The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

  • 3555 South Ocean Drive
  • Hollywood,
  • Florida
  • 33019
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve and to check-in to a room.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 1238 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel Had a great time the weekend my family spent at the hotel August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Buyer / Purchasing Agent Overall everything was excellent. The breakfast buffet price is too high. August 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Unusual Experience Visited this property in 2012 with the family and loved it. Came back here again in 2013 and is has been a disappointment after disappointment. Honestly, I wish I can say otherwise, but the staff needs to appreciate customers especially their Platinum members. Anyhow, we'll be going back to the W Fort Lauderdale for our beach holiday next year where we spent several pleasant stays in the past. December 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really nice hotel THe facilities are first rate. Fitness room has almost everything you would want. Rooms & maid service were excellent. My only complait is that the meeting rooms were way too cold. It was not jut me, everyone over the three day periond was complainin July 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not quite what i expected.... Many people praise this hotel if they are PLAT as they have allot of suites so your chances of an upgrade are excellent, on that front it was fine we received a corner suite. What I didn't like about the hotel was the location and a maintenance issue that took 2 days to resolve itself. The location problem is that it is located in what I can only describe as a condo jungle. Its nothing but huge condo buildings and not much else. Not even restaurants or a place to go for a walk. So if you want to go eat you have to drive, and usually 10+ minutes to find half decent places on US1. Also, these huge buildings blocked out allot of the sun for a good portion of the day. If you happen to get the north building you will hear not the waves crashing below but the incredibly loud a/c unit of the building next door. Plus beach access is out through the South building so its a hike just to get to the pool. Also if there is an event (wedding in our case) you are prevented from direct access to the beach due to the ceremony area being dead centre to the beach access. Finally the breakfast in the lounge is fine but the hors d'oevres in the evening aren't much, and its like feeding time at the zoo, at 5:30 PM when it opens. Get there say at 6:30, its very picked over and the staff told us they wont replenish it. Finally there is a flaw in the controllers (thermostat) for the a/c units. We had an issue with our unit only allowed to be in the AUTO setting, putting the fan to low or high just didn't work. So all night the a/c went off and on as the room reached temp, thus the room temp and activation occurred through out the night, meaning a lousy nights sleep. I called the front desk, they said maintenance would fix the issue. Back to the room at night and the problem seemed fixed. Accept as soon as we turned the temp down at night it happened again (we didn't discover this until about 2:30 AM). So I called to speak to someone in service and they then talked to someone in maintenance, they told us that when they fixed the unit the first night he should have told us that it wasn't totally fixed, that when you changes the temp settings you needed to reset all other settings as well. A note explaining this would have prevented a second lousy night sleep. With this knowledge in hand we slept well on the third night. Upon check out I mentioned this to the CSA and the only response was we will have maintenance look at it again. Anyways my expectations for Cat 5 hotel were not met. The room was very nice, but if you go as a PLAT insist on the South building as you may be able to hear the waves there. November 1, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Hotel The staff and front desk MGR Lynn are awesome and dedicated that you will enjoy your stay. The SPG PLAT benefits are #1 (love the upgrades without even asking). Amazing lobby and views from the south tower. Need for improvements: -They do need to clean the pool more often. August 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs much improvement Check in took entirely to long, over 1 hr. severely understaffed. Mngmt knew well in advance the number of people in our group. rooms were not ready in sufficient time to get ready for Fri. Activities. no one called to advise room ready, had to keep checking front desk. Maid service on Sat did not show up till 5 while we were getting ready for evening activities. Sat. evening staff rushed to clear tables and while visiting and dancing drinks paid for were removed. spoke with banquet captin and he replaced and asked for my comments. check out was yet another nightmare called 3 times for luggage assistance 3rd time told there was no call on schedule. would send someone right away. finally came and then waited 45 min. till car showed up. 1st call @10:15 for car & luggage loaded car @ 11:30. Severely understaffed & under trained August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Consultant Been here before, no surprises, it was great as before. August 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by WHAT A BEAUTIFUL STAY FOR ME AND MY FAMILY!! THE EDISON REUNION WAS THE BEST SINCE INCEPTION IN 1977!! WE "RED RAIDERS"LOVED IT. I HAD MY TWIN SONS AND THEIR FAMILIES IN FOR 3NTS AND MYSELF FOR 4 NTS,AND WE ENJOYED ALL THE FACILITIES AND JUERGON HELPED TREMENDOUSLY WITH MY TWINS 47TH BIRTHDAY CELEBRATION AND CAKE! I SHOULD SAY THE WORD IS SCRUMPTUOS!! THANKS TO ALL FOR A WONDERFUL STAY!! WE WILL BE BACK!! GOD BLESS !! August 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great convention hotel. . .but dont come here for special occasions (my bday and no one seemed to care) This was our first time staying here and felt it was a really nice resort. . but was more of a great convention hotel.... it really felt large and there were a lot of people. We stayed a Friday night after we had flown into FLL and decided to check this hotel out as there is a conference that I most likely will attend that takes place here every January. In any case we were upgraded to nice room (I actually had to ask for comp upgrade as it wasnt given to me despite platinum level (rm (3267) with beautiful view and balcony. The room was standard Westin quality (i.e. wonderful). There is a club lounge on 33rd floor which has breakfast and drinks/snacks in late afternoon so that is always a plus. LAYOUT/HOTEL FEEL: the hotel has a lot of people but the pools are nicely spaced out and laid out but you could still feel and see the many people that stay here. . .kids and families etc. SERVICE: It was ok but I told everyone it was my birthday and the staff including the front desk ( ia asked for comp upgrade first based on platinum level and then after he found something i mentioned my bday) and bartenders (i told her it was my bday) didnt go out of their way to give me a nice bday gift (ie one comp drink goes a long way and isnt a big deal when you are trying to convey luxury and service) SUMMARY: We liked this hotel but overall its our "type" of hotel as very large convention hotel and the fort lauderdale/Florida we feel is over-rated and over-priced (was nice but very expensive with charges for beach chairs/umbrellas etc everything) and prefer FLL W hotel or W South Beach. Bottom line: would we object to staying here . . well no but wouldnt be our first choice as it feels large and impersonal and the service shows that/conveys that feeling August 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Class review Accommodations were pretty good overall. Class reunion held here. The food for our Saturday night meal was not acceptable in my book and many others whom I spoke with. Friday dinner buffet was wonderful! The beaches were nice. The acoustics in your Halls was absolutely horrible. Could not understand anything that was said. August 13, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Over-rated/Under-performing Our stay at the Diplomat was a qualified disaster. You guys nickel-and-dime your guests to death. Requiring payment for wi-fi is outrageous. Even $50 a night motels provide free wi-fi and free parking. There were numerous other short-comings at your hotel but enumerating them would identify myself and my friends. We will not be using your facility again and won't be offering any positive recommendations to anyone who might ask. August 11, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad Experience My stay was fabulous until today, I was charged $7.63 for an item from the honor bar, which I did not do. I feel like you are treating me as a liar, which I don't appreciate. I don't use honor bars, never have, and now I am being accused of using something I did not. I am extremely upset about this even if it is only $7.63. It is the principal..If I had taken something from the bar I would gladly pay for it, but for you to say I did and just charge me for it is inexcuseable. How do you know the housekeeping department didn't take it and hit me with the charge. I am really upset about this and my recommendation would be to remove all honor bars from rooms as it is certainly not an honor to be treated in such a manner. September 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by AWESOME LOCATION Since 2009 we have been visiting Westin and we will continue to do so. The one place that even a weekend get away seem like a week. August 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Noisy Room This room (2164) is adjacent to the elevators. You can hear the elevators going up and down the shaft and this disrupts sleep. NEVER, EVER AGAIN WILL I STAY AT THE WESTIN, ANYWHERE. March 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this hotel Excellent hotel...excellent rooms and location. August 15, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by buisness travel rethink arriving at the hotel the room was paid for through the company, i handed over my personal credit card for security purposes and they charged the full room to my personal credit card, so i was double charged and leaving me no money for my entire stay. the front desk also passed out my room key to other customers resulting in security having to come up to my room because of the mix up, then security had to wake us up at 7am the following morning because previous guests left stuff in our safe. not to mention going to the bar and handing the waitress my credit card for her to lose it on the bar floor. July 30, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by DROP IN SERVICE Wow! I went to this hotel for many years and always had a great time and loved the service. I went this time and the service dropped. I am a gold member with SPG and it does not make any difference with this hotel. They told me that there are no upgrades and when I called SPG they told me they are plenty. They are don't give pool towels on the lower pool level and they only give 2 towels per person on the top pool . They don't smile when you come in, and if you are a gold with SPG they will not give you the club level or breakfast in the morning. I have been to many hotels and never seen such a drop in service like this hotel. Warning you can do alot better in other hotels for your money. Stay away if you like good service. January 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by I've Seen Better For this to be a five star hotel the check-in process was horrible. Rooms weren't ready at 4pm or neither did I receive a courtesy call in a timely manner. The rooms were average,but I've stayed better that weren't five star hotels. Expensive as the rooms were you would think WiFi was free and every room would've had a microwave....NOT! August 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel We went to this hotel to a convetion that I have for job purposes and i went with my family and stay for 3 days the hotel is beautiful, the staff is very friendly and nice the room are very confortable and the slip quality is excelent, nice beach and nice pool. August 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Restaurants My stay at your hotel was fun. I encounter one incident at the lobby bar where on Friday night my friend offer to buy me a glass of wine. I chose one from the selection across from me. When my friend got the check he made fun of my test because the price of the wine $25. The next night he offer to buy me another wine glass, I said, hey get me one of those $25 glasses of wine. Since he did not know what I had ordered the night before he asked the bartender to help him with the wine list. my friend found out that the most expensive glass of wine on the list was $15. My friend feel that we were over charged the night before by the female bartender. The night in question was 8/1/14. Other than that we will come back to your hotels. Thank you August 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Heavenly Westin Happiness!! The stay was for a corporate meeting and it was really a fantastic experience. The hotel and staff provided the best food and beverage and meeting and conference facilities that exist in the market today. I recommend this resort to anyone working or enjoying a stay in South Florida!! Thanks to the staff! Mark July 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 1st time stay Could not have been happier with the accommodations and service. July 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staycation! Gloria on the 8th Floor was amazing ! The entire pool staff really provided amazing service, Jason was so personal and on every detail at the Cabana, our group raved about his willingness create memories. July 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Spa Disappointment - but great staff in hotel I travel a lot and like to let hotel management know when service and staff are great and when it isn't. This is a dichotomous review with both good and bad, but where the bad, just ruined my entire impression. Hotel staff was excellent, and Dave at check in was fantastic. Made us feel appreciated and was simply great. Room was also great. Our big complaint was the spa. While I golfed, my partner used the spa where she received a massage and facial. Only when we got the bill at check out, did we see a charge for "spa other" of $50.00 for treatments that totaled $187.00. This amounts to an almost 30% service charge (I see online it mentions a 20% service charge) on top of the tip for the staff performing the service. When queried about the charge, we were told it was stated in the brochure, and on checking it was -on the back page, in print so small it was ridiculous. It is simply deceptive, and outrageous as far as I am concerned. It you want to include the service charge, just put it into the price and state it includes a 28% service charge. In addition, the spa staff was about as snooty and condescending as could be and services mediocre. As someone who travels over 100k miles a year and spends way to many nights in hotels, it soured my otherwise nice experience in this hotel. And it wasn't so much the money as the deception and attitude of the staff. December 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Desk Service I sent this letter to the manager of desk services -- I just wanted to write you a note about a very special experience I had with (employee name). I arrived on Wednesday, February 12 attending a conference at your hotel. My husband’s 60th birthday is on February 15 and I was planning to have a surprise birthday trip for him. When I entered the room I was so disappointed. I was hoping to have an ocean view, but if not an ocean view at least a balcony. The room a got faced another building and without a balcony. I know when I check in they said the hotel was booked, but I hoped I would have a better option. If it was just me, it wouldn’t have made a difference but for my husband’s birthday I was hoping for a great experience. That’s when I met (employee name). My savior! I went back downstairs and asked her if she could help me. I explained my situation and really wanted to see if my room could be switched. She said she would try, but the hotel was booked. She looked and looked and found one room available that was an ocean view and had a balcony!!!! The story is really about (employee name). She took a personal interest in me. I felt that I was not just a guest, but that she really cared to make sure my stay was exactly how I imagined it would be. When I first came up to her desk, she met me with a smile, listened to me and her goal was to make me happy. When she found the room and I was all set up, I thanked her, she said something that is so truly unique in this day and age, she said, “No thanks needed, I’m here to make your dream of how you imagined your stay to be come true.” How can you top that!!! She took a personal interested in making sure I was happy. I really wanted someone to know what a dedicated employee you have in (employee name). She’s special. February 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonder stay despite the weather Great family vacation at this Westin despite the weather. The pools were great! The water was warm and we all had fun despite the weather. We did read the reviews about the expensive prices for food and drink. This is true but you could get all you want within walking distance and we had a fridge in the room. Also, the beach was wonderful. We had two days of sun and even played in the surf during overcast days. The room was wonderful. Totally recommend a suite for a family of four. The staff was extremely friendly. We all hope to go back. December 3, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by my stay bad room ready time,friends room 2504 had somebody eleses hair on pillow & sheet was rikelled..your parking garage needs more instructions how to get out & how to process the paid bill card. the only good thing was MR.lynns help & efficencey. in getting us a room which was 2506 you need more people like him August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Relaxing This was my first time staying at the Westin Diplomat, even though I have lived in South Florida for quite some time, and I really should have visited sooner. The lobby is extravagantly decorated and the front desk had very friendly personnel to match. Amanda at the front desk was amazing and tended to my every need without even needing to ask. Overall, I enjoyed my stay with my family and will definitely be coming back for a getaway with my girlfriend. Thanks Diplomat! July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Weekend Getaway I stayed at the Westin Diplomat for 3 nights for a little weekend getaway. I loved it! My room was comfortable and quiet, the bathroom was clean and the staff was great bringing fresh towels and servicing the room daily. I ordered room service one night: broiled shrimp caesar salad and a side of fries, the food was delivered quickly and was fresh and delicious. I will stay at this hotel every time I am in South Florida August 8, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 42 next>>