Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Elounda

  • P.O. Box 38
  • Elounda,
  • Crete
  • 72053
  • Greece
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children who are 12 or younger sleep for free in the existing bedding of a room shared with a paying adult.

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 94 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mixed Feelings The hotel location is exceptionally good with wonderful views but larger than what we would usually go for. For all the good work done the Pebble Beach is a draw back for adults let alone children as was the lift to the beach in busy times. Staff were very helpful and polite at all times. We were expecting the Superior Bungalows to be detached not part of a row right on top of another row of apartments.. September 12, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed We arrived at the Blue Palace for the second week of our two-week honeymoon in Greece, following the first week in Santorini (which was incredible, in case anyone is wondering). We were very much looking forward to the SPG luxury we know and love (being a gold member), and arrived to the hotel after a long ferry ride around 10pm. We got to our "upgraded" room, and I was immediately upset. The room was dingy, dark and small, and the private pool was anything but. I could see the entire pools of both neighboring rooms, along with their balconies - even their underoos hanging out to dry. Either way, we were tired and decided to get room service and figure the room out later. We ordered simple items: a Greek salad, margarita pizza and some kind of pita bread sampler. It arrived about 30 minutes later, and was a huge disappointment. The Greek salad was pathetic, with bland cheese (not at all feta) and huge smelly white onions... nothing like what we had in Santorini. The margarita pizza was a joke..a frozen pizza would have been worlds better. We ate very little and went to bed, hoping that it was just the day of travel that had gotten us down. Sadly, we were wrong. Each day at the Blue Palace was worse than the last, and by the time we left, we felt as though we were nothing but an inconvenience to the hotel. We spent our days finding ways to avoid the hotel at all costs -- let me clarify, not because of costs -- to avoid the rude and unhelpful staff, the filthy rooms, and the overall unpleasant vibe that permeated every inch of this large and expansive "resort." Coming from Perivolas in Santorini made this all the more shocking and downright sad. This was our honeymoon, after all, and the Blue Palace couldn't have cared less. The staff here act like they are tyrannical camp counselors -- they make the rules, they care one bit that you paid and took time off from your job to be here... you couldn't even bring a drink from one bar to another (one of their bars, to another!). A complete waste of money and time -- even causing us to cancel our SPG reservation in Athens for the following week. No chance we are staying at another of their accommodations, and I will be booking elsewhere for my professional travel. It's a good thing we really like each other and can have fun no matter the situation -- Elounda and Plaka made up for the terrible experience we had at the Blue Palace, but I do hope that others take this for a warning. October 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trip of a Lifetime My wife and I are platinum members and have traveled extensively throughout North American and Europe. No place can beat the Blue Palace. This year we brought our family to be with us as we renewed our wedding vows. Through emails, we communicated with the hotel in the planning of the ceremony, including securing a priest, a photographer, a dinner menu, and flowers. We couldn't have asked for more perfect arrangements. Everything exceeded our expectations. The family was also impressed with the property and the friendliness of the entire staff. We also took advantage of water sports, swam in every pool, and the hotel arranged for a private boat and captain for half a day for us .One day we had a family day at the spa that was unforgettable! Our room was so comfortable and our views so breathtaking that we enjoyed room service every day for breakfast, ate lunch several times by the pool at the Isola restaurant. We loved the grilled octopus at the Blue Door, the friendly staff and romantic atmosphere of an outdoor seaside taverna. The steak at Flame restaurant melts in your mouth along with the vegetables which are grown on the property. The Cretan cheesecake is to die for! The Arsenali Lounge is a great place to relax, drink, listen to music, and gaze at the stars. We couldn't think of a more perfect place to take our family and celebrate this important occasion in our lives! Can't wait to go back!! August 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Location for a Honeymoon!!! My fiance and I went to the Blue Palace Resort and Spa in Elounda and have an amazing Honeymoon. When you arrive you are firstly greated by a bellboy who immediately brings you water and arranges for the porters to take your bags to your room. We then had a ten minute overview of the location of everything and how to book services and the like. As soon as we entered our room (Superior Bugalow with Private Pool) we were amazed by the view and were very happy with the decore and layout. The five days we stayed were fantastic and we were waited on hand and foot, which is a real luxery for us. However there were a number of shortfalls that the hotel failed in, these were as follows: 1) No flowers on arrival (Rectified 2 days later after complaints) 2) No Fruit and Delicacies on arrival (Rectified 2 days later after complaints) 3) Private Pool is not ‘Private’ it is just a pool with sectioned walls, should be classed as ‘Own Pool’ 4) Rudely awoken at 7.00am on day of our departure to collect our bags 5) Unable to provide late check out for evening flight The hotel is also quite difficult to navigate unless you use the very slow lift, you sometimes have to wait up to 10 minutes to get in the lift and there’s only one. Walking from the top of the hotel to the bottom is a bit of a nightmare. Other than this we have a fantastic time and would recommened the hotel to anyone. PS the couples massage is worth every penny, it was amazing. August 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Escape From the beginning to the end of our week long stay, the Blue Palace did not fail to meet, and in many cases exceed our expectations. The location is cleverly situated as it gives you the impression of seclusion, that you are miles from anywhere (apart from the pretty little town of Plaka, which is 5 minute walk)and yet round the corner of the bay are many other hotels. The island of Spinalonga is in front of the hotel and provides a picturesque backdrop. The buildings are beautifully designed and at all times were spotlessly clean. Our accommodation was at the highest point of the resort which we loved as the views were breathtaking. We had a private pool which was a welcome facility when we wanted to chill out in the apartment. Housekeeping service was excellent with two visits a day. As it was September the large pools were virtually empty and there were always plenty of sun beds available at the pools or on the beach. The beach bar staff are wonderful and looked after us so well everyday. (Can highly recommend taking the little boat Posiedon out to explore the bay, available from the watersports area on the beach). We didn't want to go far so the choice of having five different restaurants to choose from suited us well. We enjoyed the different decor and atmospheres in each location. Lots of choice on the menus and the food was excellent. One of the greatest assets of this lovely resort is its staff. At all times they were friendly, cheerful and helpful. We wanted a week of complete rest and relaxation. The Blue Palace provided this and so much more. Now we are back home we will dream of our return. September 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great, relaxing stay! Had a wonderful stay at Blue Palace. Property and views were great. Stayed in a Maisonette Suite that had a private pool and the bedroom on a separate floor. Staff was great. Lina on the concierge staff was a delight. Always with a smile and willing to provide suggestions on places to eat and see. Was disappointed we didn't get upgraded to the Island Suite even though it was available during our entire stay as Platinum. The spa facilities could use a minor refresh. The treatment room where we had our massages didn't have sufficiently working air conditioning so it was a bit uncomfortable. Everything else was wonderful though. September 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5��by Just a few little niggles, but then I am an Old Man ! Our second viusit, and still the most glorious siutauation and the feeling of being in a very well run establishment BUT :- 1 The drections for driving.. it said "left at first traffic Light".. Fine, and then "right at second traffic light"... now if it had said "right at church" we would not have lost an hour going up into the Hills !. 2. The shades on the terrace by the hotel, are much too small and only cover part of one partnert (if there are 2 of you) 3. loungers on same terrace are very heavy to move, and no one around to help 4. kids have their own pool on beach so why not ban the under 12/s from the terrace June 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel; stunning room!! Truly a beautiful hotel with all the ammenities you could possibly want and a spectacular room. That said, I will get the neagtive out of the way to move onto the positive...I would have given a "5" if it were not for the check-in which was a disappointment. I start by saying that we had reserved a Suite "maisonette" and while I am not supposed to mention the price, let me just say, I expect more (far more) at reception. We pulled up in our car and no one received us (fine). While I walked into the lobby my companion (who is Greek) searched for a porter to find out what to do with the car so we wouldn't block anything. He was told that they were very busy, that he could just put the car off to side and if "he could please remove the luggage" the rest rest would be taken care of...not a good start. Upon entering the lobby one of the impeccable woman immediately greeted us, served us some water and when I said my name she "appeared" to know who I was. We had to wait about 10 minutes to be served at check in which I find odd, but when there we were efficiently taken care of. We were asked to wait while they organized things (I'm not sure what was to organize as we checked in at 5pm...hardly rush hour at the reception...). We had a walk around staying within earshot of the reception counter. Unfortunately, we ended up waiting more than 20 minutes (and onyl ater I went to the desk to enquire) for someone to take us to our room!! Yes, we had been forgotten...I am not sure how many suites there are in the hotel, but I find this shameful. And this was my impression of the service in the hotel overall: Spotty. For every incredibly capable (and friendly) professional in the hotel, there seems to be an equally daft and far less capable one. Anyway, after this, everything looked up. I thought the room was spectacular and bathing in light, spotless as SPG properties tend to be. I would return to the hotel JUST to be in the room again as these maisonettes feel like your own little mini-townhouse overlooking the bay. Superb. As other people have mentioned, the "private" pool is not that private, even in the suites and is COLD...so a nightime skinny-dip is a 10 second affair; not like at Costa Navarino where you cn hang out in your pool for hours But the pools ARE sea water which is great. The wind was buffeting the beach (wow...people weren't kidding!!) those days so the pool was a fantastic option to have. I know there are lots of complaints about the "slow" funicular...so Iw as prepared and used it once...opting to take the stairs or walk. Things aren't that far!! Buffet breakfast was great and actually better than Costa Navarino as fruits were better and the variety of little pastries changed daily. Unfortunately my stay was too short to use the Spa, but it looked great and the Blue Door "taverna" looked really authentic but I opted to walk 10 minutes to Plaka to find some Crete traditional food (Maria's is the best option we found, and if you are lucky, she is probably sitting there in her traditional Cretan black dress and scarf). All in all I would definitely come back; and I would definitely stay in a maisonette again, where you can wake up with your feet literally hanging over the bay, looking out to spinalonga, with the sun shining in your face... September 12, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not what I expected Crete was part of my 3 island itinerary and picking Blue Palace seemed logical since it was affiliated with Starwood but I found it to be my least favorite experience. The staff members were eager to help, but they were more of a hassle than help. When you asked a staff member a question, it took 3 other staff members to resolve. If you decide to disregard my warning, make sure you stay on the main hotel side. We were initially placed on the right side, which was a far walk and buggy. We felt isolated and even going to breakfast or the gym was a major production. Our room was changed only after we alerted the manager that we found 4 hard-shelled centipedes in our room. It was pretty gross. And be careful swimming in their pools because I end up with pink eye. July 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Perfect Experience for our Honeymoon Everything about this hotel is amazing. It is very relaxing, has a nice selection of restaurants, and a very calm beach that is perfect for swimming or relaxing. We went on our honeymoon, and already talked about going back for our anniversary. The town leaves something to be desired, so we spend most of our time at the resort - which leaves little to be desired. September 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Disappointed We have been traveling to Greece, and staying at fabulous Starwood Hotels for years. This year we decided to have our children, and grandchild join us for a special holiday, and go to Crete for the first time. We chose Crete, specifically, for the Blue Palace, and because of our Platinum status. We did not get any upgrade, but I understand "upon availability". Even when upgrades are not available, there is usually a graciousness, on arrival, and a desire to accommodate wherever possible. This property usually includes breakfast with basic rates, Because we were staying on a "cash and points" basis, our Platinum status only covered the amenity breakfast on one room, and they charged for the second room. I since learned they had every right to do so, but in all my years with SPG no property has ever done so. I guess I have become spoiled. On our same trip, another Starwood property, that could not upgrade us, surprised us with a bottle of wine in our room. This to me, is the Starwood way. September 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Paradise Revisted Every time we go to the Blue Palace, we never want to leave! We achieve total relaxation the whole time, Our rooms are always very comfortable with heavenly beds. We enjoy a private pool with the most scenic views in the world. Every night we begin our evening at Arsenali Bar where Nektarios and Kostas will make any drink to accommodate your wishes. The piano player, Yianni, plays very relaxing music. Our family met there every evening to socialize before we went to one of the resort's restaurants. Our favorites are the Blue Door and Flame. The staff seldom changes and the service and food are always excellent, especially the grilled octopus! We try to visit 2 places in Europe every year. The Blue Palace is always top on our list! July 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by General comments Being in a bungalow was somewhat inconvenient The young staff was very polite (Dino concierge was excellent)and helpful and the hotel is well coordinated for car and taxi service Not used to rocky beach. Restaurants : Flame was good, Blue Door and Isola were average. Breakfast was comprehensive and staff was friendly. Plunge pool very good, but towels and robes need to be softer August 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Resort A beautiful resort with a fantastic view.Rooms are very spacious and comfortable. Restaurant service and food were very good. Pool/beach bathroom could use some care in cleanliness and maintenance but all others very nice. Staff are very friendly and helpful but beach staff could be a little more attentive. Although the spa looked gorgeous but we did not utilize it. A charge for our child to have a cot each not was high. I have never had to pay for him anywhere else. August 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Heaven This is the place to stay in Crete. It was the highlight of our vacation. I wish I could live there! August 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nearly perfect !! Would take too long to mention all the good things.( great food , staff very friendly, very good accomodation) Minor thing; 8 euro for 1 h of (slow) WIFI is a lack!.( or 50 euro for the whole stay) Maybe some coffee on the room... August 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great place with some quirks... The Blue Palace is an expansive place, and our room was a suite with a bedroom and living room separated by a private pool. We had two exquisite bathrooms, however the secondary bathroom had absolutely no place to hang a towel or a bathrobe. The closets were spacious, but did not hold any extra blankets. And for all the people working in the lobby, our driver was present for 20 minutes before anyone connected us with him. But the breakfast is incredible, with champagne, the long list of amenities are well kept and the overall experience was great. June 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has a great service for the customers In general, the services of the hotel for the customers are excellent and the staff is very kindly and excellent offerint to you all the help you need. September 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Start to Our Honeymoon We arrived early afternoon and our room was already available. Check in was fast, and we were escorted to our room with a brief overview of the facilities available. Reservations for dinner were easy, though we were told certain times were not avaiable, but when we arrived early to dinner, we had no trouble being seated. The staff was friendly and the rooms were well kept. Also very knowledgable on the area and places to see and explore around the island. Looking forward to coming back soon! June 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Arrival/Restaurants We arrived at 11 in the morning and our room was not ready, we had to wait till 3.30, what we think it was to long. Although I told the receptionist to call on my mobile if it is ready, they did not do. The Flame and the Italian were very good. Unfortunately the quality of the Asian should be better. July 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by restaurants there is 4 restaurants for lunch or dinner; if you stay 1 week or more -half board, as my family and my-is sometimies boring to repeat restaurant twice or three times along the stay. August 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great property, but PLEASE illuminate Spinalonga island!! We arrived at Blue Palace on the 15th of August, during the peak weekend of the season. Unfortunately my SNA certificates did not go through, as the property was running at 100% capacity. As a Platinum member, i received complimentary buffet breakfast and internet access. At the end of our stay, we were declined late checkout, but we were offered a courtesy room, in case we wanted to go for a swim. The property is great, featuring all necessary facilities for high-end leisure travelers and amazing views of the sea and the Spinalonga island. There were many families around (perfect for vacations with the kids), but the property is also ideal for a romantic gateway. The staff is genuinely polite and seemed to be very well-trained. During the first night of our stay, we had the opportunity to enjoy the Spinalonga island (that lies right in front of the hotel) illuminated. The view was majestic. Later, we learned that this was after the hotel's request, due to the presence of a VIP guest. Unfortunately, the second night the guest had departed and the lights were off. To our surprise, we learned that the cost for keeping the Spinalonga island illuminated for the rest of the season was just 2000 euros and that the locals were trying to raise the amount. I can not think of a better way for the hotel to cater to their customers and gain invaluable goodwill from the local communities than significantly contributing towards the illumination of this unique landmark. Tips for future travelers: The property is great, but i would recommend visiting the nearby villages also. Elounda is a little bit of a tourist trap, but Plaka is absolutely beautiful (walking distance from the resort). In Plaka we found amazing souvenirs and had delicious meals in great prices (do not invest a lot in fish, unless you can tell fresh from frozen). We recommend "Thalassa" in Plaka. Recommendations to the Management: 1. The breakfast is not up to par with respect to other Luxury hotels around the world. During the hot Greek summer, i would suggest providing a bottle of cold water to each table and having a second person to help Ms Sofia at the crepes/omelet counter. 2. The internet connection is slow and requires logging in every time the device connects to the network. It might be useful to upgrade the software and the network capability. It was not a big deal for us, as we spent most of the time outdoors, but i might be for someone else in the future. 3. Our favorite spot, the couches on the outdoor deck, next to the check-in counter go completely dark after sunset. We were told that you can not use candles, because it is windy, but you can certainly use some kind of artificial light to capitalize on this beautiful spot. Overall, it is a great property with a great deal of potential! Don't miss it!! ;) August 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent The blue palace was a wonderful experience for my family and I. Outstanding activities . Thought was going to be to remote but with planks and on site restaurants enough to do. My only complaint would be to get more cold air into funicular and lobby on ocean level. July 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Summer Getaway As per the previous reviews, this hotel is amazing! From the 4choices of different cuisine available, to the hospitality of each staff. Its as if they actually underwent training to keep their smiles for long hours! I personally had a lovely time there. Everything was perfect unless for one little thing. The wireless connection. I unfortunately had to carry out several video conferences when I was there so I opted to buy the unlimited internet package (at the time worth 50EURO). However the internet connection was barely there in the room and it would cut off every several minutes. If this problem had not existed this would be the best hotel I have stayed in. Besides the problem above this hotel definitely deserves its 5stars. Thanks for the lovely experience September 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff Friendliness is Exceptional Blu Palace was amazing! Our room was large, cleanliness was exceptional. The entire hotel was beautiful, well done, beach was gorgeous. Staff always went out of their way to help you, always asking if you needed anything. The cleaning staff were so great, cleaning twice a day. The food was amazing, especially the breakfast buffet and the Greek restaurant! Wow! Love it. The Spa is wonderful, use the Hydrotherapy pool after a massage! You really don't have to leave, just relax!! June 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Fantastic location, poor service The location of this place is truely perfect, amazing sea views, nice beach, small local restaurants within short walking distance. The property has a SPA, quite good equiped gym and a professional but expensive center. Sun beds on the beach are comfortable. Breakfast is of good choice, service is far away from exceptional during breakfast. The rooms are not worth the money, quite old but clean. The private pool is indeed far away from private, I would even not call the room a bungalow, sea view pretty much depends on the building/barrier in front of view. Service is the worst I have ever seen in a hotel of this category. The standard answer is no and they stick to the minimum they need to deliver. Sorting out a room key issue took half an hour without any sorry, Coffee machine unavailable, kettle with instant coffee against a fee which is for this kind of hotel ridiculous, .... Platinum recognition is the worst I experienced at Starwood so far. I indicated the issues in two surveys, one during and one after the stay with the request to discuss all the issues we had, got a standard answer weeks later, one you can google on the Internet. I cannot recommend this place, in my eyes a waste of money and not on Starwood standards. August 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The hotel did not know about our honeymoon package We booked the honeymoon package but for some reason, the hotel was unaware and we had to repeatedly remind the staff of the things included in our package. And even after reminding the staff several times, out check out bill still included things that were included in our package. Other than that, the hotel was very relaxing. July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding staff We were most impressed by the staff who could not have been kinder or more helpful to a couple of oldies Having been on several cruises where a discretionary amount was added to the bill in lieu of tips and then shared by the whole staff, i assumed we could do this here. This seemed particularly appropriate for flexidining where a percentage of the restaurant bill would vary depending on whether we were on HB or B&B However this did not suit the system which is geared to tipping each service separately October 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Blue Palace-a magical place All this 7 days that i enjoy the view of sea, mediterranean food, i felt amazing. The stuff were so sociable, and kind. I guess this vacation will be memored like one of my favourite holidays. And of course im gonna come back next summer with pleasure :) Thank you July 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel and Resort We stayed at the Blue Palace Hotel for our honeymoon and had a wonderful time! The room, facilities, services, and amenities were superb. Everyone was so friendly, helpful, and accommodating. The view is spectacular! We also had a nice excursion to the nearby historical island, Spinalonga. We recommend this hotel very highly. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable! June 22, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>