Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

  • 78-128 Ehukai Street
  • Kailua-Kona,
  • Hawaii
  • 96740
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 631 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Resort We'll be back Very nice resort! As a platinum, we were upgraded to a ocean view family suite prior to check-in. The hotel is older, but has been extensively remodeled in the last 5 years. The hotel had new, modern appearance. Immediately after check-in we went to see Samantha, the concierge, and booked a Manta Ray snorkel, golf and a helicopter ride. Sam was very friendly, knowledgeable and worked hard to book exactly the excursions we were looking for. We ate dinner at Ray's the first night. The food and service were excellent. They also had a live band and a dance floor. After eating we walked out to the viewing area to watch the Manta Rays. The only problem that we experienced during our stay was that our room was located directly above Ray's and my wife found it difficult to sleep. We reported this to the front desk the next morning and we were moved to a larger, Corner suite that had a patio that was larger than our first room. That's what I call great service. The resort has a huge pool with a 200' water slide, which we used on two days. This resort also does an excellent job of recognizing Platinum guests. At check-in were give platinum colored wrist bands to wear during our stay. We got 15% off in all the restaurants and at breakfast each morning they brought us out a special plate of pastries without asking. My favorite was the Long John that was topped with a strip of bacon, caramel, and chocolate! We will definitely stay at the Sheraton Kona the next time we visit the Big Island. September 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Spectacular Location. Very Comfortable Stay My wife and I spent a week here and we were very impressed with the hotel's location and the upkeep of the property. The views here are quite fantastic and excellent for a laid back visit to the Big Island. It is also quite close to the Kona area - 15 minute drive times each way. The service and staff here are excellent - very polite, friendly and our concierge was exceedingly helpful in getting us booked on a last minute helicopter tour. I would strongly advise that you Yelp yourself to other locations to eat/drink instead of dining at the resort. Big Island isn't exactly a foodie destination but you can certainly get better bang for your buck elsewhere. The breakfast cafe they have in the morning is a notable exception - we preferred that over the restaurant buffet that is served in the morning. The pool area is also quite fun - try the water slide! You're never too old for a water slide. My one tip - beware the Luau. This is not run by the hotel - although it is held on hotel property. Apparently the Luau here is one of the best on the Kona side of the island but it is unfortunately subject to weather. It rained during our Luau and they moved it to the convention center ballroom- which completely killed the atmosphere of the event. Make sure the evening is clear before you buy tickets (which are pretty pricey to begin with). Maybe it will be better the next time we go. Overall - I would absolutely wholeheartedly advise that you stay here if you're looking for an SPG hotel on the Kona side of Big Island. September 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location and staff pool bar slow dry food The location is great and views amazing. Rooms were spacious and provided an wonderful; quiet space. Only drawback was pool bar- bar fine but food service was very slow and when food came cold and dried out, two different occasions. September 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Experiance The room was great and the service was superb. The view from our room was incomparable. September 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great renovations at Keahou Sheraton! We loved our stay during the Kupuna Hula Festival. The staff was wonderful, very welcoming and helpful. And we LOVED the beautiful renovations that had been done since our last stay there... Beautiful. September 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Tired property even with latest renovations We arrived a day early for a weeklong bicycle tour that was to start in Kialua-Kona and go around the Big Island. The bicycle company advertised the property as a luxury accommodation, the Sheraton Kona is not. We had an early dinner at the poolside restaurant. The corn on the cob was not edible; the nachos had no discernible goat cheese (one of the highlighted ingredients) and the guacamole was a tasteless cream. Very family friendly, kids loved the water features. September 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded All Expectations I have traveled all around the world and this is by far one of my favorite Starwood properties. The views and location are unbelievable. The staff is outstanding - especially Rose at the pool restaurant. I have been to this hotel many times and have never been disappointed. The staff is wonderful and makes you feel at home at all times! I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be back! September 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very Disappointing Great location. Friendly Staff. Hotel needs a lot of work. It needs lots of maintenance. My room had ants and bugs, the patio door could only be opened using my entire strength. The drawers in the furniture were stuck partially open. It was one of the more disappointing Sheraton hotels I have stayed in over the last few years, especially considering that it is in a premium location on the Kona coast. September 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sheraton Kona Resort at Keauhou Bay Overall this hotel met my needs for business and pleasure while on Kona. It does not have a beach as the Kohala Coast resorts but has a great pool, spa, restaurant and Manta Ray viewing. September 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic seaside paradise Lovely large, clean room. Beautiful pool, very relaxing atmosphere. Very friendly, helpful staff. August 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Restaurants Although there were options available for breakfast, there was only one option available for dinner. Rays on The Bay was very noisy so we decided not to eat there. There are no other quieter eating facilities available at night. Felt this was a bit poor for a hotel of this standard. August 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fun activities for family with kids This hotel has a great pool with an awesome slide that kids and adults would enjoy. The beds are very comfortable but the room is dated and in need of renovation. The bathroom tiles are old and the carpet needs to be replaced. However, we had a great time there with the lei making class and the ukelele lessons and the hula dance lessons. The night time viewing of the manta rays is terrific and I would recommend this hotel for a family looking for both fun and relaxation. August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Understated quality We have had an enjoyable and memorable stay here at the Sheraton. The Manta Ray exposure and evening boating frenzy was an unexpected delight and surprise. The pool, spa, and resort atmosphere was comfortable and quiet. We enjoyed the food at Ray's on the Bay. Beautiful setting. I would not hesitate to recommend this place. Not pretentious just polished. You are within a short walk to two independent touring companies offering boating excursions. No need to drive and park! August 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has friendly staff. If your looking for a hotel with "aloha" spirit, this is a graet one. Friendly staff and great service! August 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Staff They say that a hotel is only good as the People that work there. the Staff at the Sheraton Kona resort are great. Very friendly, attentative, concerned with your satisfaction. Very helpful with everything we needed. August 19, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Tired hotel, terrible staff Our company chose this hotel for our annual National Convention. 1st impression was fantastic, check in was quick and lobby area was beautiful. Arriving at my room I quickly realized this was a resort that had seen better times. Room was clean but was unable to get cool. I had the thermostat down to 45 but was only able to make it slightly cooler. The bathroom was outdated with a low shower head. Good luck getting ANYONE on the phone. I called the front desk and it took 72 rings before they picked up. The elevator near my room was not working properly so we called from the house phone next to it- finally hung up after EIGHTY rings. Our welcome party was moved to a location chosen by the hotel and when it began to rain they had no back up plan. When our group ran from the rain to the nearest outside patio, our group was told the area was for "hotel guests only” as it was adjacent to their restaurant. When we finally relocated to an unused restaurant area, we were told all of our food stations were ruined by the rain so we no longer had food for our event. Our staff had to beg to get the kitchen to find something to serve us- only to be disappointed with a hot chicken pasta dish served cold. When we complained, they were indifferent to our needs. So many times throughout the event we were embarrassed that we chose this hotel for our event. Our entire sales organization looks forward to our annual event but this year we spent more time apologizing for our hotel selection instead of inspiring them to greater achievements. August 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Well refurbished but still need more work Lobby area is modern and luxurious. Our suite is deluxe but bathroom needs further modernisation. Fridge in bedroom instead of the pantry is strange. August 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Facilty Beautiful hotel and grounds. Food is weak, suggest eating at nearby restaurants. Good idea to rent a car as most things require going off site and taxis are quite expensive. August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel This hotel treats SPG platinum elite very well. August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff Made The Difference During the hurricane Iselle encounter, two of the staff had made our stay very comfortable. Matt G. who told us that this was the safest place to be at and his family is staying here at the hotel. The other person was the receiption staff who checked us in. She extented our stay for Friday knowning that the hurricane might be headed towards that evening and we would be in town since our plane departure is a red-eye flight at 11:00pm. her name is Kristie. For those two staff members my wife and I cannot say enough Thank you! And this will always be a memorable trip for us. You can be sure we will be back again and again! August 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is fabulous for a couple's getaway This hotel is beautiful. The hotel is walking distance to the shops and local nightlife. The view from our room was breath taking. The hotel well kept and rooms extremely clean. The restaurant's food was delicious. Staff was warm, friendly, and helpful. Excursions were accessible from the hotel. August 11, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by The hotel was ok The hotel staff was not responsive when called (e.g. called front desk due to ants in room & to get room service food menu and no action was taken). The female concierge was very friendly & helpful. August 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful Hawaii Beautiful location, beautiful pool. Great sunset views. Unfortunately we did not get to see any of the Mantas in the bay. We Had to leave early due to the hurricane. August 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Kona in August - pre Hurricane warning Room was fairly clean, had large spider web under front of dresser with black spider, dresser side was dirty like old food stains on it and trashcans inside dirty too. Overall experience was nice, pool, food, view, free shuttle to town/shopping. Humid may have been due to Hurricane on it's way August 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for relaxation It is quiet and clean and great views of the ocean, close to shopping, local attractions and Kona and easily accessible from the airport by car. Without a car has a free Trolly to access the nearby town, shopping and restaurants August 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Gorgeous location Pros: 1) Troy made our check in experience excellent-- welcoming and friendly, recognition of SPG status and effecient in helping us to obtain an upgraded room. 2) Our suite was nicely appointed and clean with 2 lanais and a LOVELY views of the bay and the mountain. Breathtaking! Cons: 1) On our 6th night, our 5 year old woke up in the middle of the night with severe pain in his ear and we needed to find a place that was open 24 hours. I called Guest Services and the Front Desk for 40 minutes (used the room phone and my cell) without a response. We were frantically searching the web for 24-hour places without success and our son kept crying. I don't know what happened but this dropped our experience from 5 stars to 4 stars. 2) early closing hours for the gorgeous (and fun) pool (6 p.m. for the slide and 7 p.m. for the pool) August 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sheraton Kona - Keauhou Bay Practically great place to be with family, even if there is lack of water access (beach). This is compensated by looking at mantas. One comment - if guest is on "green option" (saving money, environment etc.), please make sure coffee and water is replenished in room as promised vs. guest asking for this every single day. August 5, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good Locale Our family stayed in adjacent rooms which was convenient. The hotel has a great location, walking distance to the harbor for excursions, quiet location and well kept grounds. Dining at Rays was good and competitively priced for the area. The view is outstanding and be sure to check out the manta rays beginning around 9PM. So why only average? The hotel is a little tired and not everything worked in the room. The staff was hit and miss on courtesy, not what we normally see at SPG locales. Not enough to not recommend going - just not quite up to our SPG expectations which are very high. August 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by A little disappointed I looking forward to my stay at the Sheraton, the view was amazing. I was disappointed with the upkeep of the property. The pool area and grounds were very nice but age was showing. Many repairs that could be done to look nicer. Broken hand rails on stairways. Cracks in concrete fixed with different color paint that were very noticeable. Room issues- rust in bathtub, cracks and discoloration throughout room and deck. Would prefer 2 Queen beds, full size beds are too small for most these days. Slow service for breakfast, food was okay. August 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 The jewel of the Big Island With the SPG brand you are accustom to very high quality, outstanding customer service, and the every aspect of a great hotel / travel experience. The Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay goes above this “Call of Excellence” and into an even new level of greatness. Being a Platinum member and having traveled over for a good portion of 2014, I have to say this hotel has blown my expectations and truly impressed me in every possible way. From the moment we arrived, everything about this location was top notch. The executive suite was above outstanding and the hotel setting was truly built and positioned for superior relaxation and a small piece of “heaven on earth”. SPG staff has always won my heart at almost every stay, but the staff at this hotel went a step further. Not sure if it is the “Hawaii Nature” of people to be so relaxed, outgoing and friendly, but the staff at this hotel truly played a grand role in the definition of relaxation, tourism knowledge, and above great customer service! No matter if you are looking for a quite relaxing getaway, romantic dinner on the bay, island adventure that will be a memory to truly remember or family fun for all ages, this hotel and the City of Kailua – Kona is the place to be. My wife and I are more than glad to have spend seven beautiful days and nights on the Big Island and at (so far) my favorite Sheraton experience! The manager along with all the staff need a very big “pat on the back” for a job above well done! Thank you SPG! Faruk August 3, 2014
  • 2015-11-27 T08:00:21.545-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_631, tr_631
  • loc_en_US, sid_1469, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 22 next>>