The St. Regis Monarch Beach

  • One Monarch Beach Resort
  • Dana Point,
  • California
  • 92629
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest registration and check-in is restricted to those 21 years of age or older with valid identification.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 678 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by It was an excellent experience! My husband and I enjoyed the hospitality and world class service. Staff went above and beyond to make our holiday enjoyable and memorable. Our special thanks to Flora from room service and our remarkable butler Bill who went above and beyond to make our stay very comfortable and memorable. We are looking forward to be back. I highly recommend this hotel to everyone visiting Laguna Beach. Mr. & Mrs. Rudy Angeles. May 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nickel and Dime Atmosphere! This was the 3rd time I have stayed at the property since it opened and I must say, unless drastic changes are made, it was my final stay. My wife and I were celebrating our 18th wedding anniversary and while there was a nice gift and attention to detail from the staff on recognizing the event, in so many ways, the rest of the stay fell short. The chaos at check-in was not typical for an SPG property. There was a line 10 deep and the entire process, while fast for our reservation, was quite slow overall. The vibe in the lobby was stale at best. There was no music, live or recorded, and the are seemed sterile and unwelcome this weekend. The room was disappointing in many ways. The room I reserved was referred to as a Luxury Ocean View but the view was more of the golf course and a service road. This was not really what I would consider a true ocean view but a partial ocean view and I felt a bit mislead, especially for the $650 pre-pay rate I paid. The room was also left extremely hot and the entire 2 days the A/C was struggling to cool down the room. I also could not understand why the TV failed to include local TV stations?? Stonehill Tavern was a great restaurant and we enjoyed the dinner and service we had there Friday night. We also felt that the staff and vibe of the Monarch Beach Club was professional and attentive. The spa, while in need of updating (steam room broken, and the lounge still had a "boom box" radio??) offered a great service --kudos to the masseuse. However, to not have coffee available in the lobby is not on par with other properties who would be competitive to this facility. The only way to get a cup of coffee was to wait in line in the lobby cafe, despite being told by an employee that we could call "Butler Service" and avoid the long lines to be had. When I tried that, I was told that our room (again, an upgraded Luxury Suite, or so I thought) did NOT include the service and that I would need to call for regular room service -- again, nothing special about that option. So many possibilities with a property this way but overall, the facility seemed dated and faded, in need of some work and updating. The fountains were broken or shut down due to the drought(?) and the carpets seemed dirty and falling loose. In order for us to revisit the hotel, we would need to know there was a major change in management and that the facility was invested in updates. August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Spectacular My little sister is a competitive horseback rider and we are frequently in the area. Any time we are, we make a beeline for this hotel. The staff makes the place feel like home - and that is really nice considering that we will sometimes be away for weeks! I can't say enough about how much we love it. July 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointing This hotel feels as if it caters to the group crowd and has no interest in individual guests or families. The hotel was a disappointment from check in until checkout. Although we requested early check in and booked through Amex Fine Hotels we were told emphatically that a room was not available. We headed to the pool area and waited 20 minutes to give our lunch order. The menu was uninspiring and the food by the pool was lousy.. After much cajoling at the front desk we were reluctantly given a room at 3 pm. I made 2 requests that the sofa bed be made up and with hypoallergenic pillows. One to the bell hop and one to the butler. Neither seemed to hear. There seems to be a complete lack of service or interest in the guest at this hotel. Breakfast the next morning was also uninspiring. The exercise room had no attendants. This hotel felt like an overpriced rip-off. March 21, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by The hotel did not meet our expectations. Check In time was 4:00. We sat in the lobby bar and had a drink. At 4:30 we went back to the desk because we had to change for an evening event and needed to get into our room. It wasn't ready so they offered to buy us a drink. We accepted and when the room was ready the front desk associate said, ät least you got a free drink". The TV did not work in the room - it was finally repaired the following day. There was a plumbing issue in the room above us that wasn't resolved for two days. The room overlooked a corporate dinner for hundreds of guests with microphones, lights, etc until 11:00 PM - why not put the guests of the dinner in our room and move us to a quiet side of the hotel. The last night we had dinner at the highly recommended Monarch Bay Club. The service and food were both inadequate. The valet staff - excellent! But that is not a reason to return. September 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic staff Amazing staff. Very professional and courteous. Tremendously responsive and so positive. A wonderful greeting from everyone everyday I was there. Even after a long morning run, the valet team sprinted to get me some water upon my return. Wonderful hotel. July 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent My review title says it all. During recent stay in October 2013 had an excellent stay in this beautiful hotel. Had a standard room with view on the pool. Room is fanatistic. Spacious and all luxery you could wish for. Used the tram (electric small bus) to the private beach club. Passed the excellent manucured gold course along the way. Beach is authentic and beautiful. Many bentley's parked at the beach club. November 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful but lacking in service The hotel was lovely but I found the service to be poor. Called the conceirge many times and the phone usually just rang with no answer. 1 time they did answer and were supposed to call me back but never did. They responded they forgot! Called valet from room to bring car around but that didn't do any good. The request was never made (3 different times). Room was very comfortable but could hear outside noise. November 11, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Over Promise, under deliver This resort has a long way to go. Our bathroom had a sewer smell and the staff was not friendly or accomodating. At the end of the first day I had enough (of the sewer smell mainly), and inquired about cancelling our second night. Instead of asking why I would want to leave, I was instead given the choice of staying or receiving a "penalty." We suffered through, and no one tried to find out why we were unhap June 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a great gift! As a frequent traveler Starwoods out did itself this year by offering free nights at a resort of my choice with multiple summer stays. My wife and I spent our Thanksgiving at the St. Regis Monarch Resort in Dana Point, CA. The resort is beautiful, the service was outstanding and the location was astounding. This allowed us to visit our son in Orange County and stay at a five star resort. Thanks Starwoods. November 28, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by sprinklers A bride hung her dress on a sprinkler which broke at 4am and flooded a floor and made the entire hotel evacuate at 4am for 40 min. The staff did make sure we were all safe. However the next day there was no - sorry for the inconvenience, here's a cup of coffee. Just a note saying that it was an mistake. We also had dinner at the nicest restaurant on the property. We were sat at 8.30, each guest ordered one appetizer and an entree, the entrees didn't arrive until 10.30pm.... and there was little drink service. We were exhausted by the time dinner finished. Odd service for such a high end brand September 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top notch luxury hotel We loved our stay at the St. Regis. Service was exceptional at every touch point from valet/bell service to checkin to restaurants to the pool and beach. The rooms are beautiful and the beds are fabulous. July 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Service sub par for luxury hotel Stayed at us grant prior to arrival at st Regis and was surprised by the difference in service. The us grant was exceptional. At the st Regis staff was not friendly, seemed rushed and were rude on occasion. We were offered butler service but were never able to find our butler and staff seemed annoyed. Location and resort are beautiful but with other 5stars to choose from service should be improved November 15, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 Butler Service was impeccable Hy husband and I spent our 25th anniversary at the St. Regis. The start of the trip was "bumpy" to say the least but that was all forgotten the moment Butler Mike came through our door. He was kind attentive, warm and made us feel special and like family. He met and exceeded our every request and need and made our anniversary even more special and memorable. We will be back! Thank you St. Regis! September 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by St. Regis Monarch Beach Excellent facility. Beautiful golf course, excellent spa facility included with the resort fee. Relaxing pool with responsive and friendly staff and more than an ample number of staff to care for the guests needs. July 11, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Too old made new Not up to the SPG standards. The facility is not trying hard enough...the pool has too much chlorine, the coffee shop is overwhelmed with too many customers and short staff, the room facilities and the parking arrangement are not explained..there just needs a lot of investigation for the first time hotle goer to enjoy their stay. However the concierge are knowledgeable and accomodating. August 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has unique features This is a wonderful retreat equipped with the finest luxury features in an amazing location with many ocean vista points. The pool, golf course, and gardens are spectacular, so is the trail going to the beach. The food and wine selection are excellent and clearly meet top fine dining standards, all served by an exceptional staff. May 27, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by The St. Regis does not want SPG Members I was very disappointed in the hotel. I was hoping for a room with a view. I was told there was -0- available because the hotel was full. However, I could pay $50 to upgrade to a better location. Isn't that a contradiction? Several valets said the hotel wasn't full. My view was pine trees and a wall existing to block the noise of the very close street. This place is not worth it! May 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The concierge staff is EXCELLENT! I was lucky enough to snag a room at this hotel during the very busy holiday season. The staff, specifically, the concierge staff (Mattie, sp?) was very helpful throughout my stay, often going a little above and beyond what I asked and made my stay very comfortable. Although the service is what we expect from the St. Regis, the staff handled all the V/VIP's effortlessly! January 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Seemless getaway! Our stay at the St. Regis was truly remarkable. From the initial greeting we felt welcomed and at home. We belonged there and they knew it. The amenities, outlets and service made the weekend. Luckily we caught two great days of sun (82 each day) and R&R. I would strongly recommend a weekend visit or just stopping by the relaxing lounge for a cocktail and some live music. November 5, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Mostly a terrible experience The Lows: We had two rooms that were supposed to be pool view. One was ready at check in but you could not see the pool. It overlooked the fountains which were being ground very loudly when we arrived to our room We went directly to the pool - high pitch grinding continued on the fountain continued until 6pm - horrible Then they told us last call was at 4pm but they would continue to serve us IF they were still around. - felt like i was being done a favor not as a guest would feel Dinner that evening was horrible (Motif) chicken was precooked and then just colored on the grill. Was charged $64 for two bottles of wine that were listed at $60 and I dont think I ever got credited for the $8. Day 2 - breakfast arrived with dry toast with no butter or jam. By the time butter arrived breakfast was done. The food and beverage manager did pay for our breakfast the next morning and tried to make things better for the remainder of the stay. March 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel needs to pay attention to details- This St. Regis is an old property that tries to be new and luxurious. I am here for a weekend getaway with my Girlfriend using Cash&Points for my stay. I was given an enhanced room for my Gold Status. The room was dated and the attention to details weren't visible. I found dust spots in several locations in the room, especially places that are often harder to clean. I found a piece of plastic wrapper right under my bed. I didn't call to complain because I didn't want to change rooms and affect my getaway with my girlfriend. This location needs to pay attention to details, especially because this is a St. Regis property. Lastly, I had to wait in a 25 minute check in line due to a business convention that was in session. My experience here at this property was not desirable because of the rowdy atmosphere from the convention on property. I will not recommend this location to SPG members or non-members if they were to pay the full premium rate. I am disappointed. January 20, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disaster Room not ready when staff said it would be. We had a formal occasion (wedding) to prepare for and were told to use the spa. Staff, including the duty manager, was extremely rude. It was all about them. "We are busy" . "This is is our policy". St Regis is an upscale brand. The experience was decidedly down scale August 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by We always love staying here. The staff is so friendly, with thoughtful touches like bringing a bucket of chilled popsicles around the pool for kids when the sun is out. The grounds are beautiful and well-manicured. The beach down at Monarch Bay is without parallel in California. It's always a superb weekend at the St. Regis in Monarch Beach. June 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gorgeous even in the rain.. Our stay was brief, but we celebrated our anniversary at St Regis, Monarch Beach & it was delightful. Unfortunately the weather didn't allow us to go outside to enjoy the grounds,…. but the spa & dining treated us very well. Thank you for a great stay~ the staff was very knowledgeable, & accommodating. March 5, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Terrible Front Desk and staff service One of the worst experience at SPG: * Didn't get room 4 hours after arrival * Front desk girl was rude and inexperienced * Hidden charges, wrong billing which didn't get fixed after 2 calls, emails It is a shame that such a beautiful property is suffering because of few rude, high-maintenance staffs. June 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Leave your worries behind! The hotel took care of all our needs and met all our expectations. Not a travel worry in the world! St. Regis will take care of any of your travel concerns and more! Sam our butler took care of us from the minute we stepped into the hotel. The rest of the staff at the hotel was just as fantastic! October 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by passover vacation my family was at hotel for 9 nites for our passover retreat. we have been to many of these type of vacations and you staff in dining rooms, concierge, front desk, cleaning were superb.looking forward to next year!!! the schlusselbergs el paso texas April 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overall the service was terribly slow at the Motif .. for drinks, cups, food etc. also i experienced pwoer owtage for air conditioning all morning on the 29th. The facility is amazing so it made up for some of the service lacking. Spa was awesome and the salon treated us like queens!!!! July 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded expectations My previous career was in hospitality working in hotels and restaurants. Because of this training, I noticed many of the details that you get right that others miss. Your staff also has is wonderfully trained and it shows that they take pride in their work. Keep up the good work. October 30, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 24 next>>