The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

  • 3555 South Ocean Drive
  • Hollywood,
  • Florida
  • 33019
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 961 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Staff The staff were incredible, especially Maria at the cabanas. She went above our expectations. j Everyone we met was so kind and knowledgeable. This is what made our trip so wonderful March 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel, excellent SPG treatment! Loved this hotel, even though the surrounding area was only so-so (head to Ft Lauderdale or Miami if you have the chance) and the beach was pretty medioce. We received an excellent upgrade due to being an SPG platinum member. Superb communication via email before arrival.This hotel really stands out when it comes to going the extra mile for their most loyal customers. Room was very modern and spacious. One of the best Westins I have seen, in fact. The lounge was lovely, one of the nicest I have been to in the SPG universe. Room for improvement: 1. The food selection in lounge was limited. In the afternoon some people were really stocking up, and with not a lot of refill, they would be empty long before the annouced serving time. Very annoying. 2. The lounge guy was cold and seemed like he hated his work. Smile, buddy. 3. Did have some noise issues related to people (and housekeeping) coming and going and slamming their doors. A really great hotel would install dampeners on the doors. November 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everyone was very friendly. My 'ONLY' complaint was that the 'maid' did not leave us our 'FREE' bottle of water on the 2nd day stay. Survived by using the 'tap' water !!! March 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Need an Adult pool one recommendation, It would be nice to have an area of the pool just for adults. Thank you. March 28, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Watch your Bill Overcharged on valet... only stayed 2 nights and was charged for 3. Impossible to get credit. Had to clear that through the valet (understandable) Valet said I needed to fax a copy of the bill to valet. Faxed with no response. Service what you sell. Why is it my responsibility to fix their error? How about they just call the office to confirm I stayed 2 days?? Worst yet.. the Diplomat Hotel also has a very bad habit of overcharging guest. Second time I've stayed here out of 6 that they have overcharge my folio. I was charged a "Family Fee" for $80 and promised $100 credit on charges to the hotel. Never got the credit so basically got billed twice. Try getting a hold of accounting...good luck. Phoned 3 times with 1 babbling returned call. Nearly 2 months later and no credit!! Their back office would be much more efficient if they didn't overcharge a large percentage of their guest. Ironically, the gentleman ahead of me was trying to correct his bill when I was checking in. Another reason why the check in line takes forever. I wouldn't recommend this place, but if you like to be processed like meat, spend your precious time to write scathing reviews, have the feeling that the place is too busy to provide you basic service, and then be overcharged... this place is for you - Screwed over Starwood Preferred Guest Lifetime Platinum Member (that pretty much means I would typically recommend any Starwood Hotel) May 13, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Billing Error and Awful Service That Ensued Noticed billing error following our departure and 18 days later and over a half a dozen messages to Accounting and Hotel Manager and still not a single person has called my back. Dumbfounded by what could be the world's worst follow-up and service. I have been going to the Diplomat since I was a kid and have Starwood status but that shouldn't mean anything when I'm simply asking for a simple courtesy call on a billing error of a few hundred dollars. Extremely disappointed January 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Hotel Needs More Staff This is a beautiful hotel with very nice and helpful staff. Unfortunately, the hotel / staff could not accommodate the number of people staying there. This resulted in long wait times to check in and out, long elevator waits and an over crowded bar. This significantly impacted what otherwise would've been a great stay. March 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel Great-Room Cleanliness not so good The overall experience was good, the facility was beautiful, everything was great. Our issue was with the Room Attendant. The four days we were there our room was only made up once. We had to ask for the one day. I had to ask for towels other day. Garbage after third day was overflowing to say the least. March 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good, not great!! As a lifetime Starwood Platinum member, I was a bit let down by this property. They were INSANELY busy, service on many fronts were compromised!! Our TV's didnt work properly, the A/C didnt work well. had to buy a fan!! The valet parking was awful, one time lost my car, took over an hour to find my vehicle!! I used to love this property, don't know if I will stay there again! February 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointing This has to have been the worst Westin hotel stay I have ever experienced from time of check in to time of check out. I pulled up to the hotel via a taxi from the airport. Nobody greeted me and I had to carry my own bag to the top of stairs and open door to hotel managing all my own travel bags while the hotel staff were off to the side chatting and laughing with one another. The check in lines were long, even the SPG gold/preferred lines were ignored, the check-in staff made sure to keep there eyes only on their monitors (never looked up) and would just say next which caused constant tension between SPG line holders and non line holders. When I got to room, my room key didn't work, I asked the maid for help, she said I must call security, then had to wait for 10 minutes til security arrived who also didn't make eye contact, checked my ID and then finally found a key that would work. He then gave the key and walked away - no sorry about the inconvenience, no eye contact, nothing. The room was covered in dust and bathtub was dirty. This was the first time I entered a Westin room where I felt dirty. I kept my socks on and then I went out and bought my own Lysol to spray and clean the bathtub, sink, shower, toilet and phone and remote. The phone was covered in dust, the bathtub handles and base had grime on them. The TV had a film of dust. What became clear was that the cleaning staff just vacuums, changes sheets, towels and moves on to next room. Never have I felt icky at a Westin but I did at this one and it wasn't worth complaining because when I mentioned to maid in hall she just shrugged her shoulders. That is the theme of this hotel. No customer service or passion to provide a pleasant experience at the hotel. The only time I got eye contact was when room service would remind me how the tip included had to be split across the staff and anything additional would be appreciated even though they didn't do anything special. It felt at every turn I was being reminded that the tips included didn't help that person and guilted to provide something more and then when asking for basic service ignored. On check out, I called downstairs asking if I need to reserve a car or taxi as I had a 6 a.m. flight the staff said we have taxi's 24 hours a day so no need. The next morning I went downstairs and it was like a ghost town, nobody, no taxis, no staff. Then finally someone showed up and said they would wave down a taxi. I explained twice I needed one that took American Express and no response. First cab he could flag, he just grabbed my bag and suddenly another hotel guy shows up to open the car door - then I had 2 hotel guys - one putting my bag in the trunk and the other opening the taxi car door both then with hands out for a tip. Then to top it off, the taxi didn't take credit cards and then the guys looked at me and said do you have cash. So frustrating but I needed to get to the airport, so I said fine. As I was riding to airport - I started to look at the cab and the guy driving me wasn't even a licensed cab driver - he had no meter, no license - he was just driving a car with word Taxi on it - I asked the driver and he said he hadn't had time to do the paper work and said nothing else. I couldn't believe the Westin hotel staff would just place a guest into a taxi that clearly was not a licensed taxi and just walk away like no big deal or care in the world about it - again, not their problem. Very unsettling. Anyway, I will never come back to this Westin and have to say this is by far the worst Westin it doesn't live up to the Westin brand. March 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very average and disappointing in some aspects While I excitedly awaited my arrival at the hotel I thought ths was going to be a great two days at a great hotel but your resort didn't live up to expectations. The welcome was not great....a question or two I had was abruptly answered. The room was good, paying for wifi at a hotel like this is ridiculous but I do like the green orientation. The pools were nice and that staff was friendly as we're the parking valets and housekeeping staff. The gift shop was stacked well but the staff bordered on incompetent and one young African American women was very rude. She will remember the incident well....not able to ring up a stupid paper she yelled at a coworker 'just do this for me'....are you kidding me and she wouldn't even apologize. Really? The food was good but your restauant selection was weak. Steak house pretentious except the two bar meals I had were good....Jackie was the best server and best employee I me at the hotel. However your hostesses were not good as one was not friendly and the other I guess was supposed to be eye candy. I would havecsent her home both nights given her dress...not appropriate for a supposedly classy place. The cafe was ok for lunch but the line, and tight space to get the breakfast buffet was a joke....you need a redesign. Indn bother to wait 30 minutes to eat breakfast. The Bar Sue staff was ok....too small a venue. The ingredients staff was not friendly. I could go on but you get the idea. Oh the gym was small too. March 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Preferred Westin In USA For the last 10 years my family visited this property every year. It is the favourite Westin for my kids. Even though it is a huge property and always busy with business conferences, it is also an awesome spot for familes. The Positive: Lobby: Impressive, Expanding Service: Great, People friendly Food; Good Overall Pool area: Awesome. Spa: Fenomenal Location: Best in the area Westin Club: Good Views: Amazing Some space for improvemennt: Rooms: need some improvement Spg Recognition: not always great This property is a dream, We always come back with great expectation. One of the best properties overall in South Florida. August 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Resort I loved everything about this hotel and the staff. The facility is beautiful and right on the beach. My only complaint was the carpet in my room needed to be replaced. It had stains on it and should have been cleaned or replaced. March 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by lovely resort with a few rough edges Don't get me wrong, what's not to like about spending a few winter days in 80 degree weather. The Diplomat did, however, have a few rough edges that need improvement. On check in, only two associates were available at the front desk, while 6 to 8 guests were waiting in line to check in. No one wants to stand in line for 10 minutes before being able to start their weekend vacation. Once in the room, I was surprised to see that the garbage cans from the last guest had not been emptied. Also, a bit of a let down. The facilities were lovely, and the weather delightful, but some improvements need to be made. January 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service at this hotel is extraordinary I stayed at the Westin Diplomat to attend a meeting. The service from every employee was amazing including the front desk, room service, and the parking attendants. In addition, the location is superb....right on the Atlantic Ocean. As an added bonus, the bed was very comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel. March 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Location, Beautiful Hotel, Great Staff! My husband and I stayed at the Westin Diplomat for 5 nights over Spring Break with our two daughters. The hotel was absolutely beautiful from the lobby, to the pool areas, rooms etc. We could not have been more pleased with the services available at the hotel. Room service and restaurant dining was delicious. The rooms were immaculate. But most of all the staff was so accommodating and friendly. We especially appreciated our daily maid service provider who could not have been sweeter, and the ladies at Ingredients who served us every morning. From the front desk to the smiling faces holding the door, we were made to feel like very welcomed guests! Thank you for a lovely stay for our entire family! March 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Wanted to love it.... but didn't I arrived around 10:00pm Sunday, February 9. When my cab pulled up, a bellman grabbed my one back from the trunk and opened my door. Then, when I got out of the car, he handed my bag to me. No offer to assist me. No welcome to the Diplomat. Just handed me my bag. When I left the morning of Wednesday, February 12, I had to hunt down someone to help me get a cab. Again, no assistance was offered with my bag. Nothing. Both my first and last impressions were pretty horrible. The facility is beautiful. The service, not so much. On Monday, February 10, I was in meetings most of the day. I arrived back at my room at 4:30. My room had not been made up. I left at 4:45 and returned at 6:00 and, sometime during this time period, the maid serviced the room. Is Westin trying to save a penny by not having enough staff to service their rooms? And, as for my room on the 34th floor, supposedly a preferred member floor, I was woken every night by either, carts being rolled across the floor above me or maybe it was the elevator - I couldn't figure out exactly what it was that woke me several times during the night but I would not suggest that you put your preferred members there - but since I really don't think I got anything extra for my SPG loyalty, I'm not surprised that no detail has been paid to the rooms assigned. Unfortunately I have to come back for the same conference next year. I'm hoping that something improves or my vote will be to move the conference. February 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Westin does not honor one of its own guarantees! "Best Rates Guaranteed" Thats what I read when I prepaiad for my stay on the Westin's website for my stay at Westin Diplomat. When I informed the staff at the front desk at check in of the lower posted rates (more than $60 less per night) they told me that I must call some phone number (a westin number not specific to the diplomat.) Then the people at that number told me to call a different number regarding this claim. Unfortunately, I was informed that if I click the words "Best Rates Guaranteed" I would see the terms of the guarantee which I did not qualify for as I prepaid and 24 hours have passed. Firstly, "Best Rates Guaranteed" should simply mean that you are getting the guaranteed best rate for the dates that you are staying if they should change. If this is not the specific case, then there should be a footnote with a legend explaining all the terms. I was supposed to click on those words to see the terms, but there was no indication to click on it. Imagine this being a more important contract, certainly those terms would not be binding. I doubt this was a conscious error, probably a mistake by the person making the website. But, it seems like they don't really care. Secondly, the Westin Diplomat made a pathetic attempt to rectify the situation and meet me approximately half way on the rate difference as if I am supposed to be satisfied with that. As I was on vacation, I didn't want to make a huge scene about them flat out stealing my money. Anyway, as I know it is customary for some managers to respond to negative reviews with words such as I'm sorry you had a bad experience etc. save those lame words for others and I expect to be reimbursed. Go to the website yourself and look at the "Best Rates Gauranteed" slogan and ask yourself, "Should I expect a customer to assume this means that best rates are not FULLY guaranteed and that they should click on those wordsif there are terms eventhough there is no indication to click on them? SHAME on Westin and SHAME on the Diplomat not correcting this error! April 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by SUITE VIEWS ARE UNBELIEVABLE My first review ever! Room Comfort: We got the diplomat suite with partial ocean view. I'm glad we got the partial views because during the night time, the city lights are unbelievably beautiful and romantic at the step-out balcony. I truly recommend the suite rooms with partial ocean view and step-out balcony. Staff Met My Needs: Staff checking in was pleasant and friendly as expected. However, the housekeeping wasn't as thorough as I expected. First time was good but 2nd night, she left out complimentary Platinum member waters and tissues on the step out balcony... Room Cleanliness: As expected, nice, clean, and organized. Facilities Met My Expectations: Accessibility of all the facilities are easy and elevators are FAST. SPG Recognition: Only recognized during check in. Club Lounge: One of the best club lounges I have been to so far as a SPG Platinum member!! Staff was attentive and everything is quickly filled when refreshments run out. The lounge also has a great environment for family and kids and an outside balcony to relax and chat. One most important comment: THANK YOU KARIANNE FOR ALL YOUR HELP. SHE IS WONDERFUL!!! March 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by amazing experience This is a great family hotel as well as business hotel. The facilities were fantastic. The staff went above and beyond. I can't wait to go back. February 26, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel is understaffed and degrading Have stayed at this facility once a year with up to 23 others for our annual tennis tourament. This year the hotel shut down the remote hotel, had moved the spa, got rid of newspapers to SPG members, disturbed me at 0800 to cleam my room, had no towels ready for our group of 24 on the tennis courts, no water for us that we had pre paid for, no promised 6 courts initially on the final Saturday, Spa had no cable TV or magazines to read, and to top it off, no one of our guys could get any hot water for any of the rooms shower Saturday Night after 6 hours of tennis and before our awards dinner in the hotel large restaurent meeting room February 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Get with the times In this day and age your front desk should never answer the call from the room refering to the guests as Mr. and Mrs. It could be Mr. and Mr. Mrs and Mrs. or an ummarried couple. I really expect more from the Westin. March 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Unusual Experience Visited this property in 2012 with the family and loved it. Came back here again in 2013 and is has been a disappointment after disappointment. Honestly, I wish I can say otherwise, but the staff needs to appreciate customers especially their Platinum members. Anyhow, we'll be going back to the W Fort Lauderdale for our beach holiday next year where we spent several pleasant stays in the past. December 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by wonderful experience Wonderful experience at the Westin Diplomat for the second time around. Staff in every area helpful and friendly. We enjoyed everything except Valet and hot tubs. Valet drive is a complete disaster! Cars in the middle of the lanes, drivers not sure which car goes where, taxis unloading in the haphazardly. It took 30 minutes for our car at check out, that was with calling ahead for baggage pick up. There was no clear direction for how to enter or where to pick up. With such excellence displayed inside it was a shame to see the front in such disarray. Suggestion- sit in the convention center balcony and watch circulation for a couple of hours for better ideas how to handle the volume coming in and out. unfortunately only one hot tub was functioning. At check in we were not advised. When we went down to enjoy them after walking the entire pool area to find it, it was already occupied with several people. We had difficulty finding the second one to discover it was out of service. That definitely sadden us. March 17, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Eleven things to consider at the Westin Diplomat This property may have four stars for its beach location and outstanding pool. However this poor rating is based on these events in order of occurrence during a three night stay: 1- Some in our group were able to check in while others were sent away to the convention center depending upon who you spoke to at the front desk. 2- I ordered a calamari appetizer to find it was mostly bread crumbs and fried lemon slices. The fried lemon seemed to be left-over dregs. The food at the Rivals Waterfront Sports Grille was terrible and the service was hostile, the first thing the waitress said was the table required five or more people (we had eight). 3- Housekeeping left a voice mail message saying they will not be servicing my room because of the "do not disturb sign." I had no such sign on my door, and when I returned the call the person did not speak English, and hung up. 4- The water in the spa was so dirty you could not see the bottom because of the scum. 5- The concierge was absent, so I used the house phone to call the operator. The house phone rang directly to the concierge desk, that was unmanned. This shows poor management. With the hotel fully booked, why is there only one person answering the phone? 6- We asked the concierge the common question about local dining. She told us we must take a $10 cab, and made no mention of the $1 trolley that stops at the hotel. 7- I asked three different fellows in white uniforms at the front entry drop-off for help hailing a cab. Each one pointed to the guy with a hat. The guy with the hat was a guest at the hotel. Other guests were also frustrated by the confusion here. 8- The omelette chef is amazing, cooking three custom orders simultaneously with impressive skill. It is a mystery why he has no help and must switch out fuel cartridges while a long line of guests wait for food. This is a management decision. 9- On our last day we went to the beach and were prohibited re-entry into our room at 9 AM by the housekeeping staff, even though our keys opened the door. She showed us an "app" on her phone that says we checked out. We had to get the front desk to verify we paid for this room and had not checked out. This is a systematic error indicating bad software or bad management. 10- I was overcharged for internet services. Although the front desk corrected it right away, it is a reasonable expectation to be billed correctly. 11- I left behind an item, due to the confusion with housekeeping (8 above). A call to the front desk connected me again to a non-English hang-up. I reached the lost and found who promised to call back, after several days I have no such call. Most of these problems can be fixed with proper management but other issues deserve careful consideration by potential guests. January 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Two thumbs up Just spent 5 nights (Mar 14-19) at the Westin Diplomat Hollywood. I can absolutely confirm that the property extends every courtesy to SPG status members (Golds and Plats). I was upgraded to a club floor oceanfront room. Our request for connecting rooms was honored. CHECK-IN Check-in was a breeze as we didn't check in until 830PM after the normal rush. The associates at check-in readily recognized SPG status and were extremely warm and gracious. ROOM The room was breathtaking featuring an amazing view of the beach and ocean. With rooms like that, you almost feel guilty not spending more time in the room as opposed to the beach. CLUB LOUNGE The Club Lounge had an excellent breakfast selection offering a great buffet in wonderful surroundings featuring indoor and outdoor seating options and stunning ocean and city views. My only "complaint" (if it is even one) is that breakfast was removed promptly at 10AM even on the weekend. Imagine filling your glass with OJ at 9:59AM with a server standing so close to you you can feel his breath with both hands positioned over the juice dispenser ready to yank it away from you (all the while smiling at you). CABANAS/BEACH I asked the Ambassador to inquire about cabanas. She placed a hold on a cabana for us but upon inspection, we felt it wasn't for us as it was poolside as opposed to the beach (we're more beach than pool people). On the beach, however, a local company (Boucher Brothers) operates a concession in cooperation with the Westin Diplomat and beach umbrellas, chairs and beach "beds" are available for rent on a daily basis. Payment can be charged to credit cards or signed to your room. The Boucher Brothers staff were very helpful and attentive. RESTAURANT The bar and restaurant on the beach was very convenient with uninflated pricing. Service was very good and the quality of the food and beverages were great. SPA The Heavenly Spa facilities are truly amazing -- probably one of the nicest spas we have ever visited. The massages, however, were not up to par (our only 'complaint' if there has to be one) as the massage therapists skills did not match her enthusiasm. The massage felt more like a vigorous massage lotion application than an actual massage targeting specific muscles. Despite that (relatively minor) issue, the rest of the stay was truly excellent. Where else do you get every Service Express associate greeting you warmly not just by name but following up on requests both efficiently and promptly? PARKING We opted for valet parking for $25 a night. My concern with valet parking for a property of this size is efficiency because during peak times, it can take a long while for vehicles to be brought forward. I was assured at check-in that cars would be brought up efficiently ("under 10 minutes"). I was shocked that this was absolutely the case. The valet staff are probably the most friendly and efficient I have ever encountered -- they didn't just get your car, they ran to get your car. We generally contacted Service Express to get the car brought up right before heading down and without exception, the car was there when we arrived at the door -- generally 5-8 minutes from the time we called Service Express. Self-parking was also available but that seemed to be across the street which, while convenient, was probably more of a hassle than just getting valet service. CONCLUSION The one thing I have to say about this property, however, is how incredibly warm and friendly the staff generally were. From the valet to the doormen to the front desk associates to service express and even security, every associate along the way was incredibly friendly to all guests. Access to the pool area and beachfront during busy times is controlled by security upon presentation of a room key. Even the security staffing the various access points were friendly. A true 10/10 stay. March 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A new favorite I stayed at the Diplomat this weekend for a quick trip with some friends, and was overly pleased with my stay. The hotel was beautiful and very well maintained. This quickly has become one of my favorite hotels I've stayed in, and will likely return. Even though the building is huge, it's very easy and quick to get around, with an ample number of elevators. The beach is narrow, but it was not difficult to find seating. The rooms were spacious and well appointed. Only issues were a long check in line, and the operator not recognizing SPG platinum status when calling to request new waters (just forwarded to room service). Also note - if you plan on sitting out in the sun, get out early - the height of the building blocks it starting mid-afternoon (in March at least) March 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by still one of the best! I stayed at 300+ different 5star hotels around the world, but Westin Diplomat is my favorite! I discovered it 8 years ago and since then I stayed in it many times. And never been disappointed. SPG lounge is just the best I ever seen. Huge, with great views and service, well- decorated. Rooms are beautiful.SPG recognition perfect. Hotel building and resort design with 2 levels pool is astounding. Yes, sometimes there are some small troubles like 40-min waiting for check-in or luggage or valet, or noisy neighbors, but I agree to close my eyes for many to have pleasure to stay there. Use selfparking - its just $20/day (take card key at reception), and no need to pay and wait for valet. Thank you to all the team of this wonderful resort for consistently high level of service! I'll be back with first opportunity for sure! July 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding! I am not a fan of hotels. I don't like to stay there. That being said I found this to be an exception and my stay with this hotel was fabulous. Clean (I am a clean freak), pleasant surroundings and a staff that aims to please. Could not ask for more. Highly recommend this hotel! March 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by The Worst Hotel I have ever stayed in. At first glance the hotel is impressive. But after waiting over 35 minutes to check in, it went down hill quickly. We arrived in our room, went to lie down and relax and there is was....stains on the sheets. Then we relized the toilet handle was broken and did not flush. We called the front desk and they were not overly apologetic. Told us we had to go back down to the lobby to change our room "to a comperable" room. Unacceptable. They finally changed our room to a beach view room. Sounds great but once inside the sheets and throw pillow had makeup stains, the sliding doors to the bathtub were off the track and the tv wasn't working. After moving the furniture we realized the tv and other items were unplugged. The next morning we realized the refrigerator was broken and the food we placed inside spoiled. We couldn't wait to leave. Now we need a vacation from our vacation. June 17, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 33 next>>