The St. Regis Monarch Beach

  • One Monarch Beach Resort
  • Dana Point,
  • California
  • 92629
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest registration and check-in is restricted to those 21 years of age or older with valid identification.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 686 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Food and Beverage The single feature that downgraded this facility was the pervasive culture of indifference in the pool, restaurant and bar - food and beverage. Bartenders moving like a herd or snails, servers talking rather than serving, attendants gazing into the distance and meals a 2 - 2 1/2 hour grind. Exception - Sunday brunch crew - exceptional leadership & service. October 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beyond All Expectations Wow! We enjoyed the best service staff in all our travels. Every person was so gracious and attentive. We have never been given such attention by so many different people. We were upgraded to a suite complete with a butler! Yes a real live butler. From 6:00 AM until 8:00 PM you can push a button and they will bring you coffee or arrange to press clothes or shine your shoes. The suite was oversized and and beautiful with a marvelous bath and closet. The bed slept great and the 40 inch HDTV had picture. A memorial weekend. March 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel as great features The views and grounds were spectacular. November 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Stay We have stayed here every summer for the past 9 years because of Starwood brand loyalty and the beautiful facilities. In the past there has been unexpected service issues but the culture of this hotel has improved dramatically. Our expereince the last two years has been exceptional. All staff members go out of their way to make sure everything is right. The butler service is outstanding and Julianna is the reason we came back the last two years. Its our kids favorite place and we will be coming back again in August. June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 Lovely celebration We were staying to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. The staff was wonderful. We were surprised when room service came to deliver a bottle of champagne , when we informed her that we didn't drink alcohol she returned with a bottle of apple cider. So wonderful. We were sitting by the pool and the towel girl asked why we were staying and told her we were celebrating our 10 year anniversary. She later showed up with a plate of chocolate dipped strawberries. So wonderful. All in all we had a wonderful time. Very top notch! August 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Did not disappoint We've wanted to stay at this property for a number of years and took the opportunity when we recently returned to the area. The hotel is beautifully designed and services have been very well thought out. October 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Incredible Experience at St Regis Monarch Beach My wife and I recently had a wonderful 3 night stay at the St Regis Monarch Beach and it was an exceptional experience in all aspects..the suite was beautiful, comfortable and offered an incredible view of ocean and resort. The staff at every level was warm, knowledgeable and more than accommodating no matter the request. Dined at Stonehill Tavern and it was truly and culinary event! Everything about the St Regis Monarch Beach made for a wonderful resort experience and I highly recommend it for individuals and groups. September 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by outstanding! I travel for a living and stay in hotels all over the country & canada. Every once in awhile the staff at one hotel will blow my mind with their kindness and hospitality. This year, The St Regis was one of those hotels. In particular, Jesse James in the salon went above and beyond to make my stay perfect. I am a performer and had forgotten a few things for my trip, the salon went to extremes to fill all of my needs. The St Regis is not only beautiful on the outside, but even more so from within! Hats off to you! December 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Special Place The St. Regis offered a perfect place for my family to gather for a memorable weekend. The staff in most gracious, and our stay was superb! We are all set for our return on an annual basis! April 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the best hotels in California Beautiful hotel, great surroundings, great beaches. November 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Employees Who Care The positive experience started at the front desk with Anita that worked so hard to provide us an upgrade to our room to enhance our stay. It carried over to Giuliani, our Butler, who made sure we were always taken care of. Calling into In Room Dining always made you feel special. A Bartender that makes an unbelievable Jalapeño Margarita and makes sure it is perfect. The parking staff that made a Dodge Charger feel like a Maserati. These are personal experiences that bring you back. A sincere thank you to all. March 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is the best hotel I've ever been in. The service was outstanding. The staff was superb and courteous. My only regret is my own fault: I brought several cameras to try to capture the beauty of the resort, but my tendonitis of my knee kept me in bed with ice on my knee all the time I was not in the meeting(Aesthetic Medicine). I still got a few pictures of sunst from my balcony, but I missed out on the botanical gardens and beach. I hope I get to return to the resort in the near future with good health, so I can avail myself of more of the resort. May 21, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not As Expected The St Regis Monarch Beach resort is a beautiful hotel on a lovely beach, but that is not without some qualms. For a 5 star resort one expects total relaxation. The staff, although friendly and accommodating, seemed to not know what was going on. I had to tell them several times that parking was included in my rate. The reception desk kept saying no, then I asked someone else and they said yes you are absolutely correct. Things like this kept happening - an $80 repulsive meal at motif, and housekeeping even walked in while I was in a towel, although I said not to come in! Regardless, this did not ruin my trip and the hotel was very pretty. I think it will be a one time visit, though, since I know other properties are much more fun and relaxing! Not what I expected from St.Regis! September 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Some good, but a chasm to other St. Regis hotels The good; food, location, lay out of hotel, and wait staff at Motif, heated pools and one designated for children and adults only. The bad; upgrade for rooms compared to other St. Regis was arduous and not as spacious. Many missed service opportunities. Small stuff that St. Regis normally does not miss. I.e. Golf clubs not ready for tee time, wait on car for valet, no milk delivered with coffee and golf has no range!!! $35 a day for valet parking at a resort that is not down town is ridiculous..watch out! March 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel Staff Was Overwhelmed Stayed at the St. Regis for a wedding, there were 5 weddings on one day and the place was a mad house.! I requested an early check in months prior but didn't get into my room until 3:30 and had to rush to get ready in time for the ceremony. The front desk and valet was understaffed and we had to wait in line for everything! Once we got into the room everything was fine but for being a St. Regis property I would have thought they would have been better prepared to accomodate guests on such a busy weekend. May 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel greatest feature was it's STAFF I am a world traveler and I have to say, the beautiful hotel and gardens aside. ALL the STAFF at the The St. Regis Monarch Beach were the nicest and most professional I have ever had the pleasure meeting. i was with the Met Life conference and let me say "I will be back and highly recommend to everyone" April 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Missed the Mark Great hotel and generally really great service. However, as a Platinum was told I was upgraded to a higher floor with a view. Ended up on 2nd floor with a tree right in front of our room. Wanted to have drinks on the patio for sunset and took forever to get a waiter and then even longer to get our wine. Final complaint was that the AC was very inadequate. No matter how low we turned it down, the room never got below 75. Just expect more from a luxury collection property having stand in many of them. October 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel but we were stuck in a corner Took my wife for a weekend getaway. Longtime SPG member and used points for this stay. Not sure if that is the reason, but they stuck us in the room directly by the door to the pool (I think the only door, if not the main door) and the room faced a wall. No light due to the wall but heavy pool/outside traffic. I think it was the actual worst room location on the property. The "adult" pool had more kids than adults. Other than that, wonderful hotel with great staff. August 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best service I have ever experienced! We visited St. Regis Monarch Beach to relax, unwind and enjoy quiet time together. We could not have chosen a better place! From Monica at the Front Desk to Veronica in in-room dining to Raul at the lobby bar, every employee seemed thrilled to be at work and went out of their way to make our weekend getaway extra special. I have never experienced such warm, attentive, genuine service. The spa is equally amazing. If you can request and book Yolanda, do it - she gave me the best massage of my life. November 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by great hotel but some things are lacking the hotel in general is great. Here are some things that can be significantly improved. The shuttle to the beach was very unreliable and the wait while we were there was extremely long. The main pool was totally un supervised. You have a children's pool which is empty and the main pool is filled with young children throwing footballs , jumping in the pool and making chaos. That was really a problem, it was worse than that but that I can leave to your imagination August 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A self contained haven that must be experienced! St Regis Monarch Beach from start to finish is hands down a must do at least once! I say at least once, only because once experienced, you would be compelled to revisit. This property has become one of my family's favorite because it never disappoints and one always has fun no matter how many times you visit. The staff is outstanding with a high level commitment to excellence. The GM is hands on, welcoming and accessible. One realizes very quickly upon arrival that you are welcomed by a team of highly dedicated staff committed to ensuring you have an excellent stay. The staff are engaging and always happy to suggest, help or arrange any number of activities both in and outside of their facility. My family and l always come to this property when we feel a need to rejuvenate and be pampered. April 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of a kind experience I have stayed at this hotel many times, and for my most recent stay we were celebrating our anniversary. The hotel went out of it's way to recognize our return and our special day, provided us with an upgraded room and added special and personalized amenities to our room. Michael the Butler was simply outstanding, as he was on our last stay. The Beach Club lunch was great, and even the guys driving the trams to and from the club were great. Just a wonderful experience at a truly special resort. April 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good hotel, but needs to get its HVAC and room fixtures in order But needs to control the HVAC within the public corridors better and needs to focus on making sure the fixtures in the rooms work. The hotel is on the Pacific Coast and the temperature on average was less than 70 degrees F. Air conditioner does not need to be run at the maximum. Someone needs to examine the fixtures in the hotel room, e.g. the shower heads, the drainage, the remote controls, the light bulbs, and repair or replacement when necessary. The hotel should not rely on a guest to report a problem to the hotel to get it fix, e.g. shower head. It was fixed promptly by the engineer, but is was an inconvenience to have the engineer to have to come in, inspect, go back out to get the part, come back, replace the part, and then leave; when I told the hotel the shower needed to be replace. October 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful location, A bit disappointed regarding Platinum recognition I was very disappointed in the platinum benefits at this property. As a family weekend away we attempted to use our suite upgrade certificates and the only suite that is allowed for an upgrade at this property has a king bed. There is an additional charge to upgrade to an Astor or St. Regis suite. The pool service was extremely slow. On a positive note It is a beautiful location and the staff at the Bay Club and Motif's were excellent. They do have a tram to the beach which the kids enjoyed. January 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by In Room Dining and carpets Overall the St. Regis is a fabulous hotel, but I was disappointed in two respects. First, we booked this hotel for an anniversary weekend with our children and orderd room service. Having infant twins and a toddler withus, we decided to forgoe going the restaurant and risk ruining everyone's dinner evening. As such, we ordered room service for our anniversary dinner. The taste and quality of the food (at prices this hotel charged) was subpar. The steak was dry and flavorless. There was awedding that eveining, seemed like they just grabbed a steak from the reception and put it on my plate. Due to this experience, didn't order in room dining out of fear of getting disappointed again. Second, for whatever reason the carpet in the room always felt damp. Just couldn't get comfortable walking without slippers. September 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel great but spa needs improving We have stayed at many St. Regis Hotels and always love them but this hotel was not as amazing as the rest. While the room and service met expectations the spa was not at the same level as the other St. REgis properties we have stayed at. I found the spa dirty, unkempt and inefficient. The showers were dirty and had towels and used razors left inside. Overall, our visit was nice but had a higher expectation due to our previous experiences with St. Regis and Starwood. July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staffing The accommodations are excellent, and I commend your Butler, Michael for his attitude of service. October 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent LA Getaway From the moment you pull up to this resort hotel, to the moment you depart, the staff caters to your every need, anticipating many of them. From the bottled water, which seems to be everywhere, free of charge, to the endless amenities, this resort is a great place to come to decompress from your busy life, even if only for a day. The rooms are tasteful with walkout balconies, and the bathrooms are the highlight. It's an expensive place to stay, but if you have it, it's worth it. July 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by just okay 2 connecting rooms for 2 nights - of course check in messes up and still trying to sort it out. no spg recognition. had a cabana for one day - overpriced and not worth it unless pool is totally packed. food and drink is way overpriced. just okay. prefer the st regis in san francisco and kauai. food choice is limited. light out in each of the room, big stain on carpet in each of the room. a/c is loud and either too cold or too worm. redeeming grace is how fast the tub fills up. August 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Back to the Original Grandeur! 2 years ago, we had a horrible stay at the Regis. The service was poor and the food and beverage establishments were not up to par. In May, 2013 we attended an event at the hotel and decided to stay over night. The service, accommodations and food were fabulous. It is so nice to have the hotel back to the amazing property that it was when it opened. The many ownership changes have taken its toll but I believe that the current owners have the right idea and the Regis is BACK! May 24, 2013
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 24 next>>