Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

  • 78-128 Ehukai Street
  • Kailua-Kona,
  • Hawaii
  • 96740
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 552 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very happy with Hotel but was disappointed with Room Service The hotel and its location were spectacular. The service from the staff I had contact with was excellent. I was however disappointed with the appearence of the passageways between rooms. A room near the one we had had room service and the ice chest and glasses were left in the corridore for at least two days (they were still there when we left) and the tray that we had for room service was left at the door and was still there the following morning. I find this unacceptable especially when we are talking about food scraps being left and believe it let down the rest of the facilities and hotel. November 18, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Never again $31 resort fee is a rip off, pool bar closes at 5pm main bar at 10pm No mater how people are in there is closes, Breakfast buffet at $27 per person. The food is bad along with service. ( We waited for 15min to get a coffee, you can't leave your plate or the birds attack it. Our room had san flees so bad we bought spray,, and thanks we brought them home with us. 9 days we spent there and will never come back. As the VP for US Electric, I will not recommend this hotel to any of our employees or our customers. May 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel The only complaint we had was that housekeeping did not clean our room for two days straight. March 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience Made me really feel at home and anticipated my needs. Great location and room, really made me feel spending nights at Sheraton worthwhile January 12, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by needs help Probably not fair since we had just come from the Sheraton Maui - probably the best SPG experience I've ever had. It was inevitable to make a comparison between the two. The hotel is nice and in a good location. The staff do their jobs but are efficient as opposed to helpful or friendly. As a Platinum member I had 3 experiences of getting charged for things I should have been entitled to because the staff didn't bother to look up my profile before responding to my request. The head desk guy put is in a loud room initially and it wasn't until we complained a couple times the next day that we were able to get moved to a suite. I really don't think he had any instinctive idea about what kind of room a couple without their kids would be looking for. Also fyi, no beaches for kids to swim at although the pool is great and you have to drive to get anywhere - there is nothing else near the hotel. Maybe less relevant for non SPG members, but we felt like we got nickeled and dimed here. Breakfast buffet was free but need to leave a tip on a grossly inflated bill that was zeroed out. Almost mandatory valet service which means $4-6 per day in tips. No club lounge for SPG members. At Maui we stayed on points and our bill was $0 with excellent free breakfast and apps at 5:30 so again maybe an unfair comparison, but our experience nontheless. July 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Property, Location and Sunsets My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful week at the Sheraton Kona Resort in February. The ocean views from this property are spectacular, as are the sunsets, and I would recommend spending the extra money for an ocean front room if possible. We had a suite, which was huge and very comfortable. My only complaint is that most days it was necessary to get a new password to log into the wi-fi. We really enjoyed viewing whales and manta rays playing right for our balcony as well as the waves crashing on the lava rock shoreline, Some highlights of the property include the expansive pool areas, Rays on the Bay restaurant and a great ocean view workout facility. Rays was enjoyable for dinner or just drinks while enjoying the nightly live entertainment. The hotel is also a short drive from the the town of Kailua for those looking for shopping and dining opportunities. For those interested in seeing an active volcano, the hotel is about a 2 hour drive from Mauna Kea, . We found most of the staff members to very friendly, from the valet parking team, to the maids and the pool wait staff. The overall feel of the hotel is laid back and relaxing and we found ourselves wishing we had booked a longer stay. I would highly recommend this property. April 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hawaiiana Exoerience The west end of the Big Island is quieter and less lush than what I have expereinced across the Hawaiian Islands. The Sheraton Kona, for me, was a lush oasis...visually, culturally and geographically. Where else can you smell the sweet fragrance of Plumeria, sample great Pacific seafood and swim with the graceful Manta Rays? Of course the windings pools, ukulele lessons and warm Aloha spirit did much to make my conference experience so memorable. Mahalo nui loa to this great staff for the many acts of kindess and thoughtfulness we experienced. January 28, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Family trip & Kona Marathon Starting at check in (6pm), I noticed the stay would be not good. The front desk rep says that the room is not ready...finally we could check in and since it was already late we decided to order room service. There was no menu in the room, so I called guest service and they said the menu will be delivered. Nobody came, so I had to call again and the menu was finally delivered (1.5 hours after the first request). Next day after we prepared to go to the Aloha Friday Run and left the room at 4pm, I called housekeeping before leaving the room to make sure they clean it, we came back after dinner (10pm) and the room was untouched. Nobody came to clean. The third day, we left the hotel early and housekeeping did clean the room...actually they only changed the linens and put new towels. The rest was untouched. Tissue paper was finished and they didn't change it. On our last day we decided to spend time at the pool, so I called around noon to request housekeeping to make up the room. Initially we planned to go directly to the mall, but had to change the baby. So we went to the room and surprise again it was 5:30pm and nobody came to clean the room. I called again and told them to send somebody to clean the room. Eventually they came and did it...same cleaning quality as the previous day. In our last morning, before check out, I noticed that there was no newspaper delivered (the previous 3 days we had it delivered...maybe because I am Plat). I called guest services and they said...it is only delivered to gold and plats. Are you? Yes, so please could you send somebody to deliver it (it was 6:55am). You can come to the front desk and grab one, if we have copies left (that was the GS rep answer). Finally, at check out the FD rep asked how was my stay...I summarized it and told her it was not good. She didn't care at all. Then I asked if I could contact the General Manager (Mr Mathew Grauso), she said that she doesn't know where he is and if I want to talk to somebody, I had to talk to the FD manager. So that is what the Sheraton Kona at Keauhou can offer you. Considering I am a lifetime platinum, I can't imagine what kind of service general members are entitled to. June 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has friendly staff. If your looking for a hotel with "aloha" spirit, this is a graet one. Friendly staff and great service! August 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding! We will return!! Outstanding stay. All staff went above and beyond to make sure we felt welcome. Everyone greeted us when we approached or just passed by. Views of ocean from the main pool, well, you just have to sit in one of the many lounge chairs and have a look for yourself. Breathtaking. Grounds very well kept. We had an oceanfront room, 4th floor. We enjoyed just sitting on our lanai and gazing out over the Pacific. The one small issue would be the bed size for a two-bedded room. Most of us are used to either a queen or king sized bed and to have to sleep in a double was a bit tough (we were told the hotel does not offer any other size for a two-bedded room) but the rest of experience was more than just beautiful. Be sure to go visit the volcano while you are on the Big Island. August 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not worth what you're Paying I've been staying at the Sheraton Keauhou, since it opened, several times per year. Pictures show flat/LCD TV's, most rooms do not have them. You need to pay extra for this in some upgraded rooms, most competitors include large LCD TV's as standard. Their burgers used to be about $10.00, now they charge almost $20, definitively not work it! But thank goodness they give you $5.00 if you skip daily maid service, which helps offset the cost of food. On the plus side, great pool and water slide for the kids, although hours of operation are limited. Great location on the ocean on lava cliffs, but no beach. Dinner buffet is very good on Friday nights and so is the Luau on Monday! Resort fee keeps increasing as due room rates and you get very little in return. If there was another Starwood property on the island, I'd be there! April 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfortable hotel in gorgeous location! We just returned from a wonderful vacation at the Sheraton Kona. Our room was large, clean, and comfortable. The pool was beautiful as were the grounds. We appreciate the efforts of the hotel to preserve the historical aspects of their location. The staff were so friendly and helpful. Daily activities were posted and numerous. The fitness room had super equipment. We were able to see both whales and dolphins from the property. We'd highly recommend a visit! April 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel is "Plat-friendly We enjoyed our stay and feel that the hotel appreciated and recognized our SPG Platinum status. Nice room upgrade. Staff were great. Manta Ray viewing platform a real plus. Pools were warm and large with a nice water slide. Good food at Ray's on the Bay, the Holua poolside restaurant, and the Kai breakfast buffet.. Beautiful grounds and quiet location. Much closer to the Volcano than Waikoloa resorts. No beach at the hotel but we do not require one. October 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Staff They say that a hotel is only good as the People that work there. the Staff at the Sheraton Kona resort are great. Very friendly, attentative, concerned with your satisfaction. Very helpful with everything we needed. August 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great stay Despite it's average rating on tripadvisor, we found this hotel to be a gem! The lobby is beautiful and the hotel open air. The pools are great for kids and adults- very pretty, overlooking the ocean. SPG recognition is high amongst all staff. The activities program is top notch- definitely take advantage of the island orientation meeting for lots of local tips and the free historical tours. We enjoyed this hotel and wished we stayed longer. November 16, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great wedding venue My niece had here wedding here and it was elegant and easy from beginning to end. The hotel staff took care of everything and made it very easy on the whole family involved. Beautiful ceremony overlooking the ocean bay with music and flowers everywhere. July 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible Customer Service Is it too much to ask that hotel employees speak to guests with a smile on their face? Granted, some of the employees I interacted with were very friendly and helpful but the handful that weren't made my stay awful. One staff person actually grunted at me at one point. I will never go back to this hotel again and quite frankly it gives the Starwood Brand a band reputation. February 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Facilty Beautiful hotel and grounds. Food is weak, suggest eating at nearby restaurants. Good idea to rent a car as most things require going off site and taxis are quite expensive. August 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Well refurbished but still need more work Lobby area is modern and luxurious. Our suite is deluxe but bathroom needs further modernisation. Fridge in bedroom instead of the pantry is strange. August 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Needs inprovement The Hotel is good in whole but they dont provide much attention for SPG Platinum members. I was not provided any special preferences which i had asked for such as special breakfast as i am vegan. Nothing was given complimentary even me being on my honeymoon and a SPG Platinum member. March 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location, great staff & great features! Sheraton Keauhou, Hawaii is amazing! The pool and water slide were so awesome! The water temp was great! The rooms were huge and loved the open wi-fi and the manta rays at night! Rays on the bay was so much fun and great food! Overall this hotel had incredible staff and we loved everything about this hotel and it's amenities. Vegan food at hotel and some nearby as well!!! May 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel We loved this hotel. Great room. Nice touch with the flower leis upon arrival. Quick check in and out. All staff were courteous, professional and friendly. We stayed for 2 nights, went to Hilo and it was raining so we came back to the Sheraton for another night. Pool, gym facilities, manta bar, pool restaurant, pool service, front desk all delivered outstanding service. December 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun Mother's Day From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed! Check in was quick and easy. Our room was clean, bright and well appointed. The Manta Ray on the bed was a special touch! We spent two afternoons at the pool and enjoyed every moment. The pool food and beverage service was excellent. We had a wonderful dinner at Ray's with an after dinner Manta Ray watch. We'll be back! May 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by One thing to think about changing For the most part, my family and I enjoyed staying at your hotel. The associates were very friendly and helpful. I did request connecting rooms due to the fact that my parents are in their 90's and they both need assistance. Your front desk associates stated that there were no connecting rooms and that we could have rooms next to each other. Upon entering the rooms, we found out, to our suprise, that they indeed were connecting rooms. The one concern I have is your shower control. In room 4648, the shower control was so complex for my 95 year old father and my 90 year old mother. It caused them much anguish and stress to figure out how to work the shower. The 2 different control knobs are very confusing and I would suggest installing something simple. Please take a look at that and I would like a response back. Other than that, we had a wonderful time. July 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by All that I expected and more. People were great. Location was great. Recognition for SPG platinum: upgraded room, free valet parking, free continental breakfast (which was very good). Hotel recommended great excursions. April 13, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Beautiful Location but there's an issue.... We have gone to this property for years and always enjoy it. The night Manta Ray viewing is amazing, the restaurant food is very good and the lack of a beach is acceptable because of the great pool. Unfortunately we will not be returning because over the years, the pool area has become more and more filled with "pool crashers" and our recent experience with our grandchildren is that the kids were taunted, bullied and "banned" from areas of the pool by the non-guests. We actually feel it shows nice community awareness to let local kids use the pool, but with limits, rules and supervision, which there seemed to be none! Even after sharing our issues with senior staff, in the following days there were numerous "crashers" climbing the rocks, jumping the bridge, throwing footballs across the pool; and it left us feeling that it was not a relaxing or safe environment for our grandchildren or for us. Disappointing because we really like the hotel. August 2, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by needs improvement I am a frequent traveler and a long time SPG member. Although the location of this hotel was in a good place, I would not stay here again unless they made improvements.. The hotel is run down and needs updates, especially the rooms. The resort fee is ridiculous especially if you are a SPG gold or above. It should not even be charged. The wifi worked only intermittently, if at all. The price of breakfast was overpriced. During our stay housekeeping left the door to our room open, and it remained open the entire day while we were gone from 6am to 7pm on a tour. Luckily nothing was taken. Only after a discussion did they offer that the resort fee be removed for the the day and a $50 hotel certificate. I felt they should have done more and I suggested that the resort fee be removed for our stay of 4 days. My feeling is that they should have done much more, and I shouldn't have had to bargain with them. I have stayed in a lot of hotels and I found my experience here disappointing. January 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel This hotel treats SPG platinum elite very well. August 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Experience would have liked to participate in more activities The hotel experience was great. The front desk staff corrected my King bed room for two doubles (which was the booking) without any issue by upgrading my room to a partial ocean view which was lovely. The pool is wonderful, especially if you rise early and beat the crowds. I only wish that we had spoken with the staff sooner to find out that the internet posting of events was not accurate (which is what we based our itinerary on) so that we could have participated in the lei making, hula and ukulele lessons. Rays on the bay at feeding time is a must do! It is spectacular! Great location with or without the kids. Quiet, peaceful and lots to do. The Farmers market on the hotel lawn is convenient. July 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This can be a 5 * hotel One of the most beautiful properties I have been to of all hotel chains. Have been coming here since it opened in 2004. The grounds are spectacular. The staff are just wonderful. Great location being away from the cityscape of a downtown hotel. The pool is wonderfully located. The sunsets are the best from the property. December 7, 2011
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 20 next>>