Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

  • 78-128 Ehukai Street
  • Kailua-Kona,
  • Hawaii
  • 96740
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 576 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by This is hotel has decent size room I booked the ocean view facing the bay, which was beautiful. The beds were very small. The mattress sheets were very short. It keeps rolling up on me. The maid service were inconsistent - some days we are short of soaps, others coffee. But overall, our room was clean and always had the correct number of towels. The Concierges were mostly good - 1 may be less friendly. Guest service calls were picked up slowly. Front desk service was good. Valet was very friendly and so was the poolside service. We didn't eat at the hotel once - too expensive. Very disappointed the Golf course there was closed. July 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Like A Private Botanical Garden The hotel grounds are outstanding. We went for a morning walk along the foot path every day. It was like walking through a private botanical garden. Right on the ocean too, and exciting to watch the waves crash against the lava rocks. Internet and TV service was poor. Rays on the Bay service also poor, but good for drinks at the bar. Everything else was great - the gigantic pool, slides, food and beverage service, housekeeping. This is a nice, quiet place to stay. I highly recommend the Sheraton Kona. Also, try taking a drive up the coast towards town. The scenery is lovely and there are lots of shops and restaurants to choose from. I can't wait to go back next year! December 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolutely Perfect If you stay anywhere else you will be missing out. My husband and I stayed for a week for our 10 year anniversary. I had visions of an extremely luxurious vacation in mind! This resort exceeded all my dreams. They happily cater to your every want and need. Sunsets are so beautiful and the staff caters to make it a romantic time. No matter where we were we ran back to the resort for sunset and dinner! The first 2 days we never left the resort. I had a packed agenda of sightseeing which we had to make ourselves leave for on day 3. We compared other resorts once we were there and each time were happy with our choice. This place is amazing. Whatever you think of, they can do it!! October 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel stay We just returned from an excellent stay at this hotel. The grounds are beautiful, the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Walter at the pool, was so fun and friendly with the kids and always had a smile and hello. Even though the rooms are a little older (especially bathrooms), the rooms are well kept and very functional. The refrigerator made it very easy for us to keep snacks and fresh water around. The hotel is nicely located just out of the hustle and bustle of town and close to a good shopping center and nearby snorkeling. We were very pleased with our hotel choice and would highly recommend it. January 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by my credit card problem Actually I have a big problem these days as my credit card has been hold with an amount of more than USD4770.- by your hotel! Because of this, I have to transfer a lot more cash into my credit card in order to keep my credit activated. It has made a lot problems to me and my bank tells me that they still can not release this amount of holding and have to keep it for another week!!! I am still traveling these days and a lot hotels, shops, restaurants do not accept my credit card, this makes me very embarrassed and also very inconvenient. My bank tells me that all these problems is because of your hotel !!! I had a very good stay in your hotel, but this makes me really really sad! January 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEAUTIFUL RESORT & LOCATION First time to Kona. All staff most helpful and pleasant. Room very clean. Great location on Keauhou Bay and beautiful ocean views from our lanai. Gardens were lovely. Elderly parent did wish a park bench or two was strategically placed in garden, would have added to her enjoyment Only disappointment for me was once I got home to Canada. I discovered that whatever your internet provider did to hook my tablet up to receive internet access while a Sheraton Kona guest, disconnected me from my modem and wifi access when I returned to Canada. This caused me an addtl cost $41.14 to get my wifi reconnected. Something I wasn't anticipating. Overall, Sheraton Kona is a great place to visit. February 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cute Property - Customer Service Lacking The grounds are beautiful, the recent renovations are great. However, service was lacking. We understand that the property was at full capacity for the holiday season. Front desk staff were rather abrupt, generally unhelpful, and dismissive. Housekeeping was not as thorough as they could have been. One day, they took our dirty bath towels but didn't replace them. There was a dirty shower cap left hanging on the bathroom door and some hair left in the tub. One redeeming quality of this property is the atmosphere. The guests are happy, the grounds are well kept, and the common areas have nice decorations. If service was improved, this would probably be my favorite hotel on the island. December 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location and staff pool bar slow dry food The location is great and views amazing. Rooms were spacious and provided an wonderful; quiet space. Only drawback was pool bar- bar fine but food service was very slow and when food came cold and dried out, two different occasions. September 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Food and service We ate happy hour pupus at the pool. Sarah served us and was so nice and friendly. Te food was more than ample and very delicious. There was so much food that we saved our food in the fridge for the next day. When I asked the pool staff if the kitchen could heat up out left overs they were very nice about it. After not wanting to waste such delicious food I was really pleasantly surprised that the kitchen gave us a whole new serving of food rather than heat up our leftovers. Service went above and beyond. My children and I loved the pool and the game room. Th room was very nice and comfortable. April 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A quiet, older-style resort This is an older-style resort that has been modernized. It is smaller and less crowded than some of the big new resorts. I liked it because there are fewer people and it's more relaxing. There are few shops in the resort; it's clearly a resort and not a shopping center. We were there in mid-March and there were many families there. The kids took over the swimming pools, and there were lots of kids running up and down the halls. It's great for families on spring vacation, but if you're looking for quiet, you should avoid staying there in mid-March. There was remodeling construction when we were there, and some noise, but not to the point where it bothered us. Part of the hotel was closed off for the remodeling. The food facilities were limited. From 11 AM to 6 PM, the only restaurant that was open was the poolside cafe. The breakfast buffet in the main restaurant was okay but somewhat limited, and didn't change much from day to day. At times the line at the entrance resulted in a wait of 10 to 15 minutes to be seated. The resort is a bit isolated. The advantage of this is that it's in a quiet area away from traffic and crowds, but the disadvantage is that you need a car to go anywhere. It's a short drive to Kona, and there is a small shopping center about 2 miles away. There is no beach at the resort, but watching waves crash against the lava rocks is fun. If you want a smaller, quiet resort, go to the Sheraton. If you want a huge complex with dozens of shops and restaurants and lots of people, go to one of the big new resorts. March 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Experience is in the details Some of my feedback included/ < Room coffee, weak quality given the rooms (very comfortable ). Btw does it really cost that much to have a real coffee cup vs paper < Pool bar/ Whats up with closing the bar at 5:15pm when you have paying guest there and would be staying longer and spending more. Then shuffling everyone to a secondary bar not prepared to serve adequately. < The staff is competent and friendly, yet from time to time they seem unattentive and caught up in maintenance task vs. serving a obvious waiting client. < Parking/ self parking would be fine if the staff weren't taking up the closest spots not in the valet pool ? < Overall a good place, friendly staff and a good valule March 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Much Better Than Last Year! Finally this hotel is improving,The room & furnishings have been / are being upgraded. Finally got rid of the old CRT Televisions, now LCD flat screens! Service has always been very good, Location is great with a trolley service to take you into town is included with the resort fee. Lunch by the pool is very goo but overpriced, get a rate that includes breakfast! Great pool, resort is located south of Kona on the water's edge, but no beach within walking distance. I love the black lava out cropings and the golf course next door. Food & Beverage improving for sure, Saturday night buffet is the best! July 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Resort We'll be back Very nice resort! As a platinum, we were upgraded to a ocean view family suite prior to check-in. The hotel is older, but has been extensively remodeled in the last 5 years. The hotel had new, modern appearance. Immediately after check-in we went to see Samantha, the concierge, and booked a Manta Ray snorkel, golf and a helicopter ride. Sam was very friendly, knowledgeable and worked hard to book exactly the excursions we were looking for. We ate dinner at Ray's the first night. The food and service were excellent. They also had a live band and a dance floor. After eating we walked out to the viewing area to watch the Manta Rays. The only problem that we experienced during our stay was that our room was located directly above Ray's and my wife found it difficult to sleep. We reported this to the front desk the next morning and we were moved to a larger, Corner suite that had a patio that was larger than our first room. That's what I call great service. The resort has a huge pool with a 200' water slide, which we used on two days. This resort also does an excellent job of recognizing Platinum guests. At check-in were give platinum colored wrist bands to wear during our stay. We got 15% off in all the restaurants and at breakfast each morning they brought us out a special plate of pastries without asking. My favorite was the Long John that was topped with a strip of bacon, caramel, and chocolate! We will definitely stay at the Sheraton Kona the next time we visit the Big Island. September 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Experiance The room was great and the service was superb. The view from our room was incomparable. September 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Keep Coming Back We have spent the last three years celebrating the holidays at this hotel with family. The front end staff (and manager) have made every effort to make sure that our requests are met. It is the staff at this hotel as well as the location that keeps us coming back. We are given a warm welcome and great service in the restaurants and by the pool. Special requests are remembered from the year before - peanut butter and honey, who drinks tea/coffee - the same staff have been there all three years. We have met a special lady who cleans our rooms 5 out of the 7 days during the two week period and she made a point of learning our names - our rooms are always very clean when she is on duty. Some of us like to take the tram into Kona and back while the golfers like the idea of having a golf course that they love to play close to the hotel. The pool is where we spend a lot of our time with lots of space to spread out. January 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice resort - beautiful setting and lots to see and do! Overall a good experience. The room we had our first day was in an older section of the resort and smelled really musty and I didn't want to take a shower - the bathtub drain plug was actually rusty and a bit of a mold problem as well. However, on our return trip we stayed another night and an upgraded room was much nicer and I actually took a shower then. The amenities there are great and it is very child friendly. The shuttle service to town is convenient and the new restaurant "Rays on the Bay" was terrific! The waitstaff was wonderful and it was a great dining experience all around. September 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Location is Great This is an excellent hotel for people who like to be close to all the water activities. The Manta Rays are awesome to watch, sunsets are amazing from the hotel. I would stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat. My wife & I really thought it is a value for the money, close to everything, Kona just 10 minutes away, centrally located to all the amenities that Hawaii has to offer. The hotel exceeded our expectations, the staff were very pleasant, and housekeeping did a excellent job. Thank you for a very nice 12 night stay. Can't wait to return. July 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Understated quality We have had an enjoyable and memorable stay here at the Sheraton. The Manta Ray exposure and evening boating frenzy was an unexpected delight and surprise. The pool, spa, and resort atmosphere was comfortable and quiet. We enjoyed the food at Ray's on the Bay. Beautiful setting. I would not hesitate to recommend this place. Not pretentious just polished. You are within a short walk to two independent touring companies offering boating excursions. No need to drive and park! August 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great renovations at Keahou Sheraton! We loved our stay during the Kupuna Hula Festival. The staff was wonderful, very welcoming and helpful. And we LOVED the beautiful renovations that had been done since our last stay there... Beautiful. September 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sheraton Kona This hotel has spectacular views. As soon as you walk in, it's absolutely breath taking. The staff is friendly and the consierge is very helpful in planning out your activities. He gives tons of information and advice. The pool area is average and has a water slide. The facility is in the older side but is well maintained. There are 3 restaurants. One is for breakfast, lunch by the pool, and dinner at Rays by the Bay. Dinner would be the best in regards to the quality of the food. I would rate it as an 8/10. Service is excellent too. Ambiance is amazing. You can see people swimming with the manta rays at night. Rooms are spacious. Walls are very thin though. You can hear people out in the hallway easily. May 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to stay We chose this property because we wanted to be close to downtown Kona and to the Manta Rays. Beautiful property, clean, perfectly manicured lawns, fun swimming pool with slide & waterfall, even a little shallow pool area with sand. Restaurants had great food & drinks. Best of all were the wonderful hotel staff that totally made us feel so welcome. I loved that we were able to watch the Manta Rays swim while having drinks at the bar. Overall I would give this property 41/2 stars. I'm only taking 1/2 star off because our bathroom shower stopped draining and the shower water pressure was super light. Hotel maintenance did fix the drain after we had complained. We would definitely will comeback to this property. October 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by 3 Nights; March 30, 2014 Cleanliness & Odors: No odors or scents detected; No cleanliness issues; Service & Staff: Helpful when asked, but aloof; The cleaning staff were the most friendly; Sleep Quality & Beddings: Slept good; Bedding was clean; Area Location: This is a quiet resort with minimal activity; For this reason we wish we could have stayed longer; We could really relax; Remote from shopping centers and downtown Kona, but there is a trolley; Rooms- Location and Noise: Sixth floor, East side, partial ocean view; Intermittent A/C fan, not obnoxious; Breakfast Quality/Quantity: Sufficient; April 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel We had a great time at this hotel. The rooms were beautifully appointed and our balconies were wonderful places to sit and relax. The morning breakfast buffet in the restaurant (we had complimentary passes) was excellent and the omelette makers did a fantastic job of making omelettes. The food was excellent. Wish we could say the same for Ray's on the Bay and for room service. Both disappointed us tremedously in quality of food, although my husband did like his (ridiculously overpriced) steak from Ray's on the Bay. Hotel front desk and valet staff provided excellent service. January 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Horrible front desk staff-- great landscape/rooms Great hotel-- marred by the horrible front desk staff and valet team-- no courtesy with any of them.. No greetings, no thank you's, no good bye -- not accommodating at all. All we asked for was a 12 checkout instead of the standard 11am... Our flt was not till 10pm to the mainland -- check in is 3pm , and they still wouldn't do this.. Other than John at the front desk... Everyone else at the front worked like a production line.. Just to get ppl in and out -- no common courtesy or greetings-- to add to it the big Hawaiian guy who works valet was an absolute jerk to us. March 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fabulous stay My husband and I had a short stay at this property and cannot say enough about the location and the wonderful staff. The hotel is under renovation so we were very thankful to be upgraded to an already renovated ocean front suite, a recognition of my ongoing platinum status. The room was wonderful and the views right over the ocean. We love the Manta Bar, a great place to relax, eat, drink and enjoy the ocean views. The employees of the hotel went above and beyond to be helpful, everyone we met had a smile on their face. We strongly recommend a stay at this property. \ February 8, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poorly run Not organized, staff not trained, you would think hotel just opened and they were working out the kinks except the hotel is run down and a poor example of a budget hotel let alone a Sheraton Avoid if at all possible December 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Inconsistent service standard Positive: - location - fine service at restaurants - clean room - upgrade for platinum members - tropical flowers - pool Negative: - broken in-room internet modem which I had to fix by myself after a day since hotel management never followed up - front desk manager Ms. N didn't follow up on matters as agreed - front desk manager Ms. N could do a better job at listening to guest's explanation - green choice award never posted despite the submission of the card upon check-out Overall, nice hotel with good staff but under poor management staff. Could've been better. May 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Poor room service I had complained to the front desk in one morning my room have strong Wifi signal but never get connect, easily get connection when I walk out my room or in the Link. In the afternoon we received a phone message told me whole Hawaii was facing a weak/slow internet signal problem, he believe the problem will be solved within a day. OH no, that's not my problem, front desk promised to send someone to my room to have a check or restart my router, surely nobody visit my room to have a check. I found the router out and restart by myself, problem solved with a minute!! April 1, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Good money wasted We were very excited about spoiling ourselves by spending the last of our 16 day hawaiian vacation at a nice hotel. This place was 4 times the price of our average place we stayed (5 places on the BI) and by far the worst money spent. I've never had so many things not work, or not go well while settling into a room--which was hard to get to as it was because of poor directions from an indifferent employee. When I brought this all up to the manager after checking in he did not do anything to make it any better. I was disappointed that at the premium price we were paying we were still extremely nickel and dimed. Within 15 min of checking into our room i was already looking for a new place to say, i regret not taking action on that. February 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Restaurants Although there were options available for breakfast, there was only one option available for dinner. Rays on The Bay was very noisy so we decided not to eat there. There are no other quieter eating facilities available at night. Felt this was a bit poor for a hotel of this standard. August 31, 2014
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 20 next>>