The St. Regis Monarch Beach

  • One Monarch Beach Resort
  • Dana Point,
  • California
  • 92629
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest registration and check-in is restricted to those 21 years of age or older with valid identification.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 677 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by STARWOOD POINT STAY Outstanding Hotel Facility and highly recommended. Room Service was superior in taste and service after we were unable to obtain a decent table worth having at the nearly empty Michael Mina Restaurant prior to prime time so did nto dine there. No other disappointment noted throughout our stay. December 20, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Luxurious Everything was perfect.....the staff was exemplary. August 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Getting to The beach - harder than getting into the CIA A beautiful decadent hotel. The big flaw is that only access to the incredible beach is on an overcroweded not frequent enough stretch GolfCart. And if you are there on an off peak day, as we were plan on waiting even longer. What is absurd is that it is actually a pleasant 7 minute walk down to the beach but the hotel does it's best to make this impossible. Enable our room key cards to open the beach gate so we don't have to wait for a shuttle!! My only other gripe, if you are a light sleeper and your companion uses the bathroom, there is no real "wall" - just shutters.. June 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by An incredible haven of luxury This property is awesome in location, service, facilities and overall ambiance. So far it is our favourite property in SoCal. We always return with pleasure and expectations. A relaxing place in one of the most beautiful places in USA. Location: incredible Views: stupendous Service: first class Facilities: amazing Spa: great most of the time Food: delicious, brunch unbeliveable Last time I stayed there we felt the impact of the crisis on the property and all the foreclosure thing in cut-corners, and other small details that were missing comparing with our previous stays. August 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Truly up to St. Regis standards Have stayed at the St. Regis brand throughout the United States and while all great, others do not even come close to the St. Regis in New York. Monarch Beach did!!! I will return in a few weeks as a birthday gift to my husband. Thank you all so very much. December 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Work then Play Stayed at the St. Regis Monarch Beach on the heels of a business trip in Seattle (during which we also stayed in a Starwood property). Our stay at the St. Regis was for relaxation and every moment was fantastic. It was a very busy weekend at the hotel though it did not interfere with personalized attention. Monica, the young lady who checked us in was very helpful in making our stay wonderful. The room was luxurious and we were torn between staying in or enjoying the amazing view at the pool. Lunch at and breakfast at Motif were exceptional. We will definitely return. September 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Stay We have stayed here every summer for the past 9 years because of Starwood brand loyalty and the beautiful facilities. In the past there has been unexpected service issues but the culture of this hotel has improved dramatically. Our expereince the last two years has been exceptional. All staff members go out of their way to make sure everything is right. The butler service is outstanding and Julianna is the reason we came back the last two years. Its our kids favorite place and we will be coming back again in August. June 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall a good experience Went for our anniversary. Hotel was nice, as expected and overall service was very good. A few opportunities for improvement - the pool area was pretty small considering the location and liklihood to be popular. We were told the seating was full and they couldn't accomodate us (luckily we found the lap pool that is part of the spa which actually worked out better b/c it was quiet and didn't allow children). The casual snack/coffee bar Crust, was a mess in terms of their process and ability to deal with crowds, serving people completely out of order and the barista couldn't have seem less customer oriented. But the staff in the restaurants, bars, spa/fitness and front desk were all very nice and housekeeping was excellent. August 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overall Good Weekend Get-Away I was told by the front desk that this is a non-smoking property. It isn't, which is unbelievable. I was located on the 4th floor and the room directly below me smoked continuously on their lanai. Their smoke wafted direclty into my room. At times what they were smoking wasn't just cigarettes either. The hotel said they investigated and found nothing. I'm not sure how thats possible. I also noticed lots of dogs roaming the grounds. My room smelled like one so perhaps a dog had stayed here. Lastly, the bar is way under-staffed. I took 25 minutes to get a glass of wine before sunset. The bartender actually turned his back when i walked up to the bar. I was dressed in a suit. Maybe i should have been in shorts and flip-flops? May 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by wendy samuels I was very disappointed with the Concierge attitude. Everyone else at the hotel was above expectations. August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel with the Best Service Enjoyed our short visit at the St. Regis Monarch Beach! Excellent Hotel August 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing hotel with average service We have stayed at the St Regis in Dana Point several times and have always very much enjoyed our time in and around the property. The room and bed are extremely comfortable (we paid for a pool/ocean view) however we seemed to have an abundance of children on our floor along with parents that are not very conscientious of other guests (Issue 1). Overall, it was fine but would have been great to be located on a floor or wing with limited families as we were traveling without our four kids (we did discuss, unsuccessfully, with the front desk). The quality of the hotel and the effort put forth by the entire staff is quite high. Although the service effort is high, the actual execution is average (Issue 2). With several very young adults in critical customer service roles, the service often feels disingenuous and lacking experience. I was also surprised that the beautiful lawn between the hotel and the pool had several dead spots and did not look very healthy (Issue 3; perhaps drought-related water restrictions?). Lastly, we had an incident with the Valet where someone else actually was given our rental car (Issue 4). After waiting for a good 20-30 minutes, we found out that they were unable to find our vehicle. At this point, we were late for our evening engagement and had to suggest to the Valet Captain that we take a cab and the hotel pay for it (which they did). The worst part of the entire experience was the conversation we had with the Manager on Duty upon our return to the hotel later that evening. He was non-apologetic and didn't really own the issue. Although he ultimately removed our daily parking charge from our bill, which was appreciated, he very easily could have turned the whole experience into a positive but missed his opportunity. I should add that he also had a bottle of champagne (which we don't drink) and chocolates sent to the room the next day. In the end, the Valet Captain was, again, very apologetic the next day. All in all, we still very much enjoyed our stay and will likely return; however, we may give the hotel on the other side of the Pacific Coast Highway a try. August 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Probably not coming back... Yes, this is a 5 star hotel - I guess our expectation was set high for what we get. Due to the computer issues, we had to be in line for almost 30 mins to check in, which did not seem to be reasonable. The receptionist properly apologized for the inconvenience and she said she would try to look for an upgrade for us, however, soon after she realized that nothing she could do... well, we never asked for it - she shouldn't say anything she cannot promise. It got us much more disappointed. She, however, said that she was able to find a more desirable room for us, which is facing the courtyard with a great view and it got us excited. The room was not a desirable room in our opinion - it was right next to the elevator and it was very noisy. You can hear whenever people were walking by. Also, it is at the corner of the building, the view is not a court yard - it is just stairs. She shouldn't call this "a great courtyard view". To conclude this trip, we received a copy of folio three times after we checked out and the very last bill included charges which we did not make. It is very nice facility but not sure if we would be coming back to stay... maybe just for dining. July 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by St Regis Review The staff was nice but not on top of their game. Upon check in, we were sent in the opposite direction creating a 30 minute hunt down hallways looking for our room. We passed two hotel employees who couldn't help us either and finally suggested we go back to the lobby and have someone there help us. Uninformed employees seemed to be prevalent. The women at the coffee shop didn't seem to know what a small cup of coffee means. Each time, she reached for the largest, most expensive choice when I clearly articulated my desire for a small cup. On the first day, I waited for an extended period of time while one employee attended the many needs of the guest in front of me while two other employees stood behind the counter talking to each other ignoring me and the line forming behind me. Someone behind me finally interrupted their conversation and got them to do their job. The overall bummer - the maze of rights and lefts required to find elevators and rooms. The hotel has really poor signage so directing oneself around is a real guessing game. Biggest problem: Our room is on the 3rd floor and the lobby is on the 5th floor. In others words - up to the lobby, down to our room. We lost count of the amount of times we did the exact opposite due to habit of going down to a lobby and up to a room. Was disappointed in the lack of shops and lack of selection. Regarding decor, average building, okay grounds but nothing special. The pool by the spa - no service the entire 3 hours my wife and I were there. Not even someone pouring water. When I add all this up, the only semblance of luxury here is the price of the room, the cost of the food and the white gloves the hotel staff wears. But underneath that, I would not put this hotel in a luxury classification. I've had much better stays at W's, Westins and Sheratons. August 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by not quite a 5-star hotel GOOD: The decor and ambiance of the hotel is luxurious! The property is worthy of a 5-star hotel. The Sunday Brunch is amazing (now $70 per person is a bit pricey for Sunday brunch, however ...) I have never seen such a selection of food and quality. I did not have enough stomach space to try everything! BAD: Only Valet Parking. When we arrived I waited 5-10 minutes for someone to take the car. Then when we tried to get our car there was a line and it took about 30 min. If the hotel is going to hold a huge function they should staff the valet properly instead of having just 2 guys service everyone. Amenities for the hotel is lacking. I also got no upgrade, even being a Platinum, I received no extra benefits besides free internet. April 10, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nickel and Dime Atmosphere! This was the 3rd time I have stayed at the property since it opened and I must say, unless drastic changes are made, it was my final stay. My wife and I were celebrating our 18th wedding anniversary and while there was a nice gift and attention to detail from the staff on recognizing the event, in so many ways, the rest of the stay fell short. The chaos at check-in was not typical for an SPG property. There was a line 10 deep and the entire process, while fast for our reservation, was quite slow overall. The vibe in the lobby was stale at best. There was no music, live or recorded, and the are seemed sterile and unwelcome this weekend. The room was disappointing in many ways. The room I reserved was referred to as a Luxury Ocean View but the view was more of the golf course and a service road. This was not really what I would consider a true ocean view but a partial ocean view and I felt a bit mislead, especially for the $650 pre-pay rate I paid. The room was also left extremely hot and the entire 2 days the A/C was struggling to cool down the room. I also could not understand why the TV failed to include local TV stations?? Stonehill Tavern was a great restaurant and we enjoyed the dinner and service we had there Friday night. We also felt that the staff and vibe of the Monarch Beach Club was professional and attentive. The spa, while in need of updating (steam room broken, and the lounge still had a "boom box" radio??) offered a great service --kudos to the masseuse. However, to not have coffee available in the lobby is not on par with other properties who would be competitive to this facility. The only way to get a cup of coffee was to wait in line in the lobby cafe, despite being told by an employee that we could call "Butler Service" and avoid the long lines to be had. When I tried that, I was told that our room (again, an upgraded Luxury Suite, or so I thought) did NOT include the service and that I would need to call for regular room service -- again, nothing special about that option. So many possibilities with a property this way but overall, the facility seemed dated and faded, in need of some work and updating. The fountains were broken or shut down due to the drought(?) and the carpets seemed dirty and falling loose. In order for us to revisit the hotel, we would need to know there was a major change in management and that the facility was invested in updates. August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Vacation St Regis has everything you would need to have a perfect vacation. The staff recommended restaurants to us that were homer runs! They couln't have been more helpful. St Regis is a place that makes you want to come back. Thank You!! August 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointment Stayed for 3 nights at the St. Regis Monarch Beach for our 38th wedding anniversary.Were told we were "upgraded" to a nicer room. If this was an upgrade then I would have hated to see the "original" room. We had no view, when sitting on the "porch" we had the pleasure of watching service vehicles go by, our toilet wouldn't flush (took two tries/days from maintenance to fix the problem and on day 3 still would not flush). The drawers would not stay closed in the dresser - apparently not balanced and would slide open and present a hazard. On one day it took over 20 minutes to retrieve our car from the Valet. Overall, the staff was well trained, professional, efficient and friendly. Our biggest disappointment was the room and lack of view. July 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel great but spa needs improving We have stayed at many St. Regis Hotels and always love them but this hotel was not as amazing as the rest. While the room and service met expectations the spa was not at the same level as the other St. REgis properties we have stayed at. I found the spa dirty, unkempt and inefficient. The showers were dirty and had towels and used razors left inside. Overall, our visit was nice but had a higher expectation due to our previous experiences with St. Regis and Starwood. July 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room service Although the staff was friendly, I was not impressed with your room service food. We had stayed the previous evening at the Surf and Sand in Laguna Beach. The room was amazing as well as the room food. I ordered the warm chocolate cake with ice cream for your room service menu, and the cake was beyond small as well as the attendant forgot the ice cream. Honestly for $12 I would have expected a MUCH larger portion than the size of a teacup which is what we got. If that is all you do have than I think you should warn guests when they order it. March 31, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Customer Service Needs Improvement I've stayed at the St. Regis multiple times before, however I hadn't been there in over a year. Unfortunately, I was disappointed at this last stay. At the cabana near the lawn, we ordered a few mojito, and when they arrived, we realized that one of them was a virgin mojito - they forgot the alcohol. There was a noticeable difference in taste among the ones we ordered. We informed the waitress that one of the drinks was missing the alcohol, and she responded 'no it isn't' and walked away. We were further upset when we were actually charged for the drink that wasn't even consumed as it wasn't what we ordered. We realized we forgot something in our car and went to valet to ask to bring our car up. We sat and waited for 10 minutes, 20 minutes, then 30 minutes. We noticed that people who came after us had already received their cars. We went back to valet to ask what the status was. The woman behind the counter then realized that our keys were still in the bowl and didn't hang them for the valets to get. Realizing this mistake, instead of putting our keys at the top since we had already been waiting for 30+ minutes, she put it at the bottom and argued with us when we asked for it to be fetched earlier. Waiting 45 minutes for valet when it was only moderately busy was ridiculous. This is just two short examples of my experience. I used to go to St. Regis for awesome customer service, but unfortunately I will likely not return any time soon. August 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Gorgeous property. Staff is fabulous Gorgeous facility. Rooms are beautiful and well stocked. Food onsite is very pricey. Gorgeous views but be sure to request a room with a view. August 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Reservation process was a real pain I had a very difficult reservation process. This hotel could not effectively process my reservation because half the reservation was using points and the other half paid with a credit card. Process was both time consuming and annoying. i must have had 5 calls about it and the same questions and issues were asked over and over again. Not pleasant. July 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service Went for delayed anniversary, greeted warmly and staff was cheerful and friendly. Had a problem with cigatet smoke getting into room and they accomodated by moving our room quicly and with little interuption. They made our stay very nice and reconized our anniversary. I always feel welcomed there. This was our first visit in December, nice decorations. The lounge is nice but this time the sinder (female) was lacking energy to make the audience feel part of the show and was diconnected to her piano partner. Usually a much better group id there December 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is awesome! The St. Regis is amazing. The staff was wonderful. I will recommend this hotel to everyone. August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everything we could have expected My wife and I celebrated our 36th wedding anniversary at the St. Regis, we were welcomed with complementary champagne. Additionally, we had made reservations at the Monach Bay restaurant, where the service and food were excellent. The room was large with our own balcony for enjoying the sun sets. The stay could not have been better. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by unmatched exelense Wonderful property with outstanding suroundings August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved the room Very elegant, the staff was very nice at all times. August 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by POOR I was at the St. Regis for a work retreat for SR. Level managers. The bar personnel were horrid, slow, got orders wrong! On the 3rd night my room was not made up, when I called I was told they'd have someone come right up. When I got back from dinner room was still unmade, after 3 hours. I notified the Manager....other than "sorry" ! Nothing was done. No free or offered breakfast, drinks, nothing! Upon checking out I called for the Valet....25 minutes car was finally brought around. HORRIBLE service from a five star resort-HORRIBLE! November 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great resort Overall pretty nice resort. Would have been nicer if service at hotel restaurant(Motif) was better. Dinner was 2.5 hours, wasn't sure if the server was new or what but did notice manager constantly on her tail. Unfortunately they did not check on us and when the food came out, it was terrible. Couldn't believe the poor quality of the food. Improperly cooked and over salted! Manager didn't seem to care much and just stated that it could be redone. Really was disappointed after hearing good things from a friend about the restaurant. August 20, 2013
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 24 next>>