The St. Regis Monarch Beach

  • One Monarch Beach Resort
  • Dana Point,
  • California
  • 92629
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest registration and check-in is restricted to those 21 years of age or older with valid identification.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 665 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Memories.... The staff at St. Regis went above and beyond our expectations! It was so wonderful to wake in the morning to such beautiful views and the property is gorgeous! My husband in is a wheelchair and all of our needs were met, and we were able to get around with ease. The reservationist helped in more ways than I can say...he was an angel! When we arrived to our suite we were greeted with a bed of roses heart shaped and petals everywhere! I knew then we we going to have a very special stay...and we did! We also had A very memorable, fantastic meal at Stonehill Tavern... recommend the tasting menu! June 28, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible stay They wouldn't check us in. We arrived early and waited 5 hours at the pool with two small children. The only way we got our room was when I finally couldn't take it anymore and started complaining and then they finally have us a room at 5 pm! Who knows when we would of gotten the room if we didn't complain. And all they gave us was $50 credit!!!! This place is WAY over hyped! Would never ever stay here again!!!! I would think twice!!! Don't let the name fool you! It's all a gimic, a show!!!!!! Horrible!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The pool isn't even that nice! Been to way nicer hotels with better organization and service! I never write reviews ever! My first one ever but had to write how horrible it was! May 28, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Stay in the hotel was not up to st. Regis standards The hotel did not have our room ready for more than two hours after the standard checkin time. although mistakes can happen, the staff did not apologize. One staff even said it's not such a long period of time to wait. We were also surprised that there were no coffee pots in the rooms and the only way to get coffee was to purchase it. The main pool did not have enough chairs one day. Overall, we were surprised that the place did not match the standards of st. Regis hotels we've stayed in prior. We know though that usually their service is wonderful and we hope this was a one time mishap. August 24, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Luxury Hotel - Bring your own coffee maker Great facility and room, but seemed like despite being a luxury hotel, they wanted to charge me for ordinary amenities as extra. There was no coffee maker in the room, and when I asked for one, I was told that would be another $25. Unheard of for a luxury hotel for something as basic as coffee. Staff seemed to be more interested in enforcing rules than ensuring a pleasurable experience January 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Service Needs Help We stayed here with our two young children, along with a connecting room for our nanny and her husband, who are in their mid-20's. The Good: The housekeeping manager was great and went the extra mile to go to the store and get some hypoallergenic was for the kids as my daughter had a skin reaction to the body wash. The valet guys were extremely friendly and helpful. The Bad: Our nanny and her husband were constantly questioned if they were staying at the hotel and what their room number was because they were young. We were embarrassed and had to keep apologizing for the hotel staff questioning them on their behalf. Ordering lunch at the pool took an hour for delivery and the food was subpar at best. My wife was talking to the valet guys that we were going to Disneyland for the day and they suggested we talk to concierge to get tickets. The concierge wouldn’t even acknowledge my wife directly and simply stated to the valet “well she can’t get them here; she needs to go to the Business Center”. He wouldn’t even leave his post to help her or show her to the Business Center. I thought this place was supposed to provide service? When I called down to concierge and asked for a recommendation for a fish restaurant in Dana Point that is reasonable and kid friendly, she chuckled at me and said “well we are in Dana Point…” What kind of answer is that? I know where I am…I’m staying at your hotel! St. Regis Butler Service, Allow Me does not exist here. I would not return for a family vacation July 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decline in service level I have stayed at this facility numerous times since it opened. I noticed a decline in service this time. My room was not available upon arrival. I had to wait until 5:30PM to receive my room key. I mean 4:00PM check is late already compared to most hotel, but 5:30PM check in is totaly unacceptable. Also, room service order took more than one full hour to deliver! January 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just wanted us happy From the moment we stepped out of our car, everyone did whatever it took to make us happy. Polite beyond description. Gave us all we asked for and more. Food at the golf course restaurant was the best!!! Golf course was beautiful and well run. This was our second time staying at the St Regis to celebrate an anniversary. I am sure we will come back another year. July 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Needs work Stayed at the hotel for 5 days from Sep 2 thru Sep 6 for work gathering. Service was not good (Butler, pool, restaurant). First day they did not have Rum at the pool. Everyday was toture waiting for room or butler service. Pool and restaurant service was subpar for this resort and took way too long - forgot about us on numerous occassions. September 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very disappointing My family and I stayed at this property for one night because it was the ONLY Starwood property in the area. We were visiting friends whom we hadn't seen in a long time. We thought it would be fun if they could come to the hotel for lunch and then all the kids could swim together while the adults chatted. The hotel was still very empty as it was noon on Friday and there were only two other tables seated. Nonetheless, the service was atrocious. The drinks took 15 min. to arrive and then trickled in one at a time. We were 10 feet from the bar and it still took 25 min. for my beer to arrive! It took another 15 min. for the appetizers to appear we repeatedly (about 8 times!) had to ask for things which hadn't been served. It was like we had to work for our lunch. Next we find that you cannot have guests at the pool-- even if there is NOBODY else there. I understand the no guest policy when it is crowded, but to not allow it at all EVER is just poor hospitality. We spent an enormous amount on lunch and would have continued to spend money on drinks. It is not as if they would have been disadvantaged. We even offered to pay a fee to use the pool for 2 hours, but they would not make any exceptions. They couldn't have cared less that we are SPG gold members and were unnecessarily rude in responding to our inquiries. The "gentleman" at the front dest was even haughty. The last straw was at check-out: I was waiting in line while my husband got the car. There was somebody coming down the line to help people with getting their bills printed out and offering drinks, a nice service when there is a line, but he totally ignored me! He helped the MAN in front of me and then assisted the MAN behind me, never bothering to ask if I was waiting. I guess he assumed I was with one of the MEN in line!! Totally unacceptable behavior!! I spoke up immediately and he apologized, but this should never have occured. I left the property feeling extremely offended and completely appalled at the terrible service we received. I will NEVER stay there again. November 20, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing service We experienced what I would call several small "hassles" that culminate in a poor service experience. We requested a quiet, remote room away from outside events and activities, and re-iterated this upon checkin. I got to the room to find 20 guys outside my patio setting up a huge tent and speakers. Lets try again and I had to call to be moved to the other side of the hotel. We couldn't access the internet because they had our name spelled incorrectly; trying to explain this to the employee that there was no issue in our equipment connecting...this was fine....that it was on their "authenticating" end was futile and she insisted on sending someone to our room because it must be us....the tech had to just give us a free passcode because we were connected fine as I stated and he could not resolve in our room. Our phone handset didn't work so we had to use the speaker phone; the tv checkout system wouldn't work either; my self parking ticket couldn't be validated and didn't work and my room key worked the first day only. The bed was very uncomfortable as you are sleeping in a hole - they don't flip, or fluff the mattresses or mattress pads. We rode the tram back from the beach, and asked to be let out near the golf club as our room was in the north wing and closer; another guest who was on our tram laughed when he saw us back in the hotel and informed us the tram driver was angry saying "we obviously weren't guests and shouldn't have picked us up" - Nice! The most irritating hassle however was the food offering hours. Typically the best hotels offer food all hours and we have never had so much trouble eating a nice snack or something small between 3-5 pm. The lobby lounge offers such snacks or bar food, but not until 5.....and the pool bar...typically the resource you would count on for this doesn't serve food during the afternoon hours -RIDICULOUS. Your only choice is to go to the sit-down restaurant or room service. Their morning snack place, Crush doesn't remotely cut it by late afternoon unless you want m&m's or a tired muffin. Overall, we found the experience one hassle after another. January 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Phenomenal Sweet 16th Birthday Celebration!! We celebrated my daughter's sweet 16th birthday at the St. Regis and the entire experience was fabulous! Someone read my pre-arrival survey, contacted me about my specific requests and answered all my questions. Upon arrival, we were pleasantly surprised by our Starwood Gold room upgrade to a suite, complete with butler service. We had reserved a second room for the next day (actual birthday) for our daughter and her friends to use. I was able to check-in to that room early as requested (12 noon) to allow me to decorate and set-up my candy buffet. The room was close to ours for convenience. The hotel very nicely sent-up a complimentary mini chocolate cake wishing her a "Happy Sweet 16 Birthday" and our butler arranged for cake service for 8 at the time of our choice, along with complimentary balloons! All in all, the hotel made my daughter feel very special on her birthday, which was exactly what I was hoping for when I made the reservation. Thanks St. Regis for going above & beyond! July 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel is an spg participant This hotel participates in the spg program, but they do not have to adhere to the typical upgrades one might be accustomed to if they are platinum spg members. The room upgrades are at the discretion of the resort, and they try to upcharge any type of room upgrade. December 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Experience Friendly and helpful staff. Very comfortable room. Beauritul views. Very pleasing stay. September 9, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staff having an off day? As a former employee of a hotel and many restaurants, I often get the vibe that I'm a hotel snob and set my expectations high. And at the rate this property charged the night of my stay, yes, my expectations are high. For the amount of money I offer 2 stars - Needs improvement. Trip was a stay-cation, birthday overnight on a Sunday. Issues: 1. Room not ready (that happens on a Sunday) 2. Once checked in - 3 instances Housekeeping/Management knocked on our door to see if we were checking out. Trying to relax and get a nap while being interrupted. This is cause for a bad review. 3. Cafe food - $16 hamburger should come w ketchup and mustard w/o asking for it 5 mins later. Heatlamps should be checked for Propane; we had ours switched 3 times. Water glass went empty 3 times - why? 4. Room services the next morning was spot on..and the view from the room was also perfect. Overall I feel like the staff might have been worn out from a long weekend, but that's part of the game in the high end hotel market. Overall, I am dissatisfied with the experience, however families with children will enjoy this property. June 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Spectacular My little sister is a competitive horseback rider and we are frequently in the area. Any time we are, we make a beeline for this hotel. The staff makes the place feel like home - and that is really nice considering that we will sometimes be away for weeks! I can't say enough about how much we love it. July 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic staff Amazing staff. Very professional and courteous. Tremendously responsive and so positive. A wonderful greeting from everyone everyday I was there. Even after a long morning run, the valet team sprinted to get me some water upon my return. Wonderful hotel. July 16, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Mismanaged. Disappointed beyond belief Despite this being a $575+/night hotel, the amenities and services are light. There is no coffee maker in the room. It is counter-intuitive why the cheaper hotels give more (in-room coffee maker, newspapers, free breakfast, free wifi) while SRMB charges everything a-la-carte. Service was bad. Nobody seems to know what is going on. And staff does not follow through. July 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not Up To The Level We Expected Disappointing overall for a two room, two night stay Thursday through Saturday in early August using points for a Platinum member: 1. No upgrade for either of the two rooms. 2. Long lines at the front desk. Took about 30 minutes to check in. 3. No towels in fitness room on first day. Had to place a special request. 4. Took 3 phone calls to room service to get a bucket of ice. Their pool service however was outstanding. Great and attentive staff. I stay in a lot of hotels throughout the year. This was not the level of service I would expect from a St. Regis. August 26, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by do not stay here Day one our stay was fine. The morning of day 2 we could not use the bath facilities due to what looked like fecal matter coming out of every facet in the bath room. The bath water was dark brown and black. We called the manager and they sent the engineer to the room who took pictures and said he was sorry. Eventually the water ran clear again but we checked out. Management apologized but made us feel the issue was no big deal. Certainly not the St Regis experience we have had in the past. We were disgusted by the entire experience and how it was handled. February 26, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hotel Overpriced How can a world class hotel not have cellulare service in their rooms? If they know about this why dont they tell guests this in advance. Stayed at the hotel for a wedding and missed very important calls without cell service. Charging a resort fee of $25.00 and then a $35.00 valet fee is a rip-off. Attended a wedding at the hotel and we sat at our table at 7:30PM. Did not get dinner served until 10:15 PM. Hotel had too many weddings and could not accomodate all of the guests that had to be served. Hope the Bride's Family got some of their money back!!! September 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top notch luxury hotel We loved our stay at the St. Regis. Service was exceptional at every touch point from valet/bell service to checkin to restaurants to the pool and beach. The rooms are beautiful and the beds are fabulous. July 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Room Smelled Like feces This is the only time i have ever written a review due to an extraordinarly unpleasant stay. My room experienced flooding issues from the toilet that caused a foul scent that resonated throughout the whole room. We did make multiple complaints to the front desk/manager with the issue still being unresolved. We were given a $275 credit, however i felt that was insufficient for the troubles we had experienced. Our trip was ruined and came back home unrested with my wife getting sick. Btw, fyi Pay at the front desk was very rude and unacomodating. May 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun, family-friendly hotel My first surprise at this St. Regis is the mass quantity of families and children about. I found this unusual for a StR, but acclimated to it. I usually stay here for a week at a time and just love morning walks to the beach and the incredible balcony-view restaurants. It always seems there's a wedding going on, and during Christmas, there is a mass of festivities. If that's your boat, great. If not, be advised. This is not a place to stay anonymous. Expect children running past your feet, and families at every turn. Great spa. Great golf. February 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by St. Regis Monarch Beach Excellent facility. Beautiful golf course, excellent spa facility included with the resort fee. Relaxing pool with responsive and friendly staff and more than an ample number of staff to care for the guests needs. July 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic hotel Fantastic service, atmosphere, first class. My only suggestion is to consider a more moderately priced restaurant. We ate off property each evening and found great gourmet food choices off site for 1/4 the charge at the hotel restaurants (which charge 6x retail prices for a bottle of wine...one of my pet peeves!). Drop your wine prices and offer a more moderately priced restaurant. Either way, I'll be back, its a short drive to town! June 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty good hotel This hotel has lots of things that are very nice. The rooms are clean and the beach is nice. Suggestions for improvement: 1. The pool areas are too small to accommodate the guests. Need more pool area and chairs for guests. 2. The food and beverages are overpriced for their quality. $14.00 for a daiquiri?? $5.50 for an iced tea? That is just greedy. 3. Coffee should be provided for in the room at no cost. 4. Every time we called down for the car to be brought around by the valet people, it was not there when we arrived out front. Not sure why we would bother calling down. 5. The TV was blaring on the speaker in the bathroom. July 26, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Location of Room We were extremely disappointed in the location of our room. We were told that we would have a RESORT VIEW. When we arrived we walked in our room and we were looking at a bush. When looking outside we couldn't even figure out where we were in hotel. We called front desk and asked to be moved to another location and they told us they could move us to the 2nd floor only because hotel was Full. We saw SEVERAL empty rooms with good views. When we moved to the 2nd floor room once again when we looked out the window we looked at a tree. We did not see ANY of the resort. We were extremely disappointed and will probably NEVER return. It was our Anniversary weekend and we were extremely disappointed in location of room. We could have stayed at home and had a better view. July 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by labor day We had a good stay. The only thing you need to work on is the line at the beach. This is the third year I have stayed at the resort so it shouldn't be a surprise that you need extra transportation for that weekend. Cant you just rent a couple of vans or carts for that weekend? September 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply the best It's the little things like water bottles in the room (and more any time you request them), not a bad view on the property, and heavy pours in the lobby bar. Our recent weekend stay was highlighted by the attentive staff and their gracious and helpful attitude. We were only once disappointed with the service of the beach club shuttle, but after explaining to the front desk about how it disrupted our evening plans, they comped us a cocktail at the lobby bar without prompting. Everything about this place is top notch. A few hints to the property: 1. leave more room between the lounge chairs by the pool - the tightness cheapens the experience, 2. make sure the signage on the walking paths to the beach is improved, and 3. keep that beach club shuttle running on a tighter schedule. September 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by A huge disappointment I took my boyfriend here as a surprise for his birthday. I was contacted before my stay by someone from St. Regis who offered to help me with reservations to restaurants, golf tee time arrangements, and spa services. I emailed her back a week before our stay asking about golf tee times and never heard back. This was really disappointing. I made a tee time for us without her help and was extremely disappointed that the hotel did not bring our clubs down to the course like promised the day before. Because of this, we were 30 minutes late to start our round. The restaurant we ate breakfast at in the hotel was average and extremely overpriced. I feel like when you pay $500 per night to stay at a luxury hotel these mistakes are unacceptable. I would never stay at the St. Regis again. April 22, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 23 next>>