The St. Regis Monarch Beach

  • One Monarch Beach Resort
  • Dana Point,
  • California
  • 92629
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 706 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing hotel with average service We have stayed at the St Regis in Dana Point several times and have always very much enjoyed our time in and around the property. The room and bed are extremely comfortable (we paid for a pool/ocean view) however we seemed to have an abundance of children on our floor along with parents that are not very conscientious of other guests (Issue 1). Overall, it was fine but would have been great to be located on a floor or wing with limited families as we were traveling without our four kids (we did discuss, unsuccessfully, with the front desk). The quality of the hotel and the effort put forth by the entire staff is quite high. Although the service effort is high, the actual execution is average (Issue 2). With several very young adults in critical customer service roles, the service often feels disingenuous and lacking experience. I was also surprised that the beautiful lawn between the hotel and the pool had several dead spots and did not look very healthy (Issue 3; perhaps drought-related water restrictions?). Lastly, we had an incident with the Valet where someone else actually was given our rental car (Issue 4). After waiting for a good 20-30 minutes, we found out that they were unable to find our vehicle. At this point, we were late for our evening engagement and had to suggest to the Valet Captain that we take a cab and the hotel pay for it (which they did). The worst part of the entire experience was the conversation we had with the Manager on Duty upon our return to the hotel later that evening. He was non-apologetic and didn't really own the issue. Although he ultimately removed our daily parking charge from our bill, which was appreciated, he very easily could have turned the whole experience into a positive but missed his opportunity. I should add that he also had a bottle of champagne (which we don't drink) and chocolates sent to the room the next day. In the end, the Valet Captain was, again, very apologetic the next day. All in all, we still very much enjoyed our stay and will likely return; however, we may give the hotel on the other side of the Pacific Coast Highway a try. August 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nickel and Dime Atmosphere! This was the 3rd time I have stayed at the property since it opened and I must say, unless drastic changes are made, it was my final stay. My wife and I were celebrating our 18th wedding anniversary and while there was a nice gift and attention to detail from the staff on recognizing the event, in so many ways, the rest of the stay fell short. The chaos at check-in was not typical for an SPG property. There was a line 10 deep and the entire process, while fast for our reservation, was quite slow overall. The vibe in the lobby was stale at best. There was no music, live or recorded, and the are seemed sterile and unwelcome this weekend. The room was disappointing in many ways. The room I reserved was referred to as a Luxury Ocean View but the view was more of the golf course and a service road. This was not really what I would consider a true ocean view but a partial ocean view and I felt a bit mislead, especially for the $650 pre-pay rate I paid. The room was also left extremely hot and the entire 2 days the A/C was struggling to cool down the room. I also could not understand why the TV failed to include local TV stations?? Stonehill Tavern was a great restaurant and we enjoyed the dinner and service we had there Friday night. We also felt that the staff and vibe of the Monarch Beach Club was professional and attentive. The spa, while in need of updating (steam room broken, and the lounge still had a "boom box" radio??) offered a great service --kudos to the masseuse. However, to not have coffee available in the lobby is not on par with other properties who would be competitive to this facility. The only way to get a cup of coffee was to wait in line in the lobby cafe, despite being told by an employee that we could call "Butler Service" and avoid the long lines to be had. When I tried that, I was told that our room (again, an upgraded Luxury Suite, or so I thought) did NOT include the service and that I would need to call for regular room service -- again, nothing special about that option. So many possibilities with a property this way but overall, the facility seemed dated and faded, in need of some work and updating. The fountains were broken or shut down due to the drought(?) and the carpets seemed dirty and falling loose. In order for us to revisit the hotel, we would need to know there was a major change in management and that the facility was invested in updates. August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Luxurious The SRMB property is gorgeous, from the lobby entrance to the golf course and everything in between. At times it felt a bit *too* stuffy, not exactly a laid back vacation resort. That said, attention to every detail big and small made this a wonderful experience for me on a business trip. August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing work weekend Great loccation to get away and feel relaxed when leaving ... August 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by St Regis Review The staff was nice but not on top of their game. Upon check in, we were sent in the opposite direction creating a 30 minute hunt down hallways looking for our room. We passed two hotel employees who couldn't help us either and finally suggested we go back to the lobby and have someone there help us. Uninformed employees seemed to be prevalent. The women at the coffee shop didn't seem to know what a small cup of coffee means. Each time, she reached for the largest, most expensive choice when I clearly articulated my desire for a small cup. On the first day, I waited for an extended period of time while one employee attended the many needs of the guest in front of me while two other employees stood behind the counter talking to each other ignoring me and the line forming behind me. Someone behind me finally interrupted their conversation and got them to do their job. The overall bummer - the maze of rights and lefts required to find elevators and rooms. The hotel has really poor signage so directing oneself around is a real guessing game. Biggest problem: Our room is on the 3rd floor and the lobby is on the 5th floor. In others words - up to the lobby, down to our room. We lost count of the amount of times we did the exact opposite due to habit of going down to a lobby and up to a room. Was disappointed in the lack of shops and lack of selection. Regarding decor, average building, okay grounds but nothing special. The pool by the spa - no service the entire 3 hours my wife and I were there. Not even someone pouring water. When I add all this up, the only semblance of luxury here is the price of the room, the cost of the food and the white gloves the hotel staff wears. But underneath that, I would not put this hotel in a luxury classification. I've had much better stays at W's, Westins and Sheratons. August 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed Small pool. Very noisy room especially at night. August 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gorgeous hotel with great staff It is a gorgeous hotel with great staff who can't do enough for us August 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Luxurious Everything was perfect.....the staff was exemplary. August 24, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Stay in the hotel was not up to st. Regis standards The hotel did not have our room ready for more than two hours after the standard checkin time. although mistakes can happen, the staff did not apologize. One staff even said it's not such a long period of time to wait. We were also surprised that there were no coffee pots in the rooms and the only way to get coffee was to purchase it. The main pool did not have enough chairs one day. Overall, we were surprised that the place did not match the standards of st. Regis hotels we've stayed in prior. We know though that usually their service is wonderful and we hope this was a one time mishap. August 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by great hotel but some things are lacking the hotel in general is great. Here are some things that can be significantly improved. The shuttle to the beach was very unreliable and the wait while we were there was extremely long. The main pool was totally un supervised. You have a children's pool which is empty and the main pool is filled with young children throwing footballs , jumping in the pool and making chaos. That was really a problem, it was worse than that but that I can leave to your imagination August 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel but we were stuck in a corner Took my wife for a weekend getaway. Longtime SPG member and used points for this stay. Not sure if that is the reason, but they stuck us in the room directly by the door to the pool (I think the only door, if not the main door) and the room faced a wall. No light due to the wall but heavy pool/outside traffic. I think it was the actual worst room location on the property. The "adult" pool had more kids than adults. Other than that, wonderful hotel with great staff. August 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel with the Best Service Enjoyed our short visit at the St. Regis Monarch Beach! Excellent Hotel August 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Customer Service Needs Improvement I've stayed at the St. Regis multiple times before, however I hadn't been there in over a year. Unfortunately, I was disappointed at this last stay. At the cabana near the lawn, we ordered a few mojito, and when they arrived, we realized that one of them was a virgin mojito - they forgot the alcohol. There was a noticeable difference in taste among the ones we ordered. We informed the waitress that one of the drinks was missing the alcohol, and she responded 'no it isn't' and walked away. We were further upset when we were actually charged for the drink that wasn't even consumed as it wasn't what we ordered. We realized we forgot something in our car and went to valet to ask to bring our car up. We sat and waited for 10 minutes, 20 minutes, then 30 minutes. We noticed that people who came after us had already received their cars. We went back to valet to ask what the status was. The woman behind the counter then realized that our keys were still in the bowl and didn't hang them for the valets to get. Realizing this mistake, instead of putting our keys at the top since we had already been waiting for 30+ minutes, she put it at the bottom and argued with us when we asked for it to be fetched earlier. Waiting 45 minutes for valet when it was only moderately busy was ridiculous. This is just two short examples of my experience. I used to go to St. Regis for awesome customer service, but unfortunately I will likely not return any time soon. August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by wendy samuels I was very disappointed with the Concierge attitude. Everyone else at the hotel was above expectations. August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Memorable vacation due to Supurb Hotel and Staff My wife and I recently celebrated our 25th anniversary and wanted to make our event one to remember. Wow! Thank-you for making our 25th anniversary one to remember. Excellent room, superior staff, wonderful food, top notch spa and the best butler one could ever ask for. Thank you for making our anniversary special and one to always remember. August 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Keep coming back This is our third summer in a row coming to the StR Monarch Beach. We just love the location close to all that Southern California has to offer. Service is consistently exceptional from the front desk, valets, butler service and restaurant. A special thank you to Maya for taking care of us all week at breakfast. My only note would be that while I don't expect you to comb the sand like a golf course, the Monarch Beach club has had ALOT of seaweed on the sand the past two years...meaning lots of bugs. If you walk to the other side of the beach it's much better, but for this quality of resort you shouldn't have to. With that said don't think twice about booking this property. We'll certainly be back again next year. August 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another great stay The St. Regis MB continues to be my "go to" destination when i'm in OC. A very nice surprise on this visit as Monica at the front desk informed me you were in an oversold situation and for my loyalty and being an SPG member she upgraded me to one of your royal suites. Amazing. Not sure how I will stay in my usual room when I return. That was a nice gesture (and an early birthday present). It took your usual great level of service to a whole new level. All staff continue to be attentive, responsive and do a great job. August 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Enjoyed the beautiful grounds and wonderful service of the St Regis With a gentle ocean breeze along with an awesome ocean view, St Regis Resort welcomed me. The Staff were very attentive to my every request and always with a warm smile. The food at the Motif Restaurant was delicious and well presented. The Spa was truly relaxing after a day on the golf course. Great place to get away and enjoy the beautiful grounds and much more. August 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by unmatched exelense Wonderful property with outstanding suroundings August 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Gorgeous property. Staff is fabulous Gorgeous facility. Rooms are beautiful and well stocked. Food onsite is very pricey. Gorgeous views but be sure to request a room with a view. August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved the room Very elegant, the staff was very nice at all times. August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is awesome! The St. Regis is amazing. The staff was wonderful. I will recommend this hotel to everyone. August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Your staff is exceptional. I had a suggestion of lowering the beds in the wheelchair accessible rooms and when I came back to my room, my bed had been lowered and a handwritten note explaining that they wanted me comfortable! ADA room was good. One small thing for the cleaning staff is if you see someone in a wheelchair, move the shower head to the bottom setting. It was difficult to reach up and move it down each day. Everything was great! August 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Vacation St Regis has everything you would need to have a perfect vacation. The staff recommended restaurants to us that were homer runs! They couln't have been more helpful. St Regis is a place that makes you want to come back. Thank You!! August 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel is an A+++ Beautiful venue, challenging golf course, lots of amenities and superb service! August 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has a gorgeous setting Great location, relaxing, upscale resort with something for everyone August 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Property Great for family or romantic getaway, beautiful property. August 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by St. Regis Monarch does not live up to it's brand This hotel was such a disappointment, particularly after enjoying the St. Regis in NYC and Kauai. I was staying at the St. Regis to see if we could use this facility for corporate events. After 1/2 hour waiting in line to check in and dragging my own luggage to the room, I ordered room service. That took over an hour to arrive and the food was inedible. Over the two day stay both the service and food deteriorated, just when I thought it couldn't get any worse. Really guys, you'd be lucky to get one star. August 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by conference Outstanding property and location. August 1, 2014
  • 2015-10-10T06:25:28.971-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_706, tr_706
  • loc_en_US, sid_1361, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 25 next>>