The Ballantyne, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Charlotte

  • 10000 Ballantyne Commons Parkway
  • Charlotte,
  • North Carolina
  • 28277
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 nights, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book up to 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 295 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel surpassed my expectations Food was served easily to a large group, and was very good. The staff was especially friendly. November 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice facility I asked my two daughters to go on a weekend get-a-way to spend time together. This was the perfect place for relaxation and convenience for us. We enjoyed the SPA and found the technicians friendly and professional. The only disappointment was the food. We ordered room service one night and the chicken noodle soup tasted like hot water with noodles dumped in. The Galley Restaurant was just OK food wise although the service was good and the waiters very helpful and friendly. I would say "work on the kitchen". Thank you for a nice stay otherwise. November 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Fall Get-Away I stayed overnight at the Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte this past weekend and had a very pleasant time. The special appointments of the room were what I expected, but I particularly enjoyed the view of the golf course. From the veranda, I could see for miles, and I was greatly refreshed at the end of my stay. As this was my first visit, I wanted to be wowed, so when I wasn't satisfied with my first room assignment, I asked for another and got it - with no hassles. That really made my trip. October 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice Hotel, Disappointing Experience The hotel itself is very nice. The rooms were nice and the bathrooms were large and well appointed. This overall review is all-inclusive of our two day experience at the Ballantyne Resort – which includes the Golf Amenities, the Spa Facilities, the Four-Star Gallery Restaurant, and the Ballantyne Hotel & Resort (part of SPG). As an SPG Gold Member who planned an extensive (AND EXPENSIVE) weekend for my husband's special birthday (to include private golf lessons, a round of golf, a full spa day, and several meals), I am disappointed in my experience. The golf lessons (via Dana Radar) are outside the scope of the hotel review - I'll just say they were great! The course is quite nice - though, there is no beverage cart. As a side note, the email link to contact the golf course is an invalid email – you have to call for any tee times or other needs. The golf course did mix up our tee time, but were able to eventually get us off to a quick start. Though, there was nobody to help carry our bags from the golf shop / cart area up to our car – so we did that ourselves. Lunch at the Gallery (a Forbes Four-Star Rated Restaurant) was mediocre - the view on the balcony was nice, but our burgers which we requested Medium (him) and Mid-Well (me) came out very WELL and dry! Plus, my onions had a short dark hair in them (I have shoulder-length blonde, so it wasn’t mine!). I told the waitress not to worry about it because we had a tee time in 30 mins and couldn't wait. As a plus, I liked the homemade jams the preceded our burgers, and the fries were good. So, our bill came, we paid with a CC and left. We were planning on doing the chef's 8-course tasting menu for dinner, but after that, I cancelled and we went offsite for dinner! For a special Birthday (surprise!) weekend - which I called to confirm these details - I was told we were going to be upgraded (as an SPG Gold Member) to a Balcony Room with a King Bed facing the Golf Course. We get to our room and it's a golf-view (with massive spider webs outside and a large spider living on the window – windows need washed outside, I also noticed this in the spa) but the room was subpar without the anticipated balcony. I immediately called the front desk who politely said they couldn't upgrade me (due to availability) to a suite nor could they get me a King balcony room unless we wanted to view the parking lot. Frustrated, I said no thanks – for his birthday, and after a golf-centered day on site, we wanted to see the golf course. Frustrated, I decided to called back and said fine if that was ALL THEY COULD DO, because the idea of breakfast on the balcony was part of the vision for the day. So, we waited until the bellman (Jay, who was very nice & helpful) came again to get our luggage and brought our new room key moving us to a balcony room with a lovely parking lot view. Hmmm... Loyalty appreciation, I think not! (Here's what happened… in my SPG account, my general preferences state high floor, king bed and preferably not adjoining rooms). So... for my VERY SPECIFIC reservation requests, they "assumed" my preference for a non-adjoining room was to be above my request for a Loyalty upgrade or the Balcony room. TSK TSK! (Now, they did have one balcony room facing the course, BUT, ONLY IF my husband and I wanted to sleep in SEPERATE beds!!!!) The spa - ahhhh! So you would think. It's a decent spa, and I like that they have working steam and saunas, but it's a VERY FAR cry from Grove Park Inn - which is my personal standard for best in class spas. The massages were very good quality (couples massage), and our pedicures were good (though my service provider arrived chewing food, said hello and really didn't speak or make eye contact throughout the experience). My husband's provider was warmer and reasonably engaging. We had pre-booked lunch to be delivered at the outdoor pool. Well, after waiting 20 minutes the food arrived after we (personally) hunted down the waiter who was delivering it to the balcony. Hmmm... The salad was enough for a total of 6 bites. Tasty though, just small. Though, not that unexpected for a 'spa' menu-salad - on the other hand, the Gallery made it. Not impressed. Our waiter asked if we needed anything else, we said - Yes, we each ordered alcoholic drinks (me the Ballantyne, my husband the Blueberry Basil drink.) He said someone else would be bringing that to us. We waited, 30 minutes after finishing our salad, still no drinks. We're at a spa, poolside, and ordered our drinks at 11AM and it's now after lunchtime and still no drinks. I guess it was lost in the mix because we had vouchers for free SPG Gold member drinks - but way to drop the ball Ballantyne! I went in and they tried to figure it out for us, they were very polite at the front desk. I go downstairs to change, and couldn't find an attendant in the oddly appointed greeting area downstairs to follow up on this... maybe THEY could help find our drinks that were MIA! So, at this point, (which is actually on my husband's Birth-DAY), he just wanted to leave. We changed, went back upstairs, and asked to check out. I asked the gentleman to just please see if he could get us our drinks and we'll take them to our room - at this point, our room would be more relaxing than all this frustration. He politely agreed and we proceeded to checkout. Now, as a plus, I had very meticulously planned every detail of the day for over a month. I spoke with a front desk (hotel) manager, and Lydia in the spa many times over email. Both were extremely helpful and accommodating. I would give the spa 1 star if it weren't for my prior/pre-experience with Lydia. Also, my masseuse (a gentleman) was great as well - great pressure and technique! Lydia had confirmed I could use my SpaWish gift certificates for our visit (the hotel participates in this program) - which I was grateful for! At spa checkout, I gave the gal my gift certs and paid the balance to the room bill. I got a call from her a few minutes after we returned to our room (after waiting for the bar to make our drinks - the Ballantyne was great, the basil one was disgusting and we dumped it). There had been a mix-up with SpaWish noting two of my vouchers had been previously redeemed - I took care of this with SpaWish separately and in the meantime the spa was very patient as I gave them different vouchers/gift cards to redeem so we were able to close out without incident. I appreciated their patience with this after the fact. Appreciatively, as SPG Gold, we were allotted a late 4PM checkout. We intended to shower and nap before heading to a different uptown hotel for that evening. We had a 6-course wine-dinner booked at Ruth's Chris which we were looking forward to, but simply wanted to stay closer to the restaurant Sunday evening. On the heels of all these aforementioned adventures at Ballantyne, we decided to just pack up and leave for our uptown hotel. Net, I've heard great things about this hotel and greater things about the spa & restaurant. I will say the golf (Ballantyne course & the Dana Radar School were exceptional!) But the GPI I benchmark it against puts it to shame. Overall, pretty hotel and the rooms are nice. The communication with the staff in planning this special weekend was rather exceptional, so I appreciate that! The Gallery Restaurant wasn't impressive (though, brunch Sunday morning - crab cake benedict - was very good!). Skip the Gallery for lunch though – I wouldn’t go back for dinner. Leading up to our hotel stay, I called on three occasions only to have nobody answer at the Gallery restaurant – and yes, it was during business hours. Hence, we didn’t do our Saturday dinner with wine and the Chef’s coursed meal… The staff/admin at the Spa were fantastic. Though, the spa as a whole doesn't have their act together. It is a very pretty spa with nice amenities, but when you stay at a Spa resort you expect seamless transitions. Our 'service' providers were late in picking us up for our treatments. One failed to tell my husband to return to the men's lounge where he'd be picked up for his next treatment. So... the Birthday Boy stood awkwardly in the hallway until someone kindly alerted me that he wasn't sure where he was supposed to be. So I went out to the hall (in the “quiet treatment area”) and let him know where to go. The transitions were poor between treatments! In fairness, I would like to point out there were a few people who were exceptional leading up to our visit – they were all thoughtful and timely with their follow-ups to my inquiries as I meticulously planned every detail. These individuals were prompt, professional and accommodating – so I thank them (omitting last names for public Yelp review cut & paste): Lydia (spa – she was especially helpful with my planning needs and questions), Carolina K. (hotel), Alan G. (hotel), Cameron B. (hotel) & Audrey B. (hotel). Nice facilities, nice people, but not an A-Class experience overall – you PAY FOR THE EPXERIENCE PLUS THE VENUE – great venue, underwhelming experience. VERY disappointed in the room problem (This was a BIG deal), plus I'd called and emailed three times to confirm this. Thankfully, we slept ok in our parking-lot view room, but missed our drinks with lunch and just had a mediocre experience overall. All in, after the total cost, I would rather drive a few hours for an experience that is far superior at the same price. It was worth a try since we're local... now we know. October 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sometimes a Cup of Tea in the Lounge Is Just a Cup of Tea and a Cookie Or it should be. A fancy expensive tea is not what is wanted. I am English and should know! Too fancy and too expensive, clearly why there is nobody there at tea time. Why not offer the Almond Macaroon Cookies as an alternative? Your restaurant does and they are spectacular. October 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfortable, friendly staff, upscale Both the rooms and the general area of the hotel felt very comfortable. The staff was exceedingly friendly and helpful. The location is great, close to lots of shopping and dining options and the golf course right out back. This was my second trip here and I will be back. October 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel Too far from heart of Charlotte because of traffic, so we felt like too much time was wasted on the highway, even though we were in a tour van. The food and service were excellent, though the restaurant was quite a long walk from our room. The spa was outstanding, our room was spotless and the view of the golf course was awesome. October 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Hotel I have stayed in hotels around the world for business purposes and this hotel is in the top group - well appointed, well staffed, well done! September 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by overall fair The hotel has great amenities pool, spa etc, however the room for the price paid was average, reservations attitude change noticeable due to the fact the hotel was booked via third party, menus at rest. not being changed timely day to night, made ordering correctly unnecessarily confusing for guests and staff, the courtesy van broken down, the error made at golf pro shop ref. tee time and no courtesy discount for hotel guests to play, very limited concierge counter service,made the overall experience a 6 out of 10. September 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by The best restaurant on earth The Gallery at the hotel was so good we didn't even go into town. However, I was not given the room I requested which was a balcony golf course view with king bed. Instead they tried to give me a first floor balcony looking at a parking lot. They did move us but only had a balcony with double beds. Then I was charged for a newspaper that I was unaware of - twice for the same paper. September 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Expectations My wife and I stayed over the Labor Day weekend with our niece and nephew along with another couple - overall we enjoyed the property and all the amenities it has to offer. The onsite restaurant is a great place for breakfast and dinner - the food is fantastic. The golf course is well manicured and setup for resort play - my friend and I played Monday morning - it was relatively busy - we were able to finish our round under the 4.5 hour pace of play guideline - their greens are super-fast and roll true. We used the in-house transportation shuttle to go to dinner one night and on the return trip back to the hotel our driver even stopped by the local CVS for us so my niece could get some much needed chap-stick. We spent quite a bit of time at the outside pool area - very well setup and clean. We did encounter the only rough patches in service here. September 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 25th Anniversary The Ballantyne is one of our favorites. We try to stay here 4-5 times per year for a short get-a-way. This year we decided to spend our 25th wedding anniversary at the Ballantyne. We had a beautifil room with a belcony overlooking the golf course. The staff and the service at the Ballantyne is exceptional. they pay attention to every detail. The food is exquisite, the service 1st class. I would highly recommned the Ballantyne to anyone who is looking to relax or a romantic get-a-way. THANK YOU for making our 25th Anniversary very special. September 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Guest Rooms The hotel and grounds are beautiful, but the best thing about the resort are the guestrooms with super comfy beds and great bathrooms. Love the deep tub and walk in shower. On this visit, our room was overlooking the 18th hole, which is a nice view. We enjoyed the indoor and outdoor pools, which had plenty of available chairs and clean towels. We enjoyed dinner on the veranda and the food and service were both very good. The hotel and Gallery Restaurant are great for a romantic get-away. August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent! This property is absolutely stunning with service that cannot be beat. The spa also has top notch service with upscale facilities. I will definitely be back and would absolutely recommend that anyone staying in Charlotte spend at least one day at the beautiful Ballantyne Luxury Collection Hotel!!! August 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Family Vacation This is a wonderful hotel in a wonderful location. I was very pleased with the hotel and staff. My only suggestion for improvement would be to investigate the increased time for taking an order at the restaurant. We ate in there twice with both times requiring extra time and "extra effort" to place an order. I would definitely return to this great hotel and even the restaurant. August 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not my best stay Having stayed at the Ballantyne multiple times in the past I was surprised with the lower level of service received. I will assume it was just a bad visit and look forward to my next stay. August 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolutely perfect hotel stay! My friends and I have just returned from the Ballantyne, where we had one of the best hotel stays any of us has ever experienced! Our rooms were absolutely beautiful, extremely comfortable, and had gorgeous golf course views. All our meals were delicious, while the afternoon tea was really a highlight! I can't brag enough on Sandra and Mitch, who took excellent care of us, anticipated and met every request, and went above and beyond to provide us the wonderful reunion we had! All staff members greeted us warmly. August 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Ballantyne was great! My experience at the ballantyne was wonderful! From the time I arrived the staff, spa,food atmosphere was simply wonderful. Also big acknowledgement to the staff at the pool. Anytime I need to relax it will be at the Ballantyne Resort! August 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is GREAT!! My daughter and I visited the Ballantyne in July for a weekend getaway. We had a wonderful time! Everyone was so nice and pleasant from the valet to the housekeepers. The food was excellent and the rooms were very nice. Our room had a balcony with a really nice view of the pretty green golf course. The spa services were exceptional! I am prior military and have traveled and stayed in many different hotels. This was by far the most elegant of them all. The managers went above and beyond to accomodate our every need. They are what makes spending time away from home seem like never leaving. They are truly wonderful at their job. I only wish there were more caring individuals like them at every hotel...they speak volumes for the Ballantyne! Managers, please continue to show that caring attitude and politeness you project so well. My daughter and I enjoyed ourselves so much that upon check-out, I booked our next stay in December right then and there! This time we're taking three of our friends with us...we can't wait! August 5, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel has declined since last year Since our visit last year the hotel has declined. August 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always Incredible! Every stay at The Ballantyne is a great stay! My only regret is I don't get here more often. Room service is one of the best around, even for late night dining. July 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is spectacular. The staff are second to none and the grounds immaculate. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always enjoyable Arrived for an overnight stay and was not disappointed. The hotel was professionally staffed. We enjoyed sitting outside at the pool. Staff there were quick to ask if we wanted anything and promptly brought us glasses of ice water without us asking for it. Enjoyed our quick visit and will be returning for a longer stay in the next few weeks. We really felt as if we were at a resort! July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the BEST hotel experiences in the country The Ballantyne Hotel, I must say is one of the best hotels i've ever experienced. Ive stayed here for the last 2 summers for at least 5 days each visit. The staff is one of a kind, the facilities are Top of the line and they are extremely kind and helpful. Its honestly like a 5 Star resort in the middle of south charlotte. I would definitely recommend this hotel to all who are looking for a great experience. Management was excellent and very helpful, front desk was very inviting and went the extra mile to give quality information about the area. July 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel This is a beautiful hotel with tremendous staff. July 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful July 4th Charlotte is a great meeting place for me, from San Antonio, TX and my daughters and grandson, from New York City. Your hotel provided a great stay. The suite was perfect. We had a lovely dinner at The Gallery Restaurant and then enjoyed fireworks from our 7th floor balcony. The pool and pool bar were where we spent our days. Perfect spot, my one year old grandson had his first experience in a pool and loved it! My daughter spent a relaxing morning having a massage at the spa and joined us for a fabulous brunch. Thanks to your staff for making this a GREAT weekend, we will be back! July 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Attention to Detail This hotel promises much but under delivers. The rooms are stuffy and don't provide modern traveller connections and lighting. They also have a dampness about them - no doubt from the quality of the air conditioning. The F&B service is below average for an establishment of this type and cost. July 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel This hotel is beautiful! My husband & I attended a family reunion in Charlotte and decided to stay at the Ballantyne for our own little get away. We very much enjoyed our stay. We had great weather and were able to use the pool (and pool bar!) for several days and we also enjoyed the spa services. The only suggestion I would make is to add additional restaurants other than The Gallary. July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service and features were the best We arrived for a brief getaway and found that we wanted to stay as long as we could. What a great hotel with a very attentive and service oriented staff. Facilities were great, amenities in the room were first class and service was perfect in all areas that we had contact with. I would specifically like to acknowledge my check in agent whose name I did not get, the concierge, Amanda, was extremely helpful and the hostess in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner was professional and friendly. Kudos for having a staff well trained in making your guests feel at home and special. My only slight disappointment was the lack of tennis activity which was a shame with the nice courts that they have. My wife and I look forward to our next trip to the Ballantyne. July 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has the best staff The receptionist was wonderful. and informative when we made the reservation. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are bright and airy, This is the second time we have stayed here and I would not stay anywhere else when we are in Charlotte. June 30, 2014
  • 2015-05-24T20:10:57.598-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_295, tr_295
  • loc_en_US, sid_1558, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>