Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Elounda

  • P.O. Box 38
  • Elounda,
  • Crete
  • 72053
  • Greece
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children who are 12 or younger sleep for free in the existing bedding of a room shared with a paying adult.

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 94 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Honeymoon My favorite Starwood property! Went for my honeymoon. A bit of a challenge to drive from the airport, so make sure you have a map. Once there, all that stress melted away. Rooms are big. Was upgraded to a room with a private pool. Gorgeous view. Beach, pools and sauna/spa all excellent. Room service delicious and very well-priced! Easy to walk into Plaka for supplies, restaurants and a boat to Spinalonga. Beach can be very windy. December 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is really excellent and with great features I've stay with my wife and daughter during beginning of July 2011. The reception Staff have given us a very warm welcome during check-in. The same for check-out. Our stay was fantastic. Unfortunately the water of the private pool was very cold, so we couldn't enjoy it. The SPA was also excellent and a very prof and friendly Staff. We will certainly go back. January 16, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't stay here if you are a Platinum member Arrived 10pm. Still took 15 minutes to check-in. Four employees present, only two empowered to do check-ins. Heard two other guests talk about being upgraded, neither were Platinum members. I asked to be upgraded (I had not used any points for my booking) and was told flat out no. I asked if they would check again the next day and was told she had to check with the 'invisible' manager. Was finally 'offered' an upgrade to a worse room that I had paid for so I declined. At check-in and on two later occassions I asked for a late check-out and was told they would get back to me, which they didn't before I again reminded them. The reply was flat out no. Besides the lack of both professionalism and customer respect, the property itself is below par. Walls are paper thin, if your neighboars enjoy watching TV, as mine did, you can hear the program through the wall. The Wi-Fi is crap for lack of better word, completely unreliable. Location is great as is cleanliness, but those two reasons aren't sufficient to choose this hotel. Stay somewhere else if you are a Platinum member or book this hotel through a touring company as that obviously secures you better service. July 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A weekend to remember! This property is superb in every aspect: superb location, superb staff and an excellent array of possibilities for every traveller. I would highlight 3 key elements for fellow travellers to consider: 1) Travelling to Crete at the end of summer (2nd half of September) means dealing with tricky weather. It's absolutely beautiful when it's sunny, but when the winds arrive then be prepared for chilly weather. 2) There is an excellent choice of F&B outlets at this property, but after an excellent dinner at The Ferryman in Elounda Square down the road, nobody else had a fair chance of impressing me. To each their own on this point. 3) The gym and some of the recreational gear at this property are a little bit dated and were out of order. It's quite possibly because we arrived at the end of season, but am marking down by one star in any case. All in all, am quite pleased with our stay here. A return visit is definitely to be considered. September 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Stay My wife and I had a wonderful holiday enhanced by the approachability and professionalism of every member of staff we met throughout our 10 day stay. What a wonderful team. September 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The most amazing Resort Last May 2012 we got to finally stay at the Blue Palace. The unfortunate part was it was for one night, but a most memorable nite. They were under construction and we were given accommodations at another 5 star. We thought that resort was beautiful, but when we got to the Blue Palace there was no comparison. It was truly a Palace. The staff, the Room , the restaurant and the view was amazing. They treated us like royalty. We were tempted to cancel the rest of our trip and stay for a few more days, but could not due to flights and other circumstances. I am writing now as I still dream of the experience. My husband and I wanted to thank everyone for making it a worthwhile stay. We will certainly visit again. February 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect get-away This has to be one of the nicest hotel settings in the world. Stayed as a Platinum member and was upgraded to a heated pool suite. Careful. Some pools are not heated. Great to have a private pool. The breakfast is nice. Great place for families or couples. Beware, not a sand beach. Now for the bad, the Internet is basically non existent. Don't even think about getting work done. No signal anywhere. None. And the concierge? Worthless. But that's why you have Google. I asked concierge for driving directions somewhere and she said- "I don't know. I don't drive or have a car." July 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gorgeous We were in a sea view suite which was great. One of the best rooms I was ever in. Loved all the facilities.Restaurants are very overpriced and so we walked to the village next door for dinners. The hotels Greek tavern is reasonable and lovely for lunch.Breakfast is great. What we didn't like is everytime there was a power surge, the TVs turned on and woke us up. the front desk people were nice enough but poorly trained and every experience with them was n some way frustrating. Charging 50 euros for in room internet was not appreciated but the free wifi in the lobby worked reasonably well. Basic SPG card gets one nothing. July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by a place to relax great start into our vacation. The villa with the private pool and the amazing view was great. Good offering at the resort - my favourite place was Restaurant Blue Door. July 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Extraordinary property Loved this resort. Clean, very large rooms,modern. January 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Resort with a real customer experience Beautiful resort, breathtaking views, excellent customer experience, good food, kids friendly. July 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Location...Location...Location We arrived at the Blue Palace for a 6-night stay after 4 nights in Athens and 4 nights in Santorini. Although it was close to 10 PM, we were warmly greeted and briefed on the facilities. The next day we were given a full tour and felt we had saved the best for last! Although all of the restaurants were outstanding, especially the FULL breakfast buffet, Asian Blue was our favorite for its variety and value. NOTE: We would recommend future guests plan their arrival for earlier in the day to take full advantage of this wonderful hotel. September 11, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Mice everywhere! This was the worst experience we have EVER had at a Starwood hotel regardless of class. There were MICE running around in the public areas. Disgusting. We booked as Island luxury suite with a heated pool, and were expecting a great experience. Instead, the room was very rundown (i took many pictures), and the shower was the SMALLEST shower I have ever seen. It was so small, i couldn't even shut the door. The 2 most basic items of a hotel room are to 1) Get clean 2) sleep. We went to dinner at Asia Blue, and our tempura shrimp was UNCOOKED. I took 1 bite of raw shrimp, and we left and ordered room service. I'm guessing the Greek economy is causing some major corners to be cut at this hotel. Worst experience in a starwood hotel I have ever had. Starwood needs to fly someone here immediately to address these issues. May 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another great stay. This is our second visit to this hotel as we enjoyed it so much last year. The staff are all very experienced & helpful & the girls on reception & guest services look amazing and are very helpful & knowledgeable. The restaurants are all good, but we preferred the Flame when it was L'Orangerie as the fine dining experience was much better then. Special thanks to the Blue Door for making the eating experience so wonderful. The room was very comfortable and cleanliness was perfect. All our requests were dealt with quickly & efficiently. We considered that the sunbeds & pads on the beach are a little shabby & need replacing.This is the only thing we could find fault with, but wasn't really a problem. This did not spoil our holiday & we will probably be returning again next year. September 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxation and Serenity Spectacular hotel on a cliff with a funicular/cable tram that takes you from the hotel to the beach/lower hotel pool.Gorgeous view of nearby Spinalonga Island; a must visit. Hotel located near the fishing village of Elounda; a short walk and a must visit too. Hotel provided upgraded suite for SPG Platinum recognition with had a private infinity pool. If you are looking for relaxation and serenity this is your hotel. Service was inpeccable, the food was good. May 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mixed Feelings The hotel location is exceptionally good with wonderful views but larger than what we would usually go for. For all the good work done the Pebble Beach is a draw back for adults let alone children as was the lift to the beach in busy times. Staff were very helpful and polite at all times. We were expecting the Superior Bungalows to be detached not part of a row right on top of another row of apartments.. September 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unique. Hotel We liked the fact that wherever you were in the hotel the views were spectacular.the staff were most helpful and it all certainly lived up to its 5 star rating.The restaurants on site provided a good overall choice of cuiisines.The small village of Plaka was an added attraction within easy walking distance. The only area which was not 100% was the key cards to the room doors which often took many attempts to open the door, but that aside absolutely no complaints July 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Escape From the beginning to the end of our week long stay, the Blue Palace did not fail to meet, and in many cases exceed our expectations. The location is cleverly situated as it gives you the impression of seclusion, that you are miles from anywhere (apart from the pretty little town of Plaka, which is 5 minute walk)and yet round the corner of the bay are many other hotels. The island of Spinalonga is in front of the hotel and provides a picturesque backdrop. The buildings are beautifully designed and at all times were spotlessly clean. Our accommodation was at the highest point of the resort which we loved as the views were breathtaking. We had a private pool which was a welcome facility when we wanted to chill out in the apartment. Housekeeping service was excellent with two visits a day. As it was September the large pools were virtually empty and there were always plenty of sun beds available at the pools or on the beach. The beach bar staff are wonderful and looked after us so well everyday. (Can highly recommend taking the little boat Posiedon out to explore the bay, available from the watersports area on the beach). We didn't want to go far so the choice of having five different restaurants to choose from suited us well. We enjoyed the different decor and atmospheres in each location. Lots of choice on the menus and the food was excellent. One of the greatest assets of this lovely resort is its staff. At all times they were friendly, cheerful and helpful. We wanted a week of complete rest and relaxation. The Blue Palace provided this and so much more. Now we are back home we will dream of our return. September 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly staff and incredible facilities We spent a couple of weeks at Blue Palace and it was an incredible experience, we can't wait to return. The restaurants were amazing, the suite was fabulous with both upstairs and down being extremely clean and well kept, the private pool was fantastic and cleaned daily, and we also enjoyed a few "excursions" to Elounta and Plaka (the latter is even walkable if desired). We also used the fitness center each day, which was very nice for a hotel fitness center, and had a handful of treatments at the spa, which was world class. We recommend this hotel and experience to anyone that has the ability to experience it. September 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful and relaxing experience We stayed at the Blue Palace Resort for 5 nights for our honeymoon. I used starwood points for my stay and we were upgraded when we checked in to a room with a private pool thanks to our platinum status. We also had free buffet breakfast during our stay also due to our platinum status. I have to say that this was the best buffet breakfast I have ever had. The view from the room was beautiful. It was a quiet and relaxing experience. Management surprised us with champagne and other nice gestures as we were there for our honeymoon. Attention to details like that definitely make a difference. We spent most of out time at the wonderful infinity pool near the beach. We loved the food at the Blue Tavern. We also tried the spa and got a couples massage. I highly recommend it! The only thing I will mention is that the service at the Isola restaurant needs improvement. We had dined in this restaurant twice during our stay and the service was very slow during both times. At one time we had to wait 45 mins for a pizza that we had ordered even though the restaurant was empty. At most places the item would be on the house if there was such a long delay. But, this wasn't offered to us, nor an apology when we had inquired about our food twice. Other than that, it was a great experience. I miss the Blue Palace and hope to return soon. October 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by VERY POSSIBLY HEAVEN ON EARTH OVERALL IMPRESSION: Rarely do I find property so beautiful that I have no desire even to explore the surrounding area - even more rarely to I enjoy a room so much that I don’t even care to explore the property...this is that kind of place! SPG RECOGNITION: As this was an important romantic holiday, I used Suite Certificates and they were very well spent - we were upgraded to a duplex suite with balcony, terrace and - wonder of wonders - our own private pool. Lovely in-room amenity and careful attention to the requests posited by our SPG Ambassador. Complimentary thalassotherapy session. THE ROOM: So pleasant and so beautifully decorated that we were happy to spend all day every day for five days ... in our room! LOCATION: Other-worldly gorgeous setting along the hillside of Elounda Bay with a full-frontal view of the Spinalonga Island. A bit remote but - who cares - we never felt the need to leave the resort. You absolutely need a car and plan on a good 90 minutes from Heraklion port or airport. EXCEEDED EXPECTATIONS: A beautiful selection of activities from beach to pool to spa to sports. Fantastic array of dining possibilities but we fell in love with the Greek Taverna directly on the beach and ended up eating there most nights. Seafood was spectacular, setting incomparable and the waitresses were straight out of an Almodovar film...we loved them! Breakfast spread was incredible...I loved the Cretan specialties featured. DID NOT MEET EXPECTATIONS: One tiny criticism - the lack of loungers available on the beach and the first come, first served system which required a crack-of-dawn trek down to the beach to stake a claim. With our own pool and sea view, we didn’t even bother. ONE THING TO KNOW: Perfect for a honeymoon or rekindling romance. September 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superb! A feast for the eyes, the mind, the body, and the soul! Beautifully maintained and staffed. Gracious and kind service with a friendly yet professional staff whose interest in your well being is genuine. July 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Perfect Experience for our Honeymoon Everything about this hotel is amazing. It is very relaxing, has a nice selection of restaurants, and a very calm beach that is perfect for swimming or relaxing. We went on our honeymoon, and already talked about going back for our anniversary. The town leaves something to be desired, so we spend most of our time at the resort - which leaves little to be desired. September 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Disappointed We have been traveling to Greece, and staying at fabulous Starwood Hotels for years. This year we decided to have our children, and grandchild join us for a special holiday, and go to Crete for the first time. We chose Crete, specifically, for the Blue Palace, and because of our Platinum status. We did not get any upgrade, but I understand "upon availability". Even when upgrades are not available, there is usually a graciousness, on arrival, and a desire to accommodate wherever possible. This property usually includes breakfast with basic rates, Because we were staying on a "cash and points" basis, our Platinum status only covered the amenity breakfast on one room, and they charged for the second room. I since learned they had every right to do so, but in all my years with SPG no property has ever done so. I guess I have become spoiled. On our same trip, another Starwood property, that could not upgrade us, surprised us with a bottle of wine in our room. This to me, is the Starwood way. September 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not a 5* and certainly not luxury Having been lucky enough to stay in a number of 5* luxury resorts across the world, we expected the Blue Palace to meet expectations but it failed in all areas in our eyes. The rooms are standard quality. We had a private pool which was a lovely extra in 35 degrees of heat but it was never cleaned and pretty grubby around the edges which you don't associate with 5* luxury. The double bed was too singles stuck together with a sheet, meaning we slept apart or cuddled up with one of us on a very hard and uncomfortable ridge; really romantic. The mattress was hard and not particularly comfortable. If you used the full pressure in the shower you flooded your bathroom in 2 minutes flat. There was a fruit bowl in the room but we never got any fruit. Breakfast is by far the best meal of the day, lunch is ok but overpriced and inflexible for what you get (they wanted an extra 5 euros just for some cucumber to be added to a salad), and dinner in any of the restaurants is of poor quality and little flavour. At Blue Door there are too many staff who seem to insist on busying themselves unnecessarily so they spend their time interrupting your meal and conversation by refilling your drink every time you take a single sip. It took us 45 minutes to be acknowledged or receive a menu in the Asian restaurant which led to us walking out, beach staff argued with me when they presented me with the wrong drink instead of just changing it, and the reception don’t advise you to book restaurants so for our first two nights we couldn’t get a table and had to go elsewhere. A 5* luxury is justified by the little extra touches that make you feel special; the personalised service, the care and attention to you as a guest, and the Blue Palace lacked this in abundance. A smile here and there and good service is free, something all (high) paying guests at the Blue Palace deserve. A real pity because the view is fabulous; the best bit by far. July 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Quiet, restful, great views, good food Spent 6 nights at Blue Palace to rest up before my annual month-long tour of Europe. Yes, it's important that you obtain a good room, away from the noisier aspects of the resort. That said, a great deal of quiet relaxation in the sun can be had, with great views, a clean beach, and the availability of superior food and wine. Reasonable access by car to nearby towns. Found a wonderful family-run restaurant on the Plaka. Resort staff was also above average, in my view. Blue Palace is underestimated in lots of other reviews I have read. August 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Almost perfect, but not quite We arrived hot and frazzled from the airport and the awfulness of budget airlines, to be swept into the professional courtesy and comfort of the Blue Palace. This is a spectacularly situated hotel in a beautiful part of Crete. The food was delicious and service excellent. Our room was lovely too with its own pool. This hotel almost, but not quite, gets a perfect score. Two problems for us were: prices in the bar which were eye-wateringly high and noise in the room at night from other people's TV's, etc. October 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect! My wife and I loved our time at the Blue Palace. It is now one of our favorite Starwood properties. The resort is well designed and feels clean and new. The views are amazing, food and spa were great, the pools and beach were gorgeous (but a little windy when we were there). Our room was really nice, with a private pool. The towns around the hotel are fun to explore with wonderful food. The hotel suggested some fabulous restaurants and always ensured the best tables for us. You need to go across the water and walk around Spinalonga, a little island a few minutes from the hotel beach. We enjoyed that very much. Water taxis in Plaka, which a a five minute walk from the hotel, are far less expensive to Spinalonga than the water taxi on the hotel beach. We can't wait to visit the Blue Palace again! September 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A magical place We've been going for years to the Blue Palace. Each time it's just a pleasure to enter a world apart where every detail is stylish in a simple and unpretentious way. The staff is incredibly friendly and efficient - throughout the hotel: from the reception, the spa, to - especially - the restaurants. The Blue Door merits a special mention - Haris, Rina, Maria and Sofia work together to make guests feel at their best, and the Greek food is amazing. We'll keep returning to our Blue Palace. August 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Heaven This is the place to stay in Crete. It was the highlight of our vacation. I wish I could live there! August 30, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 next>>