W South Beach

  • 2201 Collins Avenue
  • Miami Beach,
  • Florida
  • 33139
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years of age or older to reserve a guest room.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 313 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Your service rules are short sighted towards valuable customers It's unacceptable the way you deal with hotel customers who want to use facilities of the hotel. It's unthinkable that you cannot get a spot at the pool and thet if you need a sun umbrella you need to pay extra. Sorry, others may also charge but I do not care about it if you expect one to pay the prices you are requesting. April 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Horrible Customer Service When I booked this stay, I was excited to experience the true Starwood experience for the weekend. Unfortunately the service at this hotel was horrible to say the least; prior to check-in, I inquired about my suite night award upgrades and was bounced around to several people. I then requested that my credit card on file be charged at check-in and was told that was not a problem, when my friend checked in they requested another credit card (instead if charging the card on file like i requested and was told was not a problem) and told her they'd be charging $250 on her card and proceeded to take the deposit for the entire stay (which should have been communicated). In terms of the room, we had a leaking sink and maintenance just cleaned up the water without fixing anything. We had to call back for them to come back to fix the sink. We then requested bellhop services and waited a full hour before we called back down and found out that our request was "lost". For being part of SPG, I am disappointed in my stay at the W Miami. April 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by going downhill really bad experience with sevice that was far below what I am used to as SPG traveler. having more contact after my trip then before or during says it all. will never stay at tis property again...esepcially when crowded...CAN'T HANDLE THE CROWD! April 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Horrible Service While the hotel has some incredible features the staff made this a very unpleasant experience. If you are paying $500+ a night on a hotel the service in all aspects should be amazing. The room bed was made but nothing was restocked, no towels, no toiletries, nothing in the kitchen or bar area. The service at the pool and beach were the worst i have yet to experience at a W Hotel. You have to go find a server in order to get a drink, Had to ask random workers to send a server over and the pool area and beach were not crowded with guests. I love SPG and W Hotel but this hotel i will never come back too. September 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel in a great lolcation Our room was one of the most attractive we have ever stayed in. As it is also available for sate as a condo, it was amply furnished with lots of storage--far more than most hotels. Just two criticisms. First, as it had cooking facilities, it would have been nice if there was some place to purchase food in the immediate neighborhood. Also, the concierge was not too knowledgeable. He was not familiar with the Miami City Ballet, one of the most famous ballet companies in the world. Thus, he was unhelpful in securing us tickets. Fortunately, we were able to buy tickets on line with our iPad. February 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best hotel ever this hotel has everything March 9, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staff Overhaul As per my previous note to you, your staff needs complete training on how to service guests, how to smile at guests, and meet the needs of guests. Rudeness should not prevail. July 28, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Week-end in SoBe The hotel and facilities (gym, pool, tennis court) are stunning. However, I have noticed a couple of issues during my stay. 1) Trouble getting to the correct floor because of the key card 2) Too many people / or too few lounge chairs available at the pool, and very slow service 3) Check-in time 4 pm is late (but I was offered to change in the 'hospitality room') 4) No SPG recognition March 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best in South Beach My wife and I have stayed at all of the premier SB hotels, including Setai, Ritz, Delano, etc. The W is by far our favorite and we've decided it is the only place we will stay going forward. The rooms are spacious and cooly decorated. The staff has always been wonderful to us. On both of our last two stays, extra things were done to make our visit more memorable and we have truly appreciated the effort by the staff. Tip: treat the staff kindly and with respect and you will get the same in return. I have read things by some people complaining about bad service, but I wonder if these are the same people that treat the staff rudely an impatiently. Anyway, our stays have been perfect from beginning to end and we look forward to our next stay. February 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Consistent excellence As always a calm environment in which to work then relax. Service is first class and the facilities are superb. Only difficulty was that pool was so busy that I could not get a chair once my work was finished. Beach was though a great fallback. March 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Weekend Withdrawal from Work WOW - great location - very spacious rooms were well appointed. The furniture through out the resort is high quality, welcoming & comfortable. I found myself planning different locations where I wanted to relax & people watch. Numerous outdoor locations that offer full contact with the crowd or numerous nooks open to everyone that make you feel like you are at your own vacation home away from the crowds. My less than average "adult grilled cheese" served on Wonder bread & a bag of chips served in the Living Room was balanced out by the bagel & smoked salmon with all the fixings served Oceanside. Any hotel is always only as good as the team working there. I was very impressed with W talented team. Two of my favorites were Ron - who ran security at the gate to the pool & beach - I found myself engaged in many conversations on various topics each time. It was like talking to an uncle or an older brother who would point you in the right direction. The other was Amber at the front desk - who I asked for change of a $20 and she responded with the energy & excitement as if I had just proposed marriage. Her passion for making sure every guest felt special was contagious to everyone else at the front desk. I completely enjoyed my stay and look forward to a return trip. October 30, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing This hotel is not often available when I am in town so I was excited that I could get a reservation this trip. I stayed for a short visit soon after they opened and I was looking forward to a return. They obviously count on a constant flow of visitors so they aren't too concerned if you want to return or not. The rooms have taken a beating already. Mine had a large beautiful deck with two lounge chairs. Too bad they were all moldy so you didn't want to sit in them. The staff is your typical South Beach, people want to be here so it doesn't matter how we treat them. If you are going to spend the money I would recommend other luxury hotels on South Beach. Not one of my better W experiences. May 17, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Honeymoon Nightmare As a SPG member, my first choice is always chosing a Starwood Hotel where I stay. My seconnd honeymoon stop was at W South Beach. During the last years, I turned out a frequent W South Beach guest. To finish off my honeymoon, we chose to pay extra to stay at the room of our dreams: the MEGA SUITE. First problem: we arrived at 7 am. We were only accommodated at 4 pm. Second problem: We were accommodated in a "accessible" room which was not what it was reserved. By that time, we were so tired that we decided to sort that out the next day. Third problem: After complaining about the accessible room, it was offered to change to the room we actually reserved the next day, wait until late afternoon and change. Also it was given the option to downgrade to the "Oasis Suite". Our choice was to wait until late afternoon. A 200 USD credit for food/beverage was credited for "the inconvenience". Fourth problem: When we moved to the new "Mega Suite", I noticed that we had no built in barbecue in the terrace. There was no barbecue at wall. The marble on the balcony/sink had a enormous crack. In other words, the pictures from the room when I made the reservation at the website were totally different from the reality. And we are not speaking from a cheap motel room hotel. I have taken pictures of the marble balcony and empty space without barbecue. If necessary I can attach and send it to an email address. After all the hassle I had no more strength for anything. Thanks Starwoods for turning my honeymoon to a nightmare since day one. September 18, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Zero SPG Recognition I am a Platinum Member since 7 Years and in 2012 I had 55 nights, I've seen many SPG hotel around the world (mostly in Europe) and I can safely say that this was my Worst (capital W not a coincidence) experience ever! Let me give real examples: - Arrived with my car in front of the hotel after 4 hours driving and looking forward to get my room and go to the beach/swimming pool with my kids. The Valet service obliged me to turn around the hotel to make a different entrance which made no sense, I said myself "ok that's fine". When they saw me, my wife and my two little girls their face was "why they are here"?? No one smile or Welcome was given to us. - I went to the Check In and the person at the front desk was giving me a standard room even though I've used my suite award and got the confirmation I was upgraded. I told her about my confirmation and she said: "Ok no problem but the room isn't ready yet you need to wait a bit". I also had to tell her about my amenities because she didn't say a single word about my options. No one Single Smile during the entire conversation. I had to wait 2 hours before getting my room and only because a Manager from the reception step in (his name Max) and really tried to work hard to get my room earlier. - The room wasn't clean enough, someone had a very though party the night before, wine spot on the couch and also in the bedroom and also smelly of smoke! - You can only have breakfast in the room and as a Platinum guest I got my option to have a free of charge breakfast. Breakfast isn't the right word because what we got was only orange juice and a couple of croissant and some jam... the total value of this was $82 (in case you had to pay for it). No fruit, no cereals, no milk, NOTHING! As a Platinum member I am used to a different standard and treatments, this will be my last time in the most expensive W in the world! December 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded Expectations We were very impressed with the complete operation of the W, staff, facility and location. Wonder experience. March 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very poor experience from the minute we got there First off - I am not one to ever complain - but this place needs an overhaul. From the minute we got there, we waited over 4-5 hours for our room to be ready. They gave us a room and then told us they were going to give us another room, which wasn't as nice, but that we had to wait just a few minutes - 4 hours later... we got up to the room. At this point, I was aggravated, wasted my whole first day at a lounge...not my scene. We paid a lot extra to stay at the W, hoping to get the service we would expect to get by staying at a starwood resort, but we didn't. We even paid extra for a flight to get us there early to enjoy the extra day, but ended up in a lobby for 4-5 hours. The staff was nice, but no one could ever help us. The manager gave us a credit of 250 dollars for the ungodly service, which was less than our dinner for two at Mr. Chow's (which was definitely an excellent restaurant). We were supposed to get a credit for SPG points which we never received. I ordered room service and my hamburger was raw. When the gentleman came up to get it, even he couldn't believe it looked like raw chop meat. Then I called for towels, which I didn't get until the next day, after 3 calls. I have stayed at Starwood resorts in the past - St. Regis, PR, TOP NOTCH from beginning to end - this place - the "W" couldn't touch it! I would not recommend this hotel. Overpriced for the poor service and lack of options and horrible service. VERY disappointed. I hate to complain - I'm definitely not one to complain all the time - and I'm not a hard person to please - but I couldn't let this one go. For the money we spent to stay here, it was a flop! January 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Pros & cons Checking in and checking out took way too long at this hotel. They had a very long chaotic line when we were checking in. Surely they could have put another person on check in- there seemed to be only two. I also hate it when the pool scene is so crazy that there was no chance of getting a chair by the pool. We were put on a wait list for 3-didn't even have to be together- and about 2 hours later they did call and said they had two chairs. We went to the beach and the service there was really horrible. A woman took our order for beverages but never brought them. I finally went to get them after 30+ minutes of waiting. I have to say the man at the bar was very apologetic. Seemed to acknowledge some problem with her. And no, she wasn't super busy- I observed her standing in the shaded bar area chit chatting. It was noisy in the room but I guess that's to be expected. I thought the rooms were nice, spacious and I really like the location of this hotel. March 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by only place to stay the W south beach is the cleanest hotel I've stayed at while in miami. its now the only place i stay down there. has a private and beautiful setting with great amenities. the restaurant is amazing. not much else to say besides i wouldn't recommend anywhere else but the W Southbeach! March 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Enjoyable Stay My friend and I stayed here this past weekend for 3 nights.The front desk staff quickly recognized that we're both SPG Platinum guests and greeted us as such, which is always nice. We asked for a roll-away bed, and were first told that it would be $75. Perhaps my raised eyebrow helped the person helping us change his decision and the bed was provided free of charge. :) We were upgraded to the Lower Penthouse floor and the view was simply awesome. Great ocean view and really comfortable chairs on our balcony! The hotel staff were particularly nice and recognizing that there were 2 occupants in our room, left extra water and towels. The pool area is REALLY nice. The crows is a bit on the older / pretentious side, but I guess that is to expect on South Beach. Are the food and drinks overpriced? Most definitely! We also had drinks at the bar, which was just OK. I thought the bartenders could be a little friendlier - they were a bit too stoic in my opinion. Overall, I think this is a really nice hotel. If you're looking for a calm spot to take it easy, this is likely not the place. If you're looking for a trendy, upscale hotel, which most W hotels are, this one definitely fits the bill! March 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great property Always love staying here as it is one of the nicest properties in south beach. My only complaint was on the quality of the wait staff pool side one day. It was very busy and I was unable to get my order even after asking many times. Still would go back in a heart beat! March 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Looks great on the web... ...but service was not up to expectations. Check in was delayed until 10pm. We witnessed the poolside staff accepting extra tips in exchange for deckchairs that otherwise looked "reserved" (this may be standard practice, but this is our first time vacationing in Miami, so please forgive if this is what usually happens). At check out, we called "whenever/whatever" for luggage assistance, but waited for 15 minutes so we took the luggage down ourselves (and was not offered assistance until we were about to exit the hotel). February 21, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Million Dollar hotel with Substandard AC & Card Readers Stayed at this room with my girlfirend which was supposed to be a romantic weekend. overall hotel experience runined it. hotel rooms do not have significant AC to battle florida heat. each afternoon, room temps climbed into the 90's in the room.. engineering visited three times and said only option was to close blinds. thats just what I want when I came to relax and see the views. could not resolve over three day stretch. cooler in halfway than room. front desk staff were great. I got to know them the best as the key card system seems incapable of magnetizing a key. 15 trips to desk to get new keys in three days. top it off with ridicuolusly priced food and drinks by pool, beach and bar & you are in for a real treat. September 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Too much noise from construction next door The entire stay was tainted due to the fact that the noise level next door from the construction was unbearable at the pool. And then they blasted the music higher poolside which was torture as I was sitting next to the speakers. I understand that on the weekends there is a DJ and the music is loud (which is great!) but this was a weekday. The jackhammering was nonstop for 3 hours. February 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by "W"ow! Simply amazing hotel! Awesome property, phenomenal service and a staff that took care of our every need. Thank you for treating us to a weekend we will never forget. December 13, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful W Experience Beautiful property with excellent staff. Our Oasis suite was spacious, comfortable and exceeded expectations. Claudia reached out prior to our arrival and ensured our room was prepared to our needs. We felt secure with the security and front door staff. The WWet pool experience was exceptional. It was quiet and relaxing, in a beautiful setting of palm trees. Pool staff was exceptionally attentive yet unobtrusive. The pool was beautiful, the furniture was so comfortable. The W made our long weekend perfect! We were reluctant to leave and I look forward to returning soon! February 12, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by W SoBe Needs a Little Work ...........The highlight of my visit to the W SoBe was the beach attendants, because they actually understand what service is and showed it day in and day out. Specifically Michael and Walter, they should both be used as the example of what works at the hotel. Everything else about the stay was not up to par with the W brand I was charged for. It's a pretentious staff who care more for their image than providing service to the guests. It's amazing how a brand specializing in hospitality can get it so wrong in such an important location. July 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful W and then some If service, location, and comfort are important to you in a domestic beach vacation, then you must visit the W South Beach. Spacious contemporary rooms, a staff that knows its job is to cater to its guests, and a beachfront location, make for a wonderful holiday. And just so you realize " to err is to be human", not everything went perfect during our stay but the staff went out of their way to apologize and compensate us for the few issues that were not perfect. And frankly, almost everything was. See U, I mean W, in January again. October 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Anniversary Stay! My husband & I stayed at the W for an Anniversary staycation. We reserved last minute (as in driving on the way to the hotel). We were greeted by very friendly staff. There were no problems finding our reservation even though it was 10:30pm. The room was beautiful, very spacious, very clean & very trendy! The staff at the pool & on the beach were also great. They were on top of everything we needed. Although we live in Miami we felt like we were on vacation away in a tropical, very trendy resort. Will absolutely come back!!! July 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by W Southbeach "Best Pick in SOBE" Once again an outstanding stay at the W Southbeach. From the moment you pull up to the hotel thru your entire stay, everything was perfect & will exceed your expectations! The staff go out of their way to please you in every way & it is sooo comfortable. A home away from home! ;-) February 25, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs some work This is my second stay at this property. I must say that I was not pleased with my experience. There were 3 main issues that I felt could have been handled better. One, I fully understand the late check-in time due to the 'resort' classification the hotel holds. I came in a bit early hoping that I would be able to check into my room. I was not able to be accommodated, no big deal. I'll wait around. However when the proper check in time came and went, I inquired about the status at the front desk, I was told that the room still isn't ready and there was not an expected time to check in. I was merely told I will receive a text message once the room is ready. After dinner (nearly 19:00), I called the front desk to realize that the room was ready and I was not contacted. I feel like I wasted the entire day playing by the rules and losing. I was looking forward to the room and enjoying my vacation with my girlfriend. This vacation was off to a terrible start. Two, On the second day of my stay, we left the room for most of the morning and afternoon. We returned at 16:30 to find our room un-made (the do not disturb sign was NOT posted on our door). We had to call down to the front to request the room to be made up and had to evacuate the room. Again, I was not able to enjoy the room. Three, I realized that my plans required a extra time in the afternoon and requested a late check out. Given my circumstances, I would have hoped for some understanding. The front desk operator met me with a stone wall stating that hotel policy was not able to accommodate me. Nevermind the fact that I checked in late due to terrible planning and communication from the hotel, but also to be met with such unwavering ability to work listen and work with me was VERY off-putting. I stayed in the so-called "Fabulous Studio" and had two items of note that would make me refrain from stay in that room again. 1) I requested a higher room hoping to be away from street noise (I was placed on the 5th floor, which was the highest floor available for this room configuration). This is not possible as the nightclub is underneath the room. Most of the night was spent trying to drown out the bass from the nightclub. Not very condusive to a good nights sleep. 2)There is no sun on the patio in the afternoon or evening. You miss the beautiful Miami sunset, and sunbathing is impossible as the sun is completely obscured by the main hotel building. Overall, this stay was VERY disappointing and has made me re-think whether I would like to put the effort into re-qualifying for Platinum Status with Starwood. March 3, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 12 next>>