The St. Regis Monarch Beach

  • One Monarch Beach Resort
  • Dana Point,
  • California
  • 92629
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest registration and check-in is restricted to those 21 years of age or older with valid identification.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 678 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by A few problems during my 3-night stay from 11/24/11 to 11/27/11 1. Sound insulation was very bad: toilet and shower sound from other rooms could be heard very clearly. They became wake-up calls in unpredictable time every morning. 2. A service person rang the door bell at 9:30am, followed by knocking on the door, while my wife and I were still sleeping. 3. The room was not equipped with coffee maker, and they charged $25 for it per day. 4. The parking system is not convenient. Need to physically walk to the front of the hotel to get validation for the parking ticket before I could drive out. 5. They charged $25 per day for self parking, without any in-and-out privilege. November 30, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nice place bad attitude I'm completing a preferred level # of visits for 2013 and thought this would be a nice treat for my birthday. It ended up being a lesson in lowered expectations. Hotel itself and rooms where as expected for a St Regis. What was severely lacking was the level of customer service and preferred level treatment. My stay started with a snobby front desk personnel with no hospitality. I would have been satisfied with the expected basic level of service at a lower star level hotel in spg, which would have beat this "St Regis". If I had to do over again I would have used my time and money ($$$$) at another chain that would treat me better as a preferred frequent client. Disappointed December 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing stay at the Monarch Beach property This is a nice property in a great location. Stayed for one night and was booked into an Executive Suite room. The reason for my disappointment is based on two specific items. First, our view was impaired by a large, cargo/moving truck that was parked immediately outside of our room, giving the experience a "motel-on-the-interstate" feel. This remained for the entire stay. Two, the staff had assured me that they would move it on our first night, but never actually moved the truck. When asked about this at check-out the reception desk was apathetic and obstinate. This was pretty surprising as my stays at the San Fran and Washington DC St. Regis properties have been very nice. March 18, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Overall, Staff were awful We returned this weekend from 5 nights at the St Regis Monarch Beach with our kids. The hotel is nice and the room was wonderful, but the staff needs a lot of work. The housekeeping staff was very hardworking and friendly, but otherwise, the staff left much to be desired. From the check in clerk to the bellman to the restaurant staff, everyone seemed annoyed to be working. Few were friendly or helpful. The hotel caters to large groups and weddings and as a result everyone else seems to get overlooked. We have stayed in many luxury hotels and we have come to expect much more from this level of hotel. I hope the hotel will spend some time training their employees on customer service. A smile would go a long way. July 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very bad service very nice hotel but VERY stuffy Staff made us feel like we were doing them a favor by staying there Room service trays were in the hall for 2 days with staff walking by them all day Even asked a staff member about it and it was still there the next day December 2, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wedding at St. regis We had a small wedding at st. Regis last Sat, Oct 18th, 2014. everything was good. there are some mistakes in cake. they gave us wrong cake flavor for wedding. and the food was so cold when they serve it. we supposed to get complimentary tea and coffee by the table, but most of our guests didn't receive this service. We asked for garden view room for our parents, but they had a view of stairs. our suit supposed to be ocean view, but the only thing we didn't see was ocean ;-) October 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by The staff did not recognize my gold status I have been to this Hotel at least 6 times and have kept returning. This time, as a Gold Status, I could not obtain an upgrade or extended check out time (1 hour only). This is my last trip to this great resort. September 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the best hotels in California Beautiful hotel, great surroundings, great beaches. November 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Disappointing service This was our fifth stay at the St. Regis. The hotel and facilities do not disappoint. The check in staff are friendly and efficient. However, when we went to the lounge area adjacent to the bar to have some evening snacks, we were severely let down. Having waited ten minutes I approached one of the four or five servers that were on the floor and requested a menu. She gave me one. I sat back down. I must add that the area was not busy or I would have been more understanding of such dismal service. We waited a further twenty minutes while servers walked right by our empty table and it was only when we stood up to go that one server asked did we need anything. Very very disappointed. January 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Spectacular meeting location Every experience I had with the staff at the St. Regis was above and beyond expectations. They should teach a master class in customer service. November 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Only the finest! Amazing first class staff and accomodations! Beautiful grounds make it like a paradise. Keep up the great hospitality and perfection! November 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Customer Service 2nd to None This hotel exceeded my expectations. Staff were beyond hospitable and I was amazed at how attentive housekeeping was. November 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Enjoyable visit The staff made a business meeting feel like a vacation so my hats off to the staff November 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing atmosphere, Our room was awesome, beautiful patio and all around 1st rate!!!! November 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great property This is a great property, very comfortable with excellent amenities. Room was nice and very comfortable. Service was good, although the butler never gave us orientation that was promised. Monarch beach club was a real perk. Golf course was a real treat. My only real criticism was that I had booked suite several months in advance and used the Elite concierge to request a high floor with a good view, and was told that since I was platinum my request would likely be honored. I nstead upon check in front desk gave us first floor with little view. When I protested she told us it was our problem since we checked in late. This was despite the fact I called the hotel twice once before we boarded our 5 hour flight that we would be checking in late. Due to a lost bag and LA traffice we arrived about 7 pm and was told all 4th & 5th floor suites with nice views weref fully committed. When I explained we had booked room with elite concierge we were told to try to check in earlier next time. I am quite unhappy about this and feel that the Elite program and Platinum status sometimes is not as advertised. This was handled quite poorly and I will think twice about using the concierge again for booking or requests since thye have no clout at all. August 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel has tremendously gone down. They need to train their front desk staff. At the end of our 2 night stay, we figured that we have to tell our requests to 3 different employees and confirm 2 times to make sure our requests were done. Seemed like going to work not a weekend gateway. Towels need to be upgraded. Hotel overall needs a lot of help. September 15, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a cut above Our family tried this property hoping to find a nice staycation property close to home. While this is a lovely property it is hardly worth the price to value, and high category SPG rating. Having stayed in Starwood and non-Starwood properties of various categories, there is nothing distinguishing of this compared to any other brand hotel in a major city or resort property. When comparing to other luxury properties in the area, sadly the gem of the Starwood program in soCal falls short. Examples- 1-No Preferred status greeting upon arrival. In fact, the front desk was understaffed (one person) for our Saturday arrival, thus we waited 5 minutes. 2-Newspaper deliver request-asked for LA Times, got New York Times. 3-Complimentary beverage-Ordered a Chimay from the memu only to be informed by the bartender they dont carry it any more. No accomodation. 4-No in room coffee maker, only room service or rent a coffee maker for $25. Even a category 1 SPG property will provide you in room coffee....and what is so "high end" about having to wait for a butler to bring you a of coffee if I want it now? 5-Valet Parking Fee is not included in the Resort Fee. And Self Parking has no in-out priveldges. Luxury brand should be about service, service, service. Here, however one gets lost in the crowd. November 28, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room Service Horrible & Little Platinum Member Recognition Location = What you would expect from Dana Point and near the beach. Meets St. Regis Standards as far as location is concerned. Service = Marginal at best. Was so promising until I got to the front desk & my Plainum status was not recognized accordingly, the room that they gave us was so distant from good views that it was hard to believe that it was an "upgrade" - Even worse is that we were so close to Christmas that I could tell that there were plenty of empty rooms in more desirable locations, but none of them were made available to me despite staying at SPG hotels over 60 nights this year. ROOM SERVICE = EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTING - JUST DON'T DO IT! EXPENSIVE RESTAURANT PRICES FOR SUBPAR FOOD - THEY COULDN'T EVEN MAKE MY FISH & CHIPS CORRECTLY. Other Food & Beverage = Well, we paid over $50 for 2 sandwiches, 2 sides, and 2 drinks at their "crust" cafe during one of our afternoons and the sandwiches were decent, but the sides were subpar, and needless to say...EVERYTHING WAS WAY OVERPRICED Pool & Spa looked inviting, even though we didn't have a chance to get in as it was sub 40 degree temps during this time of year Fitness Center was not anywhere near St. Regis standards Overall, I would have loved to use my money elsewhere & will not recommend this particular St. Regis Hotel to any of my friends, nor use my rewards on this hotel moving forward... December 25, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Service is an issue They were undergoing renovations of the lobby and bar area and so these areas were closed during the renovation and we were not notified prior to arriving. Since we were having a family reunion there, these common areas were critical to our enjoyment of the hotel. It seemed they were understaffed. Service in the restaurant was amiable but very slow during the busy times. There were times during the afternoon where there was no pool service. The rooms were nice but plumbing was an issue: 3 of the rooms in our party had problems with their toilets. The setting is beautiful and the grounds are well-kept. The problem was that because the lobby closed, the only place to enjoy the view with several people was in a restaurant or outside and because it was fairly cool most of the time, outside wasn't much of an option. This will probably not be an issue for anyone staying after our stay since they were opening it back up the day we left, but my complaint is that we were not notified prior to arrriving. If we had, we may have still chosen the property, but made alternative plans to congregate. I think when you spend so much for a room, part of what you are paying for is the entire experience, which includes a nice lobby with seating and a comfortable bar. Overall, for a high-end hotel with a high-end price, I felt we only got a nice room and pretty setting for the price. December 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Memories.... The staff at St. Regis went above and beyond our expectations! It was so wonderful to wake in the morning to such beautiful views and the property is gorgeous! My husband in is a wheelchair and all of our needs were met, and we were able to get around with ease. The reservationist helped in more ways than I can say...he was an angel! When we arrived to our suite we were greeted with a bed of roses heart shaped and petals everywhere! I knew then we we going to have a very special stay...and we did! We also had A very memorable, fantastic meal at Stonehill Tavern... recommend the tasting menu! June 28, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible stay They wouldn't check us in. We arrived early and waited 5 hours at the pool with two small children. The only way we got our room was when I finally couldn't take it anymore and started complaining and then they finally have us a room at 5 pm! Who knows when we would of gotten the room if we didn't complain. And all they gave us was $50 credit!!!! This place is WAY over hyped! Would never ever stay here again!!!! I would think twice!!! Don't let the name fool you! It's all a gimic, a show!!!!!! Horrible!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The pool isn't even that nice! Been to way nicer hotels with better organization and service! I never write reviews ever! My first one ever but had to write how horrible it was! May 28, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Luxury Hotel - Bring your own coffee maker Great facility and room, but seemed like despite being a luxury hotel, they wanted to charge me for ordinary amenities as extra. There was no coffee maker in the room, and when I asked for one, I was told that would be another $25. Unheard of for a luxury hotel for something as basic as coffee. Staff seemed to be more interested in enforcing rules than ensuring a pleasurable experience January 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Service Needs Help We stayed here with our two young children, along with a connecting room for our nanny and her husband, who are in their mid-20's. The Good: The housekeeping manager was great and went the extra mile to go to the store and get some hypoallergenic was for the kids as my daughter had a skin reaction to the body wash. The valet guys were extremely friendly and helpful. The Bad: Our nanny and her husband were constantly questioned if they were staying at the hotel and what their room number was because they were young. We were embarrassed and had to keep apologizing for the hotel staff questioning them on their behalf. Ordering lunch at the pool took an hour for delivery and the food was subpar at best. My wife was talking to the valet guys that we were going to Disneyland for the day and they suggested we talk to concierge to get tickets. The concierge wouldn’t even acknowledge my wife directly and simply stated to the valet “well she can’t get them here; she needs to go to the Business Center”. He wouldn’t even leave his post to help her or show her to the Business Center. I thought this place was supposed to provide service? When I called down to concierge and asked for a recommendation for a fish restaurant in Dana Point that is reasonable and kid friendly, she chuckled at me and said “well we are in Dana Point…” What kind of answer is that? I know where I am…I’m staying at your hotel! St. Regis Butler Service, Allow Me does not exist here. I would not return for a family vacation July 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fabulous but can stand some improvements Wifi and cell phone reception is lousy. Lights in room are only good enough to read in the bathroom October 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Special details I have stopped my business travel so I did not expect the perks I was accustomed to in the past from SPG. When we arrived after having recieved a lovely email from our special contact Nevine, we were told we were upgraded! As we had friends meeting us for drinks we did not get to our room until 7:30 pm. When we opened the door the room was a magical place with roses and a special cake and champagne. In a corner view room!! The bed was so comfortable. For my man who was celebrating his 50th Bday and who has never experienced the St. Regis Service- it was a perfect night. We even pulled ourselves away from the perfect room to grab a wonderful meal and view/beach walk at the Monarch Club. A perfect stay cation!! June 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decline in service level I have stayed at this facility numerous times since it opened. I noticed a decline in service this time. My room was not available upon arrival. I had to wait until 5:30PM to receive my room key. I mean 4:00PM check is late already compared to most hotel, but 5:30PM check in is totaly unacceptable. Also, room service order took more than one full hour to deliver! January 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Did not disappoint We've wanted to stay at this property for a number of years and took the opportunity when we recently returned to the area. The hotel is beautifully designed and services have been very well thought out. October 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very disappointing My family and I stayed at this property for one night because it was the ONLY Starwood property in the area. We were visiting friends whom we hadn't seen in a long time. We thought it would be fun if they could come to the hotel for lunch and then all the kids could swim together while the adults chatted. The hotel was still very empty as it was noon on Friday and there were only two other tables seated. Nonetheless, the service was atrocious. The drinks took 15 min. to arrive and then trickled in one at a time. We were 10 feet from the bar and it still took 25 min. for my beer to arrive! It took another 15 min. for the appetizers to appear we repeatedly (about 8 times!) had to ask for things which hadn't been served. It was like we had to work for our lunch. Next we find that you cannot have guests at the pool-- even if there is NOBODY else there. I understand the no guest policy when it is crowded, but to not allow it at all EVER is just poor hospitality. We spent an enormous amount on lunch and would have continued to spend money on drinks. It is not as if they would have been disadvantaged. We even offered to pay a fee to use the pool for 2 hours, but they would not make any exceptions. They couldn't have cared less that we are SPG gold members and were unnecessarily rude in responding to our inquiries. The "gentleman" at the front dest was even haughty. The last straw was at check-out: I was waiting in line while my husband got the car. There was somebody coming down the line to help people with getting their bills printed out and offering drinks, a nice service when there is a line, but he totally ignored me! He helped the MAN in front of me and then assisted the MAN behind me, never bothering to ask if I was waiting. I guess he assumed I was with one of the MEN in line!! Totally unacceptable behavior!! I spoke up immediately and he apologized, but this should never have occured. I left the property feeling extremely offended and completely appalled at the terrible service we received. I will NEVER stay there again. November 20, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing service We experienced what I would call several small "hassles" that culminate in a poor service experience. We requested a quiet, remote room away from outside events and activities, and re-iterated this upon checkin. I got to the room to find 20 guys outside my patio setting up a huge tent and speakers. Lets try again and I had to call to be moved to the other side of the hotel. We couldn't access the internet because they had our name spelled incorrectly; trying to explain this to the employee that there was no issue in our equipment connecting...this was fine....that it was on their "authenticating" end was futile and she insisted on sending someone to our room because it must be us....the tech had to just give us a free passcode because we were connected fine as I stated and he could not resolve in our room. Our phone handset didn't work so we had to use the speaker phone; the tv checkout system wouldn't work either; my self parking ticket couldn't be validated and didn't work and my room key worked the first day only. The bed was very uncomfortable as you are sleeping in a hole - they don't flip, or fluff the mattresses or mattress pads. We rode the tram back from the beach, and asked to be let out near the golf club as our room was in the north wing and closer; another guest who was on our tram laughed when he saw us back in the hotel and informed us the tram driver was angry saying "we obviously weren't guests and shouldn't have picked us up" - Nice! The most irritating hassle however was the food offering hours. Typically the best hotels offer food all hours and we have never had so much trouble eating a nice snack or something small between 3-5 pm. The lobby lounge offers such snacks or bar food, but not until 5.....and the pool bar...typically the resource you would count on for this doesn't serve food during the afternoon hours -RIDICULOUS. Your only choice is to go to the sit-down restaurant or room service. Their morning snack place, Crush doesn't remotely cut it by late afternoon unless you want m&m's or a tired muffin. Overall, we found the experience one hassle after another. January 21, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel is an spg participant This hotel participates in the spg program, but they do not have to adhere to the typical upgrades one might be accustomed to if they are platinum spg members. The room upgrades are at the discretion of the resort, and they try to upcharge any type of room upgrade. December 27, 2011
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 24 next>>