The St. Regis Monarch Beach

  • One Monarch Beach Resort
  • Dana Point,
  • California
  • 92629
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest registration and check-in is restricted to those 21 years of age or older with valid identification.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 622 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great property This is a great property, very comfortable with excellent amenities. Room was nice and very comfortable. Service was good, although the butler never gave us orientation that was promised. Monarch beach club was a real perk. Golf course was a real treat. My only real criticism was that I had booked suite several months in advance and used the Elite concierge to request a high floor with a good view, and was told that since I was platinum my request would likely be honored. I nstead upon check in front desk gave us first floor with little view. When I protested she told us it was our problem since we checked in late. This was despite the fact I called the hotel twice once before we boarded our 5 hour flight that we would be checking in late. Due to a lost bag and LA traffice we arrived about 7 pm and was told all 4th & 5th floor suites with nice views weref fully committed. When I explained we had booked room with elite concierge we were told to try to check in earlier next time. I am quite unhappy about this and feel that the Elite program and Platinum status sometimes is not as advertised. This was handled quite poorly and I will think twice about using the concierge again for booking or requests since thye have no clout at all. August 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointment by SPG Platinum guest I have stayed at the S Regis, Monarch Beach yearly since it opened. I am huge fan of the property and have taken the time to send a letter in the past to alert you to shortcomings at Motif. Once again, I am amazed by the what appears to be the lack of training. I would suggest forgetting formalities such as putting napkins on guests laps as they arrive and instead have trained wait staff to immediately serve water, coffee and take orders.. One morning my husband was still waiting for milk for his cereal when I was finished with my eggs. It would be nice to serve milk with cereal and cream and sugar when coffee is set down on the table. Also during such a high traffic time, have coffee in the hall for guests as they wait for tables that are actually empty but with not enough staff to take care of the demand. I was also amazed that at 9:30 on a holiday weekend, the restaurant is closed to set up for the buffet. If that is to be the case, have a sign up the day before to alert guests. Being directed to the golf club restaurant, the same would be true for the servers and training. I watched while many waiters stood around as we sat and waited for coffee which was asked for upon arriving and finally delivered after several additional requests after the food arrived. At the beach, on July 5th, there were no towels for hours. Once again, being a holiday weekend, guests needs should be anticipated. This is a 5 Star resort and guests have expectations that should be met . As I said at the beginning I am a fan of this property and am expressing my feelings to help you be what you should be as a 5 star resort. July 9, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a cut above Our family tried this property hoping to find a nice staycation property close to home. While this is a lovely property it is hardly worth the price to value, and high category SPG rating. Having stayed in Starwood and non-Starwood properties of various categories, there is nothing distinguishing of this compared to any other brand hotel in a major city or resort property. When comparing to other luxury properties in the area, sadly the gem of the Starwood program in soCal falls short. Examples- 1-No Preferred status greeting upon arrival. In fact, the front desk was understaffed (one person) for our Saturday arrival, thus we waited 5 minutes. 2-Newspaper deliver request-asked for LA Times, got New York Times. 3-Complimentary beverage-Ordered a Chimay from the memu only to be informed by the bartender they dont carry it any more. No accomodation. 4-No in room coffee maker, only room service or rent a coffee maker for $25. Even a category 1 SPG property will provide you in room coffee....and what is so "high end" about having to wait for a butler to bring you a of coffee if I want it now? 5-Valet Parking Fee is not included in the Resort Fee. And Self Parking has no in-out priveldges. Luxury brand should be about service, service, service. Here, however one gets lost in the crowd. November 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous Resort If you are looking for luxury, comfort, and pampering, the St. Regis Monarch Beach is the place for you. The staff welcomed us when we drove up. They took care of my care and luggage and each day someone greeted us with a smile and a friendly "hello!" The pool is gorgeous and the beach is just a short tram ride away. This is a place I would strongly recommend for anyone looking for a great vacation spot. July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thank You. Always a great experience. You won't find a better place to relax on the beach. July 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room Service Horrible & Little Platinum Member Recognition Location = What you would expect from Dana Point and near the beach. Meets St. Regis Standards as far as location is concerned. Service = Marginal at best. Was so promising until I got to the front desk & my Plainum status was not recognized accordingly, the room that they gave us was so distant from good views that it was hard to believe that it was an "upgrade" - Even worse is that we were so close to Christmas that I could tell that there were plenty of empty rooms in more desirable locations, but none of them were made available to me despite staying at SPG hotels over 60 nights this year. ROOM SERVICE = EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTING - JUST DON'T DO IT! EXPENSIVE RESTAURANT PRICES FOR SUBPAR FOOD - THEY COULDN'T EVEN MAKE MY FISH & CHIPS CORRECTLY. Other Food & Beverage = Well, we paid over $50 for 2 sandwiches, 2 sides, and 2 drinks at their "crust" cafe during one of our afternoons and the sandwiches were decent, but the sides were subpar, and needless to say...EVERYTHING WAS WAY OVERPRICED Pool & Spa looked inviting, even though we didn't have a chance to get in as it was sub 40 degree temps during this time of year Fitness Center was not anywhere near St. Regis standards Overall, I would have loved to use my money elsewhere & will not recommend this particular St. Regis Hotel to any of my friends, nor use my rewards on this hotel moving forward... December 25, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Service is an issue They were undergoing renovations of the lobby and bar area and so these areas were closed during the renovation and we were not notified prior to arriving. Since we were having a family reunion there, these common areas were critical to our enjoyment of the hotel. It seemed they were understaffed. Service in the restaurant was amiable but very slow during the busy times. There were times during the afternoon where there was no pool service. The rooms were nice but plumbing was an issue: 3 of the rooms in our party had problems with their toilets. The setting is beautiful and the grounds are well-kept. The problem was that because the lobby closed, the only place to enjoy the view with several people was in a restaurant or outside and because it was fairly cool most of the time, outside wasn't much of an option. This will probably not be an issue for anyone staying after our stay since they were opening it back up the day we left, but my complaint is that we were not notified prior to arrriving. If we had, we may have still chosen the property, but made alternative plans to congregate. I think when you spend so much for a room, part of what you are paying for is the entire experience, which includes a nice lobby with seating and a comfortable bar. Overall, for a high-end hotel with a high-end price, I felt we only got a nice room and pretty setting for the price. December 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Memories.... The staff at St. Regis went above and beyond our expectations! It was so wonderful to wake in the morning to such beautiful views and the property is gorgeous! My husband in is a wheelchair and all of our needs were met, and we were able to get around with ease. The reservationist helped in more ways than I can say...he was an angel! When we arrived to our suite we were greeted with a bed of roses heart shaped and petals everywhere! I knew then we we going to have a very special stay...and we did! We also had A very memorable, fantastic meal at Stonehill Tavern... recommend the tasting menu! June 28, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible stay They wouldn't check us in. We arrived early and waited 5 hours at the pool with two small children. The only way we got our room was when I finally couldn't take it anymore and started complaining and then they finally have us a room at 5 pm! Who knows when we would of gotten the room if we didn't complain. And all they gave us was $50 credit!!!! This place is WAY over hyped! Would never ever stay here again!!!! I would think twice!!! Don't let the name fool you! It's all a gimic, a show!!!!!! Horrible!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The pool isn't even that nice! Been to way nicer hotels with better organization and service! I never write reviews ever! My first one ever but had to write how horrible it was! May 28, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Luxury Hotel - Bring your own coffee maker Great facility and room, but seemed like despite being a luxury hotel, they wanted to charge me for ordinary amenities as extra. There was no coffee maker in the room, and when I asked for one, I was told that would be another $25. Unheard of for a luxury hotel for something as basic as coffee. Staff seemed to be more interested in enforcing rules than ensuring a pleasurable experience January 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Service Needs Help We stayed here with our two young children, along with a connecting room for our nanny and her husband, who are in their mid-20's. The Good: The housekeeping manager was great and went the extra mile to go to the store and get some hypoallergenic was for the kids as my daughter had a skin reaction to the body wash. The valet guys were extremely friendly and helpful. The Bad: Our nanny and her husband were constantly questioned if they were staying at the hotel and what their room number was because they were young. We were embarrassed and had to keep apologizing for the hotel staff questioning them on their behalf. Ordering lunch at the pool took an hour for delivery and the food was subpar at best. My wife was talking to the valet guys that we were going to Disneyland for the day and they suggested we talk to concierge to get tickets. The concierge wouldn’t even acknowledge my wife directly and simply stated to the valet “well she can’t get them here; she needs to go to the Business Center”. He wouldn’t even leave his post to help her or show her to the Business Center. I thought this place was supposed to provide service? When I called down to concierge and asked for a recommendation for a fish restaurant in Dana Point that is reasonable and kid friendly, she chuckled at me and said “well we are in Dana Point…” What kind of answer is that? I know where I am…I’m staying at your hotel! St. Regis Butler Service, Allow Me does not exist here. I would not return for a family vacation July 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing and quiet getaway Enjoyed relaxing in comfort both inside the room as well as on the garden "veranda". Loved the vegetation which kept the area very quiet as we were there to relax. Staff was very congenial and responsive. July 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous hotel!!! This hotel is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in. The level of service was superior, from the bellman to the front desk to housekeeping. We could not have been more pampered! The front desk clerk was wonderful at accommodating our wishes for the perfect room. The food in the restaurants was wonderful and the views are incredible. We will be back! July 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decline in service level I have stayed at this facility numerous times since it opened. I noticed a decline in service this time. My room was not available upon arrival. I had to wait until 5:30PM to receive my room key. I mean 4:00PM check is late already compared to most hotel, but 5:30PM check in is totaly unacceptable. Also, room service order took more than one full hour to deliver! January 3, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very disappointing My family and I stayed at this property for one night because it was the ONLY Starwood property in the area. We were visiting friends whom we hadn't seen in a long time. We thought it would be fun if they could come to the hotel for lunch and then all the kids could swim together while the adults chatted. The hotel was still very empty as it was noon on Friday and there were only two other tables seated. Nonetheless, the service was atrocious. The drinks took 15 min. to arrive and then trickled in one at a time. We were 10 feet from the bar and it still took 25 min. for my beer to arrive! It took another 15 min. for the appetizers to appear we repeatedly (about 8 times!) had to ask for things which hadn't been served. It was like we had to work for our lunch. Next we find that you cannot have guests at the pool-- even if there is NOBODY else there. I understand the no guest policy when it is crowded, but to not allow it at all EVER is just poor hospitality. We spent an enormous amount on lunch and would have continued to spend money on drinks. It is not as if they would have been disadvantaged. We even offered to pay a fee to use the pool for 2 hours, but they would not make any exceptions. They couldn't have cared less that we are SPG gold members and were unnecessarily rude in responding to our inquiries. The "gentleman" at the front dest was even haughty. The last straw was at check-out: I was waiting in line while my husband got the car. There was somebody coming down the line to help people with getting their bills printed out and offering drinks, a nice service when there is a line, but he totally ignored me! He helped the MAN in front of me and then assisted the MAN behind me, never bothering to ask if I was waiting. I guess he assumed I was with one of the MEN in line!! Totally unacceptable behavior!! I spoke up immediately and he apologized, but this should never have occured. I left the property feeling extremely offended and completely appalled at the terrible service we received. I will NEVER stay there again. November 20, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing service We experienced what I would call several small "hassles" that culminate in a poor service experience. We requested a quiet, remote room away from outside events and activities, and re-iterated this upon checkin. I got to the room to find 20 guys outside my patio setting up a huge tent and speakers. Lets try again and I had to call to be moved to the other side of the hotel. We couldn't access the internet because they had our name spelled incorrectly; trying to explain this to the employee that there was no issue in our equipment connecting...this was fine....that it was on their "authenticating" end was futile and she insisted on sending someone to our room because it must be us....the tech had to just give us a free passcode because we were connected fine as I stated and he could not resolve in our room. Our phone handset didn't work so we had to use the speaker phone; the tv checkout system wouldn't work either; my self parking ticket couldn't be validated and didn't work and my room key worked the first day only. The bed was very uncomfortable as you are sleeping in a hole - they don't flip, or fluff the mattresses or mattress pads. We rode the tram back from the beach, and asked to be let out near the golf club as our room was in the north wing and closer; another guest who was on our tram laughed when he saw us back in the hotel and informed us the tram driver was angry saying "we obviously weren't guests and shouldn't have picked us up" - Nice! The most irritating hassle however was the food offering hours. Typically the best hotels offer food all hours and we have never had so much trouble eating a nice snack or something small between 3-5 pm. The lobby lounge offers such snacks or bar food, but not until 5.....and the pool bar...typically the resource you would count on for this doesn't serve food during the afternoon hours -RIDICULOUS. Your only choice is to go to the sit-down restaurant or room service. Their morning snack place, Crush doesn't remotely cut it by late afternoon unless you want m&m's or a tired muffin. Overall, we found the experience one hassle after another. January 21, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Its time to spruce up... Beautiful location, fabulous resort, its just a little tired. I was so... disappointed. Dirty main entrance floors. Flower pots half full of wilting flowers. Staff was pleasant when you saw them, but not on their toes, especially at the main entrance. Valet staff was very friendly. Our room was tucked into a corner by the elevators and an main garden entrance. Not good for SPG guests. The carpet was really dirty, however they did attempt to clean once I reported it. They should have moved me. The food in the main dinning room was so over priced. The ribeye steak was very fatty. The ribeye steak was actually better at Claim Jumpers the previous night. The wait staff in main dinning room was very prompt and friendly. Poolside was lovely, staff was also very prompt and friendly. I would like to come back and see things spruced up some. After all you are a 5 Star Resort. June 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A wonderful stay We are frequent travellers and visit many places around the world and the St. Regis Monarch Beach is now one of our favorits. It offers great choices for food and drinks as well as the location speaks for itself. Just above a beautiful golf course you have an amazing view above the ocean. Walking at the beach was our favorite thing to do and we left just relaxed and happy. The service was great throughout the hotel and employees even recognized us by name! Thank you very much for taking such good care of us and we will be back, that's for sure. June 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by The worst Price to Value ratio! I was really disappointing by this property. And being a platinum member for many years I had a great variety of experiences at Starwood hotels and resorts but this one was clearly on the worst side. Most importantly they have a serious issue with the quality control. - Upon check-in I requested a late check-out. I was verbally confirmed 4pm check out time. On the check out date a person walked into my room without knocking. I was in the shower and my girlfriend was undressed. No apologies at all! He just said that we were supposed to leave the room by now. When I called the service they said that they were unable to give me a late check-out. Importantly, for platinum members late check-out is guaranteed, - When checked in they messed up my bill. Just tried to steel $40 dollars from their loyal customer - not a big deal. - Service is painfully slow. Check-in takes 15 minutes. Why - they have no idea what they are doing and mess up every request. - Finally, the value is terrible. we are talking about $600-800 per night with absolutely nothing outstanding. Similar Sheraton or Westin resorts in Mexico, Florida feel much better at approximately one third of a price. Stay away from this property! There are many options to make sure that you actually enjoy your holidays and vacations so do not waste your precious time on places like this. July 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Romantic birthday getaway The hotel and grounds are just lovely. Staff is wonderful. We loved our dining experiences, time at the pool and spa. July 4, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel is an spg participant This hotel participates in the spg program, but they do not have to adhere to the typical upgrades one might be accustomed to if they are platinum spg members. The room upgrades are at the discretion of the resort, and they try to upcharge any type of room upgrade. December 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by An excellent venue for our group meeting I was impressed with all aspects of this property. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the room was wonderful and the banquet food was the best I've had in this organization, which meets annually at some very nice resorts. It was a little inconvenient to get to the beach, but well worth the trip for another nice feature of the property. June 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by expensive yet clean everything about this resort was expensive including parking, food, etc. the facilities were clean and updated. however food and beverages were over priced and not the best quality. July 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staff having an off day? As a former employee of a hotel and many restaurants, I often get the vibe that I'm a hotel snob and set my expectations high. And at the rate this property charged the night of my stay, yes, my expectations are high. For the amount of money I offer 2 stars - Needs improvement. Trip was a stay-cation, birthday overnight on a Sunday. Issues: 1. Room not ready (that happens on a Sunday) 2. Once checked in - 3 instances Housekeeping/Management knocked on our door to see if we were checking out. Trying to relax and get a nap while being interrupted. This is cause for a bad review. 3. Cafe food - $16 hamburger should come w ketchup and mustard w/o asking for it 5 mins later. Heatlamps should be checked for Propane; we had ours switched 3 times. Water glass went empty 3 times - why? 4. Room services the next morning was spot on..and the view from the room was also perfect. Overall I feel like the staff might have been worn out from a long weekend, but that's part of the game in the high end hotel market. Overall, I am dissatisfied with the experience, however families with children will enjoy this property. June 20, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not Up To The Level We Expected Disappointing overall for a two room, two night stay Thursday through Saturday in early August using points for a Platinum member: 1. No upgrade for either of the two rooms. 2. Long lines at the front desk. Took about 30 minutes to check in. 3. No towels in fitness room on first day. Had to place a special request. 4. Took 3 phone calls to room service to get a bucket of ice. Their pool service however was outstanding. Great and attentive staff. I stay in a lot of hotels throughout the year. This was not the level of service I would expect from a St. Regis. August 26, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by do not stay here Day one our stay was fine. The morning of day 2 we could not use the bath facilities due to what looked like fecal matter coming out of every facet in the bath room. The bath water was dark brown and black. We called the manager and they sent the engineer to the room who took pictures and said he was sorry. Eventually the water ran clear again but we checked out. Management apologized but made us feel the issue was no big deal. Certainly not the St Regis experience we have had in the past. We were disgusted by the entire experience and how it was handled. February 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful stay The staff and the property was some of the best I have had in hotel stays. I was disapointed in the food. We ate at the beach club and had room service two times. I was far from impressed with the taste ofthe food for such a great location. The service was the best but my next stay I will eat off the property June 29, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hotel Overpriced How can a world class hotel not have cellulare service in their rooms? If they know about this why dont they tell guests this in advance. Stayed at the hotel for a wedding and missed very important calls without cell service. Charging a resort fee of $25.00 and then a $35.00 valet fee is a rip-off. Attended a wedding at the hotel and we sat at our table at 7:30PM. Did not get dinner served until 10:15 PM. Hotel had too many weddings and could not accomodate all of the guests that had to be served. Hope the Bride's Family got some of their money back!!! September 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Children in Adult Pool One of the 2 sunny days was blown when a child defecated or vomited in the main pool. Children should be banned from the main pool. There are enough staff to enforce this politely. My wife and I had finished our smoothies and were getting ready to swim when the pool was cordoned off with yellow crime scene type tape for 2 hours of sanitizing. The kiddie pool was not comparable with nerf footballs and plastic bombs being lobbed about. the afternoon was lost. The remote beach and ocean were a surprise and 2 of the 4 days with a heavy marine layer 0f clouds blew that experience(cold and windy). Sat. we swam in the main pool under cloudy skies with cold ambient air temperature. As we were leaving on Sunday, the sun shone brightly. For non-golfers and non-tennis players our hopes for fun in a private beach and gorgeous pool were dashed. Only the adult pool could be blamed on the hotel management which allows parents to bring their underage children in. The remoteness of the beach should be disclosed in advance, but, for obvious reasons it is not. this resort was no HAWAII. June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Luxurious Accomodations I had a great stay here. The staff was professional. The room very comfortable. July 1, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 22 next>>