Convento do Espinheiro, a Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, Evora

  • Convento do Espinheiro
  • Evora,
  • 7000
  • Portugal
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 nights, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book up to 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 123 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by jewel in the middle of nowhere really recommendable point on the way from Lisbon to the Algarve. 3 km from the historic and pretty Evora. Converted to a hotel historic monastery. Nice pool, good breakfast. If ever I am in the area of 100% will choose Convento do Espinheiro August 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful staff The entire staff at this hotel is very friendly and helpful. They took the time to make sure that we were comfortable and answered all of our questions regarding the hotel and the local sites, as well as the food and unique Portuguese beverages. July 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Probably the best hotel I have stayed I have been to Beijing. And Seoul. And Hong Kong. Not to mention the hotel where the US presidents stay when in Rome. And Paris. And London, And Madrid. Not to mention the US; the last time I was at Comvento do Espinheiro, I was lucky enough to be upgraded to Room D. João II... Here is my feedback: if heaven was to come down to Earth, this would be the place! We had a gourmet lunch there that was outstanding.. Definitely the best place I have ever been. Ask for Mr. Diniz and he will show you the hotel with the full story of the history the convent. Not to mention pointing you to some of the best restaurants in Portugal . Honestly, I am overwhelmed! July 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic monastery hotel Very warm welcome upon arrival and from the first moment personal approach. Very comfortble hotel with dedicated, friendly staff made that I could really relax and 'load my batteries'. June 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pilgrimage to the Convento A little outside Evora, this hotel has such a sense of place and history, and manages to blend ancient and modern perfectly. The values of hospitality you'd expect are evident, and we felt staff went out of their way to acknowledge and appreciate our visit, down to a welcome bottle if wine recognising a wedding anniversary. Food was great at dinner and breakfast, and the pools, indoor and out, allowed relaxation and exercise. Pleasant gardens to enjoy too. Our second visit, and we will surely come again. May 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The monastery hotel A holy place made into a convent, made into a luxury hotel. Outstanding church and public rooms. Our bedroom was confortable and had a beautiful open view to the surrounding countryside. Would welcome more space for toiletries and the like in the bathroom. Welcoming and helpful staff. Enjoyed the daily wine tasting. Do recomend this hotel! May 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Service The staff were delightful and so ready to please and make everything perfect. Loved the (free) guided tour of this historic property and thrilled to be staying in such. It was also so quiet and peaceful. May 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gem in Evoras crown Evora is one of the most original and historical cities of Portugal and the Convento is by far the nicest place. The hotel offers all to travelers of all kinds. There is one snag: you need private transport because of the distance to the city. April 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect get away We spent a great week in the Convento do Espinheiro. The facilities and service are at the highest level. It is a large hotel but with a very cosy and familiar feel. You don't feel to be in a Hotel, it is like being hosted in a luxury Palace. The location is great in the Country side but close enough to Evora city for regular trips. We visited as a family with two kids 11 and 5, and they also enjoyed the stay very much. The only minor area for improvement is the Fitness Centre which is a bit small. But overall I could not recommend more highly. April 10, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs improvement The check in staff needs to alert guests that, during the off-season, the guest needs to tell the staff when they want to use to sauna, hot tub or steam room. We went there in anticipation of a great experience and all of the facilities were not turned up. The hot tub had cold water running through it, the sauna and steam room were barely warm. We were so looking forward to getting warm as it was very cold and rainy when we were there. March 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has very good location I liked the place where the hotel is located and pleases me very quiet. January 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by NIce hotel in a great setting The hotel itself is beautiful and in a great setting. It's about 8-10 minutes into Evora (8 euro for taxi) which is a quick ride, but I would have thought however that a Luxury Collection hotel might have a shuttle or courtesy car into town given the location. Rooms were large and balcony was very nice with a good view. The attached church is amazing. December 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Historic venue with great food Lovely hotel with great service from the moment you arrive. Out of town quiet location yet convenient for Evora and the motorway so only 90mins from Lisbon airport. Excellent, but pricey dinner menu, with attentive staff. Great breakfasts. Good facilities but imagine pool and small fitness centre could get crowded in the height of the season. No problem though when we went in November. Stayed in one of the old rooms which was large with a well-equipped big bathroom. November 19, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by The hotel has given new life to a lovely building There is room to improve the food with a greater variety of light Mediterranean-type fare for those who do not or cannot eat rich food or the usual American fare of hamburgers and Caesar salad. November 3, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by unique property This property is wonderful for a one or two night stay - we were upgraded to a spacious suite which was lovely. The hotel itself is well cared for and is situated in a lovely setting. Unfortunately, it is not that close to Evora and requires a five-ten minute drive. So, liked the property but not the location. If you think you can get up and walk into town or eat at other restaurants, forget it. October 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cultural Classic Thank you to all the staff that went out of their way to make this destination unique and enjoyable. Denis, Nuno, Anna and Richardo . You guys were the best! October 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel in a Truly Unique Setting This was one of the most unique hotels in which I have ever stayed. The history behind the buildings was fascinating as well as the free tour and wine tasting. We stayed in the new part of the hotel and the room was spacious and modern. The setting is about 10 minutes outside of the town of Evora where you can find plenty of restaurants and shops. The spa and pool are beautiful. The workout facility needs to be improved. Overall, I would give it a 5 star rating. October 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel This hotel is about was about 3 miles from the center of Evors and is a converted convent. The staff is very good and attentive and the room was beautiful, but what we loved the most was the tour and the restaurant. The 5 pm tour gave us a feel for the history of the hotel and ended in a wine tasting. The restaurant which was located in the old wine cellar had a great menu and the Alentejo and Mediteranean menu were subtly flavored so the freshness of the food was apparent. Also beautiful presentation. September 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super Nice Stay We stayed 5 nights with our 2 years old daughter and enjoyed very much indeed. All the staff everywhere we met were kind enough and well trained. The pools both inside and out side were perfect for our daughter. The room was upgraded to the heritage suite as well. We are sure that we visit again. Thanks! September 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing time at Convento do Espinheiro It is difficult to beat the experience of staying in an old convent which has been renovated with great taste and to the highest specification and has one of best customer services I have experienced worldwide. The hotel and facilities are of excellent quality and the staff very very friendly. I could not recommend high enough. September 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Why aren't all hotels like this? Stayed recently with 2 young children. Not sure if I can do justice but will try; - service & staff: extremely friendly and helpful - this is what made the stay such a bonus. Really felt like a valued SPG member rather than just a part of another loyalty programme! - food: excellent both for dinner and breakfast. Dinner not cheap but quality was great so no complaints. - facilities: indoor and outdoor pools great for the kids. We also used the 5-a-side courts for a bit of football. - room: fantastic and even better to get a little bit of history attached. Originally had booked a modern room but got a suite in the old part of the convent. - location: plenty to see in Evora, though unfortunately didn't have time for the convent tour/wine tasting September 3, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by great location and staff, food and pool average We loved the location and the convent's old building. Staff was very helpful. We were rather dissappointed with the food. Though nicely presented, we were not convinced with the taste. Combination of flavours that didn't harmonize. We had wished less overcreativity and more simple and straightforward food with excellent quality. The spa's atmosphere and treatment were very nice. Pool area and service not up to standards of a luxury hotel. Once we had to wait 40 minutes to get a simple salad and the other time we didn't even get the ordered food. Nevertheless we wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel, it's a quiet, relaxing spot, the convent's setting is extraordinary and there are plenty of interesting things to visit around. August 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel was absolutely amazing! My husband and I spent two nights in this magnificient hotel during our road trip to Evora and Monsaraz. It was absolutely amazing. The service was excellent and the hotel's history and setting are amazing. There are no words to describe this magnificent property. We felt like we were taking a step back in time, but with modern comforts. We wished we had planned more time to stay to be able to use all the facilities. Will definitely plan a longer stay again on our next trip. July 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fit for Royalty My wife and I spent a night here during a road trip through southern Portugal. It was absolutely amazing. The service was excellent and the hotel's history and setting are amazing. We felt like we were taking a step back in time, but with modern comforts. We wished we had planned more time to stay. Easy to find and not far from all of the amazing places to visit in Evora. It's just outside the bustle of the city in a beautiful rural setting. Will definitely stay again on our next trip. October 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely Experience This historic convent has been beautifully redone to accommodate wither you prefer the original parts of the building, or ultra contemporary style. We preferred the historic suite, which was regal in its feel. The food here is outstanding. Nothing short of one of finest dining experience we have had travelling Europe for years. We spent Christmas-New Years here and were made to feel part of a larger family. Lovely countryside, many ruins, castles and peaceful walks.l October 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Stay We spent a night from October 11-12 in this hotel. We had a fantastic stay: great room, wonderful food in the restaurant, the hotel is a destination in itself! We will definately return! October 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quiet hotle in a nice setting. Stayed at this hotel as part of a southern portugal trip. The setting is very quiet and the hsitory of the hotel si very ncie. Bed quality is very good. Used suite night awards for an upgrade, had expected a nicer suite from the description but overall really good value for money. A little challenging to get it warm enough in the large room. Breakfast was great. Both fromt he room itself as wella s what has been served. Staff at breakfast and at reception was very nice and helpful. Only issue was when we asked for help to make a restaurant reservation they almost booked us into their preferred restaurant instead of our preferred restaurant. Maybe a language issue in the end. Parking spaces were rather crowded first night, so luckily got what seemed to be the alstone. not sure what their backup plan for that is. Pools looked nice, did not try them out. Location is a bit ouside Evora, so take your rental car or a taxi for a shrot ride. March 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Immer einen Umweg wert! Wunderschönes Hotel in einem alten Kloster mit perfektem und persönlichen Service der Mitarbeiter. Excellentes Restaurant mit regionaler, aussergewöhnlicher Küche und wunderbaren Früchten zum Frühstück. Anstatt direkt von Lissabon an die Algarve zu fahren planen wir immer einen Stay dort ein. Sehr empfehlenswert! October 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Séjour parfait Hôtel à recommander aux voyageurs souhaitant découvrir la région d'Evora tout en bénéficiant d'un cadre calme, reposant et luxueux. August 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hôtel d'exception Séjour inoubliable, seul bémol la visite du couvent ne s'effectue pas en français, il serait judicieux de prévoir une plaquette dans cette langue afin de pouvoir profiter d'un minimum d'info sur les lieux June 25, 2013
  • 2015-05-27T20:52:23.303-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_123, tr_123
  • loc_en_US, sid_1553, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>