Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

  • 78-128 Ehukai Street
  • Kailua-Kona,
  • Hawaii
  • 96740
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 587 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't Stay In This Old Dump! This hotel used to be the Kona Surf in the 80's and it has not changed. It is a run down dilapidated property that offers nothing to its guests that would ever want them to return. Rooms are old and beat up as is furniture, fixtures, the pool tile is filthy and the staff simply don't care. Visited 12-14 and will never return! No beach, the food was almost not edible! WE live in Honolulu and are SPG Gold and expect more from Starwood!! But a huge bummer.The toilet in our "Suite" was 30-40 years old!! December 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A wonderful place We have been to this hotel before, several times, though were surprised how much they have improved the service, especially for SPG elite members. We felt welcome from the start, enjoyed friendly caring service responding promptly to all our needs, enjoyed absolute privacy on our spacious balcony and loved the food from the buffet. The pools are nice for adults and children alike. This place is just great for adults who seek peace and quiet in Paradise. February 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Concierge & Facilities were excellent; Staff not great My family & I stayed here the weekend of my wedding. We did not get married at the hotel, but the hotel was a good place to stay! Pros: - Gary, our concierge was a gem! I cannot say enough about how wonderful he was. We could not have organized our trip and wedding without his assistance!!! - Location is amazing - We were upgraded to a suite (SPG Gold), which had a fabulous view Cons: The general hotel staff seemed SUPER disorganized. Three examples: - My sister was checked into an occupied room - My grandparents' request for an accessible room was confirmed, then lost when they checked in - We received breakfast vouchers, then told they were not valid October 8, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Awful compared to my other Sheraton Resorts Front desk staff didn't care Concierare didn't care Valet staff rude and unhelpful Rays on Bay staff.....average Food at Rays on Bay....very very poor, cold and tasteless for the price good in room 'basic breakfast package' good quality gym..but missing a rowing machine January 6, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Severely Understaffed Hotel Hotel grounds and facilities are fine, and the location draped over the Big Island's black lava rocks is lovely. Rooms are typical of what you would find at a Sheraton resort, except that the ocean view ones are extremely relaxing and tranquil, and listening to the waves crash against the rocks lulls you into a peaceful slumber. The biggest problem by far of this hotel is that it is severely understaffed. Every employee I interacted with was very friendly, caring and helpful, including the front desk personnel, restaurant waiters and poolside servers. The problem is that there are not enough of them, so waits for everything are enormous. These include a 45 minute wait to get seated at the restaurant (even with a reservation) and another 30 minutes for the waiter to come take our order (he is frantically running around seemingly trying to serve half of the huge restaurant). It was also near impossible to find anyone to take our order at the pool (so we had to walk over to the pool bar to place our order - after waiting there a long time too, of course). I had to call twice to get my delayed laundry delivered (the housekeeping staff was too busy to deliver it - or to even answer the phone the first time), and it is even difficult to reach the front desk on the phone (as there is always an enormous line in the lobby). Thankfully, we did not use the valet parking. All of these irritations accumulate, marring the terrific individual performances of the staff and preventing the full enjoyment of a perfectly relaxing vacation. Also, the wifi connectivity in the room is extremely poor, virtually nonexistent January 10, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 This place is only a Sheraton in name We stayed at this Sheraton for a week in May 2013. While the hotel is at a beautiful location, it has some serious issues. - No staff at the front desk. The three times I needed them (including for check-in) there was nobody to be found. - The hotel is pretty dated, it's clean, but there are sections where there's plaster falling off the roof. I think they're in the midst of updating it, at least I hope so. - Even though the hotel was pretty empty, they gave us a room on a floor that had a scheduled (!) electricity outage during our stay. Additional issue: they didn't tell us prior to the outage. When we called to complain they matter of factly stated that it was a scheduled outage and that they alerted us, which was not true. - Don't get a room near the stairs. There are no silencers on the doors and on the weekends the place is overrun by local teenagers who like to run up and down the stairs and across the hallways (why, I do not know). The sound of slamming doors gets old really fast. - The bathroom was not clean. There were hairs on the walls. Same hairs were there all week, and are probably still there. - Standing water (it hadn't rained recently) on the balcony. We called for someone to clean this. We're still waiting for that person to show up. - Bar staff is very nice, and the pool is nice. The pool can get a little busy on the weekends, as the locals come hang out there too. - Rays on the Bay is a great restaurant, too bad it's part of this place. There are other resorts close to this one. I cannot recommend this place in good conscience, There are too many great places to waste your money here. I sent my list of issues to the hotel and they replied that they appreciate my feedback, and are sharing the info with the appropriate teams. After reading reviews of other guests that ran into issues, this seems to be the standard reply. It would be good, if they don't just share the feedback internally, but actually make some changes. That doesn't seem to happen though. May 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location, but the property needs total upgrade We were given best treatment that can be expected, but if I'm travelling 10,000 miles to a holiday vacation, I'd prefer to stay in the best available hotel to enjoy everything. The hotel is too old to 'deliver' quality - it should be placed in the budget hotel category. October 26, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Manta Rays amazing! We thoroughly enjoyed our visit last week. Our room had a great pool and ocean view plus a spacious balcony. One of the major highlights of the visit was the incredibly friendly staff. We were greeted each day, making us feel welcome. We especially appreciated Jim at the Sliders Bar and our housekeeper, Stella. One of the unique attractions of the hotel was the nightly visit of the manta rays. To be able to observe the graceful mantas feeding in their natural habitat was an incredible sight. July 1, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by No recognition for SPG Preferred members The hotel has very basic rooms which was fine with me, but I was most frustrated that they do not entertain a separate line for SPG preferred members even though they keep a counter which is unstaffed. I specifically asked if there was a separate line for SPG Preferred and was told I had to wait in the general line. There were a few people ahead of me and it took almost 30 minutes to check me in. The staff was also not knowledgeable about where some facilities were located, for example I called to find out where the laundry service was and the staff was clueless about the location and just told me the floor. If you have been to the resort, you can understand why it can be difficult to find it if not given a reference. I was told look for exit sign and there were like 10+ exits on each floor. Also as a SPG Preferred guest I was supposed to get a preferred room, but was given a room overlooking the parking lot with a partial ocean view when my reservation clearly stated ocean view. Overall I was very dissatisfied with the service I received and the attitude of the staff. I even wrote to SPG who told me that someone from the staff will reach out to me but no one did even after I checked out. March 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by relaxing and calming hotel My husband and I needed a relaxing vacation. We loved everything about our stay at the Kona Sheraton except the view from our room which was the parking lot. Ten days of hearing and looking at the parking lot soured our stay. We used the "hot rate" because my son works for starwood hotels and I think that is why we got this room. The hotel refused to give us another room even though it was far from full. We will think twice before staying there again. Too bad! December 3, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gorgeous Slice of Paradise I have no idea why anyone would complain about this hotel in any way. I travel all over the world, and stay at SPG hotels exclusively. This Sheraton has exceeded my expectations so far (I'm here all month)! I am a platinum member, and I was upgraded to a very nice ocean view room. I highly recommend this hotel to everyone, but especially platinum members as you will receive a generous complementary daily breakfast (a $17+/day value), complementary use of the wonderful exercise facility, and 50% discounts on cabana rentals at the lovely spacious pool. All of the employees that I have come in contact with are extremely friendly! The pool attendant, Sara, and the other pool attendants are all very pleasant and attentive! They greet everyone with a smile! Ray's bar is an excellent place for drinks and dinner or pupus. It has a breathtaking view (and great bartenders)! The daily trolley into town is free for platinum members and very convenient. I am originally from Oahu, so I don't do the "touristy" thing; however, there seems to be many, many things to do for the visitor to Hawaii. I love this place so much that I am going to revise my next trip and come here instead of my originally intended destination! I only have one minor complaint: I am used to being spoiled with an executive lounge and there isn't one here, but think I'll live. Ha ha. Mahalo Nui Loa! December 6, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Family trip & Kona Marathon Starting at check in (6pm), I noticed the stay would be not good. The front desk rep says that the room is not ready...finally we could check in and since it was already late we decided to order room service. There was no menu in the room, so I called guest service and they said the menu will be delivered. Nobody came, so I had to call again and the menu was finally delivered (1.5 hours after the first request). Next day after we prepared to go to the Aloha Friday Run and left the room at 4pm, I called housekeeping before leaving the room to make sure they clean it, we came back after dinner (10pm) and the room was untouched. Nobody came to clean. The third day, we left the hotel early and housekeeping did clean the room...actually they only changed the linens and put new towels. The rest was untouched. Tissue paper was finished and they didn't change it. On our last day we decided to spend time at the pool, so I called around noon to request housekeeping to make up the room. Initially we planned to go directly to the mall, but had to change the baby. So we went to the room and surprise again it was 5:30pm and nobody came to clean the room. I called again and told them to send somebody to clean the room. Eventually they came and did it...same cleaning quality as the previous day. In our last morning, before check out, I noticed that there was no newspaper delivered (the previous 3 days we had it delivered...maybe because I am Plat). I called guest services and they said...it is only delivered to gold and plats. Are you? Yes, so please could you send somebody to deliver it (it was 6:55am). You can come to the front desk and grab one, if we have copies left (that was the GS rep answer). Finally, at check out the FD rep asked how was my stay...I summarized it and told her it was not good. She didn't care at all. Then I asked if I could contact the General Manager (Mr Mathew Grauso), she said that she doesn't know where he is and if I want to talk to somebody, I had to talk to the FD manager. So that is what the Sheraton Kona at Keauhou can offer you. Considering I am a lifetime platinum, I can't imagine what kind of service general members are entitled to. June 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by AStarwoods Resort Facility with wonderful vistas and amenities. My major complaint was Ray's Restaurant on premises which soured us on any other food venues at the resort. Guests should be prepared to eat off premises. It is one thing for resort food to be expensive, but my wife's hamburger order was botched both the first time and the second. When this was pointed out to waiter, he appeared annoyed, said a correction would be made on the bill and then failed to do so. I asked the waitress who brought my food whether they had bread and she mentioned something about chips, but did not offer to bring any or indicate a price. Small portions, terrible service and an indifferent attitude by restaurant staff resulted in our decision to avoid all other food venues at the resort and would lead us to recommend other resorts to friends despite being Starwoods Preferred Guest Members.Starwoods needs to close this restaurant and should reimburse members for such atrocious service. November 8, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Will never go back My husband and I were VERY disappointed with our stay and will never come back or stay in a Sheraton again. The food was outrageously overpriced ($18 for a horrible pretzel cheeseburger & $24.99 for a breakfast buffet with fruit, breads omelets and 2 meat choices, PER PERSON!!) and not that good. There were kids in the pool screaming at 7am right outside of our door. The tourism and resort taxes equal over 30%, which is never told to guests until after your printout is received at the end of your stay. And we even found a roach/bug in our room. July 31, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by late check out When we booked our stay, we requested late check out as our flight did not leave until 10pm. We are gold members, so this should not have been a problem. When we checked in, we confirmed that we could have a late check out and confirmed it AGAIN the day before we left. On each occasion we were told there would not be a problem . On our day of departure we went to registration to cash in our housekeeping vouchers(great idea, by the way) , asked when we were checking out, we replied at 4pm and was then told we could not do this as our room had been "re-assigned". We cannot understand after we had made 3 requests, well in advance of checking out , why this should be changed. Surely it makes sense not to "re-assign" a room that has been occupied by some one needing late check out. As this is also one of the "perks" of being a gold member , we were very disappointed with our treatment. We had to change our plans for our final day and it did spoil our otherwise good experience staying with you. March 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by The Best Thing About the Place is the Manta Rays The title says it all. While on an extended visit to the Big Island Hiloside , we trekked over to Keauhou for a weekend visit largely to see the Manta Rays. We were not disappointed. They appeared on cue and the accompanying talk was excellent. As for the rest of the property, the beautiful lobby raises expectations that are clearly not met elsewhere in the hotel. Everything other reviewers have said about things being out-of-date and in poor condition is true. Our room was quite disappointing and unattractive and, despite being SPG Gold at the time, we were overlooking the parking lot. The pool area is very beautiful. Generally, I found, as is the norm in Hawai'i, the staff was friendly and accommodating if not always the height of professionalism. The reception staff being the exception - not only slow and inept but unfriendly as well. I expect this stems from poor management issues - further underlined by the fact that none of the reviews in this forum are responded to as seems to be usual for most properties. Who's tending the fire here? March 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by it's a real resort! I loved the property as it was so all-inclusive for all my needs! There are walking trails, there are places to watch the ocean surf, great food, great service, cheerful staff, beautiful grounds and an awesome pool area! The workout room and other recreational areas looked good too! The concierge in the Flying Fish shop was very helpful and super-sweet! The restaurant staff were great morning, lunch and night! My only negative comment was that housekeeping didn't clean the room before I arrived and that the rooms were not sound-proofed very well. (I had hair in the bathroom and I could hear my neighbor's kids at night.) Housekeeping responded quickly and cleaned it all the next day and the the rooms/bedding were otherwise very good. I can't wait to return! October 11, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Business Stay Room was next to the elevator and it sounded like a plane taking off when in use. Front desk staff were slightly rude and aloof. Waited in the wrong place and no one said anything. I figured it out myself after they helped people who came later. One night there was a loud party of locals next to my room. The pool was filled with non guest patrons who came to work the building expo. Also I heard a couple kids say their parent were working at the hotel. Disappointing since I've stayed there several times and was happy with everything. Going down hill fast. One of my pillows smelled so bad it stayed on the floor the whole stay (4 nights). Not business friendly at all. October 29, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Tired hotel, terrible staff Our company chose this hotel for our annual National Convention. 1st impression was fantastic, check in was quick and lobby area was beautiful. Arriving at my room I quickly realized this was a resort that had seen better times. Room was clean but was unable to get cool. I had the thermostat down to 45 but was only able to make it slightly cooler. The bathroom was outdated with a low shower head. Good luck getting ANYONE on the phone. I called the front desk and it took 72 rings before they picked up. The elevator near my room was not working properly so we called from the house phone next to it- finally hung up after EIGHTY rings. Our welcome party was moved to a location chosen by the hotel and when it began to rain they had no back up plan. When our group ran from the rain to the nearest outside patio, our group was told the area was for "hotel guests only” as it was adjacent to their restaurant. When we finally relocated to an unused restaurant area, we were told all of our food stations were ruined by the rain so we no longer had food for our event. Our staff had to beg to get the kitchen to find something to serve us- only to be disappointed with a hot chicken pasta dish served cold. When we complained, they were indifferent to our needs. So many times throughout the event we were embarrassed that we chose this hotel for our event. Our entire sales organization looks forward to our annual event but this year we spent more time apologizing for our hotel selection instead of inspiring them to greater achievements. August 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Never again $31 resort fee is a rip off, pool bar closes at 5pm main bar at 10pm No mater how people are in there is closes, Breakfast buffet at $27 per person. The food is bad along with service. ( We waited for 15min to get a coffee, you can't leave your plate or the birds attack it. Our room had san flees so bad we bought spray,, and thanks we brought them home with us. 9 days we spent there and will never come back. As the VP for US Electric, I will not recommend this hotel to any of our employees or our customers. May 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel needs renovation Friendly staff, clean, comfortable, but not up to the four star rating. The hotel has a beautiful location, but the grounds and the building need to be fixed. For example, the tub in my room had chips and cracks. The room was advertised as being newly renovated. It clearly was not. The toilet and its flush mechanism looked like it was from a 1970's high school restroom. The path along the water was asphalt, and looked like repairs had been done, but not finished. There were parts of the building where the stucco was flaking off in sheets, and not repaired. Would have gladly paid more money if the resort was updated. November 27, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Everything was excellent, except the Front Desk This is a lovely property with wonderful amenities and facilities. The rooms are out dated and event the "renovated" rooms are old and outdated, just with a flat screen tv. The staff overall is incredible- especially the Bell Desk and Valet team, and the restaurant and lounge servers. The pool is great (also great service there) and you can't beat the value of the Ocean Front room to watch the mantarays! Our welcome at the valet was great- the front desk not so much. Polite, but not welcoming. They didn't offer any additional information, but were efficient and professional. We had a significant issue on our last day that left a really poor impression. The hotel made an error on our bill (we prepaid and booked through SPG, but were charged in error by the hotel). When I went to the front desk to resolve this fairly minor issue, the agent was inept and had no idea how to correct the mistake. She basically told me I needed to show her proof that we paid, and sent me off to the business centre, which was locked. I felt this was completely inappropriate- proper service would be for her to place a call to SPG service, wouldn't it? When I came back to the desk, there was a long line and the same agent did not even acknowledge me. I ended up having to explain myself again to another agent, who told me the e-mail I had printed, confirming my reservation, wasn't sufficient. She pretty much demanded to see a copy of my credit card statement. It was incredibly rude, offensive and frustrating. Unfortunately this is my lasting impression of this property. January 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfortable Stay We stayed here for 2 nights at the start of a 9-night visit to the island. We were upgraded to an ocean view room which overlooked partial pool/slide area and a BIG plant blocking most of the ocean view. The patio was spacious, but when it rained you could hear the water splashing down from the balcony above you - was a bit annoying. The pool area was very nice and had great views. Their pool bar did not open till noon, so I walked to the restaurant and ordered 2 to-go Bloody Mary's and they did it for us! That was great customer service. Our room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. Typical Sheraton décor and comfort which is good. Overall, I would recommend a stay at this hotel. June 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very happy with Hotel but was disappointed with Room Service The hotel and its location were spectacular. The service from the staff I had contact with was excellent. I was however disappointed with the appearence of the passageways between rooms. A room near the one we had had room service and the ice chest and glasses were left in the corridore for at least two days (they were still there when we left) and the tray that we had for room service was left at the door and was still there the following morning. I find this unacceptable especially when we are talking about food scraps being left and believe it let down the rest of the facilities and hotel. November 18, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good Locale Our family stayed in adjacent rooms which was convenient. The hotel has a great location, walking distance to the harbor for excursions, quiet location and well kept grounds. Dining at Rays was good and competitively priced for the area. The view is outstanding and be sure to check out the manta rays beginning around 9PM. So why only average? The hotel is a little tired and not everything worked in the room. The staff was hit and miss on courtesy, not what we normally see at SPG locales. Not enough to not recommend going - just not quite up to our SPG expectations which are very high. August 4, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed We stayed here for one night last week. We arrived late at night and the check-in took a LONG time. There were a handful of people in front of us (they looked like a crew from Alaska Airlines), but it felt like there were more than dozen people in front of us. After a long wait, we were finally checked in (the person who helped us was nice and pleasant) and was given a room key. The hotel lobby and the entrance area looked nice, but as we were walking down the hallway to our room, there was this unpleasant, stale, wet carpet-like smell all around. It's hard to describe but it was old, wet, and almost moldy kind of a smell. Unfortunately, our room was not any better, especially the bathroom, which was just old and in need of renovation. The worst part was in the morning, when I opened the door to the balcony. Apparently, our room was facing the wall of a tennis court! I wish the front desk warned us ahead of time that our room not only had NO view, but that it was facing the wall of a tennis court. At this point, we really had no reason to linger our stay and left the hotel ASAP to our next destination, namely Hilo. March 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience Made me really feel at home and anticipated my needs. Great location and room, really made me feel spending nights at Sheraton worthwhile January 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel The only complaint we had was that housekeeping did not clean our room for two days straight. March 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by ANTS I called the front desk around 9:30 pm on April 11th to tell them their were bugs crawling around the sink and on the bathroom floor. The lady said "Oh, those are tiny ants they are looking for water" . I asked her to either spray the room or move us, she said " we can't spray due to the late hour but call us in the morning when you are leaving your room and we'll come and spray". Totally unacceptable: why didn't she offer to move us with the bellmans help. We are booked for 4 Nights and it disgusts me!!!!! I would never recommend this hotel to anyone!!!! April 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Property, Location and Sunsets My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful week at the Sheraton Kona Resort in February. The ocean views from this property are spectacular, as are the sunsets, and I would recommend spending the extra money for an ocean front room if possible. We had a suite, which was huge and very comfortable. My only complaint is that most days it was necessary to get a new password to log into the wi-fi. We really enjoyed viewing whales and manta rays playing right for our balcony as well as the waves crashing on the lava rock shoreline, Some highlights of the property include the expansive pool areas, Rays on the Bay restaurant and a great ocean view workout facility. Rays was enjoyable for dinner or just drinks while enjoying the nightly live entertainment. The hotel is also a short drive from the the town of Kailua for those looking for shopping and dining opportunities. For those interested in seeing an active volcano, the hotel is about a 2 hour drive from Mauna Kea, . We found most of the staff members to very friendly, from the valet parking team, to the maids and the pool wait staff. The overall feel of the hotel is laid back and relaxing and we found ourselves wishing we had booked a longer stay. I would highly recommend this property. April 8, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 21 next>>