The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

  • 6 Kai Ala Drive,
  • Lahaina
  • Maui,
  • Hawaii
  • 96761
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 353 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ideal for Familes Pros: Great Kitchens, ocean view rooms are fantastic, lobby is beautiful, and the front desk staff is very good. Newly renovated rooms are amazing. If you like to jog in the morning, there is a great path that passes in front of the hotel. The snorkeling is first rate. The restaurants on the property are good. The hotel's Green Policy is good. The valets are really quick - which is important when you have kids and babies all over the place. If you're SPG Gold or Platinum, I have yet to go to a Starwood property that's better at recognizing your SPG status. Normally, I don't care that much, but they really made a big thing out of it and that was nice. Cons: Execution needs work. Example: we asked for a crib and a diaper genie for our room. We got a crib and a cot. We called and asked to switch the cot for the diaper genie. We waited 3 hours. Finally, we just moved the cot out ourselves and the diaper genie showed up while we were out to dinner. Things like this happened a couple of times. Some of the rooms look dated and they're doing construction. We had to move because the construction next door kept waking up our baby. (To the hotel's credit, they gave us a nice upgrade for our troubles). Gym has good equipment but its in a dungeon. The beach is not great for basic swimming because there is a reef right there. Go for the snorkeling. Overall, we were really happy with our experience. It wasn't perfect. But it was pretty close. June 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thanks for the hospitality We visited the westin on a promotional and absolutely enjoyed ourselves. We'll be back! June 23, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good but Disappointing We have been owners here since before it was built (2002) but moved later due to maintenance fees. Have come about 6-7 times now, three times with family. We have watched a general slow decline at this resort since new. Came with family (2A/2T) in the 1 Br and us (2A) in Studio. Some things have improved. The gym equipment is new and the poolside chairs are new. The grounds are nice and predictable for us. It honestly has some of the best snorkeling on the island, and a great sandy beach just south. The poolside drinks are all over the map but usually watered down and a poor value We had a lot of issues this trip though: in the 1 Br, the garbage from the previous tenant was not emptied and the kitchen floor was sticky - rectified the next day, on the 2nd night there was a fire alarm (false) that emptied the building at 03:30 AM - no explanation, on the 2nd day they found the DR light as well as the oven door light going on and off at night (teenagers awoken on sofa bed), and the A/C leaked a big wet spot on the carpet - fixed that day with vacuum and carpet blowers, the 4th day the washing machine failed to work - fixed next day. they offered a modest resort credit for the inconvenience. We do not expect to save up all year for a five star vacation and deal with a Super 8 or Motel 6 level issues. They say they will be remodeling south Tower 2 starting this year. It's overdue apparently. Two pet beefs: there are NEVER enough covered lounging spots at the poolside area. By noon there are dozens of people desperately looking for covered lounge charts. They need more umbrellas. Why they don't address this is a mystery. Second. The gym is well-equipped and I like the sauna, but IT IS small and in a basement dungeon room. Most top resorts have workout areas with a nice view of the grounds and/or sea. Not here. Yet they still run a 4000 SF sales area in the lobby. This resort is working its way lower and lower on lour list of desirable vacation locations as we get out and find better facilities. I would still go here for certain trips but have lowered my expectations. June 11, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing My review is focused primarily on the level of service at this hotel compared to what you pay for. Upon arrival, our check-in process was great and everything was understood. Upon check-out, same experience. It wasn't until I left that the service level tanked with regard to my account. I was inappropriately billed for a night when I shouldn't have been and it has taken over a week to receive reimbursement. Their billing system is through the computer so you get no face to face or phone service interaction. I still don't have my reimbursement to my credit card and I have already received my cc bill with a charge for having a balance. Restaurant service is just TERRIBLE! We were not served after seated for 20mins. A bird pooped on my mom's chair and the server made her get up and get her own napkin from the bathroom. Service is just bad at both restaurants and the food is just average, but extremely expensive. Not worth it. The only consolation was my sleep. The heavenly beds were amazing and the curtains blocked light quite well. June 8, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Family Vacation We recently took a family trip to Maui. We booked everything through SPG. When we arrived to check-in we were told our check out date was one day earlier than we were actually expecting to leave. How this happened or who screwed up between SPG and the Westin Resort we don't know but the front desk people told us we would have to work it out with SPG since we made our reservations through them. SPG was able to secure us a room but said we may not be able to keep the same room and may have to move to a different room during our stay. Also, we ended up using 50,000 Starwood points for this room which, we were not planning to use. SPG offered no explanation of how this happenened nor did the resort. After working this out the resort said they would reach out to us mid-week with an update on if we could stay in the same room or if we would have to move. I will get back to this in a minute. During our stay we found the service around the resort to be very poor. We rented a gazebo three days but yet found ourselves waiting 45 minutes to an hour to receive service. Mostly from the bar and grill service on the North side of the resort. South side wasn't much better. We also heard and saw many other customers complaining about the service as well. Back to the room issue. We still had one day left before we check out but had not heard anything from the front desk until we received a check out letter thanking us for our stay. We were puzzled as we had worked this out with SPG and the resort upon our arrival that we were taken care of and would either be in the same room or moved to another for our last day. Remember, I had to use my Starwood points to secure this extra day that either SPG or the resort screwed up on. We call down to the front desk but could not get through so I call the operator for assistance. She proceeds to tell me that the front desk was too busy to take calls and that I should just keep trying back later or maybe around 7pm as she claims it is usually less busy then. She also suggested I could try going down to the lobby and wait in line to speak with someone. So I immediately went down to the lobby where the front desk is and to my amaze I find three agents working behind the front desk. Only thing is they were not working. They were standing there chatting with each other instead of answering calls or assisting customers. At this point I asked to speak with the manager in charge and they brought out Dave who was extremely apologetic for the experience we were having and did his best to take care of things. Dave, the bellmen, and the guys working the activities by the pool were the only bright spot for this resort. Dave offered us $100.00 off on our stay and was able to keep us in the same room for the last day that we were there. We were appreciative of this and while the gesture was nice our minds were already made up that when we travel to Maui again we will be staying at a different resort. This is definitely not a 4 star resort and has a lot of improvement to make in hospitality and customer service. Aside from the issues with this resort we had a great family trip and time in Maui. So many things to do while on the island. I'd just recommend staying somewhere else if you want to avoid logistical headaches and receive better customer service. June 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Maui in May My husband and I decided to have our first week of vacation ownership for my 40th birthday at the Westin and could not have chosen a better place. Resort was beautiful, staff was available when needed but left us alone when we wanted privacy, kid noises could be blocked out with doors shut and after dark on the lanai was peaceful with sound of water lapping on the beach. I agree that something to block the light from the bathroom is a great idea and the charge for beach umbrella plus lounge chair was the only cost I found especially staggering (we passed). But all in all this is a wonderful resort that made us want to stay on grounds for the majority of our stay in order to take full advantage of all the Westin had to offer. Plus, the Guest Lounge for a place to stay on your last day waiting for your overnight flight back to the mainland was a very thoughtful and appreciated discovery on our last trip. We were already planning when we will come back on our next trip to the Westin Kaanapali Villas on our way to the airport! June 4, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel could be great, BUT This is supposed to be a time share resort but your treated like a hotel guest. Too many employees pressuring you to do a time share presentations, buy sunglasses, food service is not good here. Resort is beautiful, beach is great plus great snorkeling. Great path to walk to other hotels. Fun sports bar close to beach (food selection is bad). Weak gym (why bother), spa services too expensive. Great kids area. Cannot bring your own alcohol to pool*** Definitely go here if you get a great deal on the room. June 1, 2015
  • 2015-06-29T14:19:59.406-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_353, tr_353
  • loc_en_US, sid_1406, prod, sort_default
2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>