Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

  • 78-128 Ehukai Street
  • Kailua-Kona,
  • Hawaii
  • 96740
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 631 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the place This was our 6th visit to the hotel and each time we enjoy it more. The ambiance, hotel design and overall quality of the environment are impressive and delightful. September 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel, Better Staff This hotel was perfect for a relaxing vacation. The room was great the pool was amazing and the staff was always friendly and willing to help. The only thing I would have liked to see differently is expand food and beverage hours. September 8, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by We do not Recommend especially Honeymooners Walking into the hotel to the check in was very beautiful and clean . After getting our keys and heading to the room to get settled first impressions the room was clean but average . After our first night we realized that the air conditioning was not functioning properly and waking up the room was at 74 degrees with the thermostat set at 69 . With condensations dripping from the grill . The WiFI there was terrible basically the only thing we really used out of the $31.25 resort fee which we ended up just using our data plan it was so slow .We dealt with it till our third day . After leaving the hotel early in the morning to check out the green sand beach , black sand beach and volcano national park and arriving back at the hotel at 10 pm to a big wet spot on the carpet and my wife's luggage was all wet (thankfully it was empty) from the air conditioning drain pipe . Water was coming out from the sheetrock .My wife called the front desk while I was self parking the car (which I must say is quite far from most of the hotel rooms). Maintenance arrived and told her they were having problems with the a/c and we were going to have to move . After packing up all our stuff the hotel sent a very nice bellman up to help us move our luggage and to take us to our new room which was promised to be an ocean view room for our inconvenience . It wasn't . It was a corner room with two sides of glass walls overlooking everyones parked car on Our honeymoon . To make matters worse the air conditioner was dripping from the vent again ( condensation not the same leak we were having in the previous room ). I called the front desk and told the manager it was unacceptable that i was promised an ocean view room and if not available a garden view room which is what i paid for on my honeymoon . The manager switched our room again to the next room . Immedietely entering the room there was an over powering smell of mold in the room and you knew something was wrong . So I obviously was checking the room thoroughly only to find the same leak i had in our first room . When i went to show the bellman the water droplets on the sheetrock i swiped the drop and my finger went through the sheetrock . Immediately called to switch rooms . Next room had major electrical issues . Overtime the refrigerator compressor would kick on all the lights would flicker consistently for thirty seconds at a time and the air conditioning would cut out until the fridge shut off. This was not the typical dimming of a light when a large appliance comes on. This was a major electrical issue . This is when it finally hit me . They are booked and they have no more good rooms to give us . They are just trying to buy time and find us a room that they can get away with for another night We Switched rooms again .This time the bellman took us to another room we didn't have keys for ( he used his master) found out it was empty from the manager .I guess they figured at this point its not worth making new keys if were just going to keep switching. Another air conditioning leak . Switch rooms again . Finally another room . Everything looks great I checked thoroughly couldn't find anything wrong with it . We get settled its now after midnight . My wife washes up for bed and washes her face . The sink doesn't drain .it took five minutes for the water to go down from washing her face . Needless to say i called the front desk and asked when the next manger would be in and Let them know I would be coming down first thing . We brushed our teeth spitting in the toilet . The next morning I went down spoke to the new manager . She apologized and said she would put us in a suite ocean front which she did around 1 o'clock in the afternoon . It was clean with no problems but still just very ordinary . Nothing special about the suite . It was exactly two separate rooms with the small door just available to pass through . We were not even able to really use it since we were leaving the following day anyway .Next morning we had a snorkel trip scheduled at 730 that was cancelled due to expected bad weather we though we would sleep in . But apparently 8 am is when they do all of the landscaping right outside of the suites AWESOME. Guess were going for breakfast. Needless to say this place need major Renovating. But wait there s more . In my five room shuffle the bellman put my shirts on hangars in one of the closets in the five rooms ( not his fault he was excellent and very understanding) They never made it to the suite so i went to the front desk to see if someone could help me locate them . She was kind enough to give me keys to each one of the rooms that we visited except for one we didn't know the room number because we just checked it out My shirts weren't in any of the rooms I had keys for So I had to wait for last nights manager to come in . To find out the room number . She was due in at 3 . I went back to the front desk at 3 She was not in .She got there at 330 . Finally when she arrived she remembered the room number . The girl behind the desk who was very nice was making me up a key and asked me to please hurry because someone was scheduled to check into these rooms. I said sure no problem . My shirts were in that room thank god but My major problem is that they were going to rent that room out that knowingly had an air conditioning leak . Completely unacceptable . I was embarrassed and apologized for 2 days to my wife for bringing her to that hotel for our honey moon . I HAVE PICTURES AND VIDEOS OF ALL THE ISSUES IN THE ROOM . The other 2 sheratons we stayed at on Kauai and Maui were beautiful mostly updated , very clean . Cant wait to go back to them . September 3, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor customer service + outdated and uncomfortable rooms. Although the outdoor space was beautiful, the rooms need to be updated, the bathroom felt grungy and the bedding was damp due to high humidity and lack of air flow. We called an employee to the room to inquire about the moisture and he just shrugged his shoulders and said he didn't know what to do about it.... Furthermore, I stayed with points and upon checkout the total cost on my statement appeared as zero dollars. Interestingly, the next day a charge appeared on my credit card statement and when I called to inquire about it, I was told not to worry; it was a hold that would be reimbursed. This supposed 'hold' was not reimbursed, so when I called 3 weeks later to inquire I was told - for the first time - that this was a combined daily resort charge. This would not have been a problem if I had been given accurate information (upon check-in, check-out or upon calling the next day). Unfortunately, I believed the info provided to me by the Sheraton Kona employees and had been fully expecting the reimbursement; therefore, I had already processed remuneration my end as I was in Hawaii on business. To make matters worse, when I spoke to the manager concerning the misinformation instead of taking responsibility for the situation; he essentially told me that I should have read the fine print on the reservation that indicates the daily fee. He did not take accountability for the errors made on their end, and continued to blame the system or myself for this “oversight". He presented a variety of inaccurate excuses for the mix-up and basically said it was out of his hands and to check the website next time, where this info is clearly stated, instead of listening to his employees and trusting a printed statement. All in all, I would certainly not recommend this hotel. August 14, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by A real disappointment I'm a near 100 night a year SPG member and have been for 15 years. This is the second poor review I've given. The place is disorganized, late check outs promised and the taken back (the third time they tried to change our room we just left) and when any objection is raised, you get the old trusty " I have no record" (or, you are a liar, sir) response. Bad beds, dirty bathroom, and a carpet I dare you to try barefoot. This a very promising property poorly run. August 1, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor experience We stayed at the Sheraton to celebrate our 1 year wedding anniversary. The first night the AC was not working and we could not sleep at all. It was like An oven in our room. Engineering came in the morning and the fan was turned up to push cold air out and he said that's all he could do because it was otherwise working fine. It worked a little bitter after that But at this point we wanted to get on with our day.front desk called to check up on it and my husband said it was working "ok" and that was the end of that. we asked for late check out when we checked in and was told it was available.on check out day i called front desk to confirm at 1145 and they told us we have to check out by 12 but I was told 4 when I checked in. I get to the front desk and she tells me that if I wanted to stay until 4 I would be charged$ 30. I was never told that at check in. It's a good thingI called otherwise we would have checked out late been charged extra. the food was less than impressive. my order at Holua was missing two things and basically was a bun With fish and lettuce. so i had to wait while my husband ate for a new plate. The waitress seemed like she was rushing as we put in our order around 445 and last call for food was 5. I probably started eating at 530 and by this time my husband was finished with his meal and i felt rushed to finish. We were not charged for my meal but the experience was not enjoyable.We had one sushi roll at rays at the bay,and the sushi rice was soggy. We were offered complimentary champagne for our anniversary and that was probably the only highlight of our stay there. the likely hood of returning to the sheraton as a guest is very low. we hoped that our anniversary stay at the Sheraton would be smooth and relaxining but I felt that there was a lack of communication all around us. July 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This resort has great views and a great staff. The resort has a beautiful view of the ocean with many wonderful things to see and do right here. You can see manta rays from our ocean front room. You can snorkel with a ten minute drive to a small beach. The staff has been wonderful. The food is a little pricey for what you get. I was a little disappointed that I had to drive to a beach. We had an amazing vacation. June 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is in a beautiful location On the whole, we were very pleased with this hotel and location. It was close to any activity origination that we booked.The hotel staff was helpful and responded quickly to any requested needs. Our view from our room was perfect - the bay and the beautiful gardens below as well as the volcano when it was visible. The only criticism we had was restaurant choices. Buffet breakfast was great, lunch could only be had at the poolside, and the service for dinner wasn't the best - room for improvement overall for dinner (both service and food). Most of the time, we ventured out for dinner. Great cocktails at the bars. June 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stunning hotel in a stunning location This was my third stay at the Kona Sheraton and every stay I have had has been amazing.! Great food and cocktail bar, very nice rooms with super comfy beds and in a really stunning location . Free trolley bus service is great to get into town. Particular mention to George at the Manta Ray Bar. Fantastic barman with a great sense of humour really added a special element to our stay. May 31, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Almost Good We liked this hotel and enjoyed our time, but because of a few experiences, I can only give it an Average rating. First the good, the two Hawaiian women who work the café are fantastic and very friendly and helpful. They totally made us feel welcomed and it was delightful to see them every morning. The pool was also great for our 2 year old. As for the cons, there was a host who made us feel very unwelcomed, even when we had reservations at Rays on the Bay. Our bed was also uneven, it sunk on one side and our water in our shower was often not hot. Our bathtub also got clogged and you could see on a couple parts of the ceiling that it had been patched. May 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful experience! First time for us to be in Kona, Hawaii! It was great experience, that I will tell everyone, what a wonderful place it is! We arrived rather late in the evening, and everyone of the staff greeted us like family! It was great when you are tired from traveling. Staff was, very accommodating to whatever we needed. Very pleasant staff whether front desk or room staff. All around Super! The property has great views from many rooms, and balconies. I could have a Picturesque moment almost every where I walked, and the Sunsets were wonderful too! Full Moon, when we were there, again just Super! We enjoyed all the pool area's, fantastic landscaping, an all the food places, (a little slow, but understandable) Even the Spa/Workout area was great! Everything seemed spectacular. I enjoyed the property's entertainment, Ray's by the Bay! And for learning the hula, or ukulele or touring. Very Sweet Ladies! They seemed to really care we were having fun and enjoying our stay as well. Hotel's location was great to get to the sights all over an the south end of Kona. great shopping area, as well as Church too! It was nice to have so many options, as well. Many places to eat with shops of all sorts. Over all Sheraton was a Perfect PLACE to stay! Will be back! Aloha ! May 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Most Improved Hawaii SPG Property! Aloha and Mahalo to the rebirth of this Legendary Property. I've stayed at Sheraton Kona at Keahou Bay at least 6 times over the last 3 years. I am happy to rate this SPG property the most improve Hawaiian Island property. The recent renovations, especially the lobby, restaurants, and common areas are a pleasant surprise emoting Hawaiian culture and pride. Employee/Staff morale has improved tremendously and it has reflected in the great Hawaiian Hospitality given to their Guests. Yes the property is mature as most properties along the Kona coast. The hotel transformation while maintaining it's original charm, is short of spectacular. The resort exudes the Aloha spirit with out any pretentiousness and at a great value. If you haven't been back in a couple of years, do what I did, give the Kona Sheraton a will not regret it. Aloha and Mahalo to the Staff for an incredible transformation. 4 Stars and definitely improving! April 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEST VALUE IN HAWAII!! Great resort just minutes from Kailua Village. Staff is extremely responsive and accommodating. Best sunset in all of Hawaii! Great food, comfortable room, amazing pool setting, local culture, and complimentary trolley into Kailua-Kona is an added value! You won't be disappointed. April 21, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Shockingly not good Im an SPG member for many years, been to many resorts. This resort is beautiful. However their staff fell critically short on all counts. They did not make us feel welcome at all, did not clean the room when we requested it, then partially cleaned the room on a day we specifically requested it NOT be clean. Poolside bar was a joke, hours are 11am to 5:30pm (closed by 5:15) only one pool bar. Only once in the 6 days that I was there did someone come by and ask me if I wanted a drink or food while sitting poolside. Their drinks are served in tiny plastic cups. Every day we needed to ask for something, coffee, towels, cups...they never stocked the rooms and gave us an attitude if we requested anything. I spoke to the manager Jeff, said he would get back to me, and he never did. I definitely would not recommend this resort, which is a shame because it is absolutely beautiful. Staff needs alot of help in learning how to make the customers happy. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect weekend getaway! From the moment we walked in we felt welcomed and "at home." Our son hadn't been feeling well and the staff was very caring and responsive to our needs. We enjoyed the pool and the slide, as well as the flavorful chicken nachos at the pool bar. I recommend this hotel as the perfect weekend getaway and escape for kama'aina and world travelers alike. April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Stay We had another wonderful stay with our friends at the Sheraton Keauhou in February. The staff went out of their way to welcome us back ( you are the best Ron!) We were upgraded to an ocean view room with beautiful views of the sea and Keauhou bay which was perfect. We loved the morning coffee shop and the great staff who remembered us from our last trip ( christine and celeste ) We also loved our time at the hotel restaurant "Rays on the Bay". It's such a beautiful location right on the waters edge and with swimming Manta Rays viewable after dark in the water . Oh and the food and drinks were great as well We cannot wait to go there again. Maholo to everyone. Tommy and Patti April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sheraton Keauhou Staff Amazing! The Sheraton Keauhou staff quite simply make this hotel what it is. The facility is what I would expect from a SPG property, but the attentiveness and professionalism of the hotel staff was so spot on that we had no real needs during the stay. Many kudos the all the O'hana who work at this hotel because they make this resort "snap". This is my sixth SPG hotel/resort in the islands and the people working at this hotel are unmatched in every category. Many thanks to you all for making this a very enjoyable vacation! April 5, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Job Sheraton Kona! The negativity expressed in some of the reviews of this property have my wife and I completely baffled. Yes, the toilets could be newer, the poolside service could be faster, the check-in process could be more streamlined, the breakfast food and architectural design could be more inspired...yadda yadda yadda. Bottom line for us is that this hotel offers an exceptional value for the things that are important to us. We thought the room was clean, quiet, and well anointed, the staff (particularly "Sarah" poolside) was attentive, and that the Platinum recognition throughout was outstanding. For those of you who have chosen to nitpick each and every quality you deem abhorrent, please stay home and let us savor this gem in your absence. March 25, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good improvement in some food and beverage services The onsite restaurant (Rays on the Bay) has undergone significant changes - not only is it now open later but also the menu has been changed / enhanced, and all for the better with reasonable prices and lots of variety. At the same time the continental breakfast in Ainakai leaves much to be desired - no variety (exactly the SAME minimal items every day) , not even a choice of juices (only one juice option each day). The poolside food and beverage service was slow - the attendants were literally running but there were not enough of them for the number of guests. The food and beverages, when they did arrive, were good and also reasonably priced. March 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel especially the pool and gardens We loved our stay, comfortable place. The parking was so far away, a golf cart shuttle would be nice. Loved the waves crashing on the rocks, ocean view wonderful. Meticulous staff straightening up, tidying up, just like me! Your security staff found and personally returned our lost cell phone-we were so grateful-the pool staff turned it in to them. Wonderful people. Room staff changed out the comforter to a thinner one. Appreciated it. There was a free Hawaiian concert one evening, we so enjoyed! Our event planning lady was also a dream to work with, so helpful. Except for the noisy late night swimmers it was very pleasant stay. (only a 2-3 nights) March 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel Experience We had a wonderful time at this hotel. This resort had everything -it was clean, beds were very comfortable, great pool with waterslide, fantastic view of the ocean, food was very good - Keauhou Coffie Co. for breakfast, ate lunch at the pool side and Rays on the Bay for dinner was excellent!! The only thing that would make this hotel over the top for your stay would be to have a dinner buffet. March 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic with great staff We stayed for 16 nights. Loved the staff and hotel. beds very comfortable. pillows also. Close enough to Kona to enjoy and not be in the middle of all the congestion in town. Watched the manta rays from the restaurant most nights. Great place to stay. Check in with Veronica at front desk, she is very helpful.We will be back many times. March 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy at Keauhou Bay I love this area and the Sheraton has a beautiful location and grounds. The mountain view room was clean, spacious, quiet, and odorless! I'm done with old and musty condo rentals. The unlimited trolley service is great since the dining options at the hotel are limited. This property is very well maintained and is now my favorite place to stay in Hawaii. March 10, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not what I execpted The room seemed old, the bath room had mold in the grout , tub had patch marks in it . Beds were very uncomfortable. The grounds were very nice. The pool closed early. March 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by hotel has great features The Sheraton Kona has really great features and amenities, but the Holua Restaurant by the pool should be open and serving food and drinks as long as the pool is open (8:00pm) instead of closing at 5pm. I would have enjoyed a light late meal and a few beverages by the pool in the evening. Also, the breakfast kiosk should be open and serving light fare and coffee at least until the Holua restaurant opens at 11am. Also there should be more self service laundry rooms available. March 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Del1107 Great service and all over excellence in the entire visit. March 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by EXCELLENT 7-NIGHT STAY! This was our first trip back to Sheraton Kona in several years, and we are now puzzled that we had stayed away for so long! Superior experience in every respect, starting, of course, with spectacular setting; friendly, professional staff from housekeeping to valets to front desk to pool attendants to restaurant hostesses and servers; and comfortable (even if slightly dated) rooms. Our family suite at the edge of the surf was superb! Pupus and dinner at Rays were delicious and beautifully served. Breakfasts were excellent with special kudos to Mehani who unfailingly greeted us by name and with a smile; and to Christi at the front desk who, at checkin late at night, took care of a small glitch in reservation/room assignment and made us feel like welcomed guests (and, for the remainder of our stay, always warmly called out to us by name). You should be proud of these and so many other members of your wonderful team! February 28, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Could be a fantastic hotel but"........ If you book an. 'Ocean front room' you will have a fantastic view but you wont't be able to sleep until after midnight ! The noise from the open bar with live music untill 11.00 PM and loud people untill midnight are just terrible ! We had to change rroom. It could be paradise without all that noise ! February 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by LifeTime Platinum - Listen Up As a loyal Starwood member, our most recent stay at the Sheraton Kona Resort was worth our comments and reviews. My wife and I have stayed in several Starwood properties worldwide since the inception of the Starwood program in 1996 and have had several memorable stays, however I would like to say our most recent trip to the Sheraton Kona Resort was absolutely an "over the top awesome experience". The property is older but offers a very nostalgic groove that you want from a resort in Hawaii. The closeness of the resort to the Keauhou Bay is incredible!!! The Manta Ray Bar and Grill not only offers fresh local food but is a prime spot to watch these beautiful fish during the evening. Our room over looking the pool provided some amazing sunset views that would be worth posting. Most importantly we were recognized as loyal starwood guests and were greeted by our first names on several occasions, which makes you feel very very welcome. We just can't say enough how wonderful, pleasant and cordial the entire staff was from the bell boys, to the waiters/waitress, to the pool hut, to the front desk and to the house cleaning gals... What a wonderful and awesome experience and highly suggest anyone that is considering this Starwood Property, 100% you should stay here at the Sheraton Kona Resort! February 5, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pleasantly Surprised This road warrior was pleasantly surprised after reading the negative reviews written at this resort. Wake up every morning in our family suite upgrade overlooking the ocean with a cup of coffee... need I say more? Room was clean, staff couldn't be more friendlier, and the food at Manta Rays was outstanding. Excellent pool, plenty of chairs for lounging and oh, their are whales, dolphins, and Manta-Rays out there! Sure there is no club lounge but this hotel does make up for it in other ways. We will be back for sure the future! January 28, 2015
  • 2015-11-26 T19:10:57.409-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_631, tr_631
  • loc_en_US, sid_1469, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 22 next>>