The St. Regis Monarch Beach

  • One Monarch Beach Resort
  • Dana Point,
  • California
  • 92629
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest registration and check-in is restricted to those 21 years of age or older with valid identification.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 660 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply the best It's the little things like water bottles in the room (and more any time you request them), not a bad view on the property, and heavy pours in the lobby bar. Our recent weekend stay was highlighted by the attentive staff and their gracious and helpful attitude. We were only once disappointed with the service of the beach club shuttle, but after explaining to the front desk about how it disrupted our evening plans, they comped us a cocktail at the lobby bar without prompting. Everything about this place is top notch. A few hints to the property: 1. leave more room between the lounge chairs by the pool - the tightness cheapens the experience, 2. make sure the signage on the walking paths to the beach is improved, and 3. keep that beach club shuttle running on a tighter schedule. September 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by A huge disappointment I took my boyfriend here as a surprise for his birthday. I was contacted before my stay by someone from St. Regis who offered to help me with reservations to restaurants, golf tee time arrangements, and spa services. I emailed her back a week before our stay asking about golf tee times and never heard back. This was really disappointing. I made a tee time for us without her help and was extremely disappointed that the hotel did not bring our clubs down to the course like promised the day before. Because of this, we were 30 minutes late to start our round. The restaurant we ate breakfast at in the hotel was average and extremely overpriced. I feel like when you pay $500 per night to stay at a luxury hotel these mistakes are unacceptable. I would never stay at the St. Regis again. April 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by the little things count The property is beautiful. The rooms are fresh, large with great amenities. What I am disappointed on is although there are alot of staff to help you, the following issues were on my recent stay of two nights--the in room safe didn't work; the alarm clock was set from prior guest and went off by itself; the bathroom 'tv speaker' was in the on position and was 'loud' (hard to find how to turn off); couldn't easily find plugs for phone charger (no one showed me how to operate tv, plugs or lights). And in trying to access internet, I followed the instructions in guide and while it stated the service is complimentary, I was charged $38 for three days because my event apparently didn't pay a resort fee (not clear in room guide). In other words, the little things undercut the 5 star.... November 9, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay My stay was great in this superb facility. 1st class all the way. August 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mrs Great customer service awesome restorants August 27, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by No hot water on two mornings One of the worst hotel stays I've experienced in recent memory. Had to take cold showers on two mornings. After the first episode, they did waive the hotel room fee for one night. Unfortunately, the second episode happened the morning of my departure and I just wanted to get out of there. Plus, I left a breakfast room service order on my door the night before and they never got it. Either someone ripped it off or they lost it. I've never had that happen before. Overall, a terrible experience March 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by RRR51 My wife and I recently enjoyed a wonderful "spur of the moment" stay at this beautiful resort. We travel to this St Regis at least once a year and always find it to be our favorite vacation spot. The resort is spectacular. The St Regis Monarch Beach Resort staff are friendly, engaging, and attend to your needs from the valets at the front to the housekeepers that clean the rooms they are all very good at their jobs and incredibly kind and gracious. I recommend this property to anyone that enjoys 1st class service and magnificent views of the grounds and ocean with a staff that I believe is the best resort staff in or out of the country. June 28, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 Hotel dropped the ball three times I worked with the concierge and Motif restaurant to plan my wedding proposal. The restaurant lost my reservation (ball drop #1) and in their rush to accomidate my needs they place us next to a table of kids under 12 (ball drop #2 - not an acceptable spot for a proposal). Chris, the Motif GM, said he spoke with another onsite restaurant, the Bay Club, and arranged for us to move down there and when we arrived the new restaurant had no idea who we were or why we were there (ball drop #3). January 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very nice hotel...but Very nice hotel...well situated...staff generally very friendly. That said, my wife had a white cover-up that was hanging in the bathroom and housekeeping must have taken it along with the towels when they cleaned the room. I reported it missing...and people could not have been less helpful. No one seemed to keep a record of my complaint. Each time I spoke to someone (and I tried 3 or 4 times) it was as if it was the first time I was logging the issue. I was told repeatedly that I would be contacted by someone and never was. Even during checkout I had to mention the issue again and they had no record of it. Very disappointing for a hotel of this calibre and cost. August 29, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Vacationers Beware!!!!!!!!!! I would never stay at another St. Regis every again. This hotel will nickel and dime you all the way to the bank. First, they will charge you $25/day for parking with no in/out privileges. Then when you check in, they will charge you another $25/day for "resort fees" for internet and spa regardless if you use it or not. Keep in mind that they don't tell you this when you first make the reservations. Lastly, be sure to check your bill as they will charge you for the mini bar even if you don't take anything out of it. I would give this a negative rating if I could as I have had a better stay experience staying at a fly by night motel than this place. I have been a gold member for quite a while and if they treat their preferred guest this way, I can't imagine how they would treat non-preferred guest members. May 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has unique features This is a wonderful retreat equipped with the finest luxury features in an amazing location with many ocean vista points. The pool, golf course, and gardens are spectacular, so is the trail going to the beach. The food and wine selection are excellent and clearly meet top fine dining standards, all served by an exceptional staff. May 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Watch out for weddings! While the grounds, room, and spa were amazing, the blaring music from the wedding in the central courtyard until 10pm was not. I wish that the hotel would inform guests who are not part of wedding parties (and who are there to relax and unwind) BEFORE they make a reservation that there will be an event which may infringe on their enjoyment. In addition, it would have been nice to have been offered a room away from the event, so the noise would not have been such a problem. October 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing work weekend Great loccation to get away and feel relaxed when leaving ... August 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Love the property but NOT the King Room With a girlfriend two weeks ago in a double (308) had a great time. When I went with my husband on December 19 we had a King (375). What is that screen doing behind the bed? Is greatly decreased the size of the room and one side of the bed had no side table and of course no light. Really made the room crowded and inconvenient. I will go again with girlfriends or family but not with my husband. Also was not offered a platinum suite although the hotel was not at all full. December 27, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by NOT UP TO USUAL STANDARDS Just spent 2 nights at the St Regis. Dinner at the Stonehill Friday evening was just OK breakfast Sat morning at Club 19 was excellent. Sunday after more than one hour of trying at both Motif and Club 19 to get breakfast we gave up and checked out. The hotel is full of conferences which is fine until you try to eat. I expect in a hotel of this caliber to be able to eat breakfast on the property. The excuse given was "we are very busy". Two overcharges on my bill were corrected but without explanation. We didnt need it (see above) but a late checkout would require an act of congress. 30 -45 minutes to check in and 15 minutes each time for valet to retrieve your car all in all hardly 5 star service. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by room 334 i booked two rooms, both with a "pool view". Our first room, 312, had the view i expected - looking right over /at the pool. Our second room, 334, which my wife and i stayed in, looked over the grass area and only viewed the pool when leaning out over the balcony. We put our friends in room 312 as they were Montage fans and i wanted to make sure they enjoyed this stay. They did. When we checked in the person who checked me in said we were "right next door" to our friends in an adjacent room (not even close) - so this was a disappointment as well. We loved our stay, the grounds are fabulous, and the two main restaurants were great, especially the Tavern (Chris, our server, was fantastic!). So, aside from not getting true a pool view room and not being right next to our friends we had a great time. Thanks for the experience. April 8, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad customer service I was extremely dissapointed with the front desk. My son was joining us for the weekend there and we requested multiple times that he have a room near us. Not only was he not near us but he was in a completely separate wing and different floor. In fact I went to the desk mutilple times to try to get him near us once we arrived and although it was promised to us the staff said they never said that. I was very unhappy with their attitude and service I recieved. February 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed Small pool. Very noisy room especially at night. August 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gorgeous hotel with great staff It is a gorgeous hotel with great staff who can't do enough for us August 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Luxurious Everything was perfect.....the staff was exemplary. August 24, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointing This hotel feels as if it caters to the group crowd and has no interest in individual guests or families. The hotel was a disappointment from check in until checkout. Although we requested early check in and booked through Amex Fine Hotels we were told emphatically that a room was not available. We headed to the pool area and waited 20 minutes to give our lunch order. The menu was uninspiring and the food by the pool was lousy.. After much cajoling at the front desk we were reluctantly given a room at 3 pm. I made 2 requests that the sofa bed be made up and with hypoallergenic pillows. One to the bell hop and one to the butler. Neither seemed to hear. There seems to be a complete lack of service or interest in the guest at this hotel. Breakfast the next morning was also uninspiring. The exercise room had no attendants. This hotel felt like an overpriced rip-off. March 21, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by The hotel did not meet our expectations. Check In time was 4:00. We sat in the lobby bar and had a drink. At 4:30 we went back to the desk because we had to change for an evening event and needed to get into our room. It wasn't ready so they offered to buy us a drink. We accepted and when the room was ready the front desk associate said, ät least you got a free drink". The TV did not work in the room - it was finally repaired the following day. There was a plumbing issue in the room above us that wasn't resolved for two days. The room overlooked a corporate dinner for hundreds of guests with microphones, lights, etc until 11:00 PM - why not put the guests of the dinner in our room and move us to a quiet side of the hotel. The last night we had dinner at the highly recommended Monarch Bay Club. The service and food were both inadequate. The valet staff - excellent! But that is not a reason to return. September 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing hotel with average service We have stayed at the St Regis in Dana Point several times and have always very much enjoyed our time in and around the property. The room and bed are extremely comfortable (we paid for a pool/ocean view) however we seemed to have an abundance of children on our floor along with parents that are not very conscientious of other guests (Issue 1). Overall, it was fine but would have been great to be located on a floor or wing with limited families as we were traveling without our four kids (we did discuss, unsuccessfully, with the front desk). The quality of the hotel and the effort put forth by the entire staff is quite high. Although the service effort is high, the actual execution is average (Issue 2). With several very young adults in critical customer service roles, the service often feels disingenuous and lacking experience. I was also surprised that the beautiful lawn between the hotel and the pool had several dead spots and did not look very healthy (Issue 3; perhaps drought-related water restrictions?). Lastly, we had an incident with the Valet where someone else actually was given our rental car (Issue 4). After waiting for a good 20-30 minutes, we found out that they were unable to find our vehicle. At this point, we were late for our evening engagement and had to suggest to the Valet Captain that we take a cab and the hotel pay for it (which they did). The worst part of the entire experience was the conversation we had with the Manager on Duty upon our return to the hotel later that evening. He was non-apologetic and didn't really own the issue. Although he ultimately removed our daily parking charge from our bill, which was appreciated, he very easily could have turned the whole experience into a positive but missed his opportunity. I should add that he also had a bottle of champagne (which we don't drink) and chocolates sent to the room the next day. In the end, the Valet Captain was, again, very apologetic the next day. All in all, we still very much enjoyed our stay and will likely return; however, we may give the hotel on the other side of the Pacific Coast Highway a try. August 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent My review title says it all. During recent stay in October 2013 had an excellent stay in this beautiful hotel. Had a standard room with view on the pool. Room is fanatistic. Spacious and all luxery you could wish for. Used the tram (electric small bus) to the private beach club. Passed the excellent manucured gold course along the way. Beach is authentic and beautiful. Many bentley's parked at the beach club. November 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful but lacking in service The hotel was lovely but I found the service to be poor. Called the conceirge many times and the phone usually just rang with no answer. 1 time they did answer and were supposed to call me back but never did. They responded they forgot! Called valet from room to bring car around but that didn't do any good. The request was never made (3 different times). Room was very comfortable but could hear outside noise. November 11, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Over Promise, under deliver This resort has a long way to go. Our bathroom had a sewer smell and the staff was not friendly or accomodating. At the end of the first day I had enough (of the sewer smell mainly), and inquired about cancelling our second night. Instead of asking why I would want to leave, I was instead given the choice of staying or receiving a "penalty." We suffered through, and no one tried to find out why we were unhap June 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a great gift! As a frequent traveler Starwoods out did itself this year by offering free nights at a resort of my choice with multiple summer stays. My wife and I spent our Thanksgiving at the St. Regis Monarch Resort in Dana Point, CA. The resort is beautiful, the service was outstanding and the location was astounding. This allowed us to visit our son in Orange County and stay at a five star resort. Thanks Starwoods. November 28, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Service sub par for luxury hotel Stayed at us grant prior to arrival at st Regis and was surprised by the difference in service. The us grant was exceptional. At the st Regis staff was not friendly, seemed rushed and were rude on occasion. We were offered butler service but were never able to find our butler and staff seemed annoyed. Location and resort are beautiful but with other 5stars to choose from service should be improved November 15, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 Butler Service was impeccable Hy husband and I spent our 25th anniversary at the St. Regis. The start of the trip was "bumpy" to say the least but that was all forgotten the moment Butler Mike came through our door. He was kind attentive, warm and made us feel special and like family. He met and exceeded our every request and need and made our anniversary even more special and memorable. We will be back! Thank you St. Regis! September 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by St Regis Review The staff was nice but not on top of their game. Upon check in, we were sent in the opposite direction creating a 30 minute hunt down hallways looking for our room. We passed two hotel employees who couldn't help us either and finally suggested we go back to the lobby and have someone there help us. Uninformed employees seemed to be prevalent. The women at the coffee shop didn't seem to know what a small cup of coffee means. Each time, she reached for the largest, most expensive choice when I clearly articulated my desire for a small cup. On the first day, I waited for an extended period of time while one employee attended the many needs of the guest in front of me while two other employees stood behind the counter talking to each other ignoring me and the line forming behind me. Someone behind me finally interrupted their conversation and got them to do their job. The overall bummer - the maze of rights and lefts required to find elevators and rooms. The hotel has really poor signage so directing oneself around is a real guessing game. Biggest problem: Our room is on the 3rd floor and the lobby is on the 5th floor. In others words - up to the lobby, down to our room. We lost count of the amount of times we did the exact opposite due to habit of going down to a lobby and up to a room. Was disappointed in the lack of shops and lack of selection. Regarding decor, average building, okay grounds but nothing special. The pool by the spa - no service the entire 3 hours my wife and I were there. Not even someone pouring water. When I add all this up, the only semblance of luxury here is the price of the room, the cost of the food and the white gloves the hotel staff wears. But underneath that, I would not put this hotel in a luxury classification. I've had much better stays at W's, Westins and Sheratons. August 24, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 23 next>>