The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

  • 3555 South Ocean Drive
  • Hollywood,
  • Florida
  • 33019
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve and to check-in to a room.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 1245 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice resort setting with great SPG benefits SPG recognition/ benefits at this Westin are definitely wider. Well maintained resort style hotel right on the beach with huge bi level pools. Beautiful lounge with great view on the 38th floor to catch breakfast and evening snacks, all included as part of SPG recognition. Hours for the pool side towel hut and restaurants could extend longer than 7 PM and basic beach side chairs could be free of charge to rent. September 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel, excellent SPG treatment! Loved this hotel, even though the surrounding area was only so-so (head to Ft Lauderdale or Miami if you have the chance) and the beach was pretty medioce. We received an excellent upgrade due to being an SPG platinum member. Superb communication via email before arrival.This hotel really stands out when it comes to going the extra mile for their most loyal customers. Room was very modern and spacious. One of the best Westins I have seen, in fact. The lounge was lovely, one of the nicest I have been to in the SPG universe. Room for improvement: 1. The food selection in lounge was limited. In the afternoon some people were really stocking up, and with not a lot of refill, they would be empty long before the annouced serving time. Very annoying. 2. The lounge guy was cold and seemed like he hated his work. Smile, buddy. 3. Did have some noise issues related to people (and housekeeping) coming and going and slamming their doors. A really great hotel would install dampeners on the doors. November 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another Amazing weekend at the Diplomat first I have to say that I am extremely disappointed that this amazing property will be leaving the Starwood family. all I have is great times and memories at the Westin Diplomat. the staff, the food, the rooms. everything has been mazing. thank you!! living the #spglife September 10, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Watch your Bill Overcharged on valet... only stayed 2 nights and was charged for 3. Impossible to get credit. Had to clear that through the valet (understandable) Valet said I needed to fax a copy of the bill to valet. Faxed with no response. Service what you sell. Why is it my responsibility to fix their error? How about they just call the office to confirm I stayed 2 days?? Worst yet.. the Diplomat Hotel also has a very bad habit of overcharging guest. Second time I've stayed here out of 6 that they have overcharge my folio. I was charged a "Family Fee" for $80 and promised $100 credit on charges to the hotel. Never got the credit so basically got billed twice. Try getting a hold of accounting...good luck. Phoned 3 times with 1 babbling returned call. Nearly 2 months later and no credit!! Their back office would be much more efficient if they didn't overcharge a large percentage of their guest. Ironically, the gentleman ahead of me was trying to correct his bill when I was checking in. Another reason why the check in line takes forever. I wouldn't recommend this place, but if you like to be processed like meat, spend your precious time to write scathing reviews, have the feeling that the place is too busy to provide you basic service, and then be overcharged... this place is for you - Screwed over Starwood Preferred Guest Lifetime Platinum Member (that pretty much means I would typically recommend any Starwood Hotel) May 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome 4th of July Stay My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Westin Diplomat Resort from the moment we checked in until the moment we departed. I would like to especially thank Karianne (your Westin Experience Specialist) for ensuring that all our needs and expectaions were met prior to our arrival. We were celebrating an early Anniversary and Karianne had a bottle of wine waiting in the room for us. The hotel facilities are awesome and the hotel staff are extremely helpful and friendly, even with the influx of people over the 4th of July weekend. At checkout, Brandon at your front desk ensured that our final bill was correct and was extremely helpful on answering any of our questions. Awesome hotel, wonderful room, and truely a professional and friendly hotel staff. We will definitely be staying there again in the future. July 8, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Billing Error and Awful Service That Ensued Noticed billing error following our departure and 18 days later and over a half a dozen messages to Accounting and Hotel Manager and still not a single person has called my back. Dumbfounded by what could be the world's worst follow-up and service. I have been going to the Diplomat since I was a kid and have Starwood status but that shouldn't mean anything when I'm simply asking for a simple courtesy call on a billing error of a few hundred dollars. Extremely disappointed January 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Paradise I try to do my due diligence when I book a vacation which includes reading reviews, comparing prices, reviewing activities, nightlife, etc. I was concerned about some of the comments I read about the hotel being crowded or the beach being too small. However, when we stepped in the hotel, we received a free upgraded room (corner deluxe suite), $200 free food/fun credit (which paid for the $25/day cost for the beach chairs and 3 dinners a Rivals) The pool and gym open 24 hours... The wrap around balcony was beyond perfect! We walked to the Hollywood Boardwalk and everywhere else... it was GREAT! I have absolutely NOTHING bad to say about our stay at all!!! July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Preferred Westin In USA For the last 10 years my family visited this property every year. It is the favourite Westin for my kids. Even though it is a huge property and always busy with business conferences, it is also an awesome spot for familes. The Positive: Lobby: Impressive, Expanding Service: Great, People friendly Food; Good Overall Pool area: Awesome. Spa: Fenomenal Location: Best in the area Westin Club: Good Views: Amazing Some space for improvemennt: Rooms: need some improvement Spg Recognition: not always great This property is a dream, We always come back with great expectation. One of the best properties overall in South Florida. August 18, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Green program The Green Program needs to be more clarify. It was offered to us as a good program and for that we received three cards of $5 credits, and was described that the towels and bed sheet will be changed as we requested, but no one explained to us that the room never will be cleaned (ex: the trash, the carpet, the replacement of the Kleenex box, etc...) As it was explained to us after we claim...that the bed room was deleted from the list to be cleaned at all. It was very difficult to understand more the program, when the person in charge to deliver to you the beach towels give you two towels by guest. I think that needs to redefine the program. August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great hotel the hotel complex was very nice. i would stay there again. July 29, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by I would not go back There were problems with my stay. First room air didn't work and room was about 80 degrees. They are responsive and fixed right away but took an hour-2 out of the stay.Then blocked for 2 rooms and by morning needed to move but 2nd of 2 rooms not ready until about 8 PM. More relaxation hours gone. Also a lot of nickel and diming during stay. On good side beach great be prepared $60-100 a day for chairs and umbrellas. Food good. Staff is very nice but not very effective. Engineering is both nice and effective-too much contact with them but they are great. Would not go back to this westin. June 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by A Favorite Gem on a Slipery Slope I love this property. We visited it every year for 11 years. This property is great in location, grounds, views, etc. Management has however great issues. The service overall is on a slippery slope. It will not be long before it will take a toll on the property as it happened with many other great properties. A few thoughts: Check in: Terrible. They have about 10 check in stations and only three people working but more than 20 people in line. When outside is 85 and sunny and you stay in line for 1 hour is not good. SPG recognition: Poor. I used one of my suite night upgrades and what I got in the first place was a lousy room. However, after I requested a different suite, it was absolutely beautiful with expanding views of the ocean. When I asked one of the managers about the upgrade, he asked me in a hostile manner: "Do you want me to downgrade you?" Towel policy: terrible and ridiculous. Club Lounge: It was right after the new year and it was very crowded. You could not drop a pin and you could not find any food. They cut everything. Probably they save a lot of money that will help the property survive. However, the people working there are awesome. Special kudos for Mark and Carlos. Spa: This was the first use after re-opening. It is a very nice spa, with many great touches. However, the previous spa was a destination spa, while this one is a "drive thru" spa where everything is fast and they want you out of there. Daniela did a great job with my wife's facial. Management, keep this a great service property. January 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Conference Hotel The rooms and pool area are fantastic. A little wear in the room carpet September 4, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Westin does not honor one of its own guarantees! "Best Rates Guaranteed" Thats what I read when I prepaiad for my stay on the Westin's website for my stay at Westin Diplomat. When I informed the staff at the front desk at check in of the lower posted rates (more than $60 less per night) they told me that I must call some phone number (a westin number not specific to the diplomat.) Then the people at that number told me to call a different number regarding this claim. Unfortunately, I was informed that if I click the words "Best Rates Guaranteed" I would see the terms of the guarantee which I did not qualify for as I prepaid and 24 hours have passed. Firstly, "Best Rates Guaranteed" should simply mean that you are getting the guaranteed best rate for the dates that you are staying if they should change. If this is not the specific case, then there should be a footnote with a legend explaining all the terms. I was supposed to click on those words to see the terms, but there was no indication to click on it. Imagine this being a more important contract, certainly those terms would not be binding. I doubt this was a conscious error, probably a mistake by the person making the website. But, it seems like they don't really care. Secondly, the Westin Diplomat made a pathetic attempt to rectify the situation and meet me approximately half way on the rate difference as if I am supposed to be satisfied with that. As I was on vacation, I didn't want to make a huge scene about them flat out stealing my money. Anyway, as I know it is customary for some managers to respond to negative reviews with words such as I'm sorry you had a bad experience etc. save those lame words for others and I expect to be reimbursed. Go to the website yourself and look at the "Best Rates Gauranteed" slogan and ask yourself, "Should I expect a customer to assume this means that best rates are not FULLY guaranteed and that they should click on those wordsif there are terms eventhough there is no indication to click on them? SHAME on Westin and SHAME on the Diplomat not correcting this error! April 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by 40th anniversary celebration We spent the first nights of our honeymoon 40 years ago at the old Diplomat on Hollywood beach before going on a cruise. We decided to come back to the new Westin Diplomat for our 40th anniversary. We were quite pleased by the recognition of our anniversary at Hollywood Prime (special "Happy 40th" dessert) and by the hotel with the bubbly, chocolate and tuxedo strawberries in our room on our anniversary. We wound up dining at Hollywood Prime twice in our 4 night stay - I would recommend it very highly. Lunch everyday at Splash by the pool was also quite good. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and I'm glad we decided to come back after 40 years. August 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by What a disappointment We stayed at this hotel for a family function.The property is visually attractive and the room was nice. However we were stunned that things that come standard at other properties were all at a fee. Sitting on the beach, wifi complimentary coffee or water that was openly displayed and not in the honor bar were all at a cost. We were charged over $7.00 for 2 cups of coffee and bottled water that was openly displayed without a price tag. At this point it is insulting to the customer who is all ready paying for a premium hotel experience to have to pay for simple, inexpensive items that are truly complimentary at value chains. There is a lot of competition in the Florida resort industry and the Westin should rethink their policies. October 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel is understaffed and degrading Have stayed at this facility once a year with up to 23 others for our annual tennis tourament. This year the hotel shut down the remote hotel, had moved the spa, got rid of newspapers to SPG members, disturbed me at 0800 to cleam my room, had no towels ready for our group of 24 on the tennis courts, no water for us that we had pre paid for, no promised 6 courts initially on the final Saturday, Spa had no cable TV or magazines to read, and to top it off, no one of our guys could get any hot water for any of the rooms shower Saturday Night after 6 hours of tennis and before our awards dinner in the hotel large restaurent meeting room February 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rob402511 Rooms needs some update: carpet, furniture and of course in XXI centure we should have WiFi in the rooms. Food in the SPlash was not good. September 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Relaxing Experience I celebrated my birthday at the Diplomat and was received with a warm welcome. The room was very nice and clean overlooking the ocean. The food was delicious on the executive level with outstanding service. Cant wait to go back! September 1, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Ugh! Wow, what a disappointment. The room was dirty. The maid told me that no one cleans the rooms but only replaces towels. The front desk said they would send someone to deep clean but no one showed up. Then the noise from the balcony sliders was like rolling thunder. And, the roar from the road was loud even on the 30th floor. The person next door not only smoked, but had a dog, knocked on the walls and yelled every night. I called the front desk 3 times before they sent security. Huge disappointment. I would not recommend this hotel. February 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Westin Diplomat Continues to Exceed Our Expectations My wife and I have stayed at the Westin Diplomat four times in slightly over a year. Each visit, including this one, has been exceptional. It starts with the valet parking, the front desk, and the entire staff. The rooms are outstanding: quiet, very clean, and very dark (a boon for light sleepers. We look forward to breakfasts in the restaurant. The food is very good -- my wife loves the granola and yogurt pancakes. Claudia was our waitress on this stay. She was outstanding. The General Manager is to be complimented for hiring and training an exemplary staff. August 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very good, but short of excellent Second stay and previously several years ago. Hotel is modern, with luxury amenities, rooms are adequately spacious and would repeat visit. The drawback that I encountered and this was consistent with first visit is the driveway area is extremely busy, unorganized, valets have no clue of how to handle the flow of guests. I could not obtain attention or service and unloaded and parked vehicle myself. Bad, poor, inadequate valets (over-priced for speed or service) with attitude and troublesome check-in parking or dropping off guests. Needed improvement from several years ago and on my last visit in July 2014. July 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall a Great Stay, But Be Aware... First, the good: The Diplomat is a beautiful resort with a paradise-like location right on the edge of the Atlantic. Do yourself a favor and spend a little more for the Grande Deluxe Ocean View balcony room. It's worth every penny to be able to walk out and see the beautiful sunrise over the sea every morning and to relax with a glass of wine as you watch dusk hit the water. The staff is very friendly and attentive and do their best to make you feel right at home. The pool and beach areas are wonderful, whether you want to just lounge and relax or want a vigorous water workout. Now, the not so good: The room walls are paper thin. Unfortunately, I had very loud next door neighbors, and there wasn't much I could do about it. Prices are high for food and drinks, so be prepared to fork over some extra cash if you eat at one of the hotel restaurants or have a few drinks by the pool. That said, the food is delicious and you get very healthy portions. WiFi connection is spotty, and each time you shut off your device, you have to manually reconnect to the network when you turn the device on again. More of an inconvenience than an actual problem. The pool area gets crowded with lots of boisterous children, so if you want a tranquil poolside day, get out there early, get your spot, and get your swimming in before the hordes arrive. One other comment - I lost an item during my stay, and while it certainly wasn't the hotel's fault, I didn't feel like the staff was all that concerned about helping me locate it. I was told by different staff members to talk to different people, who told me to talk to others, etc., etc. It felt a bit like I was getting the runaround. I wished someone would have told me they would contact me if the item was found, but the best I got was, "We don't have any item like that in our lost and found." I thought this situation could have been handled better. However, overall, I enjoyed my stay - it's my fourth visit to the Diplomat, and I plan on returning again for another relaxing long weekend. August 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rude hotel staff Business must be very good in Hollywood, FL when the Diplomat's staff - across the board - can afford being so snoody. I upgraded from a reservation with two double beds to a suite, but now got a bed plus a pull-out. The hotel was very slow to even interest itself for how to resolve. The A/C in the suite was not working properly, so there was a gale in the main room, cooling it down to uncomfortable temperature. When accessing the pool, all 4 of us, I reached for a towel, only to have the caretaker tell me "only 2 towels per person!" I responded, "OK, then", and then started taking two for each, and even though we were right in front of the guy, he quizzed me how many we were. Very rude and conduct unbecoming a Westin. It was my 4th stay at the hotel. All 3 previous experiences were wonderful, but this one was simply unacceptable. I am SPG Platinum. December 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stunning Views with Outstanding Service Hotel is very convenient to Miami and Fort Lauderdale with a beautiful beach front. We stayed 5 days in a corner suite, on the 32nd floor. Our room was exceptionally clean and extremely comfortable. One of the many reasons we stay at Westin Hotels when we travel is the comfort provided. We love the Heavenly Bed and the soft, upgraded bedding. We had an issue with refrigerator & A/C. Both issues were addressed by engineering staff and corrected in a very timely manner. We enjoyed the 24 hour room service and found the valet parking to be efficient and flexible (holding car up front for a quick stop before heading back out). We look forward to staying there again, when visiting this area. August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Time Everything was great, a lot to do the pool was awesome! September 1, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad Management makes for Bad experience Celebrated 25th anniversary in a room with double beds that smelled of smoke with stained coverlets, peeling wallpaper and red marks on wall. Coverlet was changed but front desk clerk stated that demand is so high they just don't have time to make repairs. Requested room change to King bed was like pulling teeth. Ended up in the same room with double beds the whole weekend Front Desk Clerk told me I was only a Gold member. I am SPG Platinum, (have been all year) but was admonished by the front desk clerk that I was only a Gold member because I had not stayed enough nights and I should just stay more nights. Had dinner reservations. Valet service brought car to front then lost the keys. Waited almost an hour for them to find them. Management failed to follow up with me for my entire 3 night stay about these and other issues as requested by Platinum Concierge. Poor customer relations. Problems occur. That is just how thing happen sometimes. It is how those problems are handled that make a huge impact. I believe the mark of a great hotel is not just good customer service when they are slow, anyone can do that, but the ability to give good service when there is a heavier demand. That is what makes a hotel exceptional. The Westin Diplomat did not meet those standards. If all is going well with your stay, great! Enjoy! If there are issues, don't expect much concern or response from management at this hotel. July 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel accommodations I was very impresses with my stay at the Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa. The staff was very friendly and eager to help in anyway. The rooms were very comfortable and the pools were outstanding. I would definitely stay again when visiting Fort Lauderdale. I was there on work but also had time to enjoy all the great details this hotel had to offer. August 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel This hotel ranks right up there with one of our favourite places to stay. Each year we make it a point to stay at the Diplomat. We have always had great service at this hotel. I would like to personal extend a thank you to Mauricio (club floor) is the best. We left a package behind (which we had completely forgotten about) and he ensured that we got it. The Diplomat has a great beach and is close for shopping and at the end of the day if you just want to get lost in paradise, you can. The only negative we had was a meal at Rivals. Other than that, great as usual. April 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Platinum actually means something! I am a Starwood guy. It's just where I stay. I have been to many Starwood properties around theworld where your Platinum status gets you absolutely nothing. My stay at the Diplomat was completely 180 degrees from my prior experiences. A REAL room upgrade - check. A Platinum Club that serves good food and a responsive attendant - check. Affordable room service that tastes good - check. Full service property that you really don't need to leave - check. Can I also mention the golf for $29 a round with FREE club and shoe rentals?!? Unbelieveable. My only complaint - I didn't bring my family due to business conference. Huge mistake. I will be back with them in tow. June 27, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 43 next>>