Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

  • 78-128 Ehukai Street
  • Kailua-Kona,
  • Hawaii
  • 96740
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 513 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ocean Front Hotel with water activities Sheraton Kona faces Keauhou bay and offers all the water sports you would want including night swims with the manta rays. The manicured lawns and rocky coastline invite you to relax and enjoy the warmth of the sun and the sounds of the ocean, a great way to get in touch with your thoughts or share time with someone special. Cultural tours and activities add to the magic of this property. Rays on the Bay is the most incredible location for a restaurant. July 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by COURTEOUS We stayed at Sheraton Keauhou for 2 nights and we enjoyed all the employees, food and service. We look forward to returning again & will suggest your hotel to others. July 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by I was satisfied until I arrived home. I was very satisfied with my stay until I returned home and found I was charged 54 dollars on my credit card and was informed that in spite of paying a high price for a room, which I did not mind it is an amazing hotel but I was also charged a resort charge of 30 dollars a day and that is ridiculous. I have stayed in other 5 star resorts and not had this issue. Rest assured I will not stay at a Sheridan again nor well I recommend you to others. July 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enjoyed this hotel Staff members were very friendly and worked to accommodate our needs. Very nice facility that has the unique feature of being able to observe the mantas. July 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by One thing to think about changing For the most part, my family and I enjoyed staying at your hotel. The associates were very friendly and helpful. I did request connecting rooms due to the fact that my parents are in their 90's and they both need assistance. Your front desk associates stated that there were no connecting rooms and that we could have rooms next to each other. Upon entering the rooms, we found out, to our suprise, that they indeed were connecting rooms. The one concern I have is your shower control. In room 4648, the shower control was so complex for my 95 year old father and my 90 year old mother. It caused them much anguish and stress to figure out how to work the shower. The 2 different control knobs are very confusing and I would suggest installing something simple. Please take a look at that and I would like a response back. Other than that, we had a wonderful time. July 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing stay at Sheraton Kona Sheraton Kona has great staff, amazing attention to detail for food and beverage and service. Sheraton Kona has the best location on the bay with vantage points for great sunsets, water and cultural activities. Rooms are of excellent size, comfortable and upscale. The manta ray watch at night is something you cannot experience any where else, July 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fantastic It was an amazing stay at this resort. My wife and I just loved this place. We spent a week and we enjoyed the fullest. July 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by going the extra distance It was our 40th wedding anniversary And we had booked a room facing the mountain. The hotel upgraded us to an ocean view. We were also presented with a coupon for drinks in the restaurant. On our anniversary chocolate covered strawberries were delivered to our door. Everywhere we went we were congratulated on our milestone. We were truly made to feel very special. Thank you Sheraton July 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by ~Kona Sheraton ~ This hotel was one of the most beautiful Sheratons I've ever been to! Pretty scenery and beautiful nature along with activities for the kids and a fun waterside! I would totally recommend it and would definitely go back soon! Everybody was super friendly too and very helpful!! Love, Love, Love the Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, mahalo!!!! =) July 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Staff, Middle of the Road Rooms, Great Value I have stayed at this property several times in the past year. So, my perspective is from several different rooms / floors / views and my remarks evaluate the property on an overall basis. The property is a bit dated, but I believe that within the confines of the reduced rate environment they have had in the last few years, they have done a fair job of keeping it up to date. The rooms recently received new carpet and were generally freshened. My latest room had a 37" LG flat screen TV. I always have to call for extra bath towels as they only stock each room with two. The industrial tankless wall mount toilet is a little odd. The furniture is old and starting to not function very well (drawers sticking etc.). If you are going to HI on business and need WIFI, do not stay here. First, their routers are all ancient "B" routers (11mbps). Second, the band-with pops in and out like a spy-hopping whale. Again, I have stayed in several different rooms in this property and have had the same experience in all of them. The funny thing is that when I call to ask the staff to address this issue, they seem surprised. Platinum suite upgrades are rare. They generally give you a standard water front room and that is it. The pool is very nice and very large for this resort. On the weekends this area is overrun by locals and their children. I think the hotel gives good Kamaaina rates on the weekend. The fitness center is extremely well equipped, and very clean. A+ in this area. The food is typical Hawaiian overpriced hotel fare. Nothing unusual here. Much better options in town. I find it odd that they have a hamper at the front desk which is apparently used for used towels. I also find it odd that instead of refreshing your bottled water daily, they give you some sort of certificate for free bottled water. Beware of the resort fee of $15.00 per day. I like this place, but with just a little effort it could really become a top notch Sheraton resort. I really would like to see that as options on this side of the island are rather limited. October 22, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful resort; dining options fall short This was a repeat visit, and overall we had another wonderful stay. Staff was extremely courteous. Hotel has two wonderful upscale dining options, but with two teenagers in tow, we focused on casual dining, and while these are available the hours need to be extended. The take out coffee and snack kiosk closes at 11 am (what were they thinking!!) and the poolside service stops at 5:30. Both of these areas also seem a tad understaffed, especially the coffee kiosk who only had one person every morning that I stopped by. July 5, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Family trip & Kona Marathon Starting at check in (6pm), I noticed the stay would be not good. The front desk rep says that the room is not ready...finally we could check in and since it was already late we decided to order room service. There was no menu in the room, so I called guest service and they said the menu will be delivered. Nobody came, so I had to call again and the menu was finally delivered (1.5 hours after the first request). Next day after we prepared to go to the Aloha Friday Run and left the room at 4pm, I called housekeeping before leaving the room to make sure they clean it, we came back after dinner (10pm) and the room was untouched. Nobody came to clean. The third day, we left the hotel early and housekeeping did clean the room...actually they only changed the linens and put new towels. The rest was untouched. Tissue paper was finished and they didn't change it. On our last day we decided to spend time at the pool, so I called around noon to request housekeeping to make up the room. Initially we planned to go directly to the mall, but had to change the baby. So we went to the room and surprise again it was 5:30pm and nobody came to clean the room. I called again and told them to send somebody to clean the room. Eventually they came and did it...same cleaning quality as the previous day. In our last morning, before check out, I noticed that there was no newspaper delivered (the previous 3 days we had it delivered...maybe because I am Plat). I called guest services and they said...it is only delivered to gold and plats. Are you? Yes, so please could you send somebody to deliver it (it was 6:55am). You can come to the front desk and grab one, if we have copies left (that was the GS rep answer). Finally, at check out the FD rep asked how was my stay...I summarized it and told her it was not good. She didn't care at all. Then I asked if I could contact the General Manager (Mr Mathew Grauso), she said that she doesn't know where he is and if I want to talk to somebody, I had to talk to the FD manager. So that is what the Sheraton Kona at Keauhou can offer you. Considering I am a lifetime platinum, I can't imagine what kind of service general members are entitled to. June 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by No recognition for SPG Preferred members The hotel has very basic rooms which was fine with me, but I was most frustrated that they do not entertain a separate line for SPG preferred members even though they keep a counter which is unstaffed. I specifically asked if there was a separate line for SPG Preferred and was told I had to wait in the general line. There were a few people ahead of me and it took almost 30 minutes to check me in. The staff was also not knowledgeable about where some facilities were located, for example I called to find out where the laundry service was and the staff was clueless about the location and just told me the floor. If you have been to the resort, you can understand why it can be difficult to find it if not given a reference. I was told look for exit sign and there were like 10+ exits on each floor. Also as a SPG Preferred guest I was supposed to get a preferred room, but was given a room overlooking the parking lot with a partial ocean view when my reservation clearly stated ocean view. Overall I was very dissatisfied with the service I received and the attitude of the staff. I even wrote to SPG who told me that someone from the staff will reach out to me but no one did even after I checked out. March 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A wonderful place We have been to this hotel before, several times, though were surprised how much they have improved the service, especially for SPG elite members. We felt welcome from the start, enjoyed friendly caring service responding promptly to all our needs, enjoyed absolute privacy on our spacious balcony and loved the food from the buffet. The pools are nice for adults and children alike. This place is just great for adults who seek peace and quiet in Paradise. February 26, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Pool Bar needs improvement The pool bar closed was before the pool closed so you couldn't get a drink. Pool bar was out of Strawberries during our entire 6 day stay. Also out of other ingrediants to make smoothies. Our Pina colada's each day was made differently. It wasn't consistant. Servers were great though July 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel should not be considered when booking hotels in Kona This Sheraton location failed to meet my expectations and furthermore failed to up hold the standards of Starwood Resort Properties. Clearly, tourists have a choice when staying on the Kona side of the island and I thought I'd pamper my husband and I with a nice Starwood Resort for our anniversary. What a mistake. Although, the hotel is Oceanfront with scenic views of the ocean, bay, mountain, and city, the hotel itself is downright disgusting and almost entirely uninhabitable. The building itself has a great open air concept, however the railings are crumbing and falling apart. This is completely unsafe and very unsettling. If the hotel doesn’t make safety a priority for guests, than what else are they letting slip through the cracks? The hotel is in need of a major renovation and updating. The hotel is very dated and has significant signs of wear. The hotel rooms smell like smoke, the shower is moldy, and the carpets are heavily stained also with indications of mold. The bed linens are tattered and have mysterious stains. The toilet is commercial. It is tankless with exposed plumbing something you would expect to find in a gas station, not a resort. Housekeeping here is lazy and careless. When a guest request extra towels they should be provided. It’s just towels not a bottle of champagne. Everything from checking into to the hotel to the pool was disappointing. The front desk staff was unwelcoming and unfriendly. The pool chairs are dilapidated and worn out. Perhaps this property was built on sacred ground because the energy is so bad and all the staff throughout the entire hotel seem genuinely annoyed with their jobs it was very, very weird. Please do not claim that you are a resort and charge guests a substantial resort fee when you are more of a motel with poor customer service. October 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by late check out When we booked our stay, we requested late check out as our flight did not leave until 10pm. We are gold members, so this should not have been a problem. When we checked in, we confirmed that we could have a late check out and confirmed it AGAIN the day before we left. On each occasion we were told there would not be a problem . On our day of departure we went to registration to cash in our housekeeping vouchers(great idea, by the way) , asked when we were checking out, we replied at 4pm and was then told we could not do this as our room had been "re-assigned". We cannot understand after we had made 3 requests, well in advance of checking out , why this should be changed. Surely it makes sense not to "re-assign" a room that has been occupied by some one needing late check out. As this is also one of the "perks" of being a gold member , we were very disappointed with our treatment. We had to change our plans for our final day and it did spoil our otherwise good experience staying with you. March 30, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Never again $31 resort fee is a rip off, pool bar closes at 5pm main bar at 10pm No mater how people are in there is closes, Breakfast buffet at $27 per person. The food is bad along with service. ( We waited for 15min to get a coffee, you can't leave your plate or the birds attack it. Our room had san flees so bad we bought spray,, and thanks we brought them home with us. 9 days we spent there and will never come back. As the VP for US Electric, I will not recommend this hotel to any of our employees or our customers. May 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location, but the property needs total upgrade We were given best treatment that can be expected, but if I'm travelling 10,000 miles to a holiday vacation, I'd prefer to stay in the best available hotel to enjoy everything. The hotel is too old to 'deliver' quality - it should be placed in the budget hotel category. October 26, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Manta Rays amazing! We thoroughly enjoyed our visit last week. Our room had a great pool and ocean view plus a spacious balcony. One of the major highlights of the visit was the incredibly friendly staff. We were greeted each day, making us feel welcome. We especially appreciated Jim at the Sliders Bar and our housekeeper, Stella. One of the unique attractions of the hotel was the nightly visit of the manta rays. To be able to observe the graceful mantas feeding in their natural habitat was an incredible sight. July 1, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by relaxing and calming hotel My husband and I needed a relaxing vacation. We loved everything about our stay at the Kona Sheraton except the view from our room which was the parking lot. Ten days of hearing and looking at the parking lot soured our stay. We used the "hot rate" because my son works for starwood hotels and I think that is why we got this room. The hotel refused to give us another room even though it was far from full. We will think twice before staying there again. Too bad! December 3, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good, Some Opportunity We've stayed here a couple of times. Convenient to Kona and a nice setting without being overly big and cumbersome to get around. Decent main restaurant. You pay a resort fee here even when using points, waived at the other major resort we stayed at. Room had minor issues (leaking AC), but we dealt with it. July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Week in Paradise We loved the facility, the views, the location, and the cleanliness! The staff was also very friendly and helpful. Thank you for making our trip to Kona a fabulous one to remember! July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Concierge & Facilities were excellent; Staff not great My family & I stayed here the weekend of my wedding. We did not get married at the hotel, but the hotel was a good place to stay! Pros: - Gary, our concierge was a gem! I cannot say enough about how wonderful he was. We could not have organized our trip and wedding without his assistance!!! - Location is amazing - We were upgraded to a suite (SPG Gold), which had a fabulous view Cons: The general hotel staff seemed SUPER disorganized. Three examples: - My sister was checked into an occupied room - My grandparents' request for an accessible room was confirmed, then lost when they checked in - We received breakfast vouchers, then told they were not valid October 8, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by The Best Thing About the Place is the Manta Rays The title says it all. While on an extended visit to the Big Island Hiloside , we trekked over to Keauhou for a weekend visit largely to see the Manta Rays. We were not disappointed. They appeared on cue and the accompanying talk was excellent. As for the rest of the property, the beautiful lobby raises expectations that are clearly not met elsewhere in the hotel. Everything other reviewers have said about things being out-of-date and in poor condition is true. Our room was quite disappointing and unattractive and, despite being SPG Gold at the time, we were overlooking the parking lot. The pool area is very beautiful. Generally, I found, as is the norm in Hawai'i, the staff was friendly and accommodating if not always the height of professionalism. The reception staff being the exception - not only slow and inept but unfriendly as well. I expect this stems from poor management issues - further underlined by the fact that none of the reviews in this forum are responded to as seems to be usual for most properties. Who's tending the fire here? March 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by it's a real resort! I loved the property as it was so all-inclusive for all my needs! There are walking trails, there are places to watch the ocean surf, great food, great service, cheerful staff, beautiful grounds and an awesome pool area! The workout room and other recreational areas looked good too! The concierge in the Flying Fish shop was very helpful and super-sweet! The restaurant staff were great morning, lunch and night! My only negative comment was that housekeeping didn't clean the room before I arrived and that the rooms were not sound-proofed very well. (I had hair in the bathroom and I could hear my neighbor's kids at night.) Housekeeping responded quickly and cleaned it all the next day and the the rooms/bedding were otherwise very good. I can't wait to return! October 11, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Business Stay Room was next to the elevator and it sounded like a plane taking off when in use. Front desk staff were slightly rude and aloof. Waited in the wrong place and no one said anything. I figured it out myself after they helped people who came later. One night there was a loud party of locals next to my room. The pool was filled with non guest patrons who came to work the building expo. Also I heard a couple kids say their parent were working at the hotel. Disappointing since I've stayed there several times and was happy with everything. Going down hill fast. One of my pillows smelled so bad it stayed on the floor the whole stay (4 nights). Not business friendly at all. October 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Kona in June Excellent location and great food experience. The ocean location was great! June 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel needs renovation Friendly staff, clean, comfortable, but not up to the four star rating. The hotel has a beautiful location, but the grounds and the building need to be fixed. For example, the tub in my room had chips and cracks. The room was advertised as being newly renovated. It clearly was not. The toilet and its flush mechanism looked like it was from a 1970's high school restroom. The path along the water was asphalt, and looked like repairs had been done, but not finished. There were parts of the building where the stucco was flaking off in sheets, and not repaired. Would have gladly paid more money if the resort was updated. November 27, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by 1st time to big island Don't put high expectations. Wish workers are more friendly there. June 30, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>