Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

  • 78-128 Ehukai Street
  • Kailua-Kona,
  • Hawaii
  • 96740
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 540 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice resort - beautiful setting and lots to see and do! Overall a good experience. The room we had our first day was in an older section of the resort and smelled really musty and I didn't want to take a shower - the bathtub drain plug was actually rusty and a bit of a mold problem as well. However, on our return trip we stayed another night and an upgraded room was much nicer and I actually took a shower then. The amenities there are great and it is very child friendly. The shuttle service to town is convenient and the new restaurant "Rays on the Bay" was terrific! The waitstaff was wonderful and it was a great dining experience all around. September 18, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sheraton Kona This hotel has spectacular views. As soon as you walk in, it's absolutely breath taking. The staff is friendly and the consierge is very helpful in planning out your activities. He gives tons of information and advice. The pool area is average and has a water slide. The facility is in the older side but is well maintained. There are 3 restaurants. One is for breakfast, lunch by the pool, and dinner at Rays by the Bay. Dinner would be the best in regards to the quality of the food. I would rate it as an 8/10. Service is excellent too. Ambiance is amazing. You can see people swimming with the manta rays at night. Rooms are spacious. Walls are very thin though. You can hear people out in the hallway easily. May 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great locale, scenery, breakfast buffet Chaperoned our school halau - four girls - and the surrounding "atmosphere" lent to a leisurely stay. The front staff was very helpful, once we "warmed up" to them, and the staff at the buffet breakfast was exceptional. Our stay was during a festival of some kind - avacado, I think - and parking was at a premium, however, your "man at the gate" directed guest staying at the hotel to guest parking while those attending the festival were asked to park further away. That was very much appreciated. April 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to stay We chose this property because we wanted to be close to downtown Kona and to the Manta Rays. Beautiful property, clean, perfectly manicured lawns, fun swimming pool with slide & waterfall, even a little shallow pool area with sand. Restaurants had great food & drinks. Best of all were the wonderful hotel staff that totally made us feel so welcome. I loved that we were able to watch the Manta Rays swim while having drinks at the bar. Overall I would give this property 41/2 stars. I'm only taking 1/2 star off because our bathroom shower stopped draining and the shower water pressure was super light. Hotel maintenance did fix the drain after we had complained. We would definitely will comeback to this property. October 27, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Awful room service The grounds of the hotel were beautiful and the pool a delight! However, I couldn't believe that you could not order of pot of hot coffee to the room. And the food ordered comes in paper bags? Really discredits the hotel... May 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel We had a great time at this hotel. The rooms were beautifully appointed and our balconies were wonderful places to sit and relax. The morning breakfast buffet in the restaurant (we had complimentary passes) was excellent and the omelette makers did a fantastic job of making omelettes. The food was excellent. Wish we could say the same for Ray's on the Bay and for room service. Both disappointed us tremedously in quality of food, although my husband did like his (ridiculously overpriced) steak from Ray's on the Bay. Hotel front desk and valet staff provided excellent service. January 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by SWVADB We stayed here for 4 days and really enjoyed it. The pool and grounds are lovely, we found the staff to be friendly and responsive, and on an upper floor toward the end of one of the buildings, it was also very quiet. The room was nice and big and well-appointed. Bathroom cleanliness could have been a little better (soap remnants on the shelf in the shower, and a few too many stray hairs from either the previous occupant or whoever cleaned it). On the negative side, the $31/day resort fee is a little outrageous for how little you get for it. Also, the hotel needs more self-parking spaces. It's annoying enough that the lot can be a hike to get to, but it was always close to full while we were there. Meanwhile, the equally large, if not larger, valet lot was never even half full. What does this tell you -- you need more self-parking, as few people seem willing to spring for it as an added expense on top of the already high resort fee. Other than that, it's a quite fine hotel I would go back to. It's in a good location, away from the busy-ness of Kailua-Kona but minutes from it, and with convenient access to the main roads. May 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poorly run Not organized, staff not trained, you would think hotel just opened and they were working out the kinks except the hotel is run down and a poor example of a budget hotel let alone a Sheraton Avoid if at all possible December 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Horrible front desk staff-- great landscape/rooms Great hotel-- marred by the horrible front desk staff and valet team-- no courtesy with any of them.. No greetings, no thank you's, no good bye -- not accommodating at all. All we asked for was a 12 checkout instead of the standard 11am... Our flt was not till 10pm to the mainland -- check in is 3pm , and they still wouldn't do this.. Other than John at the front desk... Everyone else at the front worked like a production line.. Just to get ppl in and out -- no common courtesy or greetings-- to add to it the big Hawaiian guy who works valet was an absolute jerk to us. March 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fabulous stay My husband and I had a short stay at this property and cannot say enough about the location and the wonderful staff. The hotel is under renovation so we were very thankful to be upgraded to an already renovated ocean front suite, a recognition of my ongoing platinum status. The room was wonderful and the views right over the ocean. We love the Manta Bar, a great place to relax, eat, drink and enjoy the ocean views. The employees of the hotel went above and beyond to be helpful, everyone we met had a smile on their face. We strongly recommend a stay at this property. \ February 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by It was a wonderful stay I was so impressed with the staff of the hotel from the valet to the desk to restaurant and conference room. Your hotel is beautiful and I recommend it to everyone. May 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Inconsistent service standard Positive: - location - fine service at restaurants - clean room - upgrade for platinum members - tropical flowers - pool Negative: - broken in-room internet modem which I had to fix by myself after a day since hotel management never followed up - front desk manager Ms. N didn't follow up on matters as agreed - front desk manager Ms. N could do a better job at listening to guest's explanation - green choice award never posted despite the submission of the card upon check-out Overall, nice hotel with good staff but under poor management staff. Could've been better. May 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Poor room service I had complained to the front desk in one morning my room have strong Wifi signal but never get connect, easily get connection when I walk out my room or in the Link. In the afternoon we received a phone message told me whole Hawaii was facing a weak/slow internet signal problem, he believe the problem will be solved within a day. OH no, that's not my problem, front desk promised to send someone to my room to have a check or restart my router, surely nobody visit my room to have a check. I found the router out and restart by myself, problem solved with a minute!! April 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly paradise From our pull up to the curb for check in to our check out, we experienced nothing less than the best service everywhere on the property. Staff greeted us with smiles and offers for assistance on a regular basis. Though we stayed only two days, we felt at home from the first moment to the last. When we return to Kona, we will plan our stay so we have more time at this Sheraton. May 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel has convenienes The hotel has a spa, dining, excellent pool side service, stores..... May 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pool, Fitness Center and Location Sheraton Kona ia a beautiful hotel with an excellent location in the Keauhou Beach area. We enjoyed the pool and hotel facilities immensely. There is no beach but a wonderful pool with slide and an ocean view that my 11 year old would not leave very easily each day. The staff in every area of the hotel were top notch, especially at Anikai (all of the staff rocks especially Emerald!) and room service staff (Ben!). Our only disappointment was lack of food options after 5:30 pm. Ray's on the Bay is a lovely spot but too expensive and menu not to our taste. This hotel needs a quick serve economical option after 5:30 pm for families on the go who just want to grab a quick bite at the end of a day. Also would recommend some updates to the older fixtures in the rooms (light switches, toilet, etc.). We would DEFINITELY consider staying again if the food service options improve for afternoon/evening. April 29, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Good money wasted We were very excited about spoiling ourselves by spending the last of our 16 day hawaiian vacation at a nice hotel. This place was 4 times the price of our average place we stayed (5 places on the BI) and by far the worst money spent. I've never had so many things not work, or not go well while settling into a room--which was hard to get to as it was because of poor directions from an indifferent employee. When I brought this all up to the manager after checking in he did not do anything to make it any better. I was disappointed that at the premium price we were paying we were still extremely nickel and dimed. Within 15 min of checking into our room i was already looking for a new place to say, i regret not taking action on that. February 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is beautiful with wonderful features. Upon arriving, the beauty of the hotel and well-maintained grounds impressed my husband and I. The meandering pool looked inviting, and the waterfall feature added to the luxuriousness of the surroundings. The staff was friendly and most accommodating, and the food at the banquet and Ainakai restaurant were delicious. May 6, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by customer service We were attending a large group function at this hotel. The staff and management were ill prepared for the size of the group. Service was lacking complete with an "I don't care attitude" from the staff. Front desk was not helpful when trying to upgrade rooms when we were going to stay on an extra week after the function. But we left to go to another resort. SPG rewards has no meaning at this Sheraton unless you are at the highest level. Housekeeping was fabulous and met all of our needs. Rooms need more improvements, very old hotel. February 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love this hotel, even if it's far from downtown I travel to Kona for business regularly. And I always book here because of the views, the bar (rays on the bay is fun), and the room. The views are spectacular, and manta rays hunt infront of the bar at night becase of the light the hotel uses to draw the plankton. The bar is lively with live music nearly every night. The food is OK, but the experience is great! Con's - the lay out of the hotel means that getting to some rooms in Building 4 can be a major trek - The hotel is not close to the downtown area where all the tourist traps are. You will need a care to even get to the shopping village for supplies. Otherwise the hotel pretty much has all you will need. It is located about 20 minutes away from the airport so plan accordingly. June 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful views and friendly We just spent a week and had an awesome time. The views all around the hotel are breath taking. The pool is wonderful for all ages. The pool side resturant was great. The mahi mahi bites were excellent as was rays on the bay. We used the flying fish to book an excursion but I truly loved the top 50 island experiences. Without that I wound have missed out on alot of sites. The best beach the have listed at mime marker 88 is the best also. I think keu bay. Anyways well worth the stay over other hotels we drive by thanks sheraton kona !! Coming back May 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice getaway The room was very spacious, the balcony as well. We watched the sunset every night - very relaxing! May 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mixed balanced review The good location of the room was offset somewhat by the old, stale smell of smoke when you first walk in to the room. The paint needed updating. The concierge staff was excellent, helpful and accommodating as were the hotel employees. The food/restaurant options were disappointing. There needs to be a moderately priced full service casual restaurant open at all times. The dinner option at Rays was lovely but expensive and we would not eat there more than once during our 7 night stay. We don't care for expensive buffets every morning for breakfast and the poolside option was limited to donuts,fruit and coffee. Also, a number of people were looking for a snack/beverage machine in the evening. The location and ease of parking made getting around the island a joy. Primary purpose was vacation which wasn't listed as an option below. Beautiful grounds. Nice pool. April 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Setting, Manta Heaven Very nice improvements resort-wide since we were here a few years ago. Platinum SPG recognition/amenities are superior. Manta viewing is fabulous. Our room overlooked the lighted Manta area (food comes to the light and Mantas come to the food), so we were able to spend hours in the evening watching them. They are profoundly beautiful, gentle creatures, and we could see that they really enjoyed the interaction with the people in the water. On one occasion, when three swimmers left the water after about an hour of what can only be called "play", the Manta kept coming back to where they had been, as if he were saying to himself, "Where are my buddies?". It was very poignant. Staff are helpful and friendly - especially Nani, who is "Aloha" herself! January 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great service, beautiful landscaping and poolside Beautiful pool with waterfall. Restaurants serve excellent food. Can watch Manta Rays in the evening at the Manta Ray. The Manta Ray has excellent, fast service. The fish and dessert was amazing. The free cultural tour of the grounds was very interesting and the staff very knowledgeable. Enjoyed the free ukulele and hula lessons. There is a free shuttle daily that stops at the main beaches, the pier, all shopping centres and other places of interest. The rooms are nice with good internet service, comfortable beds and beautiful views. We stayed on the mountainside 6th floor and it was very quiet and relaxing. The staff was very accommodating to all of our needs and requests. My son enjoyed the games room and seeing the spayed/neutered cat family. August 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Sheraton Kona 1970's hotel has been refurbished but was musty and had an ant problem which was quickly attended to by a very wonderful staff. Excellent staff were all very friendly and helpful! Bed was very comfortable and room was clean. Gardens surrounding hotel are beautiful. May 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great vacation stay! Excellent service staff throughout entire stay; from check-in & out, restaurants, room cleaning, etc. Food was great! Great location to places to visit in Kona areas. Conference facilities and staff were great. May 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by stinky bathroom Bathroom had never been cleaned during out stay. May 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel has paper-thin walls Having traveled all day from the Midwest, we arrived after 8pm local time, looking forward to rest and relaxation. Instead we were forced to listen to the conversation going on in the room next door; we could hear every word. Sleep for us came only several hours later when our neighbors also called it a night. We had planned to relax the next morning, taking advantage of the lovely grounds and beautiful pool. But instead we checked out early and left. Until they fix the soundproofing between rooms, I would definitely stay away. April 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by our vacation The hotel is very nice, the room was clean and very comfortable. The grounds are beautiful, the pools are great the breakfast room is delightful and we will certainly return.The only negative was Rays by the Bay which has a very nice setting, however the 7 guests that I took to dinner and I thought the prices were very high for the portion of food that was served. Example: the whole fried fish was very small and served on a bed of cold slaw and nothing else for $29.00. Next time I will take my friends out to a local restaurant. March 5, 2013
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 19 next>>