The St. Regis Monarch Beach

  • One Monarch Beach Resort
  • Dana Point,
  • California
  • 92629
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest registration and check-in is restricted to those 21 years of age or older with valid identification.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 593 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superior The location is gorgeous. The facilities and room are extraordinary. The staff is amazing. Our room was given quality care during the twice daily service - always clean & tidy. The life guard provided information for our safety but also educated us on surf conditions, weather, etc. At a group event on the lawn, I was addressed by name at the beef carving station. The concierge provided 2 excellent recommendations based on truly listening to my requests. The valet was always quick. I have stayed at over 20 properties of a competing luxury hotel chain & am their gold level. My husband and I both feel that our stay with you was superior to all of our other hotel experiences. June 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by The worst Price to Value ratio! I was really disappointing by this property. And being a platinum member for many years I had a great variety of experiences at Starwood hotels and resorts but this one was clearly on the worst side. Most importantly they have a serious issue with the quality control. - Upon check-in I requested a late check-out. I was verbally confirmed 4pm check out time. On the check out date a person walked into my room without knocking. I was in the shower and my girlfriend was undressed. No apologies at all! He just said that we were supposed to leave the room by now. When I called the service they said that they were unable to give me a late check-out. Importantly, for platinum members late check-out is guaranteed, - When checked in they messed up my bill. Just tried to steel $40 dollars from their loyal customer - not a big deal. - Service is painfully slow. Check-in takes 15 minutes. Why - they have no idea what they are doing and mess up every request. - Finally, the value is terrible. we are talking about $600-800 per night with absolutely nothing outstanding. Similar Sheraton or Westin resorts in Mexico, Florida feel much better at approximately one third of a price. Stay away from this property! There are many options to make sure that you actually enjoy your holidays and vacations so do not waste your precious time on places like this. July 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous Resort If you are looking for luxury, comfort, and pampering, the St. Regis Monarch Beach is the place for you. The staff welcomed us when we drove up. They took care of my care and luggage and each day someone greeted us with a smile and a friendly "hello!" The pool is gorgeous and the beach is just a short tram ride away. This is a place I would strongly recommend for anyone looking for a great vacation spot. July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous hotel!!! This hotel is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in. The level of service was superior, from the bellman to the front desk to housekeeping. We could not have been more pampered! The front desk clerk was wonderful at accommodating our wishes for the perfect room. The food in the restaurants was wonderful and the views are incredible. We will be back! July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Romantic birthday getaway The hotel and grounds are just lovely. Staff is wonderful. We loved our dining experiences, time at the pool and spa. July 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by expensive yet clean everything about this resort was expensive including parking, food, etc. the facilities were clean and updated. however food and beverages were over priced and not the best quality. July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by An excellent venue for our group meeting I was impressed with all aspects of this property. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the room was wonderful and the banquet food was the best I've had in this organization, which meets annually at some very nice resorts. It was a little inconvenient to get to the beach, but well worth the trip for another nice feature of the property. June 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Its time to spruce up... Beautiful location, fabulous resort, its just a little tired. I was so... disappointed. Dirty main entrance floors. Flower pots half full of wilting flowers. Staff was pleasant when you saw them, but not on their toes, especially at the main entrance. Valet staff was very friendly. Our room was tucked into a corner by the elevators and an main garden entrance. Not good for SPG guests. The carpet was really dirty, however they did attempt to clean once I reported it. They should have moved me. The food in the main dinning room was so over priced. The ribeye steak was very fatty. The ribeye steak was actually better at Claim Jumpers the previous night. The wait staff in main dinning room was very prompt and friendly. Poolside was lovely, staff was also very prompt and friendly. I would like to come back and see things spruced up some. After all you are a 5 Star Resort. June 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Luxurious Accomodations I had a great stay here. The staff was professional. The room very comfortable. July 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Children in Adult Pool One of the 2 sunny days was blown when a child defecated or vomited in the main pool. Children should be banned from the main pool. There are enough staff to enforce this politely. My wife and I had finished our smoothies and were getting ready to swim when the pool was cordoned off with yellow crime scene type tape for 2 hours of sanitizing. The kiddie pool was not comparable with nerf footballs and plastic bombs being lobbed about. the afternoon was lost. The remote beach and ocean were a surprise and 2 of the 4 days with a heavy marine layer 0f clouds blew that experience(cold and windy). Sat. we swam in the main pool under cloudy skies with cold ambient air temperature. As we were leaving on Sunday, the sun shone brightly. For non-golfers and non-tennis players our hopes for fun in a private beach and gorgeous pool were dashed. Only the adult pool could be blamed on the hotel management which allows parents to bring their underage children in. The remoteness of the beach should be disclosed in advance, but, for obvious reasons it is not. this resort was no HAWAII. June 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Still a great property but... ...we noticed a lot of small things on this visit: 1) the flashlight in the room was dead, and it wasn't put on the bed tray during turn down; neither were the slippers or floor mats put out 2) the music CD was left looping on only the first track 3) we booked a month ahead, requested a king, ended up with two queens 4) we are gold level and requested late checkout and it was denied even though we called ahead and were assured the hotel was not full 5) didn't receive a morning paper. had to request one in the lobby 6) bathroom lacked the typical bath salts This is still an outstanding property; we just hate to see it slipping. Hopefully these are short term glitches, though we will consider another property for our next trip. December 13, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful stay The staff and the property was some of the best I have had in hotel stays. I was disapointed in the food. We ate at the beach club and had room service two times. I was far from impressed with the taste ofthe food for such a great location. The service was the best but my next stay I will eat off the property June 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Southern California at its best! I live an hour away from this hotel and yet after just a short stay I feel like I had a full class vacation. We happened to hit truly perfect weather which is easy in this area and added to our pool relaxing expereince. The service around the pool is beyond the norm. We had dinner at the beach. We took a tram to get there and the ride through the golf course added yet another dimension. The spa area is one of the best I have seen. My last visit to this hotel I never had a chance to use it. I will always find time to use it from now on. This hotel will be a place I will revisit. June 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel Excellent Facility for meetings, conferences or any large gathering June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Service Amazing experience with great service. June 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Okay stay Spent 5 nights here last month, and was really looking forward to 5 star service and a rich experience. Left confused. Pros: 1. Beautiful rooms 2. Plat Recognition: SNA did not process, but got upgraded to Suite despite Memorial Day and long 5 night stay 3. Excellent service from Gordon F (Food and Bev Asst. Manager) 4. Breakfast at Motif was sensational - Platinum credit paid for 2 entrees and a side! Cons: 1. Beef in vegetarian salad 2, Left 2 messages for GM during stay, got no reply. Left cell number, still no reply. 3. Dinner menus were bland 4. Had to beg for a reservation at the Beach Club. Not a single table was taken the ENTIRE time we ate 5. VERY limited vegetarian selection across restaurants 6. Golf club restaurant had EXTREMELY long wait times; 3 empty tables upon arrival for breakfast - waited 20 minutes for host to seat us before we left and ate elsewhere 7. 1 star beach: long trek to get there, very little to see. Not manicured, very small, very 1-star feel 8. Often was told that they had "run out" of things; ie- samosas appetizer on the outdoor patio. 9. Initial shoe shine treatment from Butlers resulted in lots of white residue on expensive shoes; had to be sent back. The second butler was shocked at how bad the initial treatment was. Despite all the cons, still managed to have fun. While the property is nice, I hope this is NOT standard St. Regis quality. Needs improvement! June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 genuine caring excellent service Staff well trained , always trying to help and to offering more assistance than originally asked . June 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding service and elegance Booking the St. Regis for my business meeting was the smartest move. All participants felt pampered through out the event. All logistics for the meeting were executed flawlessly and the staff paid full attention to details. Impeccable service during the meetings as well as in the guestrooms. June 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful resort, room for improvement I had high expectations when I made plans for our 5 night stay. After all, this is a St. Regis Resort. I was generally very happy with my stay. Pros: * The valet car staff was great. These folks really are the ambassadors of this place. They gave terrific service and made my kids feel very welcomed. * We had an executive suite, so our room included butler service. My kids thought it was so cool. They bring fresh hot chocolate for the kids in the morning along with a french press of coffee. The butler we had the first several days was fantastic and took a real interest in making us feel welcomed. * The resort is beautiful, and we were there around Christmas and there were many photo opportunities. * Our room was very nice with a terrific bathroom with lots of nice touches * The pool area has three pools which makes it great for kids. The smallest pool is a very nice size and is only 1.5 feet deep. It also has a big hot tub area. We were there when it was only 55-60 degrees, but the pools are well HEATED. So-So Area: * The front desk staff (which I generally believe are the most important service people at a hotel) were so-so. They want to help, but are clearly not empowered to make decisions or accommodate requests. Why is it that hotels seem to tie the hand of front-line staff? Cons: * The bed felt like it was from a low end budget motel. It was really uncomfortable. The pillows were also some kind of non-feather substitute. They need to invest in something worthy of carrying the name St. Regis. * Small thing, and noticed it in other review. I asked to have the flashlight they provide in the room fixed or batteries replaced on the first night, it never happened. December 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A wonderful stay We are frequent travellers and visit many places around the world and the St. Regis Monarch Beach is now one of our favorits. It offers great choices for food and drinks as well as the location speaks for itself. Just above a beautiful golf course you have an amazing view above the ocean. Walking at the beach was our favorite thing to do and we left just relaxed and happy. The service was great throughout the hotel and employees even recognized us by name! Thank you very much for taking such good care of us and we will be back, that's for sure. June 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Beautiful Property Deseves Equivalent Staff I had to wait 3 weeks to write this review. To give me time to calm down from one of my worst travel experiences ever. I booked and paid for this vacation more than 3 months in advance, I specifically called the hotel on 2 separate occasions to ensure that my room/reservation would be exactly what I wanted. It was all a waste of time, money and effort. This was not the first time that I had stayed at this property. Previously, my family has stayed with horrible customer service, despite the beautiful property and 6star rating. I decided to give it another chance. Worst mistake ever. I specifically called to ensure the room I paid for would be available since my flight didn't land until after 10pm, but it did not happen. It was pretty much first come, first serve. Not one of my requests was met. After an exhaustive, tiring exchange with mgmt to try to correct my reservation, and numerous apologies later, I finally gave up becuase it was late and I was tired. I asked mgmt for at least a small plate of food to be sent up to my room because of my long travel day, I was tersely met with an answer of no, they would not offer what I would call a good faith gesture, but was told I was free to go to the bar and order food. What nerve!. I spoke with mgmt each day of my stay to try and rectify the situation but to no avail. Mgmt did send a 'peace offering' of a cake in honor of the special occasion I was celebrating, the following night but that in no way made up for the fact that mgmt failed horribly and in my mind irrevocably damaged their already mediocre reputation. It wasn't until the day of my departure was I told that the part of the hotel I specifically requested was under construction. Each night I had packed my bags in preparation to be moved to a room to honor what I had paid for, never happened. I called one night for the hours of the golf restaurant I wanted to eat at only to be given incorrect information, thereby missing dinner altogether. Another night, I went to the bar to order a particular food, only to be told what I wanted was part of a 'tavern' menu only and was not served on Mondays and Tuesdays. Just one thing after another, after another, after another, after another went wrong and mgmt staff failed at every turn to try and correct. Worst trip I ever experienced. My guest was sorely disappointed too. Too bad the weather didn't cooperate either. The only SMALL token the property offered was to waive the parking fee. I have other family members who have stayed at this property with pretty much the same, if not worse, customer experience, and come back to property to try and give them another chance to redeem themselves but it was all in vain. Its a beautiful property but the staff makes it a location that I would never choose to return to on purpose, I really had such high hopes for this vacation, but was utterly let down. I hate writing negative reviews, but such poor service CANNOT and SHOULD NOT go unchecked. April 14, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad business practice After I left the hotel after 3 nights I received multiple folios all with different monetary figures on them. I was there for a business conference and they charged my company credit card with some of the expenses associated with the stay but not others. Everyone in our group had errors with their bills. They also charged me for mini bar expenses despite the fact I did not use anything in the minibar. I left a message for their accounting office to call me back but they have not done so. Very bad business practice. I feel violated by their behavior. October 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by 37th Wedding Anniversary Celebration This hotel proved to be over and above our expectations! It provided the perfect rest and relaxation that we were looking for and so much more! The hotel, pool and restaurant service was AWESOME! Everyone was so friendly and helpful! The grounds are exquisite and we can't wait for the opportunity to return!!!! June 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Spectacular setting for a conference The professional conference I attended had some 400 attendees and everyone I talked to was greatly impressed with the hotel. The setting is beautiful; the food, both in the restaurants and at our functions was outstanding, and I have never experienced such careful, personal service. I have another professional meeting scheduled for the hotel in the fall and I very much look forward to returning. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The hotel is magnificient. The hotel is magnificient and the service was outstanding. What a truly unique and wonderful experience. June 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A day at Monarch Beach Stayed here last week for just one day, our second visit to the resort, and had a great time even though the weather did not cooperate. Front desk allowed us to check in early (we arrived just before 1PM), and recognized our SPG Gold status and upgraded us to an Ocean View room. Considering the heavy fog kept us from the beach, having a view of the ocean and the golf course was a great substitute. Ate at the Monarch Bay Club restaurant twice: the food, service, and view there are always spectacular. October 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Emily Iker, M.D. Once again, We had memorable experience and a fabulous time in your hotel. Thank you, Emily Iker, M.D. June 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by It was an excellent experience! My husband and I enjoyed the hospitality and world class service. Staff went above and beyond to make our holiday enjoyable and memorable. Our special thanks to Flora from room service and our remarkable butler Bill who went above and beyond to make our stay very comfortable and memorable. We are looking forward to be back. I highly recommend this hotel to everyone visiting Laguna Beach. Mr. & Mrs. Rudy Angeles. May 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Business Trip The Suite was excellent and the butler service was over the top. Timely and available when you needed the service. June 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great property on the SOuthern California Coast The property is a great combination of a very nice luxury hotel with a great location. The staff truly went out of their way to meet all expectations. June 23, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 21 next>>