The St. Regis Monarch Beach

  • One Monarch Beach Resort
  • Dana Point,
  • California
  • 92629
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest registration and check-in is restricted to those 21 years of age or older with valid identification.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 650 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Repeat visitor let down on many fronts I originally sent this email to the GM and also responded with specific answers on a survey after our stay. I have heard nothing from SPG or the property, so hopefully someone in management will read this and be able to address some of the shortfalls: This is our second stay here, coming from the Palos Verdes area, and we returned specifically because our first stay was spectacular. Unfortunately, this one has left quite a bit begging, and it was punctuated by an exchange I just had with a Manager named Pei. After I left the spa today and returned to our room, I realized I had not called to confirm the 4pm late checkout afforded by my Gold (now Platinum status). Normally front desk personnal ask about this upon checkin, but there was no mention.. Since we reserved multiple services at the spa and were enjoying them and unwinding after, I wanted to take advantage of it. When I was told I could not have a late check out, I asked to speak to a manager and a Ms. Pei called me. While she attempted to be polite on the surface, she was essentially lecturing me in a relatively condescending fashion about SPG policy and the 4pm checkout and how it was upon availability. I have NEVER (you can see my dedicated history at Starwood I'm sure) been told I could not have a 4pm checkout, ever, including our last stay here. But the biggest issue I have is not with her rather panicked (no on-duty manager should be that skittish) attempts to refuse the late 4pm checkout, but with her attitude, especially when she relented finally but made it clear that she was doing ME a favor and allowing me the late check out I am entitled. What I informed Ms. Pei and would suggest to anyone responsible for operations or training in an hospitality setting, is that if you do not plan to extend something that is clearly expected and regularly offered expected benefit (even if the fine print says its upon availability), that should be communicated up front, at least at check in, and frankly at the time of booking, because other plans are made around the room booking, REVENUE GENERATING plans for the resort. Ms. Pei seemed only concerned about her occupancy issues and SPG benefit policy. I found her extremely displeasing. In addition, I expressed to Ms. Pei that we had issues with the room when we returned from Stonehill Tavern and she didn't seem to take any particular note or offer anything other than a fleeting "my apologies", so you might want to have them addressed. They included: - Water in shower that had no "warm" just extremes of hot and cold - Even though room was hot, we could only get hot air to come out of the A/C system for some reason, even when we turned the temp down low, and had to sleep with the door open, resulting in us waking early - The door to the toilet room is extremely squeaky and woke up the other person when it was closed - I clearly indicated in my reservation that there were two adults, and it was clear that a man and a woman's belongings were in the room, yet, the turndown service was only done on one side of the bed, no water, chocolates or slippers on other side In addition, my girlfriend was served spoiled youghurt in a yogurt parfait at the coffee bar this morning. We also waited 15 minutes mid-afternoon in the main restaurant for just initial water service. My order was taken and delivered incorrectly and there was no offer of correction. So I am spending the last hour of my stay here while my girlfriend finishes her mani/pedi writing this email, because besides all the room and food service failures, what I really hate the fact that your Manager was condescending and caused me distress with her attitude at the end of a supposedly relaxing stay. She really seemed ungenuine in her concerns for the problems we had during our stay and also my issues with her attitude and attempts to make it sound like I was out of line and she was doing me a favor. Unfortunately, we had hoped to make the St. Regis a getaway for us on a repeat basis in the future, but I don't think we will be coming back. January 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great visit Beautiful property with great service and views. July 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best hotel I have ever stayed at! I have stayed in many different hotels in different countries. From the facilities to the staff to the overall experience, it was just amazing. SPG members are recognized and the experience is unique as you feel that you are there free to do your thing without any hassle and without the crowds like at other hotels. The staff really are attentive and helpful, that made all the difference. We were watching the sunset and having tea on the balcony and asked a server who was not even our server to turn on the heat lamps. I forgot his name, but I rememer his face. Strangely they didn't work so he checked all the heat lamps until a couple worked. That made the day. February 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superb resort and awesome staff The facilities and the room was amazing. The staff was so incredibly professional and courteous, I felt spoiled. The restaurants were exceptional and we had a blast doing afternoon tea while overlooking the facility. I thought the electronic make up room/do not disturb and the doorbell on the door system was really cool.We really enjoyed our stay and the only blemish was finding an erroneous private bar charge in excess of $100 on our bill. I wish hotels would get rid of these as ours was unlocked and did not seem full when we looked at it but never thought much of it until the end of the stay. I called the accounting dept and they were going to take care of it. December 31, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room not available on time The St. Regis is an amazing property. While I waited to check in I received two separate comps for drinks since my room wasn't available on time. While I appreciate the comps, I think having the room available on time, on a Tuesday in the off season shouldn't be an issue. Additionally, both times I called ahead for my car from valet service and both times I had to wait despite the appearance of enough employees to handle moderate traffics flow. Just my opinion which is expressed as mostly a positive experience, just wanted to provide feedback to make your resort a better place to visit. Thanks, LCDR Damon Loveless March 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel, propert and great staff The property is what you would expect from a 5 start hotel. It is sometimes difficult to find plenty of staff that also does a great job. At every turn, I was pleasantly surprised by the great staff throughout this property, which is why I would rate it 5 stars. May 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous Resort If you are looking for luxury, comfort, and pampering, the St. Regis Monarch Beach is the place for you. The staff welcomed us when we drove up. They took care of my care and luggage and each day someone greeted us with a smile and a friendly "hello!" The pool is gorgeous and the beach is just a short tram ride away. This is a place I would strongly recommend for anyone looking for a great vacation spot. July 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Its time to spruce up... Beautiful location, fabulous resort, its just a little tired. I was so... disappointed. Dirty main entrance floors. Flower pots half full of wilting flowers. Staff was pleasant when you saw them, but not on their toes, especially at the main entrance. Valet staff was very friendly. Our room was tucked into a corner by the elevators and an main garden entrance. Not good for SPG guests. The carpet was really dirty, however they did attempt to clean once I reported it. They should have moved me. The food in the main dinning room was so over priced. The ribeye steak was very fatty. The ribeye steak was actually better at Claim Jumpers the previous night. The wait staff in main dinning room was very prompt and friendly. Poolside was lovely, staff was also very prompt and friendly. I would like to come back and see things spruced up some. After all you are a 5 Star Resort. June 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Inconsistent service Inconsistent room service and inadequate training of servers at the bar and pool restaurant.The hotel was at capacity during our stay and clearly staff were reassigned to areas where they do not normally work. July 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous hotel!!! This hotel is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in. The level of service was superior, from the bellman to the front desk to housekeeping. We could not have been more pampered! The front desk clerk was wonderful at accommodating our wishes for the perfect room. The food in the restaurants was wonderful and the views are incredible. We will be back! July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic stay! The staff was wonderful, attentive, hospitable and professional and made us feel like one of the family. July 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Service was terrible! We had an issue with our bed being wet and the hotel manager suggested that I had spilled water on the bed since they had "serviced the room" prior to our checking in. I am appalled that she would insinuate that I lied. If I had spilled water I would have requested help with the water that I had spilled! I have stated at this hotel many times and I am a very loyal gold spg member and none of that was factored into how I was treated or how they responded to my issue, which was a wet bed from an unsanitary accident in the bed that they did not find prior to assigning us the room! May 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Most Romantic Resort Ever We arrived at the St. Regis Monarch to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and were instantly transformed into celebration, luxury, and remarkable attention to detail. We have traveled the world and stayed in many luxurious resorts and hotels but none compared to the absolutely amazing St. Regis Resort at Dana Pointe. From the front desk staff all the way to the food server at the private club on the beach, who by the way remembered our favorite beverage and meal from the lunch we had the day before, treated us like royalty. This is a very special resort with first class service and truly romantic location. June 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by An excellent venue for our group meeting I was impressed with all aspects of this property. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the room was wonderful and the banquet food was the best I've had in this organization, which meets annually at some very nice resorts. It was a little inconvenient to get to the beach, but well worth the trip for another nice feature of the property. June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing and quiet getaway Enjoyed relaxing in comfort both inside the room as well as on the garden "veranda". Loved the vegetation which kept the area very quiet as we were there to relax. Staff was very congenial and responsive. July 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thank You. Always a great experience. You won't find a better place to relax on the beach. July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful stay The staff and the property was some of the best I have had in hotel stays. I was disapointed in the food. We ate at the beach club and had room service two times. I was far from impressed with the taste ofthe food for such a great location. The service was the best but my next stay I will eat off the property June 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Spectacular setting for a conference The professional conference I attended had some 400 attendees and everyone I talked to was greatly impressed with the hotel. The setting is beautiful; the food, both in the restaurants and at our functions was outstanding, and I have never experienced such careful, personal service. I have another professional meeting scheduled for the hotel in the fall and I very much look forward to returning. June 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointment by SPG Platinum guest I have stayed at the S Regis, Monarch Beach yearly since it opened. I am huge fan of the property and have taken the time to send a letter in the past to alert you to shortcomings at Motif. Once again, I am amazed by the what appears to be the lack of training. I would suggest forgetting formalities such as putting napkins on guests laps as they arrive and instead have trained wait staff to immediately serve water, coffee and take orders.. One morning my husband was still waiting for milk for his cereal when I was finished with my eggs. It would be nice to serve milk with cereal and cream and sugar when coffee is set down on the table. Also during such a high traffic time, have coffee in the hall for guests as they wait for tables that are actually empty but with not enough staff to take care of the demand. I was also amazed that at 9:30 on a holiday weekend, the restaurant is closed to set up for the buffet. If that is to be the case, have a sign up the day before to alert guests. Being directed to the golf club restaurant, the same would be true for the servers and training. I watched while many waiters stood around as we sat and waited for coffee which was asked for upon arriving and finally delivered after several additional requests after the food arrived. At the beach, on July 5th, there were no towels for hours. Once again, being a holiday weekend, guests needs should be anticipated. This is a 5 Star resort and guests have expectations that should be met . As I said at the beginning I am a fan of this property and am expressing my feelings to help you be what you should be as a 5 star resort. July 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Romantic birthday getaway The hotel and grounds are just lovely. Staff is wonderful. We loved our dining experiences, time at the pool and spa. July 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by expensive yet clean everything about this resort was expensive including parking, food, etc. the facilities were clean and updated. however food and beverages were over priced and not the best quality. July 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel - Great Location I very much enjoyed my stay at Monarch Bay. The facilities are beautiful, the staff was generally very accommodating. I decided to play the Monarch Bay golf course and while I understood there was going to be some ground maintenance the staff did not let on how poor the conditions were or how badly the course was playing. I did experience some non existing/slow service at the pool (giving me a menu for lunch yet never coming back to see what I wanted to order?). But in the end I still have to say the hotel is beautiful, very clean, great location and overall still in the top tier of places to stay. September 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Children in Adult Pool One of the 2 sunny days was blown when a child defecated or vomited in the main pool. Children should be banned from the main pool. There are enough staff to enforce this politely. My wife and I had finished our smoothies and were getting ready to swim when the pool was cordoned off with yellow crime scene type tape for 2 hours of sanitizing. The kiddie pool was not comparable with nerf footballs and plastic bombs being lobbed about. the afternoon was lost. The remote beach and ocean were a surprise and 2 of the 4 days with a heavy marine layer 0f clouds blew that experience(cold and windy). Sat. we swam in the main pool under cloudy skies with cold ambient air temperature. As we were leaving on Sunday, the sun shone brightly. For non-golfers and non-tennis players our hopes for fun in a private beach and gorgeous pool were dashed. Only the adult pool could be blamed on the hotel management which allows parents to bring their underage children in. The remoteness of the beach should be disclosed in advance, but, for obvious reasons it is not. this resort was no HAWAII. June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding service and elegance Booking the St. Regis for my business meeting was the smartest move. All participants felt pampered through out the event. All logistics for the meeting were executed flawlessly and the staff paid full attention to details. Impeccable service during the meetings as well as in the guestrooms. June 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by The worst Price to Value ratio! I was really disappointing by this property. And being a platinum member for many years I had a great variety of experiences at Starwood hotels and resorts but this one was clearly on the worst side. Most importantly they have a serious issue with the quality control. - Upon check-in I requested a late check-out. I was verbally confirmed 4pm check out time. On the check out date a person walked into my room without knocking. I was in the shower and my girlfriend was undressed. No apologies at all! He just said that we were supposed to leave the room by now. When I called the service they said that they were unable to give me a late check-out. Importantly, for platinum members late check-out is guaranteed, - When checked in they messed up my bill. Just tried to steel $40 dollars from their loyal customer - not a big deal. - Service is painfully slow. Check-in takes 15 minutes. Why - they have no idea what they are doing and mess up every request. - Finally, the value is terrible. we are talking about $600-800 per night with absolutely nothing outstanding. Similar Sheraton or Westin resorts in Mexico, Florida feel much better at approximately one third of a price. Stay away from this property! There are many options to make sure that you actually enjoy your holidays and vacations so do not waste your precious time on places like this. July 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect "10" hotel! This is one classy hotel from the time you set foot at the lobby all the way to our room . clean premises. The Christmas decorations were amazing I had to take pictures by the Christmas tree in and out by the pool. The room was so clean , sheets were immaculate , I like that they provide slippers and sponges to remove my make-up or use for my pressed powder. this is something new I haven't seen anywhere. I like the outside patio that overlooks the pool. It was so calm and quite and the feel of privacy. We've stayed here for 3 times now and hope to continue on... great staff , very professional! December 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by 37th Wedding Anniversary Celebration This hotel proved to be over and above our expectations! It provided the perfect rest and relaxation that we were looking for and so much more! The hotel, pool and restaurant service was AWESOME! Everyone was so friendly and helpful! The grounds are exquisite and we can't wait for the opportunity to return!!!! June 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Luxurious Accomodations I had a great stay here. The staff was professional. The room very comfortable. July 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Disneyland for Adults- My Happiest place on Earth From the moment I booked the hotel reservation I was given nothing but first class service ! The St. Regis Monarch Beach made my experience/ vacation with my daughter an amazing trip we would never forget ! The staff did a wonderful job fulfilling my request and making suggestions of activities at the hotel and in the area (the pool and private beach access was amazing) The front desk agents took the time to check up on me and my daughter and had the courtsey and patience to listen. Just the initial thought and consideration was service above and beyond my expectations . Thank you to everyone at the St. Regis who made my stay an experience I cannot stop talking about ! Keep up the fantastic job! August 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comments on room and weFi When I am paying the rate that I did for this room, i was upset that I had to pay additional money to get WiFi. I have stayed in a number of other hotels in the last several months. Some were free, and all were less than my supposed deal for being Starwood Preferred. The lighting in the room may have been attractive as far as some decorator was concerned. but it was terrible for people who want to read.There was not a decent light in the room. We recently stayed at the El Encanto in Santa Barbara, and they had special lights that were basically hident, but could be pulled out for reading. September 22, 2013
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 23 next>>