W Retreat & Spa - Maldives

  • Fesdu Island
  • North Ari Atoll,
  • 09110
  • Malediven
  • Landkarte
 

Zimmer & Preise

Gäste müssen älter als 13 Jahre sein.
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 92 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply wonderful! Our stay at the W Maldives was splendid! From the moment we arrived, the sea plane check in, the lounge, to our very warm arrival at the W with smiling staff waving at you at the welcome dock area. Now, If you are someone who likes to be acknowledged everytime you go somewhere with a smile, conversation about your day and actually greetings with your names! you will love it here! The rooms are very nice, they are made up in the morning and there is also a turn down service in the evening. the mini bar is stocked everyday, you can arrange for a full private dining experience with your loved one or you can go to the many restaurants available. They work very hard to keep their guests entertained, from beach activities to a nice evening of music watching the sunset, to the underground club to drinks at the bar! Everywhere you go theres a smile or someone waiting to ask you how you are. Food: The food is great! & well Not so great for your waistline but awesome for a treat:) There are fridges all around the island with free icecream(3-4 different kinds), drinks, water!!! Can you believe that! in this warm weather, having these treats at your disposal is just great. Everyone was great here...we met so many awesome people. The day we had a complaint the manager and the GM attended to it with the utmost expediency and they completely catered to our needs. It was clear that their mandate is customer service and honestly with that, you cannot loose customers! The not so great experience we had was completely forgotten with their effort and hospitality displayed to rectify the issue. Please note though: That when you make a booking for an activity you are committing yourself and your funds whether or not you make the appointment. So pleaasseee plan wisely and only book what you will actually do & and wake up in time to participate in. The worst thing that can happen is making an appointment too early and not waking up in time to make it! (that happened to us :( ) Relaxation: We didnt have enough time to visit the spa but im sure it wouldve been pretty good too. Lastly the sea plane experience! was invaluable. I thought i would be scared but...far from it! the view over the various islands was beautiful. Special commendation to the guest services manager for being so helpful & making sure our entire stay was special. Also to the GM for taking interest in each guest staying at the W ...it goes a long way. Overall i would certainly go back there!!! our honeymoon was bliss! November 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by W Maldives Heavenly Stay We wanted to send a BIG THANK YOU to the entire team at the W Resort in the Maldives. Everyone was awesome. We really enjoyed our stay. We were at the resort in early October to celebrate my wife's birthday and our 6th wedding anniversary. The room was beautiful and the ocean view from our deck was stunning. While many of the suites are currently being updated, we were super happy with the Suite we stayed in. Right in the middle, facing the ocean. Snorkelling the house reef around the hotel is excellent. Lots of sea life. If you snorkel out to the tip of the Ocean Haven suites, you may see a reef shark or two, and hundreds of types of fish. One of the best excursions we had was to snorkel with whale sharks at Mama Gili in the southern atoll. There's no guarantee you'll see one but the trip was totally worth it. The team at the dive shop - Down Under - arranges everything. They were super helpful, and even lent us a camera as our GoPro failed on day 1. We were lucky on our trip and we saw a 5 meter whale shark. A real WOOOOOOOW moment! We want to send special thanks to our W Insider - Chunky Mathew. Ever happy, ever helpful. Everyone on the team was memorable for their helpfulness and happiness. We stay at many places, this team was one of the best in the world. Chunky and his team arranged a spectacular surprise in our suite for my wife's birthday. It was truly unexpected. Thank You Again - she loved the surprise. Everyone thinking of staying in the Maldives should strongly consider the W Resort, because it's a special experience. The W Team made the stay special. Best, JamesSG November 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice getaway The welcome greeting from the staff was appreciated, with a brief tour of the resort island and its facilities. The dive shop, Down Under is a good first stop, to get your snorkeling gears and arrange for dive trips. The staff are friendly and helpful. Did a refresher course at the house reef (my last dive was four years ago) and it's pretty good. There are mainly three places to get your meals- Kitchen, Fish and Fire (closed during my visit). As I did not have any sleeved shirt (I brought along singlets only during my Maldives beach vacation), I did not have a chance to try the dinner at Fish. Perhaps one suggestion is to have a separate casual dining area at Fish? The lunch and dinner menu at Kitchen were alright; the international selections are good, but the 'east' selections are far from being authentic, perhaps to cater for non-Asian palette. The Kitchen breakfast was pretty much the highlight where meal's concerned. The highlights were the resort itself (clean & well-maintained, the layout is superb), the 'wildlife' (the fruit bat, the birds, the turtles... all greeted my stay at W) and Sweet Spot (indeed, it's nice to just stop and have a Magnum or a cool drink). The front staff are friendly, although some times seem rather 'forced' or over-zealous. There are packages for dining, drinks, spa, etc., but they are remained as just 'special deals' and not 'good affordable deals'. I had a wonderful time at the resort, and would want to plan to visit again, perhaps for a longer stay (my maiden stay was 4D3N). Overall great great experience. :) November 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Will definitely be back! A bulleted list of pros and cons Pros: - can spend the whole vacation not seeing any other guests. Veryyyy private villa setups. - breakfast buffet is awesome. - Believe it or not we actually loved our beach villa more than our over-water villa. Stunning accommodations, GREAT bathrooms and resort music - saw turtles and reef sharks while snorkeling right off our deck - gorgeous grounds, great service staff Cons - We are a young couple, and attribute this to the reason the manager greeted all other guests and dinner every evening and snubbed us. If we are spending large sums of $ at your resort we deserve respect as well. A simple "good evening" would do - beverages and breakfast amazing..... Dinner was so-so. January 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEST RESORT EVER Being a Platinum SPG member and an avid traveler, I can only say from my experience that this is by far one of the best resorts ever. The property and the staff who know you by name from the moment you land are fantastic. At first we thought wow this place is no cheap date, but when you leave, you will leave with a feeling that you got every penny's worth. September 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I expected a lot, but hotel expected me too :) Though definitely I had a package of expectations (as much as I try to avoid that when I travel), I could throw them all out pretty much on my first day, as it wasn't fair to use them for anything :) Starting with my arrival to passing the security gate on my departure, hotel staff, including the awesome GM, was extremely helpful and welcoming, and I could relax at pretty much every moment without having a single negative thought. It was a bit hilarious when we were taken around the island in a cart though, it looked much bigger that way, than on foot. We stayed in lagoon-facing Ocean Oasis, the suite itself had enough of space in it even if you didn't want to go out to the terrace or other parts of the island. Bath facilities were great too, both outside pool/shower, and roomy internal one with huge bathtub and spacey shower. Romance stuff (candles et al) were provided as well ;-) Living room had a good enough sound system, WiFi was of much higher quality than Starwood-standard, and could easily drive Spotify connected to in-room Bose sound system, albeit outside speakers were a bit silent, for sake of neighbors... The ocean can be a bit loud, depending on weather, especially at night - though I loved it, for someone who doesn't stand nocturnal noises probably beach villas are better choice. I didn't try SPA facilities, but my spouse did and was extremely satisfied by them. I chose instead to take out the catamaran - lots of warm wind and not too choppy waves make it one of best activities you can do, if you are not into windsurfing (there's also kite-surfing, kayaking, and seabob for the lazy). We did snorkel a lot (house reef is quite amazing), though lagoon-facing room did not have that easy access to the reef - had to cross the lagoon, and I "lost" in a dead-end once, when trying to figure out the safe passage. I took a introduction to scuba-diving that was easy way to go a bit deeper. I went with a group that had one panicking person, so I guess I got way more freedom than usually... Though probably it isn't the best spot for die hard scuba divers - for a casual dive there're plenty of opportunities. I should definitely highlight an expedition with island's marine biologist - while we were heading towards more interesting reef we had great conversation - he sure qualifies for a biologist position. We got to see a shark, a turtle and a ray circled us few times within a very short period of time. Plenty of excitement :-) As for food - breakfast was truly superb, and dinner options were great too. Sushi cooking lesson was a decent introduction to their Fish restaurant, which definitely has better chefs than me - a truly delicious fresh seafood is what you should expect at premium Maldives property. Fire grill was rather unexpected experience - all you can eat meat was really tasty and plenty. An easy way to get into meat coma though - there're just way too many grill choices (and styles) to taste, and all of them are great. There was one tiny moment where waiters suggested waiting for order at the table and forgot to deliver, though (thats the only negative moment I decided to lie about at the introduction of this review). Bars served great drinks, and a complimentary drink here and there was always nice. I truly failed at going to their nightclub (decided to go there on Friday, which is probably bad idea in a Muslim country). Last but not the least, the vibe at this hotel was exactly what I wanted for my vacation - nothing too posh, all the luxury was in the simplicity and understanding needs of a young traveler. Music, design, etc - definitely reminded of bustling W lifestyle in large cities, yet it was properly adjusted for a holiday destination. I didn't feel just welcome, I felt expected, so I could simply relax and escape. February 23, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Recent Maldives trip - 7 Nights May My wife and I stayed at this resort for our wedding anniversary. Having spent our honeymoon at the St Regis Bora Bora we had high hopes and expectations of the W @ Maldives. firstly, Maldives as a whole has a huge commercial drive which is frankly quite annoying as you are confronted with this from the get go. Being someone who likes to get acquainted and accustomed to my surroundings first I find this quite unnerving. This starts at the W reception at the Maldives airport. Half of our day was spent waiting at this reception as the transport to the resort is done via cost effective sea plane. In our experience this took an hour to arrive. Not a great start to a 5* deluxe and priced resort. We stayed in a beach room as we had already experienced a premium overwater room at Bora Bora so we wanted a change. The rooms are very outdated and small. The bathroom is lovely but at 5:30pm everyday you are chocked by the mosquito prevention spray. There is no protection from this. We were also shocked by the cleanliness of rooms, no effort is made to sweep the floors or to thoroughly clean the rooms. Also our sofa in the outside garden area was filthy and only cleaned when we complained. I got a rash on my back on the 4th day and got the doctor to come to check me out. She said it probably came from the pool in the room as we had rain showers during the night over the last few days - why wasn't it cleaned. She gave me some cream and wanted $10, I told her to put it on the room and it never showed on the final bill. The people/staff at the hotel are very nice, I was impressed by Steve the GM and the local Maldivian staff, who work really hard and are attentive. The problem with this resort is the skill and creativeness of the staff, there isn't any. There is no touch in elaborating the Whatever Whenever brand and executing this, I simply just didn't get it. The hotel service, creativeness, features and food options are very limited and tired. The resort is nice but lacks style and youth, it did not live up to our expectation at all and this was sad for us as we wanted this place to be our yearly get away as Bora Bora is very far for us to travel. In short for the price this did not live up to the hype of the W brand. May 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE My husband & I visited for our 25th wedding annaversary and the experience from start to finish was outstanding. The staff was wonderful and very nice. From arrival at Male airport to our departure the service was outstanding. I would rate at 6 stars! The room was unbelievable - very comfortable and outstanding view. The property overall is excellent, you feel like you are on your own island even though the resort was fully booked. We ate at Fish and Fire which were both excellent. Room service was outstanding. The breakfast buffet was very well done. The snorkling around the resort is excellent. As experienced divers, this was an outstanding area - we only snorkeled and saw all we needed to - it was the highest population of fishes we have ever seen (and we have dived all over the world). Enjoyed the fact that it is adult only - very relaxing. Can't wait to go back - very relaxing and worth the trip and money. April 8, 2012
2 3 4 next>>