The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

  • 3555 South Ocean Drive
  • Hollywood,
  • Florida
  • 33019
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve and to check-in to a room.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 1241 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great ambiance This hotel makes you feel like you are truly on vacation. Impeccable service, friendly staff, clean beach and beautiful accommodations. June 24, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed this time around I stayed here with my wife 2 years ago and was blown away by how wonderful the accommodations were. We left after that vacation with nothing but good things to say about the hotel, and recommended it to many of our friends. Unfortunately, this time around, we were far from impressed. The room was dirty upon arrival (hairs in the tub, 1 of the 2 complimentary water bottles was half empty, stains on the towels, and on our last night there we discovered a dirty sock that WAS NOT ours in the sheets). Strangely enough, there were also crumbs in the iron - no idea why! Moreover, while not the hotel's fault, there was a water main break in the area and we were forced to brush our teeth and wash our face with bottled water. However, the hotel did not provide enough bottled water and ran out so we went out and purchased our own. Over the four days that we were there we were never updated on the status of the water and if we were allowed to drink it. The water was brown in the toilet and in glass cups and really grossed us out. We requested and had approved a 4:00 checkout time (gold status perk), however, when we came back to the room to checkout at around 3:00 we found that our keys had been turned off and had to wait 15-20 minutes for security to open the door for us to OUR OWN ROOM! Overall, the Diplomat is still a nice hotel, but our recent stay really has us thinking if we will ever go back there. October 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location and amazing staff After couple days in April we decided to go back for a few days in May for a long weekend. Suite was amazing and every service and staff for the hotel make sure that you are comfortable and happy. Hotel worth every dollar that you may spend. Club lounge breakfast is very good, pool service and the restaurant are very good as well. Special thank you for Maria from housekeeping, Lonetta from front desk and Karianne from guest relations. Hotel is a short drive from Fort Lauderdale airport. Excellent hotel and my family and i will be back soon. May 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Used to be such a great experience This was my third stay at The Westin Diplomat and it has gone downhill with each stay. We could have selected any hotel in Hollywood, but we chose the Westin because I am an SPG member and with a 5 night stay the points would be great. Well, we found out the week before we were set to arrive that because we booked through a travel agent I would not be getting any points. At check-in I requested a club room floor in lieu of my points and I was told they were for gold and platinum guests, but later spoke to several conference attendees that were at the hotel and they were given club level floors at check in - none of them were SPG members. On our second day in the room the AC until leaked all over the floor and the carpet was completely soaked. They fixed the AC that night, but the smell of mildew in the room was overwhelming. In addition to the AC unit issue the shower had black mold all over the ceiling. Parking is 25.00 a day and the valets are terrible. There can be 5 of them standing around while you sit in your car waiting for them to come check you in. I used to recommend this hotel to everyone, but I think we will be checking out other facilities for our trip next year. Very sad because my first stay in 2012 was so great. June 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Crowded but enjoyable This is a very nice hotel with expansive lobby and very well maintained. The pool, fitness areas are excellent and the location, beachside, cant be beat. August 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Left Waiting The hotel property was very nice, what you would expect in this price range. However, I found the service lacking and below par for what I expected. I arrived around 2pm, and was told no rooms were available but that I would get a call when they were. After waiting for 2.5 hours I approached the check in staff again and they had a room then. Never did receive any phone call and did not receive any assistance or service during my 2.5 hours wait. When I got to my room there was no shampoo, which I did not find out until the following morning and there was a bag of bar soaps left in my sink. February 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I'll be back! Clean facilities, cordial staff, great food. Spacious and nicely appointed room. August 5, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disatisfied We have been consistently staying at the Diplomat for years now, often on holidays. Guests were always welcomed in the past, this time I was informed upon check-in that guests were not allowed. The guy giving the towels often argued with me on how many towels he could give me. I was given a 3pm check out but my access and several others' access to their rooms were discontinued prior to 2pm. The baggage guy was extremely rude when we asked him if they could hold our bags after our check out. We were not the only ones dissatisfied this weekend, several people commented on how this weekend was a disaster at the hotel. We were very disappointed and likely will not return. July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded our Expectations We recently stayed at the Westin Diplomat and were very impressed and very appreciative of just how wonderful the staff was from the bellman, to the front staff, the waiters, and pool/beach staff. Everyone was extremely friendly and courteous, and very professional. This coupled with a great room (which was very comfortable), made our whole experience the best we have had in a long time. We definitely would recommend the Westin Diplomat to anyone who values great customer service, a modern, clean wonderful room, and an amazing view of the ocean. April 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Never again during the holidays Stayed here during during christmas, and while I knew if would be a peak periode for the hotel, I was not prepared for a total chaos almost everywhere. The club lounge was full of families with kids running around, and it was almost impossible to find a place to sit down. The food selection was worse than I ever seen, and it did not help that families was stocking up both at breakfast time and during the evening snack hours. It was so far from a realxing lounge - where you can grap some nice breakfast - that it is possible to come. The hotel must come up with more and better food, plus more space and places to sit, int their lounge. Periode. The nice view is not enough. The gym was closed for renovation, and the placed they used at the other side of the street was terrible. No water, no earplugs, noone to remove used towels etc. Very disappointing. Door-slamming is always a problem at this hotel. Every morning we were awoken by the early birds next door who showed no consideration when coming and going. Please, get some soft-lock mechanisms to your doors! It is just a question of costs, a lot of newer hotels get this! The lines at front desk were enormous most of the day. God forbid if you needed help from them - like if you had los the tacky wristband they force you to wear in order to go to the beach and pool area. A lot of people where complaining about this - and the elite check in sign were mostly not respected. We got no platinum suite upgrade, but that is what to expect during holidays. However, I did not expect a zoo, chaos and an extremely poor lounge. Doubt it if I will return in the near future. January 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Anniversary Get Away !! We escaped from our home on the west coast of Florida for an anniversary get away to the east coast. Hollywood was a new destination so we were not sure about where to stay, we definitely picked a winner. We will go back for sure. From check in with Gretchen (she is a Westin Rock Star !!) , to Shawnee at RIvals all of the staff was great. Thanks Westin ! August 1, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible Hotel... Overrated and Overpriced By far this has been the worst hotel experience I have had ever! And I travel alot! Check was ridiculous... I checked in early to be told my room wasn't ready. Ok no problem... come 4pm and I still received no call saying my room was ready. I go to the desk to only be told it is still not ready. Unacceptable!!! Not to mention when it was ready they gave me a double bed instead of a kind I reserved and they put me in a handicap room!!! I am not handicap and did not pay for that room! The pool is so packed it looks disgusting to even want to go in. The water is seriously murky. Gross! Also, their parking garage is a serious joke!!! None of their machines worked! There was a line to get out because the stupid bar wouldn't go up for anyone. People eventually lifted the gate arm to get out. This happened both days I was there. Customer service is horrible... there is no sense of serving the customer. In fact I got no explanation of why I didn't get the room I paid for. In fact it seemed like everyone checking in had several issues. I will never return and will never recommend this hotel. Very Very Very disappointed! August 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Standout Among Westin Destinations From the moment you walk in, the Diplomat stands out from other Westin destinations. The stunning lobby; the courteous staff; the well-appointed rooms; the top-shelf executive lounge; the soothing spa; the vibrant health club. But what really inspires are the pools and the spectacular blue-green ocean. Always sad to leave but energized to return! August 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bars Restaurants I love this place but wish there was a bigger bar, another restaurant, some fans at the bar by the pool. However, I will definitely be back!!! August 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing hotel! We had a fantastic experience all around (hotel, staff, location, pool, etc). I would highly recommend this hotel! April 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The hotel was in a good location and a beautiful property Herff Jones group had a good time during our conference August 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unhappy Service all around We recently stayed at the Westin Diplomat for 2 nights. This was our first time at this property and had heard lots of good things, so we were really excited to stay there. However, upon arriving we didn't have the platinum service we have come to know and expect from Starwood. On two occasions we went to the lounge only to find that they had run out of the food and were extremly under staffed for the amount of guests in there. Also, one afternoon when we went in the lounge we woke a housekeeper up, who was napping on the couch. Also we had a bad experenice with the spa staff, as they informed us we needed to go across the street to catch a shuttle to the spa. We waited and waited and would have missed our appointment if my husband did not run back and check with the conceirge on where the shuttle stops. Lucky for us, we had a car, otherwise the hotel staff informed us we would of had to take a taxi and pay for it ourselves, even though we were misinformed. And lastly we had a terrible experience at the hotel breakfast cafe. We arrived and were told it would be about a 20 minute wait (which we had no problem waiting for. The breakfast came highly recommended from a friend). Once we got sat it took forever for the server to come over and when we finally got to the buffet line we had another 20- 25 minute wait just to get to the food, they were so backed up. We weren't sure what the hold up could be until we arrived at the made-to-order station, which was woefully understaffed with one cook scrambling to make waffles, eggs, and omeletes for as many guests as he could, as quickly as he could. Unfortunately for him, he didn't stand a chance of adequately fulfilling the impatient line's orders. Once we got back to the table we had to still ask for our drinks, because our server forgot one of them and also never offered refills. Not the service you expect for a sixty dollar breakfast. We are platinum starwood members, as well as timeshare owners, so it should be obvious that we are very brand-loyal and love staying at your many wonderful properties. We rarely, if ever, encounter anything we would consider below quality, but our experience at the Diplomat was one that we felt needed to be expressed to you. Thank you for taking the time to read our review, we hope that some of our experiences can be used to alter the service there for future guests (and hopefully a future stay by us). November 27, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by employees Employees walked in room without knocking three times. August 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by nice hotel was unsure of staying here since some reviews for this westin report were not all great. glad i booked anyway! busy check in line but gretchen was very friendly and welcoming. not necessary but was nice that she thanked us for staying there as a starwood guest and our first time there. concierge and baggage desk people also friendly and accommodating. great view of the ocean and intercoastal from the room. nice and clean. location was convinience. the city trolley stops inside the westin driveway, and access to downtown, the boardwalk, etc. convention center next door. 3 pools. i would stay here again. my friend came to check out the room since they have a convention later this year. he decided to stay here then as well. March 2, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Everything but the hospitality Let me start this review with the positive... the staff at the business office went truly above and beyond to be accommodating to any shipping/business needs. They were helpful, attentive, followed up, and solved a lot of issues for us that were not their fault. Definition of good hospitality industry service. FedEx was having shipping issues, and the very kind manager of the business office and his employees truly gave us 5 star service. I must say, despite anything else I say negative in this review, they were incredibly kind and very helpful. I'm grateful for their help. Also, I will say the facilities are absolutely gorgeous. The cleanliness, innovative and fun room design, overall look and polish... everything about the facility is wonderful. That said, you couldn't pay me to go back. The sheer apathy and sometimes overt rudeness of much of the staff was often shocking, to the point that I would have been surprised to be in any hotel, much less a resort like this. From taking 45 minutes to check in a line of 7 people with 4 employees, to 45 minute wait times to get the car from valet, to having bags checked with the luggage desk held for over 90 minutes without being delivered, but not allowed to be picked up because the bellman had to be tipped to receive the bags. The cafe had incredible food, but it took over an hour to order and get served a simple lunch salad. Keep in mind, the number of employees in the restaurant outnumbered the guests (I can see why), and the water glass sat empty the entire time. My favorite experience was after waiting a few minutes in line for the concierge desk, walking up when it was our turn, and the looks at us, turns around, and walks away. No "I'll be with you in a moment" or "I'll be right back", just looks at us, and walks off. (Someone eventually returned a few minutes later...) All the "things" at this hotel were the definition of 5 star. Food, cleanliness, amenities, etc. That said, the average attitude of 80% of the staff seemed to be "it's not my problem". I've gotten on a regular basis better service from 1-2 star dive hotels...even the basic courtesies were missing. Furthermore, do NOT ever consider this hotel for a conference or event. While the facilities are perfect, the staff are not trained nor do they plan ahead to handle the swings and influx that come with conference traffic. The check-in process is cumbersome, valet system bottlenecked, and luggage storage inadequate, and the list goes on... they simply don't plan ahead to handle the traffic. You'll spend 1 hour checking in, 90 minutes waiting on bags, and an hour on getting your car back like we did... 3.5 hours wasted on a process that should take 45 minutes max, an hour with peak traffic. Best hotel facility I've stayed at all year, combined with the worst service I've had all year. Amazing shame, and genuinely surprising. I travel for a living and do conferences at similar resorts almost monthly, so I'm used to these places... never in my career had an experience like this at a place like this. I hope the trade association I was with responds to the feedback given and never returns to this hotel. August 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by WOW! I was BLOWN away by my experience at the Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa!! My only regret is that I was only there for one night!!! What an incredible property. From checking in the amazing lobby, to the incredible views from the rooms, this property will amaze you in every way. Be sure to check out the expansive pool and beach front. The food on site is incredible. This hotel is first class all the way. I think I have found my new favorite resort in South Florida!! May 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel, relaxing stay I travel on a weekly basis, and always stay in Starwood properties...and Westin hotels, when possible. In looking for a place to have a relaxing long weekend getaway, we were advised by several people to check out the Diplomat. The hotel is beautiful and the spa/workout facilities are new and pristine. If you are a runner like me, there is also a wonderful path that takes you down the Hollywood boardwalk along the beach. We also headed to the Tennis and Golf facilities...very nice and well kept for those looking to play golf or tennis. Additionally, I had made an error when booking. Upon arrival, Tatjana was very understanding and wonderful to work with at check-in. She worked to get everything fixed and made our stay perfect. I highly recommend this hotel!! March 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by beautiful hotel the hotel was one of the nicest I have seen in southern Florida. The food and beverage costs are way to much. It was actually cheaper to get a drink from the mini bar instead of any restaurant bar. July 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the best I have been a SPG Platinum member for several years and in that time stayed at a couple of hundred Starwood properties. The Westin Diplomat is one of my favorite Starwood properties. From the superior service, to the spacious rooms, to the great food the Diplomat is a gem among the Starwood empire. I have stayed here several times and every stay was flawless. The rooms are double the size and half the price for what you will pay to stay in South Beach. The Diplomat also has a great golf course, huge pool area and of course the amazing beach. August 1, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Housekeeping was horrible Housekeeping never cleaned my room the first day. I had to go downstairs at 6:30 and ask them to do it. The housekeeping emptied out my whole bottle of children's motrin that I had just purchased in the gift shop for $14.99. I complained to the manager, he just said he would look into it, and never did anything. Our second day, our room was still not cleaned at 4:00 pm, I had to once again go downstairs and ask them to clean my room. The hotel was fabulous, but the housekeeping made my experience terrible, and wasted a lot of my time. October 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Resort The hotel is beautiful and my wife and I stay here every year when we visit South Florida. The resort amenities are fabulous and we are always treated like royalty by the staff. I highly recommend the recently remodeled Spa for a special treat. Jeff & Kim May 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This Resort Hotel needs Hello. My stay at the hotel was ok. I was expecting a better experience with my room. I stayed in room 2230 in the south tower. Room was clean but some items were not to par. For instance the table lamps were or in need of repair and loose. The bathroom shower faucet was difficult to keep the water temperature steady. Water temperature had wild swings from hot to cold at any given time. Also I believe in my view that this hotel shouldn't have to charge a parking fee for guests to park their vehicles. Is it not part of the hotel property? Just asking. Overall the staff was great and the place very clean. Amenities up to par and well taken care of. The only issues I experienced were the ones mentioned above. Thank you. July 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location on the beach We were there for a conference and I was very surprised that this "conference hotel" was not staffed well for the event. It could not have been a surprise as the event is held here every year. The valet service could take up to 30 minutes to bring your car around and the restaurant service was frustratingly SLOW. For example, I did not want the breakfast buffet. The people I dined with were completely finished with their meals before any one from the wait staff could be bothered to take my order. Again.... it was surprising that a convention hotel was not staffed to manage the quality expectations of a Westin facility. I really feel sorry for the folks that were there on personal trips. July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE THIS HOTEL! I cannot say enough! We have stayed here for the last 4 years, when we find somewhere we love, we don't change. Brandon at the front desk & Santiago, also at check-in are amazing! Thoroughly make our stays wonderful! We are staying again in July & hopefully plan to return in September. The rooms, pool, & restaurants are awesome. We usually head to the Jersey shore in September to a hotel I have been staying at for over 35 years, and are highly considering heading to this Westin instead, what can I say, we absolutely love it!! May 20, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mold in the room. Beware. It is disappointing that someplace so nice and spacious could fall short when it comes to room maintenance and customer service. My room had a large amount of mold on the ceiling and when asked for someone to acknowledge the mold issue , but, more specifically, my concern and comfort level as a guest, I was treated with rudeness and disrespect. I was on the trip to relax and have "me time", but, instead had to use my time to wait on someone who never showed up come view the mold and then have my request for a refund for 2 nights be disregarded. I only received $100 off my entire stay of 4 nights. I think you all need to re- evaluate your customer service and pay more attention to your guests. July 3, 2014
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 43 next>>