The St. Regis Monarch Beach

  • One Monarch Beach Resort
  • Dana Point,
  • California
  • 92629
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 719 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by We were so sad to leave! We stayed at the St. Regis for the Prime Passover Program. It can't be easy having the whole hotel taken over by a big group and still maintain the quality of service that St. Regis offers but somehow, the hotel pulled it off! We were so incredibly impressed!! April 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff Most courteous, pleasant, knowledgeable, friendly staff of any facility experienced (especially under difficult and unusual circumstances). PS Bath towels should be thicker and softer... April 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Service not impressive Nice room. Not impressed with service. Maybe because we were locals? Butler service is a gimmick. Restaurants not open because they were preparing for Passover - a week away. Had to leave resort to eat since we didn't want to eat in the same place each time. Not much for 10 & 13 year olds to do. Pool temp was too cold for kids. Nice grounds for a wedding though. April 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel We spend two incredible days at this hotel in a junior suite. The room was great and the service was great too. As with most hotels, it can use additional outlets near the bed for charging phones and computers, but otherwise, everything was well done. April 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful, but fees? Beautiful property including the lobbies, pools, gardens and our room. We were upgraded using our SPG point room. My only issue was that many things that are included in SPG hotels are an added fee at this resort. Also, the self park was closed for a two week event, so I had to pay $35 each to park two cars. No offer for a reduced rate when it was their problem. $70 for me to park in Dana Point?? April 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by pool At the kids pool there was no butler service when we went. April 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Over the top at Steve Regis OMG this place is paradise. Johnny the General Manager is the best as was well the staff. This is the 7th time I have been here and I am in love...The Beds are the most comfortable ever. They tell me they are Simmons Beautyrest Black made for the Hotel. Wonderful people. April 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by the hotel needs renovation An Iconic facility in need of some room and public area renovations + updated technology in the guestroom. These upgrades will help insure its long term luxury status. April 11, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff Staff was very courteous but needs training . April 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel Outstanding hotel with great service April 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellant and freindly staff From the breathtaking view to the excellent food and helpful, friendly staff everything was over the top. Even the weather, though a little cool, was incredible, the only thing I would recommend to change would be to have some beach activities. April 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by listen couldn't get mini bar fixed. staff would not listen. didn't turn down room April 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for Business Attended a business meeting. Staff and service were exceptional. April 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel...perfection This was a great luxurious stay , even though for a night I cannot wait to return. I have reviewed this hotel on Tripadvisor with flying colors. April 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Recycle I found it odd there were no obvious green recycle bins outside nor in the rooms for plastics and paper. Resort is first class, but they nickel and dime you for just about everything. Water, parking, etc. The staff works hard and they treat you very well overall. April 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel Beautiful property and will plan to return for personal travel. April 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Felt better than home From the moment you pull on the the property, you know your stay will be meaningful. April 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A self contained haven that must be experienced! St Regis Monarch Beach from start to finish is hands down a must do at least once! I say at least once, only because once experienced, you would be compelled to revisit. This property has become one of my family's favorite because it never disappoints and one always has fun no matter how many times you visit. The staff is outstanding with a high level commitment to excellence. The GM is hands on, welcoming and accessible. One realizes very quickly upon arrival that you are welcomed by a team of highly dedicated staff committed to ensuring you have an excellent stay. The staff are engaging and always happy to suggest, help or arrange any number of activities both in and outside of their facility. My family and l always come to this property when we feel a need to rejuvenate and be pampered. April 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of a kind experience I have stayed at this hotel many times, and for my most recent stay we were celebrating our anniversary. The hotel went out of it's way to recognize our return and our special day, provided us with an upgraded room and added special and personalized amenities to our room. Michael the Butler was simply outstanding, as he was on our last stay. The Beach Club lunch was great, and even the guys driving the trams to and from the club were great. Just a wonderful experience at a truly special resort. April 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beyond Words But I'll Try I am 90 mins away from the St Regis in San Diego and this was a quick one night stay as I was a guest of my family while they were in town from Chicago attending a work event. I consider this a scouting trip and did a walk-about deciding what I would do the next time I visit for an extended stay. Pool & grounds beautiful and well worth having a walk around. Room 312 felt cozy & private along with being beautiful with very nice partial view of Pacific and dead on view of pool fun. All services were impeccable and not intrusive allowing me to really settle in even though this was a whirlwind one night stay. Really cementing my plans for a return visit. The ameniti we did use as a group was the tram accessing the PRIVATE BEACH CLUB. I spent a couple hours there while awaiting my family. We then returned there for an incredible sunset meal. Two of the group golfed and were thoroughly impressed with this challenging golf course and the professionalism of the staff. If you are planning short getaway I do not think you will have to leave the grounds. I am usually against this idea and begin to feel trapped and want to get out-n-about to see the beach and local restaurants. But with the supreme access to the beach this creates the idea of getting off the property with absolutely no hassle. And the beach club meets all your needs from snacks, drinks to bar food & gourmet meals with a super California combination of informality beachy and fantastic service. April 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply Amazing Breathtaking hotel with amazing views. The service is impeccable. Just an overall amazing experience April 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Romantic Getaway My husband and I decided to spend a weekend away from our home in San Diego. Upon our arrival, we were checked in by Kimber....Wow, what a difference a great receptionist makes!!! She was welcoming, helpful and just a joy to interact with. Our room was small but nice and clean. I was a little disappointed with the bath tub (fully expected a jetted tub). We took the tram to the private beach and driver was courteous. We had drinks at the lounge.....not the best drinks but the service was great. Our dinner at Stonehill Tavern was amazingly delicious. Our server Chris was humorous and helpful and Jenny, the mixologist whipped up some incredible drinks for the two of us. Overall, it was a very relaxing and pampered weekend and we've already planned on returning in August with our two daughters to spend an extended weekend. March 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding facility, exceptional staff Our company chose Monarch Beach for a business convention. The conference facilities were impeccable, the catering was outstanding, and the support staff handled every request promptly and efficiently. And the breakfast cinnamon rolls were out of this world! March 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice, but hard to find and not quite a top rating We stayed for 3 nights. The staff were all lovely and the bellboys very personable. The pool bar staff was great as well. The valet service people were very nice. We always called at least 20 minutes before we needed our car, but multiple times the car was forgotten, or it still took 20 minutes after the time we said we needed the car to get the car. After about 3x of this we just stopped tipping. I know they were busy, but we called well in advance. I'd also love to see a full length mirror in the room that wasn't blocked by a table. It doesn't have to be big... It was also odd that 2 out of 3 nights we only got one chocolate instead of 2. This may sound petty, but it was weird since there were obviously 2 of us staying there. The decor is nice but it feels old. I do not feel that it was worth the 5-star rating or price. The bathrooms, however, are very nice. Although we were awakened at 5am by our neighbors running their tub. The tubs are high flow and it's nice if you're filling your own tub. It's bad if you're awakened by listening to your neighbor at 5AM! Also it's really hard to find this place. There are so many St Regis properties and we kept getting directed to the tennis club by the map app. It was right across the street from the hotel driveway, but you can't see the hotel and there aren't a lot of signs. March 31, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room service Although the staff was friendly, I was not impressed with your room service food. We had stayed the previous evening at the Surf and Sand in Laguna Beach. The room was amazing as well as the room food. I ordered the warm chocolate cake with ice cream for your room service menu, and the cake was beyond small as well as the attendant forgot the ice cream. Honestly for $12 I would have expected a MUCH larger portion than the size of a teacup which is what we got. If that is all you do have than I think you should warn guests when they order it. March 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room not available on time The St. Regis is an amazing property. While I waited to check in I received two separate comps for drinks since my room wasn't available on time. While I appreciate the comps, I think having the room available on time, on a Tuesday in the off season shouldn't be an issue. Additionally, both times I called ahead for my car from valet service and both times I had to wait despite the appearance of enough employees to handle moderate traffics flow. Just my opinion which is expressed as mostly a positive experience, just wanted to provide feedback to make your resort a better place to visit. Thanks, LCDR Damon Loveless March 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Palacial Paradise Upon my arrival, I was greated by polite, helpful, and eager staff who saw to it that my comfort and convenience was met. The courtesy shown to me was amazing and I felt that the service and treatment was premier. Every inch of the St Regis was perfect. The detail to everything was absolutely inspiring. It was clean, neat and it felt as if I was in a palace. The amenities are complete, the grounds and the appearance of the entire facility was excellent to excuisite. The view from the lobby to the ocean is premier. The food is excellent. The taste is excellent and the care of the staff serving us was excellent. My rating would be A+++++ March 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Room Great Room but view needs improvement. GM needs to spend a night and wake up in the morning and say "Is this the view I want a guest to see 365 times a year or should we improve on this". March 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Service I was offre the umpack servise when I Checked inn, but I was never informed that the servise was untill 8:00 PM and it was 8.20 PM, when I arrived I asked for extra towels and never arrived to my room The towels looks very old with the threads out The servise at the restaurante for breakfast was not so good. At the beach club they dont offre food servise outside the restaurante. March 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staffing needs to match occupancy - When staying at a hotel the caliber of the St Regis (Four Seasons, Ritz, Park Hyatt, Shangri-La, etc) I expect several things: great customer service, beautiful surroundings and world class amenities. I can go to any major city and find each of the three but typically not all three together. Our stay started off well. We were met promptly at the lobby and checked in without any problems. The property and accommodations were way above average. That is where everything went downhill. My wife and I were celebrating our fifth anniversary. Her only wish was for a nice dinner and to hang out at the pool/ocean all day. Because of the water temperature of the ocean the pool was the only logical choice. At the pool we waited for over 30 minutes to order a drink. I finally walked up to the bar and waited 10 more minutes before anyone acknowledged my presence. After an hour had passed we finally received our first drink. 45 minutes later, I was up at the pool bar (this is not a self serve bar mind you) going through the same process. We never, in the 4.5 hours we were at the pool, offered drink or food by the staff (one of the pool attendance told us they were severely shorthanded). Second, we made reservations for dinner at the Monarch Club. We came back to the room early to shower and relax before our 7:00 reservation. I went to iron my shirt only to find the iron was broken. I proceeded to call the concierge to have a new one sent to the room. 30 minutes later it had still not arrived so I called again. After another 20-30 minutes we had to leave for our dinner reservation forcing me to wear a wrinkled shirt to dinner. Not exactly the way I wanted to spend my anniversary. Dinner was great with outstanding service. After dinner I needed to grab several item which required getting my car from Valet. I called down to have the car brought forward. After waiting 20-30 minutes I finally went up to the valet stand where I was informed they could not find my car. After about 45 minutes it finally arrived. The next morning we awoke and wanted to take a walk on the beach. Once again I was forced to call the concierge to get an iron, I was very surprised that it had not been delivered the night before, and once again I waited almost an hour. After the third call downstairs one finally arrived. Last, I chose a $15 lounge credit for my gold amenity that was never posted to my account. Normally I would just dismiss however, give the troubles we had the entire trip, it just seems par for the course. Honestly, the entire stay felt like the hotel was extremely under staffed. When I stay at a hotel of this caliber that should not be the case. I have been a long time fan of the Starwood brands, as can be seen from my permanent gold status, and have stayed at some of the best hotels in the world. I will have to say that this was one of the worst experiences I have had. Hopefully this note will help your future guests. March 17, 2014
  • 2016-02-11 T06:07:22.049-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-9, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_719, tr_719
  • loc_en_US, sid_1361, prod, sort_default
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 25 next>>