The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

  • 3555 South Ocean Drive
  • Hollywood,
  • Florida
  • 33019
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve and to check-in to a room.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 1255 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor Customer service / unorganized The facility/grounds were excellent. However, the service was subpar. The staff was very good at saying Yes to everything, but doing nothing. I was staying there for 5 days, but got an extra night (on New Years) for my brother/sister in laws. Due to various problems, they couldn't check in until 7:30. My sister in law (who is pregnant BTW) wasn't feeling very well. So, certainly a problem. They wouldn't even allow them out to the pool area (as you needed a key). Kept waiting for a manager to call me (James, then someone else). I'm still waiting for that call. As stated, property is really nice. But, they could care less about the guest. I will not be staying here again. February 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by EPIC 2014 Our group had a wonderful stay at this beautiful facility.We had about 1400 people and everyone appeared to love the hotel. September 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by rooms please note that this last experience was great , but the Valet parking gave my car to someone else, assuming that he was was with me and I had to wait for my car to be bavk in the hotel. this is a big inresponsibilty even though I was not charge for the car still a secuirty issue. pleae look into it. October 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel, excellent SPG treatment! Loved this hotel, even though the surrounding area was only so-so (head to Ft Lauderdale or Miami if you have the chance) and the beach was pretty medioce. We received an excellent upgrade due to being an SPG platinum member. Superb communication via email before arrival.This hotel really stands out when it comes to going the extra mile for their most loyal customers. Room was very modern and spacious. One of the best Westins I have seen, in fact. The lounge was lovely, one of the nicest I have been to in the SPG universe. Room for improvement: 1. The food selection in lounge was limited. In the afternoon some people were really stocking up, and with not a lot of refill, they would be empty long before the annouced serving time. Very annoying. 2. The lounge guy was cold and seemed like he hated his work. Smile, buddy. 3. Did have some noise issues related to people (and housekeeping) coming and going and slamming their doors. A really great hotel would install dampeners on the doors. November 10, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Awful rooms, awful service, shabby upkeep awful - booked in May and asked for a king bed - given a tiny room with double beds. My husband and I were traveling alone for the first time without kids in years and it was ruined by this hotel. everything looked just a little bit shabby and dingy. Customer service was a joke - from the front desk at check in to the waitress that we practically had to tackle in the bar for attention on our last night - awful. Praying that our conference picks a new sight in the future. I am staying in 2 other Westins in the near future and I am very nervous - thinking about changing my reservations. September 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Watch your Bill Overcharged on valet... only stayed 2 nights and was charged for 3. Impossible to get credit. Had to clear that through the valet (understandable) Valet said I needed to fax a copy of the bill to valet. Faxed with no response. Service what you sell. Why is it my responsibility to fix their error? How about they just call the office to confirm I stayed 2 days?? Worst yet.. the Diplomat Hotel also has a very bad habit of overcharging guest. Second time I've stayed here out of 6 that they have overcharge my folio. I was charged a "Family Fee" for $80 and promised $100 credit on charges to the hotel. Never got the credit so basically got billed twice. Try getting a hold of accounting...good luck. Phoned 3 times with 1 babbling returned call. Nearly 2 months later and no credit!! Their back office would be much more efficient if they didn't overcharge a large percentage of their guest. Ironically, the gentleman ahead of me was trying to correct his bill when I was checking in. Another reason why the check in line takes forever. I wouldn't recommend this place, but if you like to be processed like meat, spend your precious time to write scathing reviews, have the feeling that the place is too busy to provide you basic service, and then be overcharged... this place is for you - Screwed over Starwood Preferred Guest Lifetime Platinum Member (that pretty much means I would typically recommend any Starwood Hotel) May 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice Hotel but expect better service We were there for a friend's wedding and it is a beautiful hotel. However, I was disappointed with the customer service as my husband left his fitness device in the hotel room and we had to pay shipping to get it shipped to us, which seemed like poor customer service to us given we had spent over $1k at the hotel during our stay. Most nice hotels will send you any items left behind at their own cost. We were also not given the discounted wedding valet price and were told that the discount is not applicable to hotel guests, which was not mentioned anywhere on the discounted valet sticker given to us. September 23, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Billing Error and Awful Service That Ensued Noticed billing error following our departure and 18 days later and over a half a dozen messages to Accounting and Hotel Manager and still not a single person has called my back. Dumbfounded by what could be the world's worst follow-up and service. I have been going to the Diplomat since I was a kid and have Starwood status but that shouldn't mean anything when I'm simply asking for a simple courtesy call on a billing error of a few hundred dollars. Extremely disappointed January 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Preferred Westin In USA For the last 10 years my family visited this property every year. It is the favourite Westin for my kids. Even though it is a huge property and always busy with business conferences, it is also an awesome spot for familes. The Positive: Lobby: Impressive, Expanding Service: Great, People friendly Food; Good Overall Pool area: Awesome. Spa: Fenomenal Location: Best in the area Westin Club: Good Views: Amazing Some space for improvemennt: Rooms: need some improvement Spg Recognition: not always great This property is a dream, We always come back with great expectation. One of the best properties overall in South Florida. August 18, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not up to snuff I have stayed at the Diplomat several times since it's opening. With each consecutive visit it seems that the current owners do not reinvest in the property to maintain it. I am actually glad the "union" is selling and a new opportunity exists for the hotel. Things that I noticed especially on this visit were 1-lightbulbs out all over the lobby area, the spots in the ceiling, the tree uprights, the down lights over the bar area facing the lobby and the snack shop. 2-The septic odor in the conference center outside of Atlantic/Regency was beyond nauseating and having to work that area during my visit several of us had to leave the area because of the stench of a horse corral.The hotel did respond with spray, but that was insufficient to mask the odor especially in regency 1. 3-The portico in front of the hotel is sad looking, the door to the hotel has worn marks around the handles, the lights over the portico are all crooked, and the glass ceiling has cracks and is dirty. The poles are looking sea salt worn as well. 4-The towels in the hotel were rough, not soft as I have experiencedin the past at the Westin. 5-The bathroom floor when I got water on it and wiped it was black on the towel. 6-sow of the water spouts in the lobby fountain were not operable 7-The metal beads under the front desk do not shine as they did when you opened. 8-The curtains in the meeting rome were not all clean (shears) 9-Staff was fantastic receptive, outgoing, responsive. It is your service and pride that the employees have that made the hotel experience enjoyable and wanting to return. October 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another Amazing weekend at the Diplomat first I have to say that I am extremely disappointed that this amazing property will be leaving the Starwood family. all I have is great times and memories at the Westin Diplomat. the staff, the food, the rooms. everything has been mazing. thank you!! living the #spglife September 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great beachfront location We enjoyed you beachfront locations but were unhappy and frustrated for the numerous and expensive fees for items that should be complimentary at a superior hotel, such as WIFI, beach lounge chairs, parking, delivery fee to have spoons brought to room, etc... September 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome 4th of July Stay My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Westin Diplomat Resort from the moment we checked in until the moment we departed. I would like to especially thank Karianne (your Westin Experience Specialist) for ensuring that all our needs and expectaions were met prior to our arrival. We were celebrating an early Anniversary and Karianne had a bottle of wine waiting in the room for us. The hotel facilities are awesome and the hotel staff are extremely helpful and friendly, even with the influx of people over the 4th of July weekend. At checkout, Brandon at your front desk ensured that our final bill was correct and was extremely helpful on answering any of our questions. Awesome hotel, wonderful room, and truely a professional and friendly hotel staff. We will definitely be staying there again in the future. July 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by A Favorite Gem on a Slipery Slope I love this property. We visited it every year for 11 years. This property is great in location, grounds, views, etc. Management has however great issues. The service overall is on a slippery slope. It will not be long before it will take a toll on the property as it happened with many other great properties. A few thoughts: Check in: Terrible. They have about 10 check in stations and only three people working but more than 20 people in line. When outside is 85 and sunny and you stay in line for 1 hour is not good. SPG recognition: Poor. I used one of my suite night upgrades and what I got in the first place was a lousy room. However, after I requested a different suite, it was absolutely beautiful with expanding views of the ocean. When I asked one of the managers about the upgrade, he asked me in a hostile manner: "Do you want me to downgrade you?" Towel policy: terrible and ridiculous. Club Lounge: It was right after the new year and it was very crowded. You could not drop a pin and you could not find any food. They cut everything. Probably they save a lot of money that will help the property survive. However, the people working there are awesome. Special kudos for Mark and Carlos. Spa: This was the first use after re-opening. It is a very nice spa, with many great touches. However, the previous spa was a destination spa, while this one is a "drive thru" spa where everything is fast and they want you out of there. Daniela did a great job with my wife's facial. Management, keep this a great service property. January 16, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Westin does not honor one of its own guarantees! "Best Rates Guaranteed" Thats what I read when I prepaiad for my stay on the Westin's website for my stay at Westin Diplomat. When I informed the staff at the front desk at check in of the lower posted rates (more than $60 less per night) they told me that I must call some phone number (a westin number not specific to the diplomat.) Then the people at that number told me to call a different number regarding this claim. Unfortunately, I was informed that if I click the words "Best Rates Guaranteed" I would see the terms of the guarantee which I did not qualify for as I prepaid and 24 hours have passed. Firstly, "Best Rates Guaranteed" should simply mean that you are getting the guaranteed best rate for the dates that you are staying if they should change. If this is not the specific case, then there should be a footnote with a legend explaining all the terms. I was supposed to click on those words to see the terms, but there was no indication to click on it. Imagine this being a more important contract, certainly those terms would not be binding. I doubt this was a conscious error, probably a mistake by the person making the website. But, it seems like they don't really care. Secondly, the Westin Diplomat made a pathetic attempt to rectify the situation and meet me approximately half way on the rate difference as if I am supposed to be satisfied with that. As I was on vacation, I didn't want to make a huge scene about them flat out stealing my money. Anyway, as I know it is customary for some managers to respond to negative reviews with words such as I'm sorry you had a bad experience etc. save those lame words for others and I expect to be reimbursed. Go to the website yourself and look at the "Best Rates Gauranteed" slogan and ask yourself, "Should I expect a customer to assume this means that best rates are not FULLY guaranteed and that they should click on those wordsif there are terms eventhough there is no indication to click on them? SHAME on Westin and SHAME on the Diplomat not correcting this error! April 28, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Just saying Looks ok on the outside, but needs some work inside the room. carpet was loose and tripped me several times, doors next to the bed to the bathroom were off the roller hinges seemingly ready to fall on your head, neat feature if they worked, went to call for a wake up call and the phone wasn't even plugged in, the alarm clock was either unplugged or not in working order, had to pay a beach vendor to be able to use a chair and umbrella . banquet food was awful. September 22, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by What a disappointment We stayed at this hotel for a family function.The property is visually attractive and the room was nice. However we were stunned that things that come standard at other properties were all at a fee. Sitting on the beach, wifi complimentary coffee or water that was openly displayed and not in the honor bar were all at a cost. We were charged over $7.00 for 2 cups of coffee and bottled water that was openly displayed without a price tag. At this point it is insulting to the customer who is all ready paying for a premium hotel experience to have to pay for simple, inexpensive items that are truly complimentary at value chains. There is a lot of competition in the Florida resort industry and the Westin should rethink their policies. October 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel is understaffed and degrading Have stayed at this facility once a year with up to 23 others for our annual tennis tourament. This year the hotel shut down the remote hotel, had moved the spa, got rid of newspapers to SPG members, disturbed me at 0800 to cleam my room, had no towels ready for our group of 24 on the tennis courts, no water for us that we had pre paid for, no promised 6 courts initially on the final Saturday, Spa had no cable TV or magazines to read, and to top it off, no one of our guys could get any hot water for any of the rooms shower Saturday Night after 6 hours of tennis and before our awards dinner in the hotel large restaurent meeting room February 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Conference Hotel The rooms and pool area are fantastic. A little wear in the room carpet September 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Paradise I try to do my due diligence when I book a vacation which includes reading reviews, comparing prices, reviewing activities, nightlife, etc. I was concerned about some of the comments I read about the hotel being crowded or the beach being too small. However, when we stepped in the hotel, we received a free upgraded room (corner deluxe suite), $200 free food/fun credit (which paid for the $25/day cost for the beach chairs and 3 dinners a Rivals) The pool and gym open 24 hours... The wrap around balcony was beyond perfect! We walked to the Hollywood Boardwalk and everywhere else... it was GREAT! I have absolutely NOTHING bad to say about our stay at all!!! July 28, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by I would not go back There were problems with my stay. First room air didn't work and room was about 80 degrees. They are responsive and fixed right away but took an hour-2 out of the stay.Then blocked for 2 rooms and by morning needed to move but 2nd of 2 rooms not ready until about 8 PM. More relaxation hours gone. Also a lot of nickel and diming during stay. On good side beach great be prepared $60-100 a day for chairs and umbrellas. Food good. Staff is very nice but not very effective. Engineering is both nice and effective-too much contact with them but they are great. Would not go back to this westin. June 24, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Ugh! Wow, what a disappointment. The room was dirty. The maid told me that no one cleans the rooms but only replaces towels. The front desk said they would send someone to deep clean but no one showed up. Then the noise from the balcony sliders was like rolling thunder. And, the roar from the road was loud even on the 30th floor. The person next door not only smoked, but had a dog, knocked on the walls and yelled every night. I called the front desk 3 times before they sent security. Huge disappointment. I would not recommend this hotel. February 16, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rude hotel staff Business must be very good in Hollywood, FL when the Diplomat's staff - across the board - can afford being so snoody. I upgraded from a reservation with two double beds to a suite, but now got a bed plus a pull-out. The hotel was very slow to even interest itself for how to resolve. The A/C in the suite was not working properly, so there was a gale in the main room, cooling it down to uncomfortable temperature. When accessing the pool, all 4 of us, I reached for a towel, only to have the caretaker tell me "only 2 towels per person!" I responded, "OK, then", and then started taking two for each, and even though we were right in front of the guy, he quizzed me how many we were. Very rude and conduct unbecoming a Westin. It was my 4th stay at the hotel. All 3 previous experiences were wonderful, but this one was simply unacceptable. I am SPG Platinum. December 26, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad Management makes for Bad experience Celebrated 25th anniversary in a room with double beds that smelled of smoke with stained coverlets, peeling wallpaper and red marks on wall. Coverlet was changed but front desk clerk stated that demand is so high they just don't have time to make repairs. Requested room change to King bed was like pulling teeth. Ended up in the same room with double beds the whole weekend Front Desk Clerk told me I was only a Gold member. I am SPG Platinum, (have been all year) but was admonished by the front desk clerk that I was only a Gold member because I had not stayed enough nights and I should just stay more nights. Had dinner reservations. Valet service brought car to front then lost the keys. Waited almost an hour for them to find them. Management failed to follow up with me for my entire 3 night stay about these and other issues as requested by Platinum Concierge. Poor customer relations. Problems occur. That is just how thing happen sometimes. It is how those problems are handled that make a huge impact. I believe the mark of a great hotel is not just good customer service when they are slow, anyone can do that, but the ability to give good service when there is a heavier demand. That is what makes a hotel exceptional. The Westin Diplomat did not meet those standards. If all is going well with your stay, great! Enjoy! If there are issues, don't expect much concern or response from management at this hotel. July 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by still one of the best! I stayed at 300+ different 5star hotels around the world, but Westin Diplomat is my favorite! I discovered it 8 years ago and since then I stayed in it many times. And never been disappointed. SPG lounge is just the best I ever seen. Huge, with great views and service, well- decorated. Rooms are beautiful.SPG recognition perfect. Hotel building and resort design with 2 levels pool is astounding. Yes, sometimes there are some small troubles like 40-min waiting for check-in or luggage or valet, or noisy neighbors, but I agree to close my eyes for many to have pleasure to stay there. Use selfparking - its just $20/day (take card key at reception), and no need to pay and wait for valet. Thank you to all the team of this wonderful resort for consistently high level of service! I'll be back with first opportunity for sure! July 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel This hotel ranks right up there with one of our favourite places to stay. Each year we make it a point to stay at the Diplomat. We have always had great service at this hotel. I would like to personal extend a thank you to Mauricio (club floor) is the best. We left a package behind (which we had completely forgotten about) and he ensured that we got it. The Diplomat has a great beach and is close for shopping and at the end of the day if you just want to get lost in paradise, you can. The only negative we had was a meal at Rivals. Other than that, great as usual. April 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by lovely resort with a few rough edges Don't get me wrong, what's not to like about spending a few winter days in 80 degree weather. The Diplomat did, however, have a few rough edges that need improvement. On check in, only two associates were available at the front desk, while 6 to 8 guests were waiting in line to check in. No one wants to stand in line for 10 minutes before being able to start their weekend vacation. Once in the room, I was surprised to see that the garbage cans from the last guest had not been emptied. Also, a bit of a let down. The facilities were lovely, and the weather delightful, but some improvements need to be made. January 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great hotel the hotel complex was very nice. i would stay there again. July 29, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by The Worst Hotel I have ever stayed in. At first glance the hotel is impressive. But after waiting over 35 minutes to check in, it went down hill quickly. We arrived in our room, went to lie down and relax and there is was....stains on the sheets. Then we relized the toilet handle was broken and did not flush. We called the front desk and they were not overly apologetic. Told us we had to go back down to the lobby to change our room "to a comperable" room. Unacceptable. They finally changed our room to a beach view room. Sounds great but once inside the sheets and throw pillow had makeup stains, the sliding doors to the bathtub were off the track and the tv wasn't working. After moving the furniture we realized the tv and other items were unplugged. The next morning we realized the refrigerator was broken and the food we placed inside spoiled. We couldn't wait to leave. Now we need a vacation from our vacation. June 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Unusual Experience Visited this property in 2012 with the family and loved it. Came back here again in 2013 and is has been a disappointment after disappointment. Honestly, I wish I can say otherwise, but the staff needs to appreciate customers especially their Platinum members. Anyhow, we'll be going back to the W Fort Lauderdale for our beach holiday next year where we spent several pleasant stays in the past. December 7, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 43 next>>