Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

  • 78-128 Ehukai Street
  • Kailua-Kona,
  • Hawaii
  • 96740
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 631 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Experience Good location. Quite. Feel very relaxed. Nice to be able to see the Manta Rays at night, right at the door steps. Staff are friendly and courteous. Clean environment July 27, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great Location, Service Needs Improvement The Sheraton occupies a great location right on Keauhou Bay, with great views of sunsets and verdant mountains. The rooms were also well-cared for and very clean. However, the front desk staff and resort amenities were disappointing. When I fell ill during our trip and called to ask about borrowing a thermometer, the staff person joked that she wanted to make sure "you're not going to die during my shift", then said that if it was something that would send me to the hospital they could probably "rummage something up", but otherwise I should just use the "old-fashioned method of hand on forehead". I don't know if she was trying to be funny, but I thought it was annoying and lacking in empathy. Second, we were less than impressed by the on-resort Holua Bar, which served fish tacos with terrible cuts of mahi in them -- dry, extremely fishy, and probably frozen. I almost never complain about restaurant food, but being from Hawai'i, I took personal umbrage. They apologized and removed it from our bill, but it should have never been served in the first place. Finally, the resort charge of $30 per day seems exorbitant, particularly when most of the "services" paid for were things we never used, like lei-making, hula classes, and long-distance and local phone calls. July 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for families The large pool with both a large water slide and a small water slide was excellent for our family with a 13 year-old and 11 year-old. The manta ray watching in the evening was also a highlight. July 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 This hotel exceeded our expectations From the time we arrived to the time we left we were treated like ohana. Everyone on the staff including the housekeeping crew enthusiastically greeted us with sincerity. The rooms and grounds were stellar. The hotel cultural tours were amazing and I highly recommend them. Lily and Crayton set the bar of excellence. July 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Stay I was very pleased with our four night stay. I used points for the room and was still upgraded to a full ocean view looking out where the Manta Rays were swimming every evening. Also was given ocean front seating for dinner at Ray's on the Bay without reservations on a Saturday night. Probably the best experience I have had as an SPG Platinum member. July 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pool is great The pool is awesome, love the slide and option of having some covered chair areas. July 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Needs Improvement In terms of a hotel everything was fine. The issue is in communication and doing what needs to be done in a hotel right the first time. I called to ask when the music stops and was told 9:30PM. A few days later, the night before most of the hotel is getting up to run in the Kona Marathon, music is still playing. When I called the woman who answered said she would send security. When I spoke to Nadine about it, she informed that music actually stops at 11 PM. If that is the case why would anyone tell me 9:30PM. In the same conversation I expressed my upset about the cleaning service. I do believe in green and many hotels have green initiatives, but I have NEVER heard of a hotel which puts a room on a DO NOT ENTER LIST when they use the sign to not change the sheets. This is particularly upsetting when there is a RESORT FEE and part of that fee includes free water, which we now needed to call EVERYDAY FOR. When I spoke to Chad earlier in the week, he said no problem and got it done. When I spoke to Veronica about it she told me to call housekeeping, when I mentioned what Chad did, she picked up the phone in a huffy manner and made the request. This did not make me feel like a NEW SPG guest who was welcome. When it came to the points it says they are good the day of, so I turned them in daily, until I was finally told not to b/c I will not get the full credit. This Veronica did correct with pleasure. There was then a problem with my bill, in which one of my rooms was to get a credit. I made it VERY clear which room it was, and of course they got it wrong and could not fix it until about 3 days later and calls to Tawny. In addition, your fitness center was freezing. Back to Nadine, who I felt was condescending and was more than willing to let me know the problems the hotel was having with its management and how they are going back to Starwood. What good does that do me? Do I really care while I am on vacation what her problems are with her job? Why would I want to stay there again? If you ask me part of the problem was Nadine and her lackadaisical attitude. I vacation about 2 times a year and I am not sure if this will be someplace I return, or use a Sheraton again. Please let me know why I should? I would like to commend Blaze, the Concierge and Jess the Valet. They were always smiling, helpful, and when on duty present in their duties. These two know what means to be of service to people and give them the opportunity to relax and enjoy. July 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by fantastic Our stay was fantastic. The facilities were impressive and the location was beautiful. June 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not interested in our confort This was not a complete bad exeperience but I will just list what went wrong : - Bathrooms --> bathroom in the room (no door) / Very old shower (how coul you provide a modern bedroom and so old bathroom ?) - Marathon's day... : I'm pretty sure my travel agent told you we were in we are looking for calm and rest. Our room was just over the marathon arrival ! (the concert the previous day in the evening, why not...), but the 2 people roaring in a megaphone at 6 a.m, that is unacceptable. We finally left the room at 7 (impossible to stay longer) to go at the pool. What a surprise to see the participants going to the pool without taking any shower (running and going directly to the pool, usual in the US ??? I don't think so, and of course, no staff to warn them...). So : no pool When I went to the front desk to share my "suprise", they told me, "Marathon soon finished, it will be OK for the next night", "sorry for the pool, I'll try to do something" and finally give me a $50 dollar back !! Do you really think I'm travelling from France to San Francisco, Hawai'i Islands and NYC City to get $50 ????? She nevers offers me to change room or to provide a service (in-room breakfast, diner, spa, whatever...) PS : And room cleaning at 3pm... no comments June 30, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Choice, total disappointment In a nutshell; Tired, dreary, worn out facility. Needs a good, large bulldozer , clean slate, and fresh state with poor customer service. My family experienced travelers, (vacations and business). This hotel was not a good experience. On arrival, we were give a tiny room for a family of four and got a complete run around from staff and management about a "compromise". They offered the same room and a cot at $50/night. My son was supposed to sleep on the floor I guess. We had ad to muscle our way into getting what t we were original promised (AND PAID FOR). This took until the third day of our seven day vacation (we ended up going home a day early because we were so upset with the staff at the hotel. Oh, by the way. For the first three days we could not shower in our "room" as the bathtub would not drain. (not exaggerations). NO MORE SHERATON fo this family...any where. I summary, if you a are in search of a disappointing Hawaiian vacation, stay qt this "hotel". Good luck June 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Kona Marathon Week The one thing that stands out and in my opinion was the staff- EXCELLENT! Attentive, friendly & result oriented. Thank you for making my stay very enjoyable. No complaints. June 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Above our expectations. My family of four stayed for a week at the Sheraton Kona and had a wonderful experience. Friendly staff helped us plan our days on the island and we were able to relax back at the hotel after our daily trips. All areas of the hotel were top notch and were a big part of our family vacation. June 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfortable Stay We stayed here for 2 nights at the start of a 9-night visit to the island. We were upgraded to an ocean view room which overlooked partial pool/slide area and a BIG plant blocking most of the ocean view. The patio was spacious, but when it rained you could hear the water splashing down from the balcony above you - was a bit annoying. The pool area was very nice and had great views. Their pool bar did not open till noon, so I walked to the restaurant and ordered 2 to-go Bloody Mary's and they did it for us! That was great customer service. Our room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. Typical Sheraton décor and comfort which is good. Overall, I would recommend a stay at this hotel. June 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Lack of customer service! On numerous occasions, the staff was less than accommodating! For the price, my expectation is to feel comfortable and important. There was very few thanks given and in particular, I was treated less than important because I attempted to eat at Rays on the Bay without a reservation. We arrived at opening and could not sit next to the bay, even though we were the only ones around. We eventually ate by the pool and made a trip back through afterwards to find the place still empty. Unacceptable in my view!!! June 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved Our Short Stay What a lovely place this is: the wide open lobby area sitting room is a great welcome to this place. The staff is so nice and welcoming: nothing is too much trouble. Next, you get the sounds of the might Pacific Ocean waves crashing on the rocks, which is a great spectacle to watch. Location is fine, with easy access to the airport, and a very short drive to Kona village and some great food options in a relaxed setting. Too bad there's nothing within walking distance otherwise it would really be perfect. It is also quite a drive to the Volcano National Park, although doable on a long day trip (about 2.5 hours each way). The grounds are very well maintained, and while the building itself is a vast 1970s uninspired bunker, the overall setting is relaxing. My only complaints would be directed at the pool area: too few umbrellas are available, so one doesn't have many options to escape the very harsh sun; food in the pool area was uninspiring, with limited options and overpriced, and finally, I was treated with suspicion because I didn't have a pool bracelet: I was never given one at check in, but am now assuming they have a problem of people sneaking in. Our room (we were upgraded to a suite, which consisted of 2 interconnected rooms, one of which was converted into a living room) was nice enough, although a little dated. Still, it was very good value, and I would not hesitate to stay here again on a future trip to the Big Island. June 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel Staff with Great Aloha Spirit Driving up to the lobby, asking staff for help, passing staff in the corridors or at the pool through check-out, the staff had the "BEST" Aloha Spirit, gracious attitude, and best smiles I've EVER experienced in any hotel in Hawaii... We are definitely staying here next year again for the Kona Marathon. Thank you for making our experience most memorable. Rudy, Terry & Mom June 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love this hotel, even if it's far from downtown I travel to Kona for business regularly. And I always book here because of the views, the bar (rays on the bay is fun), and the room. The views are spectacular, and manta rays hunt infront of the bar at night becase of the light the hotel uses to draw the plankton. The bar is lively with live music nearly every night. The food is OK, but the experience is great! Con's - the lay out of the hotel means that getting to some rooms in Building 4 can be a major trek - The hotel is not close to the downtown area where all the tourist traps are. You will need a care to even get to the shopping village for supplies. Otherwise the hotel pretty much has all you will need. It is located about 20 minutes away from the airport so plan accordingly. June 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Summary Statement The staff members were universally friendly, helpful, and efficient. June 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent getaway The room was very comfortable and stylish. We watched the surf from our balcony which was relaxing and enjoyable. Rays at the Bay offered a good selection of meals and the opportunity to watch boat charters viewing the Manta Rays. June 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 Our vacation I loved the pool. Dinner with the "Ray's" was very memorable. All the staff was friendly. The fitness room was one of the best I have been in. The only neg was the additional $30 a day for water and internet service. June 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staycation-Lapa Ohana We only stayed for 1 night. But thats all it took to have a memorable experience at the Seraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou. I can surely say that this was the first time we stayed by not the last. Your staf from checkin to checkout and everything in between was so helpful and willing to go that extra mile. We checked in around 11:30am and your front desk clerk was so kind to let us check into the room at that time. When we went up to the room I couldn't operate the aircondition, so I called the front desk and the maitenance staff was at my door less then 5mins. So awsome. My Ohana enjoyed the pool, that was wonderful. Next day I called to request a later checkout and I was able to checkout at 2pm. I cannot tell you how much I appreciated that cause my Ohana could again enjoy your pool before we checked out. Then at checkout, your front desk clerk was awsome. A smile that never went away. Sometimes just a smile can make a whole difference. Mahalo for a wonderful stay. We will be back for sure. June 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs more work After an extensive remodel, the hotel is very nice, but the staff needs work. They did their job, but were not friendly and did not go out of their way to fill your stay with aloha. Only 1 restaurant open per meal and you are far from outside eateries. The poolside help was more concerned about making sure we had armbands than with the services we asked for. It just wasn't our idea of paradise. June 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice peaceful and serene. We totally enjoyed our stay at this was beautiful. My wife still remarks that of all the hotels we stayed at during our 2 weeks in Hawaii..(3 in total) the beds at this hotel were by far the best. We would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a restful spot to vacation at. June 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A VERY NICE STAY We are a large family with multiple rooms, all of which were nicely appointed with wonderful views. The staff at EVERY turn were kind, informative and attentive, wanting to ensure we had a nice time. The rooms, grounds and pool area were clean and appealing. We were here for a week and enjoyed this hotel immensely. June 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great SPG program for kids 12 and under Kids loved the SPG band for $15 they can eat whatever on the kids menu at the Pool. Rose, server at the pool was very friendly accommodating especially to the kids. May 30, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 This place is only a Sheraton in name We stayed at this Sheraton for a week in May 2013. While the hotel is at a beautiful location, it has some serious issues. - No staff at the front desk. The three times I needed them (including for check-in) there was nobody to be found. - The hotel is pretty dated, it's clean, but there are sections where there's plaster falling off the roof. I think they're in the midst of updating it, at least I hope so. - Even though the hotel was pretty empty, they gave us a room on a floor that had a scheduled (!) electricity outage during our stay. Additional issue: they didn't tell us prior to the outage. When we called to complain they matter of factly stated that it was a scheduled outage and that they alerted us, which was not true. - Don't get a room near the stairs. There are no silencers on the doors and on the weekends the place is overrun by local teenagers who like to run up and down the stairs and across the hallways (why, I do not know). The sound of slamming doors gets old really fast. - The bathroom was not clean. There were hairs on the walls. Same hairs were there all week, and are probably still there. - Standing water (it hadn't rained recently) on the balcony. We called for someone to clean this. We're still waiting for that person to show up. - Bar staff is very nice, and the pool is nice. The pool can get a little busy on the weekends, as the locals come hang out there too. - Rays on the Bay is a great restaurant, too bad it's part of this place. There are other resorts close to this one. I cannot recommend this place in good conscience, There are too many great places to waste your money here. I sent my list of issues to the hotel and they replied that they appreciate my feedback, and are sharing the info with the appropriate teams. After reading reviews of other guests that ran into issues, this seems to be the standard reply. It would be good, if they don't just share the feedback internally, but actually make some changes. That doesn't seem to happen though. May 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by spg points and resort fee Resort fees are ridiculous. When one stays at a hotel one is paying for the resort amenities with one's room rate. We did not use many of the amenities, do not wish to pay for them, or make them available to all in the room rate not a resort fee. Also, did not receive any points for the resort fee. Anything that is charged to Sheraton should receive SPG points. May 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Kona Resort Location was wonderful! Facility is under some exterior repairs, that are much needed! The tour of the grounds was the best that Kona had to offer! She is an incredible person, and host, and gave a personal touch to our time with her... May 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful views and friendly We just spent a week and had an awesome time. The views all around the hotel are breath taking. The pool is wonderful for all ages. The pool side resturant was great. The mahi mahi bites were excellent as was rays on the bay. We used the flying fish to book an excursion but I truly loved the top 50 island experiences. Without that I wound have missed out on alot of sites. The best beach the have listed at mime marker 88 is the best also. I think keu bay. Anyways well worth the stay over other hotels we drive by thanks sheraton kona !! Coming back May 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Resort fee / Dining The hotel is great. We stayed there when it was the Kona Surf. We enjoyed the pool and water slide. The $30 FEE FOR PARKING (aka RESORT FEE) is OUTLANDISH. We didn't use any other benefits. Dining options need to be improved. We were stuck eating at teh Rays on the Bay with LOUD ROCK MUSIC, and couldn't get away from the noise. This is Hawaii. How about opening the main restaurant with some traditional Hawaiian Music. We are kamaainas May 25, 2013
  • 2015-11-24 T06:56:19.126-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-12, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_631, tr_631
  • loc_en_US, sid_1469, prod, sort_default
<<prev 10 11 12 13 14 ... 22 next>>