Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Elounda

  • P.O. Box 38
  • Elounda,
  • Crete
  • 72053
  • Greece
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 117 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good Everything was good apart of internet. Highly recommended July 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Suites and Resort Normally I have a strong preference to a more authentic or boutique style hotel than a resort when staying seaside. Blue Palace could not be a more picturesque exception to that rule. Private villa suites with private pools nestled into a cliff with breathtaking views of Spinalonga Island and the Gulf of Elounda. Highlights include the Italian/Mediterranean restaurant, incredible concierge service, award-winning spa, best view of any tennis court I've ever played, and breakfast buffet. Elounda is a charming town and nearby Plaka has one of our favorite restaurants (Ostria), recommended by the concierge. This was the perfect start to our honeymoon. We wish we would have stayed longer. July 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Paradise I thoroughly enjoyed my four nights at the Blue Palace. It is one of the loveliest properties I have ever seen and the beach and water are unparalleled. The room was exceptional, the bed was very comfortable, the view was outstanding and the bath products were good. The food was quite good, especially The Flame Restaurant, which I loved. The Blue Palace was definitely a major highlight of my time in Greece and I look forward to returning. I highly recommend it for all travelers seeking a beautiful, luxurious vacation in Crete. June 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superb Honeymoon! My husband and I have just returned from our one week honeymoon at the Blue Palace and we could not be happier. The hotel, the service, the food everything was of superb quality. It is by far one of the nicest and most relaxing places we have ever stayed. We would highly recommend this hotel to everyone. I have already looked into options for going back next year.  June 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Long Weekend Break Fantastic hotel - the Staff are wonderful and really made the experience so great. Scenery is stunning, weather and views were just perfect and its an ideal place to go for a quiet relaxing break. Restaurants on site are good, Flame was our preferred choice as the steaks were superb. Do not often write reviews, but this hotel is a definite go back to as its a little gem in a beautiful part of the world with lovely people. May 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Luxury luxury luxury I should have written this review long ago. Better late than never. Staff outrageous, room spectacular, food delicious. Could not beat the view from our bi level room. To wake up and see the small fishing boats out on the water was wonderful and then to eat the fresh caught fish was special. Tip, one time skip the lift and walk back to the hotel, grounds are beautiful. Long walk but worth it. Don,t miss the spa. October 25, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by management problem! My wife and I travel for several years at many places in the world and are only in 5 * and higher categories go. This time we are in Greece, Crete, driven. We stayed here with our in-laws in Hotel Blue Palace and have a Luxury Suite booked Iceland. The rooms are nice and equipped in order and with a heated pool. If you book a room with a pool, then this should be heated, or he is so cold that it can be hardly used. Some rooms have very little privacy can be viewed from the beach elevator up to the room. Very beautiful view. The plant is also beautiful. The problem with the beach is solved in our opinion well. Some guests find the problematic, however. The pool at the beach unfortunately with salt water and very cold. Was used by a little. However, the biggest problem of the hotel seems to be the management. We had some comments or complaints that were only annotated with the sentence "So far we have not had any complaints." The complaints from other portals were apparently just disappears. Here it was mainly the restaurant Olea, here is breakfast and dinner is served, and these conditions are terrible. The morning coffee is an outrage, the orange juice was already fermented. Pancakes are not fresh zubereitett front of the guest but prefabricated be warmed up. Likewise, the fried eggs. That canned fruit is offered, it should be mentioned only in passing. In the evening there is no fresh salads, but the offer sought resist despite different nightly themes. Everything seems to be not of good quality and not fresh. Not a five-star standard. For dinner, several dishes were offered that met our expectations in any way. No freshly prepared dishes such as fresh fish, etc. . Everything is kept only in warming boxes, not freshly made. Moreover, the restaurant Olea is really ugly. Fluorescent and station atmosphere with erhötem noise. From a five-star ambience far away. Furthermore, the service of the staff did not meet even a 5 * standard. Here is an example, because of our baby, we wanted to enjoy a pizza next to the beach pool and restaurant. Here we were informed personally by the "manager" that only we had in the (dark and cold) Italian "restaurant" to eat our pizza or order one at the Standbar something else. This is not a five-star standard. Actually not a big deal to offer this "service" of a family with a baby. But what is now again take us, has caused us to write this report. We asked for an appointment with the "manager" of all food areas and informed him of our concerns and comments with, but he denied everything and said there would be no complaints so far. He has then leave it. Unfortunately, not even a little "peace offering" such as oä a glass of wine. The hotel we can not recommend simple. Who still goes here will find a basically nice hotel, but significant compromises in food and service must make. Basically, it is not recommended here half board or book even more. Breakfast is annoying enough. In the surroundings you can fine dine. October 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stay. This hotel has it all. Beautiful view, excellent staff and wonderful beach and pool. We enjoyed eating off site at night but the breakfast buffet was excellent. October 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Could benefit from improved communications First, I'd like to say the Concierge Staff and Haris at the Blue Door were lovely. Great, friendly smiles and made sure we were happy. Two areas of frustration for us: 1. We signed up for the Cretan Feast--solely because there were to be local craftsman, fireside at the beach, unique experience. In actuality, tt was a prix fixe dinner at the Blue Door Greek restaurant. We would NOT have signed up for this if it were explained as this. The manager, Haris, was kind as can be and the food was good, so I didn't want to insult him. This was a complete failure, from a marketing/comms perspective, in that what the event was described to be is not what it was. I relayed my frustration to the Checkin/Front Desk and he asked, "Did you say anything at the time"? No, I did not--because clearly nothing could be done about dinner not being on the beach and no craftsmen/local culture. We were really looking forward to this, since we didn't venture into town to experience some of the local culture. It would be appreciated to receive a credit or compensation for what it was not. The only consolation I received was "I will relay it to the Head of F&B". Really? 2. We ordered a return transfer for 20:15. Arrived at 20:10 and waited for 10 minutes. Asked at front desk and they said they had 20:45. This is not what was ordered or confirmed. Extremely frustrating considering we almost missed our return flight home. October 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by why stay elsewhere? We spent several days and enjoyed the resort tremendously. Sometimes, we left the ressort to try out other restaurants but always came back to the resort as qualitity, choice and service were by far superior at the resort. Our 12-year old found the folding bed a bit narrow but otherwise enjoyed pool and tennis facilities. My wife enjoyed the spa and pool offers. Excellent place to relax and enjoy with superior service. Very attentive staff. October 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel The hotel is just beautiful, all water, stone and warmth. Lots of private spaces. It was a very comfortable and relaxing place. It was really windy though, so time at the beach was limited to mid-day. I'm sure it was also a factor of the time of year, but not too far down the coast it was less windy. October 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wow, just Wow I recently spent a week there with my Daughter and it was amazing. The food, the room, the atmosphere was every thing we wanted. Cleanliness was of a very high standard as was the quality of the food in all the restaurants on site. It was the little things that made a difference like turning the bed down at night with a small facial wipe and foot cloths at the bedside, the postcard left on the bed with the following days weather was a lovely surprise. A special mention must go to Dinos, he was every thing a gentleman should be, with friendliness, kindness and a can do attitude all the time day or night. A big thank you to all there at the hotel I will certainly try and come again. October 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A weekend to remember! This property is superb in every aspect: superb location, superb staff and an excellent array of possibilities for every traveller. I would highlight 3 key elements for fellow travellers to consider: 1) Travelling to Crete at the end of summer (2nd half of September) means dealing with tricky weather. It's absolutely beautiful when it's sunny, but when the winds arrive then be prepared for chilly weather. 2) There is an excellent choice of F&B outlets at this property, but after an excellent dinner at The Ferryman in Elounda Square down the road, nobody else had a fair chance of impressing me. To each their own on this point. 3) The gym and some of the recreational gear at this property are a little bit dated and were out of order. It's quite possibly because we arrived at the end of season, but am marking down by one star in any case. All in all, am quite pleased with our stay here. A return visit is definitely to be considered. September 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Stay My wife and I had a wonderful holiday enhanced by the approachability and professionalism of every member of staff we met throughout our 10 day stay. What a wonderful team. September 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Escape From the beginning to the end of our week long stay, the Blue Palace did not fail to meet, and in many cases exceed our expectations. The location is cleverly situated as it gives you the impression of seclusion, that you are miles from anywhere (apart from the pretty little town of Plaka, which is 5 minute walk)and yet round the corner of the bay are many other hotels. The island of Spinalonga is in front of the hotel and provides a picturesque backdrop. The buildings are beautifully designed and at all times were spotlessly clean. Our accommodation was at the highest point of the resort which we loved as the views were breathtaking. We had a private pool which was a welcome facility when we wanted to chill out in the apartment. Housekeeping service was excellent with two visits a day. As it was September the large pools were virtually empty and there were always plenty of sun beds available at the pools or on the beach. The beach bar staff are wonderful and looked after us so well everyday. (Can highly recommend taking the little boat Posiedon out to explore the bay, available from the watersports area on the beach). We didn't want to go far so the choice of having five different restaurants to choose from suited us well. We enjoyed the different decor and atmospheres in each location. Lots of choice on the menus and the food was excellent. One of the greatest assets of this lovely resort is its staff. At all times they were friendly, cheerful and helpful. We wanted a week of complete rest and relaxation. The Blue Palace provided this and so much more. Now we are back home we will dream of our return. September 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mixed Feelings The hotel location is exceptionally good with wonderful views but larger than what we would usually go for. For all the good work done the Pebble Beach is a draw back for adults let alone children as was the lift to the beach in busy times. Staff were very helpful and polite at all times. We were expecting the Superior Bungalows to be detached not part of a row right on top of another row of apartments.. September 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Disappointed We have been traveling to Greece, and staying at fabulous Starwood Hotels for years. This year we decided to have our children, and grandchild join us for a special holiday, and go to Crete for the first time. We chose Crete, specifically, for the Blue Palace, and because of our Platinum status. We did not get any upgrade, but I understand "upon availability". Even when upgrades are not available, there is usually a graciousness, on arrival, and a desire to accommodate wherever possible. This property usually includes breakfast with basic rates, Because we were staying on a "cash and points" basis, our Platinum status only covered the amenity breakfast on one room, and they charged for the second room. I since learned they had every right to do so, but in all my years with SPG no property has ever done so. I guess I have become spoiled. On our same trip, another Starwood property, that could not upgrade us, surprised us with a bottle of wine in our room. This to me, is the Starwood way. September 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Perfect Experience for our Honeymoon Everything about this hotel is amazing. It is very relaxing, has a nice selection of restaurants, and a very calm beach that is perfect for swimming or relaxing. We went on our honeymoon, and already talked about going back for our anniversary. The town leaves something to be desired, so we spend most of our time at the resort - which leaves little to be desired. September 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Heaven This is the place to stay in Crete. It was the highlight of our vacation. I wish I could live there! August 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by General comments Being in a bungalow was somewhat inconvenient The young staff was very polite (Dino concierge was excellent)and helpful and the hotel is well coordinated for car and taxi service Not used to rocky beach. Restaurants : Flame was good, Blue Door and Isola were average. Breakfast was comprehensive and staff was friendly. Plunge pool very good, but towels and robes need to be softer August 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great property, but PLEASE illuminate Spinalonga island!! We arrived at Blue Palace on the 15th of August, during the peak weekend of the season. Unfortunately my SNA certificates did not go through, as the property was running at 100% capacity. As a Platinum member, i received complimentary buffet breakfast and internet access. At the end of our stay, we were declined late checkout, but we were offered a courtesy room, in case we wanted to go for a swim. The property is great, featuring all necessary facilities for high-end leisure travelers and amazing views of the sea and the Spinalonga island. There were many families around (perfect for vacations with the kids), but the property is also ideal for a romantic gateway. The staff is genuinely polite and seemed to be very well-trained. During the first night of our stay, we had the opportunity to enjoy the Spinalonga island (that lies right in front of the hotel) illuminated. The view was majestic. Later, we learned that this was after the hotel's request, due to the presence of a VIP guest. Unfortunately, the second night the guest had departed and the lights were off. To our surprise, we learned that the cost for keeping the Spinalonga island illuminated for the rest of the season was just 2000 euros and that the locals were trying to raise the amount. I can not think of a better way for the hotel to cater to their customers and gain invaluable goodwill from the local communities than significantly contributing towards the illumination of this unique landmark. Tips for future travelers: The property is great, but i would recommend visiting the nearby villages also. Elounda is a little bit of a tourist trap, but Plaka is absolutely beautiful (walking distance from the resort). In Plaka we found amazing souvenirs and had delicious meals in great prices (do not invest a lot in fish, unless you can tell fresh from frozen). We recommend "Thalassa" in Plaka. Recommendations to the Management: 1. The breakfast is not up to par with respect to other Luxury hotels around the world. During the hot Greek summer, i would suggest providing a bottle of cold water to each table and having a second person to help Ms Sofia at the crepes/omelet counter. 2. The internet connection is slow and requires logging in every time the device connects to the network. It might be useful to upgrade the software and the network capability. It was not a big deal for us, as we spent most of the time outdoors, but i might be for someone else in the future. 3. Our favorite spot, the couches on the outdoor deck, next to the check-in counter go completely dark after sunset. We were told that you can not use candles, because it is windy, but you can certainly use some kind of artificial light to capitalize on this beautiful spot. Overall, it is a great property with a great deal of potential! Don't miss it!! ;) August 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nearly perfect !! Would take too long to mention all the good things.( great food , staff very friendly, very good accomodation) Minor thing; 8 euro for 1 h of (slow) WIFI is a lack!.( or 50 euro for the whole stay) Maybe some coffee on the room... August 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Resort A beautiful resort with a fantastic view.Rooms are very spacious and comfortable. Restaurant service and food were very good. Pool/beach bathroom could use some care in cleanliness and maintenance but all others very nice. Staff are very friendly and helpful but beach staff could be a little more attentive. Although the spa looked gorgeous but we did not utilize it. A charge for our child to have a cot each not was high. I have never had to pay for him anywhere else. August 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by restaurants there is 4 restaurants for lunch or dinner; if you stay 1 week or more -half board, as my family and my-is sometimies boring to repeat restaurant twice or three times along the stay. August 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Fantastic location, poor service The location of this place is truely perfect, amazing sea views, nice beach, small local restaurants within short walking distance. The property has a SPA, quite good equiped gym and a professional but expensive center. Sun beds on the beach are comfortable. Breakfast is of good choice, service is far away from exceptional during breakfast. The rooms are not worth the money, quite old but clean. The private pool is indeed far away from private, I would even not call the room a bungalow, sea view pretty much depends on the building/barrier in front of view. Service is the worst I have ever seen in a hotel of this category. The standard answer is no and they stick to the minimum they need to deliver. Sorting out a room key issue took half an hour without any sorry, Coffee machine unavailable, kettle with instant coffee against a fee which is for this kind of hotel ridiculous, .... Platinum recognition is the worst I experienced at Starwood so far. I indicated the issues in two surveys, one during and one after the stay with the request to discuss all the issues we had, got a standard answer weeks later, one you can google on the Internet. I cannot recommend this place, in my eyes a waste of money and not on Starwood standards. August 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Arrival/Restaurants We arrived at 11 in the morning and our room was not ready, we had to wait till 3.30, what we think it was to long. Although I told the receptionist to call on my mobile if it is ready, they did not do. The Flame and the Italian were very good. Unfortunately the quality of the Asian should be better. July 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Paradise Revisted Every time we go to the Blue Palace, we never want to leave! We achieve total relaxation the whole time, Our rooms are always very comfortable with heavenly beds. We enjoy a private pool with the most scenic views in the world. Every night we begin our evening at Arsenali Bar where Nektarios and Kostas will make any drink to accommodate your wishes. The piano player, Yianni, plays very relaxing music. Our family met there every evening to socialize before we went to one of the resort's restaurants. Our favorites are the Blue Door and Flame. The staff seldom changes and the service and food are always excellent, especially the grilled octopus! We try to visit 2 places in Europe every year. The Blue Palace is always top on our list! July 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent The blue palace was a wonderful experience for my family and I. Outstanding activities . Thought was going to be to remote but with planks and on site restaurants enough to do. My only complaint would be to get more cold air into funicular and lobby on ocean level. July 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unique. Hotel We liked the fact that wherever you were in the hotel the views were spectacular.the staff were most helpful and it all certainly lived up to its 5 star rating.The restaurants on site provided a good overall choice of cuiisines.The small village of Plaka was an added attraction within easy walking distance. The only area which was not 100% was the key cards to the room doors which often took many attempts to open the door, but that aside absolutely no complaints July 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not a 5* and certainly not luxury Having been lucky enough to stay in a number of 5* luxury resorts across the world, we expected the Blue Palace to meet expectations but it failed in all areas in our eyes. The rooms are standard quality. We had a private pool which was a lovely extra in 35 degrees of heat but it was never cleaned and pretty grubby around the edges which you don't associate with 5* luxury. The double bed was too singles stuck together with a sheet, meaning we slept apart or cuddled up with one of us on a very hard and uncomfortable ridge; really romantic. The mattress was hard and not particularly comfortable. If you used the full pressure in the shower you flooded your bathroom in 2 minutes flat. There was a fruit bowl in the room but we never got any fruit. Breakfast is by far the best meal of the day, lunch is ok but overpriced and inflexible for what you get (they wanted an extra 5 euros just for some cucumber to be added to a salad), and dinner in any of the restaurants is of poor quality and little flavour. At Blue Door there are too many staff who seem to insist on busying themselves unnecessarily so they spend their time interrupting your meal and conversation by refilling your drink every time you take a single sip. It took us 45 minutes to be acknowledged or receive a menu in the Asian restaurant which led to us walking out, beach staff argued with me when they presented me with the wrong drink instead of just changing it, and the reception don’t advise you to book restaurants so for our first two nights we couldn’t get a table and had to go elsewhere. A 5* luxury is justified by the little extra touches that make you feel special; the personalised service, the care and attention to you as a guest, and the Blue Palace lacked this in abundance. A smile here and there and good service is free, something all (high) paying guests at the Blue Palace deserve. A real pity because the view is fabulous; the best bit by far. July 23, 2014
  • 2015-11-27 T08:05:39.716-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_117, tr_117
  • loc_en_US, sid_1487, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>