The St. Regis Monarch Beach

  • One Monarch Beach Resort
  • Dana Point,
  • California
  • 92629
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest registration and check-in is restricted to those 21 years of age or older with valid identification.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 635 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Completely Disappointed.... Completely Disappointed.... I'm not one to ask for upgrades but I booked a stay with a resort view (extra points) hoping to get upgraded. The customer in front of me at check-in had the same gold member status and he received an upgrade from a garden room to a resort view while I was promptly told that since I already had a resort view, I would not get an upgrade. What was even more shocking is that the garden view is EXACTLY the same as the resort view so I wasted my points on the resort view "upgrade". Secondly, upon arriving to the room, the heater was not working. I had to call the front desk twice in order to have the maintenance guy come up to fix the heater. Upon fixing it, the heater emitted a strong gasoline type odor so we had to leave the room in order to air it out. Next, the combination of drunk idiots yelling and screaming down the hall ways for about an hour in the middle of the night (saturday night around 3-4am) combined with screaming kids in the morning was a disappointment. This will probably be the last time I stay at your resort. As a dedicated SPG member, I thought I would be treated better and have a more memorable experience at a supposedly nice resort under the SPG umbrella but I was completely off. I'll take my business elsewhere. November 29, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staffing needs to match occupancy - When staying at a hotel the caliber of the St Regis (Four Seasons, Ritz, Park Hyatt, Shangri-La, etc) I expect several things: great customer service, beautiful surroundings and world class amenities. I can go to any major city and find each of the three but typically not all three together. Our stay started off well. We were met promptly at the lobby and checked in without any problems. The property and accommodations were way above average. That is where everything went downhill. My wife and I were celebrating our fifth anniversary. Her only wish was for a nice dinner and to hang out at the pool/ocean all day. Because of the water temperature of the ocean the pool was the only logical choice. At the pool we waited for over 30 minutes to order a drink. I finally walked up to the bar and waited 10 more minutes before anyone acknowledged my presence. After an hour had passed we finally received our first drink. 45 minutes later, I was up at the pool bar (this is not a self serve bar mind you) going through the same process. We never, in the 4.5 hours we were at the pool, offered drink or food by the staff (one of the pool attendance told us they were severely shorthanded). Second, we made reservations for dinner at the Monarch Club. We came back to the room early to shower and relax before our 7:00 reservation. I went to iron my shirt only to find the iron was broken. I proceeded to call the concierge to have a new one sent to the room. 30 minutes later it had still not arrived so I called again. After another 20-30 minutes we had to leave for our dinner reservation forcing me to wear a wrinkled shirt to dinner. Not exactly the way I wanted to spend my anniversary. Dinner was great with outstanding service. After dinner I needed to grab several item which required getting my car from Valet. I called down to have the car brought forward. After waiting 20-30 minutes I finally went up to the valet stand where I was informed they could not find my car. After about 45 minutes it finally arrived. The next morning we awoke and wanted to take a walk on the beach. Once again I was forced to call the concierge to get an iron, I was very surprised that it had not been delivered the night before, and once again I waited almost an hour. After the third call downstairs one finally arrived. Last, I chose a $15 lounge credit for my gold amenity that was never posted to my account. Normally I would just dismiss however, give the troubles we had the entire trip, it just seems par for the course. Honestly, the entire stay felt like the hotel was extremely under staffed. When I stay at a hotel of this caliber that should not be the case. I have been a long time fan of the Starwood brands, as can be seen from my permanent gold status, and have stayed at some of the best hotels in the world. I will have to say that this was one of the worst experiences I have had. Hopefully this note will help your future guests. March 17, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by A truly awful "St Regis" experience. A) The carpet of our room was covered in URINE stains! B) The hotel couldn't/wouldn't change our room. C) The concierge was RUDE...and dismissive. D) The concierge never got back to us when we asked her to book reservations. E) The server at the restaurant kept forgetting our order and finally told us that it was because he was "soooo hung over." F) The New Years party was a joke and a rip off. Yes, you got drink tickets but the lines were so long you couldn't even get a drink. G) On the final bill, my credit card was incorrectly charged on three different occasions before I was even given an opportunity to review it. H) The hotel upped the ticket price on New Years without notifying guests. I) When we made dinner reservations in the hotel, we still had to wait 30 min for a table- my wife is pregnant and they didn't even offer her a chair! The hotel made us feel unwelcome and like second class citizens. I know New Years is a very busy/sold out time. But isn't that reason we pay a premium for staying there then? So the service doesn't suffer? If we are to expect such awful service during the holidays, there should be steep discounts, not premiums. At the very least, the hotel was negligently understaffed and unprepared. At most, they were taking advantage of their guests to make an extra dollar. We left feeling taken advantage of and duped. January 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stunning property...disappointing service This resort is absolutely beautiful with lush landscaping and a mediterranean feel. My husband and I were so excited to spend our first wedding anniversary here relaxing. We were disappointed by the extremely long wait to check in, when we got to the pool we were told it was "filled to capacity" and could not go in...are you kidding!? So we got some chairs in the back of the kids pool (not happy) and were told we would be notified as soon as some chairs became available...3 hours later still no chairs! Very disappointed. Also, they messed up our food order at the pool 2 times!!!! Other than these 2 issues, the room was STUNNING - we got an exec jr suite so worth the extra $$$ and ate dinner at the Monarch Beach golf club - absolutely amazing service and food and very romantic with beautiful beach view. Also - my girlfriend asked me the day we were departing if we had received the gift she sent us. Apparently we were supposed to get a chocolate basket and sparkling cider at check in. I had to call FOUR different people until someone knew what I was talking about, and the "gift basket" included a small plate of 3 macaroons and 4 tiny pieces of chocolate - needless to say I did not tell this to my friend. Thank god she called to see if we had gotten it, because otherwise they probably never even would have gotten it to us if I didnt call 4 times! Overall it was relaxing and we would go back, just not on a busy weekend. Spa was wonderful. June 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful property, but service is slipping! Check in went smoothly; our room was lovely and clean. We went to the pool Friday afternoon. David, our server, was attentive and courteous, however, it seemed to take quite some time to get our carafes of cocktails. We also had drinks on the terrace before heading out to dinner, which was really nice. On Saturday, we went to Motif for breakfast. The lady who poured our water also took our drink order. Our server eventually came by and took our food order; my friend commented that she had ordered OJ with the other person. Nothing showed for some time and we had to mention it AGAIN and then we ended up with people trying to deliver OJ twice. We went to the pool Saturday afternoon and was fortunate to have David again. Back at our room, I called to ask about the ice machine location. I was told they'd bring us a bucket of ice, but that took almost 1/2 hour for delivery. My friend had dry cleaning and she went around in circles with the staff about not having a ticket for her dress. On Sunday, we were down at the pool bar for breakfast. We were seated right away however, NO ONE came by our table for over 20 minutes. We had to ask not once, but TWICE, about who our server was and it still seemed like there was confusion. Very disappointed as we would not expect this at such a high end resort. Aside from these instances, we enjoyed ourselves greatly. The resort really needs to work on fine tuning their service levels at the restaurants. August 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Spot in Dana Point We came in to celebrate our wedding a few hours earlier on Christmas Eve, and the holiday itself, so we were mostly interested in alone time on the beach, at dinner, and in the room. The bar/restaurant beach side has an incredible view of crashing waves and the sun setting over the water. We had some oysters, cocktails, and sat in awe; sad that it would be one of our last sunsets in CA this year. The room was quite fantastic, to be expected, the chaise being Sara's favorite spot. The tub fills in under 3 minutes or something absurd. No waiting 15 minutes for a hot bath! Our experience with room service was severely under expectations, however. The delivery, the unwrapping and setting of the table, and professionalism of the staff was outstanding, however the food is best described as awful. The pepperoni pizza was greasy and unedible. The sashimi was 2 normal bites of fish sliced into 5-6 wafers; even for an appetizer, two bites is too small, especially when it's $18 or whatever it was. The caprese salad had green/yellow tomatoes, void of flavor, which was paired cheese in a similar flavorless state. We regret not ordering off the restaurant's menu, but didn't think the hotel kitchen would be putting out sub-par items. Since it was such a time of bliss we didn't let it bother us and didn't mention it when we were asked how the stay was upon check out. We'll be back again sometime for a longer stay, and won't make the same mistake twice. December 28, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Incredible Vacation My wife and I spent 8 nights as a romantic getaway at the St. Regis, Monarch Beach property in Dana Point, CA. It was an amazing experience! The level of service in this hotel is second to none. Everyone that you interact with at the St. Regis is focused on high-end service with the goal of creating an experience that makes you want to come back again and again. In addition, our room included a 24 x 7 butler service that exceeded all of our expectations when it came to service and personal requests. I highly recommend this property to anyone that is looking for a relaxing vacation gateway where the hotel treats you like you're royalty. August 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel didn't book my suite!!! We were very disappointed with our stay, as a Platinum member! First, they didn't give us a suite as requested, then the lounge was closed and they used a unacceptable "room," as a lounge. When we went to the bar within the restaurant, we couldn't even sit at the bar tables, they put us on a sofa, then when we ordered a drink after waiting 10 minutes, it never came after 20 minutes, we walked out! At the spa, outside in the hot tube, two people broken in under the fence & let two more people inside the spa, they splashed water everywhere inside & took up all the space in there! We reported it. After all of this we cancelled our next night! Not happy December 21, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Service needs help…snotty staff We stayed here with our two young children, along with a connecting room for our nanny and her husband, who are in their mid-20's. The Good: The housekeeping manager was great and went the extra mile to go to the store and get some hypoallergenic wash for the kids as my daughter had a skin reaction to the hotel soap. The valet guys were extremely friendly and helpful. The Bad: Our nanny and her husband were constantly questioned if they were staying at the hotel and what their room number was because they were young. We were embarrassed and had to keep apologizing for the hotel staff questioning them. Ordering lunch at the pool took an hour for delivery and the food was subpar at best. My wife was talking to the valet guys that we were going to Disneyland for the day and they suggested we talk to concierge to get tickets. The concierge wouldn’t even acknowledge my wife directly and simply stated to the valet “well she can’t get them here; she needs to go to the Business Center”. He wouldn’t even leave his post to help her or show her to the Business Center. I thought this place was supposed to provide service? When I called down to concierge and asked for a recommendation for a fish restaurant in Dana Point that is reasonable and kid friendly, she chuckled at me and said “well we are in Dana Point…” What kind of answer is that? I know where I am…I’m staying at your hotel! St. Regis Butler Service, Allow Me does not exist here. I would not return for a family vacation July 13, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel on the outside, poor service on the inside Requested early check in. When I arrived around 3, i was told that the room was not ready. Despite there 4 check in policy i was not given my keys to the room until 5 so i was late for my dinner commitment. Carpet was soaken wet in a large area that never dried in three days! Maid service came around 9:30 PM every night and the final night at 9:50 PM to turn down my bed and I was in my tub bathing. I had requested the prior night before to not come after 8. I requested foam pillows and a wine opener which never came. Three hours after I returned from dinner I had to call again for the items and they were finally delivered. The ninth hole restaurant never came to take my breakfast order and i finally left after waiting for 15 minutes when a young man waiter said they were busy working a golf tournament and didn't know how long it would be before we could get food. One gentleman was attentive in valet otherwise very unwelcoming or accommodative. I spent time rearranging my bathroom how i left it everyday as the maids would rearrange everything to there liking rather than leaving my belongs on the counters the way I left them neatly in order. Paid a $25 fee for internet and wasn't able to connect to the internet at all on the first night as it wouldn't allow me with my name and room number One positive comment for the whole stay. Christopher was excellent at the Tavern restaurant and we had a very nice dinner. Extremely disappointing stay at the St Regis. I would not stay at this hotel again in Dana Point. August 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Service was terrible! We had an issue with our bed being wet and the hotel manager suggested that I had spilled water on the bed since they had "serviced the room" prior to our checking in. I am appalled that she would insinuate that I lied. If I had spilled water I would have requested help with the water that I had spilled! I have stated at this hotel many times and I am a very loyal gold spg member and none of that was factored into how I was treated or how they responded to my issue, which was a wet bed from an unsanitary accident in the bed that they did not find prior to assigning us the room! May 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comments You have an outstanding hotel with a fantastic staff. The amenities are exemplary. That said, I have the following issues: 1. No coffee pot in the room. Very inconvenient, if I want coffee at an odd hour it will cost me 15 - 20 dollars. 2.No thermometer in the room to monitor the temperature, no fan speeds, horrible controls. Can't get the room cold. 3. It irks me that I have to pay for internet for my droid. I can get it free at any two bit coffee shop! Suggestion: Include the above amenities and build them into the price instead of nickel and diming me every time I turn around. I would rather pay an extra $20.00 per day and not see trivia on my bill. May 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful Family Get-A-Way Stayed here for the first time this past weekend with wife and 2 small kids. First let me say this is a beautiful hotel. Great pools. Especially great kids pools, where our kids played with Torri Spelling and her kids. Anyway. I wrote them ahead of time to tell them it was my 3-year-olds birthday and to ask for a platinum upgrade -- if available. A very nice "reservation butler" called me and told me they only upgrade Platinums to better views -- not suites, but, she said, they would confirm an upgrade for us ahead of time for the special occasion. A very generous offer. And i immediately saw the upgrade to executive suite reflected in my spg app. We checked in the next day and, of course, i hear "we have upgraded you to a nice king view room." I ask about my suite and they say they don't upgrade platinums. I mention the reservation butler i spoke with and they claimed to not know this woman -- even though I showed them her email. Any way, they "found" an executive suite so all was well -- but annoying to have to go through this. We checked in around 9pm. Finally got to room. The executive suite is beautiful. Just one room, but nice and big with a fantastic bathroom. What you'd expect from st regis. Very nice. However, that night, after putting the kids to bed, our door buzzer rings at 10:30pm waking the kids. I open the door and it's some hotel fool bringing us a small birthday tart -- for my 3 year-old at 10:30pm??? Ahh, nice touch, but not st regis service. I should say, the next morning they brought a small teddy bear and ballons. A very sweet touch. Also, when I told them at the restaurant they brought chocolate chip pancakes all decorated. So overall, I think they did a great job making our son feel special. Some toys even required a screwdriver, and our butler helped sort that out for us. We will definitely come back for a quick weekend get-a-way. A couple of annoying hiccups for a 5-star hotel, but this has to be one of the nicest spg properties in the continental US. November 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel, Great Service from Everyone Except Restaurants I'll first start with the things I liked about it. Starts with valet, registration staff, lounge/bar staff, hotel room, staff at the Beach Club, the Spa, and grounds/property were all stellar -- exactly met my expectations for the St. Regis -- my expectations are very high, and I think those expectations are well placed. What I did not like and dramatically and negatively skewed my impression of the St. Regis Monarch Beach was the staff of the Stonehill Tavern and Motif restaurants. It began on the greeting at both locations. We had a reservation for 8:30p on Saturday night (3/16/13). Upon arriving, the check-in/hostess noted our reservation and asked us to wait a moment, while they helped another guest ahead of us. When she came back, she again asked for our name (not good -- at the St. Regis, I expect to be nearly recognized, and certainly after only one self-identification). She said a table was not available yet and they were working on it (not good -- I expect to be seated at the St. Regis at my reservation time). We were asked to wait to the side, while they helped others (not good). We stood just to the side, roughly 10 feet away. Approximately 15 minutes later, another couple who had a reservation also at 8:30p, who checked in after us, was seated (not good). My wife clarified that the staff was still working on a table for us and they said they were working on it. About 5 minutes after that, the hostess approached us and again asked for our name (at this point, I'm quite upset -- that's unnecessary, especially from the St. Regis). We were seated at our table nearly 25 minutes later than our reservation (not good) and it was at a temporary table (not good). It was a makeshift table placed in a hallway area. I could not believe it and almost left when I realized it. We looked across to the other couple who had been seated before us and they were seated at a normal table. This story goes on and on, but I will leave it here for now. Our experience at the Motif restaurant was not much different. There is a serious problem that needs to be addressed here. I would be happy to elaborate on exactly what happened, if you'd like to contact me for more information. March 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfection! My daughter was married at the St. Regis, Dana Point, this past weekend. Amanda was her contact coordinator at the hotel. From our first introduction to Amanda, to our checkout yesterday, each and every detail of comfort and service was met, beyond our already high expectations. The valets, butler service, room service, food service, staff friendliness and helpfulness was impeccable! Many of our wedding guests stayed at the resort for the weekend and their feedback is the same as ours. My husband and I have stayed at the St. Regis for work events prior to our daughter's wedding and have had the same dependable quality of service! September 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Recognition non-existent! I checked in for one night to treat my best friend for a special birthday night. When we arrived, the front desk attendant was very polite and acknowledged the birthday as well as my Gold status, but that's where the service ended unfortunately during the following course of events: 1. Poor communication regarding upgrade. I'm fully aware that the upgrade for Gold members is at the hotel's discretion, but it would be helpful if the staff could acknowledge one was not available instead of indirectly stating how much they value my loyalty. Often if I don't get an upgrade at most Starwood properties, I at least receive something such as bottled water, fruit, even a bottle of wine, but in this case nothing. 2. No birthday recognition. Many times it could even just be a nice note acknowledging this, but there was nothing ever noted or left in our room. Even when the person who escorted us to the elevator said he would handle our 4pm late checkout, I had to call to confirm it since it had not been requested. 3. Concierge made me feel silly. As I've experienced at the St. Regis properties in Beijing, Atlanta, and D.C., there is a tradition of champagne sabering. I inquired if the property did this and they said they had never heard of this tradition and that we would have to purchase our own champagne, which was an odd response my question. A quick google search showed many other St. Regis properties that at least acknowledge this history of the hotel if not offer this service. 4. Checkout was difficult - When I tried to go back to my room to collect my things at 4pm, a staff member requested to see my room key and verify if I was an actual guest. I felt insulted by this given i'd been walking around the property all weekend. 5. Resort fee underdelivered. I was constantly promped to pay for internet throughout the property on my iPhone even though complimentary internet was listed on my "resort fee includes" card. In addition to not having a full set of toiletries, having difficulty finding the spa and fitness center, which seem understaffed due to the wait times just to be admitted, and the overall feeling I was being nickled and dimed compared to virtually ALL other Starwood properties that I've stayed at, my friend and I vowed to never return to this property again. It was an exceptionally poor experience and made the value of staying there again seem extremely limited. November 14, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room not available on time The St. Regis is an amazing property. While I waited to check in I received two separate comps for drinks since my room wasn't available on time. While I appreciate the comps, I think having the room available on time, on a Tuesday in the off season shouldn't be an issue. Additionally, both times I called ahead for my car from valet service and both times I had to wait despite the appearance of enough employees to handle moderate traffics flow. Just my opinion which is expressed as mostly a positive experience, just wanted to provide feedback to make your resort a better place to visit. Thanks, LCDR Damon Loveless March 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Repeat visitor let down on many fronts I originally sent this email to the GM and also responded with specific answers on a survey after our stay. I have heard nothing from SPG or the property, so hopefully someone in management will read this and be able to address some of the shortfalls: This is our second stay here, coming from the Palos Verdes area, and we returned specifically because our first stay was spectacular. Unfortunately, this one has left quite a bit begging, and it was punctuated by an exchange I just had with a Manager named Pei. After I left the spa today and returned to our room, I realized I had not called to confirm the 4pm late checkout afforded by my Gold (now Platinum status). Normally front desk personnal ask about this upon checkin, but there was no mention.. Since we reserved multiple services at the spa and were enjoying them and unwinding after, I wanted to take advantage of it. When I was told I could not have a late check out, I asked to speak to a manager and a Ms. Pei called me. While she attempted to be polite on the surface, she was essentially lecturing me in a relatively condescending fashion about SPG policy and the 4pm checkout and how it was upon availability. I have NEVER (you can see my dedicated history at Starwood I'm sure) been told I could not have a 4pm checkout, ever, including our last stay here. But the biggest issue I have is not with her rather panicked (no on-duty manager should be that skittish) attempts to refuse the late 4pm checkout, but with her attitude, especially when she relented finally but made it clear that she was doing ME a favor and allowing me the late check out I am entitled. What I informed Ms. Pei and would suggest to anyone responsible for operations or training in an hospitality setting, is that if you do not plan to extend something that is clearly expected and regularly offered expected benefit (even if the fine print says its upon availability), that should be communicated up front, at least at check in, and frankly at the time of booking, because other plans are made around the room booking, REVENUE GENERATING plans for the resort. Ms. Pei seemed only concerned about her occupancy issues and SPG benefit policy. I found her extremely displeasing. In addition, I expressed to Ms. Pei that we had issues with the room when we returned from Stonehill Tavern and she didn't seem to take any particular note or offer anything other than a fleeting "my apologies", so you might want to have them addressed. They included: - Water in shower that had no "warm" just extremes of hot and cold - Even though room was hot, we could only get hot air to come out of the A/C system for some reason, even when we turned the temp down low, and had to sleep with the door open, resulting in us waking early - The door to the toilet room is extremely squeaky and woke up the other person when it was closed - I clearly indicated in my reservation that there were two adults, and it was clear that a man and a woman's belongings were in the room, yet, the turndown service was only done on one side of the bed, no water, chocolates or slippers on other side In addition, my girlfriend was served spoiled youghurt in a yogurt parfait at the coffee bar this morning. We also waited 15 minutes mid-afternoon in the main restaurant for just initial water service. My order was taken and delivered incorrectly and there was no offer of correction. So I am spending the last hour of my stay here while my girlfriend finishes her mani/pedi writing this email, because besides all the room and food service failures, what I really hate the fact that your Manager was condescending and caused me distress with her attitude at the end of a supposedly relaxing stay. She really seemed ungenuine in her concerns for the problems we had during our stay and also my issues with her attitude and attempts to make it sound like I was out of line and she was doing me a favor. Unfortunately, we had hoped to make the St. Regis a getaway for us on a repeat basis in the future, but I don't think we will be coming back. January 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bar Service Raul, the bartender was great. My wife and i had dinner one night at the bar and his professionalism and friendliness was fantastic. he made the night a pleasure. June 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great End for Our Honeymoon The service we received was incredible. We could not have had a better end to our honeymoon! June 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best hotel I have ever stayed at! I have stayed in many different hotels in different countries. From the facilities to the staff to the overall experience, it was just amazing. SPG members are recognized and the experience is unique as you feel that you are there free to do your thing without any hassle and without the crowds like at other hotels. The staff really are attentive and helpful, that made all the difference. We were watching the sunset and having tea on the balcony and asked a server who was not even our server to turn on the heat lamps. I forgot his name, but I rememer his face. Strangely they didn't work so he checked all the heat lamps until a couple worked. That made the day. February 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superb resort and awesome staff The facilities and the room was amazing. The staff was so incredibly professional and courteous, I felt spoiled. The restaurants were exceptional and we had a blast doing afternoon tea while overlooking the facility. I thought the electronic make up room/do not disturb and the doorbell on the door system was really cool.We really enjoyed our stay and the only blemish was finding an erroneous private bar charge in excess of $100 on our bill. I wish hotels would get rid of these as ours was unlocked and did not seem full when we looked at it but never thought much of it until the end of the stay. I called the accounting dept and they were going to take care of it. December 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel 1st impression This hotel has a great sense of arrival. June 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel This is a beautiful hotel that is very dog friendly. There is a great 2-mile walking loop that took us through a lovely park, along the beach and next to the golf course. The spa is superb with an outdoor lap pool. We like this hotel, but there are several issues that would discourage us from returning: $24 a day to self-park with no in/out privileges; uncomfortable beds; the spa pool is the only place to get away from screaming children; and there is no casual restaurant for dinner. The weekend we went, there were 5 weddings, which meant the only food option we had one night was the lounge--which has a very limited tapas menu (one of the items was not available, making it even more limited). Two other nights we just did room service, which although very expensive was the best food we ate the whole time we were there. May 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overrated Not nearly as good as expected. June 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Vespertime With some 40 years of travel experience in more than 30 countries around the world, the Stone Hill Tavern is a real treat. Even tough steaks are not there specialty I enjoyed the best in years. Tears in my eyes. The Vesper Martini's created with NOLET'S Silver Dry Gin and Ketel One Vodka made by mixologist Jenny was even better. June 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Most Romantic Resort Ever We arrived at the St. Regis Monarch to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and were instantly transformed into celebration, luxury, and remarkable attention to detail. We have traveled the world and stayed in many luxurious resorts and hotels but none compared to the absolutely amazing St. Regis Resort at Dana Pointe. From the front desk staff all the way to the food server at the private club on the beach, who by the way remembered our favorite beverage and meal from the lunch we had the day before, treated us like royalty. This is a very special resort with first class service and truly romantic location. June 26, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Welcome to low level Vegas or Disneyland Place is a wedding factory and pool/hot tub area is like a day care center gone awry. Mostly wasted parents doing as little as possible to keep an eye on their kids. Went there for my wife's birthday weekend and the only nice part of the stay was when we left the property (after a 20 minute wait for our car). Place should have a large banner on its website saying arrive w/small children only. May 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by 5 Star Resort with 3 Star quality of food I wanted to go away for the weekend for some R&R, I live in LA, so I decided to use my SPG points at the St Regis Dana Point. The hotel is beautiful, the grounds, the atmosphere are great. The 3 star quality of service & food at the Clubhouse 19 was the worst I have seen in a long time, short staffed, food took 45 min, every single table/guest was complaining. May 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel . . except Everything was amazing - except the construction noise going on outside our suite which ruined the peaceful ambiance we were hoping for. June 4, 2014
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 22 next>>