Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

  • 78-128 Ehukai Street
  • Kailua-Kona,
  • Hawaii
  • 96740
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 576 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Truly Hawaiian My husband and I came for our 36th Anniversary and upraded to an Oceanfront Suite and we loved the view, privacy and the comfort. I however was disappointed in the selection of dining experiences. The breakfast buffet needed more variety and the dinner at Ray's was just average. The staff was great and attentive and the hotel was filled with rich history which we enjoyed hearing about. November 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great location/great staff experience This hotel is in a great location--it is small enough to be friendly--not a mega size like some. Vicky at front desk and both David and Yuki at concierge are off the charts customer friendly. The one busy woman downstairs making coffee was just as terrific. We really liked this hotel--rooms fine, views wonderful, able to do activities close by. Never felt like the hotel wanted to charge you just for breathing their air--nice. Good job hotel manager. November 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location, but the property needs total upgrade We were given best treatment that can be expected, but if I'm travelling 10,000 miles to a holiday vacation, I'd prefer to stay in the best available hotel to enjoy everything. The hotel is too old to 'deliver' quality - it should be placed in the budget hotel category. October 26, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Location We enjoyed our stay here when using the hotel as a base of operations. It was a great location for exploring the Big Island. The concierge was super helpful with finding and setting up activities. Free valet with Platinum status was great. Beware that the $30 resort fee really adds up over a stay and you won't feel like you have anything to show for it - internet and bottled water should both be free if you are Platinum, if you don't take yoga classes or ride the trolley you will wonder why you paid the extra charge every day. Regarding the actual facility, the buffet breakfast is expensive and does not change, I would avoid. Beware of rooms in the Helani wing on the ocean side. You will be over Rays on the Bay and cannot get away from the nightly live music until it is over between 9 and 10 - when trying to appreciate an ocean view suite it is much less relaxing when you have to sit through a cover band for hours every night. November 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Manta Rays amazing! We thoroughly enjoyed our visit last week. Our room had a great pool and ocean view plus a spacious balcony. One of the major highlights of the visit was the incredibly friendly staff. We were greeted each day, making us feel welcome. We especially appreciated Jim at the Sliders Bar and our housekeeper, Stella. One of the unique attractions of the hotel was the nightly visit of the manta rays. To be able to observe the graceful mantas feeding in their natural habitat was an incredible sight. July 1, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by No recognition for SPG Preferred members The hotel has very basic rooms which was fine with me, but I was most frustrated that they do not entertain a separate line for SPG preferred members even though they keep a counter which is unstaffed. I specifically asked if there was a separate line for SPG Preferred and was told I had to wait in the general line. There were a few people ahead of me and it took almost 30 minutes to check me in. The staff was also not knowledgeable about where some facilities were located, for example I called to find out where the laundry service was and the staff was clueless about the location and just told me the floor. If you have been to the resort, you can understand why it can be difficult to find it if not given a reference. I was told look for exit sign and there were like 10+ exits on each floor. Also as a SPG Preferred guest I was supposed to get a preferred room, but was given a room overlooking the parking lot with a partial ocean view when my reservation clearly stated ocean view. Overall I was very dissatisfied with the service I received and the attitude of the staff. I even wrote to SPG who told me that someone from the staff will reach out to me but no one did even after I checked out. March 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by relaxing and calming hotel My husband and I needed a relaxing vacation. We loved everything about our stay at the Kona Sheraton except the view from our room which was the parking lot. Ten days of hearing and looking at the parking lot soured our stay. We used the "hot rate" because my son works for starwood hotels and I think that is why we got this room. The hotel refused to give us another room even though it was far from full. We will think twice before staying there again. Too bad! December 3, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Family trip & Kona Marathon Starting at check in (6pm), I noticed the stay would be not good. The front desk rep says that the room is not ready...finally we could check in and since it was already late we decided to order room service. There was no menu in the room, so I called guest service and they said the menu will be delivered. Nobody came, so I had to call again and the menu was finally delivered (1.5 hours after the first request). Next day after we prepared to go to the Aloha Friday Run and left the room at 4pm, I called housekeeping before leaving the room to make sure they clean it, we came back after dinner (10pm) and the room was untouched. Nobody came to clean. The third day, we left the hotel early and housekeeping did clean the room...actually they only changed the linens and put new towels. The rest was untouched. Tissue paper was finished and they didn't change it. On our last day we decided to spend time at the pool, so I called around noon to request housekeeping to make up the room. Initially we planned to go directly to the mall, but had to change the baby. So we went to the room and surprise again it was 5:30pm and nobody came to clean the room. I called again and told them to send somebody to clean the room. Eventually they came and did it...same cleaning quality as the previous day. In our last morning, before check out, I noticed that there was no newspaper delivered (the previous 3 days we had it delivered...maybe because I am Plat). I called guest services and they said...it is only delivered to gold and plats. Are you? Yes, so please could you send somebody to deliver it (it was 6:55am). You can come to the front desk and grab one, if we have copies left (that was the GS rep answer). Finally, at check out the FD rep asked how was my stay...I summarized it and told her it was not good. She didn't care at all. Then I asked if I could contact the General Manager (Mr Mathew Grauso), she said that she doesn't know where he is and if I want to talk to somebody, I had to talk to the FD manager. So that is what the Sheraton Kona at Keauhou can offer you. Considering I am a lifetime platinum, I can't imagine what kind of service general members are entitled to. June 24, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Tired hotel, terrible staff Our company chose this hotel for our annual National Convention. 1st impression was fantastic, check in was quick and lobby area was beautiful. Arriving at my room I quickly realized this was a resort that had seen better times. Room was clean but was unable to get cool. I had the thermostat down to 45 but was only able to make it slightly cooler. The bathroom was outdated with a low shower head. Good luck getting ANYONE on the phone. I called the front desk and it took 72 rings before they picked up. The elevator near my room was not working properly so we called from the house phone next to it- finally hung up after EIGHTY rings. Our welcome party was moved to a location chosen by the hotel and when it began to rain they had no back up plan. When our group ran from the rain to the nearest outside patio, our group was told the area was for "hotel guests only” as it was adjacent to their restaurant. When we finally relocated to an unused restaurant area, we were told all of our food stations were ruined by the rain so we no longer had food for our event. Our staff had to beg to get the kitchen to find something to serve us- only to be disappointed with a hot chicken pasta dish served cold. When we complained, they were indifferent to our needs. So many times throughout the event we were embarrassed that we chose this hotel for our event. Our entire sales organization looks forward to our annual event but this year we spent more time apologizing for our hotel selection instead of inspiring them to greater achievements. August 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 This place is only a Sheraton in name We stayed at this Sheraton for a week in May 2013. While the hotel is at a beautiful location, it has some serious issues. - No staff at the front desk. The three times I needed them (including for check-in) there was nobody to be found. - The hotel is pretty dated, it's clean, but there are sections where there's plaster falling off the roof. I think they're in the midst of updating it, at least I hope so. - Even though the hotel was pretty empty, they gave us a room on a floor that had a scheduled (!) electricity outage during our stay. Additional issue: they didn't tell us prior to the outage. When we called to complain they matter of factly stated that it was a scheduled outage and that they alerted us, which was not true. - Don't get a room near the stairs. There are no silencers on the doors and on the weekends the place is overrun by local teenagers who like to run up and down the stairs and across the hallways (why, I do not know). The sound of slamming doors gets old really fast. - The bathroom was not clean. There were hairs on the walls. Same hairs were there all week, and are probably still there. - Standing water (it hadn't rained recently) on the balcony. We called for someone to clean this. We're still waiting for that person to show up. - Bar staff is very nice, and the pool is nice. The pool can get a little busy on the weekends, as the locals come hang out there too. - Rays on the Bay is a great restaurant, too bad it's part of this place. There are other resorts close to this one. I cannot recommend this place in good conscience, There are too many great places to waste your money here. I sent my list of issues to the hotel and they replied that they appreciate my feedback, and are sharing the info with the appropriate teams. After reading reviews of other guests that ran into issues, this seems to be the standard reply. It would be good, if they don't just share the feedback internally, but actually make some changes. That doesn't seem to happen though. May 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by late check out When we booked our stay, we requested late check out as our flight did not leave until 10pm. We are gold members, so this should not have been a problem. When we checked in, we confirmed that we could have a late check out and confirmed it AGAIN the day before we left. On each occasion we were told there would not be a problem . On our day of departure we went to registration to cash in our housekeeping vouchers(great idea, by the way) , asked when we were checking out, we replied at 4pm and was then told we could not do this as our room had been "re-assigned". We cannot understand after we had made 3 requests, well in advance of checking out , why this should be changed. Surely it makes sense not to "re-assign" a room that has been occupied by some one needing late check out. As this is also one of the "perks" of being a gold member , we were very disappointed with our treatment. We had to change our plans for our final day and it did spoil our otherwise good experience staying with you. March 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location poor housekeeping I rently visisted the Sheraton Kona and was satisfied with the resort for the most part. As a platinum SPG member, I was upgraded to a 2 room suite which was nice with an excellent view! The resort overall was fine; pool, food etc.. However, the housekeeping service was probably the worst I have ever experienced. The only thing that seemed to happen on a daily basis was replenished towels, bathroom ammenitites and a made bed. After four nights there were still empty glasses from the first night left untouched. I also noticed the shower was never cleaned during my stay. We ordered roomservice one night which was never removed, we had to put it outside our door in order to get rid of it. I was very dissappointed in the standards for thier housekeeping. Cleanliness is very important to me and I didn't feel that my room was cleaned properly, if really at all. November 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Concierge & Facilities were excellent; Staff not great My family & I stayed here the weekend of my wedding. We did not get married at the hotel, but the hotel was a good place to stay! Pros: - Gary, our concierge was a gem! I cannot say enough about how wonderful he was. We could not have organized our trip and wedding without his assistance!!! - Location is amazing - We were upgraded to a suite (SPG Gold), which had a fabulous view Cons: The general hotel staff seemed SUPER disorganized. Three examples: - My sister was checked into an occupied room - My grandparents' request for an accessible room was confirmed, then lost when they checked in - We received breakfast vouchers, then told they were not valid October 8, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by The Best Thing About the Place is the Manta Rays The title says it all. While on an extended visit to the Big Island Hiloside , we trekked over to Keauhou for a weekend visit largely to see the Manta Rays. We were not disappointed. They appeared on cue and the accompanying talk was excellent. As for the rest of the property, the beautiful lobby raises expectations that are clearly not met elsewhere in the hotel. Everything other reviewers have said about things being out-of-date and in poor condition is true. Our room was quite disappointing and unattractive and, despite being SPG Gold at the time, we were overlooking the parking lot. The pool area is very beautiful. Generally, I found, as is the norm in Hawai'i, the staff was friendly and accommodating if not always the height of professionalism. The reception staff being the exception - not only slow and inept but unfriendly as well. I expect this stems from poor management issues - further underlined by the fact that none of the reviews in this forum are responded to as seems to be usual for most properties. Who's tending the fire here? March 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by it's a real resort! I loved the property as it was so all-inclusive for all my needs! There are walking trails, there are places to watch the ocean surf, great food, great service, cheerful staff, beautiful grounds and an awesome pool area! The workout room and other recreational areas looked good too! The concierge in the Flying Fish shop was very helpful and super-sweet! The restaurant staff were great morning, lunch and night! My only negative comment was that housekeeping didn't clean the room before I arrived and that the rooms were not sound-proofed very well. (I had hair in the bathroom and I could hear my neighbor's kids at night.) Housekeeping responded quickly and cleaned it all the next day and the the rooms/bedding were otherwise very good. I can't wait to return! October 11, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Never again $31 resort fee is a rip off, pool bar closes at 5pm main bar at 10pm No mater how people are in there is closes, Breakfast buffet at $27 per person. The food is bad along with service. ( We waited for 15min to get a coffee, you can't leave your plate or the birds attack it. Our room had san flees so bad we bought spray,, and thanks we brought them home with us. 9 days we spent there and will never come back. As the VP for US Electric, I will not recommend this hotel to any of our employees or our customers. May 15, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Business Stay Room was next to the elevator and it sounded like a plane taking off when in use. Front desk staff were slightly rude and aloof. Waited in the wrong place and no one said anything. I figured it out myself after they helped people who came later. One night there was a loud party of locals next to my room. The pool was filled with non guest patrons who came to work the building expo. Also I heard a couple kids say their parent were working at the hotel. Disappointing since I've stayed there several times and was happy with everything. Going down hill fast. One of my pillows smelled so bad it stayed on the floor the whole stay (4 nights). Not business friendly at all. October 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good Locale Our family stayed in adjacent rooms which was convenient. The hotel has a great location, walking distance to the harbor for excursions, quiet location and well kept grounds. Dining at Rays was good and competitively priced for the area. The view is outstanding and be sure to check out the manta rays beginning around 9PM. So why only average? The hotel is a little tired and not everything worked in the room. The staff was hit and miss on courtesy, not what we normally see at SPG locales. Not enough to not recommend going - just not quite up to our SPG expectations which are very high. August 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel needs improvement My wife and I spent six nights at this property, October 16-22. The hotel is a beautiful property in a great location (although no beach). However, there are two items that I feel should be improved upon. The first is the food in the main dining room, Ainakai. The breakfast buffet was sorely lacking in variety and quality for the cost. This property is away from the main Kailua-Kona area so guests are a somewhat captive audience. Food service improvement should be considered. The other item: Please consider replacing the toilets in the guest rooms. I'm not sure if the one in our room was typical of all rooms but ours was a wall-hung (no tank), institutional toilet similar to what you would find at the airport or in a bus station. The worst part was that it flushed so loudly and with such force that it always woke up the other person. Not the kind of thing I would have expected in a higher-end Starwood property like this. October 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel needs renovation Friendly staff, clean, comfortable, but not up to the four star rating. The hotel has a beautiful location, but the grounds and the building need to be fixed. For example, the tub in my room had chips and cracks. The room was advertised as being newly renovated. It clearly was not. The toilet and its flush mechanism looked like it was from a 1970's high school restroom. The path along the water was asphalt, and looked like repairs had been done, but not finished. There were parts of the building where the stucco was flaking off in sheets, and not repaired. Would have gladly paid more money if the resort was updated. November 27, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Everything was excellent, except the Front Desk This is a lovely property with wonderful amenities and facilities. The rooms are out dated and event the "renovated" rooms are old and outdated, just with a flat screen tv. The staff overall is incredible- especially the Bell Desk and Valet team, and the restaurant and lounge servers. The pool is great (also great service there) and you can't beat the value of the Ocean Front room to watch the mantarays! Our welcome at the valet was great- the front desk not so much. Polite, but not welcoming. They didn't offer any additional information, but were efficient and professional. We had a significant issue on our last day that left a really poor impression. The hotel made an error on our bill (we prepaid and booked through SPG, but were charged in error by the hotel). When I went to the front desk to resolve this fairly minor issue, the agent was inept and had no idea how to correct the mistake. She basically told me I needed to show her proof that we paid, and sent me off to the business centre, which was locked. I felt this was completely inappropriate- proper service would be for her to place a call to SPG service, wouldn't it? When I came back to the desk, there was a long line and the same agent did not even acknowledge me. I ended up having to explain myself again to another agent, who told me the e-mail I had printed, confirming my reservation, wasn't sufficient. She pretty much demanded to see a copy of my credit card statement. It was incredibly rude, offensive and frustrating. Unfortunately this is my lasting impression of this property. January 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel features We stayed in this hotel from 11/12-11/18. We liked the hotel. Overall all everything is clean and well maintained. Staff friendly and eager to help. Only complaint we have is about the breakfast food quality. This is just average especially they do not have even omelets stand on Mondays and Tuesdays. November 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superb facility on Kona! We just stayed at the Sheraton Kona and could not have been more pleased. The staff, including car parking attendants, bell hops, front desk, concierge, waiters, bar tenders, even the maintenance staff, were extremely friendly and courteous. The rooms have those comfortable beds the Starwood chain is known for. Food at the restaurants was great. The ambience at Rays on the Bay is awesome. Great bands each night and you can see the manta rays from the bar. Try the hibiscus bourbon drink they have. I had it each night I went. The location of the resort is great too. We like being away from the crowded tourist spots and this is just that. Peaceful and quiet! If you want to go into the town of Kona, they have a free shuttle bus to take you there. You can rent kayaks and snorkel gear right next to the hotel and use them right in there in the same bay. They have 2 nice pools, both of them good sized. One has a water slide and the other a waterfall. We have already talked of going back to Kona next year and if so we will stay at the Sheraton Kona again! November 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfortable Stay We stayed here for 2 nights at the start of a 9-night visit to the island. We were upgraded to an ocean view room which overlooked partial pool/slide area and a BIG plant blocking most of the ocean view. The patio was spacious, but when it rained you could hear the water splashing down from the balcony above you - was a bit annoying. The pool area was very nice and had great views. Their pool bar did not open till noon, so I walked to the restaurant and ordered 2 to-go Bloody Mary's and they did it for us! That was great customer service. Our room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. Typical Sheraton décor and comfort which is good. Overall, I would recommend a stay at this hotel. June 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very happy with Hotel but was disappointed with Room Service The hotel and its location were spectacular. The service from the staff I had contact with was excellent. I was however disappointed with the appearence of the passageways between rooms. A room near the one we had had room service and the ice chest and glasses were left in the corridore for at least two days (they were still there when we left) and the tray that we had for room service was left at the door and was still there the following morning. I find this unacceptable especially when we are talking about food scraps being left and believe it let down the rest of the facilities and hotel. November 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded All Expectations I have traveled all around the world and this is by far one of my favorite Starwood properties. The views and location are unbelievable. The staff is outstanding - especially Rose at the pool restaurant. I have been to this hotel many times and have never been disappointed. The staff is wonderful and makes you feel at home at all times! I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be back! September 10, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Will never go back My husband and I were VERY disappointed with our stay and will never come back or stay in a Sheraton again. The food was outrageously overpriced ($18 for a horrible pretzel cheeseburger & $24.99 for a breakfast buffet with fruit, breads omelets and 2 meat choices, PER PERSON!!) and not that good. There were kids in the pool screaming at 7am right outside of our door. The tourism and resort taxes equal over 30%, which is never told to guests until after your printout is received at the end of your stay. And we even found a roach/bug in our room. July 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Spectacular Location. Very Comfortable Stay My wife and I spent a week here and we were very impressed with the hotel's location and the upkeep of the property. The views here are quite fantastic and excellent for a laid back visit to the Big Island. It is also quite close to the Kona area - 15 minute drive times each way. The service and staff here are excellent - very polite, friendly and our concierge was exceedingly helpful in getting us booked on a last minute helicopter tour. I would strongly advise that you Yelp yourself to other locations to eat/drink instead of dining at the resort. Big Island isn't exactly a foodie destination but you can certainly get better bang for your buck elsewhere. The breakfast cafe they have in the morning is a notable exception - we preferred that over the restaurant buffet that is served in the morning. The pool area is also quite fun - try the water slide! You're never too old for a water slide. My one tip - beware the Luau. This is not run by the hotel - although it is held on hotel property. Apparently the Luau here is one of the best on the Kona side of the island but it is unfortunately subject to weather. It rained during our Luau and they moved it to the convention center ballroom- which completely killed the atmosphere of the event. Make sure the evening is clear before you buy tickets (which are pretty pricey to begin with). Maybe it will be better the next time we go. Overall - I would absolutely wholeheartedly advise that you stay here if you're looking for an SPG hotel on the Kona side of Big Island. September 25, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor service in older facility When we checked in to our "ocean view" room, we discovered that the room overlooked the parking lot and you could only see the opening to the bay if you went out on the balcony, to the railing. This was changed when I complained but why should I have to do that? The room was not stocked with bathroom amenities, so I got to go get them from the maid's cart. The toilet was an industrial "foot flush" model--not very attractive in a higher quality hotel. Pool area ran out of towels and, rather than bringing some to us when available, we told to just "come back in 20 minutes". On the evening of our fifth and last night, we recieved a call from the concierge "welcoming" us to the Sheraton. The self parking lot fills up on weekends when events are going on and there are no reserved spaces for hotel guests. There are so many better hotels in better locations in the area. A beautiful lobby and viewing of the manta ray area do not make up for the deficiencies of this hotel. Find better service, a prettier pool area, more modern facilities and a beach somewhere else. November 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed We stayed here for one night last week. We arrived late at night and the check-in took a LONG time. There were a handful of people in front of us (they looked like a crew from Alaska Airlines), but it felt like there were more than dozen people in front of us. After a long wait, we were finally checked in (the person who helped us was nice and pleasant) and was given a room key. The hotel lobby and the entrance area looked nice, but as we were walking down the hallway to our room, there was this unpleasant, stale, wet carpet-like smell all around. It's hard to describe but it was old, wet, and almost moldy kind of a smell. Unfortunately, our room was not any better, especially the bathroom, which was just old and in need of renovation. The worst part was in the morning, when I opened the door to the balcony. Apparently, our room was facing the wall of a tennis court! I wish the front desk warned us ahead of time that our room not only had NO view, but that it was facing the wall of a tennis court. At this point, we really had no reason to linger our stay and left the hotel ASAP to our next destination, namely Hilo. March 19, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 20 next>>