The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

  • 6 Kai Ala Drive,
  • Lahaina
  • Maui,
  • Hawaii
  • 96761
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 282 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beyond expectations... I was initially sceptical about doing a vacation stay for a whole week, even after being an SVN member for 10 years - this was my first stay and the experience was astounding. Decided to return every year to such vacation stays. October 25, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice location, busy place! The location and facilities are very nice. The property gets VERY busy with limited space out at the pools. It is great for families but not necessarily for those wanting to get away for peace and quiet. The Studio rooms are a little cramped and the kitchenette is very small and not really that functional for those who plan to cook in. Overall, the property was just a little too crowed and busy for my style but it is definitely more low key than the south end of the Kaanapali group of hotels. June 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has it all. I've been all over Maui. It's located in the best part of the island and cleanliness and service are second to none. We have stayed there more than once and don't see us using any other locations on future visits. Rooms, Staff, Pools, Bars, Beaches, and Services are great! June 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location and beaches. Shuttle service to other SPG properties and local restaurants was a great amenity to have, to experience the local culture of the island. Beach and pools were awesome, plenty of cabanas, chairs and space to relax but yet also have family fun. Plenty of great snorkeling to be had, plenty of beautiful coral, fish and sea turtles.Food and service at all restaurants was great. Staff was all very helpful and very polite. We will definitely be making a return trip.Can't wait!!!! May 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Resort! My family of 3 stayed at this resort for 6 nights in the North Tower. This was the best vacation we have ever had. I reserved an island view room but upon check in was given a partial ocean view which was incredible. We had a view of the pool and ocean and it was absolutely gorgeous. The grounds were out of this world and extremely clean. The staff was helpful and really went out of their way to make sure their guests had a fantastic time. This resort had everything we could ask for and more! My eleven year old son loved the volleyball net and basketball hoop in the pool. So much fun! June 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Maui Staycation As Maui residents, we were were pleasantly surprised at the amenities of the hotel and grounds. The full kitchen was a plus as we have three young children; making eating in much easier. Having the washer and drier IN THE ROOM was amazing, allowing us to pack very little clothes. Staff were friendly except for security at pool side that kept harassing us to remove our cooler (which was full of milk/formula for the baby) due to Maui's liquor law. Otherwise our stay was extremely relaxing and we hope to return again soon. Mahalo! September 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing and renewing vacation Room was beautiful with wonderful view of gardens and pool areas. Restaurant staff could not have been sweeter -- we were so warmly greeted by old friends (like family!) and welcomed by new ones. Pools and hot tubs were so relaxing and refreshing (although it was a little competitive to get a pool chair with shade). We saw a whale (beyond the end of the season!), preying mantis on door (coolest thing according to the 5-year-old), tadpoles in the ponds and froggies hopping across the lawn at dusk. We also saw wonderful stars, planets and full moon in the sky. Our wonderful vacation calm aura stayed with me over a week after returning to my hectic job. Perfect! May 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location Nice location for ocean activities and other attractions. June 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 Watch out - Bait and Switch My niece was getting married and had a block of rooms for the guests to choose from. Since this was going to be a big vacation for my spouse and me, I opted to spend the money and pick the best room available, an ocean view 1-bedroom. We were excited. When I checked in at 11:00pm, we were tired when the staff handed my key to me. It was room 3106. This was a crappy room. It was on the first floor with a view of the back of a restaurant (The Ocean Pool Bar and Grill). The “Ocean view” was completely blocked by vegetation and the back of the restaurant. The noise from the staff in the back of the restaurant made sitting on the balcony almost unbearable. Talk about a “Bait and Switch”. Only after my niece got involved and a better room became available (3 days) was I offered a better room or stay at a reduced rate ($60/night off). I stayed in the room avoiding the hassle of moving. I really wonder if I had not bitched about the room if “The Westin” would have said or done anything. I seriously doubt it. I was seriously disappointed. The only bright spot was the housekeeping staff, Top notch. February 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Vacation Ever!!! This was our second stay at the Westin Villas, and once again our expectations were exceeded. Let me begin with my check in where we had the pleasure of meeting Jade who greeted us with a big Aloha!! She was very helpful with all of our questions and fulfilled our request to upgrade to a one bedroom unit with a great view. She then gave us a few ideas on where to visit and take the kids to enjoy the island. Once we received our room keys we opened the door to a very clean and spacious suite with spectacular views. This room made us feel right at home, not to mention all the little perks of a kitchen and washer and dryer. I then proceeded to meet my concierge Lucia who also greeted us with a great big smile. She set us up with all we needed to help us enjoy our stay and keep the kids happy throughout our stay. She was a great help with all our activity planning throughout the week. We booked the kids in the kids club and a spa treatment for my wife witch they all enjoyed. We spent a majority of our time on the resort and used all three pools throughout our stay. The kids loved the waterside and the pirate ship pool. We also took advantage of the happy hour offered at both bars, can't beat the drink of the day special. This was our 6th trip to Maui and will not be our last. I will return again sometime in the near future and look forward to staying at the Westin Villas to kick back and relax. I would also like to thank Daniel, Carolyn, Evelya, Regina, and Louisa for keeping our room spotless. May 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Housekeeping:( We stayed here for 5 nights and 6 days for our 2 year anniversary.Housekeeping cleaned and made up our room 1day! We called and requested that our room needed to be cleaned. Each night we returned from all day sight seeing and excursions. Our room was never made up or cleaned. That is totally (Unacceptable)! Other than the housekeeping,the resort is AWESOME! July 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel was absolutely amazing This hotel was amazing; the staff was extremely courteous and helpful. Very clean room, pools were very nice. We loved the features from access to the beach and several gas grills we used to cook our dinners! We highly recommend this hotel for a vacation; especially if you have kids. Beaches were pristine and the snorkeling was the best we have seen. July 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Not sure what the complaining is about. This is a very nice place, and yes it is a vacation ownership type property (timeshare). I would put out experience between being at a timeshare and staying at a nice 5 star hotel. We had a beautiful 1 bedroom unit. They sell out unused available rooms through websites like Orbitz, Costco etc. etc. It has all your amenities except that the kitchen does NOT have a real oven. It seems a lot of people complain about such little things that seem to ruin their trips, or maybe they are just the complainer type. This place has everything you could want. The staff was fantastic from the valet, to the front desk, to the housekeeping. Tip: call the valet ahead of time from your room and they will bring the car up for you. Got food you got from Costco? on your way in and your room is not ready? no problem, they will unload your luggage and food and keep the food in a refrigerated walkin until your room is ready. Most important, relax, your on vacation! February 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Maui - Family Vaca It was a very special experience. We loved the accomodations and the staff at the Westin. Very consistent, dependable expereince --- we will be back soon! June 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Exquisit location We arrived late our flight from Oahu it was a nightmare. The front desk staff was most welcoming as was the rest of the staff. The constant phone calls before our arrival and the call to come to meet the concierge were a little much. Not your typical Westin. The pressure to set up a time to go on a tour for 1.5 hrs time share tour was impolite. Also I was on vacation with my girl friend. The concierge ask if this was my significant other. I was out raged and that ended our discussion. I am not sure why this question was asked. It was rude and no necessary to ask such a question, in my opinion. I will stay at the Westin hotel the next time I go to Maui November 11, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall good experience - 2 criticisms Hi We just completed our vacation at the Westin Ocean Villas. The facility was outstanding for families, with spacious and clean rooms, great cleaning staff and pool attendants. We have two areas of concern in terms of a returning trip. 1. We booked an Ocean view room. The room we were assigned (2110) would certainly not qualify. We met another family in the same situation. We were both given different (much better) rooms for our 2nd nights (through departure). The hotel should be a lot more careful about how it represents these rooms. 2. Food and Drink: The menus at the poolside facilities leave a bit to be desired. In particular, the drinks (cocktails) were TERRIBLE (weak) to the point that I believe the bad is watering down the spirits. The staff explained that the weakness was due to Hawaii law (laughable - other hotels are much better). Secondly, the wait staff (with a few exceptions) were slow and even unemotional. An opportunity for improvement. We would not eat at the facility much if we were to return. Thank you April 22, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by A Bad SPG/Westin Experience When we checked in the front desk said our room would not be ready till the next day so they had to put us in another room for one night. Then we had to be out of that room by 9am the next day and couldn't be in our room till 4pm (so no room for the day). When we get to our room that they said was "better" it was in a construction zone! They we doing construction in the halls and outside on the building - very noisy and smelled of paint! Also, the washing machine and dryer, the phone and the kitchen faucet handle were all not working. We ate dinner at the Italian restaurant the first night and the food was not good (even my husband complained). As part of Westin’s way to try to make things “better” they gave us free drink coupons for the bar. Well the free drink coupons are only good for the Drink of the Day not what you want to drink. So if you want a Mai Tai and it is Margarita day you are out of luck. If this is how they treat SPG members that they are trying to get to purchase one of their villas then I would hate to see how they treat their owners. Never staying here again! November 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by ALOHA.. BEST TRIP EVER! From our first day, Erika, at the south bar, was genuinely helpful and kind and gave us repeated great service. We loved her. The room was fabulous, the service great and we couldn't have asked for more. LOVED IT! November 5, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by this hotel is great but I felt this location and hotel overall was great but to charge for beach chairs and umbrellas. If you were a group of 4 the cost per day would be $60. really May 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lousy Internet Service/Not best room Arrived 10/28/11..Kept getting dropped on weak internet service. Internet upgraded 10/31. Now for better service you have to pay. Free service is terrible. Only 2 dots on strength & @ times 1. This is now 11/2. I stay 3 to 5 weeks @ a time. I am 5 stars elite.9 weeks total. Because I stay longer I don't get the best rooms..need to draw people in. I have 2+ weeks to go. Everything else is great. That's why I keep coming back. November 2, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by The resort has some issues Check in was fine except that the agent assigned a room that didn't exist. It took us and our luggage an hour to finally determine the error and fix. At check out (at 3:30 pm) there was but 1 lonely agent at the desk. It took 30 minutes to hand the room cards and towel cards to the agent. The once a week "tidy" house cleaning service arrived at 8:00 am. Which was not convenient. To reschedule one had to call housekeeping. Trying to reach "service express" on the telephone was frustrating. Generally the line would ring FOREVER without being answered. March 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A nice place to stay The Westin Villas are always convenient and have good amenities. The problem is, they are often too small. When I was searching for a place on Maui, the Villas came up as an option for my family of 5. So we ended up reserving a studio, which has one king bed and a queen pull out couch. Well, this set up does not sleep 5 comfortably. We brought in a roll-away as well making our room look like one solid bed from one end to the other. This did not give much room to walk around. Even the one bedroom unit would have had the same issue. But, having a kitchen and washer/dryer was key. If you can't tolerate being on top of each other for the duration of your trip, this is a good place to stay. One thing that turned me off is that they charge you for absolutely everything. Want a beach chair? $10. Want an umbrella for shade? $20. Rent a pool raft? Another $8. It adds up really quickly. I'm not sure why they just don't let you check these things out and back in like they do towels (which are free, unless you don't turn one back in, then they are $15). I would make for a more pleasant experience. June 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Westin KOR - hit and miss hotel staff OVERVIEW This was our second time staying at this property, a long-time SPG member I was enticed by the lure of promotional package pricing. While you can rent villas based on availability, this is an ownership property so Westin is aggressively working to sell all units - hence the promotion to get us here and try to sell us a unit (or at least one week per year of a unit). According to Westin all that remains is a few resell units. I would have guessed otherwise since this is our second promotional package and several others at the property were there on the same promotion. Doesn't matter, still a great property. The property is actually two separate hotels. The south property which was first (2003-ish completion) and the north property which was completed around 2006. Important to know which one you are staying in as they are two separate lobbies. My family has stayed in both and find that even the south (older) property is holding up well. In fact, looking back probably liked the south property room better. ROOMS Rented units are either studios that can accommodate up to 5 (uncomfortably) or 1-bedroom that could squeeze in 6 if you had to. But honestly, look for accommodations on Maui (other than condo rentals) that will fit a family of 5, there aren't many. If you buy into the Vacation Ownership you will receive the studio + 1-bedroom unit together, making it effectively a 2-bedroom unit that can accommodate 8 or 9. Anyway… 1. Room has full kitchen and appliances. Newer, clean and in good working order. Tastefully decorated and definitely 4-star+ fit and finish. Also has stacked washer/dryer and a separate dining area that accommodates 6. Bathrooms are quite large along with big showers. 2. If you have stayed at a Westin property before, one of the best features is the Westin Heavenly bed. Very comfortable and able to purchase for yourself if you wish. POOL My family debated whether we liked the north property pool from our last stay or the south property pool during this stay. North might be a little better, but south has a slide and seems to get more sun. As a guest you may use either during your stay and can decide for yourself. As with many places, families come out early to commandeer lounge chairs that end up rarely used. Happens here like anywhere else but there still seems to be plenty of places to park yourself. Choice locations being more of a challenge. If you like you can rent (at a $40 daily charge) a small 2 lounge chair cabana that are peppered around the property at different locations. Or big spenders may wish to rent a gazebo that is quite a bit larger - not sure the price but certainly north of $100/day. Easy access to the boardwalk that stretches from Blackrock to the south up past other resorts to the north. A very pleasant walk in the morning or, better yet, evening. It traverses a grassy area that is in between the hotel properties and the beach itself and is one of the nicer features of Ka'anapali resorts. RESTAURANTS Only ate at the Ocean Pool Bar and Grill during one of their sunset dinner seatings. Outdoor seating only overlooking the pool and the beach beyond. The fixed price menu is $29 which offers limited, but good, selection and generous portions. With a couple of well-priced drinks and a single kids meal you will be paying near $100 for two adults. DRAWBACKS Unfortunately had a run-in with a bartender at the Ocean Pool bar. Don't tolerate bad service (I think his name was Christopher) or allow the bartender to argue with you about how good the drink he made you. It's his responsibility to fix it or replace it, not argue with you. Would stay here again, in fact probably will, but continue to be shocked that Westin considers this a Category 7 property. One of only two Westin properties in the world that are Category 7, which is usually reserved for St. Regis and Luxury Collection hotels. But this is Maui… February 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average experience We have been to Hawaii 5 times, three to Maui. This was the most average of our experiences. No welcome upon arrival (no lei's!). Check-in took forever as there was only one person at the desk and she was thorough (which is good if you are the person checking in but bad for those waiting). The facilities were nice but you noticed that some of the walls and doors were banged up. The once weekly clean-up was a joke. They barely cleaned or straightened up. Had to rent beach chairs, even though staying at the resort. And way too much paper and info. Let the guest decide how much info they want. December 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience with comfort and hospitality This was my first time to visit Maui and the Westin comfort and hospitality definitely added to a great time visiting the island. Your staff was excellent with assisting/facilitating my stay. I have to give a big thumbs up to Kelly Mays, one of your concierges. She was extremely helpful assisting my vacation with fun activities. She even provided her own boogie board for my beach time. Please thank Kelly for me in person, she deserves some kind of reward or award for her services. Overall, it was a great experience staying at the Westin. I will definitely be back again! Sincerely, Jason October 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful Property, Some Items Could be Better I just returned from a 7 night stay at this property, and what an amazing resort! The grounds are maintained so meticulously! I was upgraded to a one bedroom ocean view villa and it was spectacular. Having a washer, drier, and full kitchen really is great on a vacation for as long as mine. They offer on-site activities that can be charged directly to your room for convenience. I personally did the stand up paddle board and the Snuba Diving. Our trainers Akika and Donna were very helpful and extremely patient which made the activities that much more enjoyable. The pool area is wonderful, and the happy hour is great. The items listed below are what negatively affected my review of this property. As a Platinum SPG member, I have stayed at a lot of Starwood properties, so I have an expectation as to what to expect. At this property, although I was upgraded to a nicer room, after my fifth night, they required me to move my room as I was bumped by a vacation ownership patron arriving to the property. I completely felt like a second rate guest of the hotel. Although typically moving rooms is not a big deal, when you have seven days of luggage and groceries to move, it is a big process to do so. Initially, they even told me that I had to check out by 10AM and could not move to my new room until 4PM. This was going to completely hinder my activities for the day. After enough complaining, our concierge Caroline was able to find me a room that would be ready upon my checkout of the first room, which made the situation better. I feel that with proper planning by those doing the room assignments, the whole ordeal could have been avoided. I personally called 4 times prior to my arrival to have the resort tie the two reservations together, which clearly failed to happen. My next disappointing incident was on my last day when I wanted to use my 4PM late checkout that I receive as a benefit of being a platinum SPG member. The resort was quick to tell me that since it is a vacation ownership property, they do not honor all the policies of the SPG program. I was mistakenly under the impression that all hotels that bear the name of one of the Starwood properties were governed under the same expectations. I nearly had to beg for my breakfast vouchers as once again, I was told that it was a vacation ownership property and was different. The Italian restaurant on site was the most disappointing meal that I had during my entire stay in Hawaii. The waitress did make all the provisions she could, but really I expected better from the prices that they charge at the establishment. All in all, great resort, it just really needs to work on some of the customer service components as it really taints the overall stay. This hotel has the ability to be rated far higher than just average. Until the customer service aspects change, I will not stay at this property again, nor would I recommend it. May 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice, but.... My wife and I recently stayed in the villas for about a week. We go to Maui about once a year, but this was our first time at this Westin. The room was large and comfortable and the staff friendly and knowledgeable. Parking was readily available and reasonably priced compared with other resorts. I was a little disappointed that our bed was not one of Westin's infamous "heavenly beds." I thought that was what the Westin was known for. The bed we had was comfortable, but nothing special. Also, our one day of maid service to change sheets and towels did not show up until the next day after several phone calls. I learned that management there uses a reactive style rather than proactive. (They do respond however; but most people would rather not have to chase down towels and sheets). Shampoo and soap amenities were minimal, so my wife and I had to shop for shampoo and soap---not fun. I suppose next time we'll pack this stuff, but we try to keep our baggage weight down due to costs charged by the airlines these days. We went to breakfast at the villas' restaurant and were hit with sticker shock. $18 for a plain omelet is a bit much. And the buffet is no where near worth the cost of $24 that my wife paid. Eat elsewhere if you go. Check-out was a breeze, but when I got home and checked my credit card account on-line I noticed 3 separate authorizations for $50 each. I was not made aware of these, nor were these charges authorized or valid. Although the Westin is removing them, trying to deal with this issue via email (I like to do my business in writing rather than telephone) has been a nightmare. They are not responsive and when they do respond you just get the runaround. "One and done" is not their mantra---at least not by email. I would go back if the price was right, but not at their current rates. There are better values in Kaanapali. November 29, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Good food,disorganized front desk and housekeeping Nice layout and beach .They forgot to clean the room some of the time even though 3 requests were made.Too many babies at the pool take away from the experience.Courteous staff but very disorganized front desk.We paid for a food discount plan and they harassed us every time we tried to use it.Smoking on the porches is also very annoying. August 29, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very Disappointed Very Disappointed As a SPG member it troubles me to write this review. There were "guests" slamming doors and shouting in the corridors and I am not talking about kids. There were so many really young kids and young adults at the main pool that took away from having a great experience for those of us without kids. Yes, they have an adult pool which is an after thought as it is stuck over in a corner out of sight and far from the poolside restaurant. Thanks Westin for not thinking of your mature adult clientele. This is not the place for mature responsible adults that want to rest and relax, believe me forget it! I guess our timing of our stay was really bad because during our stay they were doing major renovation that made getting around the property a major task; closed hallways and scaffolding in many places that blocked access to some areas. Also the pounding and use of electric drills during the renovation sounded like they were coming right through the ceiling of our room. I took this matter up with the personnel at the front desk and they looked at me like I had two heads. The lady at the front desk said she was sorry, but I can tell you she is not as sorry as I am after spending thousands of dollars on this Hawaiian vacation only to have a miserable experience. Our Jacuzzi did not work so I called the front desk. Maintenance came up to fix it and apparently the electrical breaker that controlled our Jacuzzi was located in the unit next door and continued to be tripped so each time we wanted to use our Jacuzzi we had to call maintenance to reset the breaker so they had to each time bother the folks next door to our room to reset the breaker. And the four speed ceiling fan in our room had just one speed, slowest!!! Also, there were charges to our room at the north resort from somebody dining at the Ocean grill at the south resort which was hard to imagine and of course unacceptable, but they did remove these charges from our bill. I found the concierge staff to be inaccurate and uninformed as they gave us times and dates for some events that were inaccurate. Plus the fitness center is poorly equipped and too small for a property of this large size. We were hoping for a nice relaxing vacation, but ended up spending far too much time dealing with "issues". Goodbye Westin Ka'anapali. This is the first time we have used our time share membership and I hope this is not what we will experience going forward. My biggest fear is that we have made a terrible mistake purchasing this timeshare. Time will tell. December 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Stay It was our first visit to Maui and we had a wonderful four days. The Westin Ka'anapali Resort exceeded our expectations in all areas. We especially enjoyed the pools, beach, and beach walk-way. Our one-bedroom suite was spacious, quiet and superbly equipped. We enjoyed ocean view dining at the restaurant and beach bar. June 7, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>