The St. Regis Monarch Beach

  • One Monarch Beach Resort
  • Dana Point,
  • California
  • 92629
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 nights, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book up to 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 692 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Business Event The hotel did a great job of hosting the large event I attended. We had great weather and a wonderful stay. October 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic place to relax Beautiful hotel, great service, fantastic place to relax. Loved the pool area and the beach, both are great! September 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Why Hotels Don't Understand Luxury This is a clear example of how we have bastardized the term luxury. There were ten pillows in my room. There was an 800 pound mirror next to the desk that made it impossible to get to electrical outlets--I have to move to a stool to write on my computer. I couldn't plug my phone into the outlet near my bed because I couldn't get to it and it was completely occupied anyway. But the big issue is this: This hotel does not offer complementary in-room coffee. They will bring a coffee "service" to your room at a charge of $32.00. I don't know about other luxury clients but this one want to make her own coffee in the morning and not have to deal with a waiter, signing a bill, answering questions in my pajamas BEFORE I have had a cup of coffee. One of my colleagues called it barbaric. Now trust me this hotel LOOKS like luxury or at least the concept of luxury that developers think luxury looks like. It's got eight fountains going after a 4-year drought in California that has turned the landscape brown. It has a grand lobby. The rooms have too many pillows, nice linens, big time TV, nice decor. But the place is possibly the worst layout of a hotel I have ever seen. Good luck finding your way around. Bottom Line: I wouldn't stay there unless I had to--which was the case as I was a guest of a corporation. September 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Drought Damage The facility was excellent. The golf course was in rough shape do to drought I would assume. There was also an extended delay to get started and the rental clubs were sold out. Other than that everything was over the top. GREAT Food!!! September 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Weekend Getaway The St. Regis experience is difficult to express in words. You have to be there to understand what total decompression and relaxation is all about. The St. Regis goes above and beyond your wildest dreams to make your stay as comfortable and memorable as possible. We canceled our off property dinner the second night because we did not want to leave our sheltered oasis. This was our second stay at the St. Regis and we were flattered by how many people remember your face and name. We remembered them also. Like Chancey the Gardner put it, "Being There "is an experience you will always remember and wanting to come back for more. Thank You St. Regis staff! September 17, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by sprinklers A bride hung her dress on a sprinkler which broke at 4am and flooded a floor and made the entire hotel evacuate at 4am for 40 min. The staff did make sure we were all safe. However the next day there was no - sorry for the inconvenience, here's a cup of coffee. Just a note saying that it was an mistake. We also had dinner at the nicest restaurant on the property. We were sat at 8.30, each guest ordered one appetizer and an entree, the entrees didn't arrive until 10.30pm.... and there was little drink service. We were exhausted by the time dinner finished. Odd service for such a high end brand September 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Luxury stay Five star service and tasteful and luxurious décor! September 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice stay I would have given all categories excellent except we were not pleased with the location of our room. View was nice , but our room was located above the weddings and corporate party staging area so setup and tear down was very noisy. :( September 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel has tremendously gone down. They need to train their front desk staff. At the end of our 2 night stay, we figured that we have to tell our requests to 3 different employees and confirm 2 times to make sure our requests were done. Seemed like going to work not a weekend gateway. Towels need to be upgraded. Hotel overall needs a lot of help. September 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Destination My wife and I like coming here and relaxing away from the kids. Unfortunately this visit we were waken by fire alarms going off at 3am multiple times. Everyone in the hotel was confused if they should evacuate given there was no announcements until almost 1 hour later and only 5 people on staff in the entire hotel. I'd recommend they review their procedures. The golf course also took over 5.5 hours and the fairways were terrible as they get ready for reseeding. We still like this destination but got unlucky on timing. September 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Experience Friendly and helpful staff. Very comfortable room. Beauritul views. Very pleasing stay. September 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Needs work Stayed at the hotel for 5 days from Sep 2 thru Sep 6 for work gathering. Service was not good (Butler, pool, restaurant). First day they did not have Rum at the pool. Everyday was toture waiting for room or butler service. Pool and restaurant service was subpar for this resort and took way too long - forgot about us on numerous occassions. September 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by labor day We had a good stay. The only thing you need to work on is the line at the beach. This is the third year I have stayed at the resort so it shouldn't be a surprise that you need extra transportation for that weekend. Cant you just rent a couple of vans or carts for that weekend? September 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super It was truly incredible to have every desire anticipated by your staff. The food was amazing. The chefs that taught the cooking class were easy to understand and lots of fun. The thoughtfulness and care of the staff was beyond words. There was not a door in the entire resort that I had to open for myself. Thank you so much for an unbelievable experience. August 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mrs Great customer service awesome restorants August 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay My stay was great in this superb facility. 1st class all the way. August 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing hotel with average service We have stayed at the St Regis in Dana Point several times and have always very much enjoyed our time in and around the property. The room and bed are extremely comfortable (we paid for a pool/ocean view) however we seemed to have an abundance of children on our floor along with parents that are not very conscientious of other guests (Issue 1). Overall, it was fine but would have been great to be located on a floor or wing with limited families as we were traveling without our four kids (we did discuss, unsuccessfully, with the front desk). The quality of the hotel and the effort put forth by the entire staff is quite high. Although the service effort is high, the actual execution is average (Issue 2). With several very young adults in critical customer service roles, the service often feels disingenuous and lacking experience. I was also surprised that the beautiful lawn between the hotel and the pool had several dead spots and did not look very healthy (Issue 3; perhaps drought-related water restrictions?). Lastly, we had an incident with the Valet where someone else actually was given our rental car (Issue 4). After waiting for a good 20-30 minutes, we found out that they were unable to find our vehicle. At this point, we were late for our evening engagement and had to suggest to the Valet Captain that we take a cab and the hotel pay for it (which they did). The worst part of the entire experience was the conversation we had with the Manager on Duty upon our return to the hotel later that evening. He was non-apologetic and didn't really own the issue. Although he ultimately removed our daily parking charge from our bill, which was appreciated, he very easily could have turned the whole experience into a positive but missed his opportunity. I should add that he also had a bottle of champagne (which we don't drink) and chocolates sent to the room the next day. In the end, the Valet Captain was, again, very apologetic the next day. All in all, we still very much enjoyed our stay and will likely return; however, we may give the hotel on the other side of the Pacific Coast Highway a try. August 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nickel and Dime Atmosphere! This was the 3rd time I have stayed at the property since it opened and I must say, unless drastic changes are made, it was my final stay. My wife and I were celebrating our 18th wedding anniversary and while there was a nice gift and attention to detail from the staff on recognizing the event, in so many ways, the rest of the stay fell short. The chaos at check-in was not typical for an SPG property. There was a line 10 deep and the entire process, while fast for our reservation, was quite slow overall. The vibe in the lobby was stale at best. There was no music, live or recorded, and the are seemed sterile and unwelcome this weekend. The room was disappointing in many ways. The room I reserved was referred to as a Luxury Ocean View but the view was more of the golf course and a service road. This was not really what I would consider a true ocean view but a partial ocean view and I felt a bit mislead, especially for the $650 pre-pay rate I paid. The room was also left extremely hot and the entire 2 days the A/C was struggling to cool down the room. I also could not understand why the TV failed to include local TV stations?? Stonehill Tavern was a great restaurant and we enjoyed the dinner and service we had there Friday night. We also felt that the staff and vibe of the Monarch Beach Club was professional and attentive. The spa, while in need of updating (steam room broken, and the lounge still had a "boom box" radio??) offered a great service --kudos to the masseuse. However, to not have coffee available in the lobby is not on par with other properties who would be competitive to this facility. The only way to get a cup of coffee was to wait in line in the lobby cafe, despite being told by an employee that we could call "Butler Service" and avoid the long lines to be had. When I tried that, I was told that our room (again, an upgraded Luxury Suite, or so I thought) did NOT include the service and that I would need to call for regular room service -- again, nothing special about that option. So many possibilities with a property this way but overall, the facility seemed dated and faded, in need of some work and updating. The fountains were broken or shut down due to the drought(?) and the carpets seemed dirty and falling loose. In order for us to revisit the hotel, we would need to know there was a major change in management and that the facility was invested in updates. August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Luxurious The SRMB property is gorgeous, from the lobby entrance to the golf course and everything in between. At times it felt a bit *too* stuffy, not exactly a laid back vacation resort. That said, attention to every detail big and small made this a wonderful experience for me on a business trip. August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing work weekend Great loccation to get away and feel relaxed when leaving ... August 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by St Regis Review The staff was nice but not on top of their game. Upon check in, we were sent in the opposite direction creating a 30 minute hunt down hallways looking for our room. We passed two hotel employees who couldn't help us either and finally suggested we go back to the lobby and have someone there help us. Uninformed employees seemed to be prevalent. The women at the coffee shop didn't seem to know what a small cup of coffee means. Each time, she reached for the largest, most expensive choice when I clearly articulated my desire for a small cup. On the first day, I waited for an extended period of time while one employee attended the many needs of the guest in front of me while two other employees stood behind the counter talking to each other ignoring me and the line forming behind me. Someone behind me finally interrupted their conversation and got them to do their job. The overall bummer - the maze of rights and lefts required to find elevators and rooms. The hotel has really poor signage so directing oneself around is a real guessing game. Biggest problem: Our room is on the 3rd floor and the lobby is on the 5th floor. In others words - up to the lobby, down to our room. We lost count of the amount of times we did the exact opposite due to habit of going down to a lobby and up to a room. Was disappointed in the lack of shops and lack of selection. Regarding decor, average building, okay grounds but nothing special. The pool by the spa - no service the entire 3 hours my wife and I were there. Not even someone pouring water. When I add all this up, the only semblance of luxury here is the price of the room, the cost of the food and the white gloves the hotel staff wears. But underneath that, I would not put this hotel in a luxury classification. I've had much better stays at W's, Westins and Sheratons. August 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed Small pool. Very noisy room especially at night. August 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gorgeous hotel with great staff It is a gorgeous hotel with great staff who can't do enough for us August 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5��by Luxurious Everything was perfect.....the staff was exemplary. August 24, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Stay in the hotel was not up to st. Regis standards The hotel did not have our room ready for more than two hours after the standard checkin time. although mistakes can happen, the staff did not apologize. One staff even said it's not such a long period of time to wait. We were also surprised that there were no coffee pots in the rooms and the only way to get coffee was to purchase it. The main pool did not have enough chairs one day. Overall, we were surprised that the place did not match the standards of st. Regis hotels we've stayed in prior. We know though that usually their service is wonderful and we hope this was a one time mishap. August 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by great hotel but some things are lacking the hotel in general is great. Here are some things that can be significantly improved. The shuttle to the beach was very unreliable and the wait while we were there was extremely long. The main pool was totally un supervised. You have a children's pool which is empty and the main pool is filled with young children throwing footballs , jumping in the pool and making chaos. That was really a problem, it was worse than that but that I can leave to your imagination August 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel but we were stuck in a corner Took my wife for a weekend getaway. Longtime SPG member and used points for this stay. Not sure if that is the reason, but they stuck us in the room directly by the door to the pool (I think the only door, if not the main door) and the room faced a wall. No light due to the wall but heavy pool/outside traffic. I think it was the actual worst room location on the property. The "adult" pool had more kids than adults. Other than that, wonderful hotel with great staff. August 19, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by THIS HOTEL NEEDS IMPROVEMENT WE FOUND THE WORK OUT FACILITY VERY POOR IN COMPARISON TO THE SIZE AND QUALITY OF THIS HOTEL. TO HAVE A HOTEL BLOCK INTERNET CONNECTION FOR THE PRICE OF THE ROOMS IS LUDICROUS. HAVE YOU HEARD THE SAYING NO ONE LIKES A CHEAP CROOK. THERE WAS NOT A COFFEE MAKER IN THE ROOM - WHY? THE SWIMMING POOL SIZE IS TOO SMALL FOR THE SIZE AND NUMBER OF GUEST ROOMS IN THIS HOTEL. SERVICES THAT WERE PROMISED WERE NOT DELIVERED. COMPLIMENTARY NEWS PAPER DID NOT SHOW UP UNTIL THE 3RD DAY AFTER REQUESTING IT TWICE WITH BOTH THE RESERVATION DESK AND CONCIERGE. August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel with the Best Service Enjoyed our short visit at the St. Regis Monarch Beach! Excellent Hotel August 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Customer Service Needs Improvement I've stayed at the St. Regis multiple times before, however I hadn't been there in over a year. Unfortunately, I was disappointed at this last stay. At the cabana near the lawn, we ordered a few mojito, and when they arrived, we realized that one of them was a virgin mojito - they forgot the alcohol. There was a noticeable difference in taste among the ones we ordered. We informed the waitress that one of the drinks was missing the alcohol, and she responded 'no it isn't' and walked away. We were further upset when we were actually charged for the drink that wasn't even consumed as it wasn't what we ordered. We realized we forgot something in our car and went to valet to ask to bring our car up. We sat and waited for 10 minutes, 20 minutes, then 30 minutes. We noticed that people who came after us had already received their cars. We went back to valet to ask what the status was. The woman behind the counter then realized that our keys were still in the bowl and didn't hang them for the valets to get. Realizing this mistake, instead of putting our keys at the top since we had already been waiting for 30+ minutes, she put it at the bottom and argued with us when we asked for it to be fetched earlier. Waiting 45 minutes for valet when it was only moderately busy was ridiculous. This is just two short examples of my experience. I used to go to St. Regis for awesome customer service, but unfortunately I will likely not return any time soon. August 18, 2014
  • 2015-05-24T19:53:04.086-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_692, tr_692
  • loc_en_US, sid_1361, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 24 next>>