The St. Regis Monarch Beach

  • One Monarch Beach Resort
  • Dana Point,
  • California
  • 92629
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 709 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has great facilities This hotel is in a great location and has wonderful facilities. My only regret is that I did not spend more time enjoying what the hotel has to offer. November 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the best hotels in California Beautiful hotel, great surroundings, great beaches. November 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fabulous but can stand some improvements Wifi and cell phone reception is lousy. Lights in room are only good enough to read in the bathroom October 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Did not disappoint We've wanted to stay at this property for a number of years and took the opportunity when we recently returned to the area. The hotel is beautifully designed and services have been very well thought out. October 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wedding at St. regis We had a small wedding at st. Regis last Sat, Oct 18th, 2014. everything was good. there are some mistakes in cake. they gave us wrong cake flavor for wedding. and the food was so cold when they serve it. we supposed to get complimentary tea and coffee by the table, but most of our guests didn't receive this service. We asked for garden view room for our parents, but they had a view of stairs. our suit supposed to be ocean view, but the only thing we didn't see was ocean ;-) October 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel with subpar service My husband and I celebrated our 1-year wedding anniversary at the St. Regis Monarch Beach this past weekend. It's a beautiful location and Stonehill Tavern is delicious with great service, but the hotel's service leaves much to be desired, especially for a 5-star luxury hotel. I should have realized customer service is not the top priority when I emailed the Butler services twice with the same question a few weeks before our stay and received NO response (the second time was to follow up a week after my initial email). I then reached out to the concierge and received a response quickly (phew!). I pushed my worries aside and figured things would be better when we arrived. We arrived late on a Friday -- everything went smoothly with our check-in, and there was a lovely bottle of champagne waiting for us in the room along with a rose and note for our anniversary. Thank you!! After that, the service went downhill. It was far from the service you'd expect of a regular hotel, much less the top-notch service you'd expect of a luxury hotel -- some examples of the service shortcomings are as follows: 1. They didn't clean our room until we asked them to at 5:30 pm (we had left the room from about 12 pm-5 pm so there was ample opportunity). 2. We asked them to fix a clicking noise we heard repeatedly at night (disrupting my sleep) and, though they said an engineer would stop by as long as our do not disturb was not on (it was not), no one came. And there was no follow up. I mentioned this while checking out, and the front desk woman (who was great -- check in and check out were easy) offered us an apology as well as a minor credit on our account for the inconvenience. 3. The pool staff was not attentive. It took my husband multiple attempts to receive the menus. And then even more attempts so that he could finally place an order. 4. Continuing with #3, the pool staff went out of their way to fulfill a food/drink order for the woman sitting ahead of us and, when my husband made a similar request (after inquiring what it was she had ordered), the staff implied it would be difficult and instead brought over the easier alternative. 5. We were eager to enjoy the sunset champagne saber; the waitress took so long to bring us a menu that we didn't receive them till well after the toast. And she then complained to us that she's too busy. Ultimately, there was never a feeling that we were a priority or that the staff was interested in even meeting the bare minimum for our visit (and we're SPG Gold so definitely loyal to Starwood as leisure travelers). I was hoping we'd love our experience so much that we'd come here for our anniversary annually -- from this stay, I can guarantee we won't be back and will not be recommending the St. Regis Monarch beach to our friends. October 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Experience of our life We stay in the suite with our service butler Bill and had the time of our life. The view was outstanding. All the restaurants we dined in were fabulous. Room service and maid service was great. Everyone in the hotel was very accommodating. We only live 10 miles from the hotel but I felt like we were in Maui. October 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staffing The accommodations are excellent, and I commend your Butler, Michael for his attitude of service. October 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A "First Class" resort This hotel is truly a gem. The comfortably stylish junior suite added to the overall enjoyment! The entire staff from start to finish went well beyond expectations in courtesy & assistance. The most unexpected joy was the Butler Service. Simply Great! The convenience of the shuttle service too & from the beautiful private beach was phenomenal; food, an added plus, at the Monarch Bay Club on the beach was super. Based on total assessment, this place is just pretty darn hard to beat. October 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Food and Beverage The single feature that downgraded this facility was the pervasive culture of indifference in the pool, restaurant and bar - food and beverage. Bartenders moving like a herd or snails, servers talking rather than serving, attendants gazing into the distance and meals a 2 - 2 1/2 hour grind. Exception - Sunday brunch crew - exceptional leadership & service. October 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel & awesome beach We loved our recent stay here. It was so nice and relaxing. The staff was wonderful, helpful and recognized our special anniversary. We loved the quiet and accessibility of Monarch Beach as well. Would stay again for sure! October 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great, if not over the top Great 2 night stay here coming down from LA. The hotel is a bit garish (not necessarily our style), but the stay was pleasant and we were well taken care of. Stonehill Tavern was amazing; other food options just so-so. October 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wow! Incredible Hands down the best hotel I've ever stayed at. Room was magnificent, comfortable, and luxurious. The spa, pool, and view of the ocean were top notch. Staff was outstanding. Great, great work! October 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing Getaway Annivesary The staff made our anniversary trip and they must be commended. Pool attendants were on top of their game ( Especially Whitney and Ivan) Everyone seemed interested in making our stay a memorable experience. We were slightly upgraded on our room because it was our anniversary. Thanks to the Front Desk. Facilities were excellent and I would highly recommend attending. Only a few minor criticisms that I am not sure can be helped. Cell phone reception is very poor and I was told it was because the structure was so sound. Think mgmt. might look into some solutions if you plan on answering your phone. Also, there was a big group in town and pool tried to tell me they could not serve us a late lunch. We worked that out pretty quick. golf course was a little oversold and I choose not to play since it looked to be in poor shape. They flooded it as I believe they were overseeding. Seems important to let people know this prior to booking if that was your main activity. I did not play as a result. Other than those minor things the resort is great and the people even better. October 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wiliam Killingsworth You staff in general is excellent and the best there is. William was out standing, made us feel very very special. Please keep people like him around as long as you can, October 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing family time We loved it at the St.Regis! The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are amazing. Butler Mike went above & beyond to make our stay most memorable! Our boys loved the hot chocolate & personal robes & slippers provided by our butler. We had a wonderful time & can't wait to come back! October 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Business Event The hotel did a great job of hosting the large event I attended. We had great weather and a wonderful stay. October 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic place to relax Beautiful hotel, great service, fantastic place to relax. Loved the pool area and the beach, both are great! September 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Why Hotels Don't Understand Luxury This is a clear example of how we have bastardized the term luxury. There were ten pillows in my room. There was an 800 pound mirror next to the desk that made it impossible to get to electrical outlets--I have to move to a stool to write on my computer. I couldn't plug my phone into the outlet near my bed because I couldn't get to it and it was completely occupied anyway. But the big issue is this: This hotel does not offer complementary in-room coffee. They will bring a coffee "service" to your room at a charge of $32.00. I don't know about other luxury clients but this one want to make her own coffee in the morning and not have to deal with a waiter, signing a bill, answering questions in my pajamas BEFORE I have had a cup of coffee. One of my colleagues called it barbaric. Now trust me this hotel LOOKS like luxury or at least the concept of luxury that developers think luxury looks like. It's got eight fountains going after a 4-year drought in California that has turned the landscape brown. It has a grand lobby. The rooms have too many pillows, nice linens, big time TV, nice decor. But the place is possibly the worst layout of a hotel I have ever seen. Good luck finding your way around. Bottom Line: I wouldn't stay there unless I had to--which was the case as I was a guest of a corporation. September 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Drought Damage The facility was excellent. The golf course was in rough shape do to drought I would assume. There was also an extended delay to get started and the rental clubs were sold out. Other than that everything was over the top. GREAT Food!!! September 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Weekend Getaway The St. Regis experience is difficult to express in words. You have to be there to understand what total decompression and relaxation is all about. The St. Regis goes above and beyond your wildest dreams to make your stay as comfortable and memorable as possible. We canceled our off property dinner the second night because we did not want to leave our sheltered oasis. This was our second stay at the St. Regis and we were flattered by how many people remember your face and name. We remembered them also. Like Chancey the Gardner put it, "Being There "is an experience you will always remember and wanting to come back for more. Thank You St. Regis staff! September 17, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by sprinklers A bride hung her dress on a sprinkler which broke at 4am and flooded a floor and made the entire hotel evacuate at 4am for 40 min. The staff did make sure we were all safe. However the next day there was no - sorry for the inconvenience, here's a cup of coffee. Just a note saying that it was an mistake. We also had dinner at the nicest restaurant on the property. We were sat at 8.30, each guest ordered one appetizer and an entree, the entrees didn't arrive until 10.30pm.... and there was little drink service. We were exhausted by the time dinner finished. Odd service for such a high end brand September 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Luxury stay Five star service and tasteful and luxurious décor! September 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice stay I would have given all categories excellent except we were not pleased with the location of our room. View was nice , but our room was located above the weddings and corporate party staging area so setup and tear down was very noisy. :( September 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel has tremendously gone down. They need to train their front desk staff. At the end of our 2 night stay, we figured that we have to tell our requests to 3 different employees and confirm 2 times to make sure our requests were done. Seemed like going to work not a weekend gateway. Towels need to be upgraded. Hotel overall needs a lot of help. September 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Destination My wife and I like coming here and relaxing away from the kids. Unfortunately this visit we were waken by fire alarms going off at 3am multiple times. Everyone in the hotel was confused if they should evacuate given there was no announcements until almost 1 hour later and only 5 people on staff in the entire hotel. I'd recommend they review their procedures. The golf course also took over 5.5 hours and the fairways were terrible as they get ready for reseeding. We still like this destination but got unlucky on timing. September 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Experience Friendly and helpful staff. Very comfortable room. Beauritul views. Very pleasing stay. September 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Needs work Stayed at the hotel for 5 days from Sep 2 thru Sep 6 for work gathering. Service was not good (Butler, pool, restaurant). First day they did not have Rum at the pool. Everyday was toture waiting for room or butler service. Pool and restaurant service was subpar for this resort and took way too long - forgot about us on numerous occassions. September 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by labor day We had a good stay. The only thing you need to work on is the line at the beach. This is the third year I have stayed at the resort so it shouldn't be a surprise that you need extra transportation for that weekend. Cant you just rent a couple of vans or carts for that weekend? September 2, 2014
  • 2015-11-24 T07:00:42.264-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_709, tr_709
  • loc_en_US, sid_1361, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 25 next>>