The St. Regis Monarch Beach

  • One Monarch Beach Resort
  • Dana Point,
  • California
  • 92629
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest registration and check-in is restricted to those 21 years of age or older with valid identification.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 595 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by The hotel is magnificient. The hotel is magnificient and the service was outstanding. What a truly unique and wonderful experience. June 25, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Service was Unacceptable We checked out of our room and paid the final bill. A week later we received a "revised" hotel bill that was in error and we were overcharged for our stay. We called the accounting dept, a the St Regis on three (3) different occasions and they were to take care of the problem. We are now two months away from our stay and the problem has not been resolved. October 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Emily Iker, M.D. Once again, We had memorable experience and a fabulous time in your hotel. Thank you, Emily Iker, M.D. June 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Business Trip The Suite was excellent and the butler service was over the top. Timely and available when you needed the service. June 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Property One of the prettiest hotels in North America. Grounds and pool area are amazing. Frequent traveler (platinum status) and stay at many luxury hotels across all brands including Relais & Chateaux properties. Property is absolutely beautiful. Had amazing service at pool snack bar from Katie. She deserves recognition and a raise! Incredible service. Was visiting property using free night awards. Even though platinum status, our room was standard room overlooking side of resort (no pool view or ocean view). In fairness to hotel, it was very busy during the weekend, and am sure suites were limited, but got the impression that received no upgrade whatsoever (much less to suite) which was disappointing. Hotels need to treat its top level of loyal patrons with great rooms, hotel disappointed in this category, but otherwise very pleased with stay and will return. Spa facilities were excellent. I have also stayed at the Laguna Ritz which, too, is beautiful, but consider the St. Regis nicer between the two. November 19, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great property on the SOuthern California Coast The property is a great combination of a very nice luxury hotel with a great location. The staff truly went out of their way to meet all expectations. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful facility Absolutely lovely. Great staff. Food hit and miss. The rooms were hot at night, 12-6am barely working. Think that must be some regulation as it is the same in LA Very enjoyable stay. Would like more light in the rooms. June 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good BUT Expected perfect but what seemed to be newer, not fully trained employees made some things very disappointing. A manager has addressed a problem satisfactorily. Everyone tried hard, was cheerful. Facility and amenities are terrific. June 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs Improvement Property is very beautiful and comfortable. What troubled me during our stay however, was that the staff didn't seem to measure up to the proposed quality of the resort and the expectations one would have at this price point. We assume it was a simple mistake by housekeeping, but we were also troubled to find torn towels in the bathroom. Also, we did not have a good experience at Stonehill Tavern, one of the restaurants on property. The service was slow. The food, average at best. Again at this price point, St. Regis did not meet our expectations. July 1, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Prices much too high for the quality of this hotel. We've always loved the St Regis however, our most recent stay was a major disappointment. The prices we paid at this hotel were HIGH; the quality of service & food were LOW. The food at the hotel is quite pricey & mediocre at best. The valet service is extremely SLOW. One day we waited 45 minutes for the valet to come back & say there was a problem locating the car (we ended up missing our appt time off property so we didn't continue to wait for the car)-the next day we waited over 30 minutes after we had called them 20 minutes prior to order up the car. The rooms are very nice with plush beds & nice bathrooms, however, we only received turn down service once & they didn't replenish our toiletries. We were overall let down by this hotel stay. September 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Nice Very nice hotel/resort. The rooms were well maintained. Housekeeping did an excellent job during my 5 night stay. Loads of ammenities, nice shops, beautiful resort and location. While the food was wonderful, there could have been a bit more variety. Best hotel experience I've had in a very long time. June 19, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Monarch Bay is not what I expected from St. Regis We were originally scheduled to stay for 6 nights, but added a 7th to arrive a day early. We tried to anticipate and avoid any problems by calling ahead and alerting the hotel to the additional reservation. We were assured their system had the rooms linked. When we arrived, the rooms were not linked - the staff showed us checking out the next day (despite the now 7 night reservation). We were then told at 3:30 that our room was not ready and we had to wait if we wanted an upgraded room (Ocean view). Despite waiting until 4:15, when we checked in we were not upgraded to an ocean view. We had a view of the golf course parking lot. When we entered the room my wife had to wipe down the dresser and other items, which were filthy (as evidenced by the discolored wet wipe she had when she was done). In addition, the next day our room keys did not work because they were coded for one night's stay. On one occassion, we had to call two times (once at 2:00 pm and again at 3:30 pm) to have our room cleaned and serviced. It was finally completed after 4 pm. Finally, we experienced numerous billing errors on our dining and poolside bills that we had to review carefully to have items removed. Minibar charges were also incorrectly added to my final bill. In all, the experience was so bad we checked out 2 days early - staying only 5 nights. As a lifetime SPG gold member (and frequently Platinum), I was very disappointed . July 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Beautiful Interior but staff doesn't pay attention I stayed here for a friends wedding and we had requested that all luggage be removed from the bridal suite and moved to my room. The bellman never came so when we returned from the wedding all bags were in the bride and groom's room. Needless to say, we were very upset that we had to interrupt the the bride and groom on their wedding night to retrieve our bags. In addition, as a SPG gold member I was told upon check in that I had been upgraded to a nicer room. When I got to the room I realized that the view was of a construction zone. November 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The setting is beautful and the staff takes it to another level I truly enjoyed my recent stay at the St. Regis. The staff were beyond excellent and made all the difference. As a result, we extended our stay and added a room. I got great treatment from the point of my arrival with our bellman Matt. He took us to our room, got ice for my friend with a broken ankle, and was very engaging. When we decided to stay longer and add a room, we got exccwe got great support from Christopher who was so nice and kind. Thanks for making my friend have an anwesome birthday. December 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great End for Our Honeymoon The service we received was incredible. We could not have had a better end to our honeymoon! June 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful property, very friendly staff. I felt like a valued family member the entire time I was at this property. Every staff member I interacted with was friendly, helpful and pleasant to talk with. Every request was met with enthusiasm and fulfilled quickly and often beyond what I expected. While the main hotel is not even remotely a beachfront property, the hotel does have a private beach clubhouse that guests can visit by riding less than 10 minutes across hotel grounds in a fancy tram shuttle. Be aware the hotel does not have a free or low cost self parking option, so all guests with cars (which is likely 90% or more) are forced to valet park for a high price, which really adds up on a multiple night stay. I found this situation surprising since clearly they have the room on this sprawling, non-urban property to provide a self park option at a reasonable lower rate per night. December 8, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bar Service Raul, the bartender was great. My wife and i had dinner one night at the bar and his professionalism and friendliness was fantastic. he made the night a pleasure. June 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Customer Service! I am more than pleased to contribute a stellar review regarding your facility. I was recently part of the ITT Technical Institute group that stayed several days at your location and have never had a better experience staying at another hotel. Your staff is highly trained to provide the highest level of customer service. On numerous occasions your team exceeded my expectations. November 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply AWESOME!!!! This was by far one of the best resorts that I have stayed at. Incredible service, immediate SPG Gold recognition and benefits, fabulous rooms, great food, fun activities for children. I loved the butler service offered to suite guests. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is interested in having a first class holiday. I cannot wait to return for a longer stay next summer. July 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel 1st impression This hotel has a great sense of arrival. June 15, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nice place bad attitude I'm completing a preferred level # of visits for 2013 and thought this would be a nice treat for my birthday. It ended up being a lesson in lowered expectations. Hotel itself and rooms where as expected for a St Regis. What was severely lacking was the level of customer service and preferred level treatment. My stay started with a snobby front desk personnel with no hospitality. I would have been satisfied with the expected basic level of service at a lower star level hotel in spg, which would have beat this "St Regis". If I had to do over again I would have used my time and money ($$$$) at another chain that would treat me better as a preferred frequent client. Disappointed December 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded my expectations! I have had the privilege to stay at numerous first-class hotels and resorts in the United States, but The St. Regis Monarch Beach was by far the finest resort that I have ever stayed at. The service that was provided by every member of your staff was impeccable! Thank you for such a wonderful experience! November 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall Very Very Nice Used my 2 free night stay here. Did not like that I had to pay extra $25 resort fee per night. When I made my booking they said that resort fee covered parking, but it DID NOT. Had to pay another $30 per night for valet or $24 for self park, but you can't go in and out with self-park...that is a RIP OFF. Loved my room, patio door did not lock and no bath salts. Called for bath salts each day at least 3 times before I could get any delivered to my room. WEIRD? First time I called I was told they were very popular and people took them? Yes, so what? Strange answer to my inquiry. Valet was extremely busy, had to wait over 20 minutes to get my car and people who came down after me were getting their cars before me? Another weird thing? Overall loved the room and grounds. Food and drinks very pricey. December 21, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by A few problems during my 3-night stay from 11/24/11 to 11/27/11 1. Sound insulation was very bad: toilet and shower sound from other rooms could be heard very clearly. They became wake-up calls in unpredictable time every morning. 2. A service person rang the door bell at 9:30am, followed by knocking on the door, while my wife and I were still sleeping. 3. The room was not equipped with coffee maker, and they charged $25 for it per day. 4. The parking system is not convenient. Need to physically walk to the front of the hotel to get validation for the parking ticket before I could drive out. 5. They charged $25 per day for self parking, without any in-and-out privilege. November 30, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Disappointing service This was our fifth stay at the St. Regis. The hotel and facilities do not disappoint. The check in staff are friendly and efficient. However, when we went to the lounge area adjacent to the bar to have some evening snacks, we were severely let down. Having waited ten minutes I approached one of the four or five servers that were on the floor and requested a menu. She gave me one. I sat back down. I must add that the area was not busy or I would have been more understanding of such dismal service. We waited a further twenty minutes while servers walked right by our empty table and it was only when we stood up to go that one server asked did we need anything. Very very disappointed. January 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing stay at the Monarch Beach property This is a nice property in a great location. Stayed for one night and was booked into an Executive Suite room. The reason for my disappointment is based on two specific items. First, our view was impaired by a large, cargo/moving truck that was parked immediately outside of our room, giving the experience a "motel-on-the-interstate" feel. This remained for the entire stay. Two, the staff had assured me that they would move it on our first night, but never actually moved the truck. When asked about this at check-out the reception desk was apathetic and obstinate. This was pretty surprising as my stays at the San Fran and Washington DC St. Regis properties have been very nice. March 18, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor staff response to problems It took 4 days and 4 complaints to get the telephone in my room working. A hotel manager left a voice message about the problem, which I did not receive for 2 days until the phone was fixed. Service at breakfast was slow and unresponsive. At one breakfast I was served a bowl of oatmeal without a spoon, and one was not provided even after I asked. I ended up eating the oatmeal with my coffee spoon. The one saving grace was the housekeeping staff. The housekeeping service provided was some of the best I have received anywhere in the world. This outstanding service made the stay tolerable. February 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very bad service very nice hotel but VERY stuffy Staff made us feel like we were doing them a favor by staying there Room service trays were in the hall for 2 days with staff walking by them all day Even asked a staff member about it and it was still there the next day December 2, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by The staff did not recognize my gold status I have been to this Hotel at least 6 times and have kept returning. This time, as a Gold Status, I could not obtain an upgrade or extended check out time (1 hour only). This is my last trip to this great resort. September 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Spectacular meeting location Every experience I had with the staff at the St. Regis was above and beyond expectations. They should teach a master class in customer service. November 12, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 21 next>>