The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

  • 3555 South Ocean Drive
  • Hollywood,
  • Florida
  • 33019
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 962 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Met my expectations Overall everything has been at my expectation level April 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel This hotel ranks right up there with one of our favourite places to stay. Each year we make it a point to stay at the Diplomat. We have always had great service at this hotel. I would like to personal extend a thank you to Mauricio (club floor) is the best. We left a package behind (which we had completely forgotten about) and he ensured that we got it. The Diplomat has a great beach and is close for shopping and at the end of the day if you just want to get lost in paradise, you can. The only negative we had was a meal at Rivals. Other than that, great as usual. April 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2014 Bus Trip This resort has it all and then some ! My room was modern and had a good comfy bed. The cocktail waitress in the lobby bar so was courteous, helpful, and friendly to me, i wish i could recall her name - The entire Staff was very nice and provided good service. The Conf/meeting rooms were good and so was the Food. I would recommend this Hotel to any bus or leisure travel. April 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel, relaxing stay I travel on a weekly basis, and always stay in Starwood properties...and Westin hotels, when possible. In looking for a place to have a relaxing long weekend getaway, we were advised by several people to check out the Diplomat. The hotel is beautiful and the spa/workout facilities are new and pristine. If you are a runner like me, there is also a wonderful path that takes you down the Hollywood boardwalk along the beach. We also headed to the Tennis and Golf facilities...very nice and well kept for those looking to play golf or tennis. Additionally, I had made an error when booking. Upon arrival, Tatjana was very understanding and wonderful to work with at check-in. She worked to get everything fixed and made our stay perfect. I highly recommend this hotel!! March 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by One thing that might be improved In general, my stay at The Westin Diplomat fulfiled my expectations, except for two interactions with Staff, and I noticed that two persons are not as kind as the rest of the personnel. One at the Concierge and one Receptionist, both with (aparently) russian names, Tanja (Concierge) and the other one do not remember. The first I perceived as a cold (not warmth) dealing with customers, and the other one (Receptionist), I asked for a late check out, but her response was not kind at all, leting me know that were fully commited, instead of looking for another option. If any additional information is needed, please, do not hesitate to contact me. March 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel Really loved staying there, The food in the cafe was excellent! The pan seared grouper was an excellent recipe! Hope to come back soon! It could use another hot tub April 11, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Horrible Check In I am platinum, I arrived early as stated on my reservation I was checked into the room after 5 pm when I arrived with small children, (one an infant) at 1:30 pm. I was told after repeatedly calling and going to the front desk at 5 pm by a manager that he had no idea why I wasn't checked in earlier (insinuating the room had been ready for a while). You took my cell when I registered and told me you'd call me when the room was ready. I called 5 times, and was told I'd get a call right back. Never happened, I asked a manager call me, never happened. I asked for a crib, 3 times to get it up to the room. I asked for bedding for a sofa bed, never happened. Overall ruined the end of a family vacation. April 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 Great vacation hotel This is a good resort hotel. The pool is a good size with ample amounts of lounge chairs. The private beach with daybeds / lounge chairs (You have to rent these at an additional charge) is good, since you are allowed to order drinks and take drinks from the pool bar onto the beach. All of the public beaches in Miami don't allow alcohol. The bar has a good variety of drinks although was very busy. The spa has a nice steam room / sauna and amazing service. The rooms are well appointed and have pretty much everything you would expect, although you get an extra fridge in addition to the minibar so you can buy beer / alcohol and store it yourself which is a welcome touch. The only complaint I really have is that everything was pretty crowded, even during the week. This might be due to the fact that when we were staying there was a conference going on and the hotel was at capacity. It might be worth it to check with the hotel to see how full it is before booking. April 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Too big for it's own good To keep it short, we had multiple communication issues with several staff members stating different information. Our room had multiple issues and a less than expected view (side of a condo). Bad room service, awful spa experience and very overpriced food and amenities (pay for a chair on the beach?). I don't understand the other people that gave great reviews, they must have never stayed at another SPG hotel. My experiences have always been high but this time I was left scratching my head April 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rude hotel staff Business must be very good in Hollywood, FL when the Diplomat's staff - across the board - can afford being so snoody. I upgraded from a reservation with two double beds to a suite, but now got a bed plus a pull-out. The hotel was very slow to even interest itself for how to resolve. The A/C in the suite was not working properly, so there was a gale in the main room, cooling it down to uncomfortable temperature. When accessing the pool, all 4 of us, I reached for a towel, only to have the caretaker tell me "only 2 towels per person!" I responded, "OK, then", and then started taking two for each, and even though we were right in front of the guy, he quizzed me how many we were. Very rude and conduct unbecoming a Westin. It was my 4th stay at the hotel. All 3 previous experiences were wonderful, but this one was simply unacceptable. I am SPG Platinum. December 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Need more attention to the details! Let's face it, when you spend the kind of money that this hotel demands, you have a higher expectation of EVERYTHING. You expect a clean room, and they delivered, you expect everything to be in working order, it wasn't. You expect more recognition in terms of the level of guest you have attained through Starwood, we didn't. So even if the facility matched the outrageous price ... it would have still been a let down. April 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs improvement Unfortunately we encountered a room with a very dirty balcony. The ice bucket was never filled and my husband had to demand extra coffee cups and creamer. lack of basic things really considering there are so many other hotels in the area. Most likely we will select another next time. April 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel This was our second visit to this location. We had some difficulties the first time but Antonio Rodriguez went out of his way to make sure we had no problems this time. Thanks for everything Antonio. We'll be back:) April 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place for a convention The annual PACE conference was held at the Westin Diplomat from April 2 to 5, 2014. As a speaker, I had a chance to interact with the AV Staff and they were excellent. Made sure we had everything we needed. Accomdations are 5-Star! The food service was excellent and made for a great conference. Heard nothing but great things from my peers as well. I highly recommend the property. April 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hit or miss service I'm a local that has stayed here twice in the past two years for an annual event held in the ballroom. Last year, service was an issue (slow check in, slow valet, was not offered help to my room with luggage, etc.) but my room was beautiful with a balcony and view of the ocean, so that made up for it. This year, I experienced service issues again. The valet and bellmen were very helpful this time, but check in was still slow. Also, cleaning staff walked in on me after I hollered to wait a moment before coming in while I was changing. I was locked out of my bathroom when I first arrived because someone had locked it from the inside before I arrived and it took 45 minutes for them to come open the door. Room service was also overpriced compared to other hotels of this star rating and with much slower delivery times. I also ended up with an awful room despite checking in early, and they were very unhelpful in trying to make things better. I booked a king room just like last year, but no view this year. I asked if I could wait for someone to checkout to get a better room (higher floor with balcony and open floor plan) or if I could pay more to upgrade- they dismissed me quickly and were not helpful at all. I understand that the hotel may be busy, but when I asked for other rooms that may become available or upgrades, they answered without even checking the system to see if they had anything. Very rude. For the event in the ballroom, waiters and bartenders are fantastic. Some of the food was great, and other items were mediocre. Seems to be chicken dishes that haven't been great, but other dishes were tasty. Overall, service for this hotel is not on par with their star rating and the caliber you should expect from this hotel. April 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel but somewhat disappointing in customer service Design of hotel and rooms very nice. Beautifully designed and decorated. Pool wait staff and Splash servers very friendly. Housekeeping staff quite friendly though quite slow with getting the rooms ready, and quite forgetful, such as removing the soap, shampoo, and conditioner from the shower that were partially used, but not replacing them! Staff at front desk at nearly every encounter seemed disinterested, upset, irritated, bothered... In fairness though, we noticed this general attitude at most places we visited in the area. It almost seems that people in general are not happy to serve you or thankful for your business, but rather appear bothered that you are taking up their work time to have to wait on you... March 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by disappointed Appearance-- Grandiose lobby check in -- though we called to report our late arrival, no help at the door for Luggage. No offer from the check in clerk to get help for us. Did not have the requested room, and tried to pawn off a lesser room for the same price room-- small, not much more than an interstate motel. Though one could, with proper lean, see the ocean, one could not hear it above the air conditioning plant immediately below us. housekeeping -- continuous request for needs. e.g., shampoo, etc. meeting facilities -- fantastic with lots of different options food/bar -- good, but overpriced great pools, but small beach March 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bad taste I write this with mixed feelings. Having stayed at this property multiple times in the last 8 years for business travel, I have always loved the beauty and comfort of this property. But, it is a huge resort property with all the attending problems that a large resort experiences . Before listing these, I must commend Karianne Arsenault the Westin Experience specialist for her special welcome as a returning Platinum member. She was the best part of my stay . The problems are overall impersonal service, poor quality room service meals, valet parking twice did not get my car in a timely manner ( I called ahead 15 minutes each time and still waited ) and as I was trying to get to work , this tardiness made me late . The most egregious error was not receiving my wake up call the last day of my stay. It was never put into the system and I was an hour late for work with clients waiting. Absolutely unacceptable. The service express attendant that took my information for my wake up call was obviously distracted , got my name wrong and was a giggly mess. I repeated my wake up request 3 times and still did not get a call. Compounding my frantic attempt to get ready for work was a complete blackout of the bathroom lights. Then valet did not have my car pulled up. The hotel is gorgeous,expensive and not business friendly. A shame I was left with such a bad taste . It was never the best service in the last several years but I was willing to overlook that for the beauty and convenience to my workplace. I would only return to say thank you to Karianne for her welcome. April 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Keeps Getting Better Spent nearly a week at the Diplomat this past January This was the third year in a row and we are already planning for NEXT January. Please Ignore those complaining guests.because when one travels enough, nothing is perfect. The trick is to find a staff person who can correct a problem effectively and quickly, and the Diplomat staff was awesome. For special requests, No is not a word in their vocabulary.Oceanfront rooms are beautiful and just sitting on the balcony eating breakfast is so relaxing. Location is near so much and yet just far enough away. When in southern Florida, the Diplomat is a must. March 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel is good for conference It has a lot of conference rooms, good catering. April 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by fantastic place to relax What a great hotel: Beautiful and huge pools, great gym, lovely staff. A perfect place to relax in the sun for a few days. The only downside was the pricey parking April 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Diplomat No reason to leave the hotel if you don't have to. All the amenities are there. Fabulous place to stay. April 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not very impressed Please see the feedback below April 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel especially for families Kids Club and events, activities, location, and really helpful and caring staff make the hotel more than a place, but a source of great memories. My son loves it there, we have been frequent visitors from when he was a baby until now, at eight years. April 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Desk Service I sent this letter to the manager of desk services -- I just wanted to write you a note about a very special experience I had with (employee name). I arrived on Wednesday, February 12 attending a conference at your hotel. My husband’s 60th birthday is on February 15 and I was planning to have a surprise birthday trip for him. When I entered the room I was so disappointed. I was hoping to have an ocean view, but if not an ocean view at least a balcony. The room a got faced another building and without a balcony. I know when I check in they said the hotel was booked, but I hoped I would have a better option. If it was just me, it wouldn’t have made a difference but for my husband’s birthday I was hoping for a great experience. That’s when I met (employee name). My savior! I went back downstairs and asked her if she could help me. I explained my situation and really wanted to see if my room could be switched. She said she would try, but the hotel was booked. She looked and looked and found one room available that was an ocean view and had a balcony!!!! The story is really about (employee name). She took a personal interest in me. I felt that I was not just a guest, but that she really cared to make sure my stay was exactly how I imagined it would be. When I first came up to her desk, she met me with a smile, listened to me and her goal was to make me happy. When she found the room and I was all set up, I thanked her, she said something that is so truly unique in this day and age, she said, “No thanks needed, I’m here to make your dream of how you imagined your stay to be come true.” How can you top that!!! She took a personal interested in making sure I was happy. I really wanted someone to know what a dedicated employee you have in (employee name). She’s special. February 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mediocre for a Resort I have stayed here previously,but our latest stay demonstrated that the hotel has declined in service. We had to call the front desk for bath soap, hair conditioner, and de-caf coffee as these items had not been replaced by the regular maid service. The mini bar's refrigeration did not work and it was not restocked during our four day stay. These things are not the "end of the world" but should not exist at a premium resort/hotel. March 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by A Favorite Gem on a Slipery Slope I love this property. We visited it every year for 11 years. This property is great in location, grounds, views, etc. Management has however great issues. The service overall is on a slippery slope. It will not be long before it will take a toll on the property as it happened with many other great properties. A few thoughts: Check in: Terrible. They have about 10 check in stations and only three people working but more than 20 people in line. When outside is 85 and sunny and you stay in line for 1 hour is not good. SPG recognition: Poor. I used one of my suite night upgrades and what I got in the first place was a lousy room. However, after I requested a different suite, it was absolutely beautiful with expanding views of the ocean. When I asked one of the managers about the upgrade, he asked me in a hostile manner: "Do you want me to downgrade you?" Towel policy: terrible and ridiculous. Club Lounge: It was right after the new year and it was very crowded. You could not drop a pin and you could not find any food. They cut everything. Probably they save a lot of money that will help the property survive. However, the people working there are awesome. Special kudos for Mark and Carlos. Spa: This was the first use after re-opening. It is a very nice spa, with many great touches. However, the previous spa was a destination spa, while this one is a "drive thru" spa where everything is fast and they want you out of there. Daniela did a great job with my wife's facial. Management, keep this a great service property. January 16, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Westin Diplomat very disappointing This is not a resort/spa. It is a hotel. It doesn't have any of the amenities of a resort The exercise room is very small and inadequate for the number of guests. 6 elipticals and six treadmills. Only 3 of the elipticals are hooked up for tv even though all six have screens. the floor area for mats is non existent. Housekeeping really lacks. They don't clean the rooms unless you specifically ask. When you ask for extra towels they never come. They take the room robes on day 2 and never replace them. 15% gratuity is automatically put on every bill. Believe me nothing is free in this "resort." Key cards stop working even after you pay extra to have extended checkout. Yes that's right you have to pay for extended checkout! Definitely doesn't live up to the Starwood name. Very disappointed....Plenty of other hotels in the area. March 28, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Ugh! Wow, what a disappointment. The room was dirty. The maid told me that no one cleans the rooms but only replaces towels. The front desk said they would send someone to deep clean but no one showed up. Then the noise from the balcony sliders was like rolling thunder. And, the roar from the road was loud even on the 30th floor. The person next door not only smoked, but had a dog, knocked on the walls and yelled every night. I called the front desk 3 times before they sent security. Huge disappointment. I would not recommend this hotel. February 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel, excellent SPG treatment! Loved this hotel, even though the surrounding area was only so-so (head to Ft Lauderdale or Miami if you have the chance) and the beach was pretty medioce. We received an excellent upgrade due to being an SPG platinum member. Superb communication via email before arrival.This hotel really stands out when it comes to going the extra mile for their most loyal customers. Room was very modern and spacious. One of the best Westins I have seen, in fact. The lounge was lovely, one of the nicest I have been to in the SPG universe. Room for improvement: 1. The food selection in lounge was limited. In the afternoon some people were really stocking up, and with not a lot of refill, they would be empty long before the annouced serving time. Very annoying. 2. The lounge guy was cold and seemed like he hated his work. Smile, buddy. 3. Did have some noise issues related to people (and housekeeping) coming and going and slamming their doors. A really great hotel would install dampeners on the doors. November 10, 2011
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 33 next>>