The St. Regis Monarch Beach

  • One Monarch Beach Resort
  • Dana Point,
  • California
  • 92629
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest registration and check-in is restricted to those 21 years of age or older with valid identification.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 684 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Mismanaged. Disappointed beyond belief Despite this being a $575+/night hotel, the amenities and services are light. There is no coffee maker in the room. It is counter-intuitive why the cheaper hotels give more (in-room coffee maker, newspapers, free breakfast, free wifi) while SRMB charges everything a-la-carte. Service was bad. Nobody seems to know what is going on. And staff does not follow through. July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply AWESOME!!!! This was by far one of the best resorts that I have stayed at. Incredible service, immediate SPG Gold recognition and benefits, fabulous rooms, great food, fun activities for children. I loved the butler service offered to suite guests. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is interested in having a first class holiday. I cannot wait to return for a longer stay next summer. July 17, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by The St. Regis does not want SPG Members I was very disappointed in the hotel. I was hoping for a room with a view. I was told there was -0- available because the hotel was full. However, I could pay $50 to upgrade to a better location. Isn't that a contradiction? Several valets said the hotel wasn't full. My view was pine trees and a wall existing to block the noise of the very close street. This place is not worth it! May 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Customer Service! I am more than pleased to contribute a stellar review regarding your facility. I was recently part of the ITT Technical Institute group that stayed several days at your location and have never had a better experience staying at another hotel. Your staff is highly trained to provide the highest level of customer service. On numerous occasions your team exceeded my expectations. November 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded my expectations! I have had the privilege to stay at numerous first-class hotels and resorts in the United States, but The St. Regis Monarch Beach was by far the finest resort that I have ever stayed at. The service that was provided by every member of your staff was impeccable! Thank you for such a wonderful experience! November 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall Very Very Nice Used my 2 free night stay here. Did not like that I had to pay extra $25 resort fee per night. When I made my booking they said that resort fee covered parking, but it DID NOT. Had to pay another $30 per night for valet or $24 for self park, but you can't go in and out with self-park...that is a RIP OFF. Loved my room, patio door did not lock and no bath salts. Called for bath salts each day at least 3 times before I could get any delivered to my room. WEIRD? First time I called I was told they were very popular and people took them? Yes, so what? Strange answer to my inquiry. Valet was extremely busy, had to wait over 20 minutes to get my car and people who came down after me were getting their cars before me? Another weird thing? Overall loved the room and grounds. Food and drinks very pricey. December 21, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nice place bad attitude I'm completing a preferred level # of visits for 2013 and thought this would be a nice treat for my birthday. It ended up being a lesson in lowered expectations. Hotel itself and rooms where as expected for a St Regis. What was severely lacking was the level of customer service and preferred level treatment. My stay started with a snobby front desk personnel with no hospitality. I would have been satisfied with the expected basic level of service at a lower star level hotel in spg, which would have beat this "St Regis". If I had to do over again I would have used my time and money ($$$$) at another chain that would treat me better as a preferred frequent client. Disappointed December 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing stay at the Monarch Beach property This is a nice property in a great location. Stayed for one night and was booked into an Executive Suite room. The reason for my disappointment is based on two specific items. First, our view was impaired by a large, cargo/moving truck that was parked immediately outside of our room, giving the experience a "motel-on-the-interstate" feel. This remained for the entire stay. Two, the staff had assured me that they would move it on our first night, but never actually moved the truck. When asked about this at check-out the reception desk was apathetic and obstinate. This was pretty surprising as my stays at the San Fran and Washington DC St. Regis properties have been very nice. March 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by St Regis is one of the best Resorts in Dana Point had wonderful time,excellent service and delicious food. November 9, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by 4th of July Awful experience. Pool cabana service was downright unprofessional. Turn down service was an insult to my family-they put the robes and chocolates on our bed but not our son's - even though his robe was hanging next to ours in the bathroom. We quickly threw a chocolate on his bed but he saw & was disappointed. Butler "Dale" seemed annoyed and frustrated the two encounters we had with him. Our balcony was filthy with long black hair all over the floor (I covered the balcony with bath towels to not step on it. Staff seemed like it was a "summer job" and weren't able to answer any of our questions. So frustrating that we checked out after 2 nights instead of 3. We always choose St. Regis & had stayed at this resort previously with a favorable experience. It was a miserable trip and my family left disappointed and cheated out of a vacation. July 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very bad service very nice hotel but VERY stuffy Staff made us feel like we were doing them a favor by staying there Room service trays were in the hall for 2 days with staff walking by them all day Even asked a staff member about it and it was still there the next day December 2, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by The staff did not recognize my gold status I have been to this Hotel at least 6 times and have kept returning. This time, as a Gold Status, I could not obtain an upgrade or extended check out time (1 hour only). This is my last trip to this great resort. September 12, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disgusted! Although we enjoyed our stay, we were very upset to have never used the porter service yet be charged $12. for it on our final bill As always, we left a tip of $4.00 per day cash in the room for housekeeping. After reviewing the bills sent by email we see that we have been charged an extra $3.00/day as a gratuity for housekeeping and a portage fee of $12.00 for a service that we never used. We were niether informed of nor agreed to these additional charges and find it very petty for a hotel with your reputation, (and highly expensive restaurants), to resort to such a way to make extra money. You can bet we will think long and hard before visiting you again in the future. For 2 days my wife has called and left messages with the accounting Dept. at the St Regis, Dana Point, and they have not even had the courtesy to return our calls. Please refund our portage charge of $12. as well as the daily housekeeping gratuity of $3. per day. The principal here out ways the cost Very disappointed guests. If someone had returned our calls to the hotel this review would not have been necessary. April 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Disappointing service This was our fifth stay at the St. Regis. The hotel and facilities do not disappoint. The check in staff are friendly and efficient. However, when we went to the lounge area adjacent to the bar to have some evening snacks, we were severely let down. Having waited ten minutes I approached one of the four or five servers that were on the floor and requested a menu. She gave me one. I sat back down. I must add that the area was not busy or I would have been more understanding of such dismal service. We waited a further twenty minutes while servers walked right by our empty table and it was only when we stood up to go that one server asked did we need anything. Very very disappointed. January 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by well below par for St Regis VERY disappointed with the service and the attentiveness of the staff. Felt as if there was little to no effort made to accomodate even the simplest requests or needs. March 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Spectacular meeting location Every experience I had with the staff at the St. Regis was above and beyond expectations. They should teach a master class in customer service. November 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Only the finest! Amazing first class staff and accomodations! Beautiful grounds make it like a paradise. Keep up the great hospitality and perfection! November 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Customer Service 2nd to None This hotel exceeded my expectations. Staff were beyond hospitable and I was amazed at how attentive housekeeping was. November 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Enjoyable visit The staff made a business meeting feel like a vacation so my hats off to the staff November 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing atmosphere, Our room was awesome, beautiful patio and all around 1st rate!!!! November 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great property This is a great property, very comfortable with excellent amenities. Room was nice and very comfortable. Service was good, although the butler never gave us orientation that was promised. Monarch beach club was a real perk. Golf course was a real treat. My only real criticism was that I had booked suite several months in advance and used the Elite concierge to request a high floor with a good view, and was told that since I was platinum my request would likely be honored. I nstead upon check in front desk gave us first floor with little view. When I protested she told us it was our problem since we checked in late. This was despite the fact I called the hotel twice once before we boarded our 5 hour flight that we would be checking in late. Due to a lost bag and LA traffice we arrived about 7 pm and was told all 4th & 5th floor suites with nice views weref fully committed. When I explained we had booked room with elite concierge we were told to try to check in earlier next time. I am quite unhappy about this and feel that the Elite program and Platinum status sometimes is not as advertised. This was handled quite poorly and I will think twice about using the concierge again for booking or requests since thye have no clout at all. August 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a cut above Our family tried this property hoping to find a nice staycation property close to home. While this is a lovely property it is hardly worth the price to value, and high category SPG rating. Having stayed in Starwood and non-Starwood properties of various categories, there is nothing distinguishing of this compared to any other brand hotel in a major city or resort property. When comparing to other luxury properties in the area, sadly the gem of the Starwood program in soCal falls short. Examples- 1-No Preferred status greeting upon arrival. In fact, the front desk was understaffed (one person) for our Saturday arrival, thus we waited 5 minutes. 2-Newspaper deliver request-asked for LA Times, got New York Times. 3-Complimentary beverage-Ordered a Chimay from the memu only to be informed by the bartender they dont carry it any more. No accomodation. 4-No in room coffee maker, only room service or rent a coffee maker for $25. Even a category 1 SPG property will provide you in room coffee....and what is so "high end" about having to wait for a butler to bring you a of coffee if I want it now? 5-Valet Parking Fee is not included in the Resort Fee. And Self Parking has no in-out priveldges. Luxury brand should be about service, service, service. Here, however one gets lost in the crowd. November 28, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by A truly awful "St Regis" experience. A) The carpet of our room was covered in URINE stains! B) The hotel couldn't/wouldn't change our room. C) The concierge was RUDE...and dismissive. D) The concierge never got back to us when we asked her to book reservations. E) The server at the restaurant kept forgetting our order and finally told us that it was because he was "soooo hung over." F) The New Years party was a joke and a rip off. Yes, you got drink tickets but the lines were so long you couldn't even get a drink. G) On the final bill, my credit card was incorrectly charged on three different occasions before I was even given an opportunity to review it. H) The hotel upped the ticket price on New Years without notifying guests. I) When we made dinner reservations in the hotel, we still had to wait 30 min for a table- my wife is pregnant and they didn't even offer her a chair! The hotel made us feel unwelcome and like second class citizens. I know New Years is a very busy/sold out time. But isn't that reason we pay a premium for staying there then? So the service doesn't suffer? If we are to expect such awful service during the holidays, there should be steep discounts, not premiums. At the very least, the hotel was negligently understaffed and unprepared. At most, they were taking advantage of their guests to make an extra dollar. We left feeling taken advantage of and duped. January 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room Service Horrible & Little Platinum Member Recognition Location = What you would expect from Dana Point and near the beach. Meets St. Regis Standards as far as location is concerned. Service = Marginal at best. Was so promising until I got to the front desk & my Plainum status was not recognized accordingly, the room that they gave us was so distant from good views that it was hard to believe that it was an "upgrade" - Even worse is that we were so close to Christmas that I could tell that there were plenty of empty rooms in more desirable locations, but none of them were made available to me despite staying at SPG hotels over 60 nights this year. ROOM SERVICE = EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTING - JUST DON'T DO IT! EXPENSIVE RESTAURANT PRICES FOR SUBPAR FOOD - THEY COULDN'T EVEN MAKE MY FISH & CHIPS CORRECTLY. Other Food & Beverage = Well, we paid over $50 for 2 sandwiches, 2 sides, and 2 drinks at their "crust" cafe during one of our afternoons and the sandwiches were decent, but the sides were subpar, and needless to say...EVERYTHING WAS WAY OVERPRICED Pool & Spa looked inviting, even though we didn't have a chance to get in as it was sub 40 degree temps during this time of year Fitness Center was not anywhere near St. Regis standards Overall, I would have loved to use my money elsewhere & will not recommend this particular St. Regis Hotel to any of my friends, nor use my rewards on this hotel moving forward... December 25, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Service is an issue They were undergoing renovations of the lobby and bar area and so these areas were closed during the renovation and we were not notified prior to arriving. Since we were having a family reunion there, these common areas were critical to our enjoyment of the hotel. It seemed they were understaffed. Service in the restaurant was amiable but very slow during the busy times. There were times during the afternoon where there was no pool service. The rooms were nice but plumbing was an issue: 3 of the rooms in our party had problems with their toilets. The setting is beautiful and the grounds are well-kept. The problem was that because the lobby closed, the only place to enjoy the view with several people was in a restaurant or outside and because it was fairly cool most of the time, outside wasn't much of an option. This will probably not be an issue for anyone staying after our stay since they were opening it back up the day we left, but my complaint is that we were not notified prior to arrriving. If we had, we may have still chosen the property, but made alternative plans to congregate. I think when you spend so much for a room, part of what you are paying for is the entire experience, which includes a nice lobby with seating and a comfortable bar. Overall, for a high-end hotel with a high-end price, I felt we only got a nice room and pretty setting for the price. December 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Keep coming back This is our third summer in a row coming to the StR Monarch Beach. We just love the location close to all that Southern California has to offer. Service is consistently exceptional from the front desk, valets, butler service and restaurant. A special thank you to Maya for taking care of us all week at breakfast. My only note would be that while I don't expect you to comb the sand like a golf course, the Monarch Beach club has had ALOT of seaweed on the sand the past two years...meaning lots of bugs. If you walk to the other side of the beach it's much better, but for this quality of resort you shouldn't have to. With that said don't think twice about booking this property. We'll certainly be back again next year. August 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Memories.... The staff at St. Regis went above and beyond our expectations! It was so wonderful to wake in the morning to such beautiful views and the property is gorgeous! My husband in is a wheelchair and all of our needs were met, and we were able to get around with ease. The reservationist helped in more ways than I can say...he was an angel! When we arrived to our suite we were greeted with a bed of roses heart shaped and petals everywhere! I knew then we we going to have a very special stay...and we did! We also had A very memorable, fantastic meal at Stonehill Tavern... recommend the tasting menu! June 28, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Luxury Hotel - Bring your own coffee maker Great facility and room, but seemed like despite being a luxury hotel, they wanted to charge me for ordinary amenities as extra. There was no coffee maker in the room, and when I asked for one, I was told that would be another $25. Unheard of for a luxury hotel for something as basic as coffee. Staff seemed to be more interested in enforcing rules than ensuring a pleasurable experience January 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Overall, Staff were awful We returned this weekend from 5 nights at the St Regis Monarch Beach with our kids. The hotel is nice and the room was wonderful, but the staff needs a lot of work. The housekeeping staff was very hardworking and friendly, but otherwise, the staff left much to be desired. From the check in clerk to the bellman to the restaurant staff, everyone seemed annoyed to be working. Few were friendly or helpful. The hotel caters to large groups and weddings and as a result everyone else seems to get overlooked. We have stayed in many luxury hotels and we have come to expect much more from this level of hotel. I hope the hotel will spend some time training their employees on customer service. A smile would go a long way. July 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Service Needs Help We stayed here with our two young children, along with a connecting room for our nanny and her husband, who are in their mid-20's. The Good: The housekeeping manager was great and went the extra mile to go to the store and get some hypoallergenic was for the kids as my daughter had a skin reaction to the body wash. The valet guys were extremely friendly and helpful. The Bad: Our nanny and her husband were constantly questioned if they were staying at the hotel and what their room number was because they were young. We were embarrassed and had to keep apologizing for the hotel staff questioning them on their behalf. Ordering lunch at the pool took an hour for delivery and the food was subpar at best. My wife was talking to the valet guys that we were going to Disneyland for the day and they suggested we talk to concierge to get tickets. The concierge wouldn’t even acknowledge my wife directly and simply stated to the valet “well she can’t get them here; she needs to go to the Business Center”. He wouldn’t even leave his post to help her or show her to the Business Center. I thought this place was supposed to provide service? When I called down to concierge and asked for a recommendation for a fish restaurant in Dana Point that is reasonable and kid friendly, she chuckled at me and said “well we are in Dana Point…” What kind of answer is that? I know where I am…I’m staying at your hotel! St. Regis Butler Service, Allow Me does not exist here. I would not return for a family vacation July 24, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 24 next>>