Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

  • 78-128 Ehukai Street
  • Kailua-Kona,
  • Hawaii
  • 96740
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 557 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fun activities for family with kids This hotel has a great pool with an awesome slide that kids and adults would enjoy. The beds are very comfortable but the room is dated and in need of renovation. The bathroom tiles are old and the carpet needs to be replaced. However, we had a great time there with the lei making class and the ukelele lessons and the hula dance lessons. The night time viewing of the manta rays is terrific and I would recommend this hotel for a family looking for both fun and relaxation. August 25, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Never again $31 resort fee is a rip off, pool bar closes at 5pm main bar at 10pm No mater how people are in there is closes, Breakfast buffet at $27 per person. The food is bad along with service. ( We waited for 15min to get a coffee, you can't leave your plate or the birds attack it. Our room had san flees so bad we bought spray,, and thanks we brought them home with us. 9 days we spent there and will never come back. As the VP for US Electric, I will not recommend this hotel to any of our employees or our customers. May 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Property, Location and Sunsets My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful week at the Sheraton Kona Resort in February. The ocean views from this property are spectacular, as are the sunsets, and I would recommend spending the extra money for an ocean front room if possible. We had a suite, which was huge and very comfortable. My only complaint is that most days it was necessary to get a new password to log into the wi-fi. We really enjoyed viewing whales and manta rays playing right for our balcony as well as the waves crashing on the lava rock shoreline, Some highlights of the property include the expansive pool areas, Rays on the Bay restaurant and a great ocean view workout facility. Rays was enjoyable for dinner or just drinks while enjoying the nightly live entertainment. The hotel is also a short drive from the the town of Kailua for those looking for shopping and dining opportunities. For those interested in seeing an active volcano, the hotel is about a 2 hour drive from Mauna Kea, . We found most of the staff members to very friendly, from the valet parking team, to the maids and the pool wait staff. The overall feel of the hotel is laid back and relaxing and we found ourselves wishing we had booked a longer stay. I would highly recommend this property. April 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Gorgeous location Pros: 1) Troy made our check in experience excellent-- welcoming and friendly, recognition of SPG status and effecient in helping us to obtain an upgraded room. 2) Our suite was nicely appointed and clean with 2 lanais and a LOVELY views of the bay and the mountain. Breathtaking! Cons: 1) On our 6th night, our 5 year old woke up in the middle of the night with severe pain in his ear and we needed to find a place that was open 24 hours. I called Guest Services and the Front Desk for 40 minutes (used the room phone and my cell) without a response. We were frantically searching the web for 24-hour places without success and our son kept crying. I don't know what happened but this dropped our experience from 5 stars to 4 stars. 2) early closing hours for the gorgeous (and fun) pool (6 p.m. for the slide and 7 p.m. for the pool) August 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hawaiiana Exoerience The west end of the Big Island is quieter and less lush than what I have expereinced across the Hawaiian Islands. The Sheraton Kona, for me, was a lush oasis...visually, culturally and geographically. Where else can you smell the sweet fragrance of Plumeria, sample great Pacific seafood and swim with the graceful Manta Rays? Of course the windings pools, ukulele lessons and warm Aloha spirit did much to make my conference experience so memorable. Mahalo nui loa to this great staff for the many acts of kindess and thoughtfulness we experienced. January 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sheraton Kona - Keauhou Bay Practically great place to be with family, even if there is lack of water access (beach). This is compensated by looking at mantas. One comment - if guest is on "green option" (saving money, environment etc.), please make sure coffee and water is replenished in room as promised vs. guest asking for this every single day. August 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding! We will return!! Outstanding stay. All staff went above and beyond to make sure we felt welcome. Everyone greeted us when we approached or just passed by. Views of ocean from the main pool, well, you just have to sit in one of the many lounge chairs and have a look for yourself. Breathtaking. Grounds very well kept. We had an oceanfront room, 4th floor. We enjoyed just sitting on our lanai and gazing out over the Pacific. The one small issue would be the bed size for a two-bedded room. Most of us are used to either a queen or king sized bed and to have to sleep in a double was a bit tough (we were told the hotel does not offer any other size for a two-bedded room) but the rest of experience was more than just beautiful. Be sure to go visit the volcano while you are on the Big Island. August 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel has great features but..... Beautiful hotel with all kind of features and activities for its guests. Food and service at the Holua and Ainakai was top notch. Only fault with the service was... returning at 5 pm after being out and about the island all day and finding the room had not been cleaned and all the towels were still not replaced. After calling the front desk and being told towels , etc would be sent, I finally went to the pool area and signed out 3 beach towels to use. July 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not worth what you're Paying I've been staying at the Sheraton Keauhou, since it opened, several times per year. Pictures show flat/LCD TV's, most rooms do not have them. You need to pay extra for this in some upgraded rooms, most competitors include large LCD TV's as standard. Their burgers used to be about $10.00, now they charge almost $20, definitively not work it! But thank goodness they give you $5.00 if you skip daily maid service, which helps offset the cost of food. On the plus side, great pool and water slide for the kids, although hours of operation are limited. Great location on the ocean on lava cliffs, but no beach. Dinner buffet is very good on Friday nights and so is the Luau on Monday! Resort fee keeps increasing as due room rates and you get very little in return. If there was another Starwood property on the island, I'd be there! April 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfortable hotel in gorgeous location! We just returned from a wonderful vacation at the Sheraton Kona. Our room was large, clean, and comfortable. The pool was beautiful as were the grounds. We appreciate the efforts of the hotel to preserve the historical aspects of their location. The staff were so friendly and helpful. Daily activities were posted and numerous. The fitness room had super equipment. We were able to see both whales and dolphins from the property. We'd highly recommend a visit! April 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff Made The Difference During the hurricane Iselle encounter, two of the staff had made our stay very comfortable. Matt G. who told us that this was the safest place to be at and his family is staying here at the hotel. The other person was the receiption staff who checked us in. She extented our stay for Friday knowning that the hurricane might be headed towards that evening and we would be in town since our plane departure is a red-eye flight at 11:00pm. her name is Kristie. For those two staff members my wife and I cannot say enough Thank you! And this will always be a memorable trip for us. You can be sure we will be back again and again! August 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel is "Plat-friendly We enjoyed our stay and feel that the hotel appreciated and recognized our SPG Platinum status. Nice room upgrade. Staff were great. Manta Ray viewing platform a real plus. Pools were warm and large with a nice water slide. Good food at Ray's on the Bay, the Holua poolside restaurant, and the Kai breakfast buffet.. Beautiful grounds and quiet location. Much closer to the Volcano than Waikoloa resorts. No beach at the hotel but we do not require one. October 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great stay Despite it's average rating on tripadvisor, we found this hotel to be a gem! The lobby is beautiful and the hotel open air. The pools are great for kids and adults- very pretty, overlooking the ocean. SPG recognition is high amongst all staff. The activities program is top notch- definitely take advantage of the island orientation meeting for lots of local tips and the free historical tours. We enjoyed this hotel and wished we stayed longer. November 16, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible Customer Service Is it too much to ask that hotel employees speak to guests with a smile on their face? Granted, some of the employees I interacted with were very friendly and helpful but the handful that weren't made my stay awful. One staff person actually grunted at me at one point. I will never go back to this hotel again and quite frankly it gives the Starwood Brand a band reputation. February 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location, great staff & great features! Sheraton Keauhou, Hawaii is amazing! The pool and water slide were so awesome! The water temp was great! The rooms were huge and loved the open wi-fi and the manta rays at night! Rays on the bay was so much fun and great food! Overall this hotel had incredible staff and we loved everything about this hotel and it's amenities. Vegan food at hotel and some nearby as well!!! May 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel We loved this hotel. Great room. Nice touch with the flower leis upon arrival. Quick check in and out. All staff were courteous, professional and friendly. We stayed for 2 nights, went to Hilo and it was raining so we came back to the Sheraton for another night. Pool, gym facilities, manta bar, pool restaurant, pool service, front desk all delivered outstanding service. December 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun Mother's Day From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed! Check in was quick and easy. Our room was clean, bright and well appointed. The Manta Ray on the bed was a special touch! We spent two afternoons at the pool and enjoyed every moment. The pool food and beverage service was excellent. We had a wonderful dinner at Ray's with an after dinner Manta Ray watch. We'll be back! May 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Needs inprovement The Hotel is good in whole but they dont provide much attention for SPG Platinum members. I was not provided any special preferences which i had asked for such as special breakfast as i am vegan. Nothing was given complimentary even me being on my honeymoon and a SPG Platinum member. March 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Beautiful Location but there's an issue.... We have gone to this property for years and always enjoy it. The night Manta Ray viewing is amazing, the restaurant food is very good and the lack of a beach is acceptable because of the great pool. Unfortunately we will not be returning because over the years, the pool area has become more and more filled with "pool crashers" and our recent experience with our grandchildren is that the kids were taunted, bullied and "banned" from areas of the pool by the non-guests. We actually feel it shows nice community awareness to let local kids use the pool, but with limits, rules and supervision, which there seemed to be none! Even after sharing our issues with senior staff, in the following days there were numerous "crashers" climbing the rocks, jumping the bridge, throwing footballs across the pool; and it left us feeling that it was not a relaxing or safe environment for our grandchildren or for us. Disappointing because we really like the hotel. August 2, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by needs improvement I am a frequent traveler and a long time SPG member. Although the location of this hotel was in a good place, I would not stay here again unless they made improvements.. The hotel is run down and needs updates, especially the rooms. The resort fee is ridiculous especially if you are a SPG gold or above. It should not even be charged. The wifi worked only intermittently, if at all. The price of breakfast was overpriced. During our stay housekeeping left the door to our room open, and it remained open the entire day while we were gone from 6am to 7pm on a tour. Luckily nothing was taken. Only after a discussion did they offer that the resort fee be removed for the the day and a $50 hotel certificate. I felt they should have done more and I suggested that the resort fee be removed for our stay of 4 days. My feeling is that they should have done much more, and I shouldn't have had to bargain with them. I have stayed in a lot of hotels and I found my experience here disappointing. January 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This can be a 5 * hotel One of the most beautiful properties I have been to of all hotel chains. Have been coming here since it opened in 2004. The grounds are spectacular. The staff are just wonderful. Great location being away from the cityscape of a downtown hotel. The pool is wonderfully located. The sunsets are the best from the property. December 7, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by All that I expected and more. People were great. Location was great. Recognition for SPG platinum: upgraded room, free valet parking, free continental breakfast (which was very good). Hotel recommended great excursions. April 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sheraton Kona Resort at Keauhou Bay Overall this hotel met my needs for business and pleasure while on Kona. It does not have a beach as the Kohala Coast resorts but has a great pool, spa, restaurant and Manta Ray viewing. September 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by needs help Probably not fair since we had just come from the Sheraton Maui - probably the best SPG experience I've ever had. It was inevitable to make a comparison between the two. The hotel is nice and in a good location. The staff do their jobs but are efficient as opposed to helpful or friendly. As a Platinum member I had 3 experiences of getting charged for things I should have been entitled to because the staff didn't bother to look up my profile before responding to my request. The head desk guy put is in a loud room initially and it wasn't until we complained a couple times the next day that we were able to get moved to a suite. I really don't think he had any instinctive idea about what kind of room a couple without their kids would be looking for. Also fyi, no beaches for kids to swim at although the pool is great and you have to drive to get anywhere - there is nothing else near the hotel. Maybe less relevant for non SPG members, but we felt like we got nickeled and dimed here. Breakfast buffet was free but need to leave a tip on a grossly inflated bill that was zeroed out. Almost mandatory valet service which means $4-6 per day in tips. No club lounge for SPG members. At Maui we stayed on points and our bill was $0 with excellent free breakfast and apps at 5:30 so again maybe an unfair comparison, but our experience nontheless. July 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Refresher in Customer Relations for Front Counter Staff Upon late evening check in, the clerk provided us with only a one-sided map of the facility to help us find our room. There was no information provided on check in or in the room about the facilities, amenities available, dining or the surrounding attractions. On day 3 when I noticed some guests with Sheraton-logo'd publications, I mentioned my concern to another front office clerk. Rather than listen carefully and offer help, I was told that I should have "just called down and asked". I pointed out that because I was a unaware of what was available, I didn't know how to form the inquiry. Response: I was given the same map as on night #1 but this time it was two-sided. Gr-r-r-r-rr. The third situation that must be mentioned was when one young lad was very flippant and sarcastic when servicing a pickup request for me. Whew! Three strikes means to me more training is needed. I loved your hotel and the staff, all in all were great but, there is certainly room for improvement. I hope you will accept this as constructive criticism with a view to improving customer service and satisfaction. March 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed We stayed here for one night last week. We arrived late at night and the check-in took a LONG time. There were a handful of people in front of us (they looked like a crew from Alaska Airlines), but it felt like there were more than dozen people in front of us. After a long wait, we were finally checked in (the person who helped us was nice and pleasant) and was given a room key. The hotel lobby and the entrance area looked nice, but as we were walking down the hallway to our room, there was this unpleasant, stale, wet carpet-like smell all around. It's hard to describe but it was old, wet, and almost moldy kind of a smell. Unfortunately, our room was not any better, especially the bathroom, which was just old and in need of renovation. The worst part was in the morning, when I opened the door to the balcony. Apparently, our room was facing the wall of a tennis court! I wish the front desk warned us ahead of time that our room not only had NO view, but that it was facing the wall of a tennis court. At this point, we really had no reason to linger our stay and left the hotel ASAP to our next destination, namely Hilo. March 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Additions New renovation looks great. New restaurant and lobbby take advantage of the amazing views the property has to offer. You can now rent kayaks and ocean gear at hotel. Great staff. A nice break from some of the over sized resorts on the Big island. August 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Time in Hawaii The hotel and location is beautiful. The hotel staff and concierge are 2nd to none. They assisted in all areas and service was quick and prompt. The spa was clean and staff was well qualified and I got some awesome massages!! Loved the salt room and sauna. The only two items that I felt were less than excellent was the Luau .. for $79 I did not feel the food was as authentic as it could of been, it seemed a bit more commercialized or processed ... and there just seemed to be a lot of commentary during the show rather than just the show. The morning breakfast buffet was good .. but can't say it was worth $25 p/p - that was a bit steep. Loved the coffee! I'm a Kona girl for life! September 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Keauhou Rising! I stayed here for the first time recently but had visited the property on previous trips. The hotel is undergoing a renovation and I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. The staff could not have been nicer and they made SURE I knew about the renovation and set my expectations accordingly. I found everyone to be helpful and welcoming. My only suggestion for improvement is about the pool. It would really be nice to have a kid-free area for adults wanting some peace and quiet. The other nice thing was that the staff were all really excited about the renovation and proud of what they were doing. I'd stay here again - the views are really nice and I like the people who work there. March 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful outside The hotel is beautiful, very pretty surroundings. The one disappointing thing was the luau on Mon 12/24/12. It cost $75 (after discount for being a hotel guest), and was mediocre at best. December 26, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 20 next>>