W Retreat & Spa - Maldives

  • Fesdu Island
  • North Ari Atoll,
  • 09110
  • Maldives
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Guests must be over age 13
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 94 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply wonderful! Our stay at the W Maldives was splendid! From the moment we arrived, the sea plane check in, the lounge, to our very warm arrival at the W with smiling staff waving at you at the welcome dock area. Now, If you are someone who likes to be acknowledged everytime you go somewhere with a smile, conversation about your day and actually greetings with your names! you will love it here! The rooms are very nice, they are made up in the morning and there is also a turn down service in the evening. the mini bar is stocked everyday, you can arrange for a full private dining experience with your loved one or you can go to the many restaurants available. They work very hard to keep their guests entertained, from beach activities to a nice evening of music watching the sunset, to the underground club to drinks at the bar! Everywhere you go theres a smile or someone waiting to ask you how you are. Food: The food is great! & well Not so great for your waistline but awesome for a treat:) There are fridges all around the island with free icecream(3-4 different kinds), drinks, water!!! Can you believe that! in this warm weather, having these treats at your disposal is just great. Everyone was great here...we met so many awesome people. The day we had a complaint the manager and the GM attended to it with the utmost expediency and they completely catered to our needs. It was clear that their mandate is customer service and honestly with that, you cannot loose customers! The not so great experience we had was completely forgotten with their effort and hospitality displayed to rectify the issue. Please note though: That when you make a booking for an activity you are committing yourself and your funds whether or not you make the appointment. So pleaasseee plan wisely and only book what you will actually do & and wake up in time to participate in. The worst thing that can happen is making an appointment too early and not waking up in time to make it! (that happened to us :( ) Relaxation: We didnt have enough time to visit the spa but im sure it wouldve been pretty good too. Lastly the sea plane experience! was invaluable. I thought i would be scared but...far from it! the view over the various islands was beautiful. Special commendation to the guest services manager for being so helpful & making sure our entire stay was special. Also to the GM for taking interest in each guest staying at the W ...it goes a long way. Overall i would certainly go back there!!! our honeymoon was bliss! November 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice getaway The welcome greeting from the staff was appreciated, with a brief tour of the resort island and its facilities. The dive shop, Down Under is a good first stop, to get your snorkeling gears and arrange for dive trips. The staff are friendly and helpful. Did a refresher course at the house reef (my last dive was four years ago) and it's pretty good. There are mainly three places to get your meals- Kitchen, Fish and Fire (closed during my visit). As I did not have any sleeved shirt (I brought along singlets only during my Maldives beach vacation), I did not have a chance to try the dinner at Fish. Perhaps one suggestion is to have a separate casual dining area at Fish? The lunch and dinner menu at Kitchen were alright; the international selections are good, but the 'east' selections are far from being authentic, perhaps to cater for non-Asian palette. The Kitchen breakfast was pretty much the highlight where meal's concerned. The highlights were the resort itself (clean & well-maintained, the layout is superb), the 'wildlife' (the fruit bat, the birds, the turtles... all greeted my stay at W) and Sweet Spot (indeed, it's nice to just stop and have a Magnum or a cool drink). The front staff are friendly, although some times seem rather 'forced' or over-zealous. There are packages for dining, drinks, spa, etc., but they are remained as just 'special deals' and not 'good affordable deals'. I had a wonderful time at the resort, and would want to plan to visit again, perhaps for a longer stay (my maiden stay was 4D3N). Overall great great experience. :) November 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wooow - Probably the Best Honymoon destination on Earth ! It is hard to say in words what an amazing experience we got at the 4 days what we spent an Ocean Oasis. Unbelievable atmosphere, beautiful private apartman with own pool and with great Hi-FI and "signature" Music ! All of the Staff are just Great, and the Activities are awesome. Specially the seabob:) Breakfast and Dinner also excellent. However quite expensive, but It is worth every dollars. We arrived with great expectations, but that 4 days were better what we hoped! :) THANK YOU FOR THE 1000% HONEYMOON HIGHLIGHT ! I Hope we can come again Next Year! February 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by amazing the best Starwood property visited (after 1000 nights around the world) ! January 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by W retreats Maldives gave us a unforgettable honeymoon Me and my wife came here for our honeymoon, and W Talents and management have made this an unforgettable holiday, and made us wanna come back again, and also explore other W retreats around the World. W Maldives are simply amazing, all our demand has been made, the talents and the management are all great, love the food, love the service, and the room, When we thought the holiday can not get better, we got upgrade from paradise to Heaven (ocean oasis to Seascape escape!!) WOW! and the view are simply to die for!! we love every single minute staying this this island. we would like to thank, Chef Wolf, Marko, Haroon, whom made our stay wonderful, and last but not least Juan our diving instructor, gave me a diving experience of a life time!! June 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great W Experience We enjoyed our stay at W Maldives. Good facilities, House reef is amazing, Food options great, Most of the staff were good. Special mention to Ali, Faruk, Spa girls (Tirka, Davia, Angel, boss), Evgeni, Shuripa for being so nice to us on our stay. Also, the sweet spots were a great touch! Our criticism is that Welcome desk were not very "welcoming" with enquiries, ie. while with other guests, not able to notice guests waiting for service or did notice but chose to continue non-W related enquiries forcing a long wait. July 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beutiful location The food situation was not great. I do not like to have full price buffet as the only choice. Weould like to have the option for alacarte at times. Olso to have the kitchen closed every other day was a surprise. Really limits your choices of food. Olso the bedroom needs more lighting.and the stereo system was very complicated. Even the staff could not figure it out,so we could only use the tv. Olso,the day we arrived,the airconditioning was broken and was not fixed till late night.i wished it had been checked before we arrived. May 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing and romantic Fantastic place to stay for a honeymoon. Very private and relaxing, very romantic and a lot of fun. Lots to do and the snorkelling / marine life is phenomenal. Staff were helpful and friendly. Definitely try the sunset sailing cruise and my wife said the best spa treatment she has had. We will be coming back. September 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by W Maldives Best Place on Earth One week after returning from our Honeymoon we are still gushing on how ridiculously beautiful everything was. The staff went above and beyond from the moment they met us at the seaplane. From the GM (Jennifer) to Head of Operations (Steve) to F&B Talent to Housekeeping...This group pulled out all the stops. It truly is Whatever You Want Whenever You Want. Felt totally spoilt by them. Couldn't have ran into more friendly and genuine people....we truly loved our experience and would highly recommend it (actually we just did to this newly engaged couple). Everything is to die for...I loved our overwater bungalow and plunge pool. And yes some may think it's expensive but it's definitely a luxury that is worth it...in this case you truly get what you pay for. Sonji & George October 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent The island was everything we hoped for: beautiful, calm, relaxing. The facilities were excellent, clean and high quality. However, the best aspect of this hotel by far is the staff. They are super-helpful and friendly, and efficient. In particular, Harpal's Indian food was wonderful, and he was very friendly and took so much time to talk us through what we wanted and liked. That was a real highlight, and I will be recommending to my friends. The stay on Gaathanfushi was wonderful, too. July 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by “Excellent stay and most enjoyable time ” Superb property with excellent facilities.We stayed at the beach villa.We fell in love with the over water villa which allowed us direct access to shallow waters perfect for snorkeling. What really impressed us was the attentiveness of the staff and their professionalism ( Staff here are very friendly remember our name and remember my bf birthday :) ) Overall a very relaxing and most awesome vacation! Thank you W RETREAT & SPA - MALDIVES!!! Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple July 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by W is the icon of Luxury resort in Maldives W resort can not be compared with other resort in Maldives because W Maldives resort is very very special and luxurious. W has luxury guest room, and all of facility is very very excellant designed and nice. and The food provided by each restaurants are very dilicious. Expecially, The coral reef can be easily found in all of the part of in the lagoon of W Maldives Resort. It has very good underwater environment, so impressive. And the mangers and staffs are very kind and nice to to April 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Place Beautiful property with loads of water sports. The staff always courteous & helpful. The only minus point was a limited vegetarian menu. Otherwise top class facilities September 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by peaceful island enjoying my holiday very much. My girlfriend told me the spa is excellent. I experienced vibrant marine life from snorkeling. W island is a gleaming pearl when you look down from Parasailing or wateraircraft. I am regret that i did not go to fishing. i friend i met in airport who cathed a young shark in nigh fishing activity ( of course you have to released it). Fish and Kitchen's food is ok. WET is a good place to meet people and relax. i real dislike Fire's food due to the Scorched flesh. Also, the swimming pool in the house is not friendly, the pool wall is made by coarse material. i scrathed my back in the pool. anyway all shortcomings above can be avoid by yourself, But the beauty, elegance and style of W's environment is unparalleled. you must experience it by yourself!! Don't forget bring earplug when you take the waterplane July 29, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by The staff here is really not NICE :( I need to escalate the complaint, I would like to share what happened in W RETREAT SPA to your General Manager. September 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the water bungalow A very relaxing stay. Was upgraded to a water bungalow. The staff was fantastic especially Ms Ann Kashima who was truly outstanding, The entire team at breakfast was excellent esp Mr Faruk (i love his freshly blended juice and beautifully served cut fruits) and Mr Chiten the restaurant manager who is always engaging the guests during breakfast , as well as all the chef who takes time to mingle with the guestd. September 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Paradise We have been to 3 resorts in the Maldives and this a fabulous place to holiday in the Maldives if you want a place to relax in comfort with friendly staff, good weather and good food.This resort had everything we wanted and is very professionally run in a very friendly way. I Would definately go to this resort again and would not hesitate to recommend it as I don,t think there come much better than this one. March 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great experience from the beginning to the end. W is really a WOW resort, quality is outstanding in all respects I and my loved one visited for our 2nd year anniversary on July 2012. The first word from both of us when we step out from the sea plan to the jetty is WOW. Is W and is really a WOW. Really a paradise place on earth. We stayed at the Ocean Oasis (Ocean View). We enjoyed very much the snorkeling excursions straight from your Ocean Oasis Retreat. From arrival at Male airport to our departure the service was outstanding and well as the professionalism and the friendliness of the Maldivian staff. The staffs there are very friendly, helpful and the most important thing is they carry a great smiles with them all the times which give a very good comfort level to the guest. Keep it up! Services was excellent and food is good. We ate at both Fish and Fire which were both excellent. The breakfast buffet was very well done. A great experience from the beginning to the end. We will be back again :) January 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best place for honeymoon !! I had wonderful time in Maldive W retreat & spa for 4 nights. [04/22/2012 - 04/26/2012] It was my honeymoon. Thanks to the nice people and the best service, we had such great time and experience. Especially the fruit executive chef [paruk ?] and the manager [Vanus?] was very gentle and impressive. If I have enough time to go Maldives once more, I will definitely choose W retreat & Spa again !! November 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Luxury at its best! The W Maldives is a top notch resort hotel with excellent service and facilities. From the diving instructors to the housekeeper, everyone was excellent and made our stay truly memorable. Thank you again August 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by W Hotel It is very nice hotel i like it and they have very good sttaf in the hotel they make any thik for you to make your stay like nice dream thank you very much W hotel Maldives August 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by home away from home We were both so amazed at the service from everybody in the resort and how they all loved the brand W. No matter what we needed it was never too small a request and has resulted in us already booking to come back next year due to the people looking after this paradise. Recommend the water retreats and the fire restaurant on the beach along with the indian cooking lessons. April 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by The location was good,….but food more expensive than I would expect and on top of it the food was not really that great, only option for good food was the fresh fruit, and fish, other than that , it was average for the cost of the room and travel to get there. staff were all pleasant and very nice and did their best bottom line, its far to get to and would not suggest that for the price December 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Stay in W Retreat & Resort First of all i thank your Team specially Operation Manager , F&B Associate Noor & All Team Members Your Team make my stay sucessful i enjoyed staying such a place were i forget my home. Its like my another House. I will be choosing your Hotel as best Hotel i visited in my life. I always want to choose your hotel for staying. Great Really Appericiate. December 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by foods needs improvement variety of foods should be more August 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice, comfortable, might need slight refurbishment Overall that was nice experience. Staff super helpful, place is magnificent, clean. Breakfast abundant. I did not really like only two points: 1. some furniture was a bit too old, like from the 80's, beginning of the 90s (or at least it looked like that). 2. Staff was constantly passing through my garden - that sort of ruined the feeling of privacy. May 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This Retreat is good but not WOW - Food selections can be better. - Shouldn't be assigning guest a retreat that is near one that is doing renovation as the renovation seems to be dropping debri into the ocean, posting danger to guest doing snorkelling around the area. - WAVE staff is less than friendly. - Algae forming in the showers - Amenities in the room is good. November 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantabulous Stay! We had a great stay at W hotel and enjoyed our 4 nights stay to the max. The hospitality provided by the staff was great and attentive. The only disappointment was we unable to had join the Manta Ray excursion due to lack of people to join the said excursion. The foods/meal very good especially the Seafood Dinner. March 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Experience It's a wonderful and unforgetable experience staying in W Hotel Maldives. The envirnoment and the friendliness of the staffs are remarkable. Particullarly, staffs in Kitchen are so attentive to customers and the tasty food in the restaurant which are the areas that I highly recommended to others. September 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 Amazing Location As a travel agent I go away quite frequently, this one my favourite hotels! The location is amazing with great snorkelling every day. The food was the only thing I would suggest needed work, a lot of the menu options were very heavy with a lot of flavour at once. November 27, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>