Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Elounda

  • P.O. Box 38
  • Elounda,
  • Crete
  • 72053
  • Greece
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 nights, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book up to 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 105 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic hotel Great hotel with amazing staff. Perfect for relaxing holidays or seminars. Beautiful part of Crete full of local culture. Highly recommended. June 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Start to Our Honeymoon We arrived early afternoon and our room was already available. Check in was fast, and we were escorted to our room with a brief overview of the facilities available. Reservations for dinner were easy, though we were told certain times were not avaiable, but when we arrived early to dinner, we had no trouble being seated. The staff was friendly and the rooms were well kept. Also very knowledgable on the area and places to see and explore around the island. Looking forward to coming back soon! June 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Luxurious hotel for a relaxing break We had a lovely time again at this hotel great room and service very good. June 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just a few little niggles, but then I am an Old Man ! Our second viusit, and still the most glorious siutauation and the feeling of being in a very well run establishment BUT :- 1 The drections for driving.. it said "left at first traffic Light".. Fine, and then "right at second traffic light"... now if it had said "right at church" we would not have lost an hour going up into the Hills !. 2. The shades on the terrace by the hotel, are much too small and only cover part of one partnert (if there are 2 of you) 3. loungers on same terrace are very heavy to move, and no one around to help 4. kids have their own pool on beach so why not ban the under 12/s from the terrace June 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff Friendliness is Exceptional Blu Palace was amazing! Our room was large, cleanliness was exceptional. The entire hotel was beautiful, well done, beach was gorgeous. Staff always went out of their way to help you, always asking if you needed anything. The cleaning staff were so great, cleaning twice a day. The food was amazing, especially the breakfast buffet and the Greek restaurant! Wow! Love it. The Spa is wonderful, use the Hydrotherapy pool after a massage! You really don't have to leave, just relax!! June 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great before, disappointing this year We have visited Blue Palace in May for 10 nights for 4 (possibly 5) years and occasionally in September for relaxation and good dining. We usually book with Sovereign and, having had the half-board dine-around 'upgrade' in previous years (the inclusive buffet not being operational other than for breakfast -which is great), had an expectation of dine-around. However, this year, although paying a similar price, we were restricted (no notice prior to arrival) to the evening buffet that had opened for the first time in 5 years. Not good. We had the option to pay a premium to upgrade to dine-around (although included in similar costs previously) but this was poor value. Plaka provides better taverna food than the Blue Door for less. We like Flame and paid the upgrade to eat there. However, it was closed Tuesday, Thursday and Friday so we had limited access. As always, the team at breakfast, behind the bar, at Flame and on the beach, were great. A hotel of this quality should not lower its standards with an evening buffet offering. This is not a good experience and we would not have booked with Sovereign if we had been aware of this change, nor would we consider the substantial premium on table water and wine acceptable in a buffet restaurant. We were disappointed that repeat guests who had booked early with Sovereign were disappointed in this way. Other UK guests (Thomson) enjoyed the dine-around additional cost option for the same overall price we paid with Sovereign for 'complementary' half board upgrade. Blue Palace should have maintained dine-around for Sovereign guests who booked with this expectation. We feel let down by Sovereign and Blue Palace by the 'downgraded' half-board experience this year. NB Why did we get a room by the funicular this year (357) and why did the 'hostess' ask if this was the room we had previously......which it wasn't ? Anyway, we like the standard sea-view room and have never used the pool included in upgrades in previous years. However, being the poorest room available, apparently, it had not been used this season and there were issues with the shower and toilet because of this. These were dealt with...... but why allocate a room that has not been serviced since last season to repeat guests? Also, the reason for our stay is not recognised in this survey and there is no 'other' option. Should we understand from this that a couple looking for a 10 night quality beach hotel holiday is not the profile of guests you wish to attract? June 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great place with some quirks... The Blue Palace is an expansive place, and our room was a suite with a bedroom and living room separated by a private pool. We had two exquisite bathrooms, however the secondary bathroom had absolutely no place to hang a towel or a bathrobe. The closets were spacious, but did not hold any extra blankets. And for all the people working in the lobby, our driver was present for 20 minutes before anyone connected us with him. But the breakfast is incredible, with champagne, the long list of amenities are well kept and the overall experience was great. June 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by staff is rude The staff is not really nice is this hotel May 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This was good but needed some love. Was disappointed in spa services. Half the amenities were not working. May 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Highly recommended We stayed for a week with our 10 month old son and were very impressed. The resort is very well designed and run and seems very new still. We stayed in a deluxe suite and loved the private pool. The staff are what made it so enjoyable for us, nothing was a problem. We particularly loved two of the staff in the buffet restaurant, Aspasia and George the maître d who made us feel so welcome and were really lovely to our son. May 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Heavenly Let me start by writing that I am a harsh critic and it takes something really special to get me to gush but the Blue Palace deserves that honour. This place has so many positives it is difficult to do justice to them all, but I will try. 1. Staff are outstanding, friendly, heartfelt. Nothing is too much trouble and you feel really welcome being here. 2. Starwood recognition is brilliant although all rooms and suites have views to die for. 3. Location. May be a challenge getting here but once here the views are some of the best any where in the world, and the little town of Plaka, 5 minutes walk has tavernas unspoilt by tourism and you must try some of them. 4. Facilities are great with a good choice of 5 restaurants , all different themes, and not overpriced, although Plaka is better value for Greek food. One small and tiny criticism is please update the fitness centre. Lots of space and no reason not to have decent up to date treadmills and cross trainers. We stayed here 4 nights and it wasn't long enough. I would return here without hesitation and anyone reading this review should seriously put the Blue Palace as a must stay. Bravo to Starwood , Plaka, all the wonderful staff and Crete for the inspired culture and scenery. May 1, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed We arrived at the Blue Palace for the second week of our two-week honeymoon in Greece, following the first week in Santorini (which was incredible, in case anyone is wondering). We were very much looking forward to the SPG luxury we know and love (being a gold member), and arrived to the hotel after a long ferry ride around 10pm. We got to our "upgraded" room, and I was immediately upset. The room was dingy, dark and small, and the private pool was anything but. I could see the entire pools of both neighboring rooms, along with their balconies - even their underoos hanging out to dry. Either way, we were tired and decided to get room service and figure the room out later. We ordered simple items: a Greek salad, margarita pizza and some kind of pita bread sampler. It arrived about 30 minutes later, and was a huge disappointment. The Greek salad was pathetic, with bland cheese (not at all feta) and huge smelly white onions... nothing like what we had in Santorini. The margarita pizza was a joke..a frozen pizza would have been worlds better. We ate very little and went to bed, hoping that it was just the day of travel that had gotten us down. Sadly, we were wrong. Each day at the Blue Palace was worse than the last, and by the time we left, we felt as though we were nothing but an inconvenience to the hotel. We spent our days finding ways to avoid the hotel at all costs -- let me clarify, not because of costs -- to avoid the rude and unhelpful staff, the filthy rooms, and the overall unpleasant vibe that permeated every inch of this large and expansive "resort." Coming from Perivolas in Santorini made this all the more shocking and downright sad. This was our honeymoon, after all, and the Blue Palace couldn't have cared less. The staff here act like they are tyrannical camp counselors -- they make the rules, they care one bit that you paid and took time off from your job to be here... you couldn't even bring a drink from one bar to another (one of their bars, to another!). A complete waste of money and time -- even causing us to cancel our SPG reservation in Athens for the following week. No chance we are staying at another of their accommodations, and I will be booking elsewhere for my professional travel. It's a good thing we really like each other and can have fun no matter the situation -- Elounda and Plaka made up for the terrible experience we had at the Blue Palace, but I do hope that others take this for a warning. October 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by VERY POSSIBLY HEAVEN ON EARTH OVERALL IMPRESSION: Rarely do I find property so beautiful that I have no desire even to explore the surrounding area - even more rarely to I enjoy a room so much that I don’t even care to explore the property...this is that kind of place! SPG RECOGNITION: As this was an important romantic holiday, I used Suite Certificates and they were very well spent - we were upgraded to a duplex suite with balcony, terrace and - wonder of wonders - our own private pool. Lovely in-room amenity and careful attention to the requests posited by our SPG Ambassador. Complimentary thalassotherapy session. THE ROOM: So pleasant and so beautifully decorated that we were happy to spend all day every day for five days ... in our room! LOCATION: Other-worldly gorgeous setting along the hillside of Elounda Bay with a full-frontal view of the Spinalonga Island. A bit remote but - who cares - we never felt the need to leave the resort. You absolutely need a car and plan on a good 90 minutes from Heraklion port or airport. EXCEEDED EXPECTATIONS: A beautiful selection of activities from beach to pool to spa to sports. Fantastic array of dining possibilities but we fell in love with the Greek Taverna directly on the beach and ended up eating there most nights. Seafood was spectacular, setting incomparable and the waitresses were straight out of an Almodovar film...we loved them! Breakfast spread was incredible...I loved the Cretan specialties featured. DID NOT MEET EXPECTATIONS: One tiny criticism - the lack of loungers available on the beach and the first come, first served system which required a crack-of-dawn trek down to the beach to stake a claim. With our own pool and sea view, we didn’t even bother. ONE THING TO KNOW: Perfect for a honeymoon or rekindling romance. September 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Quiet, restful, great views, good food Spent 6 nights at Blue Palace to rest up before my annual month-long tour of Europe. Yes, it's important that you obtain a good room, away from the noisier aspects of the resort. That said, a great deal of quiet relaxation in the sun can be had, with great views, a clean beach, and the availability of superior food and wine. Reasonable access by car to nearby towns. Found a wonderful family-run restaurant on the Plaka. Resort staff was also above average, in my view. Blue Palace is underestimated in lots of other reviews I have read. August 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous spa Just returned from an unforgettable holiday in Blue Palace and can’t help writing a couple of words of gratitude: - great service everywhere starting from the reception and room cleaning to the restaurants, especially the Greek one : friendly, hospitable, helpful - just anything you may expect - FABULOUS SPA – highly professional and result-oriented staff, individual approach. Special thanks to Niki and Alma. Would love to come back. August 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trip of a Lifetime My wife and I are platinum members and have traveled extensively throughout North American and Europe. No place can beat the Blue Palace. This year we brought our family to be with us as we renewed our wedding vows. Through emails, we communicated with the hotel in the planning of the ceremony, including securing a priest, a photographer, a dinner menu, and flowers. We couldn't have asked for more perfect arrangements. Everything exceeded our expectations. The family was also impressed with the property and the friendliness of the entire staff. We also took advantage of water sports, swam in every pool, and the hotel arranged for a private boat and captain for half a day for us .One day we had a family day at the spa that was unforgettable! Our room was so comfortable and our views so breathtaking that we enjoyed room service every day for breakfast, ate lunch several times by the pool at the Isola restaurant. We loved the grilled octopus at the Blue Door, the friendly staff and romantic atmosphere of an outdoor seaside taverna. The steak at Flame restaurant melts in your mouth along with the vegetables which are grown on the property. The Cretan cheesecake is to die for! The Arsenali Lounge is a great place to relax, drink, listen to music, and gaze at the stars. We couldn't think of a more perfect place to take our family and celebrate this important occasion in our lives! Can't wait to go back!! August 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect get-away This has to be one of the nicest hotel settings in the world. Stayed as a Platinum member and was upgraded to a heated pool suite. Careful. Some pools are not heated. Great to have a private pool. The breakfast is nice. Great place for families or couples. Beware, not a sand beach. Now for the bad, the Internet is basically non existent. Don't even think about getting work done. No signal anywhere. None. And the concierge? Worthless. But that's why you have Google. I asked concierge for driving directions somewhere and she said- "I don't know. I don't drive or have a car." July 30, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't stay here if you are a Platinum member Arrived 10pm. Still took 15 minutes to check-in. Four employees present, only two empowered to do check-ins. Heard two other guests talk about being upgraded, neither were Platinum members. I asked to be upgraded (I had not used any points for my booking) and was told flat out no. I asked if they would check again the next day and was told she had to check with the 'invisible' manager. Was finally 'offered' an upgrade to a worse room that I had paid for so I declined. At check-in and on two later occassions I asked for a late check-out and was told they would get back to me, which they didn't before I again reminded them. The reply was flat out no. Besides the lack of both professionalism and customer respect, the property itself is below par. Walls are paper thin, if your neighboars enjoy watching TV, as mine did, you can hear the program through the wall. The Wi-Fi is crap for lack of better word, completely unreliable. Location is great as is cleanliness, but those two reasons aren't sufficient to choose this hotel. Stay somewhere else if you are a Platinum member or book this hotel through a touring company as that obviously secures you better service. July 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not what I expected Crete was part of my 3 island itinerary and picking Blue Palace seemed logical since it was affiliated with Starwood but I found it to be my least favorite experience. The staff members were eager to help, but they were more of a hassle than help. When you asked a staff member a question, it took 3 other staff members to resolve. If you decide to disregard my warning, make sure you stay on the main hotel side. We were initially placed on the right side, which was a far walk and buggy. We felt isolated and even going to breakfast or the gym was a major production. Our room was changed only after we alerted the manager that we found 4 hard-shelled centipedes in our room. It was pretty gross. And be careful swimming in their pools because I end up with pink eye. July 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxation and Serenity Spectacular hotel on a cliff with a funicular/cable tram that takes you from the hotel to the beach/lower hotel pool.Gorgeous view of nearby Spinalonga Island; a must visit. Hotel located near the fishing village of Elounda; a short walk and a must visit too. Hotel provided upgraded suite for SPG Platinum recognition with had a private infinity pool. If you are looking for relaxation and serenity this is your hotel. Service was inpeccable, the food was good. May 16, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Mice everywhere! This was the worst experience we have EVER had at a Starwood hotel regardless of class. There were MICE running around in the public areas. Disgusting. We booked as Island luxury suite with a heated pool, and were expecting a great experience. Instead, the room was very rundown (i took many pictures), and the shower was the SMALLEST shower I have ever seen. It was so small, i couldn't even shut the door. The 2 most basic items of a hotel room are to 1) Get clean 2) sleep. We went to dinner at Asia Blue, and our tempura shrimp was UNCOOKED. I took 1 bite of raw shrimp, and we left and ordered room service. I'm guessing the Greek economy is causing some major corners to be cut at this hotel. Worst experience in a starwood hotel I have ever had. Starwood needs to fly someone here immediately to address these issues. May 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The most amazing Resort Last May 2012 we got to finally stay at the Blue Palace. The unfortunate part was it was for one night, but a most memorable nite. They were under construction and we were given accommodations at another 5 star. We thought that resort was beautiful, but when we got to the Blue Palace there was no comparison. It was truly a Palace. The staff, the Room , the restaurant and the view was amazing. They treated us like royalty. We were tempted to cancel the rest of our trip and stay for a few more days, but could not due to flights and other circumstances. I am writing now as I still dream of the experience. My husband and I wanted to thank everyone for making it a worthwhile stay. We will certainly visit again. February 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful and relaxing experience We stayed at the Blue Palace Resort for 5 nights for our honeymoon. I used starwood points for my stay and we were upgraded when we checked in to a room with a private pool thanks to our platinum status. We also had free buffet breakfast during our stay also due to our platinum status. I have to say that this was the best buffet breakfast I have ever had. The view from the room was beautiful. It was a quiet and relaxing experience. Management surprised us with champagne and other nice gestures as we were there for our honeymoon. Attention to details like that definitely make a difference. We spent most of out time at the wonderful infinity pool near the beach. We loved the food at the Blue Tavern. We also tried the spa and got a couples massage. I highly recommend it! The only thing I will mention is that the service at the Isola restaurant needs improvement. We had dined in this restaurant twice during our stay and the service was very slow during both times. At one time we had to wait 45 mins for a pizza that we had ordered even though the restaurant was empty. At most places the item would be on the house if there was such a long delay. But, this wasn't offered to us, nor an apology when we had inquired about our food twice. Other than that, it was a great experience. I miss the Blue Palace and hope to return soon. October 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Almost perfect, but not quite We arrived hot and frazzled from the airport and the awfulness of budget airlines, to be swept into the professional courtesy and comfort of the Blue Palace. This is a spectacularly situated hotel in a beautiful part of Crete. The food was delicious and service excellent. Our room was lovely too with its own pool. This hotel almost, but not quite, gets a perfect score. Two problems for us were: prices in the bar which were eye-wateringly high and noise in the room at night from other people's TV's, etc. October 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unforgettable Experience The purpose of our journey was the visit of the art exhibition of Tsoklis in Spinalonga. The location of Blue Palace was ideal for this und we enjoyed an unforgettable stay. Hotel, location, ambience excellent and the staff the best we have ever met. Unfortunately we have stayed only 2 days. October 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has great facilities The Blue Palace is situated in a lovely spot, whilst it is quiet it is not completely isolated being next door to Plaka and not far from Elounda. The view to Spinalonga Island and out to sea is wonderful. The staff are incredibly helpful , polite and friendly, they think of the small things necessary in order to provide excellent service. The only drawbacks to the holiday were that we were initially disappointed by our accommodation having booked a sea view BUNGALOW, which is in fact a room in a terrace of rooms. The room was a good size and clean but the description of bungalow is mis-leading. It would be good to have a kettle, mugs, tea bags, coffee etc available in the room also. The other negative was the food. The food was good to average and could be improved, a pizza oven in the Italian would be a good start. The Asian Fusion really was not good and needs work to improve. The facilities provided were fantastic, plenty of places to swim, all water sports available, tennis, the spa etc but if all you want to do is relax and read this is a great spot to do so, the best of both worlds. October 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Generally speking it is good. The view is excellent. The service and the food good. I liked the Greeek restaorant near sea. Spa is definetly needs to improve. October 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding staff We were most impressed by the staff who could not have been kinder or more helpful to a couple of oldies Having been on several cruises where a discretionary amount was added to the bill in lieu of tips and then shared by the whole staff, i assumed we could do this here. This seemed particularly appropriate for flexidining where a percentage of the restaurant bill would vary depending on whether we were on HB or B&B However this did not suit the system which is geared to tipping each service separately October 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply fantastic!!! Fantastic week, great weather, great resort, great staff. The only bad thing was having to leave. The Arsenali bar was our favourite with remarkably attentive staff without being on top of you. Watching the sun set over Spinalonga in the evening was truly stunning. Highly recommended and will definitely be back. September 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unforgettable ! Being there for our anniversary we wanted something to remember. Well, Blue Palace simply made it easy !!! September 19, 2012
  • 2015-05-28T20:04:09.094-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_105, tr_105
  • loc_en_US, sid_1487, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>