Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

  • 78-128 Ehukai Street
  • Kailua-Kona,
  • Hawaii
  • 96740
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 450 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very happy with Hotel but was disappointed with Room Service The hotel and its location were spectacular. The service from the staff I had contact with was excellent. I was however disappointed with the appearence of the passageways between rooms. A room near the one we had had room service and the ice chest and glasses were left in the corridore for at least two days (they were still there when we left) and the tray that we had for room service was left at the door and was still there the following morning. I find this unacceptable especially when we are talking about food scraps being left and believe it let down the rest of the facilities and hotel. November 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A beautiful romantic resort A beautiful romantic resort close to special water activities, relaxation and the aloha spirit. Very friendly staff, excellent management. Newell took prompt care of us. Loved the yoga classes by Hoodie outside looking over the crystal clear bay. Rays on the Bay was awesome. Rooms are beautiful, spacious and modern. My only concern is, when am I coming back?!!! March 9, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing My stay was very disappointing. Room amenities were good (as I expected in Sheraton), but bath tub looked dirty. The main reason I stayed here was to watch MantaRay's, but due to high tides couldn't see any (not sheraton problem, but weather). What is disappointing is the Ray's at the Bay restaurant staff kept lying that there will be some one giving half hour speach on Manta Ray's. Many people kept waiting and no one showed up. I asked 3 times and they still kept saying there must be some one talking about it. I was shocked they didn't know exact plan that evening. January 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great place; great views; needs better food service Overall we loved the place; however, the restaurant options need to be improved. One night, Ray's (the only option) closed due to the surf (really?) and one night it closed early for no real reason at all. This is a resort -- and by early, I mean 9:00. Place more options and more hours. We were not going to pay $24 for a room service hamburger so headed to town. March 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience Made me really feel at home and anticipated my needs. Great location and room, really made me feel spending nights at Sheraton worthwhile January 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Property, Location and Sunsets My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful week at the Sheraton Kona Resort in February. The ocean views from this property are spectacular, as are the sunsets, and I would recommend spending the extra money for an ocean front room if possible. We had a suite, which was huge and very comfortable. My only complaint is that most days it was necessary to get a new password to log into the wi-fi. We really enjoyed viewing whales and manta rays playing right for our balcony as well as the waves crashing on the lava rock shoreline, Some highlights of the property include the expansive pool areas, Rays on the Bay restaurant and a great ocean view workout facility. Rays was enjoyable for dinner or just drinks while enjoying the nightly live entertainment. The hotel is also a short drive from the the town of Kailua for those looking for shopping and dining opportunities. For those interested in seeing an active volcano, the hotel is about a 2 hour drive from Mauna Kea, . We found most of the staff members to very friendly, from the valet parking team, to the maids and the pool wait staff. The overall feel of the hotel is laid back and relaxing and we found ourselves wishing we had booked a longer stay. I would highly recommend this property. April 8, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Changed to the negative We have stayed here at least 6 times, always for a couple of weeks and enjoyed our stays enormously.Always got special treatment and generous upgrades. Being Platinum members we are used to and expect a certain treatment around the world. Not here anymore. We got a room that we paid for, no upgrade in sight because the many groups they had - I was told - and because we stayed for such a long time. I should, however, come by the front desk daily or call to find out about an upgrade. Good service would be to call me, wouldn't it? At check-in I've been asked what I preferred, the points or continental breakfast. I decided for breakfast but was given a coupon only on special request. No personalized welcome letter, no preparations for our arrival. We understand that big groups are better for the revenue of the hotel than individual guests and that it must be great to have the guests only for a couple of nights. Well, we will change our travel plans in the future, there are Sheraton hotels that are still caring and honor our status. February 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hawaiiana Exoerience The west end of the Big Island is quieter and less lush than what I have expereinced across the Hawaiian Islands. The Sheraton Kona, for me, was a lush oasis...visually, culturally and geographically. Where else can you smell the sweet fragrance of Plumeria, sample great Pacific seafood and swim with the graceful Manta Rays? Of course the windings pools, ukulele lessons and warm Aloha spirit did much to make my conference experience so memorable. Mahalo nui loa to this great staff for the many acts of kindess and thoughtfulness we experienced. January 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel Sheraton Kona has beautiful grounds. The hotel staff is top notch. Rays restaurant in the hotel has a fabulous menu featuring local fish and produce. March 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding! We will return!! Outstanding stay. All staff went above and beyond to make sure we felt welcome. Everyone greeted us when we approached or just passed by. Views of ocean from the main pool, well, you just have to sit in one of the many lounge chairs and have a look for yourself. Breathtaking. Grounds very well kept. We had an oceanfront room, 4th floor. We enjoyed just sitting on our lanai and gazing out over the Pacific. The one small issue would be the bed size for a two-bedded room. Most of us are used to either a queen or king sized bed and to have to sleep in a double was a bit tough (we were told the hotel does not offer any other size for a two-bedded room) but the rest of experience was more than just beautiful. Be sure to go visit the volcano while you are on the Big Island. August 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not worth what you're Paying I've been staying at the Sheraton Keauhou, since it opened, several times per year. Pictures show flat/LCD TV's, most rooms do not have them. You need to pay extra for this in some upgraded rooms, most competitors include large LCD TV's as standard. Their burgers used to be about $10.00, now they charge almost $20, definitively not work it! But thank goodness they give you $5.00 if you skip daily maid service, which helps offset the cost of food. On the plus side, great pool and water slide for the kids, although hours of operation are limited. Great location on the ocean on lava cliffs, but no beach. Dinner buffet is very good on Friday nights and so is the Luau on Monday! Resort fee keeps increasing as due room rates and you get very little in return. If there was another Starwood property on the island, I'd be there! April 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfortable hotel in gorgeous location! We just returned from a wonderful vacation at the Sheraton Kona. Our room was large, clean, and comfortable. The pool was beautiful as were the grounds. We appreciate the efforts of the hotel to preserve the historical aspects of their location. The staff were so friendly and helpful. Daily activities were posted and numerous. The fitness room had super equipment. We were able to see both whales and dolphins from the property. We'd highly recommend a visit! April 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Heavenly If your looking for somewhere to relax... Here it is...Me and the girls enjoyed our days doing what we love best "SHOPPING", and at night it was so nice to just have cocktails and lounge by your beautiful POOL. March 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel is "Plat-friendly We enjoyed our stay and feel that the hotel appreciated and recognized our SPG Platinum status. Nice room upgrade. Staff were great. Manta Ray viewing platform a real plus. Pools were warm and large with a nice water slide. Good food at Ray's on the Bay, the Holua poolside restaurant, and the Kai breakfast buffet.. Beautiful grounds and quiet location. Much closer to the Volcano than Waikoloa resorts. No beach at the hotel but we do not require one. October 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is exceptional! Our stay was heavenly! The staff was so attentive! The hotel landscape is lush and the sea view from our room was amazing! We loved morning yoga facing the ocean, hula lessons, walking the pathway along the shore line, resting by the delightful pool and attending the little church nestled on the garden. Great weather, great food....Our vacation was perfect! January 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great stay Despite it's average rating on tripadvisor, we found this hotel to be a gem! The lobby is beautiful and the hotel open air. The pools are great for kids and adults- very pretty, overlooking the ocean. SPG recognition is high amongst all staff. The activities program is top notch- definitely take advantage of the island orientation meeting for lots of local tips and the free historical tours. We enjoyed this hotel and wished we stayed longer. November 16, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lacks choice of restaurants The clerk at check-in, Christie, was simply outstanding. My profile had a preference for a king size bed but this did not get through when using Starwood points. Christie went the extra mile to ensure a king size bed was made available to me. Unfortunately, it has become more difficult to get what you want when using Starwood points. It is a long way from the Westin experience I enjoyed back 20 years ago when I first became a Westin Preferred Guest. Gerry duffy February 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location, great staff & great features! Sheraton Keauhou, Hawaii is amazing! The pool and water slide were so awesome! The water temp was great! The rooms were huge and loved the open wi-fi and the manta rays at night! Rays on the bay was so much fun and great food! Overall this hotel had incredible staff and we loved everything about this hotel and it's amenities. Vegan food at hotel and some nearby as well!!! May 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel We loved this hotel. Great room. Nice touch with the flower leis upon arrival. Quick check in and out. All staff were courteous, professional and friendly. We stayed for 2 nights, went to Hilo and it was raining so we came back to the Sheraton for another night. Pool, gym facilities, manta bar, pool restaurant, pool service, front desk all delivered outstanding service. December 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun Mother's Day From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed! Check in was quick and easy. Our room was clean, bright and well appointed. The Manta Ray on the bed was a special touch! We spent two afternoons at the pool and enjoyed every moment. The pool food and beverage service was excellent. We had a wonderful dinner at Ray's with an after dinner Manta Ray watch. We'll be back! May 13, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Beautiful Location but there's an issue.... We have gone to this property for years and always enjoy it. The night Manta Ray viewing is amazing, the restaurant food is very good and the lack of a beach is acceptable because of the great pool. Unfortunately we will not be returning because over the years, the pool area has become more and more filled with "pool crashers" and our recent experience with our grandchildren is that the kids were taunted, bullied and "banned" from areas of the pool by the non-guests. We actually feel it shows nice community awareness to let local kids use the pool, but with limits, rules and supervision, which there seemed to be none! Even after sharing our issues with senior staff, in the following days there were numerous "crashers" climbing the rocks, jumping the bridge, throwing footballs across the pool; and it left us feeling that it was not a relaxing or safe environment for our grandchildren or for us. Disappointing because we really like the hotel. August 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This can be a 5 * hotel One of the most beautiful properties I have been to of all hotel chains. Have been coming here since it opened in 2004. The grounds are spectacular. The staff are just wonderful. Great location being away from the cityscape of a downtown hotel. The pool is wonderfully located. The sunsets are the best from the property. December 7, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Additions New renovation looks great. New restaurant and lobbby take advantage of the amazing views the property has to offer. You can now rent kayaks and ocean gear at hotel. Great staff. A nice break from some of the over sized resorts on the Big island. August 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Keauhou Rising! I stayed here for the first time recently but had visited the property on previous trips. The hotel is undergoing a renovation and I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. The staff could not have been nicer and they made SURE I knew about the renovation and set my expectations accordingly. I found everyone to be helpful and welcoming. My only suggestion for improvement is about the pool. It would really be nice to have a kid-free area for adults wanting some peace and quiet. The other nice thing was that the staff were all really excited about the renovation and proud of what they were doing. I'd stay here again - the views are really nice and I like the people who work there. March 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful outside The hotel is beautiful, very pretty surroundings. The one disappointing thing was the luau on Mon 12/24/12. It cost $75 (after discount for being a hotel guest), and was mediocre at best. December 26, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Growing Pains? Overall great location and amenities. Gold SPG status was not recognized at all. On my stay over labor day weekend the under staffing became painfully obvious on sunday when the pool bar "Sliders" was overwelmed. The barkeep did yoeman's work against an onslaught of orders. There was a 30-60 minute wait for orders. The crushing blow came sunday night when the "Rays on the bay" bar was closed for a private function. This forced me and 5 travelling companions to cab to Kona for drinks and dinner. Closing the night life venue at a resort with no other option but a dinner buffet was a horrible inconvenience. September 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent choice in Kona We stayed in 2 hotels in Kona and this was by far the best one. Lovely facilities, grounds and rooms. Seeing the Manta Rays from the viewing area was a highlight October 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unexpected Gem I was pleasantly surprised by the rooms and pools. Resort is south of Kona and you need a car to explore the island. Good value for the money. October 14, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by customer service We were attending a large group function at this hotel. The staff and management were ill prepared for the size of the group. Service was lacking complete with an "I don't care attitude" from the staff. Front desk was not helpful when trying to upgrade rooms when we were going to stay on an extra week after the function. But we left to go to another resort. SPG rewards has no meaning at this Sheraton unless you are at the highest level. Housekeeping was fabulous and met all of our needs. Rooms need more improvements, very old hotel. February 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value in Hawaii We stayed our last night on the Big Island at the Sheraton. Because the hotel doesn't have a beach (it is perched on fantastic lava rocks close to beaches) we did not stay there at the beginning. They make up for it with an extraordinary pool. The hotel is older and so the rooms are very large. The decor is current and very stylish. The spa is fantastic and a great value for the treatments, which you can have on a deck hearing the ocean! Rays on the Bay is a great bar and the seafood was prepared excellently. The staff was very accomodating as we had to extend our trip due to a tropical storm. August 1, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>