The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

  • 3555 South Ocean Drive
  • Hollywood,
  • Florida
  • 33019
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve and to check-in to a room.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 1228 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by The hotel was in a good location and a beautiful property Herff Jones group had a good time during our conference August 4, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Westin does not honor one of its own guarantees! "Best Rates Guaranteed" Thats what I read when I prepaiad for my stay on the Westin's website for my stay at Westin Diplomat. When I informed the staff at the front desk at check in of the lower posted rates (more than $60 less per night) they told me that I must call some phone number (a westin number not specific to the diplomat.) Then the people at that number told me to call a different number regarding this claim. Unfortunately, I was informed that if I click the words "Best Rates Guaranteed" I would see the terms of the guarantee which I did not qualify for as I prepaid and 24 hours have passed. Firstly, "Best Rates Guaranteed" should simply mean that you are getting the guaranteed best rate for the dates that you are staying if they should change. If this is not the specific case, then there should be a footnote with a legend explaining all the terms. I was supposed to click on those words to see the terms, but there was no indication to click on it. Imagine this being a more important contract, certainly those terms would not be binding. I doubt this was a conscious error, probably a mistake by the person making the website. But, it seems like they don't really care. Secondly, the Westin Diplomat made a pathetic attempt to rectify the situation and meet me approximately half way on the rate difference as if I am supposed to be satisfied with that. As I was on vacation, I didn't want to make a huge scene about them flat out stealing my money. Anyway, as I know it is customary for some managers to respond to negative reviews with words such as I'm sorry you had a bad experience etc. save those lame words for others and I expect to be reimbursed. Go to the website yourself and look at the "Best Rates Gauranteed" slogan and ask yourself, "Should I expect a customer to assume this means that best rates are not FULLY guaranteed and that they should click on those wordsif there are terms eventhough there is no indication to click on them? SHAME on Westin and SHAME on the Diplomat not correcting this error! April 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Anniversary Get Away !! We escaped from our home on the west coast of Florida for an anniversary get away to the east coast. Hollywood was a new destination so we were not sure about where to stay, we definitely picked a winner. We will go back for sure. From check in with Gretchen (she is a Westin Rock Star !!) , to Shawnee at RIvals all of the staff was great. Thanks Westin ! August 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by employees Employees walked in room without knocking three times. August 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Standout Among Westin Destinations From the moment you walk in, the Diplomat stands out from other Westin destinations. The stunning lobby; the courteous staff; the well-appointed rooms; the top-shelf executive lounge; the soothing spa; the vibrant health club. But what really inspires are the pools and the spectacular blue-green ocean. Always sad to leave but energized to return! August 1, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by What a disappointment We stayed at this hotel for a family function.The property is visually attractive and the room was nice. However we were stunned that things that come standard at other properties were all at a fee. Sitting on the beach, wifi complimentary coffee or water that was openly displayed and not in the honor bar were all at a cost. We were charged over $7.00 for 2 cups of coffee and bottled water that was openly displayed without a price tag. At this point it is insulting to the customer who is all ready paying for a premium hotel experience to have to pay for simple, inexpensive items that are truly complimentary at value chains. There is a lot of competition in the Florida resort industry and the Westin should rethink their policies. October 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel is understaffed and degrading Have stayed at this facility once a year with up to 23 others for our annual tennis tourament. This year the hotel shut down the remote hotel, had moved the spa, got rid of newspapers to SPG members, disturbed me at 0800 to cleam my room, had no towels ready for our group of 24 on the tennis courts, no water for us that we had pre paid for, no promised 6 courts initially on the final Saturday, Spa had no cable TV or magazines to read, and to top it off, no one of our guys could get any hot water for any of the rooms shower Saturday Night after 6 hours of tennis and before our awards dinner in the hotel large restaurent meeting room February 18, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Ugh! Wow, what a disappointment. The room was dirty. The maid told me that no one cleans the rooms but only replaces towels. The front desk said they would send someone to deep clean but no one showed up. Then the noise from the balcony sliders was like rolling thunder. And, the roar from the road was loud even on the 30th floor. The person next door not only smoked, but had a dog, knocked on the walls and yelled every night. I called the front desk 3 times before they sent security. Huge disappointment. I would not recommend this hotel. February 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Relaxing This was my first time staying at the Westin Diplomat, even though I have lived in South Florida for quite some time, and I really should have visited sooner. The lobby is extravagantly decorated and the front desk had very friendly personnel to match. Amanda at the front desk was amazing and tended to my every need without even needing to ask. Overall, I enjoyed my stay with my family and will definitely be coming back for a getaway with my girlfriend. Thanks Diplomat! July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The fourth The experience was superb like always. I was able to get a room at the last minute with all my needs met. Room and view choice! The staff were great from the valet to house keeping and everyone in between. I will most definitely continue to stay at this hotel when I an in the area. July 8, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rude hotel staff Business must be very good in Hollywood, FL when the Diplomat's staff - across the board - can afford being so snoody. I upgraded from a reservation with two double beds to a suite, but now got a bed plus a pull-out. The hotel was very slow to even interest itself for how to resolve. The A/C in the suite was not working properly, so there was a gale in the main room, cooling it down to uncomfortable temperature. When accessing the pool, all 4 of us, I reached for a towel, only to have the caretaker tell me "only 2 towels per person!" I responded, "OK, then", and then started taking two for each, and even though we were right in front of the guy, he quizzed me how many we were. Very rude and conduct unbecoming a Westin. It was my 4th stay at the hotel. All 3 previous experiences were wonderful, but this one was simply unacceptable. I am SPG Platinum. December 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel This hotel ranks right up there with one of our favourite places to stay. Each year we make it a point to stay at the Diplomat. We have always had great service at this hotel. I would like to personal extend a thank you to Mauricio (club floor) is the best. We left a package behind (which we had completely forgotten about) and he ensured that we got it. The Diplomat has a great beach and is close for shopping and at the end of the day if you just want to get lost in paradise, you can. The only negative we had was a meal at Rivals. Other than that, great as usual. April 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel was excellent Very clean rooms. Staff was extremely courteous. July 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best stay I have ever had I loved everything about this hotel from the service to the room. I was overjoyed with each aspect and will return as soon as I can. The beauty of this hotel was also great there were so many things I did not get to do and one of the many reasons I want to return.. July 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad Management makes for Bad experience Celebrated 25th anniversary in a room with double beds that smelled of smoke with stained coverlets, peeling wallpaper and red marks on wall. Coverlet was changed but front desk clerk stated that demand is so high they just don't have time to make repairs. Requested room change to King bed was like pulling teeth. Ended up in the same room with double beds the whole weekend Front Desk Clerk told me I was only a Gold member. I am SPG Platinum, (have been all year) but was admonished by the front desk clerk that I was only a Gold member because I had not stayed enough nights and I should just stay more nights. Had dinner reservations. Valet service brought car to front then lost the keys. Waited almost an hour for them to find them. Management failed to follow up with me for my entire 3 night stay about these and other issues as requested by Platinum Concierge. Poor customer relations. Problems occur. That is just how thing happen sometimes. It is how those problems are handled that make a huge impact. I believe the mark of a great hotel is not just good customer service when they are slow, anyone can do that, but the ability to give good service when there is a heavier demand. That is what makes a hotel exceptional. The Westin Diplomat did not meet those standards. If all is going well with your stay, great! Enjoy! If there are issues, don't expect much concern or response from management at this hotel. July 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by beautiful hotel the hotel was one of the nicest I have seen in southern Florida. The food and beverage costs are way to much. It was actually cheaper to get a drink from the mini bar instead of any restaurant bar. July 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My 2nd Stay, It's only gotten better This is the 2nd time I've stayed at this hotel. I was here last year for 3 days, this time around 5. My review last year on TripAdvisor: “The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa in Hollywood, Fl. As always, it's where you belong!” still stands true. "The Dip" is what I call a fully loaded hotel. Great restaurants, a fantastic pool as well as a phenomenal view (more so on the ocean side, that has to be said) The higher you go, the better, but to be honest, there are no bad angles on this place. The aqua blue & white building which kinda resembles a game cartridge from the 1980's is situated in what I feel to be a prime area in Hollywood, Florida. I had a rent-a-car so heading over to Aventura Mall, or Gulfstream racetrack & Casino was only a 5 minute drive away. Food wise there are many selections. If you're like me, you avoid all nationwide brands & stick with the mom & pop spots for good eats. Back to the hotel, upon entering you're greeted with what basically looks like paradise indoors. Super tall palm trees and a semi reflective floor compliment a fountain that's the centerpiece of the lobby. The place is beautiful, and busy. You will see the ebb & flow of guest coming in & out of the place. It's easy to see that this hotel never sleeps. The pools are a major draw, although I didn't get to swim in them as much as I had wanted to it's an amazing site to see a pool of that size that is always open. I remember taking a peek off my balcony at 3am to see some kids & adults still swimming in it. It's one of those moments that truly put a smile on my face. I will likely be returning to this establishment for my birthday in December. I'm sure I'll enjoy it more as I should be there longer, not to mention it'll be cold in NYC so I'll be very welcoming of the hot Florida weather in December. If you've been on the fence about this place, I'm telling you to pull the trigger & check it out. It's worth it for so many reasons. July 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by still one of the best! I stayed at 300+ different 5star hotels around the world, but Westin Diplomat is my favorite! I discovered it 8 years ago and since then I stayed in it many times. And never been disappointed. SPG lounge is just the best I ever seen. Huge, with great views and service, well- decorated. Rooms are beautiful.SPG recognition perfect. Hotel building and resort design with 2 levels pool is astounding. Yes, sometimes there are some small troubles like 40-min waiting for check-in or luggage or valet, or noisy neighbors, but I agree to close my eyes for many to have pleasure to stay there. Use selfparking - its just $20/day (take card key at reception), and no need to pay and wait for valet. Thank you to all the team of this wonderful resort for consistently high level of service! I'll be back with first opportunity for sure! July 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by lovely resort with a few rough edges Don't get me wrong, what's not to like about spending a few winter days in 80 degree weather. The Diplomat did, however, have a few rough edges that need improvement. On check in, only two associates were available at the front desk, while 6 to 8 guests were waiting in line to check in. No one wants to stand in line for 10 minutes before being able to start their weekend vacation. Once in the room, I was surprised to see that the garbage cans from the last guest had not been emptied. Also, a bit of a let down. The facilities were lovely, and the weather delightful, but some improvements need to be made. January 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by The Worst Hotel I have ever stayed in. At first glance the hotel is impressive. But after waiting over 35 minutes to check in, it went down hill quickly. We arrived in our room, went to lie down and relax and there is was....stains on the sheets. Then we relized the toilet handle was broken and did not flush. We called the front desk and they were not overly apologetic. Told us we had to go back down to the lobby to change our room "to a comperable" room. Unacceptable. They finally changed our room to a beach view room. Sounds great but once inside the sheets and throw pillow had makeup stains, the sliding doors to the bathtub were off the track and the tv wasn't working. After moving the furniture we realized the tv and other items were unplugged. The next morning we realized the refrigerator was broken and the food we placed inside spoiled. We couldn't wait to leave. Now we need a vacation from our vacation. June 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Unusual Experience Visited this property in 2012 with the family and loved it. Came back here again in 2013 and is has been a disappointment after disappointment. Honestly, I wish I can say otherwise, but the staff needs to appreciate customers especially their Platinum members. Anyhow, we'll be going back to the W Fort Lauderdale for our beach holiday next year where we spent several pleasant stays in the past. December 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel could used some work I may recommend but tell future guests to be sure to lock the doors. July 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by June 20th to 23rd Stay HMMMM The hotel is beautiful asthetically and a great location on the beach. However, my husband and I were NOT pleased with the service of most of the staff and how they answered our requests which were not very demanding. Very disappointed in such a highly rated hotel. We have stayed at the same star rating and lesser star ratings and recieved much better service and included ammenities, like free WiFi and ability to print boarding passes at no charge June 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not quite what i expected.... Many people praise this hotel if they are PLAT as they have allot of suites so your chances of an upgrade are excellent, on that front it was fine we received a corner suite. What I didn't like about the hotel was the location and a maintenance issue that took 2 days to resolve itself. The location problem is that it is located in what I can only describe as a condo jungle. Its nothing but huge condo buildings and not much else. Not even restaurants or a place to go for a walk. So if you want to go eat you have to drive, and usually 10+ minutes to find half decent places on US1. Also, these huge buildings blocked out allot of the sun for a good portion of the day. If you happen to get the north building you will hear not the waves crashing below but the incredibly loud a/c unit of the building next door. Plus beach access is out through the South building so its a hike just to get to the pool. Also if there is an event (wedding in our case) you are prevented from direct access to the beach due to the ceremony area being dead centre to the beach access. Finally the breakfast in the lounge is fine but the hors d'oevres in the evening aren't much, and its like feeding time at the zoo, at 5:30 PM when it opens. Get there say at 6:30, its very picked over and the staff told us they wont replenish it. Finally there is a flaw in the controllers (thermostat) for the a/c units. We had an issue with our unit only allowed to be in the AUTO setting, putting the fan to low or high just didn't work. So all night the a/c went off and on as the room reached temp, thus the room temp and activation occurred through out the night, meaning a lousy nights sleep. I called the front desk, they said maintenance would fix the issue. Back to the room at night and the problem seemed fixed. Accept as soon as we turned the temp down at night it happened again (we didn't discover this until about 2:30 AM). So I called to speak to someone in service and they then talked to someone in maintenance, they told us that when they fixed the unit the first night he should have told us that it wasn't totally fixed, that when you changes the temp settings you needed to reset all other settings as well. A note explaining this would have prevented a second lousy night sleep. With this knowledge in hand we slept well on the third night. Upon check out I mentioned this to the CSA and the only response was we will have maintenance look at it again. Anyways my expectations for Cat 5 hotel were not met. The room was very nice, but if you go as a PLAT insist on the South building as you may be able to hear the waves there. November 1, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best hotel in south Florida I was here for business and had an amazing experience. I'm going to miss this place. July 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Rude staff and Valet Had numerous problems over my stay, including a rude host at fron desk and the vlaent ended up hanging up on us when we were standed with 3 kids on the street trying to get a cab. I spent more time at the front desk then I did enjoying the hotel. Ice machine was broken, got locked out of my room and took 30 min to get a new key with 3 kids waiting. Not the experience I would like and as a gold member very disapointed!! July 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disatisfied We have been consistently staying at the Diplomat for years now, often on holidays. Guests were always welcomed in the past, this time I was informed upon check-in that guests were not allowed. The guy giving the towels often argued with me on how many towels he could give me. I was given a 3pm check out but my access and several others' access to their rooms were discontinued prior to 2pm. The baggage guy was extremely rude when we asked him if they could hold our bags after our check out. We were not the only ones dissatisfied this weekend, several people commented on how this weekend was a disaster at the hotel. We were very disappointed and likely will not return. July 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad Experience My stay was fabulous until today, I was charged $7.63 for an item from the honor bar, which I did not do. I feel like you are treating me as a liar, which I don't appreciate. I don't use honor bars, never have, and now I am being accused of using something I did not. I am extremely upset about this even if it is only $7.63. It is the principal..If I had taken something from the bar I would gladly pay for it, but for you to say I did and just charge me for it is inexcuseable. How do you know the housekeeping department didn't take it and hit me with the charge. I am really upset about this and my recommendation would be to remove all honor bars from rooms as it is certainly not an honor to be treated in such a manner. September 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Satisfactory I've stayed at this hotel many times over the last 10 years and this time I was just not impressed. The hotel was overcrowded, you couldn't even find a chair at the pool. The beach charges $42 a day to use 2 chairs and an umbrella. The beach no longer has food and beverage service. The cafe in the lobby was out of everything that we ordered. The birds are obnoxious at the outdoor restaurant. I would not recommend this hotel. July 22, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Noisy Room This room (2164) is adjacent to the elevators. You can hear the elevators going up and down the shaft and this disrupts sleep. NEVER, EVER AGAIN WILL I STAY AT THE WESTIN, ANYWHERE. March 1, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 42 next>>