The St. Regis Monarch Beach

  • One Monarch Beach Resort
  • Dana Point,
  • California
  • 92629
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest registration and check-in is restricted to those 21 years of age or older with valid identification.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 496 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a great hotel! This was our first stay at the St. Regis. We had a great time and were extremely impressed by the staff, amenities, restaurants and physical plant. I'd like to single out Ariel who checked us in and went out of her way to get us a larger room to accommodate our family- she was professional , courteous and went above and beyond! Also I'd single out Christopher who was our server at The Stone Tavern. What a tremendous job he did in making recommendations, making sure our children were well taken care of- doing lots of little things that added up to one of our best dining experiences ever. Overall - a fantastic hotel resort- I am sure we will return! February 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Property One of the prettiest hotels in North America. Grounds and pool area are amazing. Frequent traveler (platinum status) and stay at many luxury hotels across all brands including Relais & Chateaux properties. Property is absolutely beautiful. Had amazing service at pool snack bar from Katie. She deserves recognition and a raise! Incredible service. Was visiting property using free night awards. Even though platinum status, our room was standard room overlooking side of resort (no pool view or ocean view). In fairness to hotel, it was very busy during the weekend, and am sure suites were limited, but got the impression that received no upgrade whatsoever (much less to suite) which was disappointing. Hotels need to treat its top level of loyal patrons with great rooms, hotel disappointed in this category, but otherwise very pleased with stay and will return. Spa facilities were excellent. I have also stayed at the Laguna Ritz which, too, is beautiful, but consider the St. Regis nicer between the two. November 19, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel is an spg participant This hotel participates in the spg program, but they do not have to adhere to the typical upgrades one might be accustomed to if they are platinum spg members. The room upgrades are at the discretion of the resort, and they try to upcharge any type of room upgrade. December 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing stay! The amazing experience started immediately when we arrived. Professional hands on assistance from exiting the car all the way to being escorted to our room. Check in was the most accommodating experience I have had anywhere. I made the mistake of sitting on our bed to check emails. I was asleep in 5 minutes. The pool, food and entire stay was perfect. Thank you! March 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel with fantastic staff The staff is so helpful and the hotel is beautiful (even in the rain). The butler service is over the top and the 3 different restaurants are lovely. The rooms are well decorated with excellent views of the ocean. I was concerned about being far from the ocean but there is a tram and the view doesn't feel far at all. Be sure to choose a room with an ocean view - it's just amazing. The beach restaurant is really fun. I can't wait to go back! March 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Disappointing service This was our fifth stay at the St. Regis. The hotel and facilities do not disappoint. The check in staff are friendly and efficient. However, when we went to the lounge area adjacent to the bar to have some evening snacks, we were severely let down. Having waited ten minutes I approached one of the four or five servers that were on the floor and requested a menu. She gave me one. I sat back down. I must add that the area was not busy or I would have been more understanding of such dismal service. We waited a further twenty minutes while servers walked right by our empty table and it was only when we stood up to go that one server asked did we need anything. Very very disappointed. January 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nice place bad attitude I'm completing a preferred level # of visits for 2013 and thought this would be a nice treat for my birthday. It ended up being a lesson in lowered expectations. Hotel itself and rooms where as expected for a St Regis. What was severely lacking was the level of customer service and preferred level treatment. My stay started with a snobby front desk personnel with no hospitality. I would have been satisfied with the expected basic level of service at a lower star level hotel in spg, which would have beat this "St Regis". If I had to do over again I would have used my time and money ($$$$) at another chain that would treat me better as a preferred frequent client. Disappointed December 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place St. Regis is fantastic place! March 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding What an outstanding experience staying at the St Regis. Your staff were all extremely professional and very polite. thank you, March 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A day at Monarch Beach Stayed here last week for just one day, our second visit to the resort, and had a great time even though the weather did not cooperate. Front desk allowed us to check in early (we arrived just before 1PM), and recognized our SPG Gold status and upgraded us to an Ocean View room. Considering the heavy fog kept us from the beach, having a view of the ocean and the golf course was a great substitute. Ate at the Monarch Bay Club restaurant twice: the food, service, and view there are always spectacular. October 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by The setting is beautful and the staff takes it to another level I truly enjoyed my recent stay at the St. Regis. The staff were beyond excellent and made all the difference. As a result, we extended our stay and added a room. I got great treatment from the point of my arrival with our bellman Matt. He took us to our room, got ice for my friend with a broken ankle, and was very engaging. When we decided to stay longer and add a room, we got exccwe got great support from Christopher who was so nice and kind. Thanks for making my friend have an anwesome birthday. December 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Customer Service! I am more than pleased to contribute a stellar review regarding your facility. I was recently part of the ITT Technical Institute group that stayed several days at your location and have never had a better experience staying at another hotel. Your staff is highly trained to provide the highest level of customer service. On numerous occasions your team exceeded my expectations. November 11, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor staff response to problems It took 4 days and 4 complaints to get the telephone in my room working. A hotel manager left a voice message about the problem, which I did not receive for 2 days until the phone was fixed. Service at breakfast was slow and unresponsive. At one breakfast I was served a bowl of oatmeal without a spoon, and one was not provided even after I asked. I ended up eating the oatmeal with my coffee spoon. The one saving grace was the housekeeping staff. The housekeeping service provided was some of the best I have received anywhere in the world. This outstanding service made the stay tolerable. February 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded my expectations! I have had the privilege to stay at numerous first-class hotels and resorts in the United States, but The St. Regis Monarch Beach was by far the finest resort that I have ever stayed at. The service that was provided by every member of your staff was impeccable! Thank you for such a wonderful experience! November 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful property, very friendly staff. I felt like a valued family member the entire time I was at this property. Every staff member I interacted with was friendly, helpful and pleasant to talk with. Every request was met with enthusiasm and fulfilled quickly and often beyond what I expected. While the main hotel is not even remotely a beachfront property, the hotel does have a private beach clubhouse that guests can visit by riding less than 10 minutes across hotel grounds in a fancy tram shuttle. Be aware the hotel does not have a free or low cost self parking option, so all guests with cars (which is likely 90% or more) are forced to valet park for a high price, which really adds up on a multiple night stay. I found this situation surprising since clearly they have the room on this sprawling, non-urban property to provide a self park option at a reasonable lower rate per night. December 8, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointing This hotel feels as if it caters to the group crowd and has no interest in individual guests or families. The hotel was a disappointment from check in until checkout. Although we requested early check in and booked through Amex Fine Hotels we were told emphatically that a room was not available. We headed to the pool area and waited 20 minutes to give our lunch order. The menu was uninspiring and the food by the pool was lousy.. After much cajoling at the front desk we were reluctantly given a room at 3 pm. I made 2 requests that the sofa bed be made up and with hypoallergenic pillows. One to the bell hop and one to the butler. Neither seemed to hear. There seems to be a complete lack of service or interest in the guest at this hotel. Breakfast the next morning was also uninspiring. The exercise room had no attendants. This hotel felt like an overpriced rip-off. March 21, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very nice hotel...but Very nice hotel...well situated...staff generally very friendly. That said, my wife had a white cover-up that was hanging in the bathroom and housekeeping must have taken it along with the towels when they cleaned the room. I reported it missing...and people could not have been less helpful. No one seemed to keep a record of my complaint. Each time I spoke to someone (and I tried 3 or 4 times) it was as if it was the first time I was logging the issue. I was told repeatedly that I would be contacted by someone and never was. Even during checkout I had to mention the issue again and they had no record of it. Very disappointing for a hotel of this calibre and cost. August 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Food While attending the St Regis for a conference we experienced banquet food that exceeded our expectations at every meal. The servers were plentiful, friendly and fantastically trained. We came away rested and feeling like royalty. Thank you, Banquet Captain! March 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful stay at the St. Regis again! My wife and I love this hotel. It is always a treat to stay there. The property is amazing both inside and out. The staff couldn't be more efficient and hospitable. March 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply AWESOME!!!! This was by far one of the best resorts that I have stayed at. Incredible service, immediate SPG Gold recognition and benefits, fabulous rooms, great food, fun activities for children. I loved the butler service offered to suite guests. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is interested in having a first class holiday. I cannot wait to return for a longer stay next summer. July 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Spectacular meeting location Every experience I had with the staff at the St. Regis was above and beyond expectations. They should teach a master class in customer service. November 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Only the finest! Amazing first class staff and accomodations! Beautiful grounds make it like a paradise. Keep up the great hospitality and perfection! November 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Customer Service 2nd to None This hotel exceeded my expectations. Staff were beyond hospitable and I was amazed at how attentive housekeeping was. November 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Enjoyable visit The staff made a business meeting feel like a vacation so my hats off to the staff November 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing atmosphere, Our room was awesome, beautiful patio and all around 1st rate!!!! November 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by St. Regis Monarch Beach This is a beautiful hotel. The rooms are very clean, comfortable and the bathrooms are large and lavish. The food and service is inconsistent in Stonehedge which is unfortunate because it is the better of the two restaurants on this property. March 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel needs to pay attention to details- This St. Regis is an old property that tries to be new and luxurious. I am here for a weekend getaway with my Girlfriend using Cash&Points for my stay. I was given an enhanced room for my Gold Status. The room was dated and the attention to details weren't visible. I found dust spots in several locations in the room, especially places that are often harder to clean. I found a piece of plastic wrapper right under my bed. I didn't call to complain because I didn't want to change rooms and affect my getaway with my girlfriend. This location needs to pay attention to details, especially because this is a St. Regis property. Lastly, I had to wait in a 25 minute check in line due to a business convention that was in session. My experience here at this property was not desirable because of the rowdy atmosphere from the convention on property. I will not recommend this location to SPG members or non-members if they were to pay the full premium rate. I am disappointed. January 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall Very Very Nice Used my 2 free night stay here. Did not like that I had to pay extra $25 resort fee per night. When I made my booking they said that resort fee covered parking, but it DID NOT. Had to pay another $30 per night for valet or $24 for self park, but you can't go in and out with self-park...that is a RIP OFF. Loved my room, patio door did not lock and no bath salts. Called for bath salts each day at least 3 times before I could get any delivered to my room. WEIRD? First time I called I was told they were very popular and people took them? Yes, so what? Strange answer to my inquiry. Valet was extremely busy, had to wait over 20 minutes to get my car and people who came down after me were getting their cars before me? Another weird thing? Overall loved the room and grounds. Food and drinks very pricey. December 21, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by A few problems during my 3-night stay from 11/24/11 to 11/27/11 1. Sound insulation was very bad: toilet and shower sound from other rooms could be heard very clearly. They became wake-up calls in unpredictable time every morning. 2. A service person rang the door bell at 9:30am, followed by knocking on the door, while my wife and I were still sleeping. 3. The room was not equipped with coffee maker, and they charged $25 for it per day. 4. The parking system is not convenient. Need to physically walk to the front of the hotel to get validation for the parking ticket before I could drive out. 5. They charged $25 per day for self parking, without any in-and-out privilege. November 30, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very bad service very nice hotel but VERY stuffy Staff made us feel like we were doing them a favor by staying there Room service trays were in the hall for 2 days with staff walking by them all day Even asked a staff member about it and it was still there the next day December 2, 2011
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>