The St. Regis Monarch Beach

  • One Monarch Beach Resort
  • Dana Point,
  • California
  • 92629
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest registration and check-in is restricted to those 21 years of age or older with valid identification.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 650 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Luxury stay Five star service and tasteful and luxurious décor! September 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Birthday weekend We spent a delightful three-day weekend celebrating my wife's birthday. The suite was spacious and allowed us some privacy with our kids in the living area. The pools and beach were perfect for our kids. The staff was very responsive. The only glitch was some reservation issues for services at the hotel. Apparently someone forgot to record them in the system but all worked out. Sometimes the St. Regis bureaucracy gets in the way of great customer service. Guests have to know what to call the butler for, what to call the concierge for and where else to go for arrangements. It would be easier if all guest inquiries went to one number/desk and that the staff then sorted out who was to respond. July 30, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by The Astor family would be incredibly disappointed Check-in: I’m here to celebrate our 6-year wedding anniversary with my pregnant wife. The plan is to stay Saturday to Monday. I’ve been to several St. Regis properties around the world and they’re all fantastic. I come in at 330pm on Saturday and find a long line (about 10 people to check in before me). Finally, I make it to the front of the line after 15 minutes, and upon check-in, I’m basically told that while most SPG hotels have one or two platinum guests per night, this hotel has about 50 at any given moment. Do you think you’re special for being a Platinum member? Allow me to confirm that at this hotel, you’re not. And they’ll remind you of that as you’re checking in. Oh, and if that’s not enough, your room is not yet available. Come back at 430pm, maybe. Actually, we’ll call you because I’d like to be honest with you – your room probably isn’t going to be available by 430pm. Not sure when it’ll be ready. And so we’re off to a bad start… Breakfast on Sunday: My pregnant wife wakes up on Sunday morning and is hungry. That’s understandable. It’s Sunday morning – what should we do? They have Sunday Brunch that starts at 11am. But it’s 930am. No worries, we are told that we can wait until 11am, or we can have breakfast outside by the pool and still use our Platinum credit of $20 towards the breakfast buffet. Sounds good – lets go to the pool. Ok. Well, I can tell you that after spending 10 minutes there, ALL of the hotel’s attention is diverted to the brunch beginning at 11am. All the food at the breakfast buffet is either undercooked (yes – undercooked eggs – delish!) or overcooked. Half the items are also missing. Have you ever had breakfast at a St. Regis property? It’s always fantastic. As a matter of fact, they tend to blow me away by how good it is. Well, not here. At least not on Sunday when they’d prefer you wait till 11am and pay $7o per person (and you cannot use your platinum credit there, of course). Lovely. Let’s just go to the pool. The pool: The front desk tells us there are two pools. An adult pool and a kid’s pool. We don’t have kids (yet) and would like to relax, so we opt for the adult pool. Wanna hear something funny? There are more kids at the adult pool than at the kids’ pool. What’s the point of a kid’s pool you ask? I’m not sure. I don’t mind kids. I love kids. So let’s stay. Good luck finding a seat. You know that picture on their website that shows how elegant the pool is? Yea right. Try multiplying the number of chairs in that picture by 20. It’s like a can of sardines. Get seats yet? Great! But don’t go in the pool. Because as soon as you do, the staff will take your umbrella away from you and give it to someone else. Happened 3 times. It’s so noisy, so packed, so UN-relaxing, that we decide to leave the pool and go to the beach. The beach: How do you get to the beach? You take a tram. Cool! So let’s get on the tram. Actually, you’ll need to sign up for the tram. Why is that, sir? Well, because we have about 10 people before you that would like to go to the beach. Oh. Ok. Sign us up. Two trams come by, and we finally get on the third. Only about a 15-minute wait. Ok, I guess? A bit surprised, but let me just suck it up. So we finally get to the beach. Oh. You wanted chairs? You wanted an umbrella so your pregnant wife doesn’t bake your unborn child? What’s that? You’d like towels too? Sorry dude – we’re out of all of those things. At this point we headed back to the hotel (yes, after waiting for the tram, again), and checked out one day early, after less than 24 hours at this hotel. Let me be clear. This hotel has turned into a vacation factory. Do you think that you’re staying at the St Regis hotel with all of its exclusivities and exceptional service? Do you think they’ll go out of their way to make you feel special? How about as a platinum guest? How about as you’re celebrating your 6-year wedding anniversary? Nope. Think again. This place should change the name on the door from St Regis to (insert generic hotel name here). I’ve stayed at over 10 St Regis properties worldwide, and it has without a doubt, become my favorite hotel brand because of the consistency in its exceptional service. Management at this property should be embarrassed. September 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Keep coming back This is our third summer in a row coming to the StR Monarch Beach. We just love the location close to all that Southern California has to offer. Service is consistently exceptional from the front desk, valets, butler service and restaurant. A special thank you to Maya for taking care of us all week at breakfast. My only note would be that while I don't expect you to comb the sand like a golf course, the Monarch Beach club has had ALOT of seaweed on the sand the past two years...meaning lots of bugs. If you walk to the other side of the beach it's much better, but for this quality of resort you shouldn't have to. With that said don't think twice about booking this property. We'll certainly be back again next year. August 16, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Far Underwhelming Experience Room service was very very slow, close to 60 minutes on average. Soup was burnt and black. You could smell the burnt food for crying out loud! Hot water for tea was warm, at best. This was the worst room service ever experienced with a Starwood brand hotel. Original assigned room had zero cell phone reception, either for text messages or receiving/making phone calls. Resort services said it was our cell phone provider. Right - when we finally were able to switch rooms, there was no problem with cell phone service. Overall, the property grounds met expectations. But the service was no better than a low budget hotel. So so disappointed at the operations management of this resort and the service, both quality and speed. I'm surprised that Starwood keeps this property in its portfolio. What are they thinking? June 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Needs work Stayed at the hotel for 5 days from Sep 2 thru Sep 6 for work gathering. Service was not good (Butler, pool, restaurant). First day they did not have Rum at the pool. Everyday was toture waiting for room or butler service. Pool and restaurant service was subpar for this resort and took way too long - forgot about us on numerous occassions. September 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Experience Friendly and helpful staff. Very comfortable room. Beauritul views. Very pleasing stay. September 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Still a great property but... ...we noticed a lot of small things on this visit: 1) the flashlight in the room was dead, and it wasn't put on the bed tray during turn down; neither were the slippers or floor mats put out 2) the music CD was left looping on only the first track 3) we booked a month ahead, requested a king, ended up with two queens 4) we are gold level and requested late checkout and it was denied even though we called ahead and were assured the hotel was not full 5) didn't receive a morning paper. had to request one in the lobby 6) bathroom lacked the typical bath salts This is still an outstanding property; we just hate to see it slipping. Hopefully these are short term glitches, though we will consider another property for our next trip. December 13, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Overall, Staff were awful We returned this weekend from 5 nights at the St Regis Monarch Beach with our kids. The hotel is nice and the room was wonderful, but the staff needs a lot of work. The housekeeping staff was very hardworking and friendly, but otherwise, the staff left much to be desired. From the check in clerk to the bellman to the restaurant staff, everyone seemed annoyed to be working. Few were friendly or helpful. The hotel caters to large groups and weddings and as a result everyone else seems to get overlooked. We have stayed in many luxury hotels and we have come to expect much more from this level of hotel. I hope the hotel will spend some time training their employees on customer service. A smile would go a long way. July 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by labor day We had a good stay. The only thing you need to work on is the line at the beach. This is the third year I have stayed at the resort so it shouldn't be a surprise that you need extra transportation for that weekend. Cant you just rent a couple of vans or carts for that weekend? September 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very accommodating Staff We recently stayed at the hotel over the 4th holiday weekend. I wanted to let management and future guests know what a phenomenal job Front Desk Manager Kimber Takacs did to make our stay a memorable one, from making the reservation, to reserving all activities and just making sure we were well taken care of the whole weekend. Kimber went far and beyond the call of duty to make sure all our needs were met. We had such a fantastic time that upon check-out I booked another reservation. I hope management will acknowledge Kimber for her outstanding personal customer care because she really deserves the St. Regis Act of Valor commendation. July 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Stay in the hotel was not up to st. Regis standards The hotel did not have our room ready for more than two hours after the standard checkin time. although mistakes can happen, the staff did not apologize. One staff even said it's not such a long period of time to wait. We were also surprised that there were no coffee pots in the rooms and the only way to get coffee was to purchase it. The main pool did not have enough chairs one day. Overall, we were surprised that the place did not match the standards of st. Regis hotels we've stayed in prior. We know though that usually their service is wonderful and we hope this was a one time mishap. August 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful resort, room for improvement I had high expectations when I made plans for our 5 night stay. After all, this is a St. Regis Resort. I was generally very happy with my stay. Pros: * The valet car staff was great. These folks really are the ambassadors of this place. They gave terrific service and made my kids feel very welcomed. * We had an executive suite, so our room included butler service. My kids thought it was so cool. They bring fresh hot chocolate for the kids in the morning along with a french press of coffee. The butler we had the first several days was fantastic and took a real interest in making us feel welcomed. * The resort is beautiful, and we were there around Christmas and there were many photo opportunities. * Our room was very nice with a terrific bathroom with lots of nice touches * The pool area has three pools which makes it great for kids. The smallest pool is a very nice size and is only 1.5 feet deep. It also has a big hot tub area. We were there when it was only 55-60 degrees, but the pools are well HEATED. So-So Area: * The front desk staff (which I generally believe are the most important service people at a hotel) were so-so. They want to help, but are clearly not empowered to make decisions or accommodate requests. Why is it that hotels seem to tie the hand of front-line staff? Cons: * The bed felt like it was from a low end budget motel. It was really uncomfortable. The pillows were also some kind of non-feather substitute. They need to invest in something worthy of carrying the name St. Regis. * Small thing, and noticed it in other review. I asked to have the flashlight they provide in the room fixed or batteries replaced on the first night, it never happened. December 18, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Beautiful Property Deseves Equivalent Staff I had to wait 3 weeks to write this review. To give me time to calm down from one of my worst travel experiences ever. I booked and paid for this vacation more than 3 months in advance, I specifically called the hotel on 2 separate occasions to ensure that my room/reservation would be exactly what I wanted. It was all a waste of time, money and effort. This was not the first time that I had stayed at this property. Previously, my family has stayed with horrible customer service, despite the beautiful property and 6star rating. I decided to give it another chance. Worst mistake ever. I specifically called to ensure the room I paid for would be available since my flight didn't land until after 10pm, but it did not happen. It was pretty much first come, first serve. Not one of my requests was met. After an exhaustive, tiring exchange with mgmt to try to correct my reservation, and numerous apologies later, I finally gave up becuase it was late and I was tired. I asked mgmt for at least a small plate of food to be sent up to my room because of my long travel day, I was tersely met with an answer of no, they would not offer what I would call a good faith gesture, but was told I was free to go to the bar and order food. What nerve!. I spoke with mgmt each day of my stay to try and rectify the situation but to no avail. Mgmt did send a 'peace offering' of a cake in honor of the special occasion I was celebrating, the following night but that in no way made up for the fact that mgmt failed horribly and in my mind irrevocably damaged their already mediocre reputation. It wasn't until the day of my departure was I told that the part of the hotel I specifically requested was under construction. Each night I had packed my bags in preparation to be moved to a room to honor what I had paid for, never happened. I called one night for the hours of the golf restaurant I wanted to eat at only to be given incorrect information, thereby missing dinner altogether. Another night, I went to the bar to order a particular food, only to be told what I wanted was part of a 'tavern' menu only and was not served on Mondays and Tuesdays. Just one thing after another, after another, after another, after another went wrong and mgmt staff failed at every turn to try and correct. Worst trip I ever experienced. My guest was sorely disappointed too. Too bad the weather didn't cooperate either. The only SMALL token the property offered was to waive the parking fee. I have other family members who have stayed at this property with pretty much the same, if not worse, customer experience, and come back to property to try and give them another chance to redeem themselves but it was all in vain. Its a beautiful property but the staff makes it a location that I would never choose to return to on purpose, I really had such high hopes for this vacation, but was utterly let down. I hate writing negative reviews, but such poor service CANNOT and SHOULD NOT go unchecked. April 14, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Service was Unacceptable We checked out of our room and paid the final bill. A week later we received a "revised" hotel bill that was in error and we were overcharged for our stay. We called the accounting dept, a the St Regis on three (3) different occasions and they were to take care of the problem. We are now two months away from our stay and the problem has not been resolved. October 14, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad business practice After I left the hotel after 3 nights I received multiple folios all with different monetary figures on them. I was there for a business conference and they charged my company credit card with some of the expenses associated with the stay but not others. Everyone in our group had errors with their bills. They also charged me for mini bar expenses despite the fact I did not use anything in the minibar. I left a message for their accounting office to call me back but they have not done so. Very bad business practice. I feel violated by their behavior. October 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super It was truly incredible to have every desire anticipated by your staff. The food was amazing. The chefs that taught the cooking class were easy to understand and lots of fun. The thoughtfulness and care of the staff was beyond words. There was not a door in the entire resort that I had to open for myself. Thank you so much for an unbelievable experience. August 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A day at Monarch Beach Stayed here last week for just one day, our second visit to the resort, and had a great time even though the weather did not cooperate. Front desk allowed us to check in early (we arrived just before 1PM), and recognized our SPG Gold status and upgraded us to an Ocean View room. Considering the heavy fog kept us from the beach, having a view of the ocean and the golf course was a great substitute. Ate at the Monarch Bay Club restaurant twice: the food, service, and view there are always spectacular. October 23, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by 4th of July Awful experience. Pool cabana service was downright unprofessional. Turn down service was an insult to my family-they put the robes and chocolates on our bed but not our son's - even though his robe was hanging next to ours in the bathroom. We quickly threw a chocolate on his bed but he saw & was disappointed. Butler "Dale" seemed annoyed and frustrated the two encounters we had with him. Our balcony was filthy with long black hair all over the floor (I covered the balcony with bath towels to not step on it. Staff seemed like it was a "summer job" and weren't able to answer any of our questions. So frustrating that we checked out after 2 nights instead of 3. We always choose St. Regis & had stayed at this resort previously with a favorable experience. It was a miserable trip and my family left disappointed and cheated out of a vacation. July 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by August - Noise! I cannot tell you how disappointed we were. Arriving in the afternoon, the catering staff was setting up outside and the carts rolling over and the dishes clinking went on all afternoon. Kids were screaming at the pool and the noise combined forced us to close our door to the beautiful ocean breeze. In the evening there was running in the hall ways and again a tremendous amount of noise. The towels were frayed and to top it off, on Friday morning the maid walked into our room without knocking catching my husband in his sleeping shorts and just stood there looking at him until he told her to get out. August 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by THIS HOTEL NEEDS IMPROVEMENT WE FOUND THE WORK OUT FACILITY VERY POOR IN COMPARISON TO THE SIZE AND QUALITY OF THIS HOTEL. TO HAVE A HOTEL BLOCK INTERNET CONNECTION FOR THE PRICE OF THE ROOMS IS LUDICROUS. HAVE YOU HEARD THE SAYING NO ONE LIKES A CHEAP CROOK. THERE WAS NOT A COFFEE MAKER IN THE ROOM - WHY? THE SWIMMING POOL SIZE IS TOO SMALL FOR THE SIZE AND NUMBER OF GUEST ROOMS IN THIS HOTEL. SERVICES THAT WERE PROMISED WERE NOT DELIVERED. COMPLIMENTARY NEWS PAPER DID NOT SHOW UP UNTIL THE 3RD DAY AFTER REQUESTING IT TWICE WITH BOTH THE RESERVATION DESK AND CONCIERGE. August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mrs Great customer service awesome restorants August 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unique place !! Everything is made to make your stay a unique experience, from the valet, bar tender to the butler. The only flaw came on our last evening at the restaurant near the beace: the servive was not as expected : the waiter opened our bottle of wine when we were almost done eating.... July 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay My stay was great in this superb facility. 1st class all the way. August 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Luxurious The SRMB property is gorgeous, from the lobby entrance to the golf course and everything in between. At times it felt a bit *too* stuffy, not exactly a laid back vacation resort. That said, attention to every detail big and small made this a wonderful experience for me on a business trip. August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Property One of the prettiest hotels in North America. Grounds and pool area are amazing. Frequent traveler (platinum status) and stay at many luxury hotels across all brands including Relais & Chateaux properties. Property is absolutely beautiful. Had amazing service at pool snack bar from Katie. She deserves recognition and a raise! Incredible service. Was visiting property using free night awards. Even though platinum status, our room was standard room overlooking side of resort (no pool view or ocean view). In fairness to hotel, it was very busy during the weekend, and am sure suites were limited, but got the impression that received no upgrade whatsoever (much less to suite) which was disappointing. Hotels need to treat its top level of loyal patrons with great rooms, hotel disappointed in this category, but otherwise very pleased with stay and will return. Spa facilities were excellent. I have also stayed at the Laguna Ritz which, too, is beautiful, but consider the St. Regis nicer between the two. November 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service was Golden The entire staff at the St. Regis from Valet to front desk and room service truly made us feel welcome and valued. We are SPG Gold members, and we were treated as valued members of the SPG family. Especially at reception, we were asked if we were celebrating any special occasion, and when we asked for a late checkout, we were accommodated for two extra hours. This was a huge step up from our last stay a couple of years back, and the change for the better is profound. We will be back, and we will not hesitate in recommending. July 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by great hotel but some things are lacking the hotel in general is great. Here are some things that can be significantly improved. The shuttle to the beach was very unreliable and the wait while we were there was extremely long. The main pool was totally un supervised. You have a children's pool which is empty and the main pool is filled with young children throwing footballs , jumping in the pool and making chaos. That was really a problem, it was worse than that but that I can leave to your imagination August 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing work weekend Great loccation to get away and feel relaxed when leaving ... August 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel but we were stuck in a corner Took my wife for a weekend getaway. Longtime SPG member and used points for this stay. Not sure if that is the reason, but they stuck us in the room directly by the door to the pool (I think the only door, if not the main door) and the room faced a wall. No light due to the wall but heavy pool/outside traffic. I think it was the actual worst room location on the property. The "adult" pool had more kids than adults. Other than that, wonderful hotel with great staff. August 19, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 23 next>>