The St. Regis Monarch Beach

  • One Monarch Beach Resort
  • Dana Point,
  • California
  • 92629
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest registration and check-in is restricted to those 21 years of age or older with valid identification.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 686 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by It was an excellent experience! My husband and I enjoyed the hospitality and world class service. Staff went above and beyond to make our holiday enjoyable and memorable. Our special thanks to Flora from room service and our remarkable butler Bill who went above and beyond to make our stay very comfortable and memorable. We are looking forward to be back. I highly recommend this hotel to everyone visiting Laguna Beach. Mr. & Mrs. Rudy Angeles. May 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel is an spg participant This hotel participates in the spg program, but they do not have to adhere to the typical upgrades one might be accustomed to if they are platinum spg members. The room upgrades are at the discretion of the resort, and they try to upcharge any type of room upgrade. December 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent My review title says it all. During recent stay in October 2013 had an excellent stay in this beautiful hotel. Had a standard room with view on the pool. Room is fanatistic. Spacious and all luxery you could wish for. Used the tram (electric small bus) to the private beach club. Passed the excellent manucured gold course along the way. Beach is authentic and beautiful. Many bentley's parked at the beach club. November 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful but lacking in service The hotel was lovely but I found the service to be poor. Called the conceirge many times and the phone usually just rang with no answer. 1 time they did answer and were supposed to call me back but never did. They responded they forgot! Called valet from room to bring car around but that didn't do any good. The request was never made (3 different times). Room was very comfortable but could hear outside noise. November 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a great gift! As a frequent traveler Starwoods out did itself this year by offering free nights at a resort of my choice with multiple summer stays. My wife and I spent our Thanksgiving at the St. Regis Monarch Resort in Dana Point, CA. The resort is beautiful, the service was outstanding and the location was astounding. This allowed us to visit our son in Orange County and stay at a five star resort. Thanks Starwoods. November 28, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Over Promise, under deliver This resort has a long way to go. Our bathroom had a sewer smell and the staff was not friendly or accomodating. At the end of the first day I had enough (of the sewer smell mainly), and inquired about cancelling our second night. Instead of asking why I would want to leave, I was instead given the choice of staying or receiving a "penalty." We suffered through, and no one tried to find out why we were unhap June 8, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Welcome to low level Vegas or Disneyland Place is a wedding factory and pool/hot tub area is like a day care center gone awry. Mostly wasted parents doing as little as possible to keep an eye on their kids. Went there for my wife's birthday weekend and the only nice part of the stay was when we left the property (after a 20 minute wait for our car). Place should have a large banner on its website saying arrive w/small children only. May 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Service sub par for luxury hotel Stayed at us grant prior to arrival at st Regis and was surprised by the difference in service. The us grant was exceptional. At the st Regis staff was not friendly, seemed rushed and were rude on occasion. We were offered butler service but were never able to find our butler and staff seemed annoyed. Location and resort are beautiful but with other 5stars to choose from service should be improved November 15, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 Butler Service was impeccable Hy husband and I spent our 25th anniversary at the St. Regis. The start of the trip was "bumpy" to say the least but that was all forgotten the moment Butler Mike came through our door. He was kind attentive, warm and made us feel special and like family. He met and exceeded our every request and need and made our anniversary even more special and memorable. We will be back! Thank you St. Regis! September 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just wanted us happy From the moment we stepped out of our car, everyone did whatever it took to make us happy. Polite beyond description. Gave us all we asked for and more. Food at the golf course restaurant was the best!!! Golf course was beautiful and well run. This was our second time staying at the St Regis to celebrate an anniversary. I am sure we will come back another year. July 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Too old made new Not up to the SPG standards. The facility is not trying hard enough...the pool has too much chlorine, the coffee shop is overwhelmed with too many customers and short staff, the room facilities and the parking arrangement are not explained..there just needs a lot of investigation for the first time hotle goer to enjoy their stay. However the concierge are knowledgeable and accomodating. August 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Seemless getaway! Our stay at the St. Regis was truly remarkable. From the initial greeting we felt welcomed and at home. We belonged there and they knew it. The amenities, outlets and service made the weekend. Luckily we caught two great days of sun (82 each day) and R&R. I would strongly recommend a weekend visit or just stopping by the relaxing lounge for a cocktail and some live music. November 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The concierge staff is EXCELLENT! I was lucky enough to snag a room at this hotel during the very busy holiday season. The staff, specifically, the concierge staff (Mattie, sp?) was very helpful throughout my stay, often going a little above and beyond what I asked and made my stay very comfortable. Although the service is what we expect from the St. Regis, the staff handled all the V/VIP's effortlessly! January 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Mostly a terrible experience The Lows: We had two rooms that were supposed to be pool view. One was ready at check in but you could not see the pool. It overlooked the fountains which were being ground very loudly when we arrived to our room We went directly to the pool - high pitch grinding continued on the fountain continued until 6pm - horrible Then they told us last call was at 4pm but they would continue to serve us IF they were still around. - felt like i was being done a favor not as a guest would feel Dinner that evening was horrible (Motif) chicken was precooked and then just colored on the grill. Was charged $64 for two bottles of wine that were listed at $60 and I dont think I ever got credited for the $8. Day 2 - breakfast arrived with dry toast with no butter or jam. By the time butter arrived breakfast was done. The food and beverage manager did pay for our breakfast the next morning and tried to make things better for the remainder of the stay. March 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Phenomenal Sweet 16th Birthday Celebration!! We celebrated my daughter's sweet 16th birthday at the St. Regis and the entire experience was fabulous! Someone read my pre-arrival survey, contacted me about my specific requests and answered all my questions. Upon arrival, we were pleasantly surprised by our Starwood Gold room upgrade to a suite, complete with butler service. We had reserved a second room for the next day (actual birthday) for our daughter and her friends to use. I was able to check-in to that room early as requested (12 noon) to allow me to decorate and set-up my candy buffet. The room was close to ours for convenience. The hotel very nicely sent-up a complimentary mini chocolate cake wishing her a "Happy Sweet 16 Birthday" and our butler arranged for cake service for 8 at the time of our choice, along with complimentary balloons! All in all, the hotel made my daughter feel very special on her birthday, which was exactly what I was hoping for when I made the reservation. Thanks St. Regis for going above & beyond! July 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has unique features This is a wonderful retreat equipped with the finest luxury features in an amazing location with many ocean vista points. The pool, golf course, and gardens are spectacular, so is the trail going to the beach. The food and wine selection are excellent and clearly meet top fine dining standards, all served by an exceptional staff. May 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Spectacular My little sister is a competitive horseback rider and we are frequently in the area. Any time we are, we make a beeline for this hotel. The staff makes the place feel like home - and that is really nice considering that we will sometimes be away for weeks! I can't say enough about how much we love it. July 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unique place !! Everything is made to make your stay a unique experience, from the valet, bar tender to the butler. The only flaw came on our last evening at the restaurant near the beace: the servive was not as expected : the waiter opened our bottle of wine when we were almost done eating.... July 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel needs to pay attention to details- This St. Regis is an old property that tries to be new and luxurious. I am here for a weekend getaway with my Girlfriend using Cash&Points for my stay. I was given an enhanced room for my Gold Status. The room was dated and the attention to details weren't visible. I found dust spots in several locations in the room, especially places that are often harder to clean. I found a piece of plastic wrapper right under my bed. I didn't call to complain because I didn't want to change rooms and affect my getaway with my girlfriend. This location needs to pay attention to details, especially because this is a St. Regis property. Lastly, I had to wait in a 25 minute check in line due to a business convention that was in session. My experience here at this property was not desirable because of the rowdy atmosphere from the convention on property. I will not recommend this location to SPG members or non-members if they were to pay the full premium rate. I am disappointed. January 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel with Great Service Beautiful hotel with stunning grounds, numerous foutains, nicely manicured gardens and great views of the ocean, especially at sunset. The Beach Club restaurant has good food (and is right on the beach!), while the Lobby Bar makes great drinks, coupled with impeccable service. Our personal butler, Bill, was great - attending to all our needs (getting clothing pressed, recommending restaurants, bringing us local maps, bringing French press coffee in the morning etc.) - he must have done a lot of walking serving us, as the hotel grounds are expansive! One relatively minor criticism is that the tram service to the Beach Club can be a biy spotty, especially during off season. The first evening just before dusk, it passed us twice while we were waiting for it at the designated spot (some of the pick-up locations are also not well-marked). We ended up waiting for 30 minutes and then gave up. The next day we had better luck in catching it down to the Beach Club for lunch. January 19, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disaster Room not ready when staff said it would be. We had a formal occasion (wedding) to prepare for and were told to use the spa. Staff, including the duty manager, was extremely rude. It was all about them. "We are busy" . "This is is our policy". St Regis is an upscale brand. The experience was decidedly down scale August 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by We always love staying here. The staff is so friendly, with thoughtful touches like bringing a bucket of chilled popsicles around the pool for kids when the sun is out. The grounds are beautiful and well-manicured. The beach down at Monarch Bay is without parallel in California. It's always a superb weekend at the St. Regis in Monarch Beach. June 24, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Terrible Front Desk and staff service One of the worst experience at SPG: * Didn't get room 4 hours after arrival * Front desk girl was rude and inexperienced * Hidden charges, wrong billing which didn't get fixed after 2 calls, emails It is a shame that such a beautiful property is suffering because of few rude, high-maintenance staffs. June 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gorgeous even in the rain.. Our stay was brief, but we celebrated our anniversary at St Regis, Monarch Beach & it was delightful. Unfortunately the weather didn't allow us to go outside to enjoy the grounds,…. but the spa & dining treated us very well. Thank you for a great stay~ the staff was very knowledgeable, & accommodating. March 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic staff Amazing staff. Very professional and courteous. Tremendously responsive and so positive. A wonderful greeting from everyone everyday I was there. Even after a long morning run, the valet team sprinted to get me some water upon my return. Wonderful hotel. July 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Leave your worries behind! The hotel took care of all our needs and met all our expectations. Not a travel worry in the world! St. Regis will take care of any of your travel concerns and more! Sam our butler took care of us from the minute we stepped into the hotel. The rest of the staff at the hotel was just as fantastic! October 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overall the service was terribly slow at the Motif .. for drinks, cups, food etc. also i experienced pwoer owtage for air conditioning all morning on the 29th. The facility is amazing so it made up for some of the service lacking. Spa was awesome and the salon treated us like queens!!!! July 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded expectations My previous career was in hospitality working in hotels and restaurants. Because of this training, I noticed many of the details that you get right that others miss. Your staff also has is wonderfully trained and it shows that they take pride in their work. Keep up the good work. October 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel We arrived very late in the morning - flight delay - and were welcomed by a wonderful staff in an absolutely beautiful hotel. The proximity to the golf course and the ocean was ideal - sadly we only stayed two nights but will return next time we are in California. November 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Your hotel staff Your hotel staff, from the valet to the Motif and Stonehill Restaurants, including your room service people, everyone at your resort was so friendly and courteous! I was very, very impressed with every employee I came in contact with. You have the right people!!!!! October 31, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 24 next>>