Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Elounda

  • P.O. Box 38
  • Elounda,
  • Crete
  • 72053
  • Greece
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 117 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superb! A feast for the eyes, the mind, the body, and the soul! Beautifully maintained and staffed. Gracious and kind service with a friendly yet professional staff whose interest in your well being is genuine. July 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Resort with a real customer experience Beautiful resort, breathtaking views, excellent customer experience, good food, kids friendly. July 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Blue Palace-a magical place All this 7 days that i enjoy the view of sea, mediterranean food, i felt amazing. The stuff were so sociable, and kind. I guess this vacation will be memored like one of my favourite holidays. And of course im gonna come back next summer with pleasure :) Thank you July 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The hotel did not know about our honeymoon package We booked the honeymoon package but for some reason, the hotel was unaware and we had to repeatedly remind the staff of the things included in our package. And even after reminding the staff several times, out check out bill still included things that were included in our package. Other than that, the hotel was very relaxing. July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gorgeous We were in a sea view suite which was great. One of the best rooms I was ever in. Loved all the facilities.Restaurants are very overpriced and so we walked to the village next door for dinners. The hotels Greek tavern is reasonable and lovely for lunch.Breakfast is great. What we didn't like is everytime there was a power surge, the TVs turned on and woke us up. the front desk people were nice enough but poorly trained and every experience with them was n some way frustrating. Charging 50 euros for in room internet was not appreciated but the free wifi in the lobby worked reasonably well. Basic SPG card gets one nothing. July 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great view Great view of the Spinalonga island, very private environment, and good restaurants July 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff in the restaurants Our Hotel ist perfect The Place ist perfect But any Staff in the restaurants are unfrendly..... June 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a great stay We were disappointed in the staff, the beach drinks were bad, made from mixes, and the buffet food was cold. it took two calls to the operator to get anything - like ice. At one point it took 45 minutes to get towels at the pool. June 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Welcome Rest after a long journey We loved this resort and found the service to be excellent. The hotel was our last stop on a series of island tours in Greece. The staff met every need we had and we found the service to be excellent in every respect. Highly recommended for families traveling together. We will go again to Crete and will stay at the hotel again if possible. June 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 3rd visit there We keep coming back, the place allows me to take a breath after a day to life of stress and commotion. You will open your curtains every morning and be awestruck by the beauty of your surroundings. The only noise you'll hear is that of a fishing boat chugging past in the sea below. June 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by "Paradise Found" The perfect place in the perfect location. Incredible views with easy access to the local village at Plaka and short taxi ride to some excellent gastro taverns in Elounda. However the real standout for us at the Blue Palace were the staff. This is what really matters. Always friendly and keen to help from housekeeping, bars, restaurants, concierge and front reception. As a very frequent traveller, service is absolutely key and this hotel just delivered in spades. Like any place there are always small niggles (e.g. need better cardio machines in gym, better coffee in restaurants), but if the aim is to relax and enjoy good quality family time, look no further. Besides the general hotel facilities, my wife loved the spa treatments and staff there and i enjoyed the challenge of enduring the super powerful water jets in the thalasso pool. There was also a good array of water sports and top range boats (Mastercraft) for waterskiing. Go back?...My wife is already pestering me but you would also be hard pressed stopping me. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel and Resort We stayed at the Blue Palace Hotel for our honeymoon and had a wonderful time! The room, facilities, services, and amenities were superb. Everyone was so friendly, helpful, and accommodating. The view is spectacular! We also had a nice excursion to the nearby historical island, Spinalonga. We recommend this hotel very highly. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable! June 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic hotel Great hotel with amazing staff. Perfect for relaxing holidays or seminars. Beautiful part of Crete full of local culture. Highly recommended. June 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Start to Our Honeymoon We arrived early afternoon and our room was already available. Check in was fast, and we were escorted to our room with a brief overview of the facilities available. Reservations for dinner were easy, though we were told certain times were not avaiable, but when we arrived early to dinner, we had no trouble being seated. The staff was friendly and the rooms were well kept. Also very knowledgable on the area and places to see and explore around the island. Looking forward to coming back soon! June 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Luxurious hotel for a relaxing break We had a lovely time again at this hotel great room and service very good. June 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just a few little niggles, but then I am an Old Man ! Our second viusit, and still the most glorious siutauation and the feeling of being in a very well run establishment BUT :- 1 The drections for driving.. it said "left at first traffic Light".. Fine, and then "right at second traffic light"... now if it had said "right at church" we would not have lost an hour going up into the Hills !. 2. The shades on the terrace by the hotel, are much too small and only cover part of one partnert (if there are 2 of you) 3. loungers on same terrace are very heavy to move, and no one around to help 4. kids have their own pool on beach so why not ban the under 12/s from the terrace June 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff Friendliness is Exceptional Blu Palace was amazing! Our room was large, cleanliness was exceptional. The entire hotel was beautiful, well done, beach was gorgeous. Staff always went out of their way to help you, always asking if you needed anything. The cleaning staff were so great, cleaning twice a day. The food was amazing, especially the breakfast buffet and the Greek restaurant! Wow! Love it. The Spa is wonderful, use the Hydrotherapy pool after a massage! You really don't have to leave, just relax!! June 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great before, disappointing this year We have visited Blue Palace in May for 10 nights for 4 (possibly 5) years and occasionally in September for relaxation and good dining. We usually book with Sovereign and, having had the half-board dine-around 'upgrade' in previous years (the inclusive buffet not being operational other than for breakfast -which is great), had an expectation of dine-around. However, this year, although paying a similar price, we were restricted (no notice prior to arrival) to the evening buffet that had opened for the first time in 5 years. Not good. We had the option to pay a premium to upgrade to dine-around (although included in similar costs previously) but this was poor value. Plaka provides better taverna food than the Blue Door for less. We like Flame and paid the upgrade to eat there. However, it was closed Tuesday, Thursday and Friday so we had limited access. As always, the team at breakfast, behind the bar, at Flame and on the beach, were great. A hotel of this quality should not lower its standards with an evening buffet offering. This is not a good experience and we would not have booked with Sovereign if we had been aware of this change, nor would we consider the substantial premium on table water and wine acceptable in a buffet restaurant. We were disappointed that repeat guests who had booked early with Sovereign were disappointed in this way. Other UK guests (Thomson) enjoyed the dine-around additional cost option for the same overall price we paid with Sovereign for 'complementary' half board upgrade. Blue Palace should have maintained dine-around for Sovereign guests who booked with this expectation. We feel let down by Sovereign and Blue Palace by the 'downgraded' half-board experience this year. NB Why did we get a room by the funicular this year (357) and why did the 'hostess' ask if this was the room we had previously......which it wasn't ? Anyway, we like the standard sea-view room and have never used the pool included in upgrades in previous years. However, being the poorest room available, apparently, it had not been used this season and there were issues with the shower and toilet because of this. These were dealt with...... but why allocate a room that has not been serviced since last season to repeat guests? Also, the reason for our stay is not recognised in this survey and there is no 'other' option. Should we understand from this that a couple looking for a 10 night quality beach hotel holiday is not the profile of guests you wish to attract? June 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great place with some quirks... The Blue Palace is an expansive place, and our room was a suite with a bedroom and living room separated by a private pool. We had two exquisite bathrooms, however the secondary bathroom had absolutely no place to hang a towel or a bathrobe. The closets were spacious, but did not hold any extra blankets. And for all the people working in the lobby, our driver was present for 20 minutes before anyone connected us with him. But the breakfast is incredible, with champagne, the long list of amenities are well kept and the overall experience was great. June 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by staff is rude The staff is not really nice is this hotel May 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This was good but needed some love. Was disappointed in spa services. Half the amenities were not working. May 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Highly recommended We stayed for a week with our 10 month old son and were very impressed. The resort is very well designed and run and seems very new still. We stayed in a deluxe suite and loved the private pool. The staff are what made it so enjoyable for us, nothing was a problem. We particularly loved two of the staff in the buffet restaurant, Aspasia and George the maître d who made us feel so welcome and were really lovely to our son. May 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Heavenly Let me start by writing that I am a harsh critic and it takes something really special to get me to gush but the Blue Palace deserves that honour. This place has so many positives it is difficult to do justice to them all, but I will try. 1. Staff are outstanding, friendly, heartfelt. Nothing is too much trouble and you feel really welcome being here. 2. Starwood recognition is brilliant although all rooms and suites have views to die for. 3. Location. May be a challenge getting here but once here the views are some of the best any where in the world, and the little town of Plaka, 5 minutes walk has tavernas unspoilt by tourism and you must try some of them. 4. Facilities are great with a good choice of 5 restaurants , all different themes, and not overpriced, although Plaka is better value for Greek food. One small and tiny criticism is please update the fitness centre. Lots of space and no reason not to have decent up to date treadmills and cross trainers. We stayed here 4 nights and it wasn't long enough. I would return here without hesitation and anyone reading this review should seriously put the Blue Palace as a must stay. Bravo to Starwood , Plaka, all the wonderful staff and Crete for the inspired culture and scenery. May 1, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed We arrived at the Blue Palace for the second week of our two-week honeymoon in Greece, following the first week in Santorini (which was incredible, in case anyone is wondering). We were very much looking forward to the SPG luxury we know and love (being a gold member), and arrived to the hotel after a long ferry ride around 10pm. We got to our "upgraded" room, and I was immediately upset. The room was dingy, dark and small, and the private pool was anything but. I could see the entire pools of both neighboring rooms, along with their balconies - even their underoos hanging out to dry. Either way, we were tired and decided to get room service and figure the room out later. We ordered simple items: a Greek salad, margarita pizza and some kind of pita bread sampler. It arrived about 30 minutes later, and was a huge disappointment. The Greek salad was pathetic, with bland cheese (not at all feta) and huge smelly white onions... nothing like what we had in Santorini. The margarita pizza was a joke..a frozen pizza would have been worlds better. We ate very little and went to bed, hoping that it was just the day of travel that had gotten us down. Sadly, we were wrong. Each day at the Blue Palace was worse than the last, and by the time we left, we felt as though we were nothing but an inconvenience to the hotel. We spent our days finding ways to avoid the hotel at all costs -- let me clarify, not because of costs -- to avoid the rude and unhelpful staff, the filthy rooms, and the overall unpleasant vibe that permeated every inch of this large and expansive "resort." Coming from Perivolas in Santorini made this all the more shocking and downright sad. This was our honeymoon, after all, and the Blue Palace couldn't have cared less. The staff here act like they are tyrannical camp counselors -- they make the rules, they care one bit that you paid and took time off from your job to be here... you couldn't even bring a drink from one bar to another (one of their bars, to another!). A complete waste of money and time -- even causing us to cancel our SPG reservation in Athens for the following week. No chance we are staying at another of their accommodations, and I will be booking elsewhere for my professional travel. It's a good thing we really like each other and can have fun no matter the situation -- Elounda and Plaka made up for the terrible experience we had at the Blue Palace, but I do hope that others take this for a warning. October 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by VERY POSSIBLY HEAVEN ON EARTH OVERALL IMPRESSION: Rarely do I find property so beautiful that I have no desire even to explore the surrounding area - even more rarely to I enjoy a room so much that I don’t even care to explore the property...this is that kind of place! SPG RECOGNITION: As this was an important romantic holiday, I used Suite Certificates and they were very well spent - we were upgraded to a duplex suite with balcony, terrace and - wonder of wonders - our own private pool. Lovely in-room amenity and careful attention to the requests posited by our SPG Ambassador. Complimentary thalassotherapy session. THE ROOM: So pleasant and so beautifully decorated that we were happy to spend all day every day for five days ... in our room! LOCATION: Other-worldly gorgeous setting along the hillside of Elounda Bay with a full-frontal view of the Spinalonga Island. A bit remote but - who cares - we never felt the need to leave the resort. You absolutely need a car and plan on a good 90 minutes from Heraklion port or airport. EXCEEDED EXPECTATIONS: A beautiful selection of activities from beach to pool to spa to sports. Fantastic array of dining possibilities but we fell in love with the Greek Taverna directly on the beach and ended up eating there most nights. Seafood was spectacular, setting incomparable and the waitresses were straight out of an Almodovar film...we loved them! Breakfast spread was incredible...I loved the Cretan specialties featured. DID NOT MEET EXPECTATIONS: One tiny criticism - the lack of loungers available on the beach and the first come, first served system which required a crack-of-dawn trek down to the beach to stake a claim. With our own pool and sea view, we didn’t even bother. ONE THING TO KNOW: Perfect for a honeymoon or rekindling romance. September 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Quiet, restful, great views, good food Spent 6 nights at Blue Palace to rest up before my annual month-long tour of Europe. Yes, it's important that you obtain a good room, away from the noisier aspects of the resort. That said, a great deal of quiet relaxation in the sun can be had, with great views, a clean beach, and the availability of superior food and wine. Reasonable access by car to nearby towns. Found a wonderful family-run restaurant on the Plaka. Resort staff was also above average, in my view. Blue Palace is underestimated in lots of other reviews I have read. August 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous spa Just returned from an unforgettable holiday in Blue Palace and can’t help writing a couple of words of gratitude: - great service everywhere starting from the reception and room cleaning to the restaurants, especially the Greek one : friendly, hospitable, helpful - just anything you may expect - FABULOUS SPA – highly professional and result-oriented staff, individual approach. Special thanks to Niki and Alma. Would love to come back. August 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trip of a Lifetime My wife and I are platinum members and have traveled extensively throughout North American and Europe. No place can beat the Blue Palace. This year we brought our family to be with us as we renewed our wedding vows. Through emails, we communicated with the hotel in the planning of the ceremony, including securing a priest, a photographer, a dinner menu, and flowers. We couldn't have asked for more perfect arrangements. Everything exceeded our expectations. The family was also impressed with the property and the friendliness of the entire staff. We also took advantage of water sports, swam in every pool, and the hotel arranged for a private boat and captain for half a day for us .One day we had a family day at the spa that was unforgettable! Our room was so comfortable and our views so breathtaking that we enjoyed room service every day for breakfast, ate lunch several times by the pool at the Isola restaurant. We loved the grilled octopus at the Blue Door, the friendly staff and romantic atmosphere of an outdoor seaside taverna. The steak at Flame restaurant melts in your mouth along with the vegetables which are grown on the property. The Cretan cheesecake is to die for! The Arsenali Lounge is a great place to relax, drink, listen to music, and gaze at the stars. We couldn't think of a more perfect place to take our family and celebrate this important occasion in our lives! Can't wait to go back!! August 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect get-away This has to be one of the nicest hotel settings in the world. Stayed as a Platinum member and was upgraded to a heated pool suite. Careful. Some pools are not heated. Great to have a private pool. The breakfast is nice. Great place for families or couples. Beware, not a sand beach. Now for the bad, the Internet is basically non existent. Don't even think about getting work done. No signal anywhere. None. And the concierge? Worthless. But that's why you have Google. I asked concierge for driving directions somewhere and she said- "I don't know. I don't drive or have a car." July 30, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't stay here if you are a Platinum member Arrived 10pm. Still took 15 minutes to check-in. Four employees present, only two empowered to do check-ins. Heard two other guests talk about being upgraded, neither were Platinum members. I asked to be upgraded (I had not used any points for my booking) and was told flat out no. I asked if they would check again the next day and was told she had to check with the 'invisible' manager. Was finally 'offered' an upgrade to a worse room that I had paid for so I declined. At check-in and on two later occassions I asked for a late check-out and was told they would get back to me, which they didn't before I again reminded them. The reply was flat out no. Besides the lack of both professionalism and customer respect, the property itself is below par. Walls are paper thin, if your neighboars enjoy watching TV, as mine did, you can hear the program through the wall. The Wi-Fi is crap for lack of better word, completely unreliable. Location is great as is cleanliness, but those two reasons aren't sufficient to choose this hotel. Stay somewhere else if you are a Platinum member or book this hotel through a touring company as that obviously secures you better service. July 22, 2013
  • 2015-11-29 T07:38:35.152-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_117, tr_117
  • loc_en_US, sid_1487, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>