Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

  • 78-128 Ehukai Street
  • Kailua-Kona,
  • Hawaii
  • 96740
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 631 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by What Hotels Consider Renovation As is often the case, hotels talk about renovation and they have a different idea than consumers such as myself. This is an older property that is showing its age. The lobby is new and beautiful (I was in the lobby for about 10 minutes during the week - why do hotels care about the lobby so much?). The room had new paint, carpet, nice bed - clean and comfortable...what was not so great? Old plumbing fixtures with built up junk on the shower head, poorly maintained common areas, and a very small and inattentive staff - happy to quote policy, not too interested in solving problems to improve experience. I will admit, I don't stay at Sheraton properties often - mostly Westin, Marriott, and Hilton - maybe this is normal for a Sheraton. The bar and restaurant closed really early. The breakfast buffet was adequate - passable but not great. The breakfast staff was very nice. The pool deck area did not seem well staffed or maintained. the landscape lighting out front by the parking lot not only didn't work, my wife scraped her leg on one that had fallen over. It is on a beautiful section of real estate, but that is really the only thing worth considering. I would stay there again only if was the least expensive option - and even then it would have to be a really good deal. This is one of those places where you wonder what is the real definition of resort. To keep it in perspective, I spend 70-100 nights a year in hotels and I have never taken time to write a review. If you are a fan of the show Hotel Impossible, my wife and I joked that Anthony would have had a thing or two to say about the property. Caveat Emptor. March 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel The only complaint we had was that housekeeping did not clean our room for two days straight. March 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful stay The resort is beautiful and has amazing ocean and sunset views. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating. We had a wonderful stay at your resort. March 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Refresher in Customer Relations for Front Counter Staff Upon late evening check in, the clerk provided us with only a one-sided map of the facility to help us find our room. There was no information provided on check in or in the room about the facilities, amenities available, dining or the surrounding attractions. On day 3 when I noticed some guests with Sheraton-logo'd publications, I mentioned my concern to another front office clerk. Rather than listen carefully and offer help, I was told that I should have "just called down and asked". I pointed out that because I was a unaware of what was available, I didn't know how to form the inquiry. Response: I was given the same map as on night #1 but this time it was two-sided. Gr-r-r-r-rr. The third situation that must be mentioned was when one young lad was very flippant and sarcastic when servicing a pickup request for me. Whew! Three strikes means to me more training is needed. I loved your hotel and the staff, all in all were great but, there is certainly room for improvement. I hope you will accept this as constructive criticism with a view to improving customer service and satisfaction. March 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A beautiful romantic resort A beautiful romantic resort close to special water activities, relaxation and the aloha spirit. Very friendly staff, excellent management. Newell took prompt care of us. Loved the yoga classes by Hoodie outside looking over the crystal clear bay. Rays on the Bay was awesome. Rooms are beautiful, spacious and modern. My only concern is, when am I coming back?!!! March 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel Sheraton Kona has beautiful grounds. The hotel staff is top notch. Rays restaurant in the hotel has a fabulous menu featuring local fish and produce. March 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great place; great views; needs better food service Overall we loved the place; however, the restaurant options need to be improved. One night, Ray's (the only option) closed due to the surf (really?) and one night it closed early for no real reason at all. This is a resort -- and by early, I mean 9:00. Place more options and more hours. We were not going to pay $24 for a room service hamburger so headed to town. March 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Heavenly If your looking for somewhere to relax... Here it is...Me and the girls enjoyed our days doing what we love best "SHOPPING", and at night it was so nice to just have cocktails and lounge by your beautiful POOL. March 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Experience is in the details Some of my feedback included/ < Room coffee, weak quality given the rooms (very comfortable ). Btw does it really cost that much to have a real coffee cup vs paper < Pool bar/ Whats up with closing the bar at 5:15pm when you have paying guest there and would be staying longer and spending more. Then shuffling everyone to a secondary bar not prepared to serve adequately. < The staff is competent and friendly, yet from time to time they seem unattentive and caught up in maintenance task vs. serving a obvious waiting client. < Parking/ self parking would be fine if the staff weren't taking up the closest spots not in the valet pool ? < Overall a good place, friendly staff and a good valule March 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lacks choice of restaurants The clerk at check-in, Christie, was simply outstanding. My profile had a preference for a king size bed but this did not get through when using Starwood points. Christie went the extra mile to ensure a king size bed was made available to me. Unfortunately, it has become more difficult to get what you want when using Starwood points. It is a long way from the Westin experience I enjoyed back 20 years ago when I first became a Westin Preferred Guest. Gerry duffy February 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Promises not kept My visit began with the information that the room I had confirmed over a year previously was not available. Although accomodations were made, this was a major disappointment. This was in contrast with the wonderful sincerity and aloha of the cultural staff (especially Nani and Grayden), the great location and the historic setting. February 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by new to the big island what a difference another island is, we normally go to Maui, but added the Big Island to out trip. We enjoyed our stay. The snorkeling was VERY good at Kahluu Beach Park about a mile from our hotel. Enjoyed it very much, February 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by ms. good excellence location and stylist interior design made us fully feeling of vacation hawaii . relax and beauty.comfort and warm all over the resort. we are coming back next time !!!!!! February 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Only 2 Days but FABULOUS! As part of a 3 Week vacation we only had a couple of nights to fill in to complete our travel plans. We chose the Sheraton Kona and boy are we glad we did! Wonderful room, great view, amazing food and great service! Thanks Sheraton Kona. We'll be back (for longer next time!) February 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not for couple 40 and under The hotel it self was nice. Great views from room. They kept the room clean. The only problem my husband and I had was that everything closed at 10pm its a resort and we couldn't get anything to eat after 10pm. The dinning options were limited. So be ready to use the shuttle/rental car to seek other option over priced at the resort. If your looking for entertaiment after hours not the hotel for that. The resort was for older crowd. Also there is no good sand beaches in the area. February 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by We were treated very well We had a great stay at Sheraton Keahou Kona. Our oceanfront room had a beautiful view toward the north coastline. The room was maintained very well by housekeeping. All staff we encountered were courteous and helpful, especially the front desk people. Normally, we do not dine in hotel facilities, but fortunately on our getaway evening we dined at Ray's. It was a wonderful experience. February 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Older hotel The hotel is somewhat older though the grounds are immaculate and they were painting the outside during our stay. The rooms are large and well maintained although the bathroom needed work (toilet looked industrial grade). The restaurant and bar closed way too early (10 pm) and there are no other restaurants close by to get a late night snack. February 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by customer service We were attending a large group function at this hotel. The staff and management were ill prepared for the size of the group. Service was lacking complete with an "I don't care attitude" from the staff. Front desk was not helpful when trying to upgrade rooms when we were going to stay on an extra week after the function. But we left to go to another resort. SPG rewards has no meaning at this Sheraton unless you are at the highest level. Housekeeping was fabulous and met all of our needs. Rooms need more improvements, very old hotel. February 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Warm and Cozy Exquisite accommodations and property. February 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Jon The sink basin backed up when water was run into it. The shower diverter did not fully activate the shower head so water was still coming out of the tub faucet. As with the sink, the water would not drain out of the tub in an efficient manner so by the end of my shower I was standing in 8-10 inches of water. TIle in and around the shower needed cleaning. I explained this to the front desk and they neglected to offer any compensation or remedy. February 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Changed to the negative We have stayed here at least 6 times, always for a couple of weeks and enjoyed our stays enormously.Always got special treatment and generous upgrades. Being Platinum members we are used to and expect a certain treatment around the world. Not here anymore. We got a room that we paid for, no upgrade in sight because the many groups they had - I was told - and because we stayed for such a long time. I should, however, come by the front desk daily or call to find out about an upgrade. Good service would be to call me, wouldn't it? At check-in I've been asked what I preferred, the points or continental breakfast. I decided for breakfast but was given a coupon only on special request. No personalized welcome letter, no preparations for our arrival. We understand that big groups are better for the revenue of the hotel than individual guests and that it must be great to have the guests only for a couple of nights. Well, we will change our travel plans in the future, there are Sheraton hotels that are still caring and honor our status. February 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is in a beautiful location The location is fantastic. However, the rooms need upgrading, as do the facilities. Most pool chairs were ripped and quite uncomfortable. The elevators worked sporadically and we were trapped in the elevator going to our room. The staff recognition of starwood preferred guests, was exceptionally good. February 5, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by IT needs improvement During my stay I was unable to send out emails or use Skype in my room. Nothing worked when I arrived but incoming mail and Skype were restored after a visit from the technician, but not outgoing. I had to sit in the public foyer to do these things, an irritating lack of privacy. Two phone calls to the service provider failed to fix the problem. They told me it was a problem with my computer but since it worked in the foyer, this is incorrect and just an attempt to avoid solving the problem. The green theme in which a voucher is given for not having the room cleaned is an excellent idea. I only had the room cleaned once in the week I stayed. The lack of dining facilities is a bad negative. The bar is much too noisy for dining and room service is not really a desirable option when on vacation. January 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is exceptional! Our stay was heavenly! The staff was so attentive! The hotel landscape is lush and the sea view from our room was amazing! We loved morning yoga facing the ocean, hula lessons, walking the pathway along the shore line, resting by the delightful pool and attending the little church nestled on the garden. Great weather, great food....Our vacation was perfect! January 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stay-cation As a hometown resident who grew up here and played,dived & fished in Keauhou this was my first stay at this hotel since seeing it come up in the late '60's. Great room, view and a peaceful, relaxing weekday getaway. January 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Stay Used points to cover hotel night and was upgraded to a fantastic ocean front view because I have gold status and rooms were available. Staff was fantastic and made us feel special even though I am only gold status. The hotel is a little old but it has beautiful views, great amenities, and was very clean. I have no complaints. Only stayed one night but I would definately like to come back. Ray's on the Bay for drinks and sunset was fantastic! January 23, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by awful service Staff was not cordial, the restaurant/ bar facilities were not adequate to meet the hotel capacity needs (one bar/restaurant open in the evening when the hotel was full and held a conference January 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by needs improvement I am a frequent traveler and a long time SPG member. Although the location of this hotel was in a good place, I would not stay here again unless they made improvements.. The hotel is run down and needs updates, especially the rooms. The resort fee is ridiculous especially if you are a SPG gold or above. It should not even be charged. The wifi worked only intermittently, if at all. The price of breakfast was overpriced. During our stay housekeeping left the door to our room open, and it remained open the entire day while we were gone from 6am to 7pm on a tour. Luckily nothing was taken. Only after a discussion did they offer that the resort fee be removed for the the day and a $50 hotel certificate. I felt they should have done more and I suggested that the resort fee be removed for our stay of 4 days. My feeling is that they should have done much more, and I shouldn't have had to bargain with them. I have stayed in a lot of hotels and I found my experience here disappointing. January 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing My stay was very disappointing. Room amenities were good (as I expected in Sheraton), but bath tub looked dirty. The main reason I stayed here was to watch MantaRay's, but due to high tides couldn't see any (not sheraton problem, but weather). What is disappointing is the Ray's at the Bay restaurant staff kept lying that there will be some one giving half hour speach on Manta Ray's. Many people kept waiting and no one showed up. I asked 3 times and they still kept saying there must be some one talking about it. I was shocked they didn't know exact plan that evening. January 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A wonderful place for R&R We chose to celebrate our 30th Wedding Anniversary here and were not disappointed! The staff members were friendly and so accommodating! The property itself, views and amenities were fantastic. We spent a lot of time at the pool (which has a fun pool slide and unending views), enjoyed all the restaurants (great food) and celebrated our special event at Rays on the Bay with a fun early sunset dinner. Great memories! Can't wait to go back some day. January 16, 2014
  • 2015-11-24 T06:56:18.707-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-8, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_631, tr_631
  • loc_en_US, sid_1469, prod, sort_default
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 22 next>>