The St. Regis Monarch Beach

  • One Monarch Beach Resort
  • Dana Point,
  • California
  • 92629
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest registration and check-in is restricted to those 21 years of age or older with valid identification.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 647 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thank You. Always a great experience. You won't find a better place to relax on the beach. July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by An excellent venue for our group meeting I was impressed with all aspects of this property. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the room was wonderful and the banquet food was the best I've had in this organization, which meets annually at some very nice resorts. It was a little inconvenient to get to the beach, but well worth the trip for another nice feature of the property. June 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful Family Get-A-Way Stayed here for the first time this past weekend with wife and 2 small kids. First let me say this is a beautiful hotel. Great pools. Especially great kids pools, where our kids played with Torri Spelling and her kids. Anyway. I wrote them ahead of time to tell them it was my 3-year-olds birthday and to ask for a platinum upgrade -- if available. A very nice "reservation butler" called me and told me they only upgrade Platinums to better views -- not suites, but, she said, they would confirm an upgrade for us ahead of time for the special occasion. A very generous offer. And i immediately saw the upgrade to executive suite reflected in my spg app. We checked in the next day and, of course, i hear "we have upgraded you to a nice king view room." I ask about my suite and they say they don't upgrade platinums. I mention the reservation butler i spoke with and they claimed to not know this woman -- even though I showed them her email. Any way, they "found" an executive suite so all was well -- but annoying to have to go through this. We checked in around 9pm. Finally got to room. The executive suite is beautiful. Just one room, but nice and big with a fantastic bathroom. What you'd expect from st regis. Very nice. However, that night, after putting the kids to bed, our door buzzer rings at 10:30pm waking the kids. I open the door and it's some hotel fool bringing us a small birthday tart -- for my 3 year-old at 10:30pm??? Ahh, nice touch, but not st regis service. I should say, the next morning they brought a small teddy bear and ballons. A very sweet touch. Also, when I told them at the restaurant they brought chocolate chip pancakes all decorated. So overall, I think they did a great job making our son feel special. Some toys even required a screwdriver, and our butler helped sort that out for us. We will definitely come back for a quick weekend get-a-way. A couple of annoying hiccups for a 5-star hotel, but this has to be one of the nicest spg properties in the continental US. November 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel, Great Service from Everyone Except Restaurants I'll first start with the things I liked about it. Starts with valet, registration staff, lounge/bar staff, hotel room, staff at the Beach Club, the Spa, and grounds/property were all stellar -- exactly met my expectations for the St. Regis -- my expectations are very high, and I think those expectations are well placed. What I did not like and dramatically and negatively skewed my impression of the St. Regis Monarch Beach was the staff of the Stonehill Tavern and Motif restaurants. It began on the greeting at both locations. We had a reservation for 8:30p on Saturday night (3/16/13). Upon arriving, the check-in/hostess noted our reservation and asked us to wait a moment, while they helped another guest ahead of us. When she came back, she again asked for our name (not good -- at the St. Regis, I expect to be nearly recognized, and certainly after only one self-identification). She said a table was not available yet and they were working on it (not good -- I expect to be seated at the St. Regis at my reservation time). We were asked to wait to the side, while they helped others (not good). We stood just to the side, roughly 10 feet away. Approximately 15 minutes later, another couple who had a reservation also at 8:30p, who checked in after us, was seated (not good). My wife clarified that the staff was still working on a table for us and they said they were working on it. About 5 minutes after that, the hostess approached us and again asked for our name (at this point, I'm quite upset -- that's unnecessary, especially from the St. Regis). We were seated at our table nearly 25 minutes later than our reservation (not good) and it was at a temporary table (not good). It was a makeshift table placed in a hallway area. I could not believe it and almost left when I realized it. We looked across to the other couple who had been seated before us and they were seated at a normal table. This story goes on and on, but I will leave it here for now. Our experience at the Motif restaurant was not much different. There is a serious problem that needs to be addressed here. I would be happy to elaborate on exactly what happened, if you'd like to contact me for more information. March 19, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointment by SPG Platinum guest I have stayed at the S Regis, Monarch Beach yearly since it opened. I am huge fan of the property and have taken the time to send a letter in the past to alert you to shortcomings at Motif. Once again, I am amazed by the what appears to be the lack of training. I would suggest forgetting formalities such as putting napkins on guests laps as they arrive and instead have trained wait staff to immediately serve water, coffee and take orders.. One morning my husband was still waiting for milk for his cereal when I was finished with my eggs. It would be nice to serve milk with cereal and cream and sugar when coffee is set down on the table. Also during such a high traffic time, have coffee in the hall for guests as they wait for tables that are actually empty but with not enough staff to take care of the demand. I was also amazed that at 9:30 on a holiday weekend, the restaurant is closed to set up for the buffet. If that is to be the case, have a sign up the day before to alert guests. Being directed to the golf club restaurant, the same would be true for the servers and training. I watched while many waiters stood around as we sat and waited for coffee which was asked for upon arriving and finally delivered after several additional requests after the food arrived. At the beach, on July 5th, there were no towels for hours. Once again, being a holiday weekend, guests needs should be anticipated. This is a 5 Star resort and guests have expectations that should be met . As I said at the beginning I am a fan of this property and am expressing my feelings to help you be what you should be as a 5 star resort. July 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfection! My daughter was married at the St. Regis, Dana Point, this past weekend. Amanda was her contact coordinator at the hotel. From our first introduction to Amanda, to our checkout yesterday, each and every detail of comfort and service was met, beyond our already high expectations. The valets, butler service, room service, food service, staff friendliness and helpfulness was impeccable! Many of our wedding guests stayed at the resort for the weekend and their feedback is the same as ours. My husband and I have stayed at the St. Regis for work events prior to our daughter's wedding and have had the same dependable quality of service! September 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Recognition non-existent! I checked in for one night to treat my best friend for a special birthday night. When we arrived, the front desk attendant was very polite and acknowledged the birthday as well as my Gold status, but that's where the service ended unfortunately during the following course of events: 1. Poor communication regarding upgrade. I'm fully aware that the upgrade for Gold members is at the hotel's discretion, but it would be helpful if the staff could acknowledge one was not available instead of indirectly stating how much they value my loyalty. Often if I don't get an upgrade at most Starwood properties, I at least receive something such as bottled water, fruit, even a bottle of wine, but in this case nothing. 2. No birthday recognition. Many times it could even just be a nice note acknowledging this, but there was nothing ever noted or left in our room. Even when the person who escorted us to the elevator said he would handle our 4pm late checkout, I had to call to confirm it since it had not been requested. 3. Concierge made me feel silly. As I've experienced at the St. Regis properties in Beijing, Atlanta, and D.C., there is a tradition of champagne sabering. I inquired if the property did this and they said they had never heard of this tradition and that we would have to purchase our own champagne, which was an odd response my question. A quick google search showed many other St. Regis properties that at least acknowledge this history of the hotel if not offer this service. 4. Checkout was difficult - When I tried to go back to my room to collect my things at 4pm, a staff member requested to see my room key and verify if I was an actual guest. I felt insulted by this given i'd been walking around the property all weekend. 5. Resort fee underdelivered. I was constantly promped to pay for internet throughout the property on my iPhone even though complimentary internet was listed on my "resort fee includes" card. In addition to not having a full set of toiletries, having difficulty finding the spa and fitness center, which seem understaffed due to the wait times just to be admitted, and the overall feeling I was being nickled and dimed compared to virtually ALL other Starwood properties that I've stayed at, my friend and I vowed to never return to this property again. It was an exceptionally poor experience and made the value of staying there again seem extremely limited. November 14, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Repeat visitor let down on many fronts I originally sent this email to the GM and also responded with specific answers on a survey after our stay. I have heard nothing from SPG or the property, so hopefully someone in management will read this and be able to address some of the shortfalls: This is our second stay here, coming from the Palos Verdes area, and we returned specifically because our first stay was spectacular. Unfortunately, this one has left quite a bit begging, and it was punctuated by an exchange I just had with a Manager named Pei. After I left the spa today and returned to our room, I realized I had not called to confirm the 4pm late checkout afforded by my Gold (now Platinum status). Normally front desk personnal ask about this upon checkin, but there was no mention.. Since we reserved multiple services at the spa and were enjoying them and unwinding after, I wanted to take advantage of it. When I was told I could not have a late check out, I asked to speak to a manager and a Ms. Pei called me. While she attempted to be polite on the surface, she was essentially lecturing me in a relatively condescending fashion about SPG policy and the 4pm checkout and how it was upon availability. I have NEVER (you can see my dedicated history at Starwood I'm sure) been told I could not have a 4pm checkout, ever, including our last stay here. But the biggest issue I have is not with her rather panicked (no on-duty manager should be that skittish) attempts to refuse the late 4pm checkout, but with her attitude, especially when she relented finally but made it clear that she was doing ME a favor and allowing me the late check out I am entitled. What I informed Ms. Pei and would suggest to anyone responsible for operations or training in an hospitality setting, is that if you do not plan to extend something that is clearly expected and regularly offered expected benefit (even if the fine print says its upon availability), that should be communicated up front, at least at check in, and frankly at the time of booking, because other plans are made around the room booking, REVENUE GENERATING plans for the resort. Ms. Pei seemed only concerned about her occupancy issues and SPG benefit policy. I found her extremely displeasing. In addition, I expressed to Ms. Pei that we had issues with the room when we returned from Stonehill Tavern and she didn't seem to take any particular note or offer anything other than a fleeting "my apologies", so you might want to have them addressed. They included: - Water in shower that had no "warm" just extremes of hot and cold - Even though room was hot, we could only get hot air to come out of the A/C system for some reason, even when we turned the temp down low, and had to sleep with the door open, resulting in us waking early - The door to the toilet room is extremely squeaky and woke up the other person when it was closed - I clearly indicated in my reservation that there were two adults, and it was clear that a man and a woman's belongings were in the room, yet, the turndown service was only done on one side of the bed, no water, chocolates or slippers on other side In addition, my girlfriend was served spoiled youghurt in a yogurt parfait at the coffee bar this morning. We also waited 15 minutes mid-afternoon in the main restaurant for just initial water service. My order was taken and delivered incorrectly and there was no offer of correction. So I am spending the last hour of my stay here while my girlfriend finishes her mani/pedi writing this email, because besides all the room and food service failures, what I really hate the fact that your Manager was condescending and caused me distress with her attitude at the end of a supposedly relaxing stay. She really seemed ungenuine in her concerns for the problems we had during our stay and also my issues with her attitude and attempts to make it sound like I was out of line and she was doing me a favor. Unfortunately, we had hoped to make the St. Regis a getaway for us on a repeat basis in the future, but I don't think we will be coming back. January 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel, propert and great staff The property is what you would expect from a 5 start hotel. It is sometimes difficult to find plenty of staff that also does a great job. At every turn, I was pleasantly surprised by the great staff throughout this property, which is why I would rate it 5 stars. May 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Romantic birthday getaway The hotel and grounds are just lovely. Staff is wonderful. We loved our dining experiences, time at the pool and spa. July 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful stay The staff and the property was some of the best I have had in hotel stays. I was disapointed in the food. We ate at the beach club and had room service two times. I was far from impressed with the taste ofthe food for such a great location. The service was the best but my next stay I will eat off the property June 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by expensive yet clean everything about this resort was expensive including parking, food, etc. the facilities were clean and updated. however food and beverages were over priced and not the best quality. July 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by The worst Price to Value ratio! I was really disappointing by this property. And being a platinum member for many years I had a great variety of experiences at Starwood hotels and resorts but this one was clearly on the worst side. Most importantly they have a serious issue with the quality control. - Upon check-in I requested a late check-out. I was verbally confirmed 4pm check out time. On the check out date a person walked into my room without knocking. I was in the shower and my girlfriend was undressed. No apologies at all! He just said that we were supposed to leave the room by now. When I called the service they said that they were unable to give me a late check-out. Importantly, for platinum members late check-out is guaranteed, - When checked in they messed up my bill. Just tried to steel $40 dollars from their loyal customer - not a big deal. - Service is painfully slow. Check-in takes 15 minutes. Why - they have no idea what they are doing and mess up every request. - Finally, the value is terrible. we are talking about $600-800 per night with absolutely nothing outstanding. Similar Sheraton or Westin resorts in Mexico, Florida feel much better at approximately one third of a price. Stay away from this property! There are many options to make sure that you actually enjoy your holidays and vacations so do not waste your precious time on places like this. July 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best hotel I have ever stayed at! I have stayed in many different hotels in different countries. From the facilities to the staff to the overall experience, it was just amazing. SPG members are recognized and the experience is unique as you feel that you are there free to do your thing without any hassle and without the crowds like at other hotels. The staff really are attentive and helpful, that made all the difference. We were watching the sunset and having tea on the balcony and asked a server who was not even our server to turn on the heat lamps. I forgot his name, but I rememer his face. Strangely they didn't work so he checked all the heat lamps until a couple worked. That made the day. February 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room not available on time The St. Regis is an amazing property. While I waited to check in I received two separate comps for drinks since my room wasn't available on time. While I appreciate the comps, I think having the room available on time, on a Tuesday in the off season shouldn't be an issue. Additionally, both times I called ahead for my car from valet service and both times I had to wait despite the appearance of enough employees to handle moderate traffics flow. Just my opinion which is expressed as mostly a positive experience, just wanted to provide feedback to make your resort a better place to visit. Thanks, LCDR Damon Loveless March 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Children in Adult Pool One of the 2 sunny days was blown when a child defecated or vomited in the main pool. Children should be banned from the main pool. There are enough staff to enforce this politely. My wife and I had finished our smoothies and were getting ready to swim when the pool was cordoned off with yellow crime scene type tape for 2 hours of sanitizing. The kiddie pool was not comparable with nerf footballs and plastic bombs being lobbed about. the afternoon was lost. The remote beach and ocean were a surprise and 2 of the 4 days with a heavy marine layer 0f clouds blew that experience(cold and windy). Sat. we swam in the main pool under cloudy skies with cold ambient air temperature. As we were leaving on Sunday, the sun shone brightly. For non-golfers and non-tennis players our hopes for fun in a private beach and gorgeous pool were dashed. Only the adult pool could be blamed on the hotel management which allows parents to bring their underage children in. The remoteness of the beach should be disclosed in advance, but, for obvious reasons it is not. this resort was no HAWAII. June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superb resort and awesome staff The facilities and the room was amazing. The staff was so incredibly professional and courteous, I felt spoiled. The restaurants were exceptional and we had a blast doing afternoon tea while overlooking the facility. I thought the electronic make up room/do not disturb and the doorbell on the door system was really cool.We really enjoyed our stay and the only blemish was finding an erroneous private bar charge in excess of $100 on our bill. I wish hotels would get rid of these as ours was unlocked and did not seem full when we looked at it but never thought much of it until the end of the stay. I called the accounting dept and they were going to take care of it. December 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Spectacular setting for a conference The professional conference I attended had some 400 attendees and everyone I talked to was greatly impressed with the hotel. The setting is beautiful; the food, both in the restaurants and at our functions was outstanding, and I have never experienced such careful, personal service. I have another professional meeting scheduled for the hotel in the fall and I very much look forward to returning. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding service and elegance Booking the St. Regis for my business meeting was the smartest move. All participants felt pampered through out the event. All logistics for the meeting were executed flawlessly and the staff paid full attention to details. Impeccable service during the meetings as well as in the guestrooms. June 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Service was terrible! We had an issue with our bed being wet and the hotel manager suggested that I had spilled water on the bed since they had "serviced the room" prior to our checking in. I am appalled that she would insinuate that I lied. If I had spilled water I would have requested help with the water that I had spilled! I have stated at this hotel many times and I am a very loyal gold spg member and none of that was factored into how I was treated or how they responded to my issue, which was a wet bed from an unsanitary accident in the bed that they did not find prior to assigning us the room! May 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Luxurious Accomodations I had a great stay here. The staff was professional. The room very comfortable. July 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 37th Wedding Anniversary Celebration This hotel proved to be over and above our expectations! It provided the perfect rest and relaxation that we were looking for and so much more! The hotel, pool and restaurant service was AWESOME! Everyone was so friendly and helpful! The grounds are exquisite and we can't wait for the opportunity to return!!!! June 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel Excellent Facility for meetings, conferences or any large gathering June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Service Amazing experience with great service. June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 genuine caring excellent service Staff well trained , always trying to help and to offering more assistance than originally asked . June 29, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Okay stay Spent 5 nights here last month, and was really looking forward to 5 star service and a rich experience. Left confused. Pros: 1. Beautiful rooms 2. Plat Recognition: SNA did not process, but got upgraded to Suite despite Memorial Day and long 5 night stay 3. Excellent service from Gordon F (Food and Bev Asst. Manager) 4. Breakfast at Motif was sensational - Platinum credit paid for 2 entrees and a side! Cons: 1. Beef in vegetarian salad 2, Left 2 messages for GM during stay, got no reply. Left cell number, still no reply. 3. Dinner menus were bland 4. Had to beg for a reservation at the Beach Club. Not a single table was taken the ENTIRE time we ate 5. VERY limited vegetarian selection across restaurants 6. Golf club restaurant had EXTREMELY long wait times; 3 empty tables upon arrival for breakfast - waited 20 minutes for host to seat us before we left and ate elsewhere 7. 1 star beach: long trek to get there, very little to see. Not manicured, very small, very 1-star feel 8. Often was told that they had "run out" of things; ie- samosas appetizer on the outdoor patio. 9. Initial shoe shine treatment from Butlers resulted in lots of white residue on expensive shoes; had to be sent back. The second butler was shocked at how bad the initial treatment was. Despite all the cons, still managed to have fun. While the property is nice, I hope this is NOT standard St. Regis quality. Needs improvement! June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Most Romantic Resort Ever We arrived at the St. Regis Monarch to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and were instantly transformed into celebration, luxury, and remarkable attention to detail. We have traveled the world and stayed in many luxurious resorts and hotels but none compared to the absolutely amazing St. Regis Resort at Dana Pointe. From the front desk staff all the way to the food server at the private club on the beach, who by the way remembered our favorite beverage and meal from the lunch we had the day before, treated us like royalty. This is a very special resort with first class service and truly romantic location. June 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful facility Absolutely lovely. Great staff. Food hit and miss. The rooms were hot at night, 12-6am barely working. Think that must be some regulation as it is the same in LA Very enjoyable stay. Would like more light in the rooms. June 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The hotel is magnificient. The hotel is magnificient and the service was outstanding. What a truly unique and wonderful experience. June 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Nice Very nice hotel/resort. The rooms were well maintained. Housekeeping did an excellent job during my 5 night stay. Loads of ammenities, nice shops, beautiful resort and location. While the food was wonderful, there could have been a bit more variety. Best hotel experience I've had in a very long time. June 19, 2014
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 23 next>>