Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

  • 78-128 Ehukai Street
  • Kailua-Kona,
  • Hawaii
  • 96740
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 552 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great renovations at Keahou Sheraton! We loved our stay during the Kupuna Hula Festival. The staff was wonderful, very welcoming and helpful. And we LOVED the beautiful renovations that had been done since our last stay there... Beautiful. September 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Tired hotel, terrible staff Our company chose this hotel for our annual National Convention. 1st impression was fantastic, check in was quick and lobby area was beautiful. Arriving at my room I quickly realized this was a resort that had seen better times. Room was clean but was unable to get cool. I had the thermostat down to 45 but was only able to make it slightly cooler. The bathroom was outdated with a low shower head. Good luck getting ANYONE on the phone. I called the front desk and it took 72 rings before they picked up. The elevator near my room was not working properly so we called from the house phone next to it- finally hung up after EIGHTY rings. Our welcome party was moved to a location chosen by the hotel and when it began to rain they had no back up plan. When our group ran from the rain to the nearest outside patio, our group was told the area was for "hotel guests only” as it was adjacent to their restaurant. When we finally relocated to an unused restaurant area, we were told all of our food stations were ruined by the rain so we no longer had food for our event. Our staff had to beg to get the kitchen to find something to serve us- only to be disappointed with a hot chicken pasta dish served cold. When we complained, they were indifferent to our needs. So many times throughout the event we were embarrassed that we chose this hotel for our event. Our entire sales organization looks forward to our annual event but this year we spent more time apologizing for our hotel selection instead of inspiring them to greater achievements. August 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Staff, Middle of the Road Rooms, Great Value I have stayed at this property several times in the past year. So, my perspective is from several different rooms / floors / views and my remarks evaluate the property on an overall basis. The property is a bit dated, but I believe that within the confines of the reduced rate environment they have had in the last few years, they have done a fair job of keeping it up to date. The rooms recently received new carpet and were generally freshened. My latest room had a 37" LG flat screen TV. I always have to call for extra bath towels as they only stock each room with two. The industrial tankless wall mount toilet is a little odd. The furniture is old and starting to not function very well (drawers sticking etc.). If you are going to HI on business and need WIFI, do not stay here. First, their routers are all ancient "B" routers (11mbps). Second, the band-with pops in and out like a spy-hopping whale. Again, I have stayed in several different rooms in this property and have had the same experience in all of them. The funny thing is that when I call to ask the staff to address this issue, they seem surprised. Platinum suite upgrades are rare. They generally give you a standard water front room and that is it. The pool is very nice and very large for this resort. On the weekends this area is overrun by locals and their children. I think the hotel gives good Kamaaina rates on the weekend. The fitness center is extremely well equipped, and very clean. A+ in this area. The food is typical Hawaiian overpriced hotel fare. Nothing unusual here. Much better options in town. I find it odd that they have a hamper at the front desk which is apparently used for used towels. I also find it odd that instead of refreshing your bottled water daily, they give you some sort of certificate for free bottled water. Beware of the resort fee of $15.00 per day. I like this place, but with just a little effort it could really become a top notch Sheraton resort. I really would like to see that as options on this side of the island are rather limited. October 22, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel should not be considered when booking hotels in Kona This Sheraton location failed to meet my expectations and furthermore failed to up hold the standards of Starwood Resort Properties. Clearly, tourists have a choice when staying on the Kona side of the island and I thought I'd pamper my husband and I with a nice Starwood Resort for our anniversary. What a mistake. Although, the hotel is Oceanfront with scenic views of the ocean, bay, mountain, and city, the hotel itself is downright disgusting and almost entirely uninhabitable. The building itself has a great open air concept, however the railings are crumbing and falling apart. This is completely unsafe and very unsettling. If the hotel doesn’t make safety a priority for guests, than what else are they letting slip through the cracks? The hotel is in need of a major renovation and updating. The hotel is very dated and has significant signs of wear. The hotel rooms smell like smoke, the shower is moldy, and the carpets are heavily stained also with indications of mold. The bed linens are tattered and have mysterious stains. The toilet is commercial. It is tankless with exposed plumbing something you would expect to find in a gas station, not a resort. Housekeeping here is lazy and careless. When a guest request extra towels they should be provided. It’s just towels not a bottle of champagne. Everything from checking into to the hotel to the pool was disappointing. The front desk staff was unwelcoming and unfriendly. The pool chairs are dilapidated and worn out. Perhaps this property was built on sacred ground because the energy is so bad and all the staff throughout the entire hotel seem genuinely annoyed with their jobs it was very, very weird. Please do not claim that you are a resort and charge guests a substantial resort fee when you are more of a motel with poor customer service. October 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A wonderful place We have been to this hotel before, several times, though were surprised how much they have improved the service, especially for SPG elite members. We felt welcome from the start, enjoyed friendly caring service responding promptly to all our needs, enjoyed absolute privacy on our spacious balcony and loved the food from the buffet. The pools are nice for adults and children alike. This place is just great for adults who seek peace and quiet in Paradise. February 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 The jewel of the Big Island With the SPG brand you are accustom to very high quality, outstanding customer service, and the every aspect of a great hotel / travel experience. The Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay goes above this “Call of Excellence” and into an even new level of greatness. Being a Platinum member and having traveled over for a good portion of 2014, I have to say this hotel has blown my expectations and truly impressed me in every possible way. From the moment we arrived, everything about this location was top notch. The executive suite was above outstanding and the hotel setting was truly built and positioned for superior relaxation and a small piece of “heaven on earth”. SPG staff has always won my heart at almost every stay, but the staff at this hotel went a step further. Not sure if it is the “Hawaii Nature” of people to be so relaxed, outgoing and friendly, but the staff at this hotel truly played a grand role in the definition of relaxation, tourism knowledge, and above great customer service! No matter if you are looking for a quite relaxing getaway, romantic dinner on the bay, island adventure that will be a memory to truly remember or family fun for all ages, this hotel and the City of Kailua – Kona is the place to be. My wife and I are more than glad to have spend seven beautiful days and nights on the Big Island and at (so far) my favorite Sheraton experience! The manager along with all the staff need a very big “pat on the back” for a job above well done! Thank you SPG! Faruk August 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fun activities for family with kids This hotel has a great pool with an awesome slide that kids and adults would enjoy. The beds are very comfortable but the room is dated and in need of renovation. The bathroom tiles are old and the carpet needs to be replaced. However, we had a great time there with the lei making class and the ukelele lessons and the hula dance lessons. The night time viewing of the manta rays is terrific and I would recommend this hotel for a family looking for both fun and relaxation. August 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location, but the property needs total upgrade We were given best treatment that can be expected, but if I'm travelling 10,000 miles to a holiday vacation, I'd prefer to stay in the best available hotel to enjoy everything. The hotel is too old to 'deliver' quality - it should be placed in the budget hotel category. October 26, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by No recognition for SPG Preferred members The hotel has very basic rooms which was fine with me, but I was most frustrated that they do not entertain a separate line for SPG preferred members even though they keep a counter which is unstaffed. I specifically asked if there was a separate line for SPG Preferred and was told I had to wait in the general line. There were a few people ahead of me and it took almost 30 minutes to check me in. The staff was also not knowledgeable about where some facilities were located, for example I called to find out where the laundry service was and the staff was clueless about the location and just told me the floor. If you have been to the resort, you can understand why it can be difficult to find it if not given a reference. I was told look for exit sign and there were like 10+ exits on each floor. Also as a SPG Preferred guest I was supposed to get a preferred room, but was given a room overlooking the parking lot with a partial ocean view when my reservation clearly stated ocean view. Overall I was very dissatisfied with the service I received and the attitude of the staff. I even wrote to SPG who told me that someone from the staff will reach out to me but no one did even after I checked out. March 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Manta Rays amazing! We thoroughly enjoyed our visit last week. Our room had a great pool and ocean view plus a spacious balcony. One of the major highlights of the visit was the incredibly friendly staff. We were greeted each day, making us feel welcome. We especially appreciated Jim at the Sliders Bar and our housekeeper, Stella. One of the unique attractions of the hotel was the nightly visit of the manta rays. To be able to observe the graceful mantas feeding in their natural habitat was an incredible sight. July 1, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by relaxing and calming hotel My husband and I needed a relaxing vacation. We loved everything about our stay at the Kona Sheraton except the view from our room which was the parking lot. Ten days of hearing and looking at the parking lot soured our stay. We used the "hot rate" because my son works for starwood hotels and I think that is why we got this room. The hotel refused to give us another room even though it was far from full. We will think twice before staying there again. Too bad! December 3, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by A little disappointed I looking forward to my stay at the Sheraton, the view was amazing. I was disappointed with the upkeep of the property. The pool area and grounds were very nice but age was showing. Many repairs that could be done to look nicer. Broken hand rails on stairways. Cracks in concrete fixed with different color paint that were very noticeable. Room issues- rust in bathtub, cracks and discoloration throughout room and deck. Would prefer 2 Queen beds, full size beds are too small for most these days. Slow service for breakfast, food was okay. August 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sheraton Kona Resort at Keauhou Bay Overall this hotel met my needs for business and pleasure while on Kona. It does not have a beach as the Kohala Coast resorts but has a great pool, spa, restaurant and Manta Ray viewing. September 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 This place is only a Sheraton in name We stayed at this Sheraton for a week in May 2013. While the hotel is at a beautiful location, it has some serious issues. - No staff at the front desk. The three times I needed them (including for check-in) there was nobody to be found. - The hotel is pretty dated, it's clean, but there are sections where there's plaster falling off the roof. I think they're in the midst of updating it, at least I hope so. - Even though the hotel was pretty empty, they gave us a room on a floor that had a scheduled (!) electricity outage during our stay. Additional issue: they didn't tell us prior to the outage. When we called to complain they matter of factly stated that it was a scheduled outage and that they alerted us, which was not true. - Don't get a room near the stairs. There are no silencers on the doors and on the weekends the place is overrun by local teenagers who like to run up and down the stairs and across the hallways (why, I do not know). The sound of slamming doors gets old really fast. - The bathroom was not clean. There were hairs on the walls. Same hairs were there all week, and are probably still there. - Standing water (it hadn't rained recently) on the balcony. We called for someone to clean this. We're still waiting for that person to show up. - Bar staff is very nice, and the pool is nice. The pool can get a little busy on the weekends, as the locals come hang out there too. - Rays on the Bay is a great restaurant, too bad it's part of this place. There are other resorts close to this one. I cannot recommend this place in good conscience, There are too many great places to waste your money here. I sent my list of issues to the hotel and they replied that they appreciate my feedback, and are sharing the info with the appropriate teams. After reading reviews of other guests that ran into issues, this seems to be the standard reply. It would be good, if they don't just share the feedback internally, but actually make some changes. That doesn't seem to happen though. May 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by late check out When we booked our stay, we requested late check out as our flight did not leave until 10pm. We are gold members, so this should not have been a problem. When we checked in, we confirmed that we could have a late check out and confirmed it AGAIN the day before we left. On each occasion we were told there would not be a problem . On our day of departure we went to registration to cash in our housekeeping vouchers(great idea, by the way) , asked when we were checking out, we replied at 4pm and was then told we could not do this as our room had been "re-assigned". We cannot understand after we had made 3 requests, well in advance of checking out , why this should be changed. Surely it makes sense not to "re-assign" a room that has been occupied by some one needing late check out. As this is also one of the "perks" of being a gold member , we were very disappointed with our treatment. We had to change our plans for our final day and it did spoil our otherwise good experience staying with you. March 30, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Will never go back My husband and I were VERY disappointed with our stay and will never come back or stay in a Sheraton again. The food was outrageously overpriced ($18 for a horrible pretzel cheeseburger & $24.99 for a breakfast buffet with fruit, breads omelets and 2 meat choices, PER PERSON!!) and not that good. There were kids in the pool screaming at 7am right outside of our door. The tourism and resort taxes equal over 30%, which is never told to guests until after your printout is received at the end of your stay. And we even found a roach/bug in our room. July 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Gorgeous location Pros: 1) Troy made our check in experience excellent-- welcoming and friendly, recognition of SPG status and effecient in helping us to obtain an upgraded room. 2) Our suite was nicely appointed and clean with 2 lanais and a LOVELY views of the bay and the mountain. Breathtaking! Cons: 1) On our 6th night, our 5 year old woke up in the middle of the night with severe pain in his ear and we needed to find a place that was open 24 hours. I called Guest Services and the Front Desk for 40 minutes (used the room phone and my cell) without a response. We were frantically searching the web for 24-hour places without success and our son kept crying. I don't know what happened but this dropped our experience from 5 stars to 4 stars. 2) early closing hours for the gorgeous (and fun) pool (6 p.m. for the slide and 7 p.m. for the pool) August 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Concierge & Facilities were excellent; Staff not great My family & I stayed here the weekend of my wedding. We did not get married at the hotel, but the hotel was a good place to stay! Pros: - Gary, our concierge was a gem! I cannot say enough about how wonderful he was. We could not have organized our trip and wedding without his assistance!!! - Location is amazing - We were upgraded to a suite (SPG Gold), which had a fabulous view Cons: The general hotel staff seemed SUPER disorganized. Three examples: - My sister was checked into an occupied room - My grandparents' request for an accessible room was confirmed, then lost when they checked in - We received breakfast vouchers, then told they were not valid October 8, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by The Best Thing About the Place is the Manta Rays The title says it all. While on an extended visit to the Big Island Hiloside , we trekked over to Keauhou for a weekend visit largely to see the Manta Rays. We were not disappointed. They appeared on cue and the accompanying talk was excellent. As for the rest of the property, the beautiful lobby raises expectations that are clearly not met elsewhere in the hotel. Everything other reviewers have said about things being out-of-date and in poor condition is true. Our room was quite disappointing and unattractive and, despite being SPG Gold at the time, we were overlooking the parking lot. The pool area is very beautiful. Generally, I found, as is the norm in Hawai'i, the staff was friendly and accommodating if not always the height of professionalism. The reception staff being the exception - not only slow and inept but unfriendly as well. I expect this stems from poor management issues - further underlined by the fact that none of the reviews in this forum are responded to as seems to be usual for most properties. Who's tending the fire here? March 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by it's a real resort! I loved the property as it was so all-inclusive for all my needs! There are walking trails, there are places to watch the ocean surf, great food, great service, cheerful staff, beautiful grounds and an awesome pool area! The workout room and other recreational areas looked good too! The concierge in the Flying Fish shop was very helpful and super-sweet! The restaurant staff were great morning, lunch and night! My only negative comment was that housekeeping didn't clean the room before I arrived and that the rooms were not sound-proofed very well. (I had hair in the bathroom and I could hear my neighbor's kids at night.) Housekeeping responded quickly and cleaned it all the next day and the the rooms/bedding were otherwise very good. I can't wait to return! October 11, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Restaurants Although there were options available for breakfast, there was only one option available for dinner. Rays on The Bay was very noisy so we decided not to eat there. There are no other quieter eating facilities available at night. Felt this was a bit poor for a hotel of this standard. August 31, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Business Stay Room was next to the elevator and it sounded like a plane taking off when in use. Front desk staff were slightly rude and aloof. Waited in the wrong place and no one said anything. I figured it out myself after they helped people who came later. One night there was a loud party of locals next to my room. The pool was filled with non guest patrons who came to work the building expo. Also I heard a couple kids say their parent were working at the hotel. Disappointing since I've stayed there several times and was happy with everything. Going down hill fast. One of my pillows smelled so bad it stayed on the floor the whole stay (4 nights). Not business friendly at all. October 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff Made The Difference During the hurricane Iselle encounter, two of the staff had made our stay very comfortable. Matt G. who told us that this was the safest place to be at and his family is staying here at the hotel. The other person was the receiption staff who checked us in. She extented our stay for Friday knowning that the hurricane might be headed towards that evening and we would be in town since our plane departure is a red-eye flight at 11:00pm. her name is Kristie. For those two staff members my wife and I cannot say enough Thank you! And this will always be a memorable trip for us. You can be sure we will be back again and again! August 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic seaside paradise Lovely large, clean room. Beautiful pool, very relaxing atmosphere. Very friendly, helpful staff. August 31, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel needs renovation Friendly staff, clean, comfortable, but not up to the four star rating. The hotel has a beautiful location, but the grounds and the building need to be fixed. For example, the tub in my room had chips and cracks. The room was advertised as being newly renovated. It clearly was not. The toilet and its flush mechanism looked like it was from a 1970's high school restroom. The path along the water was asphalt, and looked like repairs had been done, but not finished. There were parts of the building where the stucco was flaking off in sheets, and not repaired. Would have gladly paid more money if the resort was updated. November 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sheraton Kona - Keauhou Bay Practically great place to be with family, even if there is lack of water access (beach). This is compensated by looking at mantas. One comment - if guest is on "green option" (saving money, environment etc.), please make sure coffee and water is replenished in room as promised vs. guest asking for this every single day. August 5, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Everything was excellent, except the Front Desk This is a lovely property with wonderful amenities and facilities. The rooms are out dated and event the "renovated" rooms are old and outdated, just with a flat screen tv. The staff overall is incredible- especially the Bell Desk and Valet team, and the restaurant and lounge servers. The pool is great (also great service there) and you can't beat the value of the Ocean Front room to watch the mantarays! Our welcome at the valet was great- the front desk not so much. Polite, but not welcoming. They didn't offer any additional information, but were efficient and professional. We had a significant issue on our last day that left a really poor impression. The hotel made an error on our bill (we prepaid and booked through SPG, but were charged in error by the hotel). When I went to the front desk to resolve this fairly minor issue, the agent was inept and had no idea how to correct the mistake. She basically told me I needed to show her proof that we paid, and sent me off to the business centre, which was locked. I felt this was completely inappropriate- proper service would be for her to place a call to SPG service, wouldn't it? When I came back to the desk, there was a long line and the same agent did not even acknowledge me. I ended up having to explain myself again to another agent, who told me the e-mail I had printed, confirming my reservation, wasn't sufficient. She pretty much demanded to see a copy of my credit card statement. It was incredibly rude, offensive and frustrating. Unfortunately this is my lasting impression of this property. January 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel has great features but..... Beautiful hotel with all kind of features and activities for its guests. Food and service at the Holua and Ainakai was top notch. Only fault with the service was... returning at 5 pm after being out and about the island all day and finding the room had not been cleaned and all the towels were still not replaced. After calling the front desk and being told towels , etc would be sent, I finally went to the pool area and signed out 3 beach towels to use. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfortable Stay We stayed here for 2 nights at the start of a 9-night visit to the island. We were upgraded to an ocean view room which overlooked partial pool/slide area and a BIG plant blocking most of the ocean view. The patio was spacious, but when it rained you could hear the water splashing down from the balcony above you - was a bit annoying. The pool area was very nice and had great views. Their pool bar did not open till noon, so I walked to the restaurant and ordered 2 to-go Bloody Mary's and they did it for us! That was great customer service. Our room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. Typical Sheraton décor and comfort which is good. Overall, I would recommend a stay at this hotel. June 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Understated quality We have had an enjoyable and memorable stay here at the Sheraton. The Manta Ray exposure and evening boating frenzy was an unexpected delight and surprise. The pool, spa, and resort atmosphere was comfortable and quiet. We enjoyed the food at Ray's on the Bay. Beautiful setting. I would not hesitate to recommend this place. Not pretentious just polished. You are within a short walk to two independent touring companies offering boating excursions. No need to drive and park! August 24, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 20 next>>