The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

  • 3555 South Ocean Drive
  • Hollywood,
  • Florida
  • 33019
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve and to check-in to a room.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 1257 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unhappy Service all around We recently stayed at the Westin Diplomat for 2 nights. This was our first time at this property and had heard lots of good things, so we were really excited to stay there. However, upon arriving we didn't have the platinum service we have come to know and expect from Starwood. On two occasions we went to the lounge only to find that they had run out of the food and were extremly under staffed for the amount of guests in there. Also, one afternoon when we went in the lounge we woke a housekeeper up, who was napping on the couch. Also we had a bad experenice with the spa staff, as they informed us we needed to go across the street to catch a shuttle to the spa. We waited and waited and would have missed our appointment if my husband did not run back and check with the conceirge on where the shuttle stops. Lucky for us, we had a car, otherwise the hotel staff informed us we would of had to take a taxi and pay for it ourselves, even though we were misinformed. And lastly we had a terrible experience at the hotel breakfast cafe. We arrived and were told it would be about a 20 minute wait (which we had no problem waiting for. The breakfast came highly recommended from a friend). Once we got sat it took forever for the server to come over and when we finally got to the buffet line we had another 20- 25 minute wait just to get to the food, they were so backed up. We weren't sure what the hold up could be until we arrived at the made-to-order station, which was woefully understaffed with one cook scrambling to make waffles, eggs, and omeletes for as many guests as he could, as quickly as he could. Unfortunately for him, he didn't stand a chance of adequately fulfilling the impatient line's orders. Once we got back to the table we had to still ask for our drinks, because our server forgot one of them and also never offered refills. Not the service you expect for a sixty dollar breakfast. We are platinum starwood members, as well as timeshare owners, so it should be obvious that we are very brand-loyal and love staying at your many wonderful properties. We rarely, if ever, encounter anything we would consider below quality, but our experience at the Diplomat was one that we felt needed to be expressed to you. Thank you for taking the time to read our review, we hope that some of our experiences can be used to alter the service there for future guests (and hopefully a future stay by us). November 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really nice hotel THe facilities are first rate. Fitness room has almost everything you would want. Rooms & maid service were excellent. My only complait is that the meeting rooms were way too cold. It was not jut me, everyone over the three day periond was complainin July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Westin Diplomat Continues to Exceed Our Expectations My wife and I have stayed at the Westin Diplomat four times in slightly over a year. Each visit, including this one, has been exceptional. It starts with the valet parking, the front desk, and the entire staff. The rooms are outstanding: quiet, very clean, and very dark (a boon for light sleepers. We look forward to breakfasts in the restaurant. The food is very good -- my wife loves the granola and yogurt pancakes. Claudia was our waitress on this stay. She was outstanding. The General Manager is to be complimented for hiring and training an exemplary staff. August 24, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Everything but the hospitality Let me start this review with the positive... the staff at the business office went truly above and beyond to be accommodating to any shipping/business needs. They were helpful, attentive, followed up, and solved a lot of issues for us that were not their fault. Definition of good hospitality industry service. FedEx was having shipping issues, and the very kind manager of the business office and his employees truly gave us 5 star service. I must say, despite anything else I say negative in this review, they were incredibly kind and very helpful. I'm grateful for their help. Also, I will say the facilities are absolutely gorgeous. The cleanliness, innovative and fun room design, overall look and polish... everything about the facility is wonderful. That said, you couldn't pay me to go back. The sheer apathy and sometimes overt rudeness of much of the staff was often shocking, to the point that I would have been surprised to be in any hotel, much less a resort like this. From taking 45 minutes to check in a line of 7 people with 4 employees, to 45 minute wait times to get the car from valet, to having bags checked with the luggage desk held for over 90 minutes without being delivered, but not allowed to be picked up because the bellman had to be tipped to receive the bags. The cafe had incredible food, but it took over an hour to order and get served a simple lunch salad. Keep in mind, the number of employees in the restaurant outnumbered the guests (I can see why), and the water glass sat empty the entire time. My favorite experience was after waiting a few minutes in line for the concierge desk, walking up when it was our turn, and the looks at us, turns around, and walks away. No "I'll be with you in a moment" or "I'll be right back", just looks at us, and walks off. (Someone eventually returned a few minutes later...) All the "things" at this hotel were the definition of 5 star. Food, cleanliness, amenities, etc. That said, the average attitude of 80% of the staff seemed to be "it's not my problem". I've gotten on a regular basis better service from 1-2 star dive hotels...even the basic courtesies were missing. Furthermore, do NOT ever consider this hotel for a conference or event. While the facilities are perfect, the staff are not trained nor do they plan ahead to handle the swings and influx that come with conference traffic. The check-in process is cumbersome, valet system bottlenecked, and luggage storage inadequate, and the list goes on... they simply don't plan ahead to handle the traffic. You'll spend 1 hour checking in, 90 minutes waiting on bags, and an hour on getting your car back like we did... 3.5 hours wasted on a process that should take 45 minutes max, an hour with peak traffic. Best hotel facility I've stayed at all year, combined with the worst service I've had all year. Amazing shame, and genuinely surprising. I travel for a living and do conferences at similar resorts almost monthly, so I'm used to these places... never in my career had an experience like this at a place like this. I hope the trade association I was with responds to the feedback given and never returns to this hotel. August 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing hotel! We had a fantastic experience all around (hotel, staff, location, pool, etc). I would highly recommend this hotel! April 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by nice hotel was unsure of staying here since some reviews for this westin report were not all great. glad i booked anyway! busy check in line but gretchen was very friendly and welcoming. not necessary but was nice that she thanked us for staying there as a starwood guest and our first time there. concierge and baggage desk people also friendly and accommodating. great view of the ocean and intercoastal from the room. nice and clean. location was convinience. the city trolley stops inside the westin driveway, and access to downtown, the boardwalk, etc. convention center next door. 3 pools. i would stay here again. my friend came to check out the room since they have a convention later this year. he decided to stay here then as well. March 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded our Expectations We recently stayed at the Westin Diplomat and were very impressed and very appreciative of just how wonderful the staff was from the bellman, to the front staff, the waiters, and pool/beach staff. Everyone was extremely friendly and courteous, and very professional. This coupled with a great room (which was very comfortable), made our whole experience the best we have had in a long time. We definitely would recommend the Westin Diplomat to anyone who values great customer service, a modern, clean wonderful room, and an amazing view of the ocean. April 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location and amazing staff After couple days in April we decided to go back for a few days in May for a long weekend. Suite was amazing and every service and staff for the hotel make sure that you are comfortable and happy. Hotel worth every dollar that you may spend. Club lounge breakfast is very good, pool service and the restaurant are very good as well. Special thank you for Maria from housekeeping, Lonetta from front desk and Karianne from guest relations. Hotel is a short drive from Fort Lauderdale airport. Excellent hotel and my family and i will be back soon. May 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Heavenly Westin Happiness!! The stay was for a corporate meeting and it was really a fantastic experience. The hotel and staff provided the best food and beverage and meeting and conference facilities that exist in the market today. I recommend this resort to anyone working or enjoying a stay in South Florida!! Thanks to the staff! Mark July 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by June 20th to 23rd Stay HMMMM The hotel is beautiful asthetically and a great location on the beach. However, my husband and I were NOT pleased with the service of most of the staff and how they answered our requests which were not very demanding. Very disappointed in such a highly rated hotel. We have stayed at the same star rating and lesser star ratings and recieved much better service and included ammenities, like free WiFi and ability to print boarding passes at no charge June 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staycation! Gloria on the 8th Floor was amazing ! The entire pool staff really provided amazing service, Jason was so personal and on every detail at the Cabana, our group raved about his willingness create memories. July 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 1st time stay Could not have been happier with the accommodations and service. July 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The fourth The experience was superb like always. I was able to get a room at the last minute with all my needs met. Room and view choice! The staff were great from the valet to house keeping and everyone in between. I will most definitely continue to stay at this hotel when I an in the area. July 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the best I have been a SPG Platinum member for several years and in that time stayed at a couple of hundred Starwood properties. The Westin Diplomat is one of my favorite Starwood properties. From the superior service, to the spacious rooms, to the great food the Diplomat is a gem among the Starwood empire. I have stayed here several times and every stay was flawless. The rooms are double the size and half the price for what you will pay to stay in South Beach. The Diplomat also has a great golf course, huge pool area and of course the amazing beach. August 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best stay I have ever had I loved everything about this hotel from the service to the room. I was overjoyed with each aspect and will return as soon as I can. The beauty of this hotel was also great there were so many things I did not get to do and one of the many reasons I want to return.. July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel, relaxing stay I travel on a weekly basis, and always stay in Starwood properties...and Westin hotels, when possible. In looking for a place to have a relaxing long weekend getaway, we were advised by several people to check out the Diplomat. The hotel is beautiful and the spa/workout facilities are new and pristine. If you are a runner like me, there is also a wonderful path that takes you down the Hollywood boardwalk along the beach. We also headed to the Tennis and Golf facilities...very nice and well kept for those looking to play golf or tennis. Additionally, I had made an error when booking. Upon arrival, Tatjana was very understanding and wonderful to work with at check-in. She worked to get everything fixed and made our stay perfect. I highly recommend this hotel!! March 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Housekeeping was horrible Housekeeping never cleaned my room the first day. I had to go downstairs at 6:30 and ask them to do it. The housekeeping emptied out my whole bottle of children's motrin that I had just purchased in the gift shop for $14.99. I complained to the manager, he just said he would look into it, and never did anything. Our second day, our room was still not cleaned at 4:00 pm, I had to once again go downstairs and ask them to clean my room. The hotel was fabulous, but the housekeeping made my experience terrible, and wasted a lot of my time. October 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE THIS HOTEL! I cannot say enough! We have stayed here for the last 4 years, when we find somewhere we love, we don't change. Brandon at the front desk & Santiago, also at check-in are amazing! Thoroughly make our stays wonderful! We are staying again in July & hopefully plan to return in September. The rooms, pool, & restaurants are awesome. We usually head to the Jersey shore in September to a hotel I have been staying at for over 35 years, and are highly considering heading to this Westin instead, what can I say, we absolutely love it!! May 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Stayed here for a conference I was especially pleased that the conference facility is so close to the South Tower, where our room was located. It's great not to have to walk the length of a football field to get to it. Really nice beds and the housekeeping staff was especially helpful and friendly. I rated the food/beverage low because I attended a function there and they wanted $6 for a bottle of water -- and not even chilled at that (I only drink water). I just bought an entire case of water from WalMart for under $5. It's just water. I'd have paid $3 for that water, but not $6. August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful King Corner Suite The king corner suite was absolutely gorgeous! I loved everything about it. The only problem is that there is so much you want to do and see but the room and view is so nice that you don't want to leave. Pros- the lobby, the rooms, the pools, the view Cons- Food and drinks are expensive at poolside bar and all the restaurants and bars at the hotel. I know this is too be expected but because they add the gratituties automatically you don't have the option to tip for good service but if service is not good its already added. January 8, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Needs to come into the 21st century with technology The Westin Diplomat at Hallandale Beach is a beautiful facility. The staff is completely capable and usually cordial. It is an idyllic albeit isolated location with no shopping or outside restaurants within an easy walk. While I attended a conference my wife felt quite isolated. Taxi prices in the area are high. The telephone system in the hotel is archaic and, for the room price, charging a "minimal" $12.95 for slow WIFI is a crime. I will recommend that my association find another location to hold its annual conference. November 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel was excellent Very clean rooms. Staff was extremely courteous. July 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by WOW! I was BLOWN away by my experience at the Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa!! My only regret is that I was only there for one night!!! What an incredible property. From checking in the amazing lobby, to the incredible views from the rooms, this property will amaze you in every way. Be sure to check out the expansive pool and beach front. The food on site is incredible. This hotel is first class all the way. I think I have found my new favorite resort in South Florida!! May 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Our recent stay in ft lauderdale at the diplomat I went to this hotel for some relaxation time with my husband. We experienced anything but. Everything is a hustle. The hotel staff indicate people cannot reserve cots at the pool and they do. There is supposed to be an adults only section at the pool and this is not reinforced. We left a message for the hotel manager to change rooms and she never returned our call. If you want a lounge at beach there is an additional charge. Would not stay here again .Too crowded and too frenzied.without attention to service. January 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Westin Hollywood While we had a nice stay at the hotel. The hotel is in need of repairs. Also, the rooms were not overly clean and the sheets / blankets were dirty - stains on the comforter. I am sure this does not happen on a regular basis, but for a hotel like the Westin - it should not happen at all. Also, the rentals at the beach...a hotel like the Westin should have their own charis, umbrellas, etc. Guests should not have to pay to sit at that beach where there is the most sun. The pool is crowded w/ kids and very shady. May 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Experience!!!! I loved the atmosphere of this hotel. Stayed 4 nights for a conference, and enjoyed every bit. It was so relaxing, refreshing and upscale. A must stay when in the area. We will definitely return. The only negative was the food was kind of expensive on location, and very limited. It would be better if you have a rental car. However, although the trolley is inexpensive, it only goes north and south. You will want to discover other areas for dining. Be sure to bring workout gear, and swim gear. Wonderful Place. August 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Relaxing Experience I celebrated my birthday at the Diplomat and was received with a warm welcome. The room was very nice and clean overlooking the ocean. The food was delicious on the executive level with outstanding service. Cant wait to go back! September 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel/resort was absolutely amazing! l must return for a second look! This was an absolutely amazing, romatic location! Although I attended for a conference, I believe having it at this location made the conference even more special! I will return to experience this fantastic location again. Conference rooms were beautiful, as far as my accommodations, the bed was so comfortable, the staff friendly and professional. All combined, everything made this my favorite conference location! I plan to return and bring my family to share in experiencing this wonderful location. Thanks for an amazing weekend! July 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rob402511 Rooms needs some update: carpet, furniture and of course in XXI centure we should have WiFi in the rooms. Food in the SPlash was not good. September 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by better view and nice pool we had very bad experience with taking care of the noise issue even though we have call several time to the front desk and still the issue was not resolve. When we call the 3rd time on Friday night @ 3 AM, the front desk person response was what would like us to do. The music and the drum noise continue till 5.30 in the morning and nothing was done. when we check out on Saturday morning @ 7.30 am we ask the front desk to speak with the manager and we were told that the manager is in the meeting and he/she doesn't have time to speak with the guest. I will never come to this hotel again after the experience I had for 2 nights. July 20, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 43 next>>