The St. Regis Monarch Beach

  • One Monarch Beach Resort
  • Dana Point,
  • California
  • 92629
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 706 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Overall, Staff were awful We returned this weekend from 5 nights at the St Regis Monarch Beach with our kids. The hotel is nice and the room was wonderful, but the staff needs a lot of work. The housekeeping staff was very hardworking and friendly, but otherwise, the staff left much to be desired. From the check in clerk to the bellman to the restaurant staff, everyone seemed annoyed to be working. Few were friendly or helpful. The hotel caters to large groups and weddings and as a result everyone else seems to get overlooked. We have stayed in many luxury hotels and we have come to expect much more from this level of hotel. I hope the hotel will spend some time training their employees on customer service. A smile would go a long way. July 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Birthday weekend We spent a delightful three-day weekend celebrating my wife's birthday. The suite was spacious and allowed us some privacy with our kids in the living area. The pools and beach were perfect for our kids. The staff was very responsive. The only glitch was some reservation issues for services at the hotel. Apparently someone forgot to record them in the system but all worked out. Sometimes the St. Regis bureaucracy gets in the way of great customer service. Guests have to know what to call the butler for, what to call the concierge for and where else to go for arrangements. It would be easier if all guest inquiries went to one number/desk and that the staff then sorted out who was to respond. July 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unique place !! Everything is made to make your stay a unique experience, from the valet, bar tender to the butler. The only flaw came on our last evening at the restaurant near the beace: the servive was not as expected : the waiter opened our bottle of wine when we were almost done eating.... July 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by San Jose ca.visiter I like a very firm mattress, all other features 5 star. July 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Reservation process was a real pain I had a very difficult reservation process. This hotel could not effectively process my reservation because half the reservation was using points and the other half paid with a credit card. Process was both time consuming and annoying. i must have had 5 calls about it and the same questions and issues were asked over and over again. Not pleasant. July 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everything we could have expected My wife and I celebrated our 36th wedding anniversary at the St. Regis, we were welcomed with complementary champagne. Additionally, we had made reservations at the Monach Bay restaurant, where the service and food were excellent. The room was large with our own balcony for enjoying the sun sets. The stay could not have been better. July 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing experience... This was our second time staying at a St. Regis and we of course enjoyed our time immensely. The rooms are of average size but the facility is fantastic from top to bottom, staff was helpful and courteous and the food and drinks were great as well. July 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Too Crowded Way too crowded. Too many people to be able to provide service level I would expect. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by High and consistant standards From checkin to checkout everything was perfect. Staff, accommodations, food was all up to expectations. This is a good hotel in a great location. July 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by NOT UP TO USUAL STANDARDS Just spent 2 nights at the St Regis. Dinner at the Stonehill Friday evening was just OK breakfast Sat morning at Club 19 was excellent. Sunday after more than one hour of trying at both Motif and Club 19 to get breakfast we gave up and checked out. The hotel is full of conferences which is fine until you try to eat. I expect in a hotel of this caliber to be able to eat breakfast on the property. The excuse given was "we are very busy". Two overcharges on my bill were corrected but without explanation. We didnt need it (see above) but a late checkout would require an act of congress. 30 -45 minutes to check in and 15 minutes each time for valet to retrieve your car all in all hardly 5 star service. July 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty good hotel This hotel has lots of things that are very nice. The rooms are clean and the beach is nice. Suggestions for improvement: 1. The pool areas are too small to accommodate the guests. Need more pool area and chairs for guests. 2. The food and beverages are overpriced for their quality. $14.00 for a daiquiri?? $5.50 for an iced tea? That is just greedy. 3. Coffee should be provided for in the room at no cost. 4. Every time we called down for the car to be brought around by the valet people, it was not there when we arrived out front. Not sure why we would bother calling down. 5. The TV was blaring on the speaker in the bathroom. July 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ms Excellent facilities and Staff. July 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has great features St. Regis is a beautiful hotel with wonderful amenities. It has very good staff in and within the hotel. It has a great PR. Excellent housekeeping. Very accommodating. July 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed in Some Areas The room itself was very nice BUT the noise level was unsettling. While walking down the halls guests could be heard talking if they were in their rooms! The server we had in the Motif Restaurant was brand new and it showed--- not enough training. The food was excellent though! The food at the Stonehill Tavern on the other hand, was very average and thus disappointing. The prices seemed to be expensive simply for the sake of being expensive because the quality of the menu/ taste of the entrees was just average. We had the Porkchop and the Butcher's Cut Ribeye. Our entrees took forever to come and the server mentioned there was some kind of problem with the Porkchop. Most of the Servers at the Pool seemed extremely new as well and it showed. It also took a very long time to get service as the servers did not seem to come around very frequently at all. Service was inordinately slow at the Monarch Beach restaurant for lunch. UNBELIEVABLY SLOW! There were 4 of us. All in all, an overall disappointing experience for a resort that is supposed to be 5 Star. We don't plan on staying again, unfortunately. July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent experience it was much better than last year, very friendly and knowledgeable staff. excellent. Thanks July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by NECA Board OF Direcector Member The staff was great ! Everyone was so helpful. The grounds were kept in great shape and no matter what staff was always present to help with any issue that came up. It would be nice to have a little more up beat music in the evenings. July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Family Friendly Hotel My kids loved the s'mores and stories each night after dinner. They had a blast! July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing location and staff. Henri Lorenzi who supervises the pool went out of his way and is such an exemplary of Over and Above , thank you. Al July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place for a company retreat The property was beautiful and the staff could not be better. July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolutely Incredible Facility We absolutely loved our holiday stay at the St. Regis Monarch Beach. The complex had everything that we were looking for and more. July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay I recently stayed as a work incentive. We were lucky enough to have a cooking class on the lawn and it was FABULOUS!!! Everyone on the property was very nice and friendly. And they cooked dinner for us at the Mission! July 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just wanted us happy From the moment we stepped out of our car, everyone did whatever it took to make us happy. Polite beyond description. Gave us all we asked for and more. Food at the golf course restaurant was the best!!! Golf course was beautiful and well run. This was our second time staying at the St Regis to celebrate an anniversary. I am sure we will come back another year. July 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Phenomenal Sweet 16th Birthday Celebration!! We celebrated my daughter's sweet 16th birthday at the St. Regis and the entire experience was fabulous! Someone read my pre-arrival survey, contacted me about my specific requests and answered all my questions. Upon arrival, we were pleasantly surprised by our Starwood Gold room upgrade to a suite, complete with butler service. We had reserved a second room for the next day (actual birthday) for our daughter and her friends to use. I was able to check-in to that room early as requested (12 noon) to allow me to decorate and set-up my candy buffet. The room was close to ours for convenience. The hotel very nicely sent-up a complimentary mini chocolate cake wishing her a "Happy Sweet 16 Birthday" and our butler arranged for cake service for 8 at the time of our choice, along with complimentary balloons! All in all, the hotel made my daughter feel very special on her birthday, which was exactly what I was hoping for when I made the reservation. Thanks St. Regis for going above & beyond! July 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Missed out on the little things Though the hotel is very beautiful with many nice touches like a lap pool and exclusive beach, it misses out on small details that matter quite a bit to many travelers. The fitness room is technically open 24/7, but if you wish to use it between 8pm and 6am, you need to contact security to let you in. That is not very convenient. The valet service (which is the only parking option) was usually crowded, slow, and a bit pricey ($35/day). The room was small and the only full length mirror was hidden behind a table and not accessible. The bathroom door did not lock (it has a sliding door) and the toilet was separated off into a closet size room. It felt a bit cramped. Lastly, when I checked out, I was doublecharged for valet (which was over $100 in overage) so I was glad I asked to review the bill before leaving. Fortunately, it was rectified. Overall, with all the choices of luxury accommodations in the area, I think I would look elsewhere for any personal travel. I was there for a conference. July 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Experience Top notch hotel and facilities, with excellent service all around. July 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great visit Beautiful property with great service and views. July 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic staff Amazing staff. Very professional and courteous. Tremendously responsive and so positive. A wonderful greeting from everyone everyday I was there. Even after a long morning run, the valet team sprinted to get me some water upon my return. Wonderful hotel. July 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top notch luxury hotel We loved our stay at the St. Regis. Service was exceptional at every touch point from valet/bell service to checkin to restaurants to the pool and beach. The rooms are beautiful and the beds are fabulous. July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel and pools with disappointing beach The hotel is beautiful with rooms that are spacious, clean and nicely decorated. The pools are very nice, and the staff very helpful with towel set-up, umbrellas etc. The food at the pool is a bit pricey but very good. The tram down to the beach can be a little slow on the weekends. We usually waited 5-10 minutes, but did wait over 20 minutes on one occasion. The beach was very disappointing. There was seaweed covering most of the beach (bugs in the seaweed) and hard to find a spot for a chair that was not near the seaweed. We were told that the beach does not normally look like that but it was due to the unusually high tide (July 2014). We were told they cannot clean up the beach because it is private, unlike the beach just steps to the South which is a public beach and in pristine condition. Would highly recommend the hotel. You may want to consider going to the public beach (if the seaweed isn't removed) especially if you have kids who want to play in the sand. July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wedding We stayed at the St. Regis for a wedding and the setting was spectacular. This is definitely a romantic getaway destination. We did not eat separately in the hotel restaurants, but the wedding appetizers and dinner were made by the hotel and, judging by that, the food must be top tier. July 14, 2014
  • 2015-10-09T05:45:51.432-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_706, tr_706
  • loc_en_US, sid_1361, prod, sort_default
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 25 next>>