The Westin Mission Hills Resort Villas, Palm Springs

  • 71777 Dinah Shore Drive
  • Rancho Mirage,
  • California
  • 92270
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 118 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Summer Stay We are owners at this complex. Westin , Rancho Mirage. The grounds were well kept- the housekeeping both inside and outside were very good. A few items that management may want to address. Other than the young lady that checked us in and an associate named Eliz-----, there was a "surly" attitude by other staff members.In particular a young man named Esc---- at check in. He was working on something at the front desk and I guess it was too important to stop and check us in. His partner had to take us after 7 minutes. Also, the concierge staff seemed to be indifferent to you unless you participated in their "Owner Update" which most owner's have come to know as the attempt to sell more timeshares. July 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Family Fun This was our family's second stay at the Mission Hills. We first stayed at the hotel side; this time we stayed at the Villas. Both locations (hotel and villas) have their perks; overall, the experiences were both EXCELLENT. This location is by far the best that we've found for being family friendly. There are endless activities for the kids - some are free and others are very reasonably priced: they watched a movie one night in the pool; they participated in water slide races; they played pool volleyball, ping pong, pool; they hung out in the free arcade in the evenings. All four kids had an absolutely amazing time! The parents had a remarkable time too! Most of the day's activities took place pool side, so we were able to go on the slide with them or simply relax at the pool (with a cocktail) while the kids safely played close by. In the evening, the adults had an equally fun time hanging out in the clubhouse while the kids played in the arcade. The two main pools have water slides that are fantastic - the hotel pool is a bit smaller and the villa pool is larger. There is an adult pool, but we've never gone to it. This latest visit was during the busy season. Given the number of people at the pool, we never felt annoyed or crowded. There was a live band that added to the summer fun atmosphere. We've been to the Mission Hills Resorts during both the off season and peak season now. Both times of the year have been remarkable. We will definitely continue this family tradition. June 23, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Decent Property but lacks Service Quality, & Focus I have visited this property several times in the last 11 years and each time I come back the standard of service and quality continues to go down. This time I was quite disappointed with the lack of service. The resort seemed to be full and serivce was poor. So to be specific: It took my wife 45 minutes to get a ride from the restaurant to the villa. She was with our 2 yr old standing and waiting for 45 mintues in 100* temperature waiting for someone to take her to her room. When she repeating enquiries, she was told that the hotel was very busy and she can walk if she chooses to. This was unbelievable at many levels. When I checked in and got into the room, kids were very thirsty and wanted water; to my surprise there was no water, no mini bar, no ice in the room. I had to order it from room service, which took 30 minutes to show with water because they were very busy. And of course the explanation I reveived was that we do not keep water in the villas. Now I realized it felt hot inside the room and looked at the thermostat to find out that it was reding 78* F and was unable to change it. Called the guest services to have it fixed. Engineering folks showed up to fix it and to their credit they did get it fixed after 2 hrs. So, one of the reasons we come to this property is because kids have fun and enjoy themselves in the pool area. On Saturday, the pool slide was closed and no one could provide a specific reason so kids were dissappointed in that as well. They have a breakfast buffet at the restaurant which is very average. The only part exciting about this buffet is their live eggs counter and the chef who is very courteous and makes eggs jus the way you want it. There is no fresh juiuce (in this day in age, how do you not have freshly sqeezed juice), there are no lattes or speciality coffees (drip coffee only), no choice of cheese, 4 basic fresh cut fruits. This is below averga for a resort of this caliber and for the price of $25/adult that they charge. Simply unacceptable! All in all - This place needs more customer focused management and operations folks who have passion for serivce and understand food service industry and not robots. Very disappointing... April 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Last minute vacation 2012 We had a wonderful experience at your Villa. We took our 4 year old son with us and he loved it too. He loved the water slide so much that we made friends your staff member Maribel she monitors the slide. She made my son feel so special she has a great personality.Overall your staff was wonderful and made our stay so relaxing. Your front desk was so friendly especially Juan. But best of all your rooms were so nice. We stayed in a king bed and we enjoyed our privacy having a fold away bed for our son. We enjoyed the full kitchen too. The jacuzzi was a great touch! The bathroom was spacious and we loved the shower it literally fits 3 people. You made my 36th Birthday getaway very memorable. We can't wait to return again. September 6, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not the best stay, bummer It was our anniversary and my birthday weekend. Unfortunately our 1st morning started without a shower and had to leave with a bird bath. Shower did not work. Yes it was fixed when we returned to our Villa 7 hrs later. Parking was hard to find if you returned late in the evening. The staff outside maintenance used blowers that moved away all the sand from the walkways onto your cars that were parked. This stay I must say, wasn't the best. June 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Food was terrrible We had one meal in the bar/grill. Ordered a Cesare Salad ($17) and a hamburger ($15). The salad was small with old romaine, a small dried up piece of chicken and no dressing. My wife asked for some parmesan cheese and ground pepper that didn't arrive until we got the manager involved. I had ordered my hamburger medium with well done fries. The hamburger was just past rare and the fries were floppy. The explanation was the the kitchen was really busy. We will never stay here again it is less than a 3 star. February 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Even better the second time We've stayed at the Villas before and will again. We stayed at the larger of the two villa accommodations again and had requested Bldg. 47 (2nd floor) as this building is at the end of the property and quieter than the area by the clubhouse, main pool, etc. Perfect for those without children and, of course, all the facilities can be used by all the guests. We had a wonderful time, ate at Seasons and at Pinzimini, both several times. The food is wonderful and walking the property after eating is always nice. April 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gem in the desert My husband and I stayed at the Westin resort for 3 nights in October. We were courteously greeted at the front desk by Juan, who upgraded us to a one bedroom villa. Evelyn, the concierge welcomed us and gave us great advice about the area. The room was lovely. We had a minor problem and maintenance quickly took care of it. The staff at this hotel really understands hospitality. We wouldn't hesitate to stay again. My only negative would be the $15 parking fee; parking spaces by our room were hard to come by. November 6, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Room Great Room, nice pools and grounds. The Staff however was a little difficult. We arrived at almost 5pm and the room was not ready, we where told we would get a second floor room but we where put on the ground level. When we got to our room there where workwers in the room still working on the TV. They gave us a second floor room after we returned to the lobby and complanied. Also, sucurity was very rude to us while we where at the east pool. Don't get me wrong, I love the hotel but I did not have a very good experince with the staff. To top it off I was almost suckerd into a time share presintation after being told on the phone "we have a welcome basket for you, come to the lobby!". This has not scared me off from the hotel, I will stay there again because it was such a nice property and the room was amazing. July 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Way to redeem itself My recent stay was wonderful! I had a not so great experience back in July and wrote a disappointed review. I was immediately contacted by the resort's director of operations who wanted to hear more about my experience and try to make amends. He was sympathetic, sincere, and so very friendly. He invited me back and set me up in an upgraded villa. When I arrived, there was a lovely note and basket of goodies waiting for me. The villa was beautiful, comfortable and everything I could have hoped for. His service and follow-through was much appreciated and definitely unexpected. One would think that such a large company wouldn't respond or care about a little review by one person. But they proved me wrong and turned me into a loyal customer! I would recommend this place to anyone and plan to turn this location into my go-to weekend getaway destination. October 14, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by A little let down For the number of times we stayed here, this was the worst in terms of service. The property is always good but the amount of calls it would take to get something taken care of (blankets, roll away bed) was really poor. The pool service was spotty at best as well and the clientele seemed to reach a new low. We love Westin resorts but this place has unfortunately has started on the downard trend.... July 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Facility great - service not so great I've been coming to the Westin Rancho Mirage for years and love this property. I've recommended many friends and family members here as well. Unfortunately, this stay was not the best as we couldn't get our room until 4:30-4:35p.m. and we had been there since 2:15 and we couldn't get a late check out (11 was the latest). That was my only frustration, aside from this we had a fabulous time as usual! June 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Something for everyone This was our first time staying and we were impressed! The rooms were a nice size and very clean.The grounds around the area are beautiful. We spent a lot of time at the pool with our kids and it was a great experience as well. The staff at the pool were friendly and efficient. They have crafts and projects for the kids to do.The entire family had a blast on the water slide. Looking forward to another trip here again. August 20, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nice pool but very disappointed with room We stayed at the Villas this past weekend and were very disappointed with our room experience. The pool area was nice however we experienced so many issues with our room during our short weekend stay that I would not return to this property nor would I recommend it to anyone considering a vacation to the area. I have visited Palm Springs numerous times and there are so many better resort options to choose from. I never go online to write reviews but my experience was bad enough that I wanted to share with anyone considering a stay here. May 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel was awesome This was our first time staying at this location and the experience was EXCEPTIONAL. The staff provided great service combined with a professional attitude. The rooms were well maintained and the grounds were very clean. Not one complaint from this happy customer. No question about it, will be going back and YES I recommend this place to everyone!!! November 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Great Holiday in Rancho Mirage The Westin Mission Hills Resort Villas more than met our expectations - large comfortable rooms, superbly equipped kitchen, huge luxurious bathroom and comfortable bed. The staff were friendly and helpful. I unreservedly recommend this resort - we had a great time! April 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Birthday staycation Arrival was pleasant and inviting begining at the guardhouse, I didn't get her name but she was very friendly and informative. Christina & Jacob at the front desk was engaging and very accomodating as we waited for our villa. The pool staff were attentive and helpful. It was truely a memorable experience for our family. July 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best in Class - Staff and Villas Our family of 4 enjoyed a fantastic time at the Westin Mission Hills Villas. Arriving from cold Calgary Alberta, we were looking forward to our getaway. The Villas are immaculate and well maintained and the property is beautiful with wonderful views and paths. It is all you would expect from the Westin brand but with more... What really takes this property to a higher level is the staff. At this property they are truly the HEART OF THE HOTEL. Alex and the front desk team are hospitable and approachable and make a genuine effort to provide best in class service. I was so impressed with the "CAN DO" attitude. Thank you to Alex and the team for your attention to detail : Crystal, Christina, Maria and Jacob. The pool is amazing with the best water slide - not just for kids, but all ages. It is a blast. A special thank you to Steven and Ricardo. Our family left the Westin Villas refreshed and relaxed with many fond memories. We are excited to return next year! Well done Westin! November 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by maria From the minute we checked in to the minute we checked out she was completely attentive to our having the most wonderful stay at the Villas. We return every year due to the extraordinary individual level of service we receive. thank-you again for a wonderful weekend in the desert. Ian February 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Engineering Department helpful Danny in engineering was very professional and fixed our TV. We did not have our TV working for 3 days. I did not like that that there were people smoking at the adult pools. Please put more NO SMOKING signs and have someone monitor more frequently. August 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Over exceeded expectations Everything about this resort was great, except their parking. Had an awesome time. All 5 pools were great and clean. Down the street from Knott's Soak City. My family and I will definitely return. July 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent customer service! Upon arriving, I checked in with Juan at the front desk. He was so incredibly nice and helpful. I read a lot of reviews that said the front desk staff was terrible, couldn't get a late check out and hard to find parking. I didn't experience any of these problems. My experience was quite the opposite. I stayed the weekend in the villas. I had no trouble finding parking. Maybe it wasn't right in front of my room, but close enough. I had my infant daughter with me and had no problem hauling her stuff from where we parked to the elevator. I wasn't expecting to pay for both vehicles to park on the property, so Juan gave us free parking. We were checked in earlier than 3 pm. We also requested a late check out, which we received until noon. The front desk staff even let us use the pool after we checked out. I really feel like this resort took the best care of me and my family. I gave the property 4 stars because I was freezing in the bedroom all night & couldn't get the thermostat to set at a comfortable level. Also, the room was dated compared to other 5 star resorts I stayed at. I would stay here again and I highly recommend this resort. August 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love this hotel I stay at the villa the room was perfect for me and the kids. September 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place for family vacations The Westin Villas exceeded my overall expectations! The Villa was clean and spacious and the beds were super comfortable. The pools were awesome and the slide at the main pool was a hit with my kids. The shuttles were great too. There was always one passing by every 20 minutes. Our first night we chose to walk from one end of the resort to the other. The grounds are well kept and beautiful. The rock waterfalls were a perfect place for family pictures. The arcade was also a great place to enjoy the nights. We are already planning our trip back. Thanks Westin for such great family memories! June 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good family vacation This was our second time at this resort and our first time staying in the villas. Being daily guests and not time share owners made for some minor frustrations. Our unit was not serviced three out of our seven days. We had to call each day to ask it be cleaned. Time share owners only get one mid week and staff just assumed we were owners. We're not greeted or treated as SPG Gold members like we were in the hotel side on our last stay. August 5, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 Staff at front desk is rude Checked in at 5pm kicked out by 12, woke up late around 11:45 ask for my usuall 2pm late check out, lady at the front desk said it was impossible and I would be charged for late fee if I wasn't out by 12:00, so me and my girl friend and I got up with no shower and rushed to get out, Didn't get to go to the pool at all May 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stay topped by excellent staff The Westin Mission Hills Villas is by far the superior SPG property in the desert region. What separates them from the rest is the excellent staff of the property. They are by far the most kind, hospitable staff that I have encountered during my many travels to numberous SPG properties. They always greet with a warm smile, thank me for my loyalty to the property and the SPG program, and assist with my room requests when they can. I applaud them all for their generosity and ability to always make my stay on the property an enjoyable one! November 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Class Quality & Comfort!!! Excellent family resort for a quick get away or just a break from city life! Staying in the Villas, make it a great way for families to have the comforts of a full kitchen and dining in or out option. We have made the Westin Mission Hills and annual family retreat! August 11, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room not ready We arrived a little early and our reserved room was not ready yet..came back and room still not ready only to find out it was on the 2nd floor with No elevator...we are seniors. Had to get another room. Came back @ 4:30 still not ready...given drink voucher and pool keys...why? Our luggage was in our car and it was too crowded and hot to sit out without our suits. Came back @ 5 and no room yet....finally @ 5:30 we got a room. We had a celebration to attend @ 6...such a frustrating situation. July 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by room cleanliness and staff needs improvement the mattress in the pull out sofa was very old, bit dirty with strings coming out. When I asked to be changed I was told that the hotel does not have a spare one, we did eventually get a roll out bed that we were able to put on top the sofa, although the mattresses did not fit each other, the stock up provided protection against the springs. Carpets are dirty, not well vacuumed with old and new spots through out. On Sunday morning around 9:30 am maid barged into the room, and impatiently demanded to know when we will leave (she did not even knock the door), 10 minutes later a service man demanded the same answer . September 23, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>