The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

  • 6 Kai Ala Drive,
  • Lahaina
  • Maui,
  • Hawaii
  • 96761
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 316 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Stay The resort exceeded our expectations from the rooms, staff and amenities. We had a wonderful time and will be back in the future. Thank you. June 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Vacation at Westin Ka'anapali Relaxing hotel with excellent snokeling just off the beach. This is our second visit and plan on returning in the future. July 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing confort and great service We enjoyed the time at the resort, it will be my hotel for our future Maui's visits. May 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Don't book it! As a SPG Gold member it troubles me to write this review. I have stayed at Westin hotels from St. John to San Francisco and all in between. When I booked this hotel several months ago I read the reviews and was truly unsure if I should. I decided to give the hotel the benefit of the doubt, and I was sorry. Upon arrival my first night we walked into a hot steamy room in which the AC was broken and wasn't repeair until the following day. I could tolerate this as I understand things do happen. My issue with the hotel goes much deeper. After a few days of enjoying fun in the sun things went down hill, fast! As I am getting ready to take a shower I notice the tub is partially filled with what looks to be black sewage! I immediately call the front desk and they send someone to repair it. I was unable to shower the entire night and dinner was ruined. The following day a repeat of the exact same happened and I again called the front desk and reported it. At my request we were moved and they offered me $30 off my stay a night. I felt like this was completley inadequate and almost made things worse. I am not the type of person to write reviews or feed negative comments, this was just needed. Be safe and book elsewhere. June 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Resort We recently visited the Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas and stayed in a studio villa. The room was very nice and had a whirlpool soaker tub as well as a full shower which was nice. The kitchen was a little small but worked for breakfast in the room before heading out. The resort is right on the Ka'anapali Beach so to soak up the Ocean and plenty of rays, one didn't have to go far. Given its location, the views of Lanai and Molokai were spectacular, in addition to large number of whales which frequent the area in the winter. While the location is on the northern part of Maui, still provided a good home base to go and explore the island from. The food at the resort was good and reasonably priced for a resort but a short walk took to you Whalers Village which had an additional selection of restaurants, so driving was not necessary either. The resort provided a shuttle bus to this location and other Starwood properties and even into Lahania, so one could enjoy a night out without having to worry about driving. The staff was very good, friendly and helpful. The facilities were also second to none. We had a partial ocean view and provided a nice touch for a cocktail prior to dinner. Overall, the resort is highly recommended and one of Starwood’s nicest properties. February 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always the best! We are owners at the Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas since 2008, returning every year since for a month or longer stay. Needless to say, we enjoy our stay more every year. The villas are beautiful, enjoy the full kitchen, closeness of the ocean, whales, surf and sand, and the "Garden Tour", plus the convenience of the shuttle service, especially our driver "Tina". This year we celebrated our "60" wedding anniversary here and we were treated royally by everyone, especially Mayling Barbosa and Glenn Casil. and really enjoyed the "owners" party, and chance to meet many people. We have already booked for next year, Life at the Westin KOR is GOOD March 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best vacation EVER!!! From the moment we drove up to the Lobby, we were totally impressed by the staff at the Bell Desk. Angel Badua greeted us and took over getting us checked in. We really enjoyed his friendliness and great sense of humor...he made quite an impression on my fiancé, Lance. Angel stored our luggage and food (some requiring refrigeration and a freezer) and made sure that everything was brought to our Villa when it was ready. We had only paid for an Island View, but the wonderful clerk at registration (Savannah?) managed to find a room on the 6th floor of building 2 that actually had a lovely ocean view! We were in Maui to celebrate our engagement, so it really meant a lot to us:) There was absolutely no pressure on us to book a presentation tour, but we were so impressed with the staff and the grounds that we decided to look into the Westin Vacation Ownership program. We met with Bob Davis and were impressed with his easy going, no pressure, matter-of-fact-like personality. We did not attend the presentation with any intent of making a purchase, but after Bob helped us understand how it all works...we actually purchased a villa:) I'm sure that we weren't an "easy sale" for Bob (or Terry) because we had many questions and took plenty of time making our decision. In the end, we joined the Westin family and are VERY excited that we did! One comment that Lance made several times during our stay there (and during the presentation with Bob) is that one of the main reasons we purchased was because of the amazing staff interaction that all started with Angel at the lobby entrance. June 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Vacation Ever!!! This was our second stay at the Westin Villas, and once again our expectations were exceeded. Let me begin with my check in where we had the pleasure of meeting Jade who greeted us with a big Aloha!! She was very helpful with all of our questions and fulfilled our request to upgrade to a one bedroom unit with a great view. She then gave us a few ideas on where to visit and take the kids to enjoy the island. Once we received our room keys we opened the door to a very clean and spacious suite with spectacular views. This room made us feel right at home, not to mention all the little perks of a kitchen and washer and dryer. I then proceeded to meet my concierge Lucia who also greeted us with a great big smile. She set us up with all we needed to help us enjoy our stay and keep the kids happy throughout our stay. She was a great help with all our activity planning throughout the week. We booked the kids in the kids club and a spa treatment for my wife witch they all enjoyed. We spent a majority of our time on the resort and used all three pools throughout our stay. The kids loved the waterside and the pirate ship pool. We also took advantage of the happy hour offered at both bars, can't beat the drink of the day special. This was our 6th trip to Maui and will not be our last. I will return again sometime in the near future and look forward to staying at the Westin Villas to kick back and relax. I would also like to thank Daniel, Carolyn, Evelya, Regina, and Louisa for keeping our room spotless. May 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Don't get stuck in island view on the back of building 4 We're owners at WKORV North and decided to stay at the South property on a promotional rate for 5 nights. We knew that it was an "Island View" room, but we had different expectations. All of the "Island Views" in the North property are still facing the water somewhat, however, in the South property half of the Island View rooms face the highway, and the other half face the side of a building. We had expectations of sleeping with our balcony door open and waking to the sounds of maui birds, but instead all we heard was traffic noise so loud that we never opened the door for more than a minute. Also, the Kitchens in the North Studio units have a full size fridge, and in our unit in the South this trip we had a mini fridge. Our first stop after picking up the rental car was at Costco, so we had quite a challenge when we arrived at our room and saw that there was no full size fridge. If you're expecting better than a hotel room, you won't be disappointed, but if you've stayed in villas in the North property, the South Island Views do not quite measure up. We asked if we could move, and they attempted to find another room for us but the only other room they had was identical, and in the same building facing the same noisy highway. The staff was very accommodating. In this instance I blame the original architects for not thinking about these design flaws for this particular building. The rest of the property is spectacular, the Amenities are great, the staff is great, but they should consider remodeling building 4, maybe moving their sales offices there and using the sales office space as new "island view" villas. February 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by DISAPPOINTED Its hard to complain about a vacation in Hawaii but I feel like I need to address a few issues. We stayed in the North villas and the place smelled like sewage the whole time. I don't know what can be done about it but it is awful. I didn't check reviews before we left because we had stayed at the Villas about 6 years ago but when we got home and I started looking at Trip Advisor and Yelp; most reviews noted the sewer smell. My second issue is the bed. Westins are known for their beds but the bed in our room was awful with a huge sag in the middle. We had already changed rooms once so we stuck it out. Im not sure if we were given poor accommodations because we were staying on a promotional deal but it sure felt that way. My last issue that I would like to address is the restaurant Puleho. Our waiter couldn't have been any nicer but we could barely understand a word he said and I don't think he understood us very well either. My Husband and I both ordered the Caprese salad. It was served with Burrata which I love but without bread or crostini to eat it with. Im not sure if you know what Burrata is but it is a very creamy form of mozzarella that is impossible to eat with a fork...it is meant to be spread on bread. When we asked for some bread our waiter couldn't understand and kept suggesting we get an order of the garlic bread. We finally gave up and just ate it the best we could. There was a manager floating around but he had just been to our table to ask apathetically how everything was so we just decided not to make a big deal out of it. Like I said, its hard to complain about a vacation in Hawaii...the weather was beautiful and we had some great meals off the property. I just thought you would like to hear about our experience. August 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing This was my first time to Maui last week and I must say I was quite disappointed. A number of things need improvement in the room itself and some of the font desk staff (concierge was great). First off, with the room, the first room we were given had a strong smell of smoke and I'm quite sensitive to this due to my asthma. We had requested three times a crib but none was there and we had to wait and this was not helpful as we came in on a late flight. The second room we were given wasn't much better but by now I couldn't be bothered to wait for another room. Front desk staff weren't too friendly with trying to find us any room but did offer to upgrade us for a price difference (no thanks!). For this inconvenience, the front desk manager did compensate us. Unfortunately, things just seemed to get worse after the first day. We stayed in 4119 and had a real bad ant problem. Even after 3 sprays, they were still prevalent. One time we had to wait an hour for someone to come. Did front desk care? No, the final response I received was: oh yes, I have them in my house as well, they are looking for water. Besides the ant problem, the jetted tub was disgusting. I filled the tub, turned it on only to find the jets spewing black stuff. I filled the tub 4 times and turned the jets on in hopes of clearing what looked like soot but no luck. The jetted tub was not usable. Front desk and concierge staff seemed very disconnected. One would tell me I get one mid-stay cleaning while the other told me I get daily. I was also asked to go and present ID to verify the occupants only to be told by the front desk that 'someone' probably just got the last names wrong. Really? In the end, I opted out of attending the timeshare presentation. I was told one of the perks for attending is to stay on the list for these timeshare previews but i agree it would be nice to see other properties, this just wasn't worth the 90 mins of my time. The only positive? Beach and pool facilities were pretty decent and concierge was helpful to plan my week in Maui. Otherwise, this is one property I won't be staying at again. October 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by September in Maui On our first trip to Maui, we stayed at the Westin Resort and loved every minute of it. This time we tried the Westin Villas since they have kitchens, but did not have a great experience. We paid for a studio and they offered an upgrade (good start) and made it sound so special. We get to the room and it s the farthest room on the property and the first time we cooked, out comes a bunch of cock roaches (nasty). Not the best way to get my business, that's for sure! September 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Annual Experience After staying in the South Tower on previous occasions, we decided to try the North Tower. Same great value, slightly different viewpoints and poolside settings made for another memorable experience. Particular mention goes out to the Watersports and Pool services guys for always being energetic and friendly when ever you approached their building. Mike especially lead by example. I did find the parking stalls to be very narrow and was a challenge at times. We did have engineering come up to our unit on a couple of occasions, they were very prompt, efficient and very curtious. All in all another memorable trip to Maui, now time to start planning for 2013! May 5, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Have realistic expectations- property was nice, but.... We were in the North Villas- keep in mind that this is not a hotel, it's a set of condos with some hotel amenities. It has a small grocery store, but no gift shop. They do have a couple of restaurants, but they are not open until later. To get breakfast, you need to walk over to the South villas, which with a disabled spouse & kids is a little difficult. The rooms feels cramped if you're travelling with more than 3 people. The service at bars or pool side was not great but the overall hotel staff was very attentive and helpful..... when they were there to help (don't know if they were short handed for the holidays or not). They are renovating so some of the walls smell of paint and the floors of the elevator are exposed. We had 3 days that they did not clean our room, at all! We had the tag not to bother us until later and housekeeping kept trying to clean the room early, waking up my children who were sleeping. When we left for the pool around 1 or 2 and came back at 5 or so, room was still untouched and I had to call housekeeping several times just to get clean towels. We had an incident at the facility where my son got a little irate and profane while arguing with my spouse & I. Jeff and his security team did a great job in diffusing the situation and settling things down. My wife is disabled and the bell desk/valet were OUTSTANDING with accommodating our needs and issues. They'd get a 10++ everyday and twice on Sunday. I identified myself as a SPG Gold member several times, but was told that due to the ownership nature of the property that no additional benefits/status was available here. I'm completely realistic with that, but it's disappointing that my travel agent didn't tell me that ahead of time. However, as someone who has a spouse who cannot walk distances, I asked for a ground level floor or room near an elevator at time of reservation & it was put in the record. I received neither and when I asked for such at check in, I was given the canned line again : "due to the ownership nature of the property that no additional benefits/status was available here." For the money we spent for the trip and the money we spent at this "4 Diamond" resort while there, I had higher expectations for this resort and just thought we'd get better value and service for the money. It would take quite a bit for me to return to this resort, which is a shame because I really like the Ka'anapali area a lot. December 27, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by No Bueno. No Parking and slow valet since they have to retreive the vehicles from a far away lot, very slow internet, gave me a room next to elevator and when we complained changed us to a downgrade partial ocean view room, intermitent TV channels and when complained did not come to see but came and woke us up next day at 8 am even when we posted the no distrub sign, restaurant is worse than mcdonalds. We do NOT recommed this hotel, period! Dr. Cantu July 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Beach, but not a hotel Overall this is a very nice property. It caters mostly to seniors staying for 2+ weeks and families. I found the pool to be extremely loud and overcrowded. Past reviewers are correct, the chaise lounge chairs have a metal bar that hits your back, they should ask for a refund or free cushions from the manufacturer. The chairs are so packed in that you have no room to move around. Ka'anapali is probably the nicest beach. One thing to note, they do charge $10.00/day for a chair at the beach. I thought this was ridiculous. I was a guest of a Villa owner and it seem to me after spending so much for her time share they shouldn't nickel and dime their members. The room is appointed very nicely. The sofa bed is extremely uncomfortable so we opted for a rollaway (again an additional charge). Past comments regarding the maid service are correct. There is a midweek towel and sheet change but that is it. They do not clean the toilet or sink or anything. We clean our toilet at home more than once a week. More extensive cleaning is available, again for an extra charge. I will say there are housekeeping carts everywhere and their housekeeping staff is VERY accommodating. They will exchange your towels for you, give you more soap, shampoos or whatever you like. But you must go to them. I am not used to going on a vacation where I have to make the bed, clean the kitchen, clean the bathroom all the time.....I might as well have stayed home. Another reviewer complained about the food prices. Let's face it ALL food on Hawaii is expensive. The first night we ate at their Italian restaurant. The server did an amazing job, the food quality was good and the bill for a party of 4 with tip was $200.00. Another morning we ate at Duke's , just north of the property, for breakfast. The bill for 4 was in excess of $100.00 for coffee, juice and an entree for each person. The next day we decided to try the Westin buffet in the South tower. The selections were great. The food was high quality and it included juice, coffee, etc. They had fresh papaya, oatmeal and many other nice items. I feel the buffet at the Westin is the best value and offers many choices and selections. Other mornings, we ate yogurt and bagels from our room which was also a nice option. The property has two fitness centers, one located in the south tower and one in the North tower. Unfortunately, we didn't find out about the one in our building until the last day of our trip. I prefer the fitness center in the North tower as it has big windows and a nice courtyard view. Overall, I liked the property, but if you were booking it as a"hotel" room which they offer, I would suggest booking at a true Hotel property. If you like timeshares or are looking to buy at this property, I think it offers numerous amenities. February 16, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rather disappointing Sorry to say that it was not such a great experience: We started on the wrong foot as we arrived from LA around 10 pm: No room service after 8 pm! We had to drive to Safeway to get milk and cereal not to sleep on an empty stomach. I found the concierge service inaccurate and not informed. The concierge sent us to the Ocean Pool Bar and Grill but did not know that on Christmas day at 1.45 pm we could not get lunch, as after 1.30 pm that restaurant had already shut to prepare for the dinner buffet that evening. The only place (Pulehu is only open for dinner) was the Pailolo Bar, which serves only hamburgers, salads and sandwiches that are rather average. Could not get a piece of fresh fruit whatsoever. Pulehu is a "wannabe" Italian restaurant. The risotto was overcooked even though I requested it "al dente" as I am a real Italian from Italy. The menu has a few mistakes to begin with: Saltimbocca is actually spelled with 2 "c"s, as is Piccata. I say "Peccato", which means "what a pity" or "sin"! The beds are made in a ridiculous way, as you can only pull your sheets up to your waist without messing up the bed. The bottom sheet rarely reaches the end of the bed. And a duvet in Hawaii? So one can blast the air conditioning at freezing temperatures? The spa experience: Had a lovely massage but could not go back to my room wearing the spa robe. Were they afraid I might steel it? The spa receptionist said people take all sorts of things at this hotel...What kind of people? Must be a great place for families with young kids. We had an amazing view, from our second floor room, of the pirate ship and the kids pool/playground. Good thing the windows are soundproof. Pity the corridors are not sound proof too. Plenty of "guests" slam the doors and shout in the corridors, and I am not talking about kids... December 31, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel with beautiful location Very nice hotel but not sure what makes it a Category 7 hotel? That being said, everything was great, very clean and the location is awesome. Super nice beach and great for snorkeling. The food is ok and prices too, but the selection is quite limited. We had 2 "One bedroom", one for my 3 boys and one for me and the wife. I had booked 2 regular rooms but got upgraded on both accounts, thanks again. All in all, we had an excellent stay for 6 nights, we had just been to Kauai for 2 weeks in a rented house, so it was perfect with some extra luxury and treatment at a super hotel. If on Maui again I'll most likely stay at the same hotel, but I prefer Kauai with less tourists. August 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding We just returned from a truly outstanding stay at the Westin Ka'anapali Villas. From our first greeting at check-in, to the quality of our room, to the service offered by the concierge and all the hotel staff, to the excellent facilities--nothing could have been better. We highly recommend this and will gladly return. The setting is great, with immediate access to the beach and the delightful 3 mile beach boardwalk. Although the hotel is large, with lots of families and young children, our room was exceptionally quiet, and we never felt crowded or congested. Commendations to outstanding Hawaiian hospitality. April 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by True VACATION experience! We were at the resort last week. It is clean, well maintained and best of all, has a staff that is outstanding! We truly enjoyed ourselves and hope we are fortunate enough to visit again one day! The sunsets and beach access are noteworthy!!! October 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Anniversary Stay My husband and I were really pleased with our recent anniversary stay at the Westin Villas in Kaanapali! Yuki at the front desk of the South Tower was such a friendly and helpful part of that. She upgraded us without asking with our Starwood Gold status and was able to get us an early check-in, which was very convenient since we were on the property with our 6 year old. She congratulated us on our wedding anniversary and sent us a complimentary bottle of champagne. Our room and experience was so wonderful that we decided to stay in for dinner and have an early night in our awesome suite!! Thanks Westin!! :) August 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay! Definitely recommend this resort villas to anyone planning on vacationing in Maui. Exceptional room, great service, and the ocean view was great. The resort is well maintained with a small lily pond with fish, tiki torches, cabanas, and a nice pool. Sidewalks to walk you straight to the beach. The beach bar have happy hour to enjoy a drink on the beach. Free good breakfast if you opt out of room service the following day. One small complaint inside the room were the privacy in the bathroom area. No locks on the sliding doors. Everything else in the room and resort made up for it though. Mahalo Westin! February 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by good but not great I expected something extraordinary since this was a Westin. The hotel room was awesome, room cleanliness and maintenance was fantastic. But that was the end of the greatness. Pool is too small for such a large complex; service at the pool was atrocious (2 service people for about 100 people that I saw). Breakfast was pretty bad and stale. We went to the Sheraton everyday since we had coupons that could be used either place. Location is pretty far from many activities, but right on kaanapali. Traffic can be a killer for any activities in south or central Maui. Parking is not free, it is $10 per day. May 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by BBQ's Not Working & Failure to Fix This is the first time we have experienced such a significant lack of response a request to the Service Request people AND General Manager Nolen's "hotline" for sharing of concerns. Two of the six BBQ's next to building #3 were not working for four of the seven days of our stay. My wife called Service Express requesting that someone meet me at the BBQ area. The Service Express lady said a maintenance person would be there shortly. Nobody responded during the 1.5 hours I was there. I also reported the problem to a staff member and GM Nolen's number with no results... You can do better than this!! August 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Resort! My family of 3 stayed at this resort for 6 nights in the North Tower. This was the best vacation we have ever had. I reserved an island view room but upon check in was given a partial ocean view which was incredible. We had a view of the pool and ocean and it was absolutely gorgeous. The grounds were out of this world and extremely clean. The staff was helpful and really went out of their way to make sure their guests had a fantastic time. This resort had everything we could ask for and more! My eleven year old son loved the volleyball net and basketball hoop in the pool. So much fun! June 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel can improve As a special education teacher , I liked seeing the adaptive chair by one of the hot tubs.There is an issue with guests holding chairs at the pool by leaving towels and clothing.. In many cases, I saw no one retruning for over 3 hours.There has to be a better way to reserve chairs and not let guests save them unattended. I also felt that non guests were in the hot tubs and children under 6 were left in the hot tubs unattended by adults. There is no monitoring of posted signs. It would be nice to have a swim suit spin dryer in the complimentary room to use after being checked out .Especially since there are no plastic bags to put the wet suit in.It would be nice to have a lap pool for adults only. June 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This villa is a great place to stay! A very beautiful and clean place! The pools and beach are only a few steps away from each other. Staff was very friendly and willing to accommodate your needs. The Villas are equipped with everything you need away from home. Free shuttle rides made it easy and convenient to travel. Food was great, but expensive. Looking forward to my next visit! September 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great beach! Spent 6 days at the Westin K'aanapali Ocean Villas starting 3/27/13. Great location with historical Lahaina nearby. Best snorkeling, no need to travel elsewhere. Saw huge turtles! Pools are average but perfect for younger children. The staff is friendly and very accommodating. Only a few restaurants which are reasonably priced considering it's Maui, but some top restaurants closely that the concierge can help with reservations. Would have liked to have been greeted with a lei and heard more Hawaiian music on the facilities to complete the Maui experience. Will definitely go back! April 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best way to travel with kids I love that the villas offer full kitchens. It is so hard to rely on restaurants for my picky eaters. The resort offered everything we needed and the beach here is terrific. Calm waters for kids and surprisingly empty adding to the sense of privacy. September 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful property/ Quality service Have travelled many starwoods resorts and this one is exceptional. Spectacular property..snorkeling & whale watching from the beach. We are beach people and the beach staff was particularly helpful and pleasant. We had left our lounge chairs for a long walk and came back finding them moved and occupied...staff promptly handled and made sure we don't intervene...must mention Casey at the front desk..great job handling our requests and follow thru..she is special. Had dinner at the pool bar on crab night...fresh sweet crab...delicious Can't wait to come back! March 23, 2014
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 12 next>>