The St. Regis Monarch Beach

  • One Monarch Beach Resort
  • Dana Point,
  • California
  • 92629
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest registration and check-in is restricted to those 21 years of age or older with valid identification.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 495 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great property This is a great property, very comfortable with excellent amenities. Room was nice and very comfortable. Service was good, although the butler never gave us orientation that was promised. Monarch beach club was a real perk. Golf course was a real treat. My only real criticism was that I had booked suite several months in advance and used the Elite concierge to request a high floor with a good view, and was told that since I was platinum my request would likely be honored. I nstead upon check in front desk gave us first floor with little view. When I protested she told us it was our problem since we checked in late. This was despite the fact I called the hotel twice once before we boarded our 5 hour flight that we would be checking in late. Due to a lost bag and LA traffice we arrived about 7 pm and was told all 4th & 5th floor suites with nice views weref fully committed. When I explained we had booked room with elite concierge we were told to try to check in earlier next time. I am quite unhappy about this and feel that the Elite program and Platinum status sometimes is not as advertised. This was handled quite poorly and I will think twice about using the concierge again for booking or requests since thye have no clout at all. August 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Staff The staff was excellent and more than met our needs! From the valets to the concierge to the housekeeping staff to the bartenders everyone made us feel welcome to our temporary home. Everyone was smiling and seemed truly happy to take care of us! We had a wonderful time! February 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Romantic Getaway The St. Regis was a perfect getaway for my wife and me. While we live less than a hundred miles away, it felt like we were somewhere in Europe. Our room and veiw were spectacular, and the service was outstanding. We enjoyed an intimate dinner by the beach and an elegant Sunday bruch on the main patio. All-in-all in was a fabulous weekend for two. February 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room Service Horrible & Little Platinum Member Recognition Location = What you would expect from Dana Point and near the beach. Meets St. Regis Standards as far as location is concerned. Service = Marginal at best. Was so promising until I got to the front desk & my Plainum status was not recognized accordingly, the room that they gave us was so distant from good views that it was hard to believe that it was an "upgrade" - Even worse is that we were so close to Christmas that I could tell that there were plenty of empty rooms in more desirable locations, but none of them were made available to me despite staying at SPG hotels over 60 nights this year. ROOM SERVICE = EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTING - JUST DON'T DO IT! EXPENSIVE RESTAURANT PRICES FOR SUBPAR FOOD - THEY COULDN'T EVEN MAKE MY FISH & CHIPS CORRECTLY. Other Food & Beverage = Well, we paid over $50 for 2 sandwiches, 2 sides, and 2 drinks at their "crust" cafe during one of our afternoons and the sandwiches were decent, but the sides were subpar, and needless to say...EVERYTHING WAS WAY OVERPRICED Pool & Spa looked inviting, even though we didn't have a chance to get in as it was sub 40 degree temps during this time of year Fitness Center was not anywhere near St. Regis standards Overall, I would have loved to use my money elsewhere & will not recommend this particular St. Regis Hotel to any of my friends, nor use my rewards on this hotel moving forward... December 25, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Memories.... The staff at St. Regis went above and beyond our expectations! It was so wonderful to wake in the morning to such beautiful views and the property is gorgeous! My husband in is a wheelchair and all of our needs were met, and we were able to get around with ease. The reservationist helped in more ways than I can say...he was an angel! When we arrived to our suite we were greeted with a bed of roses heart shaped and petals everywhere! I knew then we we going to have a very special stay...and we did! We also had A very memorable, fantastic meal at Stonehill Tavern... recommend the tasting menu! June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Views Views from Hotel are spectacular February 27, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible stay They wouldn't check us in. We arrived early and waited 5 hours at the pool with two small children. The only way we got our room was when I finally couldn't take it anymore and started complaining and then they finally have us a room at 5 pm! Who knows when we would of gotten the room if we didn't complain. And all they gave us was $50 credit!!!! This place is WAY over hyped! Would never ever stay here again!!!! I would think twice!!! Don't let the name fool you! It's all a gimic, a show!!!!!! Horrible!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The pool isn't even that nice! Been to way nicer hotels with better organization and service! I never write reviews ever! My first one ever but had to write how horrible it was! May 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relax in beautiful surroundings Very relaxing, wonderful spa, beautiful location - what's not to love? January 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love this hotel Everyone here is so friendly! The room is comfortable and so beautiful. The food was excellent and you feel like you are in a European country! February 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Repeat visitor let down on many fronts I originally sent this email to the GM and also responded with specific answers on a survey after our stay. I have heard nothing from SPG or the property, so hopefully someone in management will read this and be able to address some of the shortfalls: This is our second stay here, coming from the Palos Verdes area, and we returned specifically because our first stay was spectacular. Unfortunately, this one has left quite a bit begging, and it was punctuated by an exchange I just had with a Manager named Pei. After I left the spa today and returned to our room, I realized I had not called to confirm the 4pm late checkout afforded by my Gold (now Platinum status). Normally front desk personnal ask about this upon checkin, but there was no mention.. Since we reserved multiple services at the spa and were enjoying them and unwinding after, I wanted to take advantage of it. When I was told I could not have a late check out, I asked to speak to a manager and a Ms. Pei called me. While she attempted to be polite on the surface, she was essentially lecturing me in a relatively condescending fashion about SPG policy and the 4pm checkout and how it was upon availability. I have NEVER (you can see my dedicated history at Starwood I'm sure) been told I could not have a 4pm checkout, ever, including our last stay here. But the biggest issue I have is not with her rather panicked (no on-duty manager should be that skittish) attempts to refuse the late 4pm checkout, but with her attitude, especially when she relented finally but made it clear that she was doing ME a favor and allowing me the late check out I am entitled. What I informed Ms. Pei and would suggest to anyone responsible for operations or training in an hospitality setting, is that if you do not plan to extend something that is clearly expected and regularly offered expected benefit (even if the fine print says its upon availability), that should be communicated up front, at least at check in, and frankly at the time of booking, because other plans are made around the room booking, REVENUE GENERATING plans for the resort. Ms. Pei seemed only concerned about her occupancy issues and SPG benefit policy. I found her extremely displeasing. In addition, I expressed to Ms. Pei that we had issues with the room when we returned from Stonehill Tavern and she didn't seem to take any particular note or offer anything other than a fleeting "my apologies", so you might want to have them addressed. They included: - Water in shower that had no "warm" just extremes of hot and cold - Even though room was hot, we could only get hot air to come out of the A/C system for some reason, even when we turned the temp down low, and had to sleep with the door open, resulting in us waking early - The door to the toilet room is extremely squeaky and woke up the other person when it was closed - I clearly indicated in my reservation that there were two adults, and it was clear that a man and a woman's belongings were in the room, yet, the turndown service was only done on one side of the bed, no water, chocolates or slippers on other side In addition, my girlfriend was served spoiled youghurt in a yogurt parfait at the coffee bar this morning. We also waited 15 minutes mid-afternoon in the main restaurant for just initial water service. My order was taken and delivered incorrectly and there was no offer of correction. So I am spending the last hour of my stay here while my girlfriend finishes her mani/pedi writing this email, because besides all the room and food service failures, what I really hate the fact that your Manager was condescending and caused me distress with her attitude at the end of a supposedly relaxing stay. She really seemed ungenuine in her concerns for the problems we had during our stay and also my issues with her attitude and attempts to make it sound like I was out of line and she was doing me a favor. Unfortunately, we had hoped to make the St. Regis a getaway for us on a repeat basis in the future, but I don't think we will be coming back. January 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Check Out Debacle We were told that check out had to be at noon as the hotel was busy. We called for the car at 11:40 am, called for the porter at 11:55 am. Finally got our bags at about 12:45 pm, the car not until 12:55 pm. We were waiting on the curb outside the hotel for 55 minutes. The departure was a completely disorganized, chaotic event which could very easily have been mitigated by better management. When there was an anticipated high volume period, it would seem that the hotel management was unprepared and made no contingency plan and in fact demonstrated no concern regarding the comfort of their guests. I suspect it was not the intention of the hotel to toss us onto the curb to wait for a car for an hour - yet that was the service which was rendered. An otherwise fine stay was spoiled by poor planning and worse execution. February 17, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Beautiful Interior but staff doesn't pay attention I stayed here for a friends wedding and we had requested that all luggage be removed from the bridal suite and moved to my room. The bellman never came so when we returned from the wedding all bags were in the bride and groom's room. Needless to say, we were very upset that we had to interrupt the the bride and groom on their wedding night to retrieve our bags. In addition, as a SPG gold member I was told upon check in that I had been upgraded to a nicer room. When I got to the room I realized that the view was of a construction zone. November 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by St. Regis is a beautiful location. The St. Regis is a top notch facility. All the staff was of the highest quality. January 8, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad business practice After I left the hotel after 3 nights I received multiple folios all with different monetary figures on them. I was there for a business conference and they charged my company credit card with some of the expenses associated with the stay but not others. Everyone in our group had errors with their bills. They also charged me for mini bar expenses despite the fact I did not use anything in the minibar. I left a message for their accounting office to call me back but they have not done so. Very bad business practice. I feel violated by their behavior. October 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic resort Great service, amazing views and very relaxing environment. Wonderful for kids. February 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not Up To The Level We Expected Disappointing overall for a two room, two night stay Thursday through Saturday in early August using points for a Platinum member: 1. No upgrade for either of the two rooms. 2. Long lines at the front desk. Took about 30 minutes to check in. 3. No towels in fitness room on first day. Had to place a special request. 4. Took 3 phone calls to room service to get a bucket of ice. Their pool service however was outstanding. Great and attentive staff. I stay in a lot of hotels throughout the year. This was not the level of service I would expect from a St. Regis. August 26, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs Improvement Property is very beautiful and comfortable. What troubled me during our stay however, was that the staff didn't seem to measure up to the proposed quality of the resort and the expectations one would have at this price point. We assume it was a simple mistake by housekeeping, but we were also troubled to find torn towels in the bathroom. Also, we did not have a good experience at Stonehill Tavern, one of the restaurants on property. The service was slow. The food, average at best. Again at this price point, St. Regis did not meet our expectations. July 1, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Room Smelled Like feces This is the only time i have ever written a review due to an extraordinarly unpleasant stay. My room experienced flooding issues from the toilet that caused a foul scent that resonated throughout the whole room. We did make multiple complaints to the front desk/manager with the issue still being unresolved. We were given a $275 credit, however i felt that was insufficient for the troubles we had experienced. Our trip was ruined and came back home unrested with my wife getting sick. Btw, fyi Pay at the front desk was very rude and unacomodating. May 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel This hotel was way beyond anything I have ever experienced. The staff was very friendy and helpful. The facility was absolutely beautiful. I was there for a wedding and it was the most incredible event I ever attended. Five stars isn't enough for this hotel! February 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun, family-friendly hotel My first surprise at this St. Regis is the mass quantity of families and children about. I found this unusual for a StR, but acclimated to it. I usually stay here for a week at a time and just love morning walks to the beach and the incredible balcony-view restaurants. It always seems there's a wedding going on, and during Christmas, there is a mass of festivities. If that's your boat, great. If not, be advised. This is not a place to stay anonymous. Expect children running past your feet, and families at every turn. Great spa. Great golf. February 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply the best It's the little things like water bottles in the room (and more any time you request them), not a bad view on the property, and heavy pours in the lobby bar. Our recent weekend stay was highlighted by the attentive staff and their gracious and helpful attitude. We were only once disappointed with the service of the beach club shuttle, but after explaining to the front desk about how it disrupted our evening plans, they comped us a cocktail at the lobby bar without prompting. Everything about this place is top notch. A few hints to the property: 1. leave more room between the lounge chairs by the pool - the tightness cheapens the experience, 2. make sure the signage on the walking paths to the beach is improved, and 3. keep that beach club shuttle running on a tighter schedule. September 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Class all the way Love this hotel and staff... first class from valet to butler to pool and bar restaturant February 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by the little things count The property is beautiful. The rooms are fresh, large with great amenities. What I am disappointed on is although there are alot of staff to help you, the following issues were on my recent stay of two nights--the in room safe didn't work; the alarm clock was set from prior guest and went off by itself; the bathroom 'tv speaker' was in the on position and was 'loud' (hard to find how to turn off); couldn't easily find plugs for phone charger (no one showed me how to operate tv, plugs or lights). And in trying to access internet, I followed the instructions in guide and while it stated the service is complimentary, I was charged $38 for three days because my event apparently didn't pay a resort fee (not clear in room guide). In other words, the little things undercut the 5 star.... November 9, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Watch out for weddings! While the grounds, room, and spa were amazing, the blaring music from the wedding in the central courtyard until 10pm was not. I wish that the hotel would inform guests who are not part of wedding parties (and who are there to relax and unwind) BEFORE they make a reservation that there will be an event which may infringe on their enjoyment. In addition, it would have been nice to have been offered a room away from the event, so the noise would not have been such a problem. October 1, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by No hot water on two mornings One of the worst hotel stays I've experienced in recent memory. Had to take cold showers on two mornings. After the first episode, they did waive the hotel room fee for one night. Unfortunately, the second episode happened the morning of my departure and I just wanted to get out of there. Plus, I left a breakfast room service order on my door the night before and they never got it. Either someone ripped it off or they lost it. I've never had that happen before. Overall, a terrible experience March 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent My review title says it all. During recent stay in October 2013 had an excellent stay in this beautiful hotel. Had a standard room with view on the pool. Room is fanatistic. Spacious and all luxery you could wish for. Used the tram (electric small bus) to the private beach club. Passed the excellent manucured gold course along the way. Beach is authentic and beautiful. Many bentley's parked at the beach club. November 6, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Vacationers Beware!!!!!!!!!! I would never stay at another St. Regis every again. This hotel will nickel and dime you all the way to the bank. First, they will charge you $25/day for parking with no in/out privileges. Then when you check in, they will charge you another $25/day for "resort fees" for internet and spa regardless if you use it or not. Keep in mind that they don't tell you this when you first make the reservations. Lastly, be sure to check your bill as they will charge you for the mini bar even if you don't take anything out of it. I would give this a negative rating if I could as I have had a better stay experience staying at a fly by night motel than this place. I have been a gold member for quite a while and if they treat their preferred guest this way, I can't imagine how they would treat non-preferred guest members. May 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My unforgettable vacation weekend From the moment that we pulled up in the drive way, I knew that we were in for a treat. We went to check in and Kelly was there with a smile greeting us to the hotel. While I was checking in, the Front Desk Manager Kimber came out to greet me as well and assured me that if I needed anything at all, just call right down. As I walk into my room, I was greeted by the butler supervisor Nick, which he also assured me that if I needed anything at all, he's one call away. The restaurant was great for all times of the day. Krista served us for both dinner and brunch the next day. She remembered who I was, her service and attention to detail is top notch. I could not stop eating there, the food was just so amazing. The view from my room was the most romantic and timeless scene that I ever had the pleasure of laying eyes upon. Every single person that I ran into in the hallway greeted me with a sir at the end of each sentence. They stop as you walk by so you can pass along. Now that is what I call service! I could not tell you how much this hotel takes service to the next level. I did not want to leave but when it was time, they made me feel as if they didn't want me to go.Ariel did a great job in thanking me for being there and wishing that she would see me soon. I truly felt that she meant that. I can not thank them enough for the hospitality that I was given this weekend. Surely my favorite place to stay in Southern California! February 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Love the property but NOT the King Room With a girlfriend two weeks ago in a double (308) had a great time. When I went with my husband on December 19 we had a King (375). What is that screen doing behind the bed? Is greatly decreased the size of the room and one side of the bed had no side table and of course no light. Really made the room crowded and inconvenient. I will go again with girlfriends or family but not with my husband. Also was not offered a platinum suite although the hotel was not at all full. December 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Seemless getaway! Our stay at the St. Regis was truly remarkable. From the initial greeting we felt welcomed and at home. We belonged there and they knew it. The amenities, outlets and service made the weekend. Luckily we caught two great days of sun (82 each day) and R&R. I would strongly recommend a weekend visit or just stopping by the relaxing lounge for a cocktail and some live music. November 5, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 18 next>>