Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

  • 78-128 Ehukai Street
  • Kailua-Kona,
  • Hawaii
  • 96740
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 nights, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book up to 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 614 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Job Sheraton Kona! The negativity expressed in some of the reviews of this property have my wife and I completely baffled. Yes, the toilets could be newer, the poolside service could be faster, the check-in process could be more streamlined, the breakfast food and architectural design could be more inspired...yadda yadda yadda. Bottom line for us is that this hotel offers an exceptional value for the things that are important to us. We thought the room was clean, quiet, and well anointed, the staff (particularly "Sarah" poolside) was attentive, and that the Platinum recognition throughout was outstanding. For those of you who have chosen to nitpick each and every quality you deem abhorrent, please stay home and let us savor this gem in your absence. March 25, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good improvement in some food and beverage services The onsite restaurant (Rays on the Bay) has undergone significant changes - not only is it now open later but also the menu has been changed / enhanced, and all for the better with reasonable prices and lots of variety. At the same time the continental breakfast in Ainakai leaves much to be desired - no variety (exactly the SAME minimal items every day) , not even a choice of juices (only one juice option each day). The poolside food and beverage service was slow - the attendants were literally running but there were not enough of them for the number of guests. The food and beverages, when they did arrive, were good and also reasonably priced. March 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel especially the pool and gardens We loved our stay, comfortable place. The parking was so far away, a golf cart shuttle would be nice. Loved the waves crashing on the rocks, ocean view wonderful. Meticulous staff straightening up, tidying up, just like me! Your security staff found and personally returned our lost cell phone-we were so grateful-the pool staff turned it in to them. Wonderful people. Room staff changed out the comforter to a thinner one. Appreciated it. There was a free Hawaiian concert one evening, we so enjoyed! Our event planning lady was also a dream to work with, so helpful. Except for the noisy late night swimmers it was very pleasant stay. (only a 2-3 nights) March 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel Experience We had a wonderful time at this hotel. This resort had everything -it was clean, beds were very comfortable, great pool with waterslide, fantastic view of the ocean, food was very good - Keauhou Coffie Co. for breakfast, ate lunch at the pool side and Rays on the Bay for dinner was excellent!! The only thing that would make this hotel over the top for your stay would be to have a dinner buffet. March 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic with great staff We stayed for 16 nights. Loved the staff and hotel. beds very comfortable. pillows also. Close enough to Kona to enjoy and not be in the middle of all the congestion in town. Watched the manta rays from the restaurant most nights. Great place to stay. Check in with Veronica at front desk, she is very helpful.We will be back many times. March 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy at Keauhou Bay I love this area and the Sheraton has a beautiful location and grounds. The mountain view room was clean, spacious, quiet, and odorless! I'm done with old and musty condo rentals. The unlimited trolley service is great since the dining options at the hotel are limited. This property is very well maintained and is now my favorite place to stay in Hawaii. March 10, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not what I execpted The room seemed old, the bath room had mold in the grout , tub had patch marks in it . Beds were very uncomfortable. The grounds were very nice. The pool closed early. March 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by hotel has great features The Sheraton Kona has really great features and amenities, but the Holua Restaurant by the pool should be open and serving food and drinks as long as the pool is open (8:00pm) instead of closing at 5pm. I would have enjoyed a light late meal and a few beverages by the pool in the evening. Also, the breakfast kiosk should be open and serving light fare and coffee at least until the Holua restaurant opens at 11am. Also there should be more self service laundry rooms available. March 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Del1107 Great service and all over excellence in the entire visit. March 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by EXCELLENT 7-NIGHT STAY! This was our first trip back to Sheraton Kona in several years, and we are now puzzled that we had stayed away for so long! Superior experience in every respect, starting, of course, with spectacular setting; friendly, professional staff from housekeeping to valets to front desk to pool attendants to restaurant hostesses and servers; and comfortable (even if slightly dated) rooms. Our family suite at the edge of the surf was superb! Pupus and dinner at Rays were delicious and beautifully served. Breakfasts were excellent with special kudos to Mehani who unfailingly greeted us by name and with a smile; and to Christi at the front desk who, at checkin late at night, took care of a small glitch in reservation/room assignment and made us feel like welcomed guests (and, for the remainder of our stay, always warmly called out to us by name). You should be proud of these and so many other members of your wonderful team! February 28, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Could be a fantastic hotel but"........ If you book an. 'Ocean front room' you will have a fantastic view but you wont't be able to sleep until after midnight ! The noise from the open bar with live music untill 11.00 PM and loud people untill midnight are just terrible ! We had to change rroom. It could be paradise without all that noise ! February 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by LifeTime Platinum - Listen Up As a loyal Starwood member, our most recent stay at the Sheraton Kona Resort was worth our comments and reviews. My wife and I have stayed in several Starwood properties worldwide since the inception of the Starwood program in 1996 and have had several memorable stays, however I would like to say our most recent trip to the Sheraton Kona Resort was absolutely an "over the top awesome experience". The property is older but offers a very nostalgic groove that you want from a resort in Hawaii. The closeness of the resort to the Keauhou Bay is incredible!!! The Manta Ray Bar and Grill not only offers fresh local food but is a prime spot to watch these beautiful fish during the evening. Our room over looking the pool provided some amazing sunset views that would be worth posting. Most importantly we were recognized as loyal starwood guests and were greeted by our first names on several occasions, which makes you feel very very welcome. We just can't say enough how wonderful, pleasant and cordial the entire staff was from the bell boys, to the waiters/waitress, to the pool hut, to the front desk and to the house cleaning gals... What a wonderful and awesome experience and highly suggest anyone that is considering this Starwood Property, 100% you should stay here at the Sheraton Kona Resort! February 5, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pleasantly Surprised This road warrior was pleasantly surprised after reading the negative reviews written at this resort. Wake up every morning in our family suite upgrade overlooking the ocean with a cup of coffee... need I say more? Room was clean, staff couldn't be more friendlier, and the food at Manta Rays was outstanding. Excellent pool, plenty of chairs for lounging and oh, their are whales, dolphins, and Manta-Rays out there! Sure there is no club lounge but this hotel does make up for it in other ways. We will be back for sure the future! January 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nicest in Kona We had a wonderful stay. Such a beautiful property with fantastic amenities January 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The place to relax! I have stayed here many times over the years and have enjoyed a warm caring staff who take pride to deliver the best in hospitality. Saturday night we had two great meals at Ray's on the Bay. The Tuna rare and the New York Stip Steak were done to perfection. Since Sam, the sous chef, has joined the staff, creative ideas have been added. Beware though, ala carte dining is the norm. The steak is served by its self. The room were updated by the new owners two years ago with fresh paint and new carpets. The hotel was restored by previous owners about ten years ago so I hate when people complain some things are old. There are many things one can enjoy at this hotel that far outweighs those who complain. I stay well over one hundred nights at various chains and enjoy this hotel more than others. January 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Severely Understaffed Hotel Hotel grounds and facilities are fine, and the location draped over the Big Island's black lava rocks is lovely. Rooms are typical of what you would find at a Sheraton resort, except that the ocean view ones are extremely relaxing and tranquil, and listening to the waves crash against the rocks lulls you into a peaceful slumber. The biggest problem by far of this hotel is that it is severely understaffed. Every employee I interacted with was very friendly, caring and helpful, including the front desk personnel, restaurant waiters and poolside servers. The problem is that there are not enough of them, so waits for everything are enormous. These include a 45 minute wait to get seated at the restaurant (even with a reservation) and another 30 minutes for the waiter to come take our order (he is frantically running around seemingly trying to serve half of the huge restaurant). It was also near impossible to find anyone to take our order at the pool (so we had to walk over to the pool bar to place our order - after waiting there a long time too, of course). I had to call twice to get my delayed laundry delivered (the housekeeping staff was too busy to deliver it - or to even answer the phone the first time), and it is even difficult to reach the front desk on the phone (as there is always an enormous line in the lobby). Thankfully, we did not use the valet parking. All of these irritations accumulate, marring the terrific individual performances of the staff and preventing the full enjoyment of a perfectly relaxing vacation. Also, the wifi connectivity in the room is extremely poor, virtually nonexistent January 10, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Awful compared to my other Sheraton Resorts Front desk staff didn't care Concierare didn't care Valet staff rude and unhelpful Rays on Bay staff.....average Food at Rays on Bay....very very poor, cold and tasteless for the price good in room 'basic breakfast package' good quality gym..but missing a rowing machine January 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Favorite Sheraton This property is updated and well maintained. The rooms are large and spacious with some incredible views. The staff is well trained and meets or exceeds what you'd expect at a Starwood property. Food is great and the pool area is awesome - with a big slide too! It's one of my favorite Starwood properties. if you get a room overlooking the manta ray dive you can watch them do that at night (or eat at Manta Rays restaurant). Very fun. Highly recommend this property. December 22, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't Stay In This Old Dump! This hotel used to be the Kona Surf in the 80's and it has not changed. It is a run down dilapidated property that offers nothing to its guests that would ever want them to return. Rooms are old and beat up as is furniture, fixtures, the pool tile is filthy and the staff simply don't care. Visited 12-14 and will never return! No beach, the food was almost not edible! WE live in Honolulu and are SPG Gold and expect more from Starwood!! But a huge bummer.The toilet in our "Suite" was 30-40 years old!! December 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent location for manta ray viewing! Because this resort is not in the busy part of town, it was a fairly quiet and relaxing spot to spend a vacation. Restaurants and shopping are within easy driving distances. The oceanfront location is GREAT, although there is no beach to enjoy because the resort sits on a cliff. The nighttime snorkeling (specifically for manta ray viewing) just offshore from the resort was spectacular! December 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gorgeous Slice of Paradise I have no idea why anyone would complain about this hotel in any way. I travel all over the world, and stay at SPG hotels exclusively. This Sheraton has exceeded my expectations so far (I'm here all month)! I am a platinum member, and I was upgraded to a very nice ocean view room. I highly recommend this hotel to everyone, but especially platinum members as you will receive a generous complementary daily breakfast (a $17+/day value), complementary use of the wonderful exercise facility, and 50% discounts on cabana rentals at the lovely spacious pool. All of the employees that I have come in contact with are extremely friendly! The pool attendant, Sara, and the other pool attendants are all very pleasant and attentive! They greet everyone with a smile! Ray's bar is an excellent place for drinks and dinner or pupus. It has a breathtaking view (and great bartenders)! The daily trolley into town is free for platinum members and very convenient. I am originally from Oahu, so I don't do the "touristy" thing; however, there seems to be many, many things to do for the visitor to Hawaii. I love this place so much that I am going to revise my next trip and come here instead of my originally intended destination! I only have one minor complaint: I am used to being spoiled with an executive lounge and there isn't one here, but think I'll live. Ha ha. Mahalo Nui Loa! December 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Old but good location It was a old hotel, but had a very good location. The reception was nice and gave us a free upgrade to a partially ocean view room. December 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great location/great staff experience This hotel is in a great location--it is small enough to be friendly--not a mega size like some. Vicky at front desk and both David and Yuki at concierge are off the charts customer friendly. The one busy woman downstairs making coffee was just as terrific. We really liked this hotel--rooms fine, views wonderful, able to do activities close by. Never felt like the hotel wanted to charge you just for breathing their air--nice. Good job hotel manager. November 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location poor housekeeping I rently visisted the Sheraton Kona and was satisfied with the resort for the most part. As a platinum SPG member, I was upgraded to a 2 room suite which was nice with an excellent view! The resort overall was fine; pool, food etc.. However, the housekeeping service was probably the worst I have ever experienced. The only thing that seemed to happen on a daily basis was replenished towels, bathroom ammenitites and a made bed. After four nights there were still empty glasses from the first night left untouched. I also noticed the shower was never cleaned during my stay. We ordered roomservice one night which was never removed, we had to put it outside our door in order to get rid of it. I was very dissappointed in the standards for thier housekeeping. Cleanliness is very important to me and I didn't feel that my room was cleaned properly, if really at all. November 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel features We stayed in this hotel from 11/12-11/18. We liked the hotel. Overall all everything is clean and well maintained. Staff friendly and eager to help. Only complaint we have is about the breakfast food quality. This is just average especially they do not have even omelets stand on Mondays and Tuesdays. November 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superb facility on Kona! We just stayed at the Sheraton Kona and could not have been more pleased. The staff, including car parking attendants, bell hops, front desk, concierge, waiters, bar tenders, even the maintenance staff, were extremely friendly and courteous. The rooms have those comfortable beds the Starwood chain is known for. Food at the restaurants was great. The ambience at Rays on the Bay is awesome. Great bands each night and you can see the manta rays from the bar. Try the hibiscus bourbon drink they have. I had it each night I went. The location of the resort is great too. We like being away from the crowded tourist spots and this is just that. Peaceful and quiet! If you want to go into the town of Kona, they have a free shuttle bus to take you there. You can rent kayaks and snorkel gear right next to the hotel and use them right in there in the same bay. They have 2 nice pools, both of them good sized. One has a water slide and the other a waterfall. We have already talked of going back to Kona next year and if so we will stay at the Sheraton Kona again! November 19, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor service in older facility When we checked in to our "ocean view" room, we discovered that the room overlooked the parking lot and you could only see the opening to the bay if you went out on the balcony, to the railing. This was changed when I complained but why should I have to do that? The room was not stocked with bathroom amenities, so I got to go get them from the maid's cart. The toilet was an industrial "foot flush" model--not very attractive in a higher quality hotel. Pool area ran out of towels and, rather than bringing some to us when available, we told to just "come back in 20 minutes". On the evening of our fifth and last night, we recieved a call from the concierge "welcoming" us to the Sheraton. The self parking lot fills up on weekends when events are going on and there are no reserved spaces for hotel guests. There are so many better hotels in better locations in the area. A beautiful lobby and viewing of the manta ray area do not make up for the deficiencies of this hotel. Find better service, a prettier pool area, more modern facilities and a beach somewhere else. November 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Truly Hawaiian My husband and I came for our 36th Anniversary and upraded to an Oceanfront Suite and we loved the view, privacy and the comfort. I however was disappointed in the selection of dining experiences. The breakfast buffet needed more variety and the dinner at Ray's was just average. The staff was great and attentive and the hotel was filled with rich history which we enjoyed hearing about. November 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Relaxing stay at Sheraton Kona This hotel has very friendly staff everywhere. It also has gorgeous setting with the pool and poolside facilities. Fantastic sunset view! If the mattress had been less soft I would have slept comfortably. November 12, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Rude staff but great location The best word for the Sheraton Kona is mixed. Some things were amazing (the pool, the size of the rooms, the concierge, the view/location). An a few things were downright embarrassing. First, the room service was brought in a paper shopping bag!! The other thing is that several people on the staff were rude and disinterested – for instance when I asked one of the guys at the bell desk how to get to the shopping center he just shrugged and said “how should I know”. Another example, when I asked to see my bill and noticed I was not given the 15% platinum discount for meals (which I was offered upon arrival in a letter) he said “well there is nothing I can do – you need to ask for that when you eat”. The rooms were dated, but HUGE so I can’t complain there. Overall the biggest issue was the staff, pretty weak for Starwood overall and downright pathetic for a beautiful tropical paradise. November 10, 2014
  • 2015-05-21T20:08:37.301-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_614, tr_614
  • loc_en_US, sid_1469, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 22 next>>