down to our room. We lost count of the amount of times we did the exact opposite due to habit of going down to a lobby and up to a room. Was disappointed in the lack of shops and lack of selection. Regarding decor, average building, okay grounds but nothing special. The pool by the spa - no service the entire 3 hours my wife and I were there. Not even someone pouring water. When I add all this up, the only semblance of luxury here is the price of the room, the cost of the food and the white gloves the hotel staff wears. But underneath that, I would not put this hotel in a luxury classification. I've had much better stays at W's, Westins and Sheratons. August 24, 2014
  • 2015-08-31T09:54:41.307-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_701, tr_701
  • loc_en_US, sid_1361, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 25 next>>