Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

  • 78-128 Ehukai Street
  • Kailua-Kona,
  • Hawaii
  • 96740
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 617 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Truly Hawaiian My husband and I came for our 36th Anniversary and upraded to an Oceanfront Suite and we loved the view, privacy and the comfort. I however was disappointed in the selection of dining experiences. The breakfast buffet needed more variety and the dinner at Ray's was just average. The staff was great and attentive and the hotel was filled with rich history which we enjoyed hearing about. November 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Relaxing stay at Sheraton Kona This hotel has very friendly staff everywhere. It also has gorgeous setting with the pool and poolside facilities. Fantastic sunset view! If the mattress had been less soft I would have slept comfortably. November 12, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Rude staff but great location The best word for the Sheraton Kona is mixed. Some things were amazing (the pool, the size of the rooms, the concierge, the view/location). An a few things were downright embarrassing. First, the room service was brought in a paper shopping bag!! The other thing is that several people on the staff were rude and disinterested – for instance when I asked one of the guys at the bell desk how to get to the shopping center he just shrugged and said “how should I know”. Another example, when I asked to see my bill and noticed I was not given the 15% platinum discount for meals (which I was offered upon arrival in a letter) he said “well there is nothing I can do – you need to ask for that when you eat”. The rooms were dated, but HUGE so I can’t complain there. Overall the biggest issue was the staff, pretty weak for Starwood overall and downright pathetic for a beautiful tropical paradise. November 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by AStarwoods Resort Facility with wonderful vistas and amenities. My major complaint was Ray's Restaurant on premises which soured us on any other food venues at the resort. Guests should be prepared to eat off premises. It is one thing for resort food to be expensive, but my wife's hamburger order was botched both the first time and the second. When this was pointed out to waiter, he appeared annoyed, said a correction would be made on the bill and then failed to do so. I asked the waitress who brought my food whether they had bread and she mentioned something about chips, but did not offer to bring any or indicate a price. Small portions, terrible service and an indifferent attitude by restaurant staff resulted in our decision to avoid all other food venues at the resort and would lead us to recommend other resorts to friends despite being Starwoods Preferred Guest Members.Starwoods needs to close this restaurant and should reimburse members for such atrocious service. November 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Location We enjoyed our stay here when using the hotel as a base of operations. It was a great location for exploring the Big Island. The concierge was super helpful with finding and setting up activities. Free valet with Platinum status was great. Beware that the $30 resort fee really adds up over a stay and you won't feel like you have anything to show for it - internet and bottled water should both be free if you are Platinum, if you don't take yoga classes or ride the trolley you will wonder why you paid the extra charge every day. Regarding the actual facility, the buffet breakfast is expensive and does not change, I would avoid. Beware of rooms in the Helani wing on the ocean side. You will be over Rays on the Bay and cannot get away from the nightly live music until it is over between 9 and 10 - when trying to appreciate an ocean view suite it is much less relaxing when you have to sit through a cover band for hours every night. November 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Banquet Staff is Awesome! Stayed here for an event me and my copany booked at the hotel. Everyone we came in contact with in the banquet department (porters, sound technician, captain/manager, director) were great. We asked and they delivered whatever we needed. Definitely exceeded my expectations. Wish I stayed longer and with my daughter so we could enjoy the other facilities like pool and spa. November 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel a great romantic getaway Celebrated our anniversary in beautiful oceanfront room with view from our lanai of the Manta Rays swimming below. Arrived to our room decorated with a beautiful floral arrangement and flower petals arranged in a romantic heart on the bed. Friendly and courteous service from all the staff, especially the room attendants, food servers, and front desk hosts. Meticulous grounds and beautiful pools with fun slide. Rays on the Bay a great place for food, fun and entertainment. Definitely left with great experience celebrating our special occasion. October 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel needs better signage Upon arriving to the hotel and parking at the self-parking area. My friend and I were clueless as to where the registration/check-in desk was. There are no clear signs as to where check-in was and we rolled around in our heavy luggage for a while before stumbling upon it. Advice: not everyone drives up to the front of the hotel - especially in Big Island lots of people rent cars and the hotel had terrible directions and even the signage that were there were vague and confusing. October 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel needs improvement My wife and I spent six nights at this property, October 16-22. The hotel is a beautiful property in a great location (although no beach). However, there are two items that I feel should be improved upon. The first is the food in the main dining room, Ainakai. The breakfast buffet was sorely lacking in variety and quality for the cost. This property is away from the main Kailua-Kona area so guests are a somewhat captive audience. Food service improvement should be considered. The other item: Please consider replacing the toilets in the guest rooms. I'm not sure if the one in our room was typical of all rooms but ours was a wall-hung (no tank), institutional toilet similar to what you would find at the airport or in a bus station. The worst part was that it flushed so loudly and with such force that it always woke up the other person. Not the kind of thing I would have expected in a higher-end Starwood property like this. October 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent choice SK was a last minute choice for Ironman Week due to the condo we had reserved 9 months in advance being too hot and noisy to occupy. The room was fine - great view - comfy beds and pillows - quiet fridge and A/C. You did have to listen to the Hawaiian Trio in the main resturant until 9:30 but it was not obnoxiously loud. Every staff member we were in contact with was exceptionally helpfull in all respects. WiFi was very poor in our room and even AT&T cell phone connection was unreliable without going outside the room. Wonderful food in the main resturant (Ribeye and Ahi) Contintental breakfast had no adult cereal except granola (if you like Frankenberry, Count Chocula and Mini Chocolate Chip Cookies, you're OK) Keep in mind that you will need a car, taxi or the once every two hours Trolley to get into town. Good swimming/fish viewing from the dive center next door. All in all a very nice experience and would love to return. October 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by awesome ocean views Beautiful location with amazing ocean views from lobby and pool. Very nice pool with waterslide and ample shaded areas. Great hotel for those that like to spend a lot of time poolside. Only disappointment is the cost of food and drinks. but to be fair starwood property on Maui also expensive with cocktails at $13, lunch $20, and dinner $35. The night dive/snorkel viewing manta rays at this hotel is not to be missed! Recommend you buy an underwater digital camera before arrive ($120). October 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed The restaurant was closed when I arrived, so I had to go to the Lounge for dinner. They should have provided hearing protection; the band's volume level was 87-89 decibels. I asked for the manager, and they turned it down to 85-87. You couldn't even hear the surf. There were tiny spiders all over the desk in my room. I when I was leaving in the morning there was no one at the Express Coffee Bar that was supposed to have been open 45 minutes earlier. I usually love Sheraton properties, but this one was an extreme disappointment. October 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by make you feel like Ohana The hotel staff at this site are wonderful. They remember you and make you feel like part of the family. It is truly special! Also there are recent changes in the bay area (addition of a ladder to get into the water and a new restaurant at the docks) that make the immediate hotel area more user friendly and fun. October 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Experience My fiancé and I stayed here a month ago, we cannot say enough great things about the quality of service and our overall experience. Every moment of this trip was wonderful, we loved the location of the hotel, inside and out it was beautiful and well maintained. There were many events to choose from so we were never bored. The staff was always friendly and welcoming. You can't go wrong with the Sheraton Kona, we'll be back! October 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs improvement The meals was not to my satisfaction...the food was too much salt....very salty on our Hawaiian buffet night. Breakfast at the restaurant was full with birds flying around and eating out of a customer plate when he went to get his omelet. September 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The Staff Makes the Difference The hotel is not a new property, but the staff were amazing, attentive, and friendly. The property is certainly clean and well maintained just shows it age a little. The staff addressed me by name by the second day, and went out of their way to make me feel comfortable. September 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Resort We'll be back Very nice resort! As a platinum, we were upgraded to a ocean view family suite prior to check-in. The hotel is older, but has been extensively remodeled in the last 5 years. The hotel had new, modern appearance. Immediately after check-in we went to see Samantha, the concierge, and booked a Manta Ray snorkel, golf and a helicopter ride. Sam was very friendly, knowledgeable and worked hard to book exactly the excursions we were looking for. We ate dinner at Ray's the first night. The food and service were excellent. They also had a live band and a dance floor. After eating we walked out to the viewing area to watch the Manta Rays. The only problem that we experienced during our stay was that our room was located directly above Ray's and my wife found it difficult to sleep. We reported this to the front desk the next morning and we were moved to a larger, Corner suite that had a patio that was larger than our first room. That's what I call great service. The resort has a huge pool with a 200' water slide, which we used on two days. This resort also does an excellent job of recognizing Platinum guests. At check-in were give platinum colored wrist bands to wear during our stay. We got 15% off in all the restaurants and at breakfast each morning they brought us out a special plate of pastries without asking. My favorite was the Long John that was topped with a strip of bacon, caramel, and chocolate! We will definitely stay at the Sheraton Kona the next time we visit the Big Island. September 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Spectacular Location. Very Comfortable Stay My wife and I spent a week here and we were very impressed with the hotel's location and the upkeep of the property. The views here are quite fantastic and excellent for a laid back visit to the Big Island. It is also quite close to the Kona area - 15 minute drive times each way. The service and staff here are excellent - very polite, friendly and our concierge was exceedingly helpful in getting us booked on a last minute helicopter tour. I would strongly advise that you Yelp yourself to other locations to eat/drink instead of dining at the resort. Big Island isn't exactly a foodie destination but you can certainly get better bang for your buck elsewhere. The breakfast cafe they have in the morning is a notable exception - we preferred that over the restaurant buffet that is served in the morning. The pool area is also quite fun - try the water slide! You're never too old for a water slide. My one tip - beware the Luau. This is not run by the hotel - although it is held on hotel property. Apparently the Luau here is one of the best on the Kona side of the island but it is unfortunately subject to weather. It rained during our Luau and they moved it to the convention center ballroom- which completely killed the atmosphere of the event. Make sure the evening is clear before you buy tickets (which are pretty pricey to begin with). Maybe it will be better the next time we go. Overall - I would absolutely wholeheartedly advise that you stay here if you're looking for an SPG hotel on the Kona side of Big Island. September 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location and staff pool bar slow dry food The location is great and views amazing. Rooms were spacious and provided an wonderful; quiet space. Only drawback was pool bar- bar fine but food service was very slow and when food came cold and dried out, two different occasions. September 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Experiance The room was great and the service was superb. The view from our room was incomparable. September 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great renovations at Keahou Sheraton! We loved our stay during the Kupuna Hula Festival. The staff was wonderful, very welcoming and helpful. And we LOVED the beautiful renovations that had been done since our last stay there... Beautiful. September 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Tired property even with latest renovations We arrived a day early for a weeklong bicycle tour that was to start in Kialua-Kona and go around the Big Island. The bicycle company advertised the property as a luxury accommodation, the Sheraton Kona is not. We had an early dinner at the poolside restaurant. The corn on the cob was not edible; the nachos had no discernible goat cheese (one of the highlighted ingredients) and the guacamole was a tasteless cream. Very family friendly, kids loved the water features. September 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded All Expectations I have traveled all around the world and this is by far one of my favorite Starwood properties. The views and location are unbelievable. The staff is outstanding - especially Rose at the pool restaurant. I have been to this hotel many times and have never been disappointed. The staff is wonderful and makes you feel at home at all times! I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be back! September 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very Disappointing Great location. Friendly Staff. Hotel needs a lot of work. It needs lots of maintenance. My room had ants and bugs, the patio door could only be opened using my entire strength. The drawers in the furniture were stuck partially open. It was one of the more disappointing Sheraton hotels I have stayed in over the last few years, especially considering that it is in a premium location on the Kona coast. September 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sheraton Kona Resort at Keauhou Bay Overall this hotel met my needs for business and pleasure while on Kona. It does not have a beach as the Kohala Coast resorts but has a great pool, spa, restaurant and Manta Ray viewing. September 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic seaside paradise Lovely large, clean room. Beautiful pool, very relaxing atmosphere. Very friendly, helpful staff. August 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Restaurants Although there were options available for breakfast, there was only one option available for dinner. Rays on The Bay was very noisy so we decided not to eat there. There are no other quieter eating facilities available at night. Felt this was a bit poor for a hotel of this standard. August 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fun activities for family with kids This hotel has a great pool with an awesome slide that kids and adults would enjoy. The beds are very comfortable but the room is dated and in need of renovation. The bathroom tiles are old and the carpet needs to be replaced. However, we had a great time there with the lei making class and the ukelele lessons and the hula dance lessons. The night time viewing of the manta rays is terrific and I would recommend this hotel for a family looking for both fun and relaxation. August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Understated quality We have had an enjoyable and memorable stay here at the Sheraton. The Manta Ray exposure and evening boating frenzy was an unexpected delight and surprise. The pool, spa, and resort atmosphere was comfortable and quiet. We enjoyed the food at Ray's on the Bay. Beautiful setting. I would not hesitate to recommend this place. Not pretentious just polished. You are within a short walk to two independent touring companies offering boating excursions. No need to drive and park! August 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has friendly staff. If your looking for a hotel with "aloha" spirit, this is a graet one. Friendly staff and great service! August 22, 2014
  • 2015-07-03T13:47:47.195-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_617, tr_617
  • loc_en_US, sid_1469, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 22 next>>