Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

  • 78-128 Ehukai Street
  • Kailua-Kona,
  • Hawaii
  • 96740
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 571 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful outside The hotel is beautiful, very pretty surroundings. The one disappointing thing was the luau on Mon 12/24/12. It cost $75 (after discount for being a hotel guest), and was mediocre at best. December 26, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Growing Pains? Overall great location and amenities. Gold SPG status was not recognized at all. On my stay over labor day weekend the under staffing became painfully obvious on sunday when the pool bar "Sliders" was overwelmed. The barkeep did yoeman's work against an onslaught of orders. There was a 30-60 minute wait for orders. The crushing blow came sunday night when the "Rays on the bay" bar was closed for a private function. This forced me and 5 travelling companions to cab to Kona for drinks and dinner. Closing the night life venue at a resort with no other option but a dinner buffet was a horrible inconvenience. September 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent choice in Kona We stayed in 2 hotels in Kona and this was by far the best one. Lovely facilities, grounds and rooms. Seeing the Manta Rays from the viewing area was a highlight October 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unexpected Gem I was pleasantly surprised by the rooms and pools. Resort is south of Kona and you need a car to explore the island. Good value for the money. October 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Gorgeous location Pros: 1) Troy made our check in experience excellent-- welcoming and friendly, recognition of SPG status and effecient in helping us to obtain an upgraded room. 2) Our suite was nicely appointed and clean with 2 lanais and a LOVELY views of the bay and the mountain. Breathtaking! Cons: 1) On our 6th night, our 5 year old woke up in the middle of the night with severe pain in his ear and we needed to find a place that was open 24 hours. I called Guest Services and the Front Desk for 40 minutes (used the room phone and my cell) without a response. We were frantically searching the web for 24-hour places without success and our son kept crying. I don't know what happened but this dropped our experience from 5 stars to 4 stars. 2) early closing hours for the gorgeous (and fun) pool (6 p.m. for the slide and 7 p.m. for the pool) August 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value in Hawaii We stayed our last night on the Big Island at the Sheraton. Because the hotel doesn't have a beach (it is perched on fantastic lava rocks close to beaches) we did not stay there at the beginning. They make up for it with an extraordinary pool. The hotel is older and so the rooms are very large. The decor is current and very stylish. The spa is fantastic and a great value for the treatments, which you can have on a deck hearing the ocean! Rays on the Bay is a great bar and the seafood was prepared excellently. The staff was very accomodating as we had to extend our trip due to a tropical storm. August 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved Our Short Stay What a lovely place this is: the wide open lobby area sitting room is a great welcome to this place. The staff is so nice and welcoming: nothing is too much trouble. Next, you get the sounds of the might Pacific Ocean waves crashing on the rocks, which is a great spectacle to watch. Location is fine, with easy access to the airport, and a very short drive to Kona village and some great food options in a relaxed setting. Too bad there's nothing within walking distance otherwise it would really be perfect. It is also quite a drive to the Volcano National Park, although doable on a long day trip (about 2.5 hours each way). The grounds are very well maintained, and while the building itself is a vast 1970s uninspired bunker, the overall setting is relaxing. My only complaints would be directed at the pool area: too few umbrellas are available, so one doesn't have many options to escape the very harsh sun; food in the pool area was uninspiring, with limited options and overpriced, and finally, I was treated with suspicion because I didn't have a pool bracelet: I was never given one at check in, but am now assuming they have a problem of people sneaking in. Our room (we were upgraded to a suite, which consisted of 2 interconnected rooms, one of which was converted into a living room) was nice enough, although a little dated. Still, it was very good value, and I would not hesitate to stay here again on a future trip to the Big Island. June 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel has great features but..... Beautiful hotel with all kind of features and activities for its guests. Food and service at the Holua and Ainakai was top notch. Only fault with the service was... returning at 5 pm after being out and about the island all day and finding the room had not been cleaned and all the towels were still not replaced. After calling the front desk and being told towels , etc would be sent, I finally went to the pool area and signed out 3 beach towels to use. July 28, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing My stay was very disappointing. Room amenities were good (as I expected in Sheraton), but bath tub looked dirty. The main reason I stayed here was to watch MantaRay's, but due to high tides couldn't see any (not sheraton problem, but weather). What is disappointing is the Ray's at the Bay restaurant staff kept lying that there will be some one giving half hour speach on Manta Ray's. Many people kept waiting and no one showed up. I asked 3 times and they still kept saying there must be some one talking about it. I was shocked they didn't know exact plan that evening. January 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Such Potential for a Beautiful Hotel - Front Desk Service lacking There was no friendly welcome reception. I was treated as a number rather than a guest. Front Desk staff and Car Valet did not provide genuine Hawaiian Hospitality, did not address me or welcome me, nor recognize or care about SPG Membership. As a Platiinum member was given a room with a poor view; no upgrades was given. Pool and Restaurant staff provided exceptional service; Front Desk staff and Supervision can learn a lot from them. On the plus side - The hotel had just undergone a Lobby renovation that looks great and modern. The seaside location is spectacular. February 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sheraton Kona - Keauhou Bay Practically great place to be with family, even if there is lack of water access (beach). This is compensated by looking at mantas. One comment - if guest is on "green option" (saving money, environment etc.), please make sure coffee and water is replenished in room as promised vs. guest asking for this every single day. August 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The Staff Makes the Difference The hotel is not a new property, but the staff were amazing, attentive, and friendly. The property is certainly clean and well maintained just shows it age a little. The staff addressed me by name by the second day, and went out of their way to make me feel comfortable. September 29, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs improvement The meals was not to my satisfaction...the food was too much salt....very salty on our Hawaiian buffet night. Breakfast at the restaurant was full with birds flying around and eating out of a customer plate when he went to get his omelet. September 29, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by The only thing that will keep us coming back is the pool. My family and I have been so disappointed in the times we have stayed at this hotel. The customer service is not great. When I booked the room, I asked for a room by the pool and was told there were none. When I got there, there were at least 3 rooms that were empty by the pool. In fact, we were put in a room that couldn't be any further from the pool. The room we were transferred to needed major upgrades. Wireless didn't work there, and you are charged for it in the resort fee. Some staff were pleasant, but most were not. The only restaurant in the place, Rays on the Bay, didn't meet expectations either. They served us raw food, both of our meals. So there went $200 down the drain. I think I've complained enough, what a disappointment. March 31, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by under restoration.. while Sheraton is usually above standards, this particular hotel is not. Certain areas are under restoration, and sadly, the whole complex needs a facelift. The halls are dark and dreary. The elevators are a tad frightening. And the lighted walkways - lets just say the lights are on their last string. Our room was clean, however, it smelled as if the carpet had just been cleaned with pure chlorine - and we had that smell with us for two days. The nicest things I can say about our stay are 1. the staff was excellent and 2. the pool was wonderful January 30, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by One thing to think about changing For the most part, my family and I enjoyed staying at your hotel. The associates were very friendly and helpful. I did request connecting rooms due to the fact that my parents are in their 90's and they both need assistance. Your front desk associates stated that there were no connecting rooms and that we could have rooms next to each other. Upon entering the rooms, we found out, to our suprise, that they indeed were connecting rooms. The one concern I have is your shower control. In room 4648, the shower control was so complex for my 95 year old father and my 90 year old mother. It caused them much anguish and stress to figure out how to work the shower. The 2 different control knobs are very confusing and I would suggest installing something simple. Please take a look at that and I would like a response back. Other than that, we had a wonderful time. July 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fun activities for family with kids This hotel has a great pool with an awesome slide that kids and adults would enjoy. The beds are very comfortable but the room is dated and in need of renovation. The bathroom tiles are old and the carpet needs to be replaced. However, we had a great time there with the lei making class and the ukelele lessons and the hula dance lessons. The night time viewing of the manta rays is terrific and I would recommend this hotel for a family looking for both fun and relaxation. August 25, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Lack of customer service! On numerous occasions, the staff was less than accommodating! For the price, my expectation is to feel comfortable and important. There was very few thanks given and in particular, I was treated less than important because I attempted to eat at Rays on the Bay without a reservation. We arrived at opening and could not sit next to the bay, even though we were the only ones around. We eventually ate by the pool and made a trip back through afterwards to find the place still empty. Unacceptable in my view!!! June 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Magnificent facility From the front curbside assistance, to the prompt and efficient check in procedure, to the air conditioned comfort of our room and then the pool areas, the friendly staff, the ambience of the dining areas, everything was well done. We took advantage of the $5 daily dining credit for making up our room and not using new towels and that too was an easy thing for us to accomplish. The nightly live music in the Ray dining area was wonderful for two dancers such as we. We look forward to returning many times. February 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel and nice location. Quality of service needs to improve. Overall good experience. Nice location, comfortable room, nice pool and very friendly staff. The hotel does not have a beach, but the pool is very nice and with a car it is possible to reach nearby locations quite easily. The hotel was undergoing some renovation, but this did not create any issues with my stay (apart the impossibility to enjoy the manta bar since it was closed). Only complaint I have is that during the last 2 days the room service skipped our room. We tried to have someone sent to refresh the room when we were back around 7 pm, but no one was available. The customer care offered us to send some fresh towels; we agreed, but they never arrived. We were quite tired for the long day and we gave up, but this is something that should not happen in an hotel of this level. August 29, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by needs help Probably not fair since we had just come from the Sheraton Maui - probably the best SPG experience I've ever had. It was inevitable to make a comparison between the two. The hotel is nice and in a good location. The staff do their jobs but are efficient as opposed to helpful or friendly. As a Platinum member I had 3 experiences of getting charged for things I should have been entitled to because the staff didn't bother to look up my profile before responding to my request. The head desk guy put is in a loud room initially and it wasn't until we complained a couple times the next day that we were able to get moved to a suite. I really don't think he had any instinctive idea about what kind of room a couple without their kids would be looking for. Also fyi, no beaches for kids to swim at although the pool is great and you have to drive to get anywhere - there is nothing else near the hotel. Maybe less relevant for non SPG members, but we felt like we got nickeled and dimed here. Breakfast buffet was free but need to leave a tip on a grossly inflated bill that was zeroed out. Almost mandatory valet service which means $4-6 per day in tips. No club lounge for SPG members. At Maui we stayed on points and our bill was $0 with excellent free breakfast and apps at 5:30 so again maybe an unfair comparison, but our experience nontheless. July 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by dissapointing I came to this hotel for my wife's 40th b-day. we paid extra for an oceanview room. I even emailed a month prior explaining what we wanted. When we arrived at the hotel, we were placed in a room with an unobstructed view of the parking lot, with a tiny glimpse of the ocean. when i called to request a different room, I was told that there were no more rooms, and that "technically" I was in an oceanview room. really?, "technically"??? after 3 more phone calls, and a visit to the lobby the next day, a very helpful employee (Sallie) was able to get us moved. this really soured our experience, and furthermore, the internet in our new room did not work. it took 2 days to fix that (and multiple calls). a vacation should be about relaxation, but there were too many stressful issues with this visit February 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great wedding venue My niece had here wedding here and it was elegant and easy from beginning to end. The hotel staff took care of everything and made it very easy on the whole family involved. Beautiful ceremony overlooking the ocean bay with music and flowers everywhere. July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff Made The Difference During the hurricane Iselle encounter, two of the staff had made our stay very comfortable. Matt G. who told us that this was the safest place to be at and his family is staying here at the hotel. The other person was the receiption staff who checked us in. She extented our stay for Friday knowning that the hurricane might be headed towards that evening and we would be in town since our plane departure is a red-eye flight at 11:00pm. her name is Kristie. For those two staff members my wife and I cannot say enough Thank you! And this will always be a memorable trip for us. You can be sure we will be back again and again! August 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by A pleasant, affordable hotel for the area. Our room was in a very busy section of the hotel and the walls were pretty thin, so it was a bit noisy. Lots of kids at this hotel, so if you're not into a lot of screaming, pick another location. The room was decent. Tub and shower could use a remodel, but everything else was fine. The internet was SUPER slow, so don't plan on getting anything done online. Otherwise, the location and grounds are beautiful, the pool is awesome, and seeing the rays at night is an incredible experience. September 12, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Pool Bar needs improvement The pool bar closed was before the pool closed so you couldn't get a drink. Pool bar was out of Strawberries during our entire 6 day stay. Also out of other ingrediants to make smoothies. Our Pina colada's each day was made differently. It wasn't consistant. Servers were great though July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Paradise surrounds you. We had a wonderful stay and can not say enough about the warm feeling of Aloha felt from all of the staff and shop owners. We also enjoyed the massage for two on the oceanfront and it was so relaxing and done with high degree of care for our personal needs. The food was fantastic and I have a few new dishes to try in my own kitchen now. The Ahi Steak with Macadamia crust was to die for. Be sure to try their Spider Shrimp as it's the bomb. My plan is to return as soon as possible. October 25, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good, Some Opportunity We've stayed here a couple of times. Convenient to Kona and a nice setting without being overly big and cumbersome to get around. Decent main restaurant. You pay a resort fee here even when using points, waived at the other major resort we stayed at. Room had minor issues (leaking AC), but we dealt with it. July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Property -The Perfect Escape I was so excited to arrive on the Big Island. I have stayed at many properties and this one i at the Top of my list. It is great family fun and quiet and peaceful all in one. The pools are beautiful and the location is perfect. The room and decor was stunning it was a true Island experience!!!!!!! The staff at all outlet were so kind and gracious from the moment of arrival valet, bellman front office and the restaurants! Thank you for making my anniversary so memorable! October 15, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Tired property even with latest renovations We arrived a day early for a weeklong bicycle tour that was to start in Kialua-Kona and go around the Big Island. The bicycle company advertised the property as a luxury accommodation, the Sheraton Kona is not. We had an early dinner at the poolside restaurant. The corn on the cob was not edible; the nachos had no discernible goat cheese (one of the highlighted ingredients) and the guacamole was a tasteless cream. Very family friendly, kids loved the water features. September 15, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 20 next>>