Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Elounda

  • P.O. Box 38
  • Elounda,
  • Crete
  • 72053
  • Greece
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 117 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not what I expected Crete was part of my 3 island itinerary and picking Blue Palace seemed logical since it was affiliated with Starwood but I found it to be my least favorite experience. The staff members were eager to help, but they were more of a hassle than help. When you asked a staff member a question, it took 3 other staff members to resolve. If you decide to disregard my warning, make sure you stay on the main hotel side. We were initially placed on the right side, which was a far walk and buggy. We felt isolated and even going to breakfast or the gym was a major production. Our room was changed only after we alerted the manager that we found 4 hard-shelled centipedes in our room. It was pretty gross. And be careful swimming in their pools because I end up with pink eye. July 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxation and Serenity Spectacular hotel on a cliff with a funicular/cable tram that takes you from the hotel to the beach/lower hotel pool.Gorgeous view of nearby Spinalonga Island; a must visit. Hotel located near the fishing village of Elounda; a short walk and a must visit too. Hotel provided upgraded suite for SPG Platinum recognition with had a private infinity pool. If you are looking for relaxation and serenity this is your hotel. Service was inpeccable, the food was good. May 16, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Mice everywhere! This was the worst experience we have EVER had at a Starwood hotel regardless of class. There were MICE running around in the public areas. Disgusting. We booked as Island luxury suite with a heated pool, and were expecting a great experience. Instead, the room was very rundown (i took many pictures), and the shower was the SMALLEST shower I have ever seen. It was so small, i couldn't even shut the door. The 2 most basic items of a hotel room are to 1) Get clean 2) sleep. We went to dinner at Asia Blue, and our tempura shrimp was UNCOOKED. I took 1 bite of raw shrimp, and we left and ordered room service. I'm guessing the Greek economy is causing some major corners to be cut at this hotel. Worst experience in a starwood hotel I have ever had. Starwood needs to fly someone here immediately to address these issues. May 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The most amazing Resort Last May 2012 we got to finally stay at the Blue Palace. The unfortunate part was it was for one night, but a most memorable nite. They were under construction and we were given accommodations at another 5 star. We thought that resort was beautiful, but when we got to the Blue Palace there was no comparison. It was truly a Palace. The staff, the Room , the restaurant and the view was amazing. They treated us like royalty. We were tempted to cancel the rest of our trip and stay for a few more days, but could not due to flights and other circumstances. I am writing now as I still dream of the experience. My husband and I wanted to thank everyone for making it a worthwhile stay. We will certainly visit again. February 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful and relaxing experience We stayed at the Blue Palace Resort for 5 nights for our honeymoon. I used starwood points for my stay and we were upgraded when we checked in to a room with a private pool thanks to our platinum status. We also had free buffet breakfast during our stay also due to our platinum status. I have to say that this was the best buffet breakfast I have ever had. The view from the room was beautiful. It was a quiet and relaxing experience. Management surprised us with champagne and other nice gestures as we were there for our honeymoon. Attention to details like that definitely make a difference. We spent most of out time at the wonderful infinity pool near the beach. We loved the food at the Blue Tavern. We also tried the spa and got a couples massage. I highly recommend it! The only thing I will mention is that the service at the Isola restaurant needs improvement. We had dined in this restaurant twice during our stay and the service was very slow during both times. At one time we had to wait 45 mins for a pizza that we had ordered even though the restaurant was empty. At most places the item would be on the house if there was such a long delay. But, this wasn't offered to us, nor an apology when we had inquired about our food twice. Other than that, it was a great experience. I miss the Blue Palace and hope to return soon. October 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Almost perfect, but not quite We arrived hot and frazzled from the airport and the awfulness of budget airlines, to be swept into the professional courtesy and comfort of the Blue Palace. This is a spectacularly situated hotel in a beautiful part of Crete. The food was delicious and service excellent. Our room was lovely too with its own pool. This hotel almost, but not quite, gets a perfect score. Two problems for us were: prices in the bar which were eye-wateringly high and noise in the room at night from other people's TV's, etc. October 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unforgettable Experience The purpose of our journey was the visit of the art exhibition of Tsoklis in Spinalonga. The location of Blue Palace was ideal for this und we enjoyed an unforgettable stay. Hotel, location, ambience excellent and the staff the best we have ever met. Unfortunately we have stayed only 2 days. October 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has great facilities The Blue Palace is situated in a lovely spot, whilst it is quiet it is not completely isolated being next door to Plaka and not far from Elounda. The view to Spinalonga Island and out to sea is wonderful. The staff are incredibly helpful , polite and friendly, they think of the small things necessary in order to provide excellent service. The only drawbacks to the holiday were that we were initially disappointed by our accommodation having booked a sea view BUNGALOW, which is in fact a room in a terrace of rooms. The room was a good size and clean but the description of bungalow is mis-leading. It would be good to have a kettle, mugs, tea bags, coffee etc available in the room also. The other negative was the food. The food was good to average and could be improved, a pizza oven in the Italian would be a good start. The Asian Fusion really was not good and needs work to improve. The facilities provided were fantastic, plenty of places to swim, all water sports available, tennis, the spa etc but if all you want to do is relax and read this is a great spot to do so, the best of both worlds. October 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Generally speking it is good. The view is excellent. The service and the food good. I liked the Greeek restaorant near sea. Spa is definetly needs to improve. October 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding staff We were most impressed by the staff who could not have been kinder or more helpful to a couple of oldies Having been on several cruises where a discretionary amount was added to the bill in lieu of tips and then shared by the whole staff, i assumed we could do this here. This seemed particularly appropriate for flexidining where a percentage of the restaurant bill would vary depending on whether we were on HB or B&B However this did not suit the system which is geared to tipping each service separately October 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply fantastic!!! Fantastic week, great weather, great resort, great staff. The only bad thing was having to leave. The Arsenali bar was our favourite with remarkably attentive staff without being on top of you. Watching the sun set over Spinalonga in the evening was truly stunning. Highly recommended and will definitely be back. September 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unforgettable ! Being there for our anniversary we wanted something to remember. Well, Blue Palace simply made it easy !!! September 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another great stay. This is our second visit to this hotel as we enjoyed it so much last year. The staff are all very experienced & helpful & the girls on reception & guest services look amazing and are very helpful & knowledgeable. The restaurants are all good, but we preferred the Flame when it was L'Orangerie as the fine dining experience was much better then. Special thanks to the Blue Door for making the eating experience so wonderful. The room was very comfortable and cleanliness was perfect. All our requests were dealt with quickly & efficiently. We considered that the sunbeds & pads on the beach are a little shabby & need replacing.This is the only thing we could find fault with, but wasn't really a problem. This did not spoil our holiday & we will probably be returning again next year. September 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel was above all my expectations We were in Blue Palace on our honeymoon and it was the best hotel for it. The room with private pool was a dream, the service was perfect, the food was great and the weather is so nice. Thank you for a perfect stay. September 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly staff and incredible facilities We spent a couple of weeks at Blue Palace and it was an incredible experience, we can't wait to return. The restaurants were amazing, the suite was fabulous with both upstairs and down being extremely clean and well kept, the private pool was fantastic and cleaned daily, and we also enjoyed a few "excursions" to Elounta and Plaka (the latter is even walkable if desired). We also used the fitness center each day, which was very nice for a hotel fitness center, and had a handful of treatments at the spa, which was world class. We recommend this hotel and experience to anyone that has the ability to experience it. September 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect I and my wife lived in the hotel for two weeks during our Hunny moon. Location, service and friendship of personal impressed us. The staff and me became friends. I enjoyed every minute. Restaurants and bars of the hotel are very good: good quality of food and good service. Very nice beach and SPA that let you to feel real relaxation. Breakfast was abundant and restaurant was comfortable. In general I can recommend this hotel and will come back again September 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Honeymoon This hotel was an amazing place for a great honeymoon. Wonderful views/facilities, and excellent recommendations and help from the concierge! September 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Vacation! Blue Palace is the right place to relax and enjoy luxury and privacy!!!The location is magnificent, the personnel are extremely friendly and heipful and the food is very delicious!!! I honestly recommend this hotel!!! September 13, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel; stunning room!! Truly a beautiful hotel with all the ammenities you could possibly want and a spectacular room. That said, I will get the neagtive out of the way to move onto the positive...I would have given a "5" if it were not for the check-in which was a disappointment. I start by saying that we had reserved a Suite "maisonette" and while I am not supposed to mention the price, let me just say, I expect more (far more) at reception. We pulled up in our car and no one received us (fine). While I walked into the lobby my companion (who is Greek) searched for a porter to find out what to do with the car so we wouldn't block anything. He was told that they were very busy, that he could just put the car off to side and if "he could please remove the luggage" the rest rest would be taken care of...not a good start. Upon entering the lobby one of the impeccable woman immediately greeted us, served us some water and when I said my name she "appeared" to know who I was. We had to wait about 10 minutes to be served at check in which I find odd, but when there we were efficiently taken care of. We were asked to wait while they organized things (I'm not sure what was to organize as we checked in at 5pm...hardly rush hour at the reception...). We had a walk around staying within earshot of the reception counter. Unfortunately, we ended up waiting more than 20 minutes (and onyl ater I went to the desk to enquire) for someone to take us to our room!! Yes, we had been forgotten...I am not sure how many suites there are in the hotel, but I find this shameful. And this was my impression of the service in the hotel overall: Spotty. For every incredibly capable (and friendly) professional in the hotel, there seems to be an equally daft and far less capable one. Anyway, after this, everything looked up. I thought the room was spectacular and bathing in light, spotless as SPG properties tend to be. I would return to the hotel JUST to be in the room again as these maisonettes feel like your own little mini-townhouse overlooking the bay. Superb. As other people have mentioned, the "private" pool is not that private, even in the suites and is a nightime skinny-dip is a 10 second affair; not like at Costa Navarino where you cn hang out in your pool for hours But the pools ARE sea water which is great. The wind was buffeting the beach (wow...people weren't kidding!!) those days so the pool was a fantastic option to have. I know there are lots of complaints about the "slow" Iw as prepared and used it once...opting to take the stairs or walk. Things aren't that far!! Buffet breakfast was great and actually better than Costa Navarino as fruits were better and the variety of little pastries changed daily. Unfortunately my stay was too short to use the Spa, but it looked great and the Blue Door "taverna" looked really authentic but I opted to walk 10 minutes to Plaka to find some Crete traditional food (Maria's is the best option we found, and if you are lucky, she is probably sitting there in her traditional Cretan black dress and scarf). All in all I would definitely come back; and I would definitely stay in a maisonette again, where you can wake up with your feet literally hanging over the bay, looking out to spinalonga, with the sun shining in your face... September 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has a great service for the customers In general, the services of the hotel for the customers are excellent and the staff is very kindly and excellent offerint to you all the help you need. September 11, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Location...Location...Location We arrived at the Blue Palace for a 6-night stay after 4 nights in Athens and 4 nights in Santorini. Although it was close to 10 PM, we were warmly greeted and briefed on the facilities. The next day we were given a full tour and felt we had saved the best for last! Although all of the restaurants were outstanding, especially the FULL breakfast buffet, Asian Blue was our favorite for its variety and value. NOTE: We would recommend future guests plan their arrival for earlier in the day to take full advantage of this wonderful hotel. September 11, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Locations The hotel was everything we had hoped for in our 1st family holiday, great location, great hotel & facilities, great food.. The only down side was that the staff where not always as friendly as you would expect for a 5 star hotel... September 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by fantastic view great room . best view . really good food in the asian ,and blue door . breakfast was excellent every time . great staff , the beach service by all was helpful, no faults we done top man was your food and beverage manager ,special thanks to him . and the ladies who do the rooms .and the man in charge of the blue door .well done September 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great, relaxing stay! Had a wonderful stay at Blue Palace. Property and views were great. Stayed in a Maisonette Suite that had a private pool and the bedroom on a separate floor. Staff was great. Lina on the concierge staff was a delight. Always with a smile and willing to provide suggestions on places to eat and see. Was disappointed we didn't get upgraded to the Island Suite even though it was available during our entire stay as Platinum. The spa facilities could use a minor refresh. The treatment room where we had our massages didn't have sufficiently working air conditioning so it was a bit uncomfortable. Everything else was wonderful though. September 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Holiday Excellent location and service. The food and menu was exceptionally good in Flame and the Asian restaurant, the Italian was very good and the staff were excellent, the traditional Greek restaurant had a superb location and the service was excellent but we did not enjoy drinking the wine from 'traditional Greek shot glasses'. September 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Best location hotel at Elounda One of the most beautiful views ever, with great facilities and service. The spa was great, the outdoor pool was so big, the indoor pool at spa was amazing. The staff was very friendly, and the food, expecially in Flame restaurant was excellant. I recommend this hotel , specially for couples. September 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Summer Getaway As per the previous reviews, this hotel is amazing! From the 4choices of different cuisine available, to the hospitality of each staff. Its as if they actually underwent training to keep their smiles for long hours! I personally had a lovely time there. Everything was perfect unless for one little thing. The wireless connection. I unfortunately had to carry out several video conferences when I was there so I opted to buy the unlimited internet package (at the time worth 50EURO). However the internet connection was barely there in the room and it would cut off every several minutes. If this problem had not existed this would be the best hotel I have stayed in. Besides the problem above this hotel definitely deserves its 5stars. Thanks for the lovely experience September 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by beyond all expectations! welcoming reception, great breakfast, great facilities and nice rooms - we got superior bungalow and maisonette, very nice beach. blue door restaurant was great! village plaka is nearby with nice restaurants as well will definitely go back there again! September 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect! My wife and I loved our time at the Blue Palace. It is now one of our favorite Starwood properties. The resort is well designed and feels clean and new. The views are amazing, food and spa were great, the pools and beach were gorgeous (but a little windy when we were there). Our room was really nice, with a private pool. The towns around the hotel are fun to explore with wonderful food. The hotel suggested some fabulous restaurants and always ensured the best tables for us. You need to go across the water and walk around Spinalonga, a little island a few minutes from the hotel beach. We enjoyed that very much. Water taxis in Plaka, which a a five minute walk from the hotel, are far less expensive to Spinalonga than the water taxi on the hotel beach. We can't wait to visit the Blue Palace again! September 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very High Expectations As a Travel Consultant, my expectaions are very high for a Luxury collection-5star hotel. The hotel is beautiful with a great loaction.-The food ,the restaurants all great. The rooms are all nice however if you do not travel light, or you are staying more that 3 nts,do not book the entry level bungalow rooms. I believe there is something lacking from the upper staff (front desk etc.) Communication in english needs improvement. Had a great time but somthing was missing?? August 23, 2012
  • 2015-11-26 T19:29:27.479-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_117, tr_117
  • loc_en_US, sid_1487, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>