The St. Regis Monarch Beach

  • One Monarch Beach Resort
  • Dana Point,
  • California
  • 92629
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest registration and check-in is restricted to those 21 years of age or older with valid identification.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 677 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very nice hotel...but Very nice hotel...well situated...staff generally very friendly. That said, my wife had a white cover-up that was hanging in the bathroom and housekeeping must have taken it along with the towels when they cleaned the room. I reported it missing...and people could not have been less helpful. No one seemed to keep a record of my complaint. Each time I spoke to someone (and I tried 3 or 4 times) it was as if it was the first time I was logging the issue. I was told repeatedly that I would be contacted by someone and never was. Even during checkout I had to mention the issue again and they had no record of it. Very disappointing for a hotel of this calibre and cost. August 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic staff Amazing staff. Very professional and courteous. Tremendously responsive and so positive. A wonderful greeting from everyone everyday I was there. Even after a long morning run, the valet team sprinted to get me some water upon my return. Wonderful hotel. July 16, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Vacationers Beware!!!!!!!!!! I would never stay at another St. Regis every again. This hotel will nickel and dime you all the way to the bank. First, they will charge you $25/day for parking with no in/out privileges. Then when you check in, they will charge you another $25/day for "resort fees" for internet and spa regardless if you use it or not. Keep in mind that they don't tell you this when you first make the reservations. Lastly, be sure to check your bill as they will charge you for the mini bar even if you don't take anything out of it. I would give this a negative rating if I could as I have had a better stay experience staying at a fly by night motel than this place. I have been a gold member for quite a while and if they treat their preferred guest this way, I can't imagine how they would treat non-preferred guest members. May 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Watch out for weddings! While the grounds, room, and spa were amazing, the blaring music from the wedding in the central courtyard until 10pm was not. I wish that the hotel would inform guests who are not part of wedding parties (and who are there to relax and unwind) BEFORE they make a reservation that there will be an event which may infringe on their enjoyment. In addition, it would have been nice to have been offered a room away from the event, so the noise would not have been such a problem. October 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Love the property but NOT the King Room With a girlfriend two weeks ago in a double (308) had a great time. When I went with my husband on December 19 we had a King (375). What is that screen doing behind the bed? Is greatly decreased the size of the room and one side of the bed had no side table and of course no light. Really made the room crowded and inconvenient. I will go again with girlfriends or family but not with my husband. Also was not offered a platinum suite although the hotel was not at all full. December 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by It was an excellent experience! My husband and I enjoyed the hospitality and world class service. Staff went above and beyond to make our holiday enjoyable and memorable. Our special thanks to Flora from room service and our remarkable butler Bill who went above and beyond to make our stay very comfortable and memorable. We are looking forward to be back. I highly recommend this hotel to everyone visiting Laguna Beach. Mr. & Mrs. Rudy Angeles. May 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top notch luxury hotel We loved our stay at the St. Regis. Service was exceptional at every touch point from valet/bell service to checkin to restaurants to the pool and beach. The rooms are beautiful and the beds are fabulous. July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by room 334 i booked two rooms, both with a "pool view". Our first room, 312, had the view i expected - looking right over /at the pool. Our second room, 334, which my wife and i stayed in, looked over the grass area and only viewed the pool when leaning out over the balcony. We put our friends in room 312 as they were Montage fans and i wanted to make sure they enjoyed this stay. They did. When we checked in the person who checked me in said we were "right next door" to our friends in an adjacent room (not even close) - so this was a disappointment as well. We loved our stay, the grounds are fabulous, and the two main restaurants were great, especially the Tavern (Chris, our server, was fantastic!). So, aside from not getting true a pool view room and not being right next to our friends we had a great time. Thanks for the experience. April 8, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad customer service I was extremely dissapointed with the front desk. My son was joining us for the weekend there and we requested multiple times that he have a room near us. Not only was he not near us but he was in a completely separate wing and different floor. In fact I went to the desk mutilple times to try to get him near us once we arrived and although it was promised to us the staff said they never said that. I was very unhappy with their attitude and service I recieved. February 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic place to relax Beautiful hotel, great service, fantastic place to relax. Loved the pool area and the beach, both are great! September 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by St. Regis Monarch Beach Excellent facility. Beautiful golf course, excellent spa facility included with the resort fee. Relaxing pool with responsive and friendly staff and more than an ample number of staff to care for the guests needs. July 11, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Destination My wife and I like coming here and relaxing away from the kids. Unfortunately this visit we were waken by fire alarms going off at 3am multiple times. Everyone in the hotel was confused if they should evacuate given there was no announcements until almost 1 hour later and only 5 people on staff in the entire hotel. I'd recommend they review their procedures. The golf course also took over 5.5 hours and the fairways were terrible as they get ready for reseeding. We still like this destination but got unlucky on timing. September 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointing This hotel feels as if it caters to the group crowd and has no interest in individual guests or families. The hotel was a disappointment from check in until checkout. Although we requested early check in and booked through Amex Fine Hotels we were told emphatically that a room was not available. We headed to the pool area and waited 20 minutes to give our lunch order. The menu was uninspiring and the food by the pool was lousy.. After much cajoling at the front desk we were reluctantly given a room at 3 pm. I made 2 requests that the sofa bed be made up and with hypoallergenic pillows. One to the bell hop and one to the butler. Neither seemed to hear. There seems to be a complete lack of service or interest in the guest at this hotel. Breakfast the next morning was also uninspiring. The exercise room had no attendants. This hotel felt like an overpriced rip-off. March 21, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by The hotel did not meet our expectations. Check In time was 4:00. We sat in the lobby bar and had a drink. At 4:30 we went back to the desk because we had to change for an evening event and needed to get into our room. It wasn't ready so they offered to buy us a drink. We accepted and when the room was ready the front desk associate said, ät least you got a free drink". The TV did not work in the room - it was finally repaired the following day. There was a plumbing issue in the room above us that wasn't resolved for two days. The room overlooked a corporate dinner for hundreds of guests with microphones, lights, etc until 11:00 PM - why not put the guests of the dinner in our room and move us to a quiet side of the hotel. The last night we had dinner at the highly recommended Monarch Bay Club. The service and food were both inadequate. The valet staff - excellent! But that is not a reason to return. September 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent My review title says it all. During recent stay in October 2013 had an excellent stay in this beautiful hotel. Had a standard room with view on the pool. Room is fanatistic. Spacious and all luxery you could wish for. Used the tram (electric small bus) to the private beach club. Passed the excellent manucured gold course along the way. Beach is authentic and beautiful. Many bentley's parked at the beach club. November 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful but lacking in service The hotel was lovely but I found the service to be poor. Called the conceirge many times and the phone usually just rang with no answer. 1 time they did answer and were supposed to call me back but never did. They responded they forgot! Called valet from room to bring car around but that didn't do any good. The request was never made (3 different times). Room was very comfortable but could hear outside noise. November 11, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Over Promise, under deliver This resort has a long way to go. Our bathroom had a sewer smell and the staff was not friendly or accomodating. At the end of the first day I had enough (of the sewer smell mainly), and inquired about cancelling our second night. Instead of asking why I would want to leave, I was instead given the choice of staying or receiving a "penalty." We suffered through, and no one tried to find out why we were unhap June 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a great gift! As a frequent traveler Starwoods out did itself this year by offering free nights at a resort of my choice with multiple summer stays. My wife and I spent our Thanksgiving at the St. Regis Monarch Resort in Dana Point, CA. The resort is beautiful, the service was outstanding and the location was astounding. This allowed us to visit our son in Orange County and stay at a five star resort. Thanks Starwoods. November 28, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has unique features This is a wonderful retreat equipped with the finest luxury features in an amazing location with many ocean vista points. The pool, golf course, and gardens are spectacular, so is the trail going to the beach. The food and wine selection are excellent and clearly meet top fine dining standards, all served by an exceptional staff. May 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Service sub par for luxury hotel Stayed at us grant prior to arrival at st Regis and was surprised by the difference in service. The us grant was exceptional. At the st Regis staff was not friendly, seemed rushed and were rude on occasion. We were offered butler service but were never able to find our butler and staff seemed annoyed. Location and resort are beautiful but with other 5stars to choose from service should be improved November 15, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 Butler Service was impeccable Hy husband and I spent our 25th anniversary at the St. Regis. The start of the trip was "bumpy" to say the least but that was all forgotten the moment Butler Mike came through our door. He was kind attentive, warm and made us feel special and like family. He met and exceeded our every request and need and made our anniversary even more special and memorable. We will be back! Thank you St. Regis! September 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Too old made new Not up to the SPG standards. The facility is not trying hard enough...the pool has too much chlorine, the coffee shop is overwhelmed with too many customers and short staff, the room facilities and the parking arrangement are not explained..there just needs a lot of investigation for the first time hotle goer to enjoy their stay. However the concierge are knowledgeable and accomodating. August 15, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by The St. Regis does not want SPG Members I was very disappointed in the hotel. I was hoping for a room with a view. I was told there was -0- available because the hotel was full. However, I could pay $50 to upgrade to a better location. Isn't that a contradiction? Several valets said the hotel wasn't full. My view was pine trees and a wall existing to block the noise of the very close street. This place is not worth it! May 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The concierge staff is EXCELLENT! I was lucky enough to snag a room at this hotel during the very busy holiday season. The staff, specifically, the concierge staff (Mattie, sp?) was very helpful throughout my stay, often going a little above and beyond what I asked and made my stay very comfortable. Although the service is what we expect from the St. Regis, the staff handled all the V/VIP's effortlessly! January 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Seemless getaway! Our stay at the St. Regis was truly remarkable. From the initial greeting we felt welcomed and at home. We belonged there and they knew it. The amenities, outlets and service made the weekend. Luckily we caught two great days of sun (82 each day) and R&R. I would strongly recommend a weekend visit or just stopping by the relaxing lounge for a cocktail and some live music. November 5, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Mostly a terrible experience The Lows: We had two rooms that were supposed to be pool view. One was ready at check in but you could not see the pool. It overlooked the fountains which were being ground very loudly when we arrived to our room We went directly to the pool - high pitch grinding continued on the fountain continued until 6pm - horrible Then they told us last call was at 4pm but they would continue to serve us IF they were still around. - felt like i was being done a favor not as a guest would feel Dinner that evening was horrible (Motif) chicken was precooked and then just colored on the grill. Was charged $64 for two bottles of wine that were listed at $60 and I dont think I ever got credited for the $8. Day 2 - breakfast arrived with dry toast with no butter or jam. By the time butter arrived breakfast was done. The food and beverage manager did pay for our breakfast the next morning and tried to make things better for the remainder of the stay. March 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty good hotel This hotel has lots of things that are very nice. The rooms are clean and the beach is nice. Suggestions for improvement: 1. The pool areas are too small to accommodate the guests. Need more pool area and chairs for guests. 2. The food and beverages are overpriced for their quality. $14.00 for a daiquiri?? $5.50 for an iced tea? That is just greedy. 3. Coffee should be provided for in the room at no cost. 4. Every time we called down for the car to be brought around by the valet people, it was not there when we arrived out front. Not sure why we would bother calling down. 5. The TV was blaring on the speaker in the bathroom. July 26, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Stay in the hotel was not up to st. Regis standards The hotel did not have our room ready for more than two hours after the standard checkin time. although mistakes can happen, the staff did not apologize. One staff even said it's not such a long period of time to wait. We were also surprised that there were no coffee pots in the rooms and the only way to get coffee was to purchase it. The main pool did not have enough chairs one day. Overall, we were surprised that the place did not match the standards of st. Regis hotels we've stayed in prior. We know though that usually their service is wonderful and we hope this was a one time mishap. August 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel needs to pay attention to details- This St. Regis is an old property that tries to be new and luxurious. I am here for a weekend getaway with my Girlfriend using Cash&Points for my stay. I was given an enhanced room for my Gold Status. The room was dated and the attention to details weren't visible. I found dust spots in several locations in the room, especially places that are often harder to clean. I found a piece of plastic wrapper right under my bed. I didn't call to complain because I didn't want to change rooms and affect my getaway with my girlfriend. This location needs to pay attention to details, especially because this is a St. Regis property. Lastly, I had to wait in a 25 minute check in line due to a business convention that was in session. My experience here at this property was not desirable because of the rowdy atmosphere from the convention on property. I will not recommend this location to SPG members or non-members if they were to pay the full premium rate. I am disappointed. January 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by RRR51 My wife and I recently enjoyed a wonderful "spur of the moment" stay at this beautiful resort. We travel to this St Regis at least once a year and always find it to be our favorite vacation spot. The resort is spectacular. The St Regis Monarch Beach Resort staff are friendly, engaging, and attend to your needs from the valets at the front to the housekeepers that clean the rooms they are all very good at their jobs and incredibly kind and gracious. I recommend this property to anyone that enjoys 1st class service and magnificent views of the grounds and ocean with a staff that I believe is the best resort staff in or out of the country. June 28, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 24 next>>