The St. Regis Monarch Beach

  • One Monarch Beach Resort
  • Dana Point,
  • California
  • 92629
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest registration and check-in is restricted to those 21 years of age or older with valid identification.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 636 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by NOT UP TO USUAL STANDARDS Just spent 2 nights at the St Regis. Dinner at the Stonehill Friday evening was just OK breakfast Sat morning at Club 19 was excellent. Sunday after more than one hour of trying at both Motif and Club 19 to get breakfast we gave up and checked out. The hotel is full of conferences which is fine until you try to eat. I expect in a hotel of this caliber to be able to eat breakfast on the property. The excuse given was "we are very busy". Two overcharges on my bill were corrected but without explanation. We didnt need it (see above) but a late checkout would require an act of congress. 30 -45 minutes to check in and 15 minutes each time for valet to retrieve your car all in all hardly 5 star service. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel is an A+++ Beautiful venue, challenging golf course, lots of amenities and superb service! August 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by St. Regis Monarch does not live up to it's brand This hotel was such a disappointment, particularly after enjoying the St. Regis in NYC and Kauai. I was staying at the St. Regis to see if we could use this facility for corporate events. After 1/2 hour waiting in line to check in and dragging my own luggage to the room, I ordered room service. That took over an hour to arrive and the food was inedible. Over the two day stay both the service and food deteriorated, just when I thought it couldn't get any worse. Really guys, you'd be lucky to get one star. August 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic staff Amazing staff. Very professional and courteous. Tremendously responsive and so positive. A wonderful greeting from everyone everyday I was there. Even after a long morning run, the valet team sprinted to get me some water upon my return. Wonderful hotel. July 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful resort, room for improvement I had high expectations when I made plans for our 5 night stay. After all, this is a St. Regis Resort. I was generally very happy with my stay. Pros: * The valet car staff was great. These folks really are the ambassadors of this place. They gave terrific service and made my kids feel very welcomed. * We had an executive suite, so our room included butler service. My kids thought it was so cool. They bring fresh hot chocolate for the kids in the morning along with a french press of coffee. The butler we had the first several days was fantastic and took a real interest in making us feel welcomed. * The resort is beautiful, and we were there around Christmas and there were many photo opportunities. * Our room was very nice with a terrific bathroom with lots of nice touches * The pool area has three pools which makes it great for kids. The smallest pool is a very nice size and is only 1.5 feet deep. It also has a big hot tub area. We were there when it was only 55-60 degrees, but the pools are well HEATED. So-So Area: * The front desk staff (which I generally believe are the most important service people at a hotel) were so-so. They want to help, but are clearly not empowered to make decisions or accommodate requests. Why is it that hotels seem to tie the hand of front-line staff? Cons: * The bed felt like it was from a low end budget motel. It was really uncomfortable. The pillows were also some kind of non-feather substitute. They need to invest in something worthy of carrying the name St. Regis. * Small thing, and noticed it in other review. I asked to have the flashlight they provide in the room fixed or batteries replaced on the first night, it never happened. December 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Spectacular My little sister is a competitive horseback rider and we are frequently in the area. Any time we are, we make a beeline for this hotel. The staff makes the place feel like home - and that is really nice considering that we will sometimes be away for weeks! I can't say enough about how much we love it. July 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top notch luxury hotel We loved our stay at the St. Regis. Service was exceptional at every touch point from valet/bell service to checkin to restaurants to the pool and beach. The rooms are beautiful and the beds are fabulous. July 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Beautiful Property Deseves Equivalent Staff I had to wait 3 weeks to write this review. To give me time to calm down from one of my worst travel experiences ever. I booked and paid for this vacation more than 3 months in advance, I specifically called the hotel on 2 separate occasions to ensure that my room/reservation would be exactly what I wanted. It was all a waste of time, money and effort. This was not the first time that I had stayed at this property. Previously, my family has stayed with horrible customer service, despite the beautiful property and 6star rating. I decided to give it another chance. Worst mistake ever. I specifically called to ensure the room I paid for would be available since my flight didn't land until after 10pm, but it did not happen. It was pretty much first come, first serve. Not one of my requests was met. After an exhaustive, tiring exchange with mgmt to try to correct my reservation, and numerous apologies later, I finally gave up becuase it was late and I was tired. I asked mgmt for at least a small plate of food to be sent up to my room because of my long travel day, I was tersely met with an answer of no, they would not offer what I would call a good faith gesture, but was told I was free to go to the bar and order food. What nerve!. I spoke with mgmt each day of my stay to try and rectify the situation but to no avail. Mgmt did send a 'peace offering' of a cake in honor of the special occasion I was celebrating, the following night but that in no way made up for the fact that mgmt failed horribly and in my mind irrevocably damaged their already mediocre reputation. It wasn't until the day of my departure was I told that the part of the hotel I specifically requested was under construction. Each night I had packed my bags in preparation to be moved to a room to honor what I had paid for, never happened. I called one night for the hours of the golf restaurant I wanted to eat at only to be given incorrect information, thereby missing dinner altogether. Another night, I went to the bar to order a particular food, only to be told what I wanted was part of a 'tavern' menu only and was not served on Mondays and Tuesdays. Just one thing after another, after another, after another, after another went wrong and mgmt staff failed at every turn to try and correct. Worst trip I ever experienced. My guest was sorely disappointed too. Too bad the weather didn't cooperate either. The only SMALL token the property offered was to waive the parking fee. I have other family members who have stayed at this property with pretty much the same, if not worse, customer experience, and come back to property to try and give them another chance to redeem themselves but it was all in vain. Its a beautiful property but the staff makes it a location that I would never choose to return to on purpose, I really had such high hopes for this vacation, but was utterly let down. I hate writing negative reviews, but such poor service CANNOT and SHOULD NOT go unchecked. April 14, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Service was Unacceptable We checked out of our room and paid the final bill. A week later we received a "revised" hotel bill that was in error and we were overcharged for our stay. We called the accounting dept, a the St Regis on three (3) different occasions and they were to take care of the problem. We are now two months away from our stay and the problem has not been resolved. October 14, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad business practice After I left the hotel after 3 nights I received multiple folios all with different monetary figures on them. I was there for a business conference and they charged my company credit card with some of the expenses associated with the stay but not others. Everyone in our group had errors with their bills. They also charged me for mini bar expenses despite the fact I did not use anything in the minibar. I left a message for their accounting office to call me back but they have not done so. Very bad business practice. I feel violated by their behavior. October 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has a gorgeous setting Great location, relaxing, upscale resort with something for everyone August 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by St. Regis Monarch Beach Excellent facility. Beautiful golf course, excellent spa facility included with the resort fee. Relaxing pool with responsive and friendly staff and more than an ample number of staff to care for the guests needs. July 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Property Great for family or romantic getaway, beautiful property. August 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Mismanaged. Disappointed beyond belief Despite this being a $575+/night hotel, the amenities and services are light. There is no coffee maker in the room. It is counter-intuitive why the cheaper hotels give more (in-room coffee maker, newspapers, free breakfast, free wifi) while SRMB charges everything a-la-carte. Service was bad. Nobody seems to know what is going on. And staff does not follow through. July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A day at Monarch Beach Stayed here last week for just one day, our second visit to the resort, and had a great time even though the weather did not cooperate. Front desk allowed us to check in early (we arrived just before 1PM), and recognized our SPG Gold status and upgraded us to an Ocean View room. Considering the heavy fog kept us from the beach, having a view of the ocean and the golf course was a great substitute. Ate at the Monarch Bay Club restaurant twice: the food, service, and view there are always spectacular. October 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by conference Outstanding property and location. August 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Reservation process was a real pain I had a very difficult reservation process. This hotel could not effectively process my reservation because half the reservation was using points and the other half paid with a credit card. Process was both time consuming and annoying. i must have had 5 calls about it and the same questions and issues were asked over and over again. Not pleasant. July 29, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by August - Noise! I cannot tell you how disappointed we were. Arriving in the afternoon, the catering staff was setting up outside and the carts rolling over and the dishes clinking went on all afternoon. Kids were screaming at the pool and the noise combined forced us to close our door to the beautiful ocean breeze. In the evening there was running in the hall ways and again a tremendous amount of noise. The towels were frayed and to top it off, on Friday morning the maid walked into our room without knocking catching my husband in his sleeping shorts and just stood there looking at him until he told her to get out. August 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everything we could have expected My wife and I celebrated our 36th wedding anniversary at the St. Regis, we were welcomed with complementary champagne. Additionally, we had made reservations at the Monach Bay restaurant, where the service and food were excellent. The room was large with our own balcony for enjoying the sun sets. The stay could not have been better. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Special details I have stopped my business travel so I did not expect the perks I was accustomed to in the past from SPG. When we arrived after having recieved a lovely email from our special contact Nevine, we were told we were upgraded! As we had friends meeting us for drinks we did not get to our room until 7:30 pm. When we opened the door the room was a magical place with roses and a special cake and champagne. In a corner view room!! The bed was so comfortable. For my man who was celebrating his 50th Bday and who has never experienced the St. Regis Service- it was a perfect night. We even pulled ourselves away from the perfect room to grab a wonderful meal and view/beach walk at the Monarch Club. A perfect stay cation!! June 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing experience... This was our second time staying at a St. Regis and we of course enjoyed our time immensely. The rooms are of average size but the facility is fantastic from top to bottom, staff was helpful and courteous and the food and drinks were great as well. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by San Jose ca.visiter I like a very firm mattress, all other features 5 star. July 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Property One of the prettiest hotels in North America. Grounds and pool area are amazing. Frequent traveler (platinum status) and stay at many luxury hotels across all brands including Relais & Chateaux properties. Property is absolutely beautiful. Had amazing service at pool snack bar from Katie. She deserves recognition and a raise! Incredible service. Was visiting property using free night awards. Even though platinum status, our room was standard room overlooking side of resort (no pool view or ocean view). In fairness to hotel, it was very busy during the weekend, and am sure suites were limited, but got the impression that received no upgrade whatsoever (much less to suite) which was disappointing. Hotels need to treat its top level of loyal patrons with great rooms, hotel disappointed in this category, but otherwise very pleased with stay and will return. Spa facilities were excellent. I have also stayed at the Laguna Ritz which, too, is beautiful, but consider the St. Regis nicer between the two. November 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by High and consistant standards From checkin to checkout everything was perfect. Staff, accommodations, food was all up to expectations. This is a good hotel in a great location. July 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Too Crowded Way too crowded. Too many people to be able to provide service level I would expect. July 28, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor staff response to problems It took 4 days and 4 complaints to get the telephone in my room working. A hotel manager left a voice message about the problem, which I did not receive for 2 days until the phone was fixed. Service at breakfast was slow and unresponsive. At one breakfast I was served a bowl of oatmeal without a spoon, and one was not provided even after I asked. I ended up eating the oatmeal with my coffee spoon. The one saving grace was the housekeeping staff. The housekeeping service provided was some of the best I have received anywhere in the world. This outstanding service made the stay tolerable. February 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs Improvement Property is very beautiful and comfortable. What troubled me during our stay however, was that the staff didn't seem to measure up to the proposed quality of the resort and the expectations one would have at this price point. We assume it was a simple mistake by housekeeping, but we were also troubled to find torn towels in the bathroom. Also, we did not have a good experience at Stonehill Tavern, one of the restaurants on property. The service was slow. The food, average at best. Again at this price point, St. Regis did not meet our expectations. July 1, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Prices much too high for the quality of this hotel. We've always loved the St Regis however, our most recent stay was a major disappointment. The prices we paid at this hotel were HIGH; the quality of service & food were LOW. The food at the hotel is quite pricey & mediocre at best. The valet service is extremely SLOW. One day we waited 45 minutes for the valet to come back & say there was a problem locating the car (we ended up missing our appt time off property so we didn't continue to wait for the car)-the next day we waited over 30 minutes after we had called them 20 minutes prior to order up the car. The rooms are very nice with plush beds & nice bathrooms, however, we only received turn down service once & they didn't replenish our toiletries. We were overall let down by this hotel stay. September 17, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Monarch Bay is not what I expected from St. Regis We were originally scheduled to stay for 6 nights, but added a 7th to arrive a day early. We tried to anticipate and avoid any problems by calling ahead and alerting the hotel to the additional reservation. We were assured their system had the rooms linked. When we arrived, the rooms were not linked - the staff showed us checking out the next day (despite the now 7 night reservation). We were then told at 3:30 that our room was not ready and we had to wait if we wanted an upgraded room (Ocean view). Despite waiting until 4:15, when we checked in we were not upgraded to an ocean view. We had a view of the golf course parking lot. When we entered the room my wife had to wipe down the dresser and other items, which were filthy (as evidenced by the discolored wet wipe she had when she was done). In addition, the next day our room keys did not work because they were coded for one night's stay. On one occassion, we had to call two times (once at 2:00 pm and again at 3:30 pm) to have our room cleaned and serviced. It was finally completed after 4 pm. Finally, we experienced numerous billing errors on our dining and poolside bills that we had to review carefully to have items removed. Minibar charges were also incorrectly added to my final bill. In all, the experience was so bad we checked out 2 days early - staying only 5 nights. As a lifetime SPG gold member (and frequently Platinum), I was very disappointed . July 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Beautiful Interior but staff doesn't pay attention I stayed here for a friends wedding and we had requested that all luggage be removed from the bridal suite and moved to my room. The bellman never came so when we returned from the wedding all bags were in the bride and groom's room. Needless to say, we were very upset that we had to interrupt the the bride and groom on their wedding night to retrieve our bags. In addition, as a SPG gold member I was told upon check in that I had been upgraded to a nicer room. When I got to the room I realized that the view was of a construction zone. November 11, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 22 next>>