The St. Regis Monarch Beach

  • One Monarch Beach Resort
  • Dana Point,
  • California
  • 92629
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest registration and check-in is restricted to those 21 years of age or older with valid identification.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 684 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel on the outside, poor service on the inside Requested early check in. When I arrived around 3, i was told that the room was not ready. Despite there 4 check in policy i was not given my keys to the room until 5 so i was late for my dinner commitment. Carpet was soaken wet in a large area that never dried in three days! Maid service came around 9:30 PM every night and the final night at 9:50 PM to turn down my bed and I was in my tub bathing. I had requested the prior night before to not come after 8. I requested foam pillows and a wine opener which never came. Three hours after I returned from dinner I had to call again for the items and they were finally delivered. The ninth hole restaurant never came to take my breakfast order and i finally left after waiting for 15 minutes when a young man waiter said they were busy working a golf tournament and didn't know how long it would be before we could get food. One gentleman was attentive in valet otherwise very unwelcoming or accommodative. I spent time rearranging my bathroom how i left it everyday as the maids would rearrange everything to there liking rather than leaving my belongs on the counters the way I left them neatly in order. Paid a $25 fee for internet and wasn't able to connect to the internet at all on the first night as it wouldn't allow me with my name and room number One positive comment for the whole stay. Christopher was excellent at the Tavern restaurant and we had a very nice dinner. Extremely disappointing stay at the St Regis. I would not stay at this hotel again in Dana Point. August 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decline in service level I have stayed at this facility numerous times since it opened. I noticed a decline in service this time. My room was not available upon arrival. I had to wait until 5:30PM to receive my room key. I mean 4:00PM check is late already compared to most hotel, but 5:30PM check in is totaly unacceptable. Also, room service order took more than one full hour to deliver! January 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Special details I have stopped my business travel so I did not expect the perks I was accustomed to in the past from SPG. When we arrived after having recieved a lovely email from our special contact Nevine, we were told we were upgraded! As we had friends meeting us for drinks we did not get to our room until 7:30 pm. When we opened the door the room was a magical place with roses and a special cake and champagne. In a corner view room!! The bed was so comfortable. For my man who was celebrating his 50th Bday and who has never experienced the St. Regis Service- it was a perfect night. We even pulled ourselves away from the perfect room to grab a wonderful meal and view/beach walk at the Monarch Club. A perfect stay cation!! June 9, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very disappointing My family and I stayed at this property for one night because it was the ONLY Starwood property in the area. We were visiting friends whom we hadn't seen in a long time. We thought it would be fun if they could come to the hotel for lunch and then all the kids could swim together while the adults chatted. The hotel was still very empty as it was noon on Friday and there were only two other tables seated. Nonetheless, the service was atrocious. The drinks took 15 min. to arrive and then trickled in one at a time. We were 10 feet from the bar and it still took 25 min. for my beer to arrive! It took another 15 min. for the appetizers to appear we repeatedly (about 8 times!) had to ask for things which hadn't been served. It was like we had to work for our lunch. Next we find that you cannot have guests at the pool-- even if there is NOBODY else there. I understand the no guest policy when it is crowded, but to not allow it at all EVER is just poor hospitality. We spent an enormous amount on lunch and would have continued to spend money on drinks. It is not as if they would have been disadvantaged. We even offered to pay a fee to use the pool for 2 hours, but they would not make any exceptions. They couldn't have cared less that we are SPG gold members and were unnecessarily rude in responding to our inquiries. The "gentleman" at the front dest was even haughty. The last straw was at check-out: I was waiting in line while my husband got the car. There was somebody coming down the line to help people with getting their bills printed out and offering drinks, a nice service when there is a line, but he totally ignored me! He helped the MAN in front of me and then assisted the MAN behind me, never bothering to ask if I was waiting. I guess he assumed I was with one of the MEN in line!! Totally unacceptable behavior!! I spoke up immediately and he apologized, but this should never have occured. I left the property feeling extremely offended and completely appalled at the terrible service we received. I will NEVER stay there again. November 20, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing service We experienced what I would call several small "hassles" that culminate in a poor service experience. We requested a quiet, remote room away from outside events and activities, and re-iterated this upon checkin. I got to the room to find 20 guys outside my patio setting up a huge tent and speakers. Lets try again and I had to call to be moved to the other side of the hotel. We couldn't access the internet because they had our name spelled incorrectly; trying to explain this to the employee that there was no issue in our equipment connecting...this was fine....that it was on their "authenticating" end was futile and she insisted on sending someone to our room because it must be us....the tech had to just give us a free passcode because we were connected fine as I stated and he could not resolve in our room. Our phone handset didn't work so we had to use the speaker phone; the tv checkout system wouldn't work either; my self parking ticket couldn't be validated and didn't work and my room key worked the first day only. The bed was very uncomfortable as you are sleeping in a hole - they don't flip, or fluff the mattresses or mattress pads. We rode the tram back from the beach, and asked to be let out near the golf club as our room was in the north wing and closer; another guest who was on our tram laughed when he saw us back in the hotel and informed us the tram driver was angry saying "we obviously weren't guests and shouldn't have picked us up" - Nice! The most irritating hassle however was the food offering hours. Typically the best hotels offer food all hours and we have never had so much trouble eating a nice snack or something small between 3-5 pm. The lobby lounge offers such snacks or bar food, but not until 5.....and the pool bar...typically the resource you would count on for this doesn't serve food during the afternoon hours -RIDICULOUS. Your only choice is to go to the sit-down restaurant or room service. Their morning snack place, Crush doesn't remotely cut it by late afternoon unless you want m&m's or a tired muffin. Overall, we found the experience one hassle after another. January 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by An incredible haven of luxury This property is awesome in location, service, facilities and overall ambiance. So far it is our favourite property in SoCal. We always return with pleasure and expectations. A relaxing place in one of the most beautiful places in USA. Location: incredible Views: stupendous Service: first class Facilities: amazing Spa: great most of the time Food: delicious, brunch unbeliveable Last time I stayed there we felt the impact of the crisis on the property and all the foreclosure thing in cut-corners, and other small details that were missing comparing with our previous stays. August 18, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staff having an off day? As a former employee of a hotel and many restaurants, I often get the vibe that I'm a hotel snob and set my expectations high. And at the rate this property charged the night of my stay, yes, my expectations are high. For the amount of money I offer 2 stars - Needs improvement. Trip was a stay-cation, birthday overnight on a Sunday. Issues: 1. Room not ready (that happens on a Sunday) 2. Once checked in - 3 instances Housekeeping/Management knocked on our door to see if we were checking out. Trying to relax and get a nap while being interrupted. This is cause for a bad review. 3. Cafe food - $16 hamburger should come w ketchup and mustard w/o asking for it 5 mins later. Heatlamps should be checked for Propane; we had ours switched 3 times. Water glass went empty 3 times - why? 4. Room services the next morning was spot on..and the view from the room was also perfect. Overall I feel like the staff might have been worn out from a long weekend, but that's part of the game in the high end hotel market. Overall, I am dissatisfied with the experience, however families with children will enjoy this property. June 20, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not Up To The Level We Expected Disappointing overall for a two room, two night stay Thursday through Saturday in early August using points for a Platinum member: 1. No upgrade for either of the two rooms. 2. Long lines at the front desk. Took about 30 minutes to check in. 3. No towels in fitness room on first day. Had to place a special request. 4. Took 3 phone calls to room service to get a bucket of ice. Their pool service however was outstanding. Great and attentive staff. I stay in a lot of hotels throughout the year. This was not the level of service I would expect from a St. Regis. August 26, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by do not stay here Day one our stay was fine. The morning of day 2 we could not use the bath facilities due to what looked like fecal matter coming out of every facet in the bath room. The bath water was dark brown and black. We called the manager and they sent the engineer to the room who took pictures and said he was sorry. Eventually the water ran clear again but we checked out. Management apologized but made us feel the issue was no big deal. Certainly not the St Regis experience we have had in the past. We were disgusted by the entire experience and how it was handled. February 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun, family-friendly hotel My first surprise at this St. Regis is the mass quantity of families and children about. I found this unusual for a StR, but acclimated to it. I usually stay here for a week at a time and just love morning walks to the beach and the incredible balcony-view restaurants. It always seems there's a wedding going on, and during Christmas, there is a mass of festivities. If that's your boat, great. If not, be advised. This is not a place to stay anonymous. Expect children running past your feet, and families at every turn. Great spa. Great golf. February 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service was Golden The entire staff at the St. Regis from Valet to front desk and room service truly made us feel welcome and valued. We are SPG Gold members, and we were treated as valued members of the SPG family. Especially at reception, we were asked if we were celebrating any special occasion, and when we asked for a late checkout, we were accommodated for two extra hours. This was a huge step up from our last stay a couple of years back, and the change for the better is profound. We will be back, and we will not hesitate in recommending. July 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by St. Regis Monarch does not live up to it's brand This hotel was such a disappointment, particularly after enjoying the St. Regis in NYC and Kauai. I was staying at the St. Regis to see if we could use this facility for corporate events. After 1/2 hour waiting in line to check in and dragging my own luggage to the room, I ordered room service. That took over an hour to arrive and the food was inedible. Over the two day stay both the service and food deteriorated, just when I thought it couldn't get any worse. Really guys, you'd be lucky to get one star. August 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Location of Room We were extremely disappointed in the location of our room. We were told that we would have a RESORT VIEW. When we arrived we walked in our room and we were looking at a bush. When looking outside we couldn't even figure out where we were in hotel. We called front desk and asked to be moved to another location and they told us they could move us to the 2nd floor only because hotel was Full. We saw SEVERAL empty rooms with good views. When we moved to the 2nd floor room once again when we looked out the window we looked at a tree. We did not see ANY of the resort. We were extremely disappointed and will probably NEVER return. It was our Anniversary weekend and we were extremely disappointed in location of room. We could have stayed at home and had a better view. July 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply the best It's the little things like water bottles in the room (and more any time you request them), not a bad view on the property, and heavy pours in the lobby bar. Our recent weekend stay was highlighted by the attentive staff and their gracious and helpful attitude. We were only once disappointed with the service of the beach club shuttle, but after explaining to the front desk about how it disrupted our evening plans, they comped us a cocktail at the lobby bar without prompting. Everything about this place is top notch. A few hints to the property: 1. leave more room between the lounge chairs by the pool - the tightness cheapens the experience, 2. make sure the signage on the walking paths to the beach is improved, and 3. keep that beach club shuttle running on a tighter schedule. September 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by A huge disappointment I took my boyfriend here as a surprise for his birthday. I was contacted before my stay by someone from St. Regis who offered to help me with reservations to restaurants, golf tee time arrangements, and spa services. I emailed her back a week before our stay asking about golf tee times and never heard back. This was really disappointing. I made a tee time for us without her help and was extremely disappointed that the hotel did not bring our clubs down to the course like promised the day before. Because of this, we were 30 minutes late to start our round. The restaurant we ate breakfast at in the hotel was average and extremely overpriced. I feel like when you pay $500 per night to stay at a luxury hotel these mistakes are unacceptable. I would never stay at the St. Regis again. April 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by the little things count The property is beautiful. The rooms are fresh, large with great amenities. What I am disappointed on is although there are alot of staff to help you, the following issues were on my recent stay of two nights--the in room safe didn't work; the alarm clock was set from prior guest and went off by itself; the bathroom 'tv speaker' was in the on position and was 'loud' (hard to find how to turn off); couldn't easily find plugs for phone charger (no one showed me how to operate tv, plugs or lights). And in trying to access internet, I followed the instructions in guide and while it stated the service is complimentary, I was charged $38 for three days because my event apparently didn't pay a resort fee (not clear in room guide). In other words, the little things undercut the 5 star.... November 9, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel has tremendously gone down. They need to train their front desk staff. At the end of our 2 night stay, we figured that we have to tell our requests to 3 different employees and confirm 2 times to make sure our requests were done. Seemed like going to work not a weekend gateway. Towels need to be upgraded. Hotel overall needs a lot of help. September 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by No hot water on two mornings One of the worst hotel stays I've experienced in recent memory. Had to take cold showers on two mornings. After the first episode, they did waive the hotel room fee for one night. Unfortunately, the second episode happened the morning of my departure and I just wanted to get out of there. Plus, I left a breakfast room service order on my door the night before and they never got it. Either someone ripped it off or they lost it. I've never had that happen before. Overall, a terrible experience March 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very nice hotel...but Very nice hotel...well situated...staff generally very friendly. That said, my wife had a white cover-up that was hanging in the bathroom and housekeeping must have taken it along with the towels when they cleaned the room. I reported it missing...and people could not have been less helpful. No one seemed to keep a record of my complaint. Each time I spoke to someone (and I tried 3 or 4 times) it was as if it was the first time I was logging the issue. I was told repeatedly that I would be contacted by someone and never was. Even during checkout I had to mention the issue again and they had no record of it. Very disappointing for a hotel of this calibre and cost. August 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Watch out for weddings! While the grounds, room, and spa were amazing, the blaring music from the wedding in the central courtyard until 10pm was not. I wish that the hotel would inform guests who are not part of wedding parties (and who are there to relax and unwind) BEFORE they make a reservation that there will be an event which may infringe on their enjoyment. In addition, it would have been nice to have been offered a room away from the event, so the noise would not have been such a problem. October 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Love the property but NOT the King Room With a girlfriend two weeks ago in a double (308) had a great time. When I went with my husband on December 19 we had a King (375). What is that screen doing behind the bed? Is greatly decreased the size of the room and one side of the bed had no side table and of course no light. Really made the room crowded and inconvenient. I will go again with girlfriends or family but not with my husband. Also was not offered a platinum suite although the hotel was not at all full. December 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 this is stupid shade on side window in suite 401 let too much morning light in, needs black out drape. November 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by room 334 i booked two rooms, both with a "pool view". Our first room, 312, had the view i expected - looking right over /at the pool. Our second room, 334, which my wife and i stayed in, looked over the grass area and only viewed the pool when leaning out over the balcony. We put our friends in room 312 as they were Montage fans and i wanted to make sure they enjoyed this stay. They did. When we checked in the person who checked me in said we were "right next door" to our friends in an adjacent room (not even close) - so this was a disappointment as well. We loved our stay, the grounds are fabulous, and the two main restaurants were great, especially the Tavern (Chris, our server, was fantastic!). So, aside from not getting true a pool view room and not being right next to our friends we had a great time. Thanks for the experience. April 8, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad customer service I was extremely dissapointed with the front desk. My son was joining us for the weekend there and we requested multiple times that he have a room near us. Not only was he not near us but he was in a completely separate wing and different floor. In fact I went to the desk mutilple times to try to get him near us once we arrived and although it was promised to us the staff said they never said that. I was very unhappy with their attitude and service I recieved. February 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic hotel Fantastic service, atmosphere, first class. My only suggestion is to consider a more moderately priced restaurant. We ate off property each evening and found great gourmet food choices off site for 1/4 the charge at the hotel restaurants (which charge 6x retail prices for a bottle of wine...one of my pet peeves!). Drop your wine prices and offer a more moderately priced restaurant. Either way, I'll be back, its a short drive to town! June 16, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointing This hotel feels as if it caters to the group crowd and has no interest in individual guests or families. The hotel was a disappointment from check in until checkout. Although we requested early check in and booked through Amex Fine Hotels we were told emphatically that a room was not available. We headed to the pool area and waited 20 minutes to give our lunch order. The menu was uninspiring and the food by the pool was lousy.. After much cajoling at the front desk we were reluctantly given a room at 3 pm. I made 2 requests that the sofa bed be made up and with hypoallergenic pillows. One to the bell hop and one to the butler. Neither seemed to hear. There seems to be a complete lack of service or interest in the guest at this hotel. Breakfast the next morning was also uninspiring. The exercise room had no attendants. This hotel felt like an overpriced rip-off. March 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by It was an excellent experience! My husband and I enjoyed the hospitality and world class service. Staff went above and beyond to make our holiday enjoyable and memorable. Our special thanks to Flora from room service and our remarkable butler Bill who went above and beyond to make our stay very comfortable and memorable. We are looking forward to be back. I highly recommend this hotel to everyone visiting Laguna Beach. Mr. & Mrs. Rudy Angeles. May 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just wanted us happy From the moment we stepped out of our car, everyone did whatever it took to make us happy. Polite beyond description. Gave us all we asked for and more. Food at the golf course restaurant was the best!!! Golf course was beautiful and well run. This was our second time staying at the St Regis to celebrate an anniversary. I am sure we will come back another year. July 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel is an spg participant This hotel participates in the spg program, but they do not have to adhere to the typical upgrades one might be accustomed to if they are platinum spg members. The room upgrades are at the discretion of the resort, and they try to upcharge any type of room upgrade. December 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent My review title says it all. During recent stay in October 2013 had an excellent stay in this beautiful hotel. Had a standard room with view on the pool. Room is fanatistic. Spacious and all luxery you could wish for. Used the tram (electric small bus) to the private beach club. Passed the excellent manucured gold course along the way. Beach is authentic and beautiful. Many bentley's parked at the beach club. November 6, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 24 next>>