The St. Regis Monarch Beach

  • One Monarch Beach Resort
  • Dana Point,
  • California
  • 92629
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest registration and check-in is restricted to those 21 years of age or older with valid identification.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 594 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel - Great Location I very much enjoyed my stay at Monarch Bay. The facilities are beautiful, the staff was generally very accommodating. I decided to play the Monarch Bay golf course and while I understood there was going to be some ground maintenance the staff did not let on how poor the conditions were or how badly the course was playing. I did experience some non existing/slow service at the pool (giving me a menu for lunch yet never coming back to see what I wanted to order?). But in the end I still have to say the hotel is beautiful, very clean, great location and overall still in the top tier of places to stay. September 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect "10" hotel! This is one classy hotel from the time you set foot at the lobby all the way to our room . clean premises. The Christmas decorations were amazing I had to take pictures by the Christmas tree in and out by the pool. The room was so clean , sheets were immaculate , I like that they provide slippers and sponges to remove my make-up or use for my pressed powder. this is something new I haven't seen anywhere. I like the outside patio that overlooks the pool. It was so calm and quite and the feel of privacy. We've stayed here for 3 times now and hope to continue on... great staff , very professional! December 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A self contained haven that must be experienced! St Regis Monarch Beach from start to finish is hands down a must do at least once! I say at least once, only because once experienced, you would be compelled to revisit. This property has become one of my family's favorite because it never disappoints and one always has fun no matter how many times you visit. The staff is outstanding with a high level commitment to excellence. The GM is hands on, welcoming and accessible. One realizes very quickly upon arrival that you are welcomed by a team of highly dedicated staff committed to ensuring you have an excellent stay. The staff are engaging and always happy to suggest, help or arrange any number of activities both in and outside of their facility. My family and l always come to this property when we feel a need to rejuvenate and be pampered. April 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of a kind experience I have stayed at this hotel many times, and for my most recent stay we were celebrating our anniversary. The hotel went out of it's way to recognize our return and our special day, provided us with an upgraded room and added special and personalized amenities to our room. Michael the Butler was simply outstanding, as he was on our last stay. The Beach Club lunch was great, and even the guys driving the trams to and from the club were great. Just a wonderful experience at a truly special resort. April 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by We were so sad to leave! We stayed at the St. Regis for the Prime Passover Program. It can't be easy having the whole hotel taken over by a big group and still maintain the quality of service that St. Regis offers but somehow, the hotel pulled it off! We were so incredibly impressed!! April 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by If you want high-end, this is the hotel! Beautiful hotel & amenities, staff is highly trained to meet and anticipate your needs. Definite 5 star. April 28, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Service not impressive Nice room. Not impressed with service. Maybe because we were locals? Butler service is a gimmick. Restaurants not open because they were preparing for Passover - a week away. Had to leave resort to eat since we didn't want to eat in the same place each time. Not much for 10 & 13 year olds to do. Pool temp was too cold for kids. Nice grounds for a wedding though. April 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Disneyland for Adults- My Happiest place on Earth From the moment I booked the hotel reservation I was given nothing but first class service ! The St. Regis Monarch Beach made my experience/ vacation with my daughter an amazing trip we would never forget ! The staff did a wonderful job fulfilling my request and making suggestions of activities at the hotel and in the area (the pool and private beach access was amazing) The front desk agents took the time to check up on me and my daughter and had the courtsey and patience to listen. Just the initial thought and consideration was service above and beyond my expectations . Thank you to everyone at the St. Regis who made my stay an experience I cannot stop talking about ! Keep up the fantastic job! August 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comments on room and weFi When I am paying the rate that I did for this room, i was upset that I had to pay additional money to get WiFi. I have stayed in a number of other hotels in the last several months. Some were free, and all were less than my supposed deal for being Starwood Preferred. The lighting in the room may have been attractive as far as some decorator was concerned. but it was terrible for people who want to read.There was not a decent light in the room. We recently stayed at the El Encanto in Santa Barbara, and they had special lights that were basically hident, but could be pulled out for reading. September 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another EXCELLENT St Regis experience This was our second St Regis property experience and we continue to be impressed with the consistent top quality service. A beautiful property with impressive, responsive staff! April 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful, but fees? Beautiful property including the lobbies, pools, gardens and our room. We were upgraded using our SPG point room. My only issue was that many things that are included in SPG hotels are an added fee at this resort. Also, the self park was closed for a two week event, so I had to pay $35 each to park two cars. No offer for a reduced rate when it was their problem. $70 for me to park in Dana Point?? April 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by St. Regis Service Exceeded my Expectations I went to the St. Regis with high expectations. I had read about the butler service, the grounds, the beach access and the suites. It was better than I expected. Alfredo and the butlers took care of all that we needed. We went down to the Monarch Bay Club and the staff there (especially Chris and the bartending staff) was just as great as the staff up at the hotel. As far as the hotel goes, it was all spectacular. The only negative in the experience was the meeting space. I was at a large meeting and the wifi did not have the bandwidth for everyone in the room. It was spotty at best. April 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Romantic Getaway My husband and I decided to spend a weekend away from our home in San Diego. Upon our arrival, we were checked in by Kimber....Wow, what a difference a great receptionist makes!!! She was welcoming, helpful and just a joy to interact with. Our room was small but nice and clean. I was a little disappointed with the bath tub (fully expected a jetted tub). We took the tram to the private beach and driver was courteous. We had drinks at the lounge.....not the best drinks but the service was great. Our dinner at Stonehill Tavern was amazingly delicious. Our server Chris was humorous and helpful and Jenny, the mixologist whipped up some incredible drinks for the two of us. Overall, it was a very relaxing and pampered weekend and we've already planned on returning in August with our two daughters to spend an extended weekend. March 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Paradise The staff was as attentive as could be and the facility is just perfect. Not too large but large enough April 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff One of the best Group Meeting staff I've dealt with April 25, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disaster Room not ready when staff said it would be. We had a formal occasion (wedding) to prepare for and were told to use the spa. Staff, including the duty manager, was extremely rude. It was all about them. "We are busy" . "This is is our policy". St Regis is an upscale brand. The experience was decidedly down scale August 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beyond All Expectations Wow! We enjoyed the best service staff in all our travels. Every person was so gracious and attentive. We have never been given such attention by so many different people. We were upgraded to a suite complete with a butler! Yes a real live butler. From 6:00 AM until 8:00 PM you can push a button and they will bring you coffee or arrange to press clothes or shine your shoes. The suite was oversized and and beautiful with a marvelous bath and closet. The bed slept great and the 40 inch HDTV had picture. A memorial weekend. March 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by STARWOOD POINT STAY Outstanding Hotel Facility and highly recommended. Room Service was superior in taste and service after we were unable to obtain a decent table worth having at the nearly empty Michael Mina Restaurant prior to prime time so did nto dine there. No other disappointment noted throughout our stay. December 20, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Getting to The beach - harder than getting into the CIA A beautiful decadent hotel. The big flaw is that only access to the incredible beach is on an overcroweded not frequent enough stretch GolfCart. And if you are there on an off peak day, as we were plan on waiting even longer. What is absurd is that it is actually a pleasant 7 minute walk down to the beach but the hotel does it's best to make this impossible. Enable our room key cards to open the beach gate so we don't have to wait for a shuttle!! My only other gripe, if you are a light sleeper and your companion uses the bathroom, there is no real "wall" - just shutters.. June 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by An incredible haven of luxury This property is awesome in location, service, facilities and overall ambiance. So far it is our favourite property in SoCal. We always return with pleasure and expectations. A relaxing place in one of the most beautiful places in USA. Location: incredible Views: stupendous Service: first class Facilities: amazing Spa: great most of the time Food: delicious, brunch unbeliveable Last time I stayed there we felt the impact of the crisis on the property and all the foreclosure thing in cut-corners, and other small details that were missing comparing with our previous stays. August 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Truly up to St. Regis standards Have stayed at the St. Regis brand throughout the United States and while all great, others do not even come close to the St. Regis in New York. Monarch Beach did!!! I will return in a few weeks as a birthday gift to my husband. Thank you all so very much. December 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff Most courteous, pleasant, knowledgeable, friendly staff of any facility experienced (especially under difficult and unusual circumstances). PS Bath towels should be thicker and softer... April 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Work then Play Stayed at the St. Regis Monarch Beach on the heels of a business trip in Seattle (during which we also stayed in a Starwood property). Our stay at the St. Regis was for relaxation and every moment was fantastic. It was a very busy weekend at the hotel though it did not interfere with personalized attention. Monica, the young lady who checked us in was very helpful in making our stay wonderful. The room was luxurious and we were torn between staying in or enjoying the amazing view at the pool. Lunch at and breakfast at Motif were exceptional. We will definitely return. September 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel We spend two incredible days at this hotel in a junior suite. The room was great and the service was great too. As with most hotels, it can use additional outlets near the bed for charging phones and computers, but otherwise, everything was well done. April 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Over the top at Steve Regis OMG this place is paradise. Johnny the General Manager is the best as was well the staff. This is the 7th time I have been here and I am in love...The Beds are the most comfortable ever. They tell me they are Simmons Beautyrest Black made for the Hotel. Wonderful people. April 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall a good experience Went for our anniversary. Hotel was nice, as expected and overall service was very good. A few opportunities for improvement - the pool area was pretty small considering the location and liklihood to be popular. We were told the seating was full and they couldn't accomodate us (luckily we found the lap pool that is part of the spa which actually worked out better b/c it was quiet and didn't allow children). The casual snack/coffee bar Crust, was a mess in terms of their process and ability to deal with crowds, serving people completely out of order and the barista couldn't have seem less customer oriented. But the staff in the restaurants, bars, spa/fitness and front desk were all very nice and housekeeping was excellent. August 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overall Good Weekend Get-Away I was told by the front desk that this is a non-smoking property. It isn't, which is unbelievable. I was located on the 4th floor and the room directly below me smoked continuously on their lanai. Their smoke wafted direclty into my room. At times what they were smoking wasn't just cigarettes either. The hotel said they investigated and found nothing. I'm not sure how thats possible. I also noticed lots of dogs roaming the grounds. My room smelled like one so perhaps a dog had stayed here. Lastly, the bar is way under-staffed. I took 25 minutes to get a glass of wine before sunset. The bartender actually turned his back when i walked up to the bar. I was dressed in a suit. Maybe i should have been in shorts and flip-flops? May 21, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Probably not coming back... Yes, this is a 5 star hotel - I guess our expectation was set high for what we get. Due to the computer issues, we had to be in line for almost 30 mins to check in, which did not seem to be reasonable. The receptionist properly apologized for the inconvenience and she said she would try to look for an upgrade for us, however, soon after she realized that nothing she could do... well, we never asked for it - she shouldn't say anything she cannot promise. It got us much more disappointed. She, however, said that she was able to find a more desirable room for us, which is facing the courtyard with a great view and it got us excited. The room was not a desirable room in our opinion - it was right next to the elevator and it was very noisy. You can hear whenever people were walking by. Also, it is at the corner of the building, the view is not a court yard - it is just stairs. She shouldn't call this "a great courtyard view". To conclude this trip, we received a copy of folio three times after we checked out and the very last bill included charges which we did not make. It is very nice facility but not sure if we would be coming back to stay... maybe just for dining. July 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by not quite a 5-star hotel GOOD: The decor and ambiance of the hotel is luxurious! The property is worthy of a 5-star hotel. The Sunday Brunch is amazing (now $70 per person is a bit pricey for Sunday brunch, however ...) I have never seen such a selection of food and quality. I did not have enough stomach space to try everything! BAD: Only Valet Parking. When we arrived I waited 5-10 minutes for someone to take the car. Then when we tried to get our car there was a line and it took about 30 min. If the hotel is going to hold a huge function they should staff the valet properly instead of having just 2 guys service everyone. Amenities for the hotel is lacking. I also got no upgrade, even being a Platinum, I received no extra benefits besides free internet. April 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Recycle I found it odd there were no obvious green recycle bins outside nor in the rooms for plastics and paper. Resort is first class, but they nickel and dime you for just about everything. Water, parking, etc. The staff works hard and they treat you very well overall. April 7, 2014
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 21 next>>